User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 3148 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 26, 2011
    10
    This is one of those rare awe-inspiring games. The atmosphere is just perfect and the musical score just enhances it. Some scenes are just jaw-dropping. The gameplay is also spot on. The controls are responsive (except mousing over keys on keypads), the graphics are sharp, the story is compelling and the characters are interesting. A warning, though: when you first play the game, someThis is one of those rare awe-inspiring games. The atmosphere is just perfect and the musical score just enhances it. Some scenes are just jaw-dropping. The gameplay is also spot on. The controls are responsive (except mousing over keys on keypads), the graphics are sharp, the story is compelling and the characters are interesting. A warning, though: when you first play the game, some things may irritate you, but you will soon see that they make sense. Your inventory size is limited and you often have to leave behind precious things that you KNOW you'll need later. But that makes sense. No matter how much you're enhanced, you're not a pick-up truck. Already, the game makes unrealistic concessions to allow you to tote a bazooka, a sniper rifle, a mini-gun, and crates of ammo through public places without being noticed or even through metallic air ducts without making a sound. You might want to try a Schwarzenegger-like charge through a cluster of enemies, only to find that a single bullet can kill you. Well, shucks. A bullet really CAN kill you. The game forces you to play smarter than the usual shooter. That's a good thing. At first, the hacking just seems arbitrarily frustrating and you might try to avoid it at all costs... until you figure out how it works, and then it becomes fun! The only thing that remains that still frustrates me is that you can't carry more than one of each type of weapon (to sell them). If you have a pistol and you pick up a second pistol, it gets converted to ammo and you're left not with two pistols but one pistol with more ammo. But that's a drop of lameness in a bucket of awesomeness. And yet more awesomeness: you really can play this game many ways. Early decisions have an impact on later events, so you can replay it trying out different approaches and you will see different results. The result is that you'll probably replay it many times, playing the good guy, the bad guy, etc. This might not be a fair comparison, but the nanosuit in Crysis does "feel" more powerful than the enhancements in Deus Ex. I wouldn't mind a cross-over where I could play DE using a nanosuit, just to compare. :) Expand
  2. Aug 23, 2011
    10
    played the beta build. Immediately after beating it, i pre ordered. Haven't regretted that decision once and i don't think i will. This game is bloody brilliant in every single way. Great story, great dialogue, great graphics on pc maxed out and at 60 fps. You cant beat that. A true successor to the original deus! pc gaming is still alive
  3. Aug 23, 2011
    9
    I strongly recommend the game, because of the great atmosphere, story and interactive choices. I also enjoyed the dialogue, combat abilities and the music. Overall, it's just plain fun.

    However, there are a few points which I dislike. For instance, the textures and facial structure of many characters seem inelegant. Secondly, the spray from the guns is uneasy and somewhat annoying. My
    I strongly recommend the game, because of the great atmosphere, story and interactive choices. I also enjoyed the dialogue, combat abilities and the music. Overall, it's just plain fun.

    However, there are a few points which I dislike. For instance, the textures and facial structure of many characters seem inelegant. Secondly, the spray from the guns is uneasy and somewhat annoying. My biggest complaint has to be the controls for the cover system. It is poorly optimized (or so it seems) and a tad nettlesome.
    Expand
  4. Aug 23, 2011
    9
    A truly outstanding dark and gritty, cyberpunk, action role-playing experience. This title by Eidos Montreal lives up to the hype and then some. Whether you're a fan of the sci-fi, role-playing, first person/third person shooter, or the stealth-action genre Deus Ex: Human Revolution is the game for you.
  5. Aug 23, 2011
    10
    When I began playing this game I had my doubts being such a big fan of the original. Now, 5 hours into the game I have been able to dig deep into the core and see what play "Human Revolution" is truly like, and it is good. I feel like they captured the original perfectly. From the moment you begin playing HR you realize this REALLY is the new Deus Ex, not some cheap knock of made to makeWhen I began playing this game I had my doubts being such a big fan of the original. Now, 5 hours into the game I have been able to dig deep into the core and see what play "Human Revolution" is truly like, and it is good. I feel like they captured the original perfectly. From the moment you begin playing HR you realize this REALLY is the new Deus Ex, not some cheap knock of made to make money. The cover system really enhanced the way I was able to go through levels. The tiny details made me feel like I was not only killing and knocking out bad guys, but actually uncovering secrets I wasn't supposed to know. If you are a fan of the original or FPS games in general, I *highly* recommend this game.

