Deus Ex: Human Revolution Image
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 52 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 3063 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In Deus Ex: Human Revolution you play Adam Jensen, a security specialist, handpicked to oversee the defense of one of America's most experimental biotechnology firms. But when a black ops team breaks in and kills the scientists you were hired to protect, everything you thought you knew aboutIn Deus Ex: Human Revolution you play Adam Jensen, a security specialist, handpicked to oversee the defense of one of America's most experimental biotechnology firms. But when a black ops team breaks in and kills the scientists you were hired to protect, everything you thought you knew about your job changes. At a time when scientific advancements are routinely turning athletes, soldiers and spies into super-enhanced beings, someone is working very hard to ensure mankind's evolution follows a particular path. You need to discover why - because the decisions you take and the choices you make will be the only things that can determine mankind's future. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 52 out of 52
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 52
  3. Negative: 0 out of 52
  1. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Oct 30, 2011
    100
    There are only a few games this year we suggest to 16-yrs old gamers and their fathers together. Human Revolution for sure is a Game of the Year nominee. [Oct 2011]
  2. Aug 22, 2011
    95
    With its flowing, open approach to mission structure, thoroughly engrossing story and gorgeous visuals, this is the kind of game that all others should strive to be. While there are some elements that don't feel quite as developed as they should have been, and augmentation is more Hobson's choice than true choice, Human Revolution provides a level of quality that only the most adamant cynic could fail to be impressed by. More importantly, it is everything a fan of Deus Ex could want in a game.
  3. PC Games (Russia)
    Aug 29, 2011
    95
    It's worth every second of these 11 years of waiting. It's a true Deus Ex sequel we all begged for. [Sept 2011, p.16]
  4. Aug 22, 2011
    90
    An imperfect, complex and ambitious reminder of what a game can be when it's unafraid.
  5. Aug 31, 2011
    90
    Deus Ex is, yet again, more than the sum of its parts, one of the most captivating games in years. It's a title that's far from perfect, however it's a must-play for anyone who is passionate for great Sci-Fi stories and action games.
  6. Aug 25, 2011
    87
    Invisible War has finally been atoned for... Deus Ex :Human Revolution is a wonderful step forward for cyberpunk RPG enthusiasts.
  7. Aug 22, 2011
    80
    The best card played by Eidos Montreal is the core of the stealth gameplay, and the vast array of augmentations can change drastically the way the player can solve the most intricate security situations. Ok, the graphics and the combat probably aren't the freshest beverage of this summer, but for 20+ hours of high quality hide and catch, you can drink them anyway and leave the complains for the inevitable DLCs.

See all 52 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 79 out of 702
  1. Sep 1, 2013
    10
    Hands down one of my favorite games of all time. Music was amazing (I own the soundtrack), gameplay was perfect for a stealth game, cinematicHands down one of my favorite games of all time. Music was amazing (I own the soundtrack), gameplay was perfect for a stealth game, cinematic quality graphics, many different combat play-styles... and don't even get me started on the storyline. Expand
  2. Sep 3, 2011
    10
    A had an awesome time playing it. Despite some minor faults, the game is beautiful, with a great storyline, well it's very entertaining!
    Still
    A had an awesome time playing it. Despite some minor faults, the game is beautiful, with a great storyline, well it's very entertaining!
    Still there is room for improvement, the fact the you have to be very close to the objects to use them is kind annoying, and the end is kindda silly.
    Expand
  3. Aug 23, 2011
    10
    When I began playing this game I had my doubts being such a big fan of the original. Now, 5 hours into the game I have been able to dig deepWhen I began playing this game I had my doubts being such a big fan of the original. Now, 5 hours into the game I have been able to dig deep into the core and see what play "Human Revolution" is truly like, and it is good. I feel like they captured the original perfectly. From the moment you begin playing HR you realize this REALLY is the new Deus Ex, not some cheap knock of made to make money. The cover system really enhanced the way I was able to go through levels. The tiny details made me feel like I was not only killing and knocking out bad guys, but actually uncovering secrets I wasn't supposed to know. If you are a fan of the original or FPS games in general, I *highly* recommend this game.

