User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2553 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 23, 2011
    10
    When I began playing this game I had my doubts being such a big fan of the original. Now, 5 hours into the game I have been able to dig deep into the core and see what play "Human Revolution" is truly like, and it is good. I feel like they captured the original perfectly. From the moment you begin playing HR you realize this REALLY is the new Deus Ex, not some cheap knock of made to make money. The cover system really enhanced the way I was able to go through levels. The tiny details made me feel like I was not only killing and knocking out bad guys, but actually uncovering secrets I wasn't supposed to know. If you are a fan of the original or FPS games in general, I *highly* recommend this game.

    You might ask if this game actually deserves a perfect score. The reason I gave it one is because it does everything a game should, immerses you into a world and allows you to connect with the characters. The action is unyielding and exciting, while the story is better then most movies. This game deserves the 10 I gave it because it delivered on the promise of giving me a new game in the series just as good as the original.
    Expand
  2. Aug 23, 2011
    10
    played the beta build. Immediately after beating it, i pre ordered. Haven't regretted that decision once and i don't think i will. This game is bloody brilliant in every single way. Great story, great dialogue, great graphics on pc maxed out and at 60 fps. You cant beat that. A true successor to the original deus! pc gaming is still alive
  3. Aug 23, 2011
    9
    This game is utter brilliance.
    A worthy successor to the original game in every way and its what invisible war should have been.

    The "black and gold" aesthetic is brilliant and gives the game a unique atmosphere. The game is also extremely immersive. Sucking you in immediately and never letting go. And don't make the mistake of thinking this is a port. Oh no. Eidos Went all out to please
    (he unpleasable) pc gamers. Everything from full DX11 support and FoV is all there. The controls are spot on. And if you want, you can map anything to what ever you want. So for does of you who have gaming mouses or other gaming peripherals with extra mappable buttons. This should be good news to you. Expand
  4. Aug 26, 2011
    1
    This game is not good.
    In short, the plot is pretty dull, the voice acting is average (excepting a few characters), and the aesthetics are completely uninspired. It's all just amber monitors and 'future shine' with tons of useless clutter thrown in everywhere.
    I wouldn't really care much about those things if the game play was any good, but it's not. Dues Ex doesn't do much but sample and
    dilute the game play from superior titles. It doesn't do stealth nearly as good as splinter cell, thief, or Hitman. It doesn't do combat as good a myriad of recent and ancient titles too long to list, and the RPG elements are pretty bare bones. It's basically, talk to it, shoot it, stun it, or walk around it (hacks / stealth). And Stun it and Shoot it are the same thing for all intents and purposes; just another body to drag into a vent.
    [As dragging corpse simulators go, it's not even that good. Sling the **** over your shoulder and hussle would you.]
    More Gripes: Hacking Mini-game? Haven't we had enough of this crap? (The only enjoyable instance of this was in Dead Space 2 for the tension it brought). Please stop giving me a puzzle a goat with Down's Syndrome could solve and call it game play.
    Weapons? Completely uninspired. They just put a 'future' skin on the same dull weapon archetypes you see in every shooter since time immemorial. You can have a rifle, a pistol, a grenade of some kind, and some heavy guns. This is all they could think of? Oh, you can also have those things in ' stun ' versions, so you can be a pacifist. And the 'Typhoon' Weapon...? Nothing says "we're out of ideas" more than an autokill button. Also, Max Payne called, he wants his spin animation back.
    AI? Terrible. The same old, ''oh no a dead body, lets investigate... oh well he's not here, resume combat patrol.' This day and age, and with a budget as big as this game, this is INEXCUSABLE. They make up for this by just making them super accurate and giving you limited health, to disguise the fact that the enemies are dumber than Doom zombies.
    Game play innovations? None. Zero. Not one thing is new in this game. And as I've said, they can't even STEAL from games properly and make it fun.
    Plot? Pretty dull Tom Clancy style thriller with some allegorical crud about augmented people being a new minority. Not to mention it heavily cribs from Mass effect 2 / Dead space 2 with the whole Hospital Resurrection after traumatic event scenario (Not that that concept wasn't done to death a decade ago). At least he didn't get amnesia as well. Want a better plot? Why not make it the protagonists choice to augment himself. Make it a moral issue. Give some **** conflict too it. Nope, he just wakes up with some cool new arms and a heads up display.
    Augmentations? Boring Boring Boring. 6 or so levels of 'energy enhancer.' In the far future, I'm picking up Zelda Hearts. Woop-de-doo. There's An eye enhancement that literally tells me when enemies will resume their combat patrol. And some other miscellaneous nonsense that lets me run faster or pick up heavier items or steady my aim. RPG-wise this is just a JAVA fantasy RPG rapped in sci fi skin, but you don't have spells to make it fun.
    Cover Based Fighting? I don't mind this in games, but Dues Ex manages to make it clunky enough to not want to use, but necessary to use almost 100% of the time if you're going for stealth. Have fun sticking to walls wherever you go. Also, This game can't decide to be first or third person, and generally picks the worst of both worlds.
    Auto KILL / Stun? You can press Q to instantly kill or stun someone near you. You get to watch an animation. They don't even give you a quicktime event to be bored with.
    Climbing? Nope, YOU NEED TO STACK BOXES, even though you're a superhuman killing machine. And to get around this, you can buy an upgrade to let you jump higher. Whatever it takes not to make a climbing over short obstacles animation huh?
    To anyone wanting to play this anyway, wait till it's on the bargain bin. If you spend $60 on this you're a sucker. I've played the original Dues Ex, but this game is Dues Ex in title only, and a pretty cynical attempt to rake in cash based on brand loyalty. I guarantee, if this game had another title and less hype, it wouldn't score past 60% on most reviews.
    And no, I didn't finish the game, because if it's not fun in the first 6 hours, It won't be fun later, says my common sense so don't give me this 'no-patience, go play CoD crap.' I have patience enough for good games.
    Expand
  5. Aug 23, 2011
    9
    A truly outstanding dark and gritty, cyberpunk, action role-playing experience. This title by Eidos Montreal lives up to the hype and then some. Whether you're a fan of the sci-fi, role-playing, first person/third person shooter, or the stealth-action genre Deus Ex: Human Revolution is the game for you.
  6. Aug 23, 2011
    9
    I strongly recommend the game, because of the great atmosphere, story and interactive choices. I also enjoyed the dialogue, combat abilities and the music. Overall, it's just plain fun.

