Delta Force: Black Hawk Down Image
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 57 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Experience missions similar to those encountered by U.S. Special Operations Forces during 10 months in Somalia. Fight through various compelling missions, each with multiple objectives. Engage in urban Close Quarter Battles and long-range sniper fire. Fire heavy weapons mounted in Black Hawk helicopters and on Humvees. New AI system powers combat-ready enemies as well as valuable friendly teams. [NovaLogic] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. Sound really immerses you into the action of the missions. Voice acting is of the highest quality and features a real feel of urgency that would be present on any battlefield.
  2. If you're looking for a great action title to get your blood pumping and that's intensively immersive, Delta Force : Blackhawk Down is your best bet!
  3. It's got almost enough gameplay to rival "Battlefield 1942" as the definitive team-based action game, but with a much smoother, more ambitious, and ultimately more effective engine.
  4. If you're a military sim gamer who's looking for endless hours of action devoid of strategy or tactics, then this is your game. [June 2003, p.84]
  5. BHD has environmental richness to spare, and lots of flash and thump. [June 2003, p.64]
  6. All the atmosphere is here - the confusion and fear - but beyond that, DFBHD doesn't involve much more than mowing down hordes of mindless enemy drones. [June 2003, p.73]
  7. It features some attractive visuals and a few particularly dramatic scenes. Still, Black Hawk Down is a deeply flawed shooter that has a moment of disappointment or frustration for every moment of fun.

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 24
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 24
  3. Negative: 3 out of 24
  1. JasonSage
    Sep 2, 2009
    10
    Fun - it's a game people - it's gorgeous, the acting is great, its funny, its serious, it's high paced - I'm not personally in the military - I dont' need 100% simulation for that. I have ArmA when I'm feeling down with science - likewise xPlane and other simulators - for a FUN First Person Game? For Me? This ROCKS! Expand
  2. MickL.
    Aug 14, 2003
    10
    The game rules even though i've got the demo multiplayer knocks me dead.I love going the gunner cause he's got the best guns.The first time I played the game the computer buggerd up so I tried putting memory in the computer and it worked better.So I started a multi player game entered the enemy teams armory and got turned into a sushe by a grenade launcher and I got the enemy flag 22x.Then a little sh$$ comes along and stapped me so I give my team a command to kill that little bast$$$ and the killed me nice huh. Expand
  3. Dec 5, 2012
    10
    I really miss playing online with the clan war and stuff, I never expect to play a single player, (which is really hard to beat and really disapointing and simple) This is HARD-CORE for multiplayer FPS noobies. The best from the oldies. Expand
  4. JasperL.
    Apr 17, 2003
    9
    It's a very good game the graphics are very good it has fast gameplay the enemies are smarter and the mission editor is very simple to use.
  5. MatthewH.
    Aug 28, 2003
    9
    The single player portion of the game might be lacking a little bit, but the multiplayer portion definitely covered for the lost ground. No computer AI is as good as a real person!!! The multiplayer mode is just outstanding and I can't stop playing. Expand
  6. S-3288
    Jul 6, 2003
    9
    One of the best multiplayer experiences to come along in quite some time. If you rated it low, you are just showing your inexperience with FPS.
  7. MB
    Apr 18, 2009
    2
    This was the worst game ever, infuriating and terrible. The AI was nonexistent and the gameplay lackluster. It was the last time I ever bought a game without reading a review as well. Look at the worst score, it's from GameSpot, a good review company. They gave it a 56, and that is generous is my mind. Terrible game. Absolutely awful. Collapse

See all 24 User Reviews