Deus Ex PC

User Score
9.3

Universal acclaim- based on 942 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 31 out of 942

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JohnH
    Apr 21, 2010
    10
    Easily the single best FPS/RPG/Adventure hybrid, this game set the standard for next-generation RPGs a decade ago (a standard which, sadly, few have approached since). With gameplay mechanics that found the magic balance between player skill and character attributes, intricate-yet-accessible character customization (skills, augmentations, weapon customization, limited inventory forcing Easily the single best FPS/RPG/Adventure hybrid, this game set the standard for next-generation RPGs a decade ago (a standard which, sadly, few have approached since). With gameplay mechanics that found the magic balance between player skill and character attributes, intricate-yet-accessible character customization (skills, augmentations, weapon customization, limited inventory forcing you to choose equipment suited to your play style), and a strong multi-linear (generally linear plot with multiple routes from start to 3 similar-but-narratively-distinct endings) story that invokes some of the most popular global conspiracy theories of the post-cold-war West, Deus Ex adapted the RPG genre to the FPS interactivity model in a way fans of both genres can appreciate (particularly impressive with respect to RPG fans). The graphics and audio (short loops for ambient sound, rudimentary environmental audio, short soundtrack) are dated, though well-implemented, and the AI scripting is more-or-less the 3-D version of Space Invaders AI (all guns blazing and weave as you CHARGE!), but even today the game is fun and engaging. In fact, despite having played through the story a dozen times or so, I'd gladly shell out another $50 for the same plot and mechanics on a contemporary rendering engine with slightly tweaked AI scripting; I've always wondered why the sequel(s? I haven't checked-up on DX3 recently) decided to mess with a winning formula when they could have kept all of the mechanics and simply made new stories on next-gen engines. Anyway, I can't recommend this highly enough. Expand
  2. Mar 2, 2012
    10
    You know what should truly sell you on deus ex? Reading the negative reviews on metacritic. Then cross-compare them with the positive reviews. Then add a dash of common sense and ability to analyse and read between the lines. Now, onto the actual review. Deus ex - has been my favorite game for the past 12 years. And I play a lot of games. Why? It's sure visually aged poorly, it's kind ofYou know what should truly sell you on deus ex? Reading the negative reviews on metacritic. Then cross-compare them with the positive reviews. Then add a dash of common sense and ability to analyse and read between the lines. Now, onto the actual review. Deus ex - has been my favorite game for the past 12 years. And I play a lot of games. Why? It's sure visually aged poorly, it's kind of clunky. So surely that means I deduct a few points right there? No. Deus ex is the true definition of a masterpiece, it gives you true options - options that the lesser masterpiece human revolution can't even match. It still stands alone as something incredible - the only problem is that now people have to look past the age (if they are coming in fresh). Each hub (or sectioned level) offers hundreds possible 'ways' to achieve a simple goal. Let me explain - It's like this; there is a simple thing you need to do. You need to infiltrate a building and get past all the guards in the building so you can download an important document (this is hypothetical). Now, there are about 10-15 different 'ways' you can get into the building and each 'way' has branching 'options'. So options, lead to options, lead to options. You take choice 5 out of 15 and go through the sewers instead of the top, no strike that - you decide going above ground is best, so you get a crane and lower the shaft so you can sneak across onto the roof - no strike that, you decide to go full force and shoot everyone in your path - no strike that, you decide to go to the building manager and get a keypass, now when you open the caravan that the manager is in, it has cameras inside it, so you hack those cameras to work for you. You then threaten the manager with information you have on him, that you picked up off a nearby computer - then you walk past the guards and enter the keypass into the door slot. You walk strait in, and decide to open a vent that leads you to the roof, in which you plant explosives that might distract the guards. You walk up to the heavily guarded entrance to your objective - and you remotely detonate the explosive, all the guards run towards the threat and you walk into the room. Problem solved. Now, that thing you did was one of a few hundred things you could have done to achive that same 8 minute objective. Now you have 30 hours of incredible globe trotting, storytelling, twists turns, cities, exploration - all with that very level of freedom options. It's mindblowing. That's what you need to understand when you boot up deus ex and see some janky graphics and blocky models. No, this is not just 'some first person shooter' dig deeper. And find one of the true miracles of gaming. This game needs a 999/10 score made specifically for it. Masterpiece is a painful understatement. This is a revolution in gaming that never took off. So far ahead of it's time that nothing else can quite match it. I truly hope the developers of human revolution make another deus ex game - because I think they had the right idea. They did not 'quite' pull off 'deus ex'. But I have a feeling they are heading towards something great. And that's promising. Expand
  3. May 25, 2011
    10
    Best Game ever when you know that not even the people who made it, cannot even repeat the same level of genius that this game is. It is truly one of kind in terms of level design, story, atmosphere, characters and things that