User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 18 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 18
  2. Negative: 2 out of 18

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 25, 2013
    5
    I feel a 5 is somewhat generous for this one. It's impressive in how many ways they miss the mark of what makes for an enjoyable tower defense game. There's little introduction or explanation to gameplay concepts. For example, the 4th level introduces its first weather effect, except it doesn't really tell you when this is happening, or what its effect is. You have to go out of your way to find such simple things.
    You know what other amazing feature it possesses? Enemies drop a cube of additional resources upon death, which you are required to hover your mouse over to collect. Maps become several screens large even from the first level, so if you create a few killzones, you have to constantly cycle between them to scavenge your rewards. It's kind of ludicrous in a terrible way, honestly.

    I would best describe Defense Technica as a half-hearted mash-up of Defense Grid (in look, feel, and mechanisms [you quickly acquire what is, essentially, the orbital laser exactly towers pop out of the ground in little boxes, etc]) and Kingdom Rush (towers are limited, but gain upgrade paths). Maybe somewhere in there is a kernal of a good idea, but it's not easily accessable, and it's hugely unpolished.

    Sadly, this is a purchase I regret.
    Expand
  2. Nov 11, 2013
    9
    I changed my rating and updated my review because the devs responded quickly to the big thing people disliked about this game. You used to have to mouse over little cubes that were dropped by enemies when they died, but now that is no longer the case. All resource-gathering is automatic now.

    Visually, this game is a copy of Defense Grid, but it does look nice. Another nice feature is
    the ability to upgrade towers with an upgrade tree. It costs medals to upgrade towers. You earn medals by doing well on boards, so there's some incentive and reward to replay boards for higher scores.

    The game starts a little slow, but it gets more interesting as you go, especially as you unlock more tower upgrades and the boards get more challenging. Overall, this is a very fun tower defense game!
    Expand
  3. Oct 27, 2013
    4
    Not really much to say, everything looks like we all seen before in other tower defense games. This is so much look a like Defense Grid. For the price of 13.99 euros or 13.99 US dollars this game is good to skip. To keep thing short, when price of this game drop off then you go and buy it if there is nothing else to buy.
  4. Nov 15, 2013
    10
    Awesome game. I love the difficulty, rather than being able to beat every level on the first try and be done with it. There's also weather that can change, making a few types of towers less effective, which encourages diversity in your build instead of building 1 type of tower you like.
  5. Nov 22, 2013
    10
    Good graphic with interesting gameplay from a little Korean developer team. The soundtrack is also very good! Very challenging game! The devs are with their community, and they will release in the near-future free updates, and maybe a free expansion! There are many towers and upgrades! The only, I miss, i can't rotate the screen! A uniqe tower defense game!
  6. Nov 7, 2013
    8
    For a defense tower game fan Defense Technica has enough depth and variety for an enjoyable experience. The graphics are nice and shiny. Would be nice if it had a community level editorcreator. But i shall wait until Defense Grid 2 for that.
  7. Jun 25, 2014
    9
    This game is obviously inspired by Defense Grid, but that can only be a good thing as Defense Grid was one of the best Tower Defense Games and definitely the most polished. Defense Technica builds on DG and feels like "Defense Grid 1.5" with some new interesting towers and a well balanced learning curve.

    Can't wait for Defense Grid 2 and hopefully Defense Technica 2 as well.

    Recommend!
Metascore
63

Mixed or average reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 15
  2. Negative: 2 out of 15
  1. Dec 13, 2013
    65
    A mediocre Korean clone of Defense Grid: The Awakening with a few original bells and whistles.
  2. Nov 26, 2013
    70
    Defence Technica in its current state is by no means perfect, so it’s very encouraging to see the developers actively listening to feedback from their audience. Working with players has enabled them to patch the game on the fly, rebalancing to make it more appealing to a casual audience, but also ensuring hardcore fans are still tested.
  3. Nov 21, 2013
    40
    Defense Technica is a bland, run-of-the-mill affair. It brings almost nothing new to the genre and relies on tried and tested mechanics.