Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Oct 8, 2011
    81
    Bite-sized, colourful chunks of randomly generated adventure. It's the perfect casual roguelike experience. [Nov 2011, p.114]
  2. Mar 6, 2014
    90
    One of the best games to come out of the indie dev scene in recent years, Desktop Dungeons takes the best aspects of a roguelike dungeon crawl, distills them down to the essentials, and puts a tactical, puzzle-minded spin on the genre that is not only unique, but brilliantly executed.
  3. Feb 10, 2014
    70
    It’s ugly as sin (upscaled 800 x 600 resolution) and there are no animations but this indie rougelike/puzzle game is addictive as hell. [02/2014, p.63]
  4. Jan 16, 2014
    90
    'Just one more dungeon!' – this is the sort of addictive game that gets a reviewer in trouble for not getting the article done in time.
  5. Jan 14, 2014
    87
    Comes highly recommended, providing you're capable of stopping and using your loaf from time to time. [Feb 2014, p.78]
  6. Jan 9, 2014
    88
    One of the most cognitive, strategic gaming experiences available now.
  7. Dec 5, 2013
    70
    Desktop Dungeons is typically one of those games that clicks you through the day when you're bored. The mechanics are fun, humor funny, but after a day you've pretty much seen everything there is to see.
  8. Dec 2, 2013
    80
    QCF Design had a fantastic core game built years ago, and it holds up today, especially with the added bells and whistles. Despite its generic title, there really is nothing else like the dungeon-puzzling found here.
  9. Nov 29, 2013
    90
    While the amount of strategic thinking required will put off those who prefer games with a little less difficulty and a little more immediacy, Desktop Dungeons is a creative, rewarding and utterly addictive game that will keep you raiding goblin lairs until the small hours.
  10. Nov 29, 2013
    75
    Desktop Dungeons is a fantastic rogue-like ideal for gamers who have some masochistic tendencies and don't mind spending hours to achieve the personal growth required for success. Those looking for quick and easy rewards should look elsewhere. You'll never look at a goat the same way.
  11. Nov 27, 2013
    70
    Tricky puzzle fast food that will keep fans of randomly generated dungeon action busy.
  12. Nov 15, 2013
    100
    Remember when you thought this was a frivolous roguelike and not a seriously meaty strategy game that you’ll be playing for literally days? How silly of you.
User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 30 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 8
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 8
  3. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Dec 20, 2013
    10
    I think it's appropriate that my first Metacritic review is for a game that I absolutely adore. I've put in over 75 hours and I'm happily addicted. As someone who enjoys a real challenge in a puzzler roguelike, Desktop Dungeons has it all.

    The learning curve is steep but finally clearing a dungeon you've attempted with various races and classes a dozen or two times is thrilling. Having knowledge of your glyphs (spells), buffs, and racial/class traits and using that knowledge to just barely eek out a victory against one or more tough bosses in a Hard dungeon is awesome.

    The graphics are relatively simple and the music is great. The challenge is here. If you're looking for a fun game that makes you think, this is your deal. 10/10. So much yet to learn....
    Full Review »
  2. Dec 7, 2013
    10
    This game is amazing, it's a simple, beautifully designed and balanced strategy/roguelike/puzzle game that will have you stuck to your keyboard for hundreds of hours. It's incredibly deep, it will draw you in so fast and so hard so be prepared for that. Full Review »
  3. Nov 27, 2013
    9
    This rogue-like game was a serious diamond in the rough for me. As of now i have around 100h on this, and i'm keeping playing it every day or so. Basically you have your little kingdom to grow up, and to do that you need to go in countless dungeons for plunder and trophies to sell. The graphic is fully functional, i find it perfectly fit for it and some of the characters portrait arts are nice/cute/funny. The icons again are well done. The draw off it's like a old 16 bit game from SNES, but seriously it's perfect for this game. The sounds are well done too, the musics are never bad, are etheir good or good enough that don't interfere with your dungeon expirience.
    Playability isn't that good on the other side. It's quite hard and unforgiving in the beginning. You need to learn your way in and no much help comes around. But, if your the kind of player who loves challange in the form of strategy, tactics and... mh matematics... well this game is for you.
    It's seriously hard, it reach the point were you feel almost hopeless, but with enought caparbiety you always find a way to do a thing or the other. So in the end is the kind of difficulty that's fun to go against.
    For 10 euros is a perfect addiction for Rpg/strategy gamers, as i already told i spended 100 hours so far and i'm keep counting. But don't play it if you don't like HARD games, sometimes it feel likes a harder version of darksouls.... only rogue-like... ah ah ah.
    Full Review »