User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 242 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 64 out of 242

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 22, 2011
    9
    This game doesn't get nearly enough love. There is no doubt it's not as good as the original, or the recently released third game in the series, but this is a stellar game in it's own right. There's not as much area to explore as there is in either of the other two Deus Ex games, but what is there is done well. The story is great, especially if you've played the original game recently. TheThis game doesn't get nearly enough love. There is no doubt it's not as good as the original, or the recently released third game in the series, but this is a stellar game in it's own right. There's not as much area to explore as there is in either of the other two Deus Ex games, but what is there is done well. The story is great, especially if you've played the original game recently. The graphics are a little bit 'cartoony' (I guess that's what I'd call it), or at least don't seem to encapsulate the essence of the atmosphere of the game as well as the original game did. Despite all this though, the game is great. It's fun, it's engaging, and it's easy to sink into the well-designed world. Expand
  2. Bass
    Jan 15, 2006
    10
    Brisk's review (see below) is spot on. Although not completely the perfect sequel that we hardcore fans were hoping for, this is still one of the most enjoyable titles that you will ever play. Any game bearing the Deus Ex name is going to be undisputably brilliant, and Invisible War is yet another masterpiece from gaming iconic Warren Spector. In my opinion the original Deus Ex is Brisk's review (see below) is spot on. Although not completely the perfect sequel that we hardcore fans were hoping for, this is still one of the most enjoyable titles that you will ever play. Any game bearing the Deus Ex name is going to be undisputably brilliant, and Invisible War is yet another masterpiece from gaming iconic Warren Spector. In my opinion the original Deus Ex is arguable the greatest game ever made, and those who do not play this sequel are missing out on what is the continuation of a truely outstanding francise. Expand
  3. Stuart
    Jul 8, 2007
    10
    I absolutely hate a lot of the design decisions, the unified ammo, the new biomod system, tiny levels (i blame the 64mb of ram in the xbox), long load times, lack of skills etc. I hated it to the point where I shelved the game for a very long time (over a year), once you get over the shortcomings (in relation to it predecessor) what lies beneath is one of the best gaming experiences out I absolutely hate a lot of the design decisions, the unified ammo, the new biomod system, tiny levels (i blame the 64mb of ram in the xbox), long load times, lack of skills etc. I hated it to the point where I shelved the game for a very long time (over a year), once you get over the shortcomings (in relation to it predecessor) what lies beneath is one of the best gaming experiences out there. An engaging story, intelligent combat, biomods (FTW!!) etc combine to make it a truly memorable and engaging game. It will begin as one of the biggest disappointments to players and lovers (but I repeat myself) of the original game, but about 1/2 way through you will realize that it is truly a deserving sequel. For those who haven't played the original...jump in -you'll love every minute (including the first third or so that the DX1 players will spend begrudging). Expand
  4. BakaD.
    Jun 25, 2007
    10
    Admittingly, Invisible War does not even deserve the 10 I
  5. LukeM
    Jan 13, 2010
    9
    As a huge fan of the original game that picked this up late I think I managed to avoid bloated expectations and after reading a few reviews I knew it was a different kind of game. I would agree with the statements of most people , the world wasn't as big and the story in some ways less complex but the atmosphere was amazing, as if you had been dropped into Blade Runner/Code46. As a huge fan of the original game that picked this up late I think I managed to avoid bloated expectations and after reading a few reviews I knew it was a different kind of game. I would agree with the statements of most people , the world wasn't as big and the story in some ways less complex but the atmosphere was amazing, as if you had been dropped into Blade Runner/Code46. especially the Cairo level standing out to me with nice touches throughout. a complex thrilling game with a bit too much fan boy backlash that sunk it. Expand
  6. GeneralHoohah
    Jun 13, 2007
    9
    This game is perfect. The only reason people keep giving it average scores, is because nothing will live up to its predecessor. You can't compare Deus EX 2 to a game like Deus EX, even if it is the sequel. The first Deus EX was like the holy grail of video games when it first came out. It set new standards in the gaming industry at that time, and showed us a whole new level of gaming This game is perfect. The only reason people keep giving it average scores, is because nothing will live up to its predecessor. You can't compare Deus EX 2 to a game like Deus EX, even if it is the sequel. The first Deus EX was like the holy grail of video games when it first came out. It set new standards in the gaming industry at that time, and showed us a whole new level of gaming we had never scene before. Its as if everyone expected them to do it again, when it was more important to continue the story and carry over the standards set before in the first game with a newer engine. That Expand
