Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 52 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2617 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In Deus Ex: Human Revolution you play Adam Jensen, a security specialist, handpicked to oversee the defense of one of America's most experimental biotechnology firms. But when a black ops team breaks in and kills the scientists you were hired to protect, everything you thought you knew about your job changes. At a time when scientific advancements are routinely turning athletes, soldiers and spies into super-enhanced beings, someone is working very hard to ensure mankind's evolution follows a particular path. You need to discover why - because the decisions you take and the choices you make will be the only things that can determine mankind's future. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 52 out of 52
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 52
  3. Negative: 0 out of 52
  1. 100
    There are only a few games this year we suggest to 16-yrs old gamers and their fathers together. Human Revolution for sure is a Game of the Year nominee. [Oct 2011]
  2. Aug 22, 2011
    95
    With its flowing, open approach to mission structure, thoroughly engrossing story and gorgeous visuals, this is the kind of game that all others should strive to be. While there are some elements that don't feel quite as developed as they should have been, and augmentation is more Hobson's choice than true choice, Human Revolution provides a level of quality that only the most adamant cynic could fail to be impressed by. More importantly, it is everything a fan of Deus Ex could want in a game.
  3. Aug 29, 2011
    95
    It's worth every second of these 11 years of waiting. It's a true Deus Ex sequel we all begged for. [Sept 2011, p.16]
  4. Aug 22, 2011
    90
    An imperfect, complex and ambitious reminder of what a game can be when it's unafraid.
  5. Aug 31, 2011
    90
    Deus Ex is, yet again, more than the sum of its parts, one of the most captivating games in years. It's a title that's far from perfect, however it's a must-play for anyone who is passionate for great Sci-Fi stories and action games.
  6. Aug 25, 2011
    87
    Invisible War has finally been atoned for... Deus Ex :Human Revolution is a wonderful step forward for cyberpunk RPG enthusiasts.
  7. Aug 22, 2011
    80
    The best card played by Eidos Montreal is the core of the stealth gameplay, and the vast array of augmentations can change drastically the way the player can solve the most intricate security situations. Ok, the graphics and the combat probably aren't the freshest beverage of this summer, but for 20+ hours of high quality hide and catch, you can drink them anyway and leave the complains for the inevitable DLCs.

See all 52 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 74 out of 661
  1. May 2, 2013
    10
    This game is superb in every way, It deserves all the ratings, A modern multi-choice game with a different choice of skill trees, A Great stealth system(It is A LOT like dishonored and Far Cry 3's Stealth), a Working inventory system and a gripping story.

    When I played this game back in 2011 I thought the Stealth system was pretty poor, but playing the game again on PC in 2013, I've realized the stealth is very diverse in a game where it's not necessarily required, it's not like splinter cell where you can openly walk right past someone, It's not like Tomb Raider(2013) where once your detected, everyone knows your location, It's more "Real" than all of these, The best way to approach the situations is to say, "what would happen in real life?", If your detected, it's not too late, if you can run around the enemy or chase him, OR even just shoot him before he sounds the alarm, the enemies have no way of knowing you were even there, Bodies can be moved like in the fallout games, Enemies can be silently knocked out, OR loudly killed with Adams wrist blades(Cool as F***), When knocked out, the enemies DO awaken, So be quick if this is your method. Now the stealth part is amazing, But what if you hate stealth and like being a loud superhuman? There are skill trees for that too, Like more regeneration, the "Typhoon" and more, And with the games diverse covering system, gunplay and again, stealth, getting the jump on your enemy has never been more fun, i'd go as far to say this game is A LOT better than 2012's dishonored!

    If you find this game cheap and you've never played it, GET IT, it's an experience!

