Deus Ex: Human Revolution Image
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 52 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2972 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In Deus Ex: Human Revolution you play Adam Jensen, a security specialist, handpicked to oversee the defense of one of America's most experimental biotechnology firms. But when a black ops team breaks in and kills the scientists you were hired to protect, everything you thought you knew aboutIn Deus Ex: Human Revolution you play Adam Jensen, a security specialist, handpicked to oversee the defense of one of America's most experimental biotechnology firms. But when a black ops team breaks in and kills the scientists you were hired to protect, everything you thought you knew about your job changes. At a time when scientific advancements are routinely turning athletes, soldiers and spies into super-enhanced beings, someone is working very hard to ensure mankind's evolution follows a particular path. You need to discover why - because the decisions you take and the choices you make will be the only things that can determine mankind's future. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 52 out of 52
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 52
  3. Negative: 0 out of 52
  1. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Oct 30, 2011
    100
    There are only a few games this year we suggest to 16-yrs old gamers and their fathers together. Human Revolution for sure is a Game of the Year nominee. [Oct 2011]
  2. Aug 22, 2011
    95
    With its flowing, open approach to mission structure, thoroughly engrossing story and gorgeous visuals, this is the kind of game that all others should strive to be. While there are some elements that don't feel quite as developed as they should have been, and augmentation is more Hobson's choice than true choice, Human Revolution provides a level of quality that only the most adamant cynic could fail to be impressed by. More importantly, it is everything a fan of Deus Ex could want in a game.
  3. PC Games (Russia)
    Aug 29, 2011
    95
    It's worth every second of these 11 years of waiting. It's a true Deus Ex sequel we all begged for. [Sept 2011, p.16]
  4. Aug 22, 2011
    90
    An imperfect, complex and ambitious reminder of what a game can be when it's unafraid.
  5. Aug 31, 2011
    90
    Deus Ex is, yet again, more than the sum of its parts, one of the most captivating games in years. It's a title that's far from perfect, however it's a must-play for anyone who is passionate for great Sci-Fi stories and action games.
  6. Aug 25, 2011
    87
    Invisible War has finally been atoned for... Deus Ex :Human Revolution is a wonderful step forward for cyberpunk RPG enthusiasts.
  7. Aug 22, 2011
    80
    The best card played by Eidos Montreal is the core of the stealth gameplay, and the vast array of augmentations can change drastically the way the player can solve the most intricate security situations. Ok, the graphics and the combat probably aren't the freshest beverage of this summer, but for 20+ hours of high quality hide and catch, you can drink them anyway and leave the complains for the inevitable DLCs.

See all 52 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 78 out of 694
  1. May 2, 2013
    10
    This game is superb in every way, It deserves all the ratings, A modern multi-choice game with a different choice of skill trees, A GreatThis game is superb in every way, It deserves all the ratings, A modern multi-choice game with a different choice of skill trees, A Great stealth system(It is A LOT like dishonored and Far Cry 3's Stealth), a Working inventory system and a gripping story.

    When I played this game back in 2011 I thought the Stealth system was pretty poor, but playing the game again on PC in 2013, I've realized the stealth is very diverse in a game where it's not necessarily required, it's not like splinter cell where you can openly walk right past someone, It's not like Tomb Raider(2013) where once your detected, everyone knows your location, It's more "Real" than all of these, The best way to approach the situations is to say, "what would happen in real life?", If your detected, it's not too late, if you can run around the enemy or chase him, OR even just shoot him before he sounds the alarm, the enemies have no way of knowing you were even there, Bodies can be moved like in the fallout games, Enemies can be silently knocked out, OR loudly killed with Adams wrist blades(Cool as F***), When knocked out, the enemies DO awaken, So be quick if this is your method. Now the stealth part is amazing, But what if you hate stealth and like being a loud superhuman? There are skill trees for that too, Like more regeneration, the "Typhoon" and more, And with the games diverse covering system, gunplay and again, stealth, getting the jump on your enemy has never been more fun, i'd go as far to say this game is A LOT better than 2012's dishonored!

    If you find this game cheap and you've never played it, GET IT, it's an experience!

