User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2414 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 21, 2011
    9
    One of the best in its field. i never got into Deus ex nor the follow up for some reason but this is it man.its a little short but in summary : Close to perfection.
  2. Oct 19, 2011
    9
    In short, this game is amazing, i personally didn't likehow they made it more...console player friendly, but it also added al sort of great things, the gameplay is amazing, graphics are not as good as i expected, but they also got very inteligent design from time to time and graphics are the last thing you should review about any deus ex game, because thats not the magic in them... the story is pretty good, the controlls are critisized a lot, but they're actually pretty good for a game of this style, most of the compaint about this game are from pc players not accepting console elements, or console players not accepting pc gaming elements.

    Now, it is not a 10 game because it had many technical isssues, like the voice acting, once you play mass effect you discover how good voice acting can be in videogames, the unexpresive characters,the complicated references and a little confusing story make this game hard to play from time to time, but for once in the market, this game makes you think! If you don't complain about irrelevant things such as graphics and controlls (btw, there's key mapping, so anyone telling you the pc controlls are bad is either dumb or didn't gave enough time to the game.) you can easily enjoy this game!
    Expand
  3. Sep 16, 2011
    9
    Games don't really get better than this. Good story, solid voice acting, lots of replay value. Graphics are a bit dated, but the level of detail and thought that has gone into the world and characters surpasses that of most games.
  4. Aug 23, 2012
    9
    The world and characters really make this game what it is. Contrary to other popular shooters, its story has depth and the conspiracy is more than just a shock betrayal. The gameplay is good, though some parts restricts the player to just use stealth or die and the boss fights play just like a shooter; which is a shame because in all other respects Deus Ex: Human Revolution isn't JUST a shooter. The world feels great but doesn't look great due to the mediocre to good graphics that lodge somewhere between the perfectness of Crysis 2 and the far up awe but close up disgust of Skyrim. However, the Blade Runner-esque world design and colours do combine to make an engrossing experience that is as fun as it is thought provoking. Expand
  5. Jan 12, 2013
    9
    I loved this game. It has everything i love in a good game: excellent storyline, superb voice-acting, well-developed characters, polished gameplay. I love sneaking and taking out enemies with a sniper scope. I love a good conspiracy theory. And i love augmentations! What else can i wish for in an excellent title? :)
  6. Oct 13, 2012
    9
    I really enjoyed this game, great in depth story, lots of ways to optimize your gear and paths to completing the goal. I just wish it had kept going and that they had done more dlc or at least released mod tools. Of course when compared to the original Deus Ex it doesn't hold a candle, on its own though it is well worth the price.
  7. Sep 12, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I admit, i never played the original so i came at this with no expectations for anything. I got a good story, good gameplay, excellent graphics even though all the characters act like they used Michael J Fox for the CGI model. It didnt feel short to me, I still think I didnt discover everything there was to find in this game. I did skip a few side quests to advance the story, Id give it a 10 but the ending sucked hardcore. Also props to Eidos Montreal for sticking in numerous jokes, games and movie references. He doesnt know how to use the three sea shells.. Expand
  8. Sep 7, 2011
    9
    Great fun. Powerful beginning scene. Full of variety. Superb voice acting. Solid story. Badass looking main character. Yes. Yes. Yes.

    However, I did not like the way Megan Reed said "Jaron, is that you?" What a total slut
  9. Feb 24, 2012
    10
    Awesome game!I love the augumentations! I also love the upgrades to weapons and stealth. i threw a vending machine at 2 patrols, who can say no to that?

    @userjuicer
    yes you can, its the middle mouse button.
  10. Sep 8, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. To put it mildly......................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................... **** EPIC! Expand
  11. Mar 28, 2012
    9
    Amazing game. This is one of those rare gems that is both extremely fun to play, but also has an engaging story. The play is fluid, fun and balanced, whether you are playing a rambo or stealth/hacker. The plot is great and lets you get very involved in what's going on. It doesn't get at 10 because of the shoddy boss battles (boo to unfun boss battles). Everything else is perfect.
  12. Oct 16, 2011
    9
    Just finished the game, enjoyed the majority of it. The ending was a bit lame and the unskippable cut scene's in certain spots are some of my complaints. Also could have more action scene's, since it was a tad easy. Never had any challenging battles, even the one at the end even thou I had no idea what was going on I finished it on the first try. And no, I didn't play it on easy. But everything else is top notch and best FPS I've played all year. Expand
  13. Mar 23, 2012
    9
    Just loved it! Dense story, GREAT music, loved the stealth action. Really really liked it. The lipsynching wasn't too good but the voices itself were. And naa well, i don't care about the lipsynch. Play it!!
  14. May 26, 2012
    10
    Piece of true art.. For me, game of the year and one of the best games I've ever played. When I saw everyone **** about the first cinematic trailer I thought "Deus Ex? Never heard of it, must be a crap", then, after few days, when I was extremely bored I saw it and I was never, ever more hyped for any kind of game or film or anything. I insta-pre ordered the game and I wasn't disappointed when I played it for the first time. The atmosphere and style is just AMAZING and I mean it, it's something you don't see in any games. The game itself is challenging and kinda hard, which makes this game even more satisfying (I'm always raging when I have to restart from checkpoint for the fifth time, but not in this game). There are always multiple ways to complete the mission which makes it completely non-linear and more fun, even when it's your 2nd or 3rd playthrough. Actually, the only thing I didn't like were the small locations, I hoped to see much bigger cities, just like in the first trailer. The graphics were also not the best, but it wasn't bad either - however it haven't got my very attention while I was playing because the gameplay itself is really good and satisfying. I hope Square Enix will show the sequel on the next E3 or gamescom, it would be my no.1 for the next year. Expand
  15. Oct 31, 2013
    9
    Finally a worthy successor to Deus Ex. Fantastic balance, amazing detail and realized world. Sad then that I can't give this a full 10 because the boss battles break the "free choice" system in the game forcing you to go for combat skills even if you would rather stealth and hack your way around.
  16. Nov 9, 2011
    9
    Quite the Excellent game. Probably one of the best single player campaigns I've ever played. The Amount of different outcomes in encounters depending on your augments is fun enough on it's own. Excellent: Story , Characters , Art Design , Music , and surprisingly voice acting as well.
  17. Jan 18, 2012
    10
    This is very atmospheric game. Level desigh looks very good(no-linear). Soundtrack is EPIC and gameplay great and It is a lot of passage variants, with a stealth and without. This game is epic. Instant Buy.
  18. Jan 1, 2012
    10
    Well, story is a bit ugly, but nice at the same time. Very frustrated by the CG scenes, I expected more after such a beautiful trailer. Everything else is great.
  19. Sep 14, 2013
    10
    Pros: Probably one of the best FPS strategy games I've ever played.
    Cons: I can't believe I waited this long to actually play it through.

