Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 52 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2556 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In Deus Ex: Human Revolution you play Adam Jensen, a security specialist, handpicked to oversee the defense of one of America's most experimental biotechnology firms. But when a black ops team breaks in and kills the scientists you were hired to protect, everything you thought you knew about your job changes. At a time when scientific advancements are routinely turning athletes, soldiers and spies into super-enhanced beings, someone is working very hard to ensure mankind's evolution follows a particular path. You need to discover why - because the decisions you take and the choices you make will be the only things that can determine mankind's future. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 52 out of 52
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 52
  3. Negative: 0 out of 52
  1. 100
    There are only a few games this year we suggest to 16-yrs old gamers and their fathers together. Human Revolution for sure is a Game of the Year nominee. [Oct 2011]
  2. Aug 22, 2011
    95
    With its flowing, open approach to mission structure, thoroughly engrossing story and gorgeous visuals, this is the kind of game that all others should strive to be. While there are some elements that don't feel quite as developed as they should have been, and augmentation is more Hobson's choice than true choice, Human Revolution provides a level of quality that only the most adamant cynic could fail to be impressed by. More importantly, it is everything a fan of Deus Ex could want in a game.
  3. Aug 29, 2011
    95
    It's worth every second of these 11 years of waiting. It's a true Deus Ex sequel we all begged for. [Sept 2011, p.16]
  4. Aug 22, 2011
    90
    An imperfect, complex and ambitious reminder of what a game can be when it's unafraid.
  5. Aug 31, 2011
    90
    Deus Ex is, yet again, more than the sum of its parts, one of the most captivating games in years. It's a title that's far from perfect, however it's a must-play for anyone who is passionate for great Sci-Fi stories and action games.
  6. Aug 25, 2011
    87
    Invisible War has finally been atoned for... Deus Ex :Human Revolution is a wonderful step forward for cyberpunk RPG enthusiasts.
  7. Aug 22, 2011
    80
    The best card played by Eidos Montreal is the core of the stealth gameplay, and the vast array of augmentations can change drastically the way the player can solve the most intricate security situations. Ok, the graphics and the combat probably aren't the freshest beverage of this summer, but for 20+ hours of high quality hide and catch, you can drink them anyway and leave the complains for the inevitable DLCs.

See all 52 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 73 out of 653
  1. Feb 25, 2013
    10
    This is an incredibly good game. It switch from first person to third person perspective very well. As someone who has beaten the game at least 5 times, getting all the upgrades (including one play through with the controller, the support for the controller was well thought out btw). This is an excellent first person RPG, a true successor to the first game, unlike the second (which was a joke). The melee kills are awesome and truly satisfying. The different ways to upgrade Adam and his guns, as well as the different play styles that encompass the game give the game massive replay value. This is a game that anyone who is a fan of FPS RPG's must play, its utterly brilliant. Expand
  2. May 27, 2012
    10
    Deus Ex: Human Revolution has to be one of, if not my favourite game of all time. Touching on the increasingly more and more relevant subject of augmentation and the increase of implants/medical procedures to give people back their abilities otherwise lost or even to enhance them, we get to experience the human revolution for ourselves. The story is very immersive, throwing you back and forth, never knowing which side to take or even believe we truly feel lost and even better that when an objective has been completed, that we are picking up secret information we weren't supposed to know. Having hit just over 20 hours on my first play through, there is more than enough story to keep you going for a fair while. What made the game a hit with me though was how it made me feel, at times I agreed and loved augmentation, the idea of enhancing lives, giving back what we could/have lost and generally moving forward as a race, but other times afraid, HR shown us how humanity could further use its own powers against itself, it more and more violent ways to keep humanity down and citizens under control and these different arguments were great because they caused a great moral conflict, a feeling not many games give you. Other little points made this game great to, the ability again to chose your augments meant the game was more personal, you chose whatever fitted you which ultimately meant a different experience between all players which is always good. The cover system made fighting more intense while retaining good stealth game play, which is just good fun.Scenery was gorgeous, futuristic WIFI smart cities bustling with life and tech, which doesn't seem to SCI FI but rather close, when you think about it all the tech used around the places is just a mere advancement of what we already have, however a lot of the cities had slum areas which was a great reminder of how humanity if splitting itself apart, the rich and the poor, those going forward and those being left behind and its the little things like this which help to give this game a great atmosphere. The bosses however... yes they were quite annoying, with no ability of using stealth, or augments, they ruined the experience, however if you run in head first, they aren't that hard just more of a chore, but if we put that aside, it really isn't that bad a part of the game. Quests were a plenty and gave us a good insight to the lives of people, how augments had changed them, but also how life is harder, but again not unbelievable, just an extension of the lives some people actually lead, drug and gang culture etc. The greatest point for me was the ending... never have I sat there pondering the choice of ending, thinking which should I do, but this game got me thinking and I generally found my choice hard, but also very rewarding with what I got out of it. Not only a great video to end the game, but a weird feeling inside reminding me that one day humanity will hit this breaking point. The feelings I got though when playing this, when finishing it was what made this game for me. I was throw about, not knowing who to trust, always feeling lost - but most of all the moral conflict was great. Not knowing whether to agree or disagree with what humanity is is doing to itself. If you want to be immersed and have an amazing story told you will not regret this purchase, definitely an amazing game. Expand
  3. Aug 23, 2011
    10
    When I began playing this game I had my doubts being such a big fan of the original. Now, 5 hours into the game I have been able to dig deep into the core and see what play "Human Revolution" is truly like, and it is good. I feel like they captured the original perfectly. From the moment you begin playing HR you realize this REALLY is the new Deus Ex, not some cheap knock of made to make money. The cover system really enhanced the way I was able to go through levels. The tiny details made me feel like I was not only killing and knocking out bad guys, but actually uncovering secrets I wasn't supposed to know. If you are a fan of the original or FPS games in general, I *highly* recommend this game.