  7. Chazd.
    Nov 30, 2003
    9
    Okay, so I haven't played the full thing, but I feel confident enough to write out a little review ahead of time. The game looks amazing, and the play style is exactly what I'm looking for in a game, wide open, guns, sci-fi, absolutely beautiful! In another note - I'd like to point out that Alex D. got SCHOOLED by the Ed! Heh, read the part at the very bottom of the link Okay, so I haven't played the full thing, but I feel confident enough to write out a little review ahead of time. The game looks amazing, and the play style is exactly what I'm looking for in a game, wide open, guns, sci-fi, absolutely beautiful! In another note - I'd like to point out that Alex D. got SCHOOLED by the Ed! Heh, read the part at the very bottom of the link where it says "4 Stars and an EC does NOT equal 80%". Life's good. Expand
  8. NFS
    Nov 30, 2003
    10
    Hey ALEX D. you're forgetting, they also interpret the way they write the review. i guess they eliminate few things that doesn't matter ad doesn't hurt the game. some people could be very picky about stuff. anyways this game is one of the kind...of course after the first one.
  9. Soccermom
    Dec 15, 2003
    9
    You are so dumb to blame half of the limitations this game has on the XBOX. Everything that you guys say is missing on this release due to it being released on XBOX can be found on the XBOX. splinter cell its not like its not inconvenient for an XBOX player as compared to a PC player. I played this game on PC and own an XBOX but to blame on XBOX is just lame. Go .... and make your own You are so dumb to blame half of the limitations this game has on the XBOX. Everything that you guys say is missing on this release due to it being released on XBOX can be found on the XBOX. splinter cell its not like its not inconvenient for an XBOX player as compared to a PC player. I played this game on PC and own an XBOX but to blame on XBOX is just lame. Go .... and make your own sequel to the game. Expand
  10. NotBrianL
    Dec 2, 2003
    10
    Brian L, if you indeed DID go out and buy the game the day it was released, then installed and noticed it's so bad it could rival 007 Nightfire then I still don't understand the 1 rating, you fakster! Rating this game low is like saying you didn't enjoy any part of it, and may I ask if you enjoyed not part in the last Barbie movie you watched? AS for this game, as soon as I Brian L, if you indeed DID go out and buy the game the day it was released, then installed and noticed it's so bad it could rival 007 Nightfire then I still don't understand the 1 rating, you fakster! Rating this game low is like saying you didn't enjoy any part of it, and may I ask if you enjoyed not part in the last Barbie movie you watched? AS for this game, as soon as I get my hands on it I'll play it for a week straight with awe FOR SURE!! Expand
  11. AlexandraT.
    Apr 4, 2004
    10
    How can't you like this game you just had your expections a little to high.
