Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 14 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 113 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Have you ever wanted to be president? or prime-minister? Convinced you could do a better job of running the country? Let's face it, you could hardly do a worse job than our current political leaders.
    Crime, Unemployment, National Debt, Terrorism, Climate Change...Have you got the answers
    Have you ever wanted to be president? or prime-minister? Convinced you could do a better job of running the country? Let's face it, you could hardly do a worse job than our current political leaders.
    Crime, Unemployment, National Debt, Terrorism, Climate Change...Have you got the answers to the problems that face western industrialized nations? Here is your chance to find out...
    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Feb 25, 2014
    88
    The first glance at Democracy 3 can cause an immediate "it's too complicated" reaction, but the well-designed interface enables a fairly quick understanding of how to manage the policies required to create your own personal political utopia. For those that are into this kind of thing, Democracy 3 is a great way to test pet political theories in a (mostly) consequence-free way.
  2. 80
    Political simulations are not everybody's cup of tea, but this one goes down smoothly. It'll show you how hard it is to please citizens so they don't run you out of office. [Issue#236]
  3. Dec 13, 2013
    80
    In terms of gameplay mechanics it’s a very simple game but it does much more for understanding democracy than any citizenship lesson. [13/2013, p.72]
  4. Oct 21, 2013
    70
    Democracy 3 is a title with a very interesting level of complexity but many important aspects are left unsaid. Though it has evolved since its second installment it forgot to include some elements that would have made the game a really complete political simulator. Its excessive standardization relegates the game with a choice for casual entertaining and it will be difficult to explode this Positech Game's proposal for long. Once corrected its technical mistakes and when the mods start to rise, we may be able to take this game to a higher, different level.
  5. Jan 24, 2014
    69
    It bites off a little more than it can chew. Starting out with the premise of being a full political simulator in the end it is little more than an turn-based interaction with a population. But on this level you’ll get the high complexity that you’ll miss in macro management.
  6. Nov 12, 2013
    68
    Fascinating, fast, and friendly but far too forgiving. Wait for the patches and iron man/lady mods.
  7. Nov 4, 2013
    50
    If you’re already a fan of the series, it’s impossible to recommend a bare-bones expansion like this at its current price point. If you’re not… well, I have a hard time imagining that you’d enjoy the third installment at all.

See all 14 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 38
  2. Negative: 12 out of 38
  1. Oct 22, 2013
    10
    I really enjoyed my experience with the game and most of the problems people have with this game will be balanced out in the near future. ThisI really enjoyed my experience with the game and most of the problems people have with this game will be balanced out in the near future. This is one of the best games of this sort out there and you can really get sucked into the game. Expand
  2. Nov 13, 2013
    10
    I really enjoyed this game, i can agree with other views about it needing polishing and it is being polished. Some people say its boring andI really enjoyed this game, i can agree with other views about it needing polishing and it is being polished. Some people say its boring and repetitive, if so you can easily change some of the sliders, try running a country on 200% difficulty and trying to manage social services vs your debt, its hard but very fun. It is similar to Democracy 2 but its graphics and interface have been updated quite a bit and its now very visually appealing. The polices would be the same but there are some new ones with room to turn it into a proper socialist or police state than you could in D2. Overall £18.99 is a good price for this game and with mods for new countries and policies coming out rapidly you can always play beyond what the vanilla game can provide and you can easily mod and add your own countries too. Expand
  3. Nov 16, 2014
    9
    For someone as interested in politics as I am, this game is everything I could have ever wanted in a political simulator. The interface isFor someone as interested in politics as I am, this game is everything I could have ever wanted in a political simulator. The interface is beautiful. The sliders are fun. The design is simple. The policy-making is easy. And the voting is smart. This game is a masterpiece.

    Despite this game's amazing replayability factor, I've found that the lack of different countries are a little bit off-putting. There truly aren't many. In the end it doesn't really matter when you're playing but it can be a drag when you realize you've played every country at least 10 times. I know you can get mods but it looked like Cliffski relied on mod-makers too much.
    Expand
  4. Nov 29, 2013
    7
    Getting this game, I thought I would be the greatest political ruler since Gandhi. Unfortunately, I was quite mistaken.
    Democracy 3 takes
    Getting this game, I thought I would be the greatest political ruler since Gandhi. Unfortunately, I was quite mistaken.
    Democracy 3 takes you through what seems like a promising political career, but what you realize is only a pile of kissing up to the various parties that have power. Just like real life.

    Waive the mandatory drinking age? The masses love you, but violent crime spikes.

    Legalize drugs and prostitution? Liberals and socialists are fin, but the religious and conservative bunch really want you out of office then.

    Playing through, I never thought I would do half the things I ended up doing, especially since at the end, I was trying to run a country similar to Communist Russia, all while looking back, wondering what had gone wrong.