    If you are like me and was disappointed with Invisible War, you will quickly understand how DEHR completely and fully redeems the franchise and series. Now to hunt for the next installment!
  20. Oct 7, 2013
    9
    Games with this level of thought and ambition are rare. Combined with the good action gameplay and enjoyable stealth sequences, it's a rather outstanding entertainment product. A healthy amount of philosophical content and a respect for the gamer's intellect that I've only seen paralleled a handful of times in modern games. The ending is rewarding enough, but I kind of had anticipated something grander. The last level kind of feels like 'the quiet before the storm' in terms of quality and scale. But I think the ending and the overall epic sense of plot made it worth playing through the game. The worst thing about the game? Nothing really outstanding about the 'walk from A to B' sequences. There could have been more puzzles to getting to the right destination. And less corridors. Expand
  21. Jan 8, 2012
    10
    I have just completed this game and I thought it was stunning. I've been an avid gamer for many years (and I remember being playing through the original Deus Ex) but rarely has a game impressed me this much. The developers created a living breathing world which I actually wanted to take the time to explore, I was able to make choices in how to approach challenges and how to augment my character and I felt like those choices actually made a difference. Yes, had I chosen other alternatives I could have achieved the same goals, but I don't want a game where there is only one correct option, I want freedom. In a world where only successful game franchises get a budget for development I'm glad someone took a punt on this. I explored everything, spent many hours doing so and came away a very happy customer at the end. Let's hope this spawns a sequel of similar quality. Expand
  22. Sep 24, 2012
    9
    I haven't played the previous Deus Exs, but no way this game can disappoint decent gamers. As promised, it offers some way to get the job done, but what really got me impressed was that all those ways were actually good and fun. Cover/ no cover based gunfights are more than decent, offer many weapons, options, and challanging AI (It has flaws, but generally fine) and can be mixed with the stealth system. Stealth is also very good, and the its expiriment is changed depending on the upgrades you take (Invisibility, silent walk/run/ sprint, visual sound, etc...). The hacking system does the job excellently, offering challanging, but not to repeating gameplay, and is bested because it is done in real game time, so you can't hack computer in the second the guard don't look like in splinter cell and such. But the newest possibility in my opinion was the presuading system, DEFINATELY the best conversation-gamplay I've ever seen in the game. I don't know how they made the fully sounded conversation for any conversation course I've choosen, but It felt very real, and was also very challanging. The only game I know that can even be compared to Deus Ex in that field was LA-noire, and in my opinion was way worser. Plus, The result of the conversation in this game actually does matter, sometimes making your life easier, sometimes giving you additional background information, but also can sometimes be better off because you can convince people to harm themself helping you while you can actually do it without their help. I advice anyone to save some money for the next steam sale, Definately worth the money. Expand
  23. Feb 21, 2012
    10
    That game has one of the best stories I've ever seen in my life. The characters are well builded, the art direction was also amazing with so much yellow in it. the sound..wow how gorgeous the were also the soundtrack is so perfectly syncronized with the game that I felt speechless of how video games are so well made nowadays. The gameplay is very intuitive with so many things to do, rpg aspects that will want want you to play until you have all the possible augmentations of the game. Cut scenes well placed that doenst interrupt the gameplay experience, the power to be replayed many many times and great interface. those are some very good aspects of the game. to be honest I didnt find any great flaws making this, of my favourite games of this generation Expand
  24. Feb 19, 2012
    10
    A dignified successor of Deus Ex 1. A great mix of shooter, action, rpg and stealth game and perfectly implemented. Great sound and graphic resulting in impressive atmosphere. Action game of the year 2011.
  25. Mar 5, 2013
    9
    One of the better shooters of the last decade. High production value, good graphics, good combat system, great story. It has pretty much everything you want from a story driven shooter. Not quite as epic as the Mass Effect trilogy, but still a good buy if you're interested in these types of games.
  26. Nov 9, 2012
    10
    Brilliant. Just freaking brilliant. This is not only a game; it's a deep, meaningful experience, a social alegory that is sure to move you and bring your morality to the table. An amazing, gripping story from start to finish, complex characters, addicting gameplay and incredible atmosphere, all accompanied by a masterful soundtrack. Deus Ex: Human Revolution is one of the best games I've had the pleasure to play... an unforgettable experience that every person should go through, gamer or not. Expand
  27. Jul 27, 2012
    9
    This is a very addicting game and well worth the money. Although it has a few notable flaws, overall this game was a fantastic adventure for me. The art direction and environment are both great and varied, and unlike many game, the set pieces are not often recycled. The cinematic sequences animate nicely and are interesting to watch. However, the character models in-game are often lacking and seem to lack detail and lip-syncing cohesion. Nevertheless, one can tell that Jensen (the main character) had a lot of work put into designing him (although I don't understand why his jacket acts like it's flowing in the wind 24/7). Although the game is first-person, do not treat this as a FPS like Halo -- a couple of shots and you're dead. This is a shooter (or not, depending on your playing style) that actually requires strategy to survive violent encounters. Aside from the several boss battles, you can choose to play the game stealthily and not kill a single person; instead, you can use a tranquilizer gun, stun gun, gas grenades and so forth to incapacitate your enemies; or you can sneak your way through the game without any enemy contact - it is your choice, and the way this system is set up is RPG style where you level up and obtain Praxis points to spend to "level up" certain augmentations. For those of you who have seen the hacking game, it is not as difficult as it looks; I actually find it to be somewhat fun, if not a little tedious. The story is good and engrossing; it's not amazing, but it holds together well. Perhaps my biggest issue with the game is the voice acting: Jensen sounds indifferent to any circumstances that occur, and aside from the decently acted main characters, many of the voices are cheesy of downright lame; the Chinese voices in particular are very stereotypical and cheesy. This is also a long-lasting game; I spent approximately 39 hours in my first playthrough, and that's with doing all of the side missions. Overall, subpar facial animations and lame voice-acting aside, this is a fantastic game that one should not pass up! Expand
  28. Apr 3, 2012
    9
    Dark, stunning, unique, and awe-inspiring. Without a doubt, this is the most immersive story I have ever played in a video game.