  12. MehmetT.
    Oct 9, 2007
    9
    This game definitely suffers from the unfair treatment of the Deus Ex fan community. Of course it is perfectly natural for people to compare this game to its predecessor, but people should realize that a sequel doesn't have to an upgraded version of the old one with prettier graphics and better sound effects. This is the thing at issue here, Invisible War is structured differently This game definitely suffers from the unfair treatment of the Deus Ex fan community. Of course it is perfectly natural for people to compare this game to its predecessor, but people should realize that a sequel doesn't have to an upgraded version of the old one with prettier graphics and better sound effects. This is the thing at issue here, Invisible War is structured differently from its predecessor and a lot of people are extremely frustrated by that. People should try to overcome that failed expectation and evaluate this game for its own merits. This is a solid FPS/RPG hybrid with a memorable story. You want to be rocket slinging death machine? Then go ahead and be so. Or maybe you want to be super stealthy and avoid killing anyone, you can do that too. You can be brutish and destructive, or you can be subtle and diplomatic. The gameplay has loads of options to chose from, and Invisible War does a better job of portraying that than its predecessor. The story is original, it moves beyond the cliché Expand
  13. AngryMan
    May 2, 2008
    9
    This game holds the dubious distinction of being one of the most polarizing titles of all time. People either love it and think it's better than the original, or hate it and tack on words such as "mediocre" "Lobotomized" and "bland". Personally, I fall into a middle camp. I love this game. I love it just as much as I did its predecessor. But, they are not the same game. The mistake This game holds the dubious distinction of being one of the most polarizing titles of all time. People either love it and think it's better than the original, or hate it and tack on words such as "mediocre" "Lobotomized" and "bland". Personally, I fall into a middle camp. I love this game. I love it just as much as I did its predecessor. But, they are not the same game. The mistake many reviewers make (or made) lies in sticking to the purist belief that Invisible War should be measured against the first game, but where do you begin? Depending on your belief, the skills, biomods and inventory system has either been "lobotomized" or "Streamlined". The reviewer's point of view dictates whether the plot is perceived as "dumbed down" or "Punchy". Invisible War should not be measured against the yardstick set by Deus Ex. Their plot is shared, but otherwise they are sufficiently different to warrant being kept apart. Reviewed on its own merits however, Invisible War is a gold standard game, an excellent addition to anyone's library, and classic example of how to tell a good story and tell it well. Expand
  14. SovietUnion
    Aug 24, 2003
    10
    Deus Ex the first kicked ass and so shall Deus Ex: Invisible War.
  15. JoshS.
    Apr 4, 2004
    10
    Briliant!!!
  16. JonathanF.
    Feb 9, 2005
    9
    Unfortunately, not a great leap forward from the original, but a small step back... The shooting is now much more enjoyable in IW than it was in DX. Even going around the Tarsus Academy picking off Order Seekers with my weedy pistol was better than trying to hit those NSF terrorists on Liberty Island. The augmentation system has been revamped, with the new name Biomod. In my opinion both Unfortunately, not a great leap forward from the original, but a small step back... The shooting is now much more enjoyable in IW than it was in DX. Even going around the Tarsus Academy picking off Order Seekers with my weedy pistol was better than trying to hit those NSF terrorists on Liberty Island. The augmentation system has been revamped, with the new name Biomod. In my opinion both it and the weapon mod system are both far easier to use than in the original. But what's bad? Well the subtitles are gone, so while the random conversations between NPCs still occur, sometimes you can't make out what they're saying. Also, too much choice? Perhaps. But still, it and the original are the two best PC games ever to make it into my disc drive - may they continue to do so. Expand
  17. Chimp
    Jun 3, 2005
    9
    I dont understand why people didnt like this game. Ok yes the first one was better.....but this one has some genius ideas, graphics that still look amazing in 2005(it was made in late 2003), and a good plot with 4 endings. The pros: Graphics, new augmentations(Bot Domination is my new favorite), a new great story, reoccurence of characters from DX1, more open ended in terms of choosing I dont understand why people didnt like this game. Ok yes the first one was better.....but this one has some genius ideas, graphics that still look amazing in 2005(it was made in late 2003), and a good plot with 4 endings. The pros: Graphics, new augmentations(Bot Domination is my new favorite), a new great story, reoccurence of characters from DX1, more open ended in terms of choosing which side to follow(you are never forced into anything like in DX1). The cons: about 40% long as the original, too easy(i beat it on normal dying about 5 times the whole game), TINY LEVELS(the first one had HUUUGE levels! Lower Seattle is about 200 sq. ft!), and yes there are some console aspects to it. However I agree with Chris B. on one thing that this game IS a PC game, the only real console-ish aspect is the level size. An amazing game. Expand
  18. KittenY.
    Nov 19, 2003
    10
    Even if it's only half its prequel, it still deserves 10.
