Delta Force: Black Hawk Down Image
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 54 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Experience missions similar to those encountered by U.S. Special Operations Forces during 10 months in Somalia. Fight through various compelling missions, each with multiple objectives. Engage in urban Close Quarter Battles and long-range sniper fire. Fire heavy weapons mounted in Black Hawk helicopters and on Humvees. New AI system powers combat-ready enemies as well as valuable friendly teams. [NovaLogic] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. Sound really immerses you into the action of the missions. Voice acting is of the highest quality and features a real feel of urgency that would be present on any battlefield.
  2. If you're looking for a great action title to get your blood pumping and that's intensively immersive, Delta Force : Blackhawk Down is your best bet!
  3. It's got almost enough gameplay to rival "Battlefield 1942" as the definitive team-based action game, but with a much smoother, more ambitious, and ultimately more effective engine.
  4. If you're a military sim gamer who's looking for endless hours of action devoid of strategy or tactics, then this is your game. [June 2003, p.84]
  5. BHD has environmental richness to spare, and lots of flash and thump. [June 2003, p.64]
  6. All the atmosphere is here - the confusion and fear - but beyond that, DFBHD doesn't involve much more than mowing down hordes of mindless enemy drones. [June 2003, p.73]
  7. It features some attractive visuals and a few particularly dramatic scenes. Still, Black Hawk Down is a deeply flawed shooter that has a moment of disappointment or frustration for every moment of fun.

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 24
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 24
  3. Negative: 3 out of 24
  1. Nov 1, 2013
    10
    This game is haunting Based on the Black Hawk Down movie, one of the best war movies ever, with an amazing Hans Zimmer soundtrack, this game is in my favorite top 10. Expand
  2. Dec 5, 2012
    10
    I really miss playing online with the clan war and stuff, I never expect to play a single player, (which is really hard to beat and really disapointing and simple) This is HARD-CORE for multiplayer FPS noobies. The best from the oldies. Expand
  3. X0R
    Apr 19, 2013
    9
    Put a lot of time in on this game too when it came out, glad it still runs on Win7 64bit. It was always a little buggy, but what game isn't? It looks dated, but I started out playing games like EA Seal Team (1993) on 3.5 disks, so to me graphics are still second to gameplay/realism. Few military games advance your character's (and squad mates') progress with medals, honors and death like Seal Team did..... "Leave no man behind." Delta Force Black Hawk Down is a classic. Expand
  4. Nov 4, 2013
    9
    VERY AWESOME! Cool old skool FPS with good gameplay and missions. Maybe a little short, but that´s not a deal breaker. Looking forward to play the other games in this series. Expand
  5. Apr 3, 2013
    9
    I have spent thousands of hours on this game over the years, had loads of fun and made loads of friends on it.. thats why i gave it a high score. I remember when it came out in 2003 truly awesome game then, the single player was ok but the multiplayer was something else.. The graphics were stunning and the maps went from tiny room battles to truly massive maps,nice selection of weapons and map modding tools. Biggest drawbacks was the glitches,bugs and cheaters... very dated game now but i still sometimes play. Expand
  6. May 16, 2012
    8
    i personally did not think this was the best delta force out there but, it was hell not the worst fps out there. the single player missions are alright but i find the ai very dum. the mutilplayer though is amazing and worth buying just for that. Expand
  7. Jun 13, 2013
    8
    The missions are based on real incident of the war in Somalia. The graphic are "OK" or not so great .The guns and grenades in the game are great. Playing it is a fun time ahead Expand

See all 24 User Reviews