Deus Ex: Human Revolution - Director's Cut Image
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 4 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 445 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In Deus Ex: Human Revolution you play Adam Jensen, a security specialist, handpicked to oversee the defense of one of America's most experimental biotechnology firms. But when a black ops team breaks in and kills the scientists you were hired to protect, everything you thought you knew aboutIn Deus Ex: Human Revolution you play Adam Jensen, a security specialist, handpicked to oversee the defense of one of America's most experimental biotechnology firms. But when a black ops team breaks in and kills the scientists you were hired to protect, everything you thought you knew about your job changes. At a time when scientific advancements are routinely turning athletes, soldiers and spies into super-enhanced beings, someone is working very hard to ensure mankind's evolution follows a particular path. You need to discover why - because the decisions you take and the choices you make will be the only things that can determine mankind's future. Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. PC Gamer UK
    Jan 6, 2014
    95
    Still dark, cool, beautiful, smart substantial, funny, creative and endlessly entertaining. Only now a bit better. [Jan 2014, p.88]
  2. PC PowerPlay
    Nov 25, 2013
    90
    There's never been a batter time to replay Human Revolution; especially with the devs in your ear explaining why things are broken. [December 2013, p.94]
  3. CD-Action
    Jan 10, 2014
    90
    If you haven’t played the original edition, prepare for one of the best stealth/shooter games of recent years and above all a really good story and incredible music. [01/2014, p.65]
  4. Hyper Magazine
    Dec 28, 2013
    90
    An excellent update that revitalises Human Revolution in a number of ways. Time to play it again. [Jan 2014, p.78]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 47
  2. Negative: 2 out of 47
  1. Feb 1, 2016
    10
    Deus Ex: Human Revolution is the reboot and a story based prequel of the 2000s original of the same name (excluding the subtitle), with aDeus Ex: Human Revolution is the reboot and a story based prequel of the 2000s original of the same name (excluding the subtitle), with a focus on a dark , twisted future , where Transhumanism , along with cybernetic augmentations and enormous technological advancements are made. Part of the society questions such actions, whether the corporations are playing god and if we are losing what makes us human by such augs, while the other part of the society thinks , life can be hugely improved by them , veterans from war can be amputated , their limbs could be replaced, their arms will be stronger, their mind will be more reactive and faster, their eyes will be able to take pictures by blinking , their lives would be better. The game puts you in a role of an Ex-Swat member , whom after being severely injured when protecting a lab of the corporation he works for , gets augmented, providing players with a very neutral look on the subject matter, where you can either condemn or adore what you've become and treat augmented and non-augmented people with your perception of the moral highground, the plot doesn't get overly profound or confusing at any point , it is long, with each and every detail chewed out for the player, with exceptionally written dialogue , great acting ( especially Jensen's whose voice requires devious amounts of masturbation to fully appreciate) and a rather impactful ending that sums the message of the game perfectly.The setting of Detroit and the premise of the main character , going from a human body to a robot's after being left for dead by his enemies , only to come back and hunt them down is sooooooooooooooo reminicent of Robocop and the yellow-ish cyberpunkatmosphere gives it a flair of Ridley Scott's Blade Runner , it is a game that is masterful and as such is inspired by masterpieces
    The gameplay is hard, challenging and very adrenaline inducing , offering various amounts of paths and ways you can handle the objectives ,stealth , aggressive or a mix of both , and the game always penalizes and rewards both of the play-styles , the gunplay is fierce and unrelenting , with some truly badass executions and takedowns , that makes Batman wince and cringe, at the martial arts badassery of Adam Jensen.The game has probably the most unique hacking system i've ever seen , not one game has managed to make capturing nodes and unlocking hidden secrets inside the computer hubs so intense , since after capturing a node a higher risk of detection occurs and you get put in a rushed state of alarm, to reach the main gate control port and unlock the door or flip the security system in your favor in time , ordering automated bots to clear the rooms full of enemies or disabling laser-defended gates to flank the enemy or enter ventilation shafts to sneak past them unnoticed( and there are a lot of vents, trust me if there was an award for the highest amount of ventilation shafts in a game , this game would have won it.........................................several times over). The upgrade system (unlike most other games , looking at you Far Cry 3) is actually very useful , literally every single upgrade is needed and is extremely valuable and it breaks your heart to see that so many of them you could have used to accomplish a mission more successfully went into upgrading something else that was for momentary need,but boy was it something you really needed, besides, you only had one Praxis point, hard to guess which one is the most useful, they require careful observation and experimentation to narrow down the choices , though after completing the game , unlocking all of the augs you do feel godlike , yet the difficulty could always be upped to accomodate your upgrades , so the incentive is there to replay, including multiple endings and dialogue choices that you could have handled differently, during important story beats such as hostage negotiations, information gathering or persuading people, such as convincing someone to turn off inhibitors, that make ordinary civilians into the Westboro Baptist church from Kingsman The Secret Service (seriously that scene only required Lynyrd Skynyrd's Freebird and that's it church scene "recreated")
    Deus Ex Human revolution is a brilliant game, full of fantasticly artisitic,influenced choices towards its story and world/level design , an intricate and fresh take on the action-stealth-RPG genre , that is so rare in the gaming industry today.
    Expand
  2. May 20, 2014
    10
    I've just finished this awesome game!!! If you're really into an amazing gameplay time you shouldn't miss the opportunity and the pleasure toI've just finished this awesome game!!! If you're really into an amazing gameplay time you shouldn't miss the opportunity and the pleasure to play this game... :D
    The soundtrack, the story, the voices in game.. all so well-arranged and matches perfectly!
    Expand
  3. Oct 25, 2013
    10
    It was made to be the best!
    I played DE:HR in the 2010 it was one of the best RPGs in my life. With the Director's Cut one of the best games
    It was made to be the best!
    I played DE:HR in the 2010 it was one of the best RPGs in my life. With the Director's Cut one of the best games has became more beautiful, better, smarter and more fun!
    You should to play it!
    Expand
  4. TSB
    Dec 29, 2013
    9
    This is not only one of the best Action RPG of this GEN it is one of the best games ever made .
    Great story with more than one end and
    This is not only one of the best Action RPG of this GEN it is one of the best games ever made .
    Great story with more than one end and memorable moments smooth and fun gameplay with the choice of stealth or action mode very nice visual excellent voice acting and sound track .
    I will replay this game for sure though I don't replay games usually
    Expand
  5. May 21, 2014
    8
    I honestly can't believe it took me this long to finally play this game. 25 hours of Pure Awesome! While not immaculate one can't argue thatI honestly can't believe it took me this long to finally play this game. 25 hours of Pure Awesome! While not immaculate one can't argue that it's simply spectacular.