    However, there are a few points which I dislike. For instance, the textures and facial structure of many characters seem inelegant. Secondly, the spray from the guns is uneasy and somewhat annoying. My
    biggest complaint has to be the controls for the cover system. It is poorly optimized (or so it seems) and a tad nettlesome. Expand
  7. Aug 31, 2011
    0
    A couple things changed since I updated my review last time. First they patched the game so many of the bugs that it released with have been fixed (tho, Steam forums are still populated with people having problems). Second my opinion of the game got worse. There is nothing good at all in this game. The AI is the single worst I have ever seen. The graphics (despite DX11) are very bad with overly simplistic environments made up of the same prop copied over and over. Likewise the sounds are repetitive and enemies will get on your nerves repeating the same thing over and over again. Character models look at least 4 years old, to compare I went to Half Life 2 which is 6 years old, about the same. The story is so full of unbelievable stupid downright thoughtless missteps and pitfalls its more of a parody of something, tho what I have no idea. It will have you doing things like covering for employees stealing from your company, though you are the security chief and as far as you know the company saved your life. Later you will be asked to collect debts and steal things, none of which have anything to do with....anything. Your actions have ZERO impact on the story or outcome. To be sure of this I started a second play through and murdered everyone in Detroit, except quest givers, but I did murder quest objectives before I had received their quests. No change in anyone's behavior, guy A tells me to "take care of" guy B and so on. I even killed all the cops in the station which didn't seem to bother any cops outside, or even on a different floor of the station while I was doing it. There are no consequences for any of your actions unless maybe you kill a quest giver before you finish his quest. On the hardest difficulty the game is pathetically easy because the dumb AI will all stand in a row for you waiting to get shot. Out of ammo? No problem, just duck behind a corner or box for about 5 mins and they will forget about you. Also the freedom and open gameplay which is so prominently advertised is nonexistent. Your choice is to get from point A to goal B by either crawling through vents (and for a 40 hour game, do you want to stare at the insides of duct work for that long?) or by shooting your way there. It's as linear as linear gets, the goals never change, the order never changes and once you are done with an area it's done, there is no going back to explore more. I am genuinely dumbfounded that anyone likes this game and is willing to look past its multiple and glaring short comings. If you enjoy good graphics, a solid story that makes sense, intelligent enemies and challenging gameplay look elsewhere. Expand
  8. Sep 7, 2011
    6
    How can a game live up to deus ex in the console era of gaming? It can't. They try to satisfy both PC gaming and console markets and fail. It really doesn't matter if you blow everybody away or use stealth I spent 5 hours playing one city using stealth and then went back and played the same part rambo style except this time it only took me about 2 hours. There seems to be no significant consequence for your chosen play style. It's a decent game when compared to all the other garbage out there but as a deus ex game it just can't compare. The gaming industry needs some kinda revolution because the high cost to produce games today stifles creativity.... or maybe I should just stop playing games. Expand
  9. Aug 24, 2011
    10
    An incredible game and the best this generation has to offer. A fantastic art style coupled with incredible gameplay and voice acting. My only words are buy it and you wont regret it.
  10. Aug 24, 2011
    10
    Deus Ex Human Revolution lives up to Deus Ex name. Other than a few minor quibbles in regards to the gun play and character animations, this is gaming nirvana. The take-down moves, the third person cover system are well thought out, and well implemented. So for those who were worried that the third person cover system would ruin the "Deus Ex" experience.... fear not. The mood and atmosphere is top notch, the voice acting is very solid, and the story will sink it's teeth into you in no time.
    This game is well worth your time and money. I kid you not.
    Expand
  11. Aug 23, 2011
    10
    This is easily the best game I have ever played in my life. That is an incredibly heavy statement comming from me. Better than the first in every way. It's not just hype either, I've been TRYING to find things to dislike. I can't, it's so fluid, and just.... wonderful.
  12. Sep 11, 2011
    10
    After FINALLY finished this game after about 50+ hours (I explore everything - twice when you revisit locations; amazing what you missed or can access with new augs!!), it's still a 10, like a rated it after 6 hours of play. Sure the inventory control is sticky (why?) and many NPCs have the shakes (um why?) but it is true to the original - nonlinear play (um, this isn't a sandbox like Oblivion tho) should you cloak and zip passed the cameras, or evade the guards, or walk around the roof and float down if you have the right aug to get to your objective, etc. It is very PC friendly (with one exception below), allowing you to save almost anywhere at any time and good remapping of key ability. It has COMMON SENSE - thank you for not making us RE-FIGHT the last boss to see all the endings. Sheesh I hate that. My only real criticisms are (1) I had trouble mass delete saved games; i.e. i couldn't go into the directory and delete 80 games at once, b/c it would still think they were there - very frustrating and (2) it should let you have more than 100 saves. Finally, sometimes it felt a bit too easy even on the very hardest difficulty (3) I tried very hard to get a pacifist rating but i guess i blew it somewhere without knowing it - sigh; would have been nice to know where so I could re-load... (4) and finally, I felt like maybe there should be more enemies if you get caught or something. I played non-lethal all the way (so I thought; maybe i screwed up the beginning scene) and sneaked passed everyone or took them out quietly. But you could play through WAY faster just popping everyone in the head.MINOR BUT NECESSARY SPOILER (below): XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXWait out the credits for secret scene. Expand
  13. Aug 23, 2011
    10
    Finaly, the decent follow up game to Deus ex(2k), much better then Deus ex iw. It's appealing to both fans and "not fans" of the series! The graphics are good, (not far cry 3 good, but still...), whats great about the game is that you can do almost what ever you want, you can pass the game by killing everyone or not. You can ally your self with diferent factions, you choosse how to play. And of course, the ending changes depending on what you do. Recomended game. Expand
  14. Aug 24, 2011
    10
    An amazing game. Deus Ex: Human Revolution lives up to the franchise's roots. The storyline is excellent. Actual moral choices abound, and are not the typical shining paladin vs. world's biggest dick that is common in most other games. It's also fairly lengthy, even the sidequests are like full-fledged missions, and if you do them all (and/or snoop around, as any Deus Ex fan should), you will find your time was not wasted. I don't like to give perfect scores unless I feel the game truly deserves it, but thinking back, I seriously cannot think of any flaws. Deus Ex: Human Revolution is a wonderful game, and is certainly my favorite one released this year so far. Collapse
  15. JLF
    Aug 26, 2011
    5
    DE:HR did not live up to the hype. And let's face it, the game's marketing was off the charts. The console casuals had all the "press a button for awesome" to look forward to and the PC gamers were promised a true sequel to the original Deus Ex. Still, it's relatively well made and better than most games this year (I'm looking at you Bioware). The PC version felt pretty native, even with it being a console port. What saddens me most is that they had to cut out an entire city hub to meet the deadlines. I swear, my first Deus ex playthrough was twice longer than this. It was fairly obvious they couldn't hire any decent voice actors either, but that's not a major issue.
    I'm giving it 5 for "average", as in "good, but there is room for improvement".
    Expand
  16. Aug 24, 2011
    10
    The biggest surprise of the year. Not many originally believed that a console oriented Deus Ex sequel developed in an era of dumbed down gaming experiences could in any way approach its predecessor, which, released in the year 2000, showed the world what does "Interactive game" truly mean. Turns out it could. Human Revolution is everything Deus Ex was and more, it is a true sequel to the cult classic and is a masterpiece on its own. It shows that, even in the year 2011 and despite the obsession of the gaming industry with simplifying games to the point where they can barely be called games anymore, it is still possible to have a high budget, blockbuster gaming experience designed not to be played by your grandma, but by you. Expand
  17. Aug 27, 2011
    3
    Well, I've been playing PC games since the 70's and the one thing I've learnt is that hype is usually a cover for mediocricy.
    Most people here seem happy to tow the line and click 10/10, but seriously few games have warranted such a blanket response.
    For me games should be about the experience you get, like reading a good book you should forget where you actually are and enter the
    imagnation of the writer. The amount of times I dropped out this game was shocking. It suffices to say that had this game been released 10 years ago it would have been jaw droppingly amazing but in the here and now, it is just plain bad.
    The graphics are great, but unimaginative. Honestly lets stop making worlds that set out to be realistic, only to be thwarted by the fact that realistic is outside my own window. I want to enter someone's imagination.
    The sound is as almost always nowadays great, it doesn't bother me if I don't like some of the characters voice, that's part of the experience.
    The gameplay is boring. There it is, the single most important aspect of the game and it falls flat on its face.
    Dead Space gave you one way of playing and you were drawn into the game. It was tense, fun, scary and above all you remembered having played it.
    CoDMW2 really made you feel like something important was happening. What would you do to win? Again a memorable game. Again the creators of the game decided on a direction and stuck with it. Memorable.
    The original Deus Ex was groundbreaking, not for its graphics or sound but for it's playability. At the time there had been nothing else like it. The creators had a vision, then made you see it. I remember that game well.
    Alan Wake, physchological thriller, brilliant! Made me scared of the dark for a while. I loved being affected that way.
    This game just plain annoys me due to its complete inability to hold my attention.
    Shoot some police and they run around, stare at you through the vent you're hiding behind then run around some more until they decide that a cop killer obviously hiding in the ventilation shaft is not a problem anymore. Excuse me?
    i actually moved a drinks machine right up to a cop who didn't once bat an eyelid! I popped out from behind it and bam he shot me. WTF?
    Lets be honest this game is mediocre. An up to date, well polished mediocre game. Oh and on the Xbox version at least it's bugged on a side quest, mother's instinct. It's not allowing the quest to be completed during the final dialogue phase.
    Enough said, sorry for rambling. BTW I wrote this on my Ipad, not intended to be a boast. I love it but want to say to Apple - I'm not buying a stupidly expensive additional keyboard to edit what I write just because you won't put some extra and obviously missing keys on the screen keypad. So sorry all for the mistakes!
    Enjoy.
    Expand
  18. Sep 7, 2011
    3
    Ok! If you are like me and paid silly money on your late 90`s PC rig and played the original Deus Ex and think its about the best game ever made? Then you will be very disappointed with this game. The main reason has been mentioned in reviews here already and is very simple! We live in a gaming environment dominated and held-back by consoles! When PC games once innovated and years ahead of consoles they are now being held back in every way! Graphically, story-lines, mechanics! Everything!. I imagine your average console gamer will think this is an awesome game! But a PC owner will wonder what the hell happened and why doesn Expand
  19. Aug 23, 2011
    10
    I'm a relatively young gamer, who didn't play or even know about Deus Ex until 3 years ago. However after playing the first game, I was doubtful that a new installment in the franchise could really be as good as the original, especially after the mediocrity of Invisible War. Nevertheless, I preordered the game and eagerly awaited its release today. A few hours into the game and I was completely blown away by what the developers had created. With countless number of ways to play the game and customize my augmentations, i really managed to feel like my playthrough was personal. Side Quests, usually the bane of RPG gamers, are deeply immersive and add to and flesh out the life of the intriguing story. The art design is ridiculously good, mirroring and alluding to the renaissance while the color palette really brings emotion and life to the dark game. My only woes about HR is the voice acting and animations. While some cutscenes and dialogue scenes are well animated, a few are a bit stiff and not lifelike. However for a game that does so many things right, these are only minor complaints. Human Revolution is still a great game and i'm sure i'll lose my social life to it for at least a month Expand
  20. Aug 23, 2011
    9
    After Deus Ex: Invisible War, I have been waiting for a game that would be considered the true successor to Deus Ex. Human Revolution has fulfilled this. This game is the true Deus Ex 2.
  21. Aug 23, 2011
    9
    Great game to kick off the Fall tidal wave of AAA title. The summer drought is over and what a way to get back in the action. Atmospheric, well written, detailed art design, custom-ability and a true choice of going stealth or balls out run and gun. The few minor quirks (some stiff animations) really are negligible. With the rumor of 40+ hour game play (including side quests) there is no reason why a gamer would NOT pick this game up. Purchase, don't torrent! Support the dev! Expand
  22. Aug 26, 2011
    9
    I'll cut right to the chase here, this is the fps rpg we've all been waiting for, actions and consequences aplenty, plenty of side missions and places to explore, game world lore to be found everywhere a fully customizable skillset non-linear approach to all but 4 of the games encounters (boss battles).