    You might ask if this game actually deserves a perfect score. The reason I gave it one is because it does everything a game should, immerses you into a world and allows you to connect with the characters. The action is unyielding and exciting, while the story is better then most movies. This game deserves the 10 I gave it because it delivered on the promise of giving me a new game in the series just as good as the original.
    Expand
  6. Aug 23, 2011
    9
    This game is utter brilliance.
    A worthy successor to the original game in every way and its what invisible war should have been.
    The "black and gold" aesthetic is brilliant and gives the game a unique atmosphere. The game is also extremely immersive. Sucking you in immediately and never letting go. And don't make the mistake of thinking this is a port. Oh no. Eidos Went all out to please
    This game is utter brilliance.
    A worthy successor to the original game in every way and its what invisible war should have been.

    The "black and gold" aesthetic is brilliant and gives the game a unique atmosphere. The game is also extremely immersive. Sucking you in immediately and never letting go. And don't make the mistake of thinking this is a port. Oh no. Eidos Went all out to please (he unpleasable) pc gamers. Everything from full DX11 support and FoV is all there. The controls are spot on. And if you want, you can map anything to what ever you want. So for does of you who have gaming mouses or other gaming peripherals with extra mappable buttons. This should be good news to you.
    Expand
  7. Sep 11, 2011
    10
    After FINALLY finished this game after about 50+ hours (I explore everything - twice when you revisit locations; amazing what you missed or can access with new augs!!), it's still a 10, like a rated it after 6 hours of play. Sure the inventory control is sticky (why?) and many NPCs have the shakes (um why?) but it is true to the original - nonlinear play (um, this isn't a sandbox likeAfter FINALLY finished this game after about 50+ hours (I explore everything - twice when you revisit locations; amazing what you missed or can access with new augs!!), it's still a 10, like a rated it after 6 hours of play. Sure the inventory control is sticky (why?) and many NPCs have the shakes (um why?) but it is true to the original - nonlinear play (um, this isn't a sandbox like Oblivion tho) should you cloak and zip passed the cameras, or evade the guards, or walk around the roof and float down if you have the right aug to get to your objective, etc. It is very PC friendly (with one exception below), allowing you to save almost anywhere at any time and good remapping of key ability. It has COMMON SENSE - thank you for not making us RE-FIGHT the last boss to see all the endings. Sheesh I hate that. My only real criticisms are (1) I had trouble mass delete saved games; i.e. i couldn't go into the directory and delete 80 games at once, b/c it would still think they were there - very frustrating and (2) it should let you have more than 100 saves. Finally, sometimes it felt a bit too easy even on the very hardest difficulty (3) I tried very hard to get a pacifist rating but i guess i blew it somewhere without knowing it - sigh; would have been nice to know where so I could re-load... (4) and finally, I felt like maybe there should be more enemies if you get caught or something. I played non-lethal all the way (so I thought; maybe i screwed up the beginning scene) and sneaked passed everyone or took them out quietly. But you could play through WAY faster just popping everyone in the head.MINOR BUT NECESSARY SPOILER (below): XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXWait out the credits for secret scene. Expand
  8. Feb 15, 2012
    9
    I can't help but feel spoiled by Deus Ex, not only does it feel native to PC, but as the player I never felt I was being coddled - the game feels, well, grown-up, and it treats you like one. There's a distinct sense of nostalgia in the air, and not because of the high regard or this game's predecessor but because the game doesn't expect you to be an idiot, you need to make informedI can't help but feel spoiled by Deus Ex, not only does it feel native to PC, but as the player I never felt I was being coddled - the game feels, well, grown-up, and it treats you like one. There's a distinct sense of nostalgia in the air, and not because of the high regard or this game's predecessor but because the game doesn't expect you to be an idiot, you need to make informed intelligent choices, plan ahead, use your brain, try approaching things in different ways - failure to do so often results in the player getting stranded in areas they can't advance from. One of my favourite aspects of the game are the implementation of the augments, contextual or otherwise. The social/persuasion augment is fantastic, hacking games are smart and others open up areas of the game previously unavailable. However the graphics aren't mind-blowing and conversation animations are limited but not so that it detracts from the enjoyment of the game. Expand
  9. Aug 23, 2011
    9
    Great game to kick off the Fall tidal wave of AAA title. The summer drought is over and what a way to get back in the action. Atmospheric, well written, detailed art design, custom-ability and a true choice of going stealth or balls out run and gun. The few minor quirks (some stiff animations) really are negligible. With the rumor of 40+ hour game play (including side quests) there is noGreat game to kick off the Fall tidal wave of AAA title. The summer drought is over and what a way to get back in the action. Atmospheric, well written, detailed art design, custom-ability and a true choice of going stealth or balls out run and gun. The few minor quirks (some stiff animations) really are negligible. With the rumor of 40+ hour game play (including side quests) there is no reason why a gamer would NOT pick this game up. Purchase, don't torrent! Support the dev! Expand
  10. Aug 24, 2011
    10
    This game was made for the fans of the original, that is for sure. I remember hearing about a reboot of this franchise and was almost 100% sure it would fail. i'm glad to see that Eidos Montreal has stayed true to the franchise and brought this floundering franchise back to the forefront of interactive entertainment. That, and most of the IT Terminology is actually correct.
  11. Aug 24, 2011
    10
    Great game! It is just like the original but with all the new tech. The game play is great. You can choose your own way around or through obstacle . The characters are well done if not amazing.
  12. Aug 24, 2011
    10
    An incredible game and the best this generation has to offer. A fantastic art style coupled with incredible gameplay and voice acting. My only words are buy it and you wont regret it.
  13. Aug 24, 2011
    10
    Deus Ex Human Revolution lives up to Deus Ex name. Other than a few minor quibbles in regards to the gun play and character animations, this is gaming nirvana. The take-down moves, the third person cover system are well thought out, and well implemented. So for those who were worried that the third person cover system would ruin the "Deus Ex" experience.... fear not. The mood andDeus Ex Human Revolution lives up to Deus Ex name. Other than a few minor quibbles in regards to the gun play and character animations, this is gaming nirvana. The take-down moves, the third person cover system are well thought out, and well implemented. So for those who were worried that the third person cover system would ruin the "Deus Ex" experience.... fear not. The mood and atmosphere is top notch, the voice acting is very solid, and the story will sink it's teeth into you in no time.
    This game is well worth your time and money. I kid you not.
    Expand
  14. Aug 24, 2011
    9
    I'll keep this pretty brief because others here have already described Deus Ex: Human Revolution a lot better than I can....

