User Score
4.4

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 27 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 27
  2. Negative: 17 out of 27

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 30, 2013
    2
    Concept of the game is very good but game plan is too bad.
    1. You can't take over the game even if you played well, every missions are too much depended on pre-planned scenario.
    2. Limited towers, troops & resources.
    3. (2x) mode doesn't work at all.
    4. Controls are half in keyboard & half in mouse, very hard to remember them while playing & its pretty bothering.
    5. No fun.
  2. Aug 7, 2013
    0
    The idea might see simple and good, altough the game itself lacks in giving you enjoyable gameplay.
    Sending an army is limited, Some troops are way to strong, others are very weak.
    The troops you can sent only have the goal to destroy some targets and the enemy headquarters.
    There is no option so your troops can attack a tower so you can expand your tower base.
    The towers are built,
    stand there and you can't change it all.
    Its one of the worst games I have played in a while.
    Expand
  3. Jun 8, 2013
    0
    Screw you, Paradox. First you Piss all over the Franchise with Majesty 2 and then you turn one of my favorite IPs into a freaking Tower Defence game? Ten to one this game's abhorrent sales and reviews will put the thought "Oh, guess people don't like Majesty" into the publisher's heads and as such we will never see a quality Ardania-verse game again. Ah, well. .at least we have Majesty Gold HD.
  4. Mar 23, 2013
    3
    I bought by Steam this game in reference to the good graphics aspect seen in the demo but in the daily utilization I was fully disappointed by the bug and the lag inside the game. One of this bug refer to the fault in the utilization of F1 for the positioning of the towers with Windows XP at the moment I do not understand the reason also after some call to Paradox Help Center.
    The
    deployment of the game is stuffing because the only thing that you can do is send troop build towers and wait for the result that very often you can't in any manner determinate.So very often at beginning you win but you do not know really why because you do not manage the action in a useful way.Graphics and animation are good except for the window pop up of some command too much invasive that obscure a huge part of the field of battle but this is't enough to make a good TD Defense Grid ,Fieldrunner and also GratuitousTank Battle anc Comet Crash are really in another planet........ Expand
  5. May 25, 2012
    4
    Suffers from an unforgivable sin - its boring. Due to the symmetrical nature of the game, there are stretches where you just need to wait for enough gold to do anything... And so does your opponent. That means stretches while itching at all is happening. It also takes a long time to put away a match after you've basically won due to how easy iris to take out attacking units with spells.

    Skip this one.
    Expand
  6. Mar 31, 2012
    4
    This game graphics are kinda great,but sadly,the game suffers from bugs,filled with boring elements and poorly made game.There are more better Tower Defense game that this and i don`t recommend anyone to play this game.
  7. Mar 26, 2012
    2
    A below average game. Someone has cynically created a game to jump on the tower defence bandwagon knowing that this alone may sell it. However, it is just plane boring, dull and limited with limited control and precious little to recommend it. I want to balance this out with some positive to say about it and all I can think of is that its quite pretty.
  8. Mar 23, 2012
    4
    The graphics are nice, and the idea of sending your own forces against the attackers is original. But the troops move at different speeds, making coordination a problem that does not resemble a feature more than an unnecessary frustration. And the tutorial avatar is like an unskippable cut scene, boorishly taking over the game to grand-stand on his soap box to a captive audience, before allowing permission to access some locked game feature. Expand
  9. Mar 15, 2012
    3
    Sadly, while this game has great graphics and some nice ideas to spruce up the tower defense genre, the controls are too broken to play on the pc.

    I couldn't even get past the tutorial because of it

    Wait and see if they fix the controls before purchasing
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 17
  2. Negative: 5 out of 17
  1. Aug 20, 2012
    45
    In the end, only certain elements of Defenders of Ardania work well.
  2. May 16, 2012
    62
    It tries to set itself apart from the cornucopia of tower defense games, but fails. Despite the efforts for character and new features, the overall execution is messed up. If you are a true fan of the genre or you want all fantasy games in your collection, wait for it to enter bargain bin status and go for it. [May 2012]
  3. May 11, 2012
    59
    A different take on tower defence, but one that needed more thought before being released on an unsuspecting public. [June 2012, p.110]