    Anyone complaining that this game is linear is insane every mission has multiple
    endings every single one, runs like a dream plays incredibly smoothly.

    Buy this game, do yourself that favor.
    Expand
  23. Aug 23, 2011
    10
    Truly deserving of the name Dues Ex. In this time of linear, scripted and increasingly easy shooting games this game dares to challenge the player to actually think and give true choice of how to play. It still has its flaws like the original, but they're greatly overshadowed and even made invisible by the strengths this juggernaut wears on its sleeves. I applaud Eidos Montreal for giving us the Dues Ex game everyone deserved. Expand
  24. Aug 24, 2011
    10
    I am maybe halfway through the game, and I am more than convinced it has lived up to the original, Great Job Eidos Montreal! It feels like a proper PC game, which I for one am very thankful for, we've had far too many crappy ports.
  25. Aug 24, 2011
    8
    Graphics: poor, outdated, especially lighting. Sound: extremely poor sound effects like guns and explosions, sound track is superb and voice acting is hit or miss. Story: amazing, very unique creative and engaging Gameplay: extremely fun, wide variety of options, satisfying/rewarding missions, bosses are quite lame Overall this game is quite week when it comes to tech in graphics and sound, but the creative side including story, soundtrack and characters is superb.

    Rating: B+
    Expand
  26. Aug 24, 2011
    10
    Every bit as good as Mass Effect and the original Deus Ex. A refined, highly polished game with a rich and involving narrative. There is so much story it could be hard to digest it all. But it's up to the individual in regards as to how invested one becomes in it. The developers went above and beyond. The game is clearly meant to be played through multiple times and each time could feel like a fresh experience. I'm already planning my next play-through. How about you? Expand
  27. Aug 24, 2011
    10
    This game was made for the fans of the original, that is for sure. I remember hearing about a reboot of this franchise and was almost 100% sure it would fail. i'm glad to see that Eidos Montreal has stayed true to the franchise and brought this floundering franchise back to the forefront of interactive entertainment. That, and most of the IT Terminology is actually correct.
  28. Aug 24, 2011
    6
    To put it simply, this game is nothing special. Uninspired and surprisingly linear, Human Revolution fails to live up to the Deus Ex name. This game is a copy/paste of the dozens of cover-shooting "RPGs" already on the market. In fact, it could arguably be a direct copy of Mass Effect 2 with the added elements of climbing ladders and crawling through vents. That is not a compliment. The shooting is stiff, the graphics are dated, the quests are glitched, and some of the augmentation upgrades are practically necessary if you want to experience anything resembling nonlinear gameplay. Hacking is a perfect example of this. It's used everywhere for almost everything. Be prepared to fully upgrade the hacking augmentation before doing anything else (unless you just want to run from cover to cover shooting people until you reach the end of the level). Overall the game leaves an impression of poor planning and stale mechanics. Expand
  29. Aug 24, 2011
    10
    I started the Deus Ex series from the beginning, rolled with the punches through the second, and have come to grips with the recently released DX:HR. To say the least, DX:HR is a great edition to the franchise series of Deus Ex, I have not gotten very far, as I am taking my time and learning the games setup, options, intrigue, and story as well as plot built into the games system through ebooks and emails. The writing and acting in the game is incredible, streaming an awesome cast and very neutral to aggressive outlook for the main character Adam Jenson allowing you to come to terms with the main character without feeling like not a part of the action. All aspects of this game is fun, from the hacking, social, combat, and stealth, everything comes together in a great combination that makes this a great game for the year. If this game doesn't have GOTY I will be greatly surprised. The only thing that seems to match this games integrety, complexity, gameplay, and story has yet to come out for another few months. And given this games capabilities and concepts, it will probably last just that long if not longer in my game collection as I roll through the games this year.
    II believe this game deserves a extra .5 added to the score, it soars way above my expectations of the game, and provides that little extra umph that I am glad I waited for.
    Expand
  30. Aug 24, 2011
    10
    Very perfect action/rpg in future setting, i love this game.
    Game of the Year 2011!
  31. Aug 24, 2011
    10
    I was first weary to buy this game i put allot of thought into it and bought it four hours on steam before the release and preloaded it i waited in till 3AM to start the game up and try it out and from the very begging i have loved the game. i am extremely glad i got this game and i would recommend it to any one looking for a good game. Also this is personally one of my favorite games of the year. 10/10 Expand
  32. Aug 24, 2011
    10
    Great game! It is just like the original but with all the new tech. The game play is great. You can choose your own way around or through obstacle . The characters are well done if not amazing.
  33. Aug 24, 2011
    10
    When I saw the videos for this game before it came out, I was definitely hesitant about getting it, but man, I am glad I did. It has that old school RPG flare to it that has been missing in RPG's for over a decade. Luckily, this game doesn't try to hold your hand like pretty much every other game out in existence nowadays. You can do what you want, when you want. The augmentations are interesting and adds depth to exploration and combat. I really do feel like a badass when I am sneaking around taking guys out stealthily, and the characters in this game are phenomenal. I actually care what they have to say, though the facial animations could use a little work, but that's minor to everything else this game offers. Overall, this game deservers GOTY and is the best RPG i've played in a really long time. Expand
  34. Aug 25, 2011
    3
    I couldn't play past the first hour. -You can't scope aim unless you're up against a crate, even if its more advantageous to be out in the open. -Blind fire almost never hit the target. Even when in fairly close range -The tranq dart didn't even have a reticle when aiming (at least it didn't for me on the PC version) making it damn near useless. How the hell do I hit the enemy?? -Enemy handguns never had more than a single bullet in them
    -Melee takedowns require battery and if you don't have enough charge, it will deny you the right to use them even if you are a second from death.
    -You can't take more than a few hits before you get the raspberry blood screen and have to go back through the loading screen. A challenge is a challenge but this combined with all of the above is infuriating.

    As someone who tries to play stealthy but just can't, I got into a lot of gunfights.
    The combat is so unbelievably bad, crippling you and your ability to dispose of bad guys.
    Nothing could drag me back to play this again.
    I hear the story is pretty good though.
    Expand
  35. Aug 24, 2011
    9
    I'll keep this pretty brief because others here have already described Deus Ex: Human Revolution a lot better than I can....

    This is the best game I've played this year. I'm giving it a 10 not because it's perfect (no game is 'perfect') but because it represents the ceiling in modern gaming -- this is what other video games should aspire to be in 2011. Human Revolution allows and
    encourages player experimentation and freedom. There is no 'right' way to play it, be it good, evil, stealthy, talky, actiony, or any combination thereof. The level design is freeform and there is always more than route to your objectives. The dialogue writing is solid, and the plot is compelling. The augmentation system is fantastic, and if you choose intelligently you can make Adam Jensen whatever kind of superhuman you want him to be. Minor quibbles include some spotty voice acting and stiff animations, but neither detracts from the fact that this a strong game of the year contender. I recommend this to just about anyone who likes video games. There's something in it for everybody. Expand
  36. Feb 15, 2012
    9
    I can't help but feel spoiled by Deus Ex, not only does it feel native to PC, but as the player I never felt I was being coddled - the game feels, well, grown-up, and it treats you like one. There's a distinct sense of nostalgia in the air, and not because of the high regard or this game's predecessor but because the game doesn't expect you to be an idiot, you need to make informed intelligent choices, plan ahead, use your brain, try approaching things in different ways - failure to do so often results in the player getting stranded in areas they can't advance from. One of my favourite aspects of the game are the implementation of the augments, contextual or otherwise. The social/persuasion augment is fantastic, hacking games are smart and others open up areas of the game previously unavailable. However the graphics aren't mind-blowing and conversation animations are limited but not so that it detracts from the enjoyment of the game. Expand
  37. Aug 28, 2011
    4
    The costume design is amazing, the lighting is beautiful but that's where it ends. I just spent 10+ hours playing his game in which I climbed ladders, crawled through vents, when up and down elevators, shot a few non-important thugs, hacked a few PAC-man like screens. I don't understand what the point of the game is yet. I havent played Deus before and I love the whole augmented idea but who or what is the bad guy? Seriously why are people giving this 10? Are they real people or augs? I wanted to keep playing because the design is kick a**, but I hate it when games just repeat environments, repeat boring tasks to gain info and fail to make me care about characters. The games awesome ads and artwork pull me in but the gameplay kicked me out. Expand
  38. Aug 26, 2011
    10
    Unbelievable and damn-near perfect. Not since Half-Life 2 have I been this impressed with how the gameplay and story complement each other, The world of Deus Ex is very immersive and crafted with great care. The aspects of combat, stealth, and roleplaying are all well balanced and unique. While you have seen these elements before, in Deus Ex they are integrated together unlike any other game. I'm now about 10 hours into the game and I cannot stop playing. The AI is responsive and usually challenging. The controls are good and the graphics, while not top of the line, are very beautiful. This is a great game and a very surprising hit. I'd say this game is now in the competition for game of the year. Expand
  39. Oct 7, 2011
    8
    Deus Ex: Human Revolution is a thrilling and engaging title, but it falls just short of perfect. The story, characters and voice-acting are easily its strongest points. These are backed by solid game play that stays true to the original. The explorers among us won't be disappointed either -- the game's scenery is nothing short of beautiful, and riddled with hidden areas. Unfortunately, the game forces the player into a small number of 'boss' encounters which are not conducive to certain play styles. Stealthy players in particular will find themselves having to put aside their silenced munitions in favor of high explosives for a short time. This, combined with several small, but irksome graphical quirks (ie. take-downs on seated NPCs) will occasionally interrupt an otherwise perfect experience of total immersion. However, these minor blemishes won't sway one's opinion of the game in any major way. It's still an absolutely amazing title. Expand
  40. Aug 27, 2011
    0
    I feel like the positive reviewers (both critics and users) must be playing a different game. I've found Deus Ex HR to be frustrating, repetative, and completetly linear.