    Video games are rarely original anymore. But when you finally come across one that has an orignal story, its like a breath of fresh air. This game is so immersive, and amazing that you actually feel like you ARE the protagonist. Every choice, changes the story
    in a different way. Being an avid Deus Ex fan since the first game, I have to admit that I actually enjoyed this one the best out of the whole series. It sets up the events of Deus Ex 1 very well, while incorperating its own, intuative story along perfectly. Inconclusion, if you can only afford one game this year, get this one. Modern Warefare 3, and BattleField 3 may sell a lot of copies, but they will never be able to give you the same about of satisfaction, and enjoyment that this game will. I can guarentee that people will be talking about this game for a very, long time. Expand
  29. Mar 20, 2013
    9
    A massive improvement over the first Deus Ex, the combat and overall gameplay of this game are incredible. However, I had to do some tweaking to even get it to work properly. Probably ported from consoles or it just doesn't like AMD-based computers. Still, 9/10.
  30. Apr 14, 2012
    10
    This game is not only very well made but also has a very well thought out storyline along with a very smooth interface and good combat. It is a credit to the Deus Ex games that came before. Sure to be a classic, pick it up of you love first person combat and/or near future themed games. You will not be disappointed.
  31. Dec 29, 2013
    9
    Truly a worthy adversary towards other futuristic themed video games. Deus Ex Human Revolution is a fine example of a well thought out game that takes advantage of the player's intelligence to pass through levels. The story is incredible immersive and complete with full dialogue for the full experience. Players are able to make decisions that will impact the environment while progressing through the story. A fine example of an incredible game that will last for decades. Expand
  32. Sep 19, 2012
    8
    Let me say right up front that Human Revolution is one of the best games of the past few years. Each mission can be completed in a variety of ways, from Batman (sneaky, non-lethal) to Robocop (annihilate everything). The game is beautiful (barring some awkward face models), and the score is superb. The game is also mature enough to forgo the generic Bioware Light/Dark moral system, making the player's choices and wording carry more weight. Some of the best, most intense moments of this game are the discussions you have with other characters, as in talking down anti-augmentation terrorists and convincing corporate heads to divulge secrets. If you enjoy science fiction, shooters, RPG's, or stealth games, Human Revolution is a must-play.

    However, it still has a few too many flaws to be considered truly great. Those hoping to find the deep philosophical issues and fantastic role-playing experience of the first Deus Ex will assuredly be disappointed by Human Revolution's comparatively shallow narrative and heavy emphasis on shooter and cover-based elements. The game is disappointingly short (even after completing all of the sidequests) and it's setting and themes, though interesting, are largely unexplored. Few, if any, of the characters are ever fleshed out and the main story, in retrospect, is pretty mediocre and unsatisfying - particularly the final act. I can forgive a lot, but HR fails to recover from many of its missteps. Still, it's rare to see a AAA title with any kind of brain.
    Expand
  33. Oct 29, 2013
    4
    A game undeserving of the hype, but ok otherwise. Gunfighting is bland but this is meant to be played stealth, where it does a bit better. The graphics are very dated, comparable to a game from 2006, like Hitman Blood Money. The level design is also mediocre, but neither of these ruin the game, the story is ok. For me the mechanics are a bit old-fashioned and arcade, but otherwise acceptable. Porting from console to PC has been done well. Expand
  34. Aug 9, 2012
    8
    An outstanding sequel to a PC classic. Great aesthetics, sufficiently challenging gameplay, gripping story. I do have a few complaints in this sea of praise: enemy AI is nothing special (Metal Gear Solid has done it better), there is no randomisation whatsoever between playthroughs, the relative linearity of the story missions and the overall design of the areas makes it seem somewhat dated. But that's the point, and as a successor to Deus Ex it does very well. Like that game, there's enough customisation, sidequests, secrets and multiple endings for 2-3 quite different playthroughs. Absolutely recommend it to fans of sci-fi, cyberpunk and/or third-person action. Expand
  35. Jun 23, 2013
    9
    My personal favorite of 2011. I haven't had this much fun with a game in a very long time. The game is driven both by its fantastic story and its wonderful gameplay. The world itself was easy to get immersed in and I thought they created one of the best near future settings in science fiction. The games style reminded me very much of another brilliant title, Vampire: The Masquerade Bloodlines and that is a rare treat in this era of drab linear shooters and incoherent open worlds. Expand
  36. Nov 14, 2012
    8
    This is a solid and polished title, and it raise some interesting question about our future in the great tradition of deus ex games, could have been a little bit longer.
  37. May 20, 2013
    9
    I started playing with the highest expectations but my enthusiasm quickly wore out. Plot and game mechanics looked really intriguing but somehow I never felt engrossed. A) plain, flat, naked ambientations B) awkward and unintuitive commands C) slow and boring roaming within the city, with all its blind alleys D) "hacking" is just a guess game based on luck I just could not stand all that stuff; maybe I'll try again in the future, in a distant future. Expand
  38. May 2, 2013
    10
    This game is superb in every way, It deserves all the ratings, A modern multi-choice game with a different choice of skill trees, A Great stealth system(It is A LOT like dishonored and Far Cry 3's Stealth), a Working inventory system and a gripping story.

    When I played this game back in 2011 I thought the Stealth system was pretty poor, but playing the game again on PC in 2013, I've
    realized the stealth is very diverse in a game where it's not necessarily required, it's not like splinter cell where you can openly walk right past someone, It's not like Tomb Raider(2013) where once your detected, everyone knows your location, It's more "Real" than all of these, The best way to approach the situations is to say, "what would happen in real life?", If your detected, it's not too late, if you can run around the enemy or chase him, OR even just shoot him before he sounds the alarm, the enemies have no way of knowing you were even there, Bodies can be moved like in the fallout games, Enemies can be silently knocked out, OR loudly killed with Adams wrist blades(Cool as F***), When knocked out, the enemies DO awaken, So be quick if this is your method. Now the stealth part is amazing, But what if you hate stealth and like being a loud superhuman? There are skill trees for that too, Like more regeneration, the "Typhoon" and more, And with the games diverse covering system, gunplay and again, stealth, getting the jump on your enemy has never been more fun, i'd go as far to say this game is A LOT better than 2012's dishonored!

    If you find this game cheap and you've never played it, GET IT, it's an experience!

    Deus Ex Human Revolution is one of the best games this gen, a MUST play!
    Expand
  39. Oct 17, 2012
    10
    A superb experience. Fantastic Protagonist,intriguing support cast,great story,lovely stealth mechanics. The only thing off for me was 3 of the boss battles..but a fulfilling game
  40. Jul 15, 2012
    10
    As a follow up to the Deus Ex games, this is finally the one that lives up to the original game's feel, design, and gameplay. If you liked the first Deus Ex, then don't think twice about purchasing Human Revolution.
  41. Aug 6, 2012
    8
    4/5 (Good)

    Using a stealthy approach is satisfying and the DE:HR universe is really interesting.