  19. JS
    Nov 23, 2003
    10
    Quick update having just played the demo:

    Those of you still wondering whether to get this game might be better served by not playing this first demo. I would liken it to introducting someone to football (soccer) by making them watch Sky's player cam; you get an idea of what playing the game is like while having no idea what football is or represents. This short demo has
    Quick update having just played the demo:

    Those of you still wondering whether to get this game might be better served by not playing this first demo. I would liken it to introducting someone to football (soccer) by making them watch Sky's player cam; you get an idea of what playing the game is like while having no idea what football is or represents. This short demo has unfinished graphics (I hope), almost no AI and a single level of a game that is meant to be one long immersive story and hence feels reather contrived. Many people will download it wondering what the big deal is to be confronted by an average FPS shooter - if you have no idea of the depth of the DX games, most of the subleties in the demo will remain hidden to you.

    I think games like this should stick to videos rather than demos to sell themselves.
    Expand
  20. PaulM.
    Dec 20, 2003
    9
    The game has minor flaws which should and can be overlooked.Stop comparing it to DX1 and enjoy it for itself,there is just too many cry babies out there who are not satisfied with anything.Spend a few minutes tweaking instead of bitching and maybe you will get a pleasant surprise.
  21. ReinhardM.
    Dec 6, 2003
    9
    Is it better than the prequel? No! Is it worse? Absolutely NOT! DX2 is an entertaining game, full of complex plots and story twists, packed with atmospheric graphics and dense locations. The unfied ammo doesn't bother me at all, 'cause like in DX1 you will have to think before you shoot. Can i afford the SMG? Or have i to use the baton? Or should i simply sneak around? It's Is it better than the prequel? No! Is it worse? Absolutely NOT! DX2 is an entertaining game, full of complex plots and story twists, packed with atmospheric graphics and dense locations. The unfied ammo doesn't bother me at all, 'cause like in DX1 you will have to think before you shoot. Can i afford the SMG? Or have i to use the baton? Or should i simply sneak around? It's the ole good DX1-gameplay! And to all those anti-console-fanatics: the interface is clean and simple to use. You hate it, because you hate consoles, and not because it's not useable (which it isn't after all!). Think about it and open your mind a little bit! Give DX2 a try, you will not regret it. Expand
  22. MichalW.
    Dec 8, 2003
    10
    I haven't played this game yet ( I live in Europe... ), but I am a huge fan of the first Deus Ex and I just can't believe you guys who gave it 1, 2 or 4! I am sure that I will like it and with full confidence I give it 10. Spector, Smith and the other guys at ION can put bad console-like interface into the game, or uselessly simplify the ammo or do anything else, but they just I haven't played this game yet ( I live in Europe... ), but I am a huge fan of the first Deus Ex and I just can't believe you guys who gave it 1, 2 or 4! I am sure that I will like it and with full confidence I give it 10. Spector, Smith and the other guys at ION can put bad console-like interface into the game, or uselessly simplify the ammo or do anything else, but they just cannot make a crappy game!( I hope so ) 10. I'll like it even when everybody says 'it's a total mistake'. 10. Expand
  23. JS
    Dec 8, 2003
    9
    Okay, first off for those of you upset at my first 'review' please notice the words, "hope" and "predict" - that's right, I wrote it as a 'PREview' (some two days before the demo was released). /Rant over. And now for my REview (ahem). Okay, so there will be two types of people who are going to read this, 1. the people who (like me) played and adored the original, Okay, first off for those of you upset at my first 'review' please notice the words, "hope" and "predict" - that's right, I wrote it as a 'PREview' (some two days before the demo was released). /Rant over. And now for my REview (ahem). Okay, so there will be two types of people who are going to read this, 1. the people who (like me) played and adored the original, and 2. the people who never heard of the original and are wondering where the hype came from. If you are in the 2. column, feel free to skip to the last paragraph. For the rest of us, let's hold off on the knives until we have examined the game a little more closely... Firstly, no this is not the prequel; DX1 inherited much from the likes of Thief and System Shock 2 (game dynamics and menu system), presonally I enjoyed sorting out