    My playthrough got hung up when I snuck my way to the basement of the Police Station. I picked up the quest item and headed out. I tried for over an hour to get back out the way came, but sneaking up proved insanely
    difficult. So I reloaded my save from the basement, fooled around, and found a possible exit through the sewers. The sewer entrance is locked and requires level three hacking. I have level two, with now way to upgrade. So basically, my "chosen gameplay style" was incompatible with actually playing the game.

    I liked the original game and WANT to like this version, but after eight hours of play I am throwing in the towel. The stupid AI, long load times, and ludicrous dependance on hacking take all the joy out of Deus Ex Human Revolution.
    Expand
  41. Aug 30, 2011
    6
    After years of enjoyment out of the previous (original) Deus Ex. I was pleased to hear about the release of Deus Ex: Human Revolution (HR)- which is the first of a series of three upcoming Deus Ex games in the franchise. Many in the PC community had doubts about whether it would be developed as the original - for PC (windows) then ported out to the consoles, and as it turned out: we were right to have those doubts. HR is a polished linear FPS trying to be everything at once. Trying to be like Gears of War - much of the game scenario's are built of the ability to hide or crouch behind cover. Trying to be like Mass Effect, with a lot of dialogue and story. Trying to be like the original game, with a futuristic avatar newly augmented with upgrading weapons and augmentation tech tree's. All good developments in gaming, and yet the game does *not* even come close to excellent gameplay. Trying to be everything at once is an underwhelming feeling in the game, and takes away it's original flare. The story is also very predictable. Now those aspects are important but they aren't the real reason why I dislike this game. They alone make this game no better than a 7/10 - at best. But the reason I rate this one low, is for PC gaming related issues. This one is important to PC users. The original Deus Ex game is one of the mecca's of the FPS genre. It was a huge step in all the right directions when it came out and re-defined what a computer game and be and do. Many people went out and bought PC's after playing the original game, myself included. Now as a PC gamer we can tell - immediately - that the whole UI and key mappings systems (controls) - were developed by a console gamer, for a console gamer, then ported to the PC. In short - they don't work. The game play is a constant battle (much like other games brought out by this developer like AC and AC2), having to constantly force yourself to learn the cover mechanic is a huge step away from traditional FPS gameplay and I don't like it one bit. It feels like an arcade game, not a deep experience.

    Anyone who has played Half Life (by Valve) knows what I'm talking about. That game is a deep experience. So was the original Deus Ex. Now we have a console rip off with bad UI, poor controls, trying to be everything at once - and it's just, well, boring to play.

    This game already has a *huge* fanbase and following. Many of us spent out $45 expecting big things, I for one will not be making that mistake twice.

    I rate it a 6.5/10.
    Expand
  42. Aug 24, 2011
    10
    Easily one of the best games of the year so far, it takes everything that was great from the first Deus Ex and then makes it even better with the addition of the cover system, take downs, new speech system with augments and many many more, story is great, voice acting is solid and over all it runs very smooth.
  43. Aug 25, 2011
    10
    This game has fulfilled all of the expectations I had leading up to it's release. I have enjoyed every aspect of the game and look forward to a second play through to use the augmentations I didn't choose the first time. I love the atmosphere that is created and completely loose myself while playing this game.
  44. Aug 27, 2011
    4
    Being a hardcore FPS fan I picked up this game and found it lacking. To me if felt like their whole development of the game was to set out and make Dues Ex using Mass Effect as their reference on how to make a best selling video game. It cried out ME2 from the time i started till the time I dropped out of the game. Story line seemed good, but the game felt like I was just completing tasks to see the next cut scene seeing they were the most exciting parts. This game would have made a much better movie than game. Controls and customization of such lacked none. I just wished they would have tried to do something more original with their game play. Expand
  45. Aug 27, 2011
    0
    This game doesn't deserve a 0, but a player doesn't deserve to see ratings of 10 that are either straight bought by Square Enix (i could make 150 fake accounts in 2-3 hours, if i wanted) in an attempt to fake the Metacritic score or are the fruit of their ridiculous marketing campaign coupled with idiocy. The graphics are polished, but five years late. The environments are so flat and ugly even present-day metro Detroit is beautiful in comparison to ANY city hub in the game (Adam's apartment is an exception). The obvious 2D backgrounds and lighting effects are disgustingly simple and not worthy to be called AAA for sure. Blurry textures are commonplace at max settings and you WILL see clipping. The gameplay is okay and will hook you, but the AI has nothing special going for it and is often embarrassingly dumb. Kill a guy, hide in the vent in front of him, watch as he suddenly fails to see you and forgets about your existence. Okay. 2011 gaming for you, but at least it's polished. The first time you quit, you won't feel the urge to launch the game again, though. Speaking of vents, they mostly conveniently connect vital areas, so if you're trying to be "stealthy" you'll spend your game watching your feet for the stray vent. Other promisingly difficult routes end up in impossible spots you simply can't cross undetected, which means you have to backtrack and find your vent, which is often a much easier route. The characters aren't memorable: a pathetically annoying sysadmin, an old receptionist and your classic **** of spiderman fame will be your main cast for a good part of the game, while the main character has the appeal of a fossilized trout from start to end. I won't even get started on how the few good ideas this game has are a blatant copy of other better titles. A hacking minigame. Seriously, AGAIN? I could rant all day, but in alternative i could go play a better game than Deus Ex: Human Revolution and forget about it. It probably deserves a 5 or a 6, but in the face of "universal acclaim" 0 is all it will ever get from me. Expand
  46. Nov 26, 2011
    10
    This is one of those rare awe-inspiring games. The atmosphere is just perfect and the musical score just enhances it. Some scenes are just jaw-dropping. The gameplay is also spot on. The controls are responsive (except mousing over keys on keypads), the graphics are sharp, the story is compelling and the characters are interesting. A warning, though: when you first play the game, some things may irritate you, but you will soon see that they make sense. Your inventory size is limited and you often have to leave behind precious things that you KNOW you'll need later. But that makes sense. No matter how much you're enhanced, you're not a pick-up truck. Already, the game makes unrealistic concessions to allow you to tote a bazooka, a sniper rifle, a mini-gun, and crates of ammo through public places without being noticed or even through metallic air ducts without making a sound. You might want to try a Schwarzenegger-like charge through a cluster of enemies, only to find that a single bullet can kill you. Well, shucks. A bullet really CAN kill you. The game forces you to play smarter than the usual shooter. That's a good thing. At first, the hacking just seems arbitrarily frustrating and you might try to avoid it at all costs... until you figure out how it works, and then it becomes fun! The only thing that remains that still frustrates me is that you can't carry more than one of each type of weapon (to sell them). If you have a pistol and you pick up a second pistol, it gets converted to ammo and you're left not with two pistols but one pistol with more ammo. But that's a drop of lameness in a bucket of awesomeness. And yet more awesomeness: you really can play this game many ways. Early decisions have an impact on later events, so you can replay it trying out different approaches and you will see different results. The result is that you'll probably replay it many times, playing the good guy, the bad guy, etc. This might not be a fair comparison, but the nanosuit in Crysis does "feel" more powerful than the enhancements in Deus Ex. I wouldn't mind a cross-over where I could play DE using a nanosuit, just to compare. :) Expand
  47. Aug 25, 2011
    10
    The best game I've purchased in a long time. Interesting, challenging and fun. PC graphics include DX11 goodness and FXAA. Sound is awesome. Lots of choices and alternate outcomes. High production values. It's a winner.
  48. Aug 24, 2011
    10
    Worthy Successor of the first Deus Ex. If you were expecting a bad console port, do not worry, Nixxes did a very good job and making this an excellent PC game. The graphics are great even though it might not look like other recent games. The story and gameplay is what makes this game so great. I've spent hours just exploring every nook and cranny looking for goodies. The different paths you can take to complete objectives makes the replay value very high along with the different endings. Expand
  49. Aug 24, 2011
    10
    I reserved this game for the simple fact i thought it looked exciting and interesting. I'm the kinda guy who only buys games to sit on multiplayer with friends so this was a big risk for me. The only big single player games i had played were bioshock 1 and 2 and Farcry2. This game is by far one of the most exciting games ive played. It surrounds 3 major ways to play which entices all style of player and allows you to play stealthy or head on. If your looking for a good plot, graphic action scenes, and a game that leaves you in awe even after you've done what would seem repetitive in most games then this is a game for you. Ive never found the story mode of a game so interesting but im 2 hrs in and if i didnt have school id sit on it all night it just always has more to throw your way Expand
  50. Aug 30, 2011
    2
    I don't get the hype. It's just another one of your average first person shooter, and after a mere hour of playing I didn't find one thing that would make it stand out from the rest. It uses so many well-known features it's completely boring to play. Personally, I'm tired of that technological/bionical feel, give me something new, I've been playing for 20 years, it's time to come up with something new already. Expand
  51. Aug 30, 2011
    1
    GODAWFUL.