    My main complaint with the game, is that while you can change many of the the stats about your country, you can not change the religious population. Many times I've had to change what would have been a very good plan for the country because of strong opposition from the religious front.

    All in all, I'd call this a solid game. 7.5 Will play again kind of thing.
    Expand
  5. Jan 31, 2014
    6
    I did like the game quite a lot. It is a good political simulator game in some respect. I mean it portrays people in ways that aren't justI did like the game quite a lot. It is a good political simulator game in some respect. I mean it portrays people in ways that aren't just two-dimensional. Another nice thing is that you can edit the game, which I have started doing. Its easy to pick up and play. However, there are significant issues with the game that can't be ignored. Most of these is the price. To justify paying £19 or $25 for a game, the game would have to be good, with cool graphics and most of all content that means you would replay it time and time again. Instead, you may play it 7 times and never play it again. It is extremely simplistic and simple. I mean you can increase healthcare spending but this is not accompanied by anything; no graphics just words for you to appreciate what you have done. This is only the beginning of the problems, Whilst voters in the game aren't 2D, they aren't particular complex either. Someone who is a Keynesian would be a Socialist in the game. A Socialist doesn't nationalize any industry though, which is strange because that is the definition of a Socialist, someone who believes in an economy which is collectively owned. In some regards, this shows the game to be particularly American. There is also significant Left-wing bias to the game. Capitalists and Conservatives are seen as heartless monsters that like to complain about any sort of government interference or liked "gated communities" or disliked disability allowance. Religious policies are always negative; either opposed to science and create a technology backwater or create ethnic tension. I mean religious countries can never be scientific can they? Oh yes, India is the world's largest producer of scientists. I am a Socialist myself but Socialism in the game is very simplistic but so too are the capitalists who like to privatize everything. But the Liberal/Conservative thing is perhaps just as bad. Most people exist between being true-Liberal and true-Conservative. I would say I am quite conservative on crime and family, There again I hate the death penalty and agree with equality for ethnic minorities. So I am a mixture but perhaps would exist in the "Conservative" section, despite my disgust of the death penalty. But people aren't just Liberals or Conservatives; perhaps they are a mixture. The game also completely ignores voting systems and considering it is supposed to be called "Democracy", Having a systematic electoral college in say America would really add to the game. But instead to is just a collection of calculations of who votes for you, who votes for the opposition and who doesn't vote at all. This is the dumbest thing that has ever walked in a democratic arena. Firstly, you could easily win 75% of the vote in the game when in real life, you are unlikely to achieve more than 55% in a two party state or about 40% on a good day in a proportional based system. There aren't even constituencies or anything; just you getting half of the vote will establish your victory.

    Overall, it is questionable whether paying $25 is worth it. Sure, the game is good and is quite fun, but the content really does lack a lot of features which justify the $25
    Expand
  6. Oct 26, 2013
    4
    Not recommended for it's current price of $25. And I studied my fair share of political science and consider myself to be above average inNot recommended for it's current price of $25. And I studied my fair share of political science and consider myself to be above average in terms of political knowledge and interest.

    I found this to be too easy (in terms of being re-elected, which is really the only major goal you're trying to achieve each term). Also not as complex as it first looked (another reviewer mentioned this already) since it's actually rather basic once you get down to it.

    Big thing is that there isn't much to do while there are a myriad of policy choices made available, most are extremely negative and will often result in serious consequences so essentially there is a "right" way to play this game. There aren't enough things to do (in my honest opinion) to justify the price point. Sure there are nice graphs and the UI is actually decent given the amount of information thrown at you, but beyond that and implementing/editing/removing a policy every now and again there isn't anything else. Plus while all the displays and the information given are nice, they're fairly obvious and anyone who has gone to college/is going to college will find nothing surprising here in terms of educational value as one reviewer has said it is really a high school level game.

    After every quarter or "turn" there is maybe some random event that occurs or some decision that you have to make, but there really isn't much variety after a little while and the random events are often just that completely random and illogical given the situations (at least in my two playthroughs). Plus once you decide you don't really get a notification or anything about what happened, which would have been nice. I got really bored after maybe 45 minutes (after starting and not finishing two different playthroughs) never playing this again (unless they seriously add a lot more content and make it less of a snoozefest) and I will reiterate: not recommended.
    Expand
  7. Oct 25, 2013
    0
    It bills itself as the most complex political strategy game ever made... maybe.. but it is the most boring one ever made. I tried to play itIt bills itself as the most complex political strategy game ever made... maybe.. but it is the most boring one ever made. I tried to play it 3 or 4 times, and each time I turned it off within 20 minutes, there simply is nothing exciting or fun about tediously balancing approval ratings. Expand

See all 38 User Reviews