Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 52 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2414 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In Deus Ex: Human Revolution you play Adam Jensen, a security specialist, handpicked to oversee the defense of one of America's most experimental biotechnology firms. But when a black ops team breaks in and kills the scientists you were hired to protect, everything you thought you knew about your job changes. At a time when scientific advancements are routinely turning athletes, soldiers and spies into super-enhanced beings, someone is working very hard to ensure mankind's evolution follows a particular path. You need to discover why - because the decisions you take and the choices you make will be the only things that can determine mankind's future. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 52 out of 52
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 52
  3. Negative: 0 out of 52
  1. 100
    There are only a few games this year we suggest to 16-yrs old gamers and their fathers together. Human Revolution for sure is a Game of the Year nominee. [Oct 2011]
  2. Aug 22, 2011
    95
    With its flowing, open approach to mission structure, thoroughly engrossing story and gorgeous visuals, this is the kind of game that all others should strive to be. While there are some elements that don't feel quite as developed as they should have been, and augmentation is more Hobson's choice than true choice, Human Revolution provides a level of quality that only the most adamant cynic could fail to be impressed by. More importantly, it is everything a fan of Deus Ex could want in a game.
  3. Aug 29, 2011
    95
    It's worth every second of these 11 years of waiting. It's a true Deus Ex sequel we all begged for. [Sept 2011, p.16]
  4. Aug 22, 2011
    90
    An imperfect, complex and ambitious reminder of what a game can be when it's unafraid.
  5. Aug 31, 2011
    90
    Deus Ex is, yet again, more than the sum of its parts, one of the most captivating games in years. It's a title that's far from perfect, however it's a must-play for anyone who is passionate for great Sci-Fi stories and action games.
  6. Aug 25, 2011
    87
    Invisible War has finally been atoned for... Deus Ex :Human Revolution is a wonderful step forward for cyberpunk RPG enthusiasts.
  7. Aug 22, 2011
    80
    The best card played by Eidos Montreal is the core of the stealth gameplay, and the vast array of augmentations can change drastically the way the player can solve the most intricate security situations. Ok, the graphics and the combat probably aren't the freshest beverage of this summer, but for 20+ hours of high quality hide and catch, you can drink them anyway and leave the complains for the inevitable DLCs.

See all 52 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 71 out of 630
  1. Apr 10, 2013
    10
    Amazing graphics, outstanding campaign, brilliant voice acting and excelent gameplay. Definetly one of the 7th generations best titles. A must-play.
  2. Aug 29, 2011
    10
    It is a very nice and atmospheric game. A lot of detail and depth and it makes you feel like you are there. This is extremely rare in today's 6 hours flashy retarded for 8 year olds simple soo called games. Definitely for people with an attention span lasting longer then 5 seconds. This is not a mindless shooter. This is a Thief / System Shock hybrid living up to those great titles. Expand
  3. Aug 23, 2011
    10
    When I began playing this game I had my doubts being such a big fan of the original. Now, 5 hours into the game I have been able to dig deep into the core and see what play "Human Revolution" is truly like, and it is good. I feel like they captured the original perfectly. From the moment you begin playing HR you realize this REALLY is the new Deus Ex, not some cheap knock of made to make money. The cover system really enhanced the way I was able to go through levels. The tiny details made me feel like I was not only killing and knocking out bad guys, but actually uncovering secrets I wasn't supposed to know. If you are a fan of the original or FPS games in general, I *highly* recommend this game.

    You might ask if this game actually deserves a perfect score. The reason I gave it one is because it does everything a game should, immerses you into a world and allows you to connect with the characters. The action is unyielding and exciting, while the story is better then most movies. This game deserves the 10 I gave it because it delivered on the promise of giving me a new game in the series just as good as the original.
    Expand
  4. Nov 27, 2013
    9
    In Deus Ex Human Revolution you play as Adam Jensen, and must uncover the truth behind conspiracies and twists in a future Detroit. This future is not only beautiful, but also rich and interesting, and as the plot progresses you will become more and more involved with the game. There are many missions available to the player (some that are required to advance in the story, others that are entirely optional), and the game gives you a lot of freedom on how to decide to finish them. You can talk to the right people and manipulate them to make everything easier, go straight to the point by engaging enemies in combat, silently take them out one by one, or evade them completely. To help make things a little easier, there are many different upgrades available for you and your weapons, and you'll want them. As you advance through the game, you'll not only face more difficult missions with increasingly numbers of stronger enemies, but also boss battles. These boss battles can be frustrating, and they feel terribly out of place. Unlike the rest of the game, there is no freedom here. All you can do is grab the best weapons you've got, shoot, and run.

    Overall, this is a great, memorable game, and no boss battle can change that.

    Good Points: Variety, beautiful game world, great characters
    Bad Points: Boss battles
    Expand
  5. Mar 3, 2012
    8
    Deus Ex: Human Revolution is Deus Ex for the next generation. The plot, main character, music and gameplay are so similar that veterans will feel at home and newbies will awe at the game's excellence. Expand
  6. May 3, 2012
    7
    Don't get me wrong, I enjoyed my experience with DE:HR, but I can't help but feel it's more popular than it deserves, the story is consistently pleasing throughout, it's what kept me playing to be honest, I didn't enjoy combat and tried to avoid this at all costs, sadly thanks to certain compulsory boss fights I couldn't use this approach throughout and this ruined my time with the game. The game world is also very detailed and very rewarding for people like myself who like to explore every corner of the map. I can't fault the graphics or sound in any way either. All in all a good game in most respects, but I can't help but feel cheated by being offered the option of stealth only to have this snapped up at the tedious boss fights. Expand
  7. Feb 27, 2014
    0
    I say, without any form of exaggeration, Deus Ex: Human Revolution is easily the worst video game I have ever played. I have played MANY bad games, some of which can scarcely be called "games", in my life, but every game I have played in my life, even those I have hated, have one thing in common that Human Revolution lacks: None of these games have caused me actual physical pain through their game design as Human Revolution has.

    The game's art designer made decision to wash the entire game in a monochromatic "piss" yellow filter to cover his poor art assets and self inserting his own face onto the main character. This filter forces my eyes to attempt to separate yellow (a color that on its own is harsh on the human eye) from a slightly different yellow, a very stressful and irritating process that makes the game unplayable for me. How this was never realized during testing and before release is beyond me.

    Even the mods that "fix" this problem do little more than make the harsh lighting white, not yellow. While white lighting is much less annoying than yellow is, attempting to seperate objects in the truly monochromatic environment (what is called "monochromatic" tends to have two colors, white and black, that contrast nicely and easily let you see objects, and greyscale even lets you make out detail in items)

    I STRONGLY recommend against paying for this game, or playing it even if you don't have to pay for it. The physical pain aspect means that I could not even accept playing it even if I were payed to do so. This game should NEVER have been released in the state it was, and to actually charge money to fix this problem, as the developers have done, is just disgusting.
    Expand

See all 630 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2011

    The Best Videogames of 2011 Image
    Published: December 23, 2011
    It wasn't just your imagination; 2011 was indeed a great year for videogames. In our yearly report, we take a look at the year's best releases overall as well as the top games for each platform.