    Deus Ex Human Revolution is one of the best games this gen, a MUST play!
    Expand
  2. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    Definitely a worthy game in the Deus Ex line unlike the nightmare of IW. Great story, interesting characters, a unique art design, and q phenomenal soundtrack really make it an experience. However, boss fights can be a pain with certain augmentations. Expand
  3. Aug 23, 2011
    10
    When I began playing this game I had my doubts being such a big fan of the original. Now, 5 hours into the game I have been able to dig deep into the core and see what play "Human Revolution" is truly like, and it is good. I feel like they captured the original perfectly. From the moment you begin playing HR you realize this REALLY is the new Deus Ex, not some cheap knock of made to make money. The cover system really enhanced the way I was able to go through levels. The tiny details made me feel like I was not only killing and knocking out bad guys, but actually uncovering secrets I wasn't supposed to know. If you are a fan of the original or FPS games in general, I *highly* recommend this game.

    You might ask if this game actually deserves a perfect score. The reason I gave it one is because it does everything a game should, immerses you into a world and allows you to connect with the characters. The action is unyielding and exciting, while the story is better then most movies. This game deserves the 10 I gave it because it delivered on the promise of giving me a new game in the series just as good as the original.
    Expand
  4. Aug 7, 2014
    9
    Awesome stealth action RPG, with a very smart, well written and interesting story. The game has a great art style and near future aesthetic, but the graphics are disappointing even by the standards of 2011. Expand
  5. Dec 6, 2011
    8
    Ever game has a color about it. Saints row is purple, Brink is light blue, Deus Ex is yellow. Also its a very unique shooter greatly using cover, stealth, hacking, and overall strategy. Or you can set it to easy mode and just play it like a more standard game which I ended up doing, cuz I was really bad at it lol 8/10 Expand
  6. Aug 27, 2011
    7
    Playing this game i have the feeling i am playing through a Mass Effect DLC, and not the best one... until i am brought back to reality by its Modern Warfare-like combat and the stealth "routes" available. Those are the main differences between the two games. There is the same dialog system, the same lack of weaponry choice of ME2, the same hub-dungeons mechanic, the token "hacking" mini-game and even the original augment system works in the same way as Mass Effect's character progression (with exp points granting points to expend in new abilities and powering up old ones), although some modifications provide effects similar to those of Crysis' famous combat suit. I can't help feeling the whole game is a massive sense of deja-vu topped with lack of creativity. Only the concept design and art sometimes go above the average. Even with my settings maxed i found the graphics to be lacking and the backgrounds mostly unappealing, at about the level of the first Mass Effect, if not less. The music score is interesting and it's clear a skilled writer was hired for the occasion, but both fall flat because of the repetitive and unoriginal gameplay. Perhaps after playing through all of the FPS games of the last decade i have grown insensitive to the appeal of the genre, but i still play quite a few of them and the third installment of Deus Ex doesn't provide anything substantially new to the standard. Even though i am a fan of the more rough and unforgiving combat i have no reason to play through Deus Ex: Human Revolution again. Wanting an engrossing story and captivating scenery Mass Effect is by far superior, while Battlefield Bad Company 2 or Modern Warfare 2 go the extra mile in terms of realism, stealth action and weaponry choice. I can hardly contain my disappointment and stupefaction in front of the acclaim a game like this is receiving, but i will give it the rating i believe it deserves: a 7, mostly for its good production value, polished gameplay and cool (although easily guessed) story climax. Le sigh. Expand
  7. Oct 5, 2014
    0
    People ask me why I hate paying for games. This game is why.

    This game is an endless source of frustration. Spend minutes scoping out the
    guards and lining up perfect shots and what do you get? A bullet hole in the cover instead of a dead or knocked out guard.

    This ridiculously serious design flaw makes the game unplayable. The fact that this game is getting good reviews shows just how stupid the average gamer is, not proof that it is a good game.
    Expand

See all 661 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2011

    The Best Videogames of 2011 Image
    Published: December 23, 2011
    It wasn't just your imagination; 2011 was indeed a great year for videogames. In our yearly report, we take a look at the year's best releases overall as well as the top games for each platform.