my inventory, remembering passwords and keycodes, managing coutless types of ammo and counting my skill points until I could remove my sniper-shake. Almost all of this complexity has gone from IW and the blame has fallen squarely on the Xbox. The graphics on the original were let's be honest, a bit poor, I expected great things from this (something just behind HL2 and Doom3) but again, the Xbox limitations are blamed for poor visuals. I happen to think this is unfair, sure it is a bit of a system hog, but it runs well on my 2G AMD with 9800pro at 1024. The most important thing to realise with the visuals are, 1. Remove the damn 'bloom' feature - it's awful (and still doesn't do what it's supposed to do - wait till HL2's HDR...) 2. READ THE ION STORM FORUMS. Can't emphasise that last one enough. But what of the game - assuming it runs smoothly enough and we geeks can get over the fact that we have so few slots and only one type of ammo... Well I 'm beginning to think that perhaps it is not completely the Xbox's fault. Think back now, WHY did you love the original so much? Was it the inventory? Graphics maybe? Possibly the AI? Or maybe it was that you felt so much a part of an unfolding storyline that you couldn't care less what the game played or looked like? As a point of interest, when I first got DX1, I installed it, played it for 10 minutes and left it alone for five months before giving it another try. So what of DXIW? Okay, the graphics are not next-gen; no astronomic polygon count and badly in need of tweaking and patching; but the dynamic lighting (best since Blade of Darkness) Havok (such fun throwing things around), ragdoll-physics (such fun throwing people around) are superbly implemented. The weapons are only really tools that help you accomplish your goal, rather than the glossy graphic,ever-present at the bottom of the screen that you yearn to replace with a bigger one. The levels - well, they are environments, not paths with strategically placed guards, they are laboratories, hotels, clubs - places with backdoors, air conditioning (lots of that), stairs, locks, basements, roofs... The more you play this game the more you realise that the makers stripped away the geeky anorak of DX1 in an attempt to reveal the beauty that unerpinned the original to an audience that the orignal could never reach - they try to give unscripted, non-linear, player-centric gaming to the masses - not the elite (or 'Illuminati' as I like to be called). Yes there are bugs - I hate the breaks for loading (yes, blame the Xbox), the actual functionality of the ingame menus is very annoying (Xbox, thanks), the game engine needs polishing for performance (but then again, we would still be waiting for it otherwise) and a few other gripes besides those. But is it any good? Would I recommend it as I did in my preview? Yes and no. It could have been better, and I personally would have been just fine had they forgotten about the Xbox all together. But this is Deus Ex - there are no other games like it... I will give it a mark (probably not 10) but in truth the mark is all but irrelevant; THERE ARE NO OTHER GAMES LIKE THIS - developers simply don't care enough to duplicate the formula and really, it deserves to be in it's own category - something like ,"Immersive Interactivity" or "Other World Experience" or "Patient Computerised Living". No, this game is not perfect - break it down and criticise it if you will - but I think I will stand by my conviction that one day, all games will follow the road first trodden by Deus Ex. DXIW, given some faults is still the second step on that road. Expand
  24. JS
    Dec 8, 2003
    9
    Okay, first off for those of you upset at my first 'review' please notice the words, "hope" and "predict" - that's right, I wrote it as a 'PREview' (some two days before the demo was released). /Rant over. And now for my REview (ahem). Okay, so there will be two types of people who are going to read this, 1. the people who (like me) played and adored the original, Okay, first off for those of you upset at my first 'review' please notice the words, "hope" and "predict" - that's right, I wrote it as a 'PREview' (some two days before the demo was released). /Rant over. And now for my REview (ahem). Okay, so there will be two types of people who are going to read this, 1. the people who (like me) played and adored the original, and 2. the people who never heard of the original and are wondering where the hype came from. If you are in the 2. column, feel free to skip to the last paragraph. For the rest of us, let's hold off on the knives until we have examined the game a little more closely... Firstly, no this is not the prequel; DX1 inherited much from the likes of Thief and System Shock 2 (game dynamics and menu system), presonally