    If this was a game that was designed to feel like a PC game, it sure as hell doesn't look, sound or play like one.

    The limited voice acting, repeating voice cycles for disposable NPC's, disgusting character modelling, FMV glamour scenes for using your takedown/kill moves - it's terrible. Guards who literally should have no idea you are even around, talk like they're
    spoon-feeding a child. Again, and again. The 'enhancements' for PC are gimmicks, because they're just thrown in for the bling-bling value of DX11.

    Overall extremely disappointed with the end result, and the gameplay can go jump as far as I'm concerned.
    Expand
  52. Aug 31, 2011
    1
    First of all, I'd like to say I agree with most of the lower rated comments after playing this game for about 6-7 hours. At the moment I'd give it a 6 at best, meaning average. As that's what it is, an average game with an average story without any innovation. I remember when I played the first Deus Ex there was something magical about it, which I quite don't recall, but I hold the feeling deep inside to this day. I was pretty excited when I saw the trailer to Human Revolution - it had that gritty dark ambient future feeling in it, technology and mankind mixing together and the troubles along with it you could craft a nice solid story around it. Now playing the game all that really creates any atmosphere are the colours and maybe the music. Everything else is bland.

    Also the reason why I chose to create this account was because I noticed something weird. And surely it is no big discovery, but most of the people commenting on the game have one comment and below most of them lies "11 of 13 users said yes". So the marketing team are fully at it, tampering with the user score to cover up the lameness of the game. Sad really. And that's the reason I gave it a 1, to get closer to the truth that the game is average and worth 6 points at best.
    Expand
  53. Aug 23, 2011
    5
    My review is not enthusiastic and this new Deus Ex chapter really disappointed me in more than one point: dated graphics, stiff animations, very buggy AI, not a sandbox as the previous Deus Ex, ridiculous boss fights, very bad physics in objects and bodies...that's a shame for a game that could have been pretty much better :-(
  54. Aug 23, 2011
    9
    A true sequel to a great game. My only objections would be that the games graphics seem to be hinder by this game being on consoles but it is by no means a bad port. The developers did a good job of reworking the UI and even allow you to change FOV in the menu something that most FPS ports that claim to cater to PC gamers neglect more often than not. If you enjoy games like the original Deus or Vampire: Bloodlines then this is a most own game. Expand
  55. Aug 26, 2011
    10
    Sat there and sat there and sat there, wondering if I should really buy this game, and believe me I know $49.99...ugh I don't want to pay that, but trust me, this is an absolute masterpiece. The graphics are incredible, so much so, that the in game graphics are even better than most cut-scenes in the game, and the cut-scenes are beautiful. The game mechanics are practically flawless, the game does an excellent job at allowing you to choose your own course of action, stealth, assault, mix, you name it. I, being a Splinter Cell lover, prefer the stealth approach, and trust me the mechanics of this game bring nostalgia of playing the old Splinter Cell games, a feeling that no game to date has even come close to filling. And to top it off, the storyline and overall immersion the game makes you feel is top notch, far superior than most movies. It's an art, buy it. Expand
  56. Aug 26, 2011
    10
    This game has everything a RPG or Sci-fi lover would enjoy. There is a depth of plot, a dozen ways to approach almost any obstacle, engaging physics, and entertaining story-altering choices. If you agree with me that the original Deus Ex was one of the best PC games ever made, then trust me when I say this will not disappoint. About the trolls who complained about this â
  57. Aug 26, 2011
    10
    A breath of fresh air in the stagnant abyss that is the majority of multiplatform gaming these days. True to the excellent original whilst maintaining it own identity, This will be one of the games of the year.
  58. Aug 24, 2011
    9
    es un gran juego , para mi que soy seguidor de la saga deus ex mejoro muchisimo el juego , lod graficos me decepcionaron un poco pero el juego es atrapante como los viejos deus ex
  59. Aug 27, 2011
    10
    Edios have made Deus Ex, which roughly translates from Latin to 'God made from the machine'.

    That's quite apt, considering the quality of the game.
  60. Aug 26, 2011
    10
    This is what I would imagine the original would be like if remade. It is really that true to its roots. Just from watching friends I've found around 4 completely unique approaches to playing the game that get drastically different results, so far: angel of death (stealth killing everything), white knight (only nonlethal takedowns), sniper (creating commotions from afar and using the confusion to your advantage), and rambo (killing everything that can be killed from the beginning). That's just from around 30 hours of playing and watching... who knows how many ways this will effect the story. I can honestly see sinking 100s of hours into this masterpiece. Expand
  61. Aug 25, 2011
    10
    This game is pure awesome. I've started it on the hardest difficulty and i really must use stealth, neutralise enimies silently, hacking security and do all this espionage stuff. Dialogues are also great, no one tells you how your replies will influence the outcome of a conversation, and you must carefully pick them to achieve positive results. There is no "LMB to be good, RMB to be bad". Hacking mini-game is just fantastic, ME2's hacking is just a joke compared to DE's one, it's really interesting, and i really enjoy almost every mini-game.
    There are some flaws in the game, but they are so minor that you hardly notice them. One of them is quality of prerendered cutscenes - for some reason they look worse than ingame render. The second is quite long loading times.

    The game is absolutely worth it's 50 bucks. Buy it.
    Expand
  62. Aug 25, 2011
    10
    I just made an account to comment on this rubbish. Is the gaming industry so tainted that "false reviews" and even paid reviewers are such a real and rampant thing. I still really trust the majority of gaming journalism sites but when a game like this gets such universal praise and truly fails to live up to that praise, I begin to question integrity.... And as far as these user reviews go, YOU ARE NOT FOOLING ANYONE. Having employees write positive reviews is disgusting, it makes me want to throw up, stop reading the internet for gaming advice etc. and then to go so far as to copy and paste reviews to counter people's poor ratings!?!? it really makes me sick, hence the reason this is my first metacritic post, I felt so compelled to write this. I have only played this game about 5 hours, at first I was optimistic and now the further in I get the more discouraged I have become. The lifeless character models combined with the poor dialogue and voice acting really hampers any enjoyment I begin to feel from the gameplay; on top of the fact that I have begun to notice some significant bugs/slowdown for no apparent reason. (I have an awesome rig) I can't comment on the story much because I haven't made it that far, but so far I am underwhelmed. I want to like this game, I really do; i will continue to play it and hope it gets better. I played the original when it came out so many years ago and I loved it then. I really just wanted to comment on the horrid practices of anyone who was paid to give this game a good review, and the employees spamming user reviews. that is all.... Expand
  63. Aug 27, 2011
    10
    Do not pirate this game! It took 11 long years to finally be able to play a game that continues with the same idea of giving you choices throughout the whole game. When the original Deus Ex came out I thought that this is the future of gaming , it really felt like a virtual world where you could immerse yourself, manipulate and interact with almost everything and everyone. Unfortunately these games take too long to develop therefore costly plus the original wasn`t a commercial hit. Here I am 11 years later playing DEHR and thinking OMG I wish this would be successful! Otherwise we might have to wait another decade playing the thousand CoD clones. It really shows that the developers had a huge respect towards the original,I had goosebumps listening the OST of DE from radios in-game. And of course I spent like 5 mins trying to score with the basketball:) I was afraid of a few things like the cover system which I don't like but the great thing again that you are not forced to use it. That's another reason why I can recommend it to anyone who is a little bit worried that it's dumbed down or the controls won't be great on PC. All-in-all every aspect of the game shows that it was very well thought-out and they took great care of every little detail. I was actually surprised that I haven't seen Jacob's novels anywhere... So do yourself a favour and buy it (it will give you many enjoyable hours). Now all I want is the new Thief and of course a sequel. And please someone revive System Shock like these guys did with DE! Expand
  64. Aug 27, 2011
    9
    I'd really, REALLY, love to give this game a full 10! The reason I'm not is for one little, yet important detail... a NewGame+ mode. I realize after reading the forums, watching the behind the scenes, and the making of, that they didn't want to add it because they didn't want the player to be a "Augod". But even though they didn't WANT them too, many players really enjoy a second play-through as an overpowered fighter. Other than that ONE little detail, this game is flawless. It's fluid, graphics are amazing, and mechanics are workable and without fault. I'm extremely disappointed I wasn't able to give it a 10, but I can't get over the fact that there's no NewGame+. Expand
  65. Nov 3, 2011
    9
    Game of 2011 for me, gameplay was amazing, the whole thing is so dynamic i love having the choice of going guns blazing or sneaking. Graphics were good too. The storyline could have been a little better but i still enjoyed it and the bosses were far too easy even on a harder level, hence the 9.
  66. Aug 26, 2011
    10
    Amazing game. Just truly amazing and well worth the $40 dollars off Amazon(use key to activate on Steam). I'm about 10 hours in and have yet to reach my first boss fight. To anyone who says this is linear...I would call them drunk. Yes there is an overall storyline to reach but you can do it however you like and reach it however you like. Unlike some linear games like FF13. Now that's linear, this is far from that. On top of which you have these huge side missions that get you into more details about what's going on and you spend even more time figuring out how you want to complete a mission. You can play in a sense of going in guns a blazing or sneaking and silently killing. The amount of content put into this game is far greater than any other single-player in the past 4 years. This is how games should be made. Not 8 hours of gameplay for $60. Supposedly the game takes around 25-40 hours to complete depending on what you all do. Then once you're done you can do it again in another mode and find another ending(I hear there's quite a few). For the people who say the game has bad graphics is drunk. The game is amazing and plays super smooth. The game does sport some DX11 features which I wish I could see but I don't have a card that supports DX11...yet. But I hear it makes the game even more amazing looking. The only problem I have with the game is the slow loading of saves as sometimes it can take 20-30 seconds but I really have no problem with that. The game saves everything you do everywhere. If you clear out an area that area is going to stay clear for the most part unless some special NPC needs to appear there. So no wasted time re-clearing the same areas. Lastly you can spend hours reading all the content put into the game world. It's literally everywhere. Some hidden, some not but it really shows you how much detail they put into the game.