    Graphics are good, difficulty ramps up nicely, the atmosphere is exciting... Try it!
  42. Aug 8, 2012
    10
    Story was amazing, gameplay was exhilarating, ending(s) were fulfilling. Extremely fun game, even more so if you like stealth + technical gameplay. The Mass Effect style speech + consequence to action, combined with an Assassin's Creed stealth style, and even a bit of Halo if you like to just shoot everything in the face. All of this is present in Deus Ex: Human Revolution. The fact that everything is gold is cool too. Adds to the futuristic feel, and takes setting out of the ordinary Expand
  43. Aug 8, 2012
    9
    Good gameplay (really enjoy the stealth aspect), good story, and quite well produced: voices, character animation and cutscenes were top notch. Apparent effort also went into the music production as well. A finely crafted game.
  44. Feb 12, 2013
    9
    Really interesting story about ideas. It plays like a stealth shooter. If you like games like Metro 2033 or Farcry then you will love this game. It gets a knock off its score for low replayabiility.
  45. Apr 5, 2013
    8
    The gameplay itself is very good but you have to like stealth games if you play this like a shooter you will probably get frustrated The story was ok but to obvious for me. the ending was a bit dissapointing you wont see any of the characters in the last cutscene, you dont know how it continues. i can recommend it to everyone
  46. Oct 21, 2012
    9
    i must say this is more like a sequel to Dues Ex than Invisible war ever was, i'm very positive about this game, however i really miss a deus ex type ending, i found it devastatingly disapointing that when it came to multi-endings the only thing you had to do was to select one by pressing a button, the biggest drama here was that one of the buttons was placed in the next room... what a thrill...
    i am positive since the game holds up well to its predecessor, i do however miss the skill tree from deus ex so it didn't have to be all about augmentations.
    the weapon upgrade system is a good touch.
    Expand
  47. Aug 30, 2012
    10
    Very solid game. It is almost as good as Deus EX 1 and Deus EX 1 was truly a masterpiece. If you like cyberpunk do not hesitate any moment to try this game.
  48. Sep 30, 2012
    8
    It is very linear, skill system isn't great and constant "hacking" can after a while get a bit annoying plus fights are very repetitive in its style, yet despite that I enjoyed this game. Dialogues and plot were good and lethality was pleasantly high. Half-decent choice of weaponry plus constant ammo problems were nice addition too.

    For me replayability of this game equals 0, but
    adventure was good enough. Expand
  49. Oct 2, 2012
    8
    Let me start by saying I'm a Deus Ex fan. The original was a stellar game in its day, blending in RPG elements and a detailed story with a FPS gameplay in a way I had never quite seen before. From punching in codes for locked doors to sneaky takedowns, I enjoyed the original Deus Ex immensely.

    I had skipped Invisible War entirely however due to reports of it being geared toward the
    consoles way too much. I'll quite likely go back and play it some day, but a Deus Ex themed FPS just isn't what I was looking for at the time. So when the reviews of Deus Ex: Human Revolution being more like the original started to surface, my interest was piqued. I had expected little of Human Revolution before it was released, and I'm quite happy to have been proven wrong in my assumptions.

    My main complaint with Human Revolution however is that unlike the original Deus Ex, I didn't feel free to play the game as I wished. While yes, you can technically run and gun your way through the whole thing, the EXP system is very heavily geared toward stealth tackdowns and hacking, making the system very all or nothing. If you're at all concerned about missing things, as I am, you'll find yourself playing the way the devs obviously intend rather than how you might like to approach a situation.

    Much to my surprise however, I maxed out pretty much every half-decent augmentation between 1/2 and 3/4th of the way through the game. At this point EXP became completely moot, so my motivation for being a stealth hacker suddenly fell through the floor. I guess I did too many sidequests and hack-grinding? I must admit though, it actually worked out well enough. I was finally able to play the "stealth shooter" I wanted to play, rather than the "silent assassin" I had exclusively played up until that point in the game to maximize EXP.

    At a whopping 35 hours long for my main play-through, plus more for The Missing Link, HR certainly shows its RPG leanings. You're not going to find many FPS titles even approaching that length, though in fairness you're going to spend a fair amount of that running around hub cities, talking to NPCs. With a fairly good story, decent graphics, and fun gameplay - it's easy to recommend to Human Revolutions to other Deus Ex fans out there.
    Expand
  50. Oct 16, 2012
    9
    Lo Bueno:Daré mis impresiones sobre este juego: Atrapante, Genial!. Las Horas pasan muy rápido con este bien logrado juego. Admito que me lo compré sin saber nada de él, pero que ha sido una sorpresa y un agrado jugarlo.
    Si esperas un shooter puro este juego no va con ese tinte. Mezclado con estrategia, rol, acción y el famoso pero para mí, poco
    experimentado mundo de los juegos con "Stealth Mode".
    La jugabilidad del juego es lo que más atrapa, la estética es muy buena también y el sistema de pirateo es complejo y a la vez muy entretenido.
    Lo Malo: No sé porqué pero mi juego sufre "crashes" sin ningún motivo aparente, a veces muy seguidos y otras veces puedo estar mucho rato sin experimentar uno. Al menos se puede guardar en cualquier momento ,pero solo por eso no le doy un 10.
    Expand
  51. Oct 8, 2012
    10
    Well, what can i say, for some reason unknown to me i had only in the last month decided to give this a go and as it was, i was missing a masterpiece, i didnt know what to expect from it before playing but i was blown away. It is probably one of the all time greats i have played. Where to start. graphics - superb lighting, sets alot of the scenes really well, animations are pretty superb and flow nicely, cannot speak of any issues that stood out to me. Gameplay - superb, flows nicely and seemlessly from one area to the next, movements are natural, physics are great and natural and the AI is really impressive. Storyline - Fantastic, i think this was the icing on the cake for me, an orignal, well thought out concept and design and had me gripped to want to know more. Music - was again, faultess, gave such depth to the game and a futuristic feel to it. Summary - A well thought out and implemented game, no issues that hindered me playing like bugs etc. fantastic storyline. the gameplay reminded me a bit of Metal Gear Solid and that is a big compliment , graphically, ten times better. A must buy to add to your all time greats Expand
  52. Apr 14, 2013
    7
    To begin with, Deus Ex is a good game making me play over 20+ hours for a single play-through. With its interesting approach in combat lethal or non-lethal. It also features side-quests and it's augmentation skills are cool. However, this game is dumb downed with it's stupid AI in which I can give you evidence. I ran right in front of an enemy yet he still doesn't detect me. AI is purely blind and foolish, and the story is decent which I had already forgotten about it. I still haven't mention about it's bad boss fights, the devs just seem to use normal enemy AI to a more powerful "guard". I managed to survive a boss fight without losing a health since *he* just kept shooting at a wall. Finally, you will find a ridiculous fall damage height in the game to prevent this get an augmentation
    Overall DE:HR is a good game but doesn't stand up to be a great game (8-10/10) in my review but it has been a fun ride playing this.
    Expand
  53. Jun 7, 2013
    8
    This is probably one of the better games for 2011 if not the best. It have got it all, action, a deep story and characters that you may either love or hate and for that it's indeed worthy an eight.
  54. Jul 22, 2013
    10
    gomy game of my life)... just fantastic gameplay, story line, art style soundtrack you MUST check it out) this game made me cry for thinking that it is getting over and i will never can see this things again with the same suprise. the game is also have a political aspect that is just amazing graphics are a bit ugly but the style of the game is fantastic
  55. Oct 26, 2012
    9
    Deus Ex: Human Revolution is absolutely fantastic. There's so many places to explore and different side quests to carry out. The boss fights can be really easy or really hard depending on the items you have equipped which was my only let down. Having almost completed a bachelor of Biotechnology I found the storyline particularly enjoyable and I personally really related to it.
  56. Jul 26, 2013
    8
    A pretty good game, and it's nice that it attempted to stay as close to Deus Ex 1 as possible. Still, it somehow doesn't reach the level of Deus Ex 1. I can't exactly say what it is. It just feels "dumbed down", and not only in the gameplay, but probably more in the story and dialog. The original had a clever story. This game is more Hollywood. I mean, compared to every other action game on the market now, it's still stands out. I have only played it thru once, and got almost all the augmentations. With Deus Ex, I played the game thru at least 3 times fully, once with standard Rifles+Heavy, once with Pistols+Heavy and once fully non-lethal. I played the first level of Deus Ex 1 countless times. Here everything is more streamlined so I didn't even feel the need to experiment with anything on a second run. After the game was done, there was nothing left to see or think about. Expand
  57. Nov 11, 2012
    10
    Excellent game and I don't usually like FPS or "Stealthy" types of games. I have put in over 150 hours on this game and still love playing it. The graphics are great, Adam's shoulders in-game are a bit dicey, but considering that is my only complaint I think it's a quality game. The storyline grabbed my attention throughout the whole game, even though you can kind of guess what the ending is if you paid attention. The action and the gameplay is exceptional. I think Eidos has really handled this very well and have brought Deus Ex back into the spotlight. I was not an original Deus Ex player nor had I played it before this game, but after finishing HR I quickly bought the first two and played them. I am now officially a Deus Ex fanatic, I would suggest this game to anyone who wants a great game to play. I hope in the future there is another game featuring Adam, amazing character and fits the part perfectly. Expand
  58. Dec 16, 2013
    8
    An extremely enjoyable and well polished fps with great skill sets and stealth options.
    Many ways you can play this as well as numerous side quests.