    This is the best game I've played this year. I'm giving it a 10 not because it's perfect (no game is 'perfect') but because it represents the ceiling in modern gaming -- this is what other video games should aspire to be in 2011. Human Revolution allows and
    I'll keep this pretty brief because others here have already described Deus Ex: Human Revolution a lot better than I can....

    This is the best game I've played this year. I'm giving it a 10 not because it's perfect (no game is 'perfect') but because it represents the ceiling in modern gaming -- this is what other video games should aspire to be in 2011. Human Revolution allows and encourages player experimentation and freedom. There is no 'right' way to play it, be it good, evil, stealthy, talky, actiony, or any combination thereof. The level design is freeform and there is always more than route to your objectives. The dialogue writing is solid, and the plot is compelling. The augmentation system is fantastic, and if you choose intelligently you can make Adam Jensen whatever kind of superhuman you want him to be. Minor quibbles include some spotty voice acting and stiff animations, but neither detracts from the fact that this a strong game of the year contender. I recommend this to just about anyone who likes video games. There's something in it for everybody.
    Expand
  15. Aug 24, 2011
    10
    The biggest surprise of the year. Not many originally believed that a console oriented Deus Ex sequel developed in an era of dumbed down gaming experiences could in any way approach its predecessor, which, released in the year 2000, showed the world what does "Interactive game" truly mean. Turns out it could. Human Revolution is everything Deus Ex was and more, it is a true sequel to theThe biggest surprise of the year. Not many originally believed that a console oriented Deus Ex sequel developed in an era of dumbed down gaming experiences could in any way approach its predecessor, which, released in the year 2000, showed the world what does "Interactive game" truly mean. Turns out it could. Human Revolution is everything Deus Ex was and more, it is a true sequel to the cult classic and is a masterpiece on its own. It shows that, even in the year 2011 and despite the obsession of the gaming industry with simplifying games to the point where they can barely be called games anymore, it is still possible to have a high budget, blockbuster gaming experience designed not to be played by your grandma, but by you. Expand
  16. Aug 24, 2011
    10
    An amazing game. Deus Ex: Human Revolution lives up to the franchise's roots. The storyline is excellent. Actual moral choices abound, and are not the typical shining paladin vs. world's biggest dick that is common in most other games. It's also fairly lengthy, even the sidequests are like full-fledged missions, and if you do them all (and/or snoop around, as any Deus Ex fan should),An amazing game. Deus Ex: Human Revolution lives up to the franchise's roots. The storyline is excellent. Actual moral choices abound, and are not the typical shining paladin vs. world's biggest dick that is common in most other games. It's also fairly lengthy, even the sidequests are like full-fledged missions, and if you do them all (and/or snoop around, as any Deus Ex fan should), you will find your time was not wasted. I don't like to give perfect scores unless I feel the game truly deserves it, but thinking back, I seriously cannot think of any flaws. Deus Ex: Human Revolution is a wonderful game, and is certainly my favorite one released this year so far. Expand
  17. Aug 23, 2011
    10
    Finaly, the decent follow up game to Deus ex(2k), much better then Deus ex iw. It's appealing to both fans and "not fans" of the series! The graphics are good, (not far cry 3 good, but still...), whats great about the game is that you can do almost what ever you want, you can pass the game by killing everyone or not. You can ally your self with diferent factions, you choosse how to play.Finaly, the decent follow up game to Deus ex(2k), much better then Deus ex iw. It's appealing to both fans and "not fans" of the series! The graphics are good, (not far cry 3 good, but still...), whats great about the game is that you can do almost what ever you want, you can pass the game by killing everyone or not. You can ally your self with diferent factions, you choosse how to play. And of course, the ending changes depending on what you do. Recomended game. Expand
  18. Aug 23, 2011
    10
    I'm a relatively young gamer, who didn't play or even know about Deus Ex until 3 years ago. However after playing the first game, I was doubtful that a new installment in the franchise could really be as good as the original, especially after the mediocrity of Invisible War. Nevertheless, I preordered the game and eagerly awaited its release today. A few hours into the game and I wasI'm a relatively young gamer, who didn't play or even know about Deus Ex until 3 years ago. However after playing the first game, I was doubtful that a new installment in the franchise could really be as good as the original, especially after the mediocrity of Invisible War. Nevertheless, I preordered the game and eagerly awaited its release today. A few hours into the game and I was completely blown away by what the developers had created. With countless number of ways to play the game and customize my augmentations, i really managed to feel like my playthrough was personal. Side Quests, usually the bane of RPG gamers, are deeply immersive and add to and flesh out the life of the intriguing story. The art design is ridiculously good, mirroring and alluding to the renaissance while the color palette really brings emotion and life to the dark game. My only woes about HR is the voice acting and animations. While some cutscenes and dialogue scenes are well animated, a few are a bit stiff and not lifelike. However for a game that does so many things right, these are only minor complaints. Human Revolution is still a great game and i'm sure i'll lose my social life to it for at least a month Expand