    You might ask if this game actually deserves a perfect score. The reason I gave it one is because it does everything a game should, immerses you into a world and allows you to connect with the characters. The action is unyielding and exciting, while the story is better then most movies. This game deserves the 10 I gave it because it delivered on the promise of giving me a new game in the series just as good as the original.
    Expand
  4. May 24, 2016
    9
    Played this when it released. Definitely a 9 or 9.5. I don't give games 10's since nothing is perfect, but this one is outstanding. NeverPlayed this when it released. Definitely a 9 or 9.5. I don't give games 10's since nothing is perfect, but this one is outstanding. Never was fortunate to have a nice computer when the original Deus Ex released, so I'm glad I was able to play this. Expand
  5. Oct 18, 2011
    8
    This game is a great way to lose about 40-60 hours of your life. It pulls you in and crafts a world that simply begs for exploration. I fearThis game is a great way to lose about 40-60 hours of your life. It pulls you in and crafts a world that simply begs for exploration. I fear it has limited replay ability, but that doesn't detract from the first or second run-through. Expand
  6. Sep 1, 2011
    7
    To start off I must say the hype and promotions for the game really made me raise the bar for Deus Ex Human Revolution, which ultimately was aTo start off I must say the hype and promotions for the game really made me raise the bar for Deus Ex Human Revolution, which ultimately was a let down when it wasn't how I expected. But besides my misconceptions of what I wanted DEHR to be, there were many additions that really boosted the game. **Pros** The game play in DEHR is well done, with the cover-move system benefiting the stealth side of the game as well as the offensive aspect. City hubs and specific mission levels are well crafted and populated to provide both an immersive experience and thought provocative game play, yet certain areas can be quite linear. The size of the city hubs is both a pro and a con; city hubs are well laid out and have a continuous theme, yet there is few side quests for you to find or stumble across which are not fed to you by key characters. Conversations were a nice treat as your choices and its affects seemed to adhere properly to the emotion and tensions of the current situation, even without the social augmentation. **Cons** DEHR's story telling suffers from a tasteless integration of CGI cinematic cut scenes that differ from the game engine greatly, breaking the immersion as the story flips between the two with no smooth transition as opposed to Mass Effect or CoD cut scenes which perform flawlessly. And to add to the sorrow of DEHR's story telling, the facial animations of characters in game lacked feeling and emotion, while also seeming to be mouthing something entirely different from the dialog. Also the story seemed vague on certain details and somewhat copy-paste feel with little uniqueness applied, giving the player the feeling of playing the same story before in another game. The score could have been a little more emotionally packed while the audio engineering was wacky at times, having reverb or varying sound effects applied or lost in character dialog during conversations. **Overall** I give DEHR 7/10 because Square Enix delievered a solid prequel to Deus Ex, but I wish more time would have been spent polishing certain areas as storytelling and facial animation during conversations. Expand
  7. Sep 5, 2011
    0
    The game has stupidly high system requirements (forced upon you by an automatic check that you are not allowed to override even if you knowThe game has stupidly high system requirements (forced upon you by an automatic check that you are not allowed to override even if you know your system is more than capable). Audio skipping occurred in my game completely independently of any sort of frame-rate issues (because my game looked like liquid sick already -- we're talking med-low graphics on something like the original F.E.A.R). Seems the graphics card manufacturer's paid off the developers here to make sure anyone with a directx 10 card needs to upgrade to actually play the game even though the upgrades between the two directx versions are minimal at best. Honestly if the first thing your game does is dictate to me how to configure my own computer and not allow me to continue until I do, I'd rather not play it. Expand

See all 702 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2011

    The Best Videogames of 2011 Image
    Published: December 23, 2011
    It wasn't just your imagination; 2011 was indeed a great year for videogames. In our yearly report, we take a look at the year's best releases overall as well as the top games for each platform.