    This game is really worth it and I suggest everyone buy this game for sure.
    Expand
  67. Aug 31, 2011
    1
    Human Revolution has interesting combat, and an interesting plotline. However the ending has absolutely nothing to do with the rest of the series, and the AI is broken beyond all belief. If anyone who played this has ever tried sneaking without getting alarms you're in for the hardest time of your life. Or even playing the game on a difficulty above easy. The game was moderately enjoyable, I found it difficult to get over the enemy AI, and detection system.
    Upon completing the game I felt highly unsatisfied. It felt rushed, and after working extremely hard to finish the game, it felt like a giant slap in the face from the developers. This is in no way even close to what the original Deus Ex was. It was a good game, but when putting it up next to the original's storyline, gameplay, and all around feel/message Human Revolution is just a recycled version of Deus Ex to fit the needs of anyone with little to no attention span, no interest in plotline, and don't care much for stealth based titles. Although I disliked this game for not being similar to the original, it is definitely a game for the "CoD" generation. That's for sure...
    Expand
  68. Aug 24, 2011
    8
    Much like the first Deus Ex, Human Revolution continues in the vein of FPS/RPG hybrid gameplay, open ended level design, and tin foil conspiracy theories with a bit more connection to reality to make them feel more tangible this time. Gameplay is solid. Main story missions have multiple paths catering to the player's chosen style of play. Have you upgraded armor and weapon related augs? Bust in the front guns blazing. Wanna sneak around? Find a side entrance and discreetly dispose of baddies. Wanna avoid combat all together? There's a way around it and augs to help you avoid it, too. Levels are well designed all around, and despite being comparable in size to many of the locations in the original Deus Ex, there is a considerable lack of wide open spaces that can make areas of the game feel more claustrophobic than they really are. Still, there are design decisions clearly influenced by console limitations. Many world textures are muddy close up, character model animations during conversations look strange and artifical, the FoV, while modifiable in-game, is decidedly narrow by default, and mouse movement feels jerky. These are minor complaints and do little to negatively impact the overall experience. The PC interface is informative and easy to use. Even without obnoxious preorder bonuses, there's a good variety of weapons and weapon modification which further help you create diversified styles of play. The hacking mini game is actually fun and varied enough that, while you may choose to do a lot of it, it never feels stale or repetitive. Unfortunately, locking picking and multitools are strangely absent. The developers stated they removed these features from the game to focus on the hacking mini game. Personally, I feel the result has been a missed opportunity in providing players that additional redundant layer of getting things done that made the original Deus Ex so replayable and entertaining. It also means players run the risk of investing too many points in hacking just to scour the game world of explorable little secrets at the expense of investing in other fun and equally interesting augmentations available to toy with. However, it makes XP all the more precious since you must think carefully about how you upgrade your character. Their reasoning is sound, but it is unfortunate it comes at the expense of other qualities which made the original Deus Ex so endurable. Regardless, Deus Ex fans should enjoy Human Revolution. If you don't, there is something wrong with you. Being a prequel, Human Revolution is also the perfect place for new players to enter the Deus Ex story. Hopefully it will make more people familiar with one of the greatest PC games. Expand
  69. Aug 25, 2011
    10
    No idea why the few who hate it do, Its beautiful in every sense, the game play is sublime, the story compelling. The GFX are beautiful, smooth, glitch free and suit the setting perfectly, Sound is perfection with sweeping synths similar to mass effect, but also the Tron Legacy Movie. I have everything on max except for Anti Aliasing which is one step down. Its proper grown up Sci-Fi, if you are more Blade Runner than Star Wars you will adore this title. I can tell it will be one of the all-time classics. If there was one complaint (and its very minor) the talking animation is a little stiff, but it doesn't effect the game in the least. Up there in joint 1st place this year with Portal 2 for me.. very happy buyer here!! (thank you steam!) Expand
  70. Aug 25, 2011
    10
    Outstanding game, detailed to the max, excellent dialogue/voice acting, superb gameplay mechanics. I played on low graphics due to bad PC, so I can't comment on graphics, but they can't be too bad. Storyline is great, good amounts of action, hacking gets tense at the harder stages. Good array of weapons, just reeks of a good game. Definitely get if you want some 20 odd hours of solid immersion
  71. Aug 25, 2011
    10
    It's a shame 'syrik' gave this a bad review. He/She was obviously expecting an FPS, sadly it is not. It is a stealth game similar to Splinter Cell, you can kill people, but only in such a way that others don't know your doing it. What you shouldn't do is go in all guns blazing for you will fail. The intelligent AI is designed to flank you if you stay in battle with them for a while. FPS fans will see that as a fault but I think it is what makes this game the masterpiece it is. The voice acting could be better but that is such a minor fault compared to it's many successes. Must buy, perfect. Expand
  72. Aug 25, 2011
    10
    The few people that don't like this game because the graphics aren't up to their standards don't know a good game. Personally, I got one of the best graphics cards out right now and the game looks crystal. All consoles won't be able to show how good it is because consoles are outdated compared to the new graphics technology for computers. If you can't spring to run high graphics don't flame the game makers because you can't keep up with technology. This is also a good sized game too. At almost 9GB it would be crazy to up the graphics higher on all the models making probably close to 16GB+ Expand
  73. Aug 26, 2011
    9
    The fact that certain morons give this game such a low score, without actually pointing out its innumerable merits, discredits them completely. This game is beautiful. Granted not perfect, but it would be unrealistic to expect much more from a game of this magnitude. The technical constraints, I can only imagine, were numerous. I can't stand net-douches trolling just for the sake of trolling. Disliking a game is one thing, but giving a game with so much depth a "0" or a 1"???? That's just plain ignorance. The story is fantastic, extremely engaging, and to anyone with at least a grade 5 level of intelligence, enormously relevant in today's society. I suspect "Tallow", "Arata", "UserJuicer", "Veeediot" and the like to suffer from severe brain hemorrhaging. This might explain the stupidity and ignorance in their posts. You guys might want to get checked out - could be fatal. Douchebags aside, the gameplay is tight - despite occasional AI glitches - and thoroughly immersive. The sheer amount of options at your disposal when customizing your character is astounding. I found myself taking forever to choose where I would use my praxis points, as almost every decision you make in Human Revolution has a direct impact in your experience. And that is fantastic. Rarely have I found myself so drawn into a world, a game, the way I have with Human Revolution. Pay no mind to the ignorant - they are absolutely entitled to their opinions, but disliking a game and trashing it score wise without pointing ANY redeeming qualities, is just plain trolling. If you're a fan of engaging stories, intense action and Rpgs in general, then do yourself a favor and buy this game. Forget the trolls. Deus Ex Human Revolution deserves better. Expand
  74. Aug 27, 2011
    10
    If you are a fan of the original Deus Ex, then you are going to definitely love this game. It is everything a Deus Ex game should be. And, things like regenerating health and the cover system are done so well that you will really enjoy them. Ever since the loading times issue was fixed, I've had no issues with the game. Absolutely a 10/10.
  75. Aug 28, 2011
    4
    Human Revolution is a lot shallower than the depth it promises. Your choice of actions throughout the game has nothing to do with the â
  76. Sep 5, 2011
    9
    I am having a lot of fun with this game. It admittedly has some flaws (stuttering framerate on a decent PC, janky AI, and boring weapon selection), but the gameplay makes up for it. It's a blast trying to get in and out of an enemy base without being seen, or trying not to kill anybody. I think it keeps the feel of deus ex. If this game sounds fun to you, give it a try. You won't be disappointed.
  77. Aug 30, 2011
    4
    This game has a lot to live up to... and sadly, just like 'Deus Ex - Invisible War', it fails. At least Invisible war had Deus Ex creator, Warren Spector onboard and shared many similarities with the original. With this release, Eidos have completely redone Deus ex and taken very little (apart from a few key role play elements) from the original title. I get the distinct feeling that the small similarities were done for the sake of novelty. I have to say that this game has a very distinct feel to it, very different from anything else I've ever played. This is one area where I feel that Eidos deserve some praise. The level designs and their respective aesthetics are not exactly consistent with the Deus Ex franchise, but are nice. Unfortunately, Human Revolution is let down by the story, which feels watered down and all over the place. In fact, from a narrative perspective, it is an utter mess. I did not empathise with ANY of the parties involved and was left feeling that the whole game was soulless. The story was nothing short of trivial, stupid and unfulfilling, leaving many flimsy or entirely loose ends in its wake. If I was a developer, I would have thrown the script where it belongs - the trash. Expand
  78. Aug 30, 2011
    6
    To me DX:HR is a sad case of an over-hyped, highly anticipated sequel that simply tries to do too much. The one thing it has going for it is a wide range of play styles, unfortunately none of them are that exciting. The stealth system is mostly limited to hacking doors and using augmentation powers to open up new routes that just bypass most of the combat aspects. At first this is a satisfying enough experience, but if you start to get good at stealth and spend most of your XP points in stealth aspects you can literally walk straight through hostile environments with no consequences. If that isn't very appealing you can just shoot everything, which again at the start can be a fun challenge because its actually pretty difficult going this route. But later on with upgrades and augmentations combat is blatantly easy as well. There are various other paths you can occasionally pick to accomplish quests like persuasion and just using special augments to explore, though both of these are pretty dull. In fact, most of the aspects that are normally associated with similar RPG games like character development, interaction and a reactive environment are simply not present in this game. The only semblance of progress you have in development is your augmentation tree, which offers a lot of variety but it becomes pretty clear early on which routes are the easiest. Story-wise your character doesn't really change no matter what you do, and this bleeds over into the often static environment of city hubs. As stated in other reviews you can literally do anything with no long term consequences which takes a huge hit into the immersion this game could offer. The only reason much of the story in this game is interesting is because it offers an intriguing "what if" science fiction scenario for the future, but I find it so hard to take seriously because I can go around breaking and entering, killing civilians and cops, and in general doing whatever I want with no issues. If you get tired of massacring city hubs you simply hide and wait out your aggression timer. Overall an average FPS/RPG mix with a weak execution and poor re-playability. Expand
  79. Aug 27, 2011
    10
    This game is awesome.
    Every aspect of this game is designed in details. Stealth, hacking, FPS and RP elements, dialogue, sounds (except Adam's voice - it's not perfectly suits him) - everything. I can't say much about script since I didn't complete Deus Ex at the moment, but I bet its good.
    Human Revolution is excellent-made cyberpunk game. I do not regret I bought it.
  80. Aug 25, 2011
    9
    I have been waiting for this for awhile, so I will admit that I was a bit more critical that some might have been. Yes, the controls are a little wonky on the PC version, but with an xbox controller plugged in that all goes away. People expecting a run and gun futuristic shooter have obviously never played a Deus Ex game and need to pick up one of the predecessors before judging this to be something it's not. Although it IS a stealth ops kinda game, I was expecting a little more balance built into the choices. I chose to snoop around on the first level and was rewarded with a richly detailed environment to explore with lots of secrets, but at the cost of many lives in the second level due to my time constraints. Not a good way to start the game. But after that, things felt more balanced. The graphics are amazing(running full spec on a radeonHD6770) and very fluid, level design is just as claustrophobic yet epic in scale as invisible war, and the characters are deep. Sound was great as in the way of score, but I noticed with headphones on the surround gets a little washed out, if and when it's actually programmed. All in all, a must have for anyone that's been gaming for more that 10 years, and if Eidos Montreal does as well with Thief as they did bringing this back, a new renaissance in gaming might just be at hand...... Expand
  81. Aug 29, 2011
    10
    to all the haters of this game, syrik: long load times? how old is your computer? i load it in 10 seconds max on a 2 year old hp ARATA: false choice? you enter a mission anyway you want and your choices reflect the future of the game! TALLOW: weapons? its 2027! you dont expect the game to have nuke like massive weapons do you? seriously? And the AI tell me a game that has better AI...seriously in another FPS/RPG/action/adventure game.....USERJUICER: not even past the first hour? wow you suck at games, and have no level of opinion if your ONLY AN HOUR IN!?!??! out of a 30 hour game! jesus...TRICK: hardcore FPS fan? get out....DIGIMO: havnt played the first Dues Ex? get out with FPS fanboy here....JUJUBEADS: worst AI in 6 years? really? you cant name another game? are you ok in the head? COD has people standing behind wall ready to play POP GOSE THE WEESLE! while DEHR has people flanking you and actually searching for you! yea its not perfect but you make a realistic AI code and tell me its easy and if you have section in your reaview that staits positive game features then it dose not deserve a 0.tool ....COECO: its not an FPS dipstick.....Shinigurai: mass effect 2 is an RPG/TPS Deus Ex is a FPS/RPG/action/adventure if you caught that before, DIRECT COPY? can you approach missions the way you want? Augment yourself into a badass human/machine? no. all you people are making complete stupid comments on a game that dose something different from other games, and innovates the game medium with its unique gameplay. and you people want to give the game a 0 because of what? bad AI? you might as well give every other game a 0 then. not enough weapons? how much do you actually want or need? even then its a minor complaint, and give it done to a 9. seriously guys stop being mellow dramatic like the 10 year olds that you really are and grow up and actually look for real complaints and make a real score... Expand
  82. Sep 3, 2011
    4
    Story: The only great thing about the game is the world it's set in, and the trailers that hyped it up, I was on the fence about buying this game until I saw the live action trailer about the ethics of augmentations. The way the story's told is good, slowly unfolds like any good RPGs, however, that's about all the good thing I can say about this game. Graphics: Very outdated, especially for a PC game, this looks to be at least 5 years old if that.