    You might ask if this game actually deserves a perfect score. The reason I gave it one is because it does everything a game should, immerses you into a world and allows you to connect with the characters. The action is unyielding and exciting, while the story is better then most movies. This game deserves the 10 I gave it because it delivered on the promise of giving me a new game in the series just as good as the original.
    Expand
  4. Aug 5, 2014
    9
    As a die-hard fan of Deus Ex, considering it the best game of all time, I was more than worried what will they do with this and how will they tarnish the Deus Ex name, but I'm extremely relieved that this is really good. Of course it's not that level of ultimate masterpiece that the original Deus Ex was back in 2000, but considering this day and age and how games tend to be, Human Revolution is a fantastic game. There is still a great deal of cyber atmosphere here, even the music is pretty good, I liked the story and even the gameplay. I must admit that I probably enjoyed Human Revolution more than the Invisible War. It's no match for the original Deus Ex, nothing is and nothing ever will probably, but this is liekly as good as it gets. One point down for those terrible terrible boss fights. 9/10 Expand
  5. Dec 6, 2011
    8
    Ever game has a color about it. Saints row is purple, Brink is light blue, Deus Ex is yellow. Also its a very unique shooter greatly using cover, stealth, hacking, and overall strategy. Or you can set it to easy mode and just play it like a more standard game which I ended up doing, cuz I was really bad at it lol 8/10 Expand
  6. Aug 27, 2011
    7
    Playing this game i have the feeling i am playing through a Mass Effect DLC, and not the best one... until i am brought back to reality by its Modern Warfare-like combat and the stealth "routes" available. Those are the main differences between the two games. There is the same dialog system, the same lack of weaponry choice of ME2, the same hub-dungeons mechanic, the token "hacking" mini-game and even the original augment system works in the same way as Mass Effect's character progression (with exp points granting points to expend in new abilities and powering up old ones), although some modifications provide effects similar to those of Crysis' famous combat suit. I can't help feeling the whole game is a massive sense of deja-vu topped with lack of creativity. Only the concept design and art sometimes go above the average. Even with my settings maxed i found the graphics to be lacking and the backgrounds mostly unappealing, at about the level of the first Mass Effect, if not less. The music score is interesting and it's clear a skilled writer was hired for the occasion, but both fall flat because of the repetitive and unoriginal gameplay. Perhaps after playing through all of the FPS games of the last decade i have grown insensitive to the appeal of the genre, but i still play quite a few of them and the third installment of Deus Ex doesn't provide anything substantially new to the standard. Even though i am a fan of the more rough and unforgiving combat i have no reason to play through Deus Ex: Human Revolution again. Wanting an engrossing story and captivating scenery Mass Effect is by far superior, while Battlefield Bad Company 2 or Modern Warfare 2 go the extra mile in terms of realism, stealth action and weaponry choice. I can hardly contain my disappointment and stupefaction in front of the acclaim a game like this is receiving, but i will give it the rating i believe it deserves: a 7, mostly for its good production value, polished gameplay and cool (although easily guessed) story climax. Le sigh. Expand
  7. Feb 27, 2014
    0
    I say, without any form of exaggeration, Deus Ex: Human Revolution is easily the worst video game I have ever played. I have played MANY bad games, some of which can scarcely be called "games", in my life, but every game I have played in my life, even those I have hated, have one thing in common that Human Revolution lacks: None of these games have caused me actual physical pain through their game design as Human Revolution has.

    The game's art designer made decision to wash the entire game in a monochromatic "piss" yellow filter to cover his poor art assets and self inserting his own face onto the main character. This filter forces my eyes to attempt to separate yellow (a color that on its own is harsh on the human eye) from a slightly different yellow, a very stressful and irritating process that makes the game unplayable for me. How this was never realized during testing and before release is beyond me.

    Even the mods that "fix" this problem do little more than make the harsh lighting white, not yellow. While white lighting is much less annoying than yellow is, attempting to seperate objects in the truly monochromatic environment (what is called "monochromatic" tends to have two colors, white and black, that contrast nicely and easily let you see objects, and greyscale even lets you make out detail in items)

    I STRONGLY recommend against paying for this game, or playing it even if you don't have to pay for it. The physical pain aspect means that I could not even accept playing it even if I were payed to do so. This game should NEVER have been released in the state it was, and to actually charge money to fix this problem, as the developers have done, is just disgusting.
    Expand

See all 653 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2011

    The Best Videogames of 2011 Image
    Published: December 23, 2011
    It wasn't just your imagination; 2011 was indeed a great year for videogames. In our yearly report, we take a look at the year's best releases overall as well as the top games for each platform.