    Well worth a look.
  59. Aug 31, 2013
    9
    On first play I thought it was very good. 2 playthroughs later I am shocked at how much depth there is in the game mechanics. The way the augs affect playstyles, guns and how you use them is impressive. On my third playthrough I discovered further routes and different ways to combine my skills to proceed, when I thought I had already discovered everything!
    The story is engaging until the
    third act where it tapers off a bit, it may be the stale 'go here go there' objectives, especially when the lovely colour palette never changes or the story itself; possibly the most important character in the game shows up at the 1/3 point, says 3 sentences leaves, until you see him again at the end. By which time I had almost forgotten he existed. Really weird choice. The 2 hub cities are re-used and it really shows that they cut out the 3rd hub-city.
    The battery refill system is balanced for the game but it's still awful. Doing more then one augmented task at a time requires eating a bar, which fills up precious inventory anyway, limiting the 'fun-experimental' factor. You're just saving them up too scared to use them instead of using them as you go along ALA Deus ex 1, Dishonoured. The game is all about augs, they really shouldn't handicap aug use so severely.
    The AI is standard stupid-like every other stealth game. You should not be able to 'knock-out' multiple people and have no one notice their disappearance.
    I must be the few people who likes the boss battles, but there is a problem. Stealth is the preferred method of play so when it comes to forced action you just aren't used to pulling those sharp actions to survive. Boss battles work in MGS because of the many scripted action moments to prepare you for other scripted action moments. This is probably why I loved the boss battles on my 2-3rd playthrough. I was used to the controls and could outskill the bosses in such cool inventive ways.
    I have many complaints about this game but it's still one of my top games ever. There is so much to like here. A few tweaks here and there and this game could be perfect as well as ambitious.
    Expand
  60. Nov 30, 2012
    10
    Very rich storyline, great graphics and game play. Truly an outstanding successor to the original Deus Ex. One thing you may not like about this game is the overwhelming amount of mini-game that involves hacking into computer terminals: for door security, camera, storyline or whatnot. Although the game does not require you to do so, but you will want to do it anyway on your first play-through so you collect all the information. Still, this is a great game to play. Expand
  61. Dec 9, 2012
    3
    Je sanctionne la réalisation tout juste pitoyable; des maps d'une taille ridicule; les pnj en plus d'être statiques n'ont aucune personnalité, quasiment aucune interaction n'est possible. C'est vide ; le level design est celui d'un jeu sorti dans les années 90. Rentrer dans une pièce fortifiée ? Il suffit de pousser la caisse qui cachait un énorme trou dans le mur ....Passer une armée d'ennemi ? Rien de plus simple prenez le premier échaffaudage qui se présente; sautez de plateforme en plateforme jusqu'a l'autre bout de la piece ....
    Meme les rares lieux d'habitation n'ont pas pu etre modélisés correctement; les couloirs des immeubles sont aussi larges que les rues de la ville; le mobilier est générique. En créant une maison sur minecraft j'arrive a faire mieux.
    Jeu sur-noté et très largement.
    Expand
  62. Dec 15, 2012
    9
    I feel there isn't really much I can say about this game that hasn't already been said at one time or another.
    This game was fun, exciting, beautifully done, well written, and most of all, bad ***. There wasn't a point in this game that I got bored with, its environments, people, story, and game-play all keep you hooked into playing more until you uncover everything it has to offer. It
    has nice challenge, giving you the option to go all out blasting or being a stealthy bat-man type of character. This is an amazing and worthy prequel to the original Deus Ex, and any fans of the series, or even anyone just getting started should pick up this game if they haven't played it.
    All in all this game was great, aside from a few minor glitches here or there or a bit of cheesy but memorable voice acting, this game doesn't really have anything inherently bad about it.
    Expand
  63. Dec 16, 2012
    9
    First off I love this game. The graphics,story and gameplay come together well. I will start with what I enjoyed. The main thing I enjoyed was the freedom of choice. you can choose how to take on a problem or even not take it on at all. You can go stealthy or guns blazing. You can also upgrade dozens of aspects of your augmentations. you can upgrade hacking,aiming,melee,typhoon(a sort of special attack) and much more. The second thing I enjoyed was the gameplay itself. Its very smooth and apart one or two very rare AI glitches bug free. The guns feel real and kickback convincingly the stealth and melee take downs are also very satisfying. You get more XP for not killing your enemies but this can be dangerous as another enemy could revive them. Aside from the main story which is a good length in itself there are a lot of varied an well done side missions.Now what went badly. the big thing that I really didnt like was the boss fights they really dont fit with the rest of the game. they cram you into small spaces and force you to play one particular way going against all the freedom the rest of the game gives. In fact if you arent prepared properly some bosses can be really difficult. Thats really all thats wrong and I reccomend this game Expand
  64. Dec 19, 2012
    7
    While this game is definitely better than Invisible War, I can't help feeling dissappointed. There were so much stupid game mechanics. For example, I would have rather got melee weapons than pre-captured takedown animations which get old after seeing them once, not to mention that you lose energy while performing them. How can military-grade cyber augmentations run out of energy when knocking down a single guard? Another thing I absolutely hated were the boss battles. Why the hell did they have to include boss battles with no alternate methods of progression on a game based on freedom? The storyline was good, but no match to original Deus Ex. That pretty much sums the whole game: It's good, but sub-par compared to DX1. Expand
  65. Jul 20, 2013
    2
    This is one of the less inmersive games I have played, the dialog is dullm boring and predictable, it doesnt feel real at all it feels like if you are playing a game,the action is quite boring,you just dont care about the characters,the main character is a tough guy with a raspy voice (how original),the upgrades are boring. I dont understand the hype behind this game there are much better games out there, I bougth this at 85% discount and I regret it. Expand
  66. Dec 26, 2012
    10