    Gameplay: I'm somewhat confused about the genre of this game, while it is meant to be an RPG, I fail to see the point of upgrading my character, anyone who's been playing for any FPS for longer than 5 years should be able to get through the game without any upgrades, the NPCs are extremely dumb, they have the field of vision of someone who's glued two toilet rows to their eye socket, you can literally walk straight pass someone's side and they wouldn't know, apparently in the future, peripheral vision doesn't exist in human anymore. It's very easy to take out 4 guys in a room without alerting any of them, their predictable, and unrealistic path means you probably don't even have to, and should you wish to knock them out, all it takes is a press of a button. The take-down action looks like a bad mixture between Assassin's Creed and some 80s action flick, extremely exaggerated sound effects, and perhaps most importantly, not one bit stealthy. Look at Metal Gear Solid 4, look how they've approached close quarter combat, they have shown that not only they have done research, they also don't treat their audiences like idiots. Speaking of patrionising, what's up with random human sized vents that lead to exactly what you need every single time? Were the architects of every building in the world part of Sarif and could see into the future, putting vents at exactly where Jensen needs every single time? Conclusion: This is a stealth game where all environment are almost always perfectly lite, bodies can't be hidden, and lights can't be turned off. It's an RPG game where upgrading your character is purely for jokes as oppose to a necessity to beat the game, enemies take no effort to beat, and are so stupid chances are you just walk straight pass them and they wouldn't care. This game strangely reminds me of Vampire: The Masquerade Bloodlines, except that'd be a compliment this game doesn't deserve one bit, it's like Vampire, without the dynamic story, or the likable characters, or the ability to influence your relationship with the said characters.
    Expand
  83. Nov 11, 2011
    2
    I got this game through a weekend special on Steam so my financial investment was not full price, but I still consider it a waste considering current standards. Right from the beginning I found the story implausible and down right ridiculous but I soldiered on hoping that the game play would be worth the investment. I did enjoy confronting the soldiers, sneaking around and having to outwit rather then out-gun. But the game never really drew me in, the controls are awkward and the visuals look tacky & ugly most of the time. The last straw was the boss encounters which I absolutely hate. After the second one came up and I wasted an hour in it, I deleted the game in disgust. Why do game designers continue to add these sections? They destroy the flow of the game and have no place in a story driven game like this one, as implausible as the story is. I enjoyed Doom in 1993 as much as the next, but boss fights have no place in a modern PC game IMO. Expand
  84. Mar 10, 2013
    8
    Frankly, it could have been better. Not the truly EPIC experience the original delivered, but a worthy contender to all these other shooters that claim to have rpg elements. If you liked the original it is a must buy. It is definitely worth the price of 20 bucks whether your new to the series or not.
  85. Jul 18, 2012
    9
    I really enjoyed this game. The gameplay overall works very well, but I would first like to address my minor problems with it. Sometimes when you have an object such as a crate against a rail, you will have to press and hold space multiple times to get where you are trying to go. There is also no "hold" options for crouch, iron sights, etc.; only toggle. This means that you cannot hold your crouch button, and release to stand up. You have to press the button once to crouch, and again to stand. In other words, there are some clunky moments, but it's definitely nothing unbearable. Avoiding lasers and cameras, neutralizing guards, finding secret areas and vents, etc. all work very well and are just plain fun. The character customization is a bit mediocre. Upon replaying the game, I found myself picking the same old upgrades I did last time. It's pretty obvious which abilities are good, and which ones just aren't necessary at all. This is one of the few games that I think should go down in time as a must play from generation 7. Expand
  86. Sep 5, 2011
    9
    I remember the original two games well, and this does have much the same feeling although on a smaller scale (due to the mainly indoors action) and it plays like "Splinter Cell Conviction" with bionic tweaks, which is no bad thing. Boss fights are a bit crappy as they don't fit in with the stealth gameplay. Graphically... well for DX11 I would expect far higher levels of texturing and models, but in places it shows up some dire examples compared to main characters renders, which usually look pretty throughout. The bio mods are quite good and seem to fit in well, the array of weapons is a bit naff but you don't really need more than a couple to get through 99% of the game, the worst weapons are certainly the experimental PEP gun and Sniper rifle... which border on useless because the PEP is less effective than the stun pistol and takes up far more space and less availalbe ammo, and the sniper rifle is completely out of place in a game with small confined levels. There's a few gameplay glitches regarding the cover system which can get on your nerves... the main one being that you can not blind shoot if the enemy is practically side on even though you can aim at them directly...stupid!!!!