    Deus Ex Human Revolution is one of the best games this gen, a MUST play!
    Expand
  2. Nov 11, 2015
    10
    t's like magic, guys. Time disappears when this game and I are together, and I never want it to end strongly recommend the game, because oft's like magic, guys. Time disappears when this game and I are together, and I never want it to end strongly recommend the game, because of the great atmosphere, story and interactive choices Expand
  3. Aug 23, 2011
    10
    When I began playing this game I had my doubts being such a big fan of the original. Now, 5 hours into the game I have been able to dig deepWhen I began playing this game I had my doubts being such a big fan of the original. Now, 5 hours into the game I have been able to dig deep into the core and see what play "Human Revolution" is truly like, and it is good. I feel like they captured the original perfectly. From the moment you begin playing HR you realize this REALLY is the new Deus Ex, not some cheap knock of made to make money. The cover system really enhanced the way I was able to go through levels. The tiny details made me feel like I was not only killing and knocking out bad guys, but actually uncovering secrets I wasn't supposed to know. If you are a fan of the original or FPS games in general, I *highly* recommend this game.

    You might ask if this game actually deserves a perfect score. The reason I gave it one is because it does everything a game should, immerses you into a world and allows you to connect with the characters. The action is unyielding and exciting, while the story is better then most movies. This game deserves the 10 I gave it because it delivered on the promise of giving me a new game in the series just as good as the original.
    Expand
  4. Aug 5, 2014
    9
    As a die-hard fan of Deus Ex, considering it the best game of all time, I was more than worried what will they do with this and how will theyAs a die-hard fan of Deus Ex, considering it the best game of all time, I was more than worried what will they do with this and how will they tarnish the Deus Ex name, but I'm extremely relieved that this is really good. Of course it's not that level of ultimate masterpiece that the original Deus Ex was back in 2000, but considering this day and age and how games tend to be, Human Revolution is a fantastic game. There is still a great deal of cyber atmosphere here, even the music is pretty good, I liked the story and even the gameplay. I must admit that I probably enjoyed Human Revolution more than the Invisible War. It's no match for the original Deus Ex, nothing is and nothing ever will probably, but this is liekly as good as it gets. One point down for those terrible terrible boss fights. 9/10 Expand
  5. Sep 21, 2011
    8
    The fact that you have to grind in this game to get levels may be annoying, but having more than one way to get that experience and havingThe fact that you have to grind in this game to get levels may be annoying, but having more than one way to get that experience and having those methods tied into the feel of the game saved it from what could have been a bad mechanic. I really think it should have had a reset button for your skills though, going around with a particular skill set and then figuring out that none of them will help where you're at is a bit annoying at times, but those times are scarce enough not to matter too much. The AI isn't all that bright but you do have to think in combat situations as you die quickly if you botch it up. I admired the appearance of the game, despite what others may think I thought it adhered to the feel of the game rather well. Expand
  6. Nov 28, 2012
    7
    The original Deus Ex was one of those games that sucks you in and leaves a lasting impact that even 12 years later has you occasionallyThe original Deus Ex was one of those games that sucks you in and leaves a lasting impact that even 12 years later has you occasionally nodding with nostalgic approval at the fond memories of playing it. So it's obvious that when I heard about the new prequel that was supposed to capture that same vibe, it was a must have. I didn't just invest in the game, I chose my new PC on the basis that it could run this game. And sure, it's good, it's occasionally fun and the world is absolutely brimming over with little interesting details like conversations, emails and props that make it appear living and breathing. I love the stealth feature where the camera goes third person when hiding behind walls and objects, and the visual aesthetics and music aren't a letdown. However, when I got near the end of the game, I either got bored or got a bout of gamer fatigue, and I would argue that if a game ever lets you experience that, then it's not worthy a 9 or an 8. It's a good game - no doubt about that - but the experience I had was nowhere near that of the original 2000 release. If you haven't played any game in the series, go get the original. It's on Steam and it's cheap. If you've played that one and want to pick this one up, prepare to be - if not very, then a little disappointed. Expand
  7. Nov 20, 2013
    0
    This game epitomises how marketing can fool people into thinking that a game worth nothing more than a zero is worth a 10.
    Obviously the
    This game epitomises how marketing can fool people into thinking that a game worth nothing more than a zero is worth a 10.
    Obviously the people that gave this a 10 are either console players who have not played good games in their lives or just plain idiots, who got fooled by the marketing and pretty trailer.
    The graphics are terrible, the game play felt stiff, old and just annoying, the voice acting is terrible, the story is boring and everything about this game is terrible.
    Luckily I did not buy this game, otherwise I would have come here and gave it a 10 just to convince myself that I did not waste the money.
    After 1 hour of playing, I closed the game and un-installed it.
    Please do not buy this piece of shiit. If you feel like you have to buy it and play it, then download it from torrent websites, the installation process is very easy.
    Expand

See all 694 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2011

    The Best Videogames of 2011 Image
    Published: December 23, 2011
    It wasn't just your imagination; 2011 was indeed a great year for videogames. In our yearly report, we take a look at the year's best releases overall as well as the top games for each platform.