    They have hit it out of the park with this one - it is simply one outstanding game - Fantastic story line. I had to play it a couple of times to really appreciate its nuisances and mastery. However, it is not for everyone - if you do not like games which require you to use your brain - to investigate and gather information through stealth and cunning over a variety of levels that are like puzzles to be solved and questions your morality at every turn, then this game is not for you - you are better off sticking to the boring , repetitive balls to the walls shoot em up games because you will definitely get lost and frustrated playing this one. Expand
  67. May 23, 2013
    9
    It's a combination of Dishonored with a high tech future. Slowly the game draws you in until you realize that you are deep into a theme and want to get to the end. The type of game you have to play more than once since it teaches you other options might have been better as you progress. Highly recommend it for those who like stealth, strategy and a "thinking" game in addition to some fast paced shooting. Expand
  68. Jan 1, 2013
    10
    This game is simply awesome. When I first saw the trailers I was interested, 'cause I already played the first chapter, and I had to deal with something amazing. The plot is simple but really engaging, the characters are built perfectly and they show really well their psychology and emotions. Adam Jensen is not a true hero; he's just a man thrown into the complex background of the world surrounding him which he had ignored, his whole life is a sort of a joke, a lie.
    The gameplay is fluid and quick and you've got multiple choices on how to approach enemy and generally every situation, and this system of choices reflects perfectly the choices you have to make throughout the entire game.
    The lore behind the game is incredibile, there are a lot of references to people and fact that appeared in the first Deus Ex - remember that Human Revolution is a prequel.
    Deus Ex: Human Revolution, with its perfectly detailed world, puts you into something that is not just a game: it's a real story, organic in every part, created to live even out of the player.
    Expand
  69. Jan 16, 2013
    9
    I enjoyed this game very much. The graphics, art style and color scheme was amazing. The game play was fun and the story was quite intriguing. My only qualm with the game was that the lip syncing was atrocious. Very bad. They might as well have had the mouthes stay closed and I'd have had the same response. Other than that, a great stealth and shooter game with different ways of doing things. It's pretty cheap on Steam, so go pick it up. Expand
  70. Mar 16, 2013
    8
    The gameplay is fun, graphics good, plot really good, and player-freedom is extensive. The few things that drag it down is it's HORRIBLE melee system (which can be done without), some decent boss fights, and the feeling that some missions need particular character upgrades to beat. Otherwise, fun game.
  71. Feb 1, 2013
    10
    Had such a great time playing this game. Freedom of choice with genuinely different outcomes, a decent story and also being able to feel like you are in the world. Only gripes are the usual boss fights, and I think the game can be quite punishing at times.
  72. Jan 30, 2013
    10
    This was my first Deus Ex -game and it was very positive surprise =) I like this really, lot of exploring can be done, athmosphere is great and augmentations just add the value. Graphics are great, gameplay is like a movie. Feels really that can be chosen how to play: just customize your character as you like and choose how you deal situations.
  73. Jul 23, 2013
    7
    I heard from a lot of persons, that Deus Ex: Human Revolution would be a very great game, but I'm am a bit disappointed, while I played it. It has a cool story and a cool gameplay, but it never grabbed me. I don't like the graphics, especially the faces, the KI and it is often boring. I can't understand, why this game is often hyped. It's not bad, but for me nothing special.
  74. May 25, 2013
    10
    This game is a spectacle. On PC, the only visuals that I believe come close are that of Metro: Last Light or Bioshock Infinite (that might not be fair given the limits my PC puts on extreme level graphics). The levels look mostly the same, but considering it is set it one industrial area most of the time that isn't really a problem. However, graphics don't make a game. Game play does. The shooting is great, but you will find that on many games. The stealth is what makes the game. Sneaking around happens in other games, but in this one the AI reacts much more realistically so you can't stealth kill entire armies. Stealth kills do happen, but when they do you have to hide the body, and even then somebody is bound to hear. Once the first blow is struck, the fun begins. Hide behind boxes, crates, moveable items, in vents, turn invisible, dodge security camera beams, hack security cameras, hack sentry turrets and robots, see through walls, tranquilize your targets, grab hostages, punch and shoot people through walls, or just take the normal approach and shoot everything. Even though this is a linear game, there are no limits to what you can do to complete (or don't) your objectives. Expand
  75. Feb 7, 2013
    9
    The game uses advanced gaming; ingame and outgame. The weapons, tactics and story is realy outstanding. A very serious and engrossing gameplay for core gamers. Mind blowing game direction.
    Just a improvement needed in game high point level graphics.(continuous hazzy shooting)
  76. Feb 25, 2013
    10
    This is an incredibly good game. It switch from first person to third person perspective very well. As someone who has beaten the game at least 5 times, getting all the upgrades (including one play through with the controller, the support for the controller was well thought out btw). This is an excellent first person RPG, a true successor to the first game, unlike the second (which was a joke). The melee kills are awesome and truly satisfying. The different ways to upgrade Adam and his guns, as well as the different play styles that encompass the game give the game massive replay value. This is a game that anyone who is a fan of FPS RPG's must play, its utterly brilliant. Expand
  77. Apr 27, 2013
    9
    A fantastic game, despite its meh graphics it still has nice environments, challenging combat, lenghty 25+ hours)and also a great storyline. Highly recommend it to players that like ARPG's and Stealth games
  78. Apr 19, 2013
    10
    It valid one of the main events of this decade! In this game all is manually made: the magnificent design best in own way, the interesting gameplay intriguing a plot, cool music! In total for 100% game costs the money!
  79. Mar 24, 2013
    10
    The soundtrack is truly awesome. Adam Jensen is a pretty awesome and like-able character. The ending is so-so, but I'm still giving the game a 10 because the story is great otherwise and it's one of the best PC games I've ever played.
  80. Oct 21, 2013
    8
    Although it doesn't quite match the lofty excellence of the original Deus Ex, it's a much better game than Invisible War

