Defender's Quest: Valley of the Forgotten Image
Metascore
  1. First Review
  2. Second Review
  3. Third Review
  4. Fourth Review

No score yet - based on 2 Critics Awaiting 2 more reviews What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 78 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Defender's Quest is a unique blend of real-time Tower Defense strategy and tactical RPG meta-game, complete with a colorful cast of characters and fast-paced story-telling.

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Apr 16, 2013
    90
    Between its addictive gameplay and sliding difficulty scale, Defender’s Quest offers gamers a great deal for such a small investment of time.
  2. Jan 29, 2012
    85
    It's no accident that Defender's Quest is incredibly fun to play. The team behind it clearly had an appreciation for the genre and knew how to offer something familiar yet fresh. The promise of free content updates has me excited to continue playing. You should strongly consider joining me.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 27
  2. Negative: 1 out of 27
  1. Dec 17, 2012
    10
    This game is fun. I am a tactics game addict, this isn't exactly a tactics game but a tower defense game where you use characters for yourThis game is fun. I am a tactics game addict, this isn't exactly a tactics game but a tower defense game where you use characters for your towers. These characters have classes and can level up and then be specced certain ways. So with 6 different classes and having up to 6 of each class in a battle, then with different specs per class there is a lot of depth to this simple looking game. Lots of fun!! Expand
  2. Mar 15, 2012
    9
    Great RPG/Tower Defense game that will soon get a lot better as more content will be added. As well as nice incentives to replay the game.Great RPG/Tower Defense game that will soon get a lot better as more content will be added. As well as nice incentives to replay the game.

    The characters are charming and the game is filled with light humor that kept me smiling during cutscenes.

    You can play the long demo for free to see if it suits your tastes.
    Collapse
  3. Nov 10, 2012
    9
    If you like tower defense games this is a must-have title. It reminds me a little of Puzzle Quest or Clash of Heroes in that it adds RPGIf you like tower defense games this is a must-have title. It reminds me a little of Puzzle Quest or Clash of Heroes in that it adds RPG elements to a strategy/puzzle genre with great results. The game is pretty long and has good replay value, including a "new game +" mode that adds extra missions, new cutscenes, etc. It may look simple and retro, but the gameplay is among the best, the music is very good, and the humor is a nice touch. The price may seem a bit steep given the 16-bit graphics, but it's well worth that price. I have 33 hours logged on the game so far and I'm maybe 1/4 through New Game+. Expand
  4. Dec 12, 2012
    9
    While I do love tower defense games, I've felt a bit...burned out by the sheer number of them lately. This game, however, is just differentWhile I do love tower defense games, I've felt a bit...burned out by the sheer number of them lately. This game, however, is just different enough from the rest to have revived my love of the genre. Its nicely crafted storyline and RPG elements add the perfect touch and encourage you to play "just one more battle". Highly recommended! Expand
  5. Jul 29, 2013
    8
    Awesome mix of Tower Defense and RPG. I thought it worked really well. Tons of fun and very addicting. Lots of replay value. A definiteAwesome mix of Tower Defense and RPG. I thought it worked really well. Tons of fun and very addicting. Lots of replay value. A definite must-buy if you enjoy tower defense games. Expand
  6. May 17, 2014
    8
    I really didn't expect much from this game but it's turned out to be one of my favorite tower defense games of all times. It's been over aI really didn't expect much from this game but it's turned out to be one of my favorite tower defense games of all times. It's been over a year since I've bought Defender's Quest and I keep coming back to it.
    I have definitely gotten my money's worth on this and I hope they make a sequel.
    Solid.
    Expand
  7. May 5, 2016
    1
    I don't understand any praise this game receives. I've played every major TD on the market, and as a big genre fan I have to say thatI don't understand any praise this game receives. I've played every major TD on the market, and as a big genre fan I have to say that Defender's Quest is one of the most tedious and outright annoying that exists anywhere, on any platform.

    The story is outright terrible, cliched in every sense of the word and told in the most uninspired and lazy "Penny Arcade talking heads" method imaginable. Horrible, horrible writing and dialogue for all characters and sequences. Any random talented child could write a better story AND dialogue in 3 hours. Even Disney movies have more originality. I winced repeatedly just trying to follow the storyline itself, and actually gave up after the 4th or 5th sequence involving irrelevant nonsense and bad jokes unrelated to the game or the plot. The story in tower defense games is mostly irrelevant anyway, but a truly bad story that actively annoys you (even if it can be skipped) detracts from any type of game.

    The actual gameplay in Defender's Quest is tediously mathematical. You appear to have choices in units, items, upgrades, and the like, but a few glances at the actual stats/levels reveal that the game uses a linear scaling of raw numbers (and not even complex raw numbers at that) to up the "difficulty" as you advance in the story, and through the individual level "challenges". Any combination of proper numbers (equipment + characters + abilities) will defeat any level. Strategy of placement is only occasionally required, and when it is it's obvious. If you can't find any reasonable combination of raw numbers from your current party you can always go back to the story (or back to challenges, if you were stopped on the story). This makes the entire game a simple wash-and-repeat repetition of "drop towers and hit x4 to finish faster, then endure the next story sequence". This isn't tower defense, this is bad game design.

    Overall Defender's Quest is just a bad game. The ending isn't any good, and neither is the journey. Deleted.
    Expand

See all 27 User Reviews