I enjoyed sorting out my inventory, remembering passwords and keycodes, managing coutless types of ammo and counting my skill points until I could remove my sniper-shake. Almost all of this complexity has gone from IW and the blame has fallen squarely on the Xbox. The graphics on the original were let's be honest, a bit poor, I expected great things from this (something just behind HL2 and Doom3) but again, the Xbox limitations are blamed for poor visuals. I happen to think this is unfair, sure it is a bit of a system hog, but it runs well on my 2G AMD with 9800pro at 1024. The most important thing to realise with the visuals are, 1. Remove the damn 'bloom' feature - it's awful (and still doesn't do what it's supposed to do - wait till HL2's HDR...) 2. READ THE ION STORM FORUMS. Can't emphasise that last one enough. But what of the game - assuming it runs smoothly enough and we geeks can get over the fact that we have so few slots and only one type of ammo... Well I 'm beginning to think that perhaps it is not completely the Xbox's fault. Think back now, WHY did you love the original so much? Was it the inventory? Graphics maybe? Possibly the AI? Or maybe it was that you felt so much a part of an unfolding storyline that you couldn't care less what the game played or looked like? As a point of interest, when I first got DX1, I installed it, played it for 10 minutes and left it alone for five months before giving it another try. So what of DXIW? Okay, the graphics are not next-gen; no astronomic polygon count and badly in need of tweaking and patching; but the dynamic lighting (best since Blade of Darkness) Havok (such fun throwing things around), ragdoll-physics (such fun throwing people around) are superbly implemented. The weapons are only really tools that help you accomplish your goal, rather than the glossy graphic,ever-present at the bottom of the screen that you yearn to replace with a bigger one. The levels - well, they are environments, not paths with strategically placed guards, they are laboratories, hotels, clubs - places with backdoors, air conditioning (lots of that), stairs, locks, basements, roofs... The more you play this game the more you realise that the makers stripped away the geeky anorak of DX1 in an attempt to reveal the beauty that unerpinned the original to an audience that the orignal could never reach - they try to give unscripted, non-linear, player-centric gaming to the masses - not the elite (or 'Illuminati' as I like to be called). Yes there are bugs - I hate the breaks for loading (yes, blame the Xbox), the actual functionality of the ingame menus is very annoying (Xbox, thanks), the game engine needs polishing for performance (but then again, we would still be waiting for it otherwise) and a few other gripes besides those. But is it any good? Would I recommend it as I did in my preview? Yes and no. It could have been better, and I personally would have been just fine had they forgotten about the Xbox all together. But this is Deus Ex - there are no other games like it... I will give it a mark (probably not 10) but in truth the mark is all but irrelevant; THERE ARE NO OTHER GAMES LIKE THIS - developers simply don't care enough to duplicate the formula and really, it deserves to be in it's own category - something like ,"Immersive Interactivity" or "Other World Experience" or "Patient Computerised Living". No, this game is not perfect - break it down and criticise it if you will - but I think I will stand by my conviction that one day, all games will follow the road first trodden by Deus Ex. DXIW, given some faults is still the second step on that road. Collapse
  25. J.L.V'Tar
    Jan 27, 2004
    9
    I really cannot think of much more to say than simply; this is one of the best games created recently. It is not the "glorious breakthrough" of its progenitor, but in that regard only about 10% of any games produced in this day and age have anything to do with storyline or a real decision-making process on the player's part. Compare DX2 to other games currently on the market, and I really cannot think of much more to say than simply; this is one of the best games created recently. It is not the "glorious breakthrough" of its progenitor, but in that regard only about 10% of any games produced in this day and age have anything to do with storyline or a real decision-making process on the player's part. Compare DX2 to other games currently on the market, and tell me it warrants any rating below a 7. This game holds a magnificent story, allows the player to actually think instead of pull the trigger and jump excessively (which is probably why a lot of imbeciles out there are griping), and said story is actually rather daring considering the recent state of world politics. Bravo, Ion Storm. Expand