  19. Aug 23, 2011
    9
    After Deus Ex: Invisible War, I have been waiting for a game that would be considered the true successor to Deus Ex. Human Revolution has fulfilled this. This game is the true Deus Ex 2.
  20. Aug 25, 2011
    10
    This game has fulfilled all of the expectations I had leading up to it's release. I have enjoyed every aspect of the game and look forward to a second play through to use the augmentations I didn't choose the first time. I love the atmosphere that is created and completely loose myself while playing this game.
  21. Aug 24, 2011
    10
    When I saw the videos for this game before it came out, I was definitely hesitant about getting it, but man, I am glad I did. It has that old school RPG flare to it that has been missing in RPG's for over a decade. Luckily, this game doesn't try to hold your hand like pretty much every other game out in existence nowadays. You can do what you want, when you want. The augmentations areWhen I saw the videos for this game before it came out, I was definitely hesitant about getting it, but man, I am glad I did. It has that old school RPG flare to it that has been missing in RPG's for over a decade. Luckily, this game doesn't try to hold your hand like pretty much every other game out in existence nowadays. You can do what you want, when you want. The augmentations are interesting and adds depth to exploration and combat. I really do feel like a badass when I am sneaking around taking guys out stealthily, and the characters in this game are phenomenal. I actually care what they have to say, though the facial animations could use a little work, but that's minor to everything else this game offers. Overall, this game deservers GOTY and is the best RPG i've played in a really long time. Expand
  22. Aug 23, 2011
    10
    Truly deserving of the name Dues Ex. In this time of linear, scripted and increasingly easy shooting games this game dares to challenge the player to actually think and give true choice of how to play. It still has its flaws like the original, but they're greatly overshadowed and even made invisible by the strengths this juggernaut wears on its sleeves. I applaud Eidos Montreal for givingTruly deserving of the name Dues Ex. In this time of linear, scripted and increasingly easy shooting games this game dares to challenge the player to actually think and give true choice of how to play. It still has its flaws like the original, but they're greatly overshadowed and even made invisible by the strengths this juggernaut wears on its sleeves. I applaud Eidos Montreal for giving us the Dues Ex game everyone deserved. Expand
  23. Aug 24, 2011
    10
    I reserved this game for the simple fact i thought it looked exciting and interesting. I'm the kinda guy who only buys games to sit on multiplayer with friends so this was a big risk for me. The only big single player games i had played were bioshock 1 and 2 and Farcry2. This game is by far one of the most exciting games ive played. It surrounds 3 major ways to play which entices all styleI reserved this game for the simple fact i thought it looked exciting and interesting. I'm the kinda guy who only buys games to sit on multiplayer with friends so this was a big risk for me. The only big single player games i had played were bioshock 1 and 2 and Farcry2. This game is by far one of the most exciting games ive played. It surrounds 3 major ways to play which entices all style of player and allows you to play stealthy or head on. If your looking for a good plot, graphic action scenes, and a game that leaves you in awe even after you've done what would seem repetitive in most games then this is a game for you. Ive never found the story mode of a game so interesting but im 2 hrs in and if i didnt have school id sit on it all night it just always has more to throw your way Expand
  24. Aug 24, 2011
    10
    I am maybe halfway through the game, and I am more than convinced it has lived up to the original, Great Job Eidos Montreal! It feels like a proper PC game, which I for one am very thankful for, we've had far too many crappy ports.
  25. Aug 24, 2011
    10
    I was first weary to buy this game i put allot of thought into it and bought it four hours on steam before the release and preloaded it i waited in till 3AM to start the game up and try it out and from the very begging i have loved the game. i am extremely glad i got this game and i would recommend it to any one looking for a good game. Also this is personally one of my favorite games ofI was first weary to buy this game i put allot of thought into it and bought it four hours on steam before the release and preloaded it i waited in till 3AM to start the game up and try it out and from the very begging i have loved the game. i am extremely glad i got this game and i would recommend it to any one looking for a good game. Also this is personally one of my favorite games of the year. 10/10 Expand
  26. Aug 23, 2011
    10
    This is easily the best game I have ever played in my life. That is an incredibly heavy statement comming from me. Better than the first in every way. It's not just hype either, I've been TRYING to find things to dislike. I can't, it's so fluid, and just.... wonderful.
  27. Aug 24, 2011
    10
    Very perfect action/rpg in future setting, i love this game.
    Game of the Year 2011!
  28. Aug 24, 2011
    8
    Graphics: poor, outdated, especially lighting.
    Sound: extremely poor sound effects like guns and explosions, sound track is superb and voice acting is hit or miss.
    Story: amazing, very unique creative and engaging Gameplay: extremely fun, wide variety of options, satisfying/rewarding missions, bosses are quite lame Overall this game is quite week when it comes to tech in graphics and
    Graphics: poor, outdated, especially lighting.
    Sound: extremely poor sound effects like guns and explosions, sound track is superb and voice acting is hit or miss.
    Story: amazing, very unique creative and engaging
    Gameplay: extremely fun, wide variety of options, satisfying/rewarding missions, bosses are quite lame