    The story starts out great, but i felt my interest dwindle a bit during the halfway mark. Fortunately the climax of the game re-grabs your attention with one immense swoop. There are also some peculiar life lessons to be learned from the story; should you pay careful attention to it. I'm not a big fan of the way you choose one of the multiple endings, but it's still elegantly done to portray them well enough. I will say no more for fear of spoilers; but the story is surely satisfactory and fitting.

    Graphically, the game is impressive. Despite some minor shadow and texture glitches I've noticed that are, for the most part, unnoteworthy, Deus Ex: Human Revolution succeeds in throwing you into a beautiful and highly believable futuristic world, taking place in 2052. It also ran very smooth on my slightly above-average rig, so it appears to be well optimized.

    The soundtrack is fitting and decent enough. Some guns sound a bit quirky to me and more modern-aged than futuristic, but its still satisfactory and not really that noticeable.

    Gameplay is immensely fun to fool around, just remember to quick save often. I chose the stealthy way to play, since the combat can be quite challenging, especially on a higher difficulty. The augmentation system is so much fun, choosing to be a either hacker and let robots and turrets do most of the work, or to be stealthy and sneaky and take enemies out one by one, or even upgrade armour and health so you can take enemies on Mano-el-mano. Nevertheless, by the end I had nearly all augmentations implemented and could choose any one I preferred.

    Map layouts are very dynamic and there are always multiple ways to choose in an area, as long as you're perceptive enough to find them. Although somewhat an open-world game, it does feel mostly linear with only a few detours to take if you choose to do side-missions. Luckily side-missions are quite original and they somehow managed to integrate most of them even into the main campaign.

    Characters aren't all as memorable as one would like them to be, but the main ones that matter do appear to have some distinguishable features. Voice acting is good, although your character sounds like he just choked on water or swallowed a fly each time he speaks, it does make him sounds quite bad-ass.. in a Batman sort of way. A gloomy voice indeed.

    In conclusion, if you have waited as long as I have to play this, do yourself a favor and buy it already. Once you get into this game, you really can't stop playing until the end. It takes you on a great futuristic ride that makes you question your own moral decisions in a way that's quite compelling. I highly recommend Deus Ex: Human Revolution.
    Expand
  6. Sep 25, 2014
    7
    Wait better than Deux Ex Invisible War, but still not quite at the same level as the original. Feels a bit more generic whereas the first DXWait better than Deux Ex Invisible War, but still not quite at the same level as the original. Feels a bit more generic whereas the first DX was groundbreaking. Expand
  7. Dec 11, 2015
    2
    The vanilla DX:HR is perfect, but the Director's cut is so buggy it stutters from time to time, and some textures are missing. The golden glowThe vanilla DX:HR is perfect, but the Director's cut is so buggy it stutters from time to time, and some textures are missing. The golden glow in the original game is gone also : / Expand

See all 47 User Reviews