    Overall the story is good, although levels are smaller than original games they do feel true to the series, graphics while limited by console porting have been slightly improved with Dx11 effects and should run with very high frame rates even on a modest PC.

    I give this 90%, would have scored higher if designed for PC first then stripped down to fit on consoles.
    Expand
  87. Sep 1, 2011
    10
    Big fan of the original. This is great, immersive, every aspect is top notch, including the dialogue, combat, cover system, stary etc etc. There are weaknesses in any game, just depends on whether they detract from the overall experience. They certainly don't here
  88. Aug 27, 2011
    10
    Disregard the loading screen comments that's been patched 3 days after release. The graphics might not be a modern technology showcase but the art direction is stylish and the environments can be breathtaking - in any case the important thing here is the dedication to bringing this world to life evidenced by the many layers of detail and intrigue left for you to discover during your playthrough. And I mean YOUR playthrough as not two will be identical. You can make it through the game without killing anyone, or you can murder every civilian in the city. You can hack security doors or smash through a wall. You can crawl through a vent or detonate mines or gas a room or throw vending machines at people or hijack killer robots. Every problemset by the game offers a myriad of solutions that will encourage you to play again and again. And I haven't mentioned the brilliant music, the humor, the engrossing story, the brutally effective augmentation system... Here it is guys: the game PC gaming needed, the sequel Deus Ex deserved. Don't you dare pirate this. Expand
  89. Sep 1, 2011
    9
    This is a fantastic game that almost lives up to the standard set by the original. Anyone who finds the gameplay boring is obviously doing something wrong, because the player maintains complete control over how they play. Although some of the minor characters have stiff models and voices, the game as a whole is quite pretty both visually and audio-wise. Looking at some of the other reviews here, you have to keep in mind that the game has several endings depending on choices made by the player, and although the players choices aren't as important as they were in the original, they do still affect the plot in a more realistic manner than even Mass Effect. Fantastic game. Buy it. Expand
  90. Aug 26, 2011
    8
    Deus Ex: Human Revolution is an example of a game that gives you more pleasure hyping than actually playing it. Like many others I had high hopes for this game, and I admit that I even hyped it for some time ;) Sadly, Human Revolution lacks to furfill in it's sheer potential. Yes, the setting is great. Yes, adam has a badass voice and yes, it plays like a Deus Ex game. Than again it just never "feels" and "looks" right playing this game. It is like they had a great idea but didn't really knew how to work it out. Even though you have "several" ways to walktrough the levels it still feels like your undergoing a very lineair experience.
    You can hack doors and machines and clear levels without even touching a single enemy, which is, to be fair, quite cool. The shooting segment is mediocre at best.At first I liked the idea of the "gold art collor pallette" but after playing this game I can honestly say that I dislike the aesthetics of this game. While the character models and interiors are not "bad" perse it does look a bit dated. What IS actually very sloppy are the skylines/views which represent the city's. Horrible. Ofcourse graphics don't make or brake a game but it does "help" the immersion.And Immersion is what Deus Ex: HR lacks.
    ill give it a 8/10
    Expand
  91. Aug 27, 2011
    10
    This game is so great - If a game can be Art - This is. Great (!) story and gameplay. It will make you thinking about future and technology. The greatest game since 11 years :-) THX Eidos

    I hope we'll get DLC soon :-)
  92. Oct 26, 2011
    9
    Just an awesome game!!!! Lots of fun and great rpg elements. RPG and shooting combined. Really good combination that really is cool in this game. I really enjoyed it and could hardly put it down from beginning to end. I would recommend it to almost anyone that likes shooters or RPG's. Really good and awesome game!!!!
  93. Aug 28, 2011
    9
    Just finished playing and I have to say, yes! Absolutely brilliant! Game of the year - absolutely. I have been looking forward to this game since it was announced, and the last month or so waiting for it I've been going crazy, i was even dreaming about it! But all that time I had a nagging feeling that i would be disappointed. Disappointed that it would totally miss the point of the first one and totally flop or even that it would just fall a little short of the mark and be an average game. Thankfully it hasn't let me down, in fact it has surprised me by how good it is. I never write reviews for games or movies but this deserves it! ..plus I saw some of the negative comments which annoyed me. Looking at the negative comments I couldn't agree with any of them, some of them were just plain crazy and some of them were people picking of things which are actually the way they are meant to be, or some very minor flaw like the odd animation quirk. This is not a COD/Battlefield run n gun game. It is, like the original Deus Ex, a game which is centred around the story. The story is by far the main element and the game is designed around telling that story. And this is why I give it a 10. The story is brilliant, the way its told is brilliant, the atmosphere - the sounds, colours, designs, music, is brilliant. The atmosphere really goes a long way to making it, it just pulls you in and makes you feel part of the story! The colours and designs are stunning...like the first time you walk into the Sarif building. And the music....oh the music, fantastic. It fits so perfect with the game. So i suppose in summing up; it's a smart, well thought out, well designed and well executed story that has all the elements to draw you in and keep you hooked right till the end and when it's over leaving you better for the experience but sorry that it's over. Expand
  94. Aug 28, 2011
    10
    Amazing game, would recommend it to anyone, easily one of the best RPG's you will ever play. The game is so multilateral in how you can approach something its astounding, you can go through the entire game without killing/harming a single person via stealth if you so choose, or you can kill each and every single person, or anything you can think of in between.

    The story is extremely
    engrossing and the melding of stealth/hacking/shooting/augments/cover all into one make it great, it also has a reasonable large choice of guns and a huge selection of upgrades for all of them, as well as the augment differences making it have large replay ability due to the different ways to approach tasks. Expand
  95. Aug 28, 2011
    10
    Excellent game, I most definitely replaying this game again just like I did with the original Deus Ex 11 years ago. By the way, anyone who says that they got the idea for conversations/choices from Mass Effect are simply silly, and do not realize their ignorance. :D

    This game just lives up to the first and even beats it in my book. It's everything I was wanting from a sequel.
  96. Aug 31, 2011
    5
    The gameplay is all over the place, the AI is absurd, the animated art is tatty and actual interactivity (and forget "story interativity") is very weak, almost non-existent. I don't understand all the hype and craziness. This is no LGS legacy game, much less one of Ion Storm. It's a mainstream disappointment.
  97. Aug 26, 2011
    10
    Excellent atmosphere, Flawless soundtrack, and the fact that you discover something new every time you play through again makes this game a worthy contender to Game of The Year. This and Skyrim are going to be neck and neck for GOTY.
  98. Aug 27, 2011
    10
    Absolutely the best game in years. Ignore any reviews stating problems with hardware or anything along the lines of technical issues. The game has been out for only 3 days, and already patches have been released on steam to reduce load times by 50%, and so on. The storyline is deep and engaging, the game is addictive and never feels repetative. Eidos Montreal has created a winner with this one.. one can only look forward to the next title in the series which will improve upon the few minor faults in this title. Expand
  99. Aug 27, 2011
    9
    The only thing I have to complain about is the Boss Fights which are not hard but complicated in how boss fights are usually rendered with the boss fighting with a pattern of attack or something. other than that the game rocks my favorite part is the customization of Jensen, I see much replay value in my future!
  100. Aug 27, 2011
    10
    In short, the game is very enjoying. When u start to get inside the cyberpunk world that Eidos Montreal created, u can't get enough. Everything inside is working excellent. NPC interaction is well constructed, shooting is proper, building upa our protagonist is really easy and gives a lot of fun. The game is like Metal Gear Solid meeting a Bladerunner and drop by for a drink to your PC. What can i say, if u care more about story and many options of solving problems, it's absolutely worth your time and money. Hope u'll enjoy the game as i am. :) Expand
  101. Aug 24, 2011
    0
    An amazing game. Deus Ex: Human Revolution lives up to the franchise's roots. The storyline is excellent. Actual moral choices abound, and are not the typical shining paladin vs. world's biggest dick that is common in most other games. It's also fairly lengthy, even the sidequests are like full-fledged missions, and if you do them all (and/or snoop around, as any Deus Ex fan should), you will find your time was not wasted. I don't like to give perfect scores unless I feel the game truly deserves it, but thinking back, I seriously cannot think of any flaws. Deus Ex: Human Revolution is a wonderful game, and is certainly my favorite one released this year so far. Collapse
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 52 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 52 out of 52
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 52
  3. Negative: 0 out of 52
  1. 100
    There are only a few games this year we suggest to 16-yrs old gamers and their fathers together. Human Revolution for sure is a Game of the Year nominee. [Oct 2011]
  2. 90
    So despite the odds being stacked against it, Eidos Montreal accomplished the impossible and brought us a Deus Ex in the true sense of the word, probably the best one that we could have hoped for considering the current "requirements" for being commercially successful nowadays.
  3. Oct 10, 2011
    94
    A worthy successor to one of the greatest games ever. It offers a lot of choice on many levels and feels like an RPG from years past - in a very good way. One of the best, if not the best game of 2011. [Oct 2011]