  26. JoeF.
    Jul 11, 2004
    9
    I loved the original, but because everyone seemed so disappointed in this sequel I didn't buy it until I saw it for a low price. Now I just don't understand what people were talking about, as this is a fantastic game. There are some things that are very different than what fans are used to from Deus Ex, and there are some things that aren't quite as good as they were in the I loved the original, but because everyone seemed so disappointed in this sequel I didn't buy it until I saw it for a low price. Now I just don't understand what people were talking about, as this is a fantastic game. There are some things that are very different than what fans are used to from Deus Ex, and there are some things that aren't quite as good as they were in the original, but Deus Ex: Invisible War still features the clever gameplay, the feeling of actually being in control and the interesting story of the original. This is a must-buy. Expand
  27. ChrisB.
    Feb 28, 2005
    9
    Invisible War seems to get trashed by many fans of the original game because they feel it got dumbed down, or console-d. Personally, I never liked the original game much - i thought it was clunky (especially when it came to combat). Invisible War was fighting an uphill battle. It needed to fix some things about the original that many people didn't like, such as the combat, interface, Invisible War seems to get trashed by many fans of the original game because they feel it got dumbed down, or console-d. Personally, I never liked the original game much - i thought it was clunky (especially when it came to combat). Invisible War was fighting an uphill battle. It needed to fix some things about the original that many people didn't like, such as the combat, interface, and obviously the graphics. Unfortunately, many Deus Ex fans expected the exact same game but with updated graphics. To me, they mostly succeeded. Invisible War has incredible graphics - it needs a fast processor and video card to run well and look good. The interface is much easier and quicker to use than the original (thankfully), and the combat is much more in line with a FPS game. The story is deep, long and involving and the level design is magnificent. I enjoyed this game from beginning to end, and i'm a gamer who DESPISES dumb console games - folks, Invisible War is a PC game with PC controls, graphics and depth. It's one of the best FPS games ever. Is it as good as the original? Yes, but it's different. Expand
  28. AlexS.
    Jun 27, 2007
    9
    One of the best! The game lets you be very creative in how you complete your missions. You can play this game over and over, and the outcome can be different every time. Graphics are good, physics are awesome. Storyline can be confusing, but still interesting.
  29. J.S.
    Nov 21, 2003
    10
    There is great hope for this game and with good reason given the original. With the use of Havok2 physics and realtime lighting with the latest 3D cards, expect the graphics to be outodone only when HL2 and Doom3 eventually come out. But don't hold out for HL-redefining gameplay in it's sequel, don't hold out for a gripping ride in Doom3 either. Make no mistake; the makers There is great hope for this game and with good reason given the original. With the use of Havok2 physics and realtime lighting with the latest 3D cards, expect the graphics to be outodone only when HL2 and Doom3 eventually come out. But don't hold out for HL-redefining gameplay in it's sequel, don't hold out for a gripping ride in Doom3 either. Make no mistake; the makers of DXIW for all their efforts to make the game visually amazing, have concentrated on true, open ended gameplay which will help mark a watershed in gaming (being x-platform will also help). I predict that this game will help guide the future of computer gaming; the ability of the player to enter a world that they have full control over, where their decisions actually have impact on both environment and plot. Tell all your friends, get them to tell all theirs; even if you have to beg, steal or kill, get this game; witness the future of gaming first hand. Expand
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 44 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 44
  2. Negative: 0 out of 44
  1. One of the most captivating and thoroughly polished titles in recent times. It’s not perfect, however anyone who has an interest in well-crafted Sci-Fi storylines a la "Minority Report" will find themselves completely captivated with this game.
  2. A somewhat disappointing, but fun sequel.
  3. It absolutely defines mediocrity.