Deus Ex: Human Revolution Image
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 52 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 3110 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In Deus Ex: Human Revolution you play Adam Jensen, a security specialist, handpicked to oversee the defense of one of America's most experimental biotechnology firms. But when a black ops team breaks in and kills the scientists you were hired to protect, everything you thought you knew aboutIn Deus Ex: Human Revolution you play Adam Jensen, a security specialist, handpicked to oversee the defense of one of America's most experimental biotechnology firms. But when a black ops team breaks in and kills the scientists you were hired to protect, everything you thought you knew about your job changes. At a time when scientific advancements are routinely turning athletes, soldiers and spies into super-enhanced beings, someone is working very hard to ensure mankind's evolution follows a particular path. You need to discover why - because the decisions you take and the choices you make will be the only things that can determine mankind's future. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 52 out of 52
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 52
  3. Negative: 0 out of 52
  1. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Oct 30, 2011
    100
    There are only a few games this year we suggest to 16-yrs old gamers and their fathers together. Human Revolution for sure is a Game of the Year nominee. [Oct 2011]
  2. Aug 22, 2011
    95
    With its flowing, open approach to mission structure, thoroughly engrossing story and gorgeous visuals, this is the kind of game that all others should strive to be. While there are some elements that don't feel quite as developed as they should have been, and augmentation is more Hobson's choice than true choice, Human Revolution provides a level of quality that only the most adamant cynic could fail to be impressed by. More importantly, it is everything a fan of Deus Ex could want in a game.
  3. PC Games (Russia)
    Aug 29, 2011
    95
    It's worth every second of these 11 years of waiting. It's a true Deus Ex sequel we all begged for. [Sept 2011, p.16]
  4. Aug 22, 2011
    90
    An imperfect, complex and ambitious reminder of what a game can be when it's unafraid.
  5. Aug 31, 2011
    90
    Deus Ex is, yet again, more than the sum of its parts, one of the most captivating games in years. It's a title that's far from perfect, however it's a must-play for anyone who is passionate for great Sci-Fi stories and action games.
  6. Aug 25, 2011
    87
    Invisible War has finally been atoned for... Deus Ex :Human Revolution is a wonderful step forward for cyberpunk RPG enthusiasts.
  7. Aug 22, 2011
    80
    The best card played by Eidos Montreal is the core of the stealth gameplay, and the vast array of augmentations can change drastically the way the player can solve the most intricate security situations. Ok, the graphics and the combat probably aren't the freshest beverage of this summer, but for 20+ hours of high quality hide and catch, you can drink them anyway and leave the complains for the inevitable DLCs.

See all 52 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 78 out of 703
  1. Sep 1, 2013
    10
    Hands down one of my favorite games of all time. Music was amazing (I own the soundtrack), gameplay was perfect for a stealth game, cinematicHands down one of my favorite games of all time. Music was amazing (I own the soundtrack), gameplay was perfect for a stealth game, cinematic quality graphics, many different combat play-styles... and don't even get me started on the storyline. Expand
  2. Oct 22, 2014
    10
    Played this game at least 6 times to date. Visuals are stunning, the music really creates a sense of atmosphere and gameplay is polished. OnePlayed this game at least 6 times to date. Visuals are stunning, the music really creates a sense of atmosphere and gameplay is polished. One of the best games of it's generation. Expand
  3. Aug 23, 2011
    10
    When I began playing this game I had my doubts being such a big fan of the original. Now, 5 hours into the game I have been able to dig deepWhen I began playing this game I had my doubts being such a big fan of the original. Now, 5 hours into the game I have been able to dig deep into the core and see what play "Human Revolution" is truly like, and it is good. I feel like they captured the original perfectly. From the moment you begin playing HR you realize this REALLY is the new Deus Ex, not some cheap knock of made to make money. The cover system really enhanced the way I was able to go through levels. The tiny details made me feel like I was not only killing and knocking out bad guys, but actually uncovering secrets I wasn't supposed to know. If you are a fan of the original or FPS games in general, I *highly* recommend this game.

    You might ask if this game actually deserves a perfect score. The reason I gave it one is because it does everything a game should, immerses you into a world and allows you to connect with the characters. The action is unyielding and exciting, while the story is better then most movies. This game deserves the 10 I gave it because it delivered on the promise of giving me a new game in the series just as good as the original.
    Expand
  4. Nov 6, 2015
    9
    The characters look like ass
    The weapons have really unnatural movements during firing
    The pre-animated cutscene is absolutely cancer
    The characters look like ass
    The weapons have really unnatural movements during firing
    The pre-animated cutscene is absolutely cancer
    Mandatory boss FIGHTs are counter to the philosophy of Deus Ex - Player Freedom

    Diverse customization options
    Freedom to complete missions
    Compelling plot and philosophical presentation

    Like Yahtzee said, this is an action game with RPG elements, but it is a competent RPG, and the action part is not too shabby as well. Could've been better here and there, but also could've been far far worse. Looking forward to Mankind Divided.
    Expand
  5. Oct 18, 2011
    8
    A good and worthy follow-up of Deus Ex, though the graphics are console level. The world is great, intriguing, funny and generelly well laidA good and worthy follow-up of Deus Ex, though the graphics are console level. The world is great, intriguing, funny and generelly well laid out. The only major let-down is, that this game over-emphasises hacking. W/o hacking, you are missing on a lot of the content.
    Basically, this is one of the better console ports. Deus Ex could have deserved better (a real PC game), but all in all, this one works fine. It was definitely a good decision to delay shipment of the game to fix it after the first bad reviews came in.
    Expand
  6. Nov 15, 2011
    7
    An enjoyable game, but too derivative with little or none of the innovation we expect from RPG shooters. It's interesting that a lot of theAn enjoyable game, but too derivative with little or none of the innovation we expect from RPG shooters. It's interesting that a lot of the criticism levelled at the first Deus Ex sequel could easily be applied to HR, but wasn't. Like Invisible War, HR is essentially a console version of the first game, much bigger and shinier granted, but with most of the original's RPG elements simply reduced rather than improved or streamlined.
    The inclusion of end of level bosses did feel out of sync with the rest of the game, but they weren't a huge departure the original. Also, it amazes me that although hours and hours of dialogue must have been recorded for the NPCs, they could only come up with two or three basic animations whilst they delivered their lines! I'd rather have more convincing animation from the characters I encounter in an RPG, that actually matches the speech, rather than hundreds of pointless side-quests that only 10% of people will actually bother attempting.
    Expand
  7. Sep 5, 2011
    0
    The game has stupidly high system requirements (forced upon you by an automatic check that you are not allowed to override even if you knowThe game has stupidly high system requirements (forced upon you by an automatic check that you are not allowed to override even if you know your system is more than capable). Audio skipping occurred in my game completely independently of any sort of frame-rate issues (because my game looked like liquid sick already -- we're talking med-low graphics on something like the original F.E.A.R). Seems the graphics card manufacturer's paid off the developers here to make sure anyone with a directx 10 card needs to upgrade to actually play the game even though the upgrades between the two directx versions are minimal at best. Honestly if the first thing your game does is dictate to me how to configure my own computer and not allow me to continue until I do, I'd rather not play it. Expand

See all 703 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2011

    The Best Videogames of 2011 Image
    Published: December 23, 2011
    It wasn't just your imagination; 2011 was indeed a great year for videogames. In our yearly report, we take a look at the year's best releases overall as well as the top games for each platform.