    Pros:
    Beautifully realized world, Impressive range of choices for player style, Interesting storyline, Excellent presentation
    Cons:
    Simplistic and sometimes buggy AI, Horrible boss fights, Not as open as the original
  81. Aug 25, 2013
    10
    This game is awesome and more importantly shines as the single greatest console port to date. It really feels thoroughly like a PC exclusive. Nixxes did an astounding job here. If you passed on this one you cheated yourself.
  82. Oct 24, 2013
    9
    Deus Ex: Human Revolution is a very good game. It's the kind of game you fee like revisiting and playing again in a different way.

    Some people argument that the many choices of skill are actually useless since only some of them are actually usefull. Well, I don't agree. Of course some of them are situational, but "situational" can make a pretty big difference in some missions, and those
    few times that it will make a huge difference is why you risk buying them. Anyway, is just a style, does that mean is bad ?

    The most important aspect of this game, in my opinion, it's the atmosphere. It's immersive. You'll simply LOVE the wolrd around you. The logic of everyting and how social issues are portrayed in this futuristic wolrd are believable and quite realistic (we ARE talking about fiction, don't forget that)

    The second strongest point to be quoted abou this game, it's the story. It's filled with action and also reflection. You want to get there and get things done because you want to know how the story will develop. The side missions ain't that bad, you'll have fun playing a lot of them.

    The protagonist isn't the strongest point in my opinion, but you grow to like him.

    The graphics are beautiful.

    The gameplay... oh the gameplay. I was just surprised. I knew nothing about this game when I played it. I just went for it expecting an FPS. Well, most of the part is might seem like just an FPS, but it's actually much more than that. Using your skills in the right time, deciding if you are goin' to open fire or been stealthy makes a huge difference on the outcome and in how you feel the game.

    Well, simply put, it's a very fun story, with an original construction and is, above all, a very fun ride.

    But the current price you'll be finding this on Steam, you just SHOULD get it.
    Expand
  83. Jul 7, 2013
    9
    i really liked this game it was a really great experience at first i didn't really like it because it was really tough game but after i got some upgrades it turned to be more awesome and gameplay became more enjoyable and this game has a really good story but what i liked most in this game is the stealth atmosphere and it's unique style highly recommend this game
  84. Mar 16, 2013
    9
    Very good game. Perfect gameplay, perfect sounds, perfect story. Only problem is there is no need to come back for the game once you beat it. A game that must be played.
  85. Mar 17, 2013
    9
    Deus Ex: Human Revolution its really good stealth game and have perfect climate cyberpunk world which is hard to forget and a perfect story and great music:D
  86. Apr 10, 2013
    10
    Amazing graphics, outstanding campaign, brilliant voice acting and excelent gameplay. Definetly one of the 7th generations best titles. A must-play.
  87. Mar 20, 2013
    7
    Engaging Storyline, cyber punk visual effects, and important rpg elements brings you a pre-quel set in various countries. DEUS EX HUMAN REVOLUTION! With techo beat soundtracks and amazing trailers will bring players as they discover the secrets and conspiracy of the Aluminati and cooperates. Weird edgy controls and off lip-sync animation makes that game so much more alive. Large variety of weapons can be stored in Leon Kennedy's suit case from resident evil 4. Awkward third person to first person cover system makes mouse and keyboard users feel awkward about themselves as they questioned themselves what makes this game so hard to play. A revolutionary ending that disturbs other game that they literally destroyed the entire trilogy (mass effect). The main character complaining that he has been agumented back to life, but seriously though everyone just makes fun of him. DEUS EX: HUMAN REVOLUTION. Expand
  88. May 25, 2013
    6
    I never played the original but this game is good, and also overhyped. I like this game but it doesn't deserve the 9's and 10's a lot people and critics are giving it. The combat is clunky and awkward, and although the stealth is some of the best i have seen in a while, only beaten out by Splinter Cell and a few other games, it is way too easy. In Splinter Cell you have to plan every move and taking out a guard is a severe risk because even four or five rooms down the line a guard can discover the body of one of your victims on accident. Guards would realize some of their men are missing if you take too many of them out and radio to other guards to be on alert making the rest of the game harder. The different alert levels also helps Splenter Cell. In DEHR once you get out of a room nothing else really matters. Bodies are too easy to hide and there are no consciences to taking out guards. You can get into a firefight and kill 6 guys only for the next room to be completely unknown about your presence. Without an alert level for the enemy AI this game is too easy. In SC, If you get caught in one room and have a firefight, the rest of the facility is on alert. Im not saying they should have to fight you every time in DEHR, but in splinter cell guards would act accordingly. They would draw weapons and look in places they usually wouldn't, and would also go and get better weapons and body armor to react to the threat making detection in the game actually mean something and add difficulty. After all this complaining, the story is easily this games best part. Its what keeps me playing even through this games flaws. I would easily recommend the Splinter Cell series along with Dishonored and the Hitman Series over this game, but this game isn't bad. Its just there is stuff a lot better out there. Expand
  89. Mar 31, 2013
    9
    One of the few games to had me playing from start to finish without setting it down to play another game. The story was fun and engaging, enjoyed the multiple ways to complete most missions. The only issue was the no choice in boss battles and that was my only beef with the game as a whole. Definitely one to pick up and try if you have the time.
  90. Jul 22, 2013
    9
    I want to get this review as short as possible, so to make it short. If you like Stealth games then you have nothing to worry about. This is one of the best in the genre, atleast that I've played, and it really reminds me of the good old times with the Thief Series, and later on with the Dishonored game.

    The highlights of this game is the voice acting. The open environment. The great AI
    and stealth mechanics. And finally a thrilling story. You have nothing to lose.

    However, the game could've been slightly slightly better, by fixing some of the few bugs and making the phase from third to first person better and less solid, for example.

    But as said. Compared with the good parts about this game, the bad parts are way dont below the floor. I'd give this game 9.5 if I could, but it's not worth the top score, atleast not with this sequel!
    Expand
  91. Apr 22, 2013
    5
    Sorry but what on Earth am I reading here? Have you people who voted 10 played the game? I created a Metacritic account in order to express my opinion on this game. In this case it is worth your time reading the negative reviews. I bought this on Steam and uninstalled it twice before reinstalling it lately to give it another chance (pc version). Despite going through hours and hours of anguish to get the game to run properly after buying it 2 years ago I have still to play it for more than 25 hours. This game is so so so dull. Another massive flaw are the graphics. Square Design obviously originally planned this for a PS2 release in the early 2000's and recently added the newer effects. I am not joking. The character models and general design are exactly the same as some of Squares poorer PS2 efforts from years and years ago. The only thing lacking is the jagged edges, which they have covered with fogging and particle effects. I gave it a 5 but while thinking while writing this I should downgrade it to a 3 or 4 but I will not give this rubbish game any more of my time. Gamers (pc or console) you need to vote with your wallet as to the quality of the products you receive. This was a terrible, terrible game. Expand
  92. Jul 14, 2013
    9
    Finally we have a good deus ex game again. after the pathetic failure that was invisible war honor is finally restored to one of the single greatest game franchises of all time.
  93. Aug 25, 2013
    6
    Graphics look simple,but OK for the yellow mood is quite "unique".Faces in the game are mostly crude judging with the standard of the year 2011.
    Individual sequences are not accessible to play individually.I know that they are a whole play built upon what we have chosen through playing and cannot be divided,while I'm not feeling entertained for this a bit "hardcore" set of gameplay.