    Overall this game is quite week when it comes to tech in graphics and sound, but the creative side including story, soundtrack and characters is superb.

    Rating: B+
    Expand
  29. Aug 26, 2011
    9
    I'll cut right to the chase here, this is the fps rpg we've all been waiting for, actions and consequences aplenty, plenty of side missions and places to explore, game world lore to be found everywhere a fully customizable skillset non-linear approach to all but 4 of the games encounters (boss battles).

    Anyone complaining that this game is linear is insane every mission has multiple
    I'll cut right to the chase here, this is the fps rpg we've all been waiting for, actions and consequences aplenty, plenty of side missions and places to explore, game world lore to be found everywhere a fully customizable skillset non-linear approach to all but 4 of the games encounters (boss battles).

    Anyone complaining that this game is linear is insane every mission has multiple endings every single one, runs like a dream plays incredibly smoothly.

    Buy this game, do yourself that favor.
    Expand
  30. Aug 25, 2011
    10
    The best game I've purchased in a long time. Interesting, challenging and fun. PC graphics include DX11 goodness and FXAA. Sound is awesome. Lots of choices and alternate outcomes. High production values. It's a winner.
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 52 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 52 out of 52
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 52
  3. Negative: 0 out of 52
  1. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Oct 30, 2011
    100
    There are only a few games this year we suggest to 16-yrs old gamers and their fathers together. Human Revolution for sure is a Game of the Year nominee. [Oct 2011]
  2. 90
    So despite the odds being stacked against it, Eidos Montreal accomplished the impossible and brought us a Deus Ex in the true sense of the word, probably the best one that we could have hoped for considering the current "requirements" for being commercially successful nowadays.
  3. Pelit (Finland)
    Oct 10, 2011
    94
    A worthy successor to one of the greatest games ever. It offers a lot of choice on many levels and feels like an RPG from years past - in a very good way. One of the best, if not the best game of 2011. [Oct 2011]