Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 4 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 262 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In Deus Ex: Human Revolution you play Adam Jensen, a security specialist, handpicked to oversee the defense of one of America's most experimental biotechnology firms. But when a black ops team breaks in and kills the scientists you were hired to protect, everything you thought you knew aboutIn Deus Ex: Human Revolution you play Adam Jensen, a security specialist, handpicked to oversee the defense of one of America's most experimental biotechnology firms. But when a black ops team breaks in and kills the scientists you were hired to protect, everything you thought you knew about your job changes. At a time when scientific advancements are routinely turning athletes, soldiers and spies into super-enhanced beings, someone is working very hard to ensure mankind's evolution follows a particular path. You need to discover why - because the decisions you take and the choices you make will be the only things that can determine mankind's future. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Jan 6, 2014
    95
    Still dark, cool, beautiful, smart substantial, funny, creative and endlessly entertaining. Only now a bit better. [Jan 2014, p.88]
  2. Nov 25, 2013
    90
    There's never been a batter time to replay Human Revolution; especially with the devs in your ear explaining why things are broken. [December 2013, p.94]
  3. Jan 10, 2014
    90
    If you haven’t played the original edition, prepare for one of the best stealth/shooter games of recent years and above all a really good story and incredible music. [01/2014, p.65]
  4. Dec 28, 2013
    90
    An excellent update that revitalises Human Revolution in a number of ways. Time to play it again. [Jan 2014, p.78]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 34
  2. Negative: 3 out of 34
  1. Feb 28, 2014
    10
    Absolutely Amazing, The directors cut is a worthy 10/10. Menu layout, Responsiveness, Graphics the whole thing is a gem. I would recommend itAbsolutely Amazing, The directors cut is a worthy 10/10. Menu layout, Responsiveness, Graphics the whole thing is a gem. I would recommend it for any true fan and newcomers to this classic of our generation. Expand
  2. Jan 31, 2014
    10
    TL;DR at the end

    Well well, what can i say? I LOVE THIS GAME. It's probably one of the few games that I bought without knowing much about
    TL;DR at the end

    Well well, what can i say?
    I LOVE THIS GAME.
    It's probably one of the few games that I bought without knowing much about it and ended up being a real gem. I bought the original game on sale for 2€ more or less and played until the end, very good game, but I didn't enjoyed completely since I went for the pacifist achievement (not a single person should die by you hand) so i couldn't see the real awesomeness of Deus Ex HR, I also failed the achievement... so sad :( After a while the director's cut pops up, with HD textures, new weapons, reworked boss battles (that was much needed), a DLC, but I like to call it an expansion, since it's not the usual DLCrap and a developers commentary. The best thing about this new edition is that it really shows how much effort was put in by the devs, every aspect of the game shows enthusiasm and dedication to the creation and improvement of the game. Let's talk about specific stuff (I like this part)

    ***Graphics*** 9/10 The graphics was already good from the beginning, but now, whith the improved textures, is even better. The pattern on Adam's coat is one of the first thing you will notice, that floral embroidery is simply amazing. Attention to the details is something that won't go unnoticed when you play the game, from the beginning to the end. When you are talking with someone you can see their facial expression changing, depending on the way you approach them, try not to make people angry or the might not share valuable information. The only thing i can say against this topic it that the graphic seems a bit beneath the level of other games that came out that year (2011), but it's nothing to be worried about, it's a 10 in my opinion, but I can't help myself comparing it to Arkham City (that one was a 10/10 that year).

    ***Sound*** 10/10 Yep, ten, the music is perfect, no other words. It's impressive, the atmosphere of the environment and the music go arm in arm. For what concerns the sound effects, I have nothing to say except that everything feels right, especially when using your augmentation powers to punch through a concrete wall and break the neck of the poor guy on the other side. Wanna talk about voice acting? Absolutely fantastic, all of them, dubbers really made it big.

    ***Story*** 10/10 This game is a movie, there is so much in the story that will keep you glued to your PC, so many secrets to uncover that you know people are keeping from you, but the game just won't give you ... yet. You need to reach the very end to know the truth and when the moment arrives the only thing you can say is "OH...MY...GOD! How could I've been so blind this whole time?!"

    ***Gameplay*** 11/10 Am I crazy ? Yes, ELEVEN. Depending on which skill you purchase you can complete missions in different ways, which sometimes drastically change the game itself. Each mission has a lot of different approaches, let's say you need to go from point A to point B, ok? You can go Rambo style, if you're a fan of slaughter, or you can buy the stealth upgrades to become invisible and silent, if you like to sneak past guards and catch them with their pants down, or you could look for a security terminal to hack and be granted the access to point B, or you could even enter a vent shaft and sneak inside metal tunnels all the way through, sometimes you can even take shortcuts by punching walls creating nice holes ... and a bit of a mess, but who cares. So yes there are at least 4 or 5 different approaches for every mission and this is the best thing about this game, freedom.

    ***BONUS(ES) of the Director's cut edition***
    + Replayable, with the option to keep the progress from the previous game
    + HD textures
    + A DLC with an amazing story and some surprise for the fans of the original Deus EX
    + New weapons
    +++ Reworked boss battles. This need a little explanation, in the original game these battles were really bad, and with really bad I mean they were total crap. You sneaked past every guard with your ninja skills, but then you reached a boss that you could only take down with brute force. Finally, the devs realized the error and created new ways to kill these enemies, of course you can still nuke the **** out of them, but hacking the computer that controls sentry turrets or that release a powerful toxic gas... well, that is really praiseworthy. This shows how much a company that make games cares about players, for this improvement I say BRAVO! to the devs.

    TL;DR Game's kicks major asses, if you don't play it you're missing a milestone of the videogame industry.
    Expand
  3. Oct 25, 2013
    10
    It was made to be the best!
    I played DE:HR in the 2010 it was one of the best RPGs in my life. With the Director's Cut one of the best games
    It was made to be the best!
    I played DE:HR in the 2010 it was one of the best RPGs in my life. With the Director's Cut one of the best games has became more beautiful, better, smarter and more fun!
    You should to play it!
    Expand
  4. May 7, 2014
    9
    A game that was great has just been made better, Still beautiful considering it's age now, run amazingly well on pc, The score sets the tone,A game that was great has just been made better, Still beautiful considering it's age now, run amazingly well on pc, The score sets the tone, great dialogue and following the story is a pleasure never a chore,

    You'll find it hard to stop playing. finding many many ways to handle any situation,
    This game meets it's predecessors and maybe surpasses them. enjoy
    Collapse
  5. Nov 11, 2013
    8
    DX:HR Directors cut is a great game but I cannot help but feel this version is just a quick cash-grab as many issues that plagued the originalDX:HR Directors cut is a great game but I cannot help but feel this version is just a quick cash-grab as many issues that plagued the original game could' have been resolved by a simple patch rather than publishing a full release. Regardless of this; the problems experienced in Deus Ex: Human Revolution have been rectified to a satisfactory standard although some general problems such as AI are still apparent. Boss battles are now improved and textures have been polished up slightly but there isn't anything overly significant to warrant a purchase for those who already own the game. Those who do and are interested are able to receive a discount but the only extra feature other than mentioned above is a directors commentary which proves annoying if you turn it on.

    The Missing Link DLC is included which is good and for £12.99 it is a worthy purchase but if you already own Human Revolution; regardless of the discount, it may not be worth your little cash or time. There just isn't enough to justify a full release but as a package; it's something that should be experienced in its fixed state if you haven't sampled the game before.
    Expand
  6. Nov 3, 2013
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Frankly I am asking myself whether this Director's Cut is worth its name. For a start the game looks qualitatively worse than the original with tons of colour-bleeding meaning things look white or red from a distance where you could make out details before, washed down colors, removal of the crayola-golden cyber-renaissance haze which added some cyberpunk feel to the game (not everyone like that but it could have been an option tbh), and graphical glitches like over-sized textures in place while not addressing the real graphical issues such as facial textures and models (i.e. Wayne Haas looks like a 2001 video game character still). In terms of sound there is also a qualitative stepback with cutouts of ambient noise and enforced radio noise signalling a commentary even if you disabled commentary. Also the improved AI acts more weird than before allowing some exploits not possible in the original. On the plus side we have overhauled boss battles from a point of view of someone who has done all battles to the death I found the new options for the most part less effective than the old ways with the exception being Barret but players who are struggling or never played the game before may have a different mindset. The other plus is the included Missing Link which I personally found to be the greatest one because finally it feels more complete and integrated within the game's story that way instead of having to play ML afterwards. The last major plus being a minor disappointment in itself as well: New Game+. Frankly it feels like playing god when you are fully augmented right from the start which kind of makes the majority of the game a walk in the park which could be nice if you are still rushing for missed achievements but it does not add new twists to the game. Especially considering that you keep collecting praxis kits without any use for them. Here they could have enabled little bonuses tweaking some aspects of your augmentations and added a new progressively harder game mode.
    In conclusion: For a director's cut edition I'd have expected more excellence especially since the original was very close to it. As a whole the Director's Cut is probably worth the full price if you owned the original game plus Missing Link before or if you were truly stuck at some bosses otherwise I'd suggest waiting until it's on sale and perhaps until then they will addressed some outstanding issues.
    Expand
  7. Jun 27, 2014
    2
    Unpolished Director's cut. Lots of STUTTERING and some TEXTURE BUGS compared to the original DX:HR. A copy paste of the game and DLCs intoUnpolished Director's cut. Lots of STUTTERING and some TEXTURE BUGS compared to the original DX:HR. A copy paste of the game and DLCs into one, without the patches. A huge turn off from playing the game.
    Apparently they did not even QA test this thing long enough and decided to rush out the product to grab some fast cash from fans. It has been several months now and still NO ANSWER from EIDOS about the issues. They totally dropped the project after release and went on with their lives as if nothing had happened.
    Expand

See all 34 User Reviews