    Maneuver of 3rd person is not so convenient,with the "take cover" part functions like Hitman:Absolution but worse.
    Good game,but not so good as I imagined.
    Expand
  94. May 25, 2013
    9
    I thought it was a great game in style and it did bring a similar vibe to DX1. However, the non-hub levels while they are open; it is still linear as you go from A to B in a straight line. In addition, the game is too tame. Where is the action with brutal cops going against protesters? There seemed to be no tension in the game due to poorly written story. The takedown system is daft as with the regenerating health. The augmentations are nice but seems consolified (suiting consoles more than PC). The boss fights obviously were very foolish as with some of the AI at times. In the end, it is a great game but it has a lot more faults than DX1.

    The intromission was that you were doing a security test and Megan was your "inside man" as you had to break into a test location which ended up being Sarif industries in order to test its security out.
    Expand
  95. sft
    Jan 19, 2014
    8
    A sneaky business

    It might be possible to run-and-gun your way through DEHR but to do so would be to miss the point of the game. DEHR is all about stealth, hacking, persuasion, and cautious combat. And it does all this very well. There’s also a fully realised story that has much more depth than most games. It’s also worth noting the soundtrack, which is very atmospheric throughout (and
    somewhat redolent of Blade Runner at times). The visuals are a mixed bag, however, with impressive environments but often disappointing character models and animation. And the colour palette is rather muted and bland. The worst aspect of the game, however, is the inventory, which is bafflingly annoying: it rather pointlessly forces you to shuffle things around in order to fit all the items in. I really don’t see the point of this as it adds nothing to the game. There is also no real variation in the environments visited during the game; it’s basically one urban landscape after another. These may seem like minor criticisms but when combined they were enough to dampen my enjoyment a little. But having said all that DEHR does what it sets out to do so well that I can forgive it’s few flaws. Expand
  96. May 23, 2013
    10
    Deus Ex: Human Revolution is very nice, beautiful and atmospheric game with a memorable soundtrack, vaguely reminiscent of the music from the film "Inception". However, this is not a revolution. It is no conceptual or gameplay discoveries. But the fact that there are so fine-tailored tailored that even do not want to find fault. Sitting at the game, you will not regret for one minute spent in a dark 2027th, when people first got scared of what will become machines. Expand
  97. Jun 11, 2013
    4
    Its just like they ran out of budget fairly early on.

    There's a lack of integrity throughout; If you shoot a guard, alarms will sound and his buddies will pursue you... All you have to do is go upstairs and everything's cool.
    I had 5 guards after me. I simply hid behind an office desk. They shot and shot but couldn't follow me and eventually returned to their patrols. To cap it off,
    while hiding under the desk I opened a drawer to look for items. When the coast was clear I found that I couldn't get past the open drawer. I was stuck and had to restart the game.
    Also... You can punch a hole in a reinforced concrete wall but explosives won't knock a biro off a desk.
    The ridiculous takedown animations are completely out of place. It'd a mish mash of metal gear stealth vs mortal kombat finishing. Bizarre.
    The cut scenes are just awful. Poor character design scripted and acted by third rate amateurs.
    I desperately want to like this game. But in the end its not sufficiently finished for me to want to continue. I find PC Gamer's review of this game quite sinister. Its as if they went with promo blurb from eidos and didn't actually play the game.
    If you genuinely review this as above average then you're not asking enough of games developers.
    I'm stopping playing it. Need I say more?
    Expand
  98. Aug 21, 2013
    9
    One of the best games I ever played.
    Is fun, is challenging and it has a great storyline.
    The endings? are one of the best voice acting ever, and most touching moments.
    Voice acting of some NPCs could have been improved but overall the game have been an absolute terrific experience.
  99. Jun 13, 2013
    9
    I also own an xbox 360 but i just got the ps3 and picked up this game. I took a stealthy non lethal character which is more rewarding. i wish that all choices wee as rewarding or close to the same amount of xp given. Boss fights lack in choice but can have a good pattern after a while. Its good to see first person shooting and third person cover system thrown in which is what i enjoy from alot of games. I wish there was more choices in dialogue and AI could have been better. I also wish for more places besides china but its a good looking game overall. it has a unique different look. Expand
  100. Aug 29, 2011
    0
    As a guy from Montreal, I was waiting for this game to come out...and buy it!....I've played the first Deus Ex when it came out...and really liked it!....This one is really a perfect match between FPS and RPG...It really gives you freedom when it come to choose how you'll handle a situation...One day, I feel like stealthy and stay hidden and another day, I can get in and kill everybody in the room...you have the choice!
    There are no bad ways to pass a level...it only depends on how you want to play it!... The leveling is really kool too...I can spend 10 minutes just to decide where I'll put the really precious point I've just won...even if I feel like I always should upgrade the hacking to get access to all the security stuff....I always have the bad feeling ,when I let something un-hacked behind me, that I'm missing something good!... The graphics are really nice...even with some textures and shadows glitches...as all the shadows are black...the characters always seems to be dirty...but that may fit in that kind of "Blade Runner" universe... The only big issue I've seen so far, is the French voices...as I'm from Montreal, I was happy to put the game in French and hope to have some good voices...and the voices are good...but they're not synchronized with the character...and at some point, you hear the guy speaking and his mouth is not moving...but I can live with that as the game is really fun! Congratulation to the Montreal team that managed to show that they could do a possible GOTY!...

    ....now I just hope I won't have to wait another 11 years for the next Deus Ex!....
    Collapse
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 52 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 52 out of 52
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 52
  3. Negative: 0 out of 52
  1. 100
    There are only a few games this year we suggest to 16-yrs old gamers and their fathers together. Human Revolution for sure is a Game of the Year nominee. [Oct 2011]
  2. 90
    So despite the odds being stacked against it, Eidos Montreal accomplished the impossible and brought us a Deus Ex in the true sense of the word, probably the best one that we could have hoped for considering the current "requirements" for being commercially successful nowadays.
  3. Oct 10, 2011
    94
    A worthy successor to one of the greatest games ever. It offers a lot of choice on many levels and feels like an RPG from years past - in a very good way. One of the best, if not the best game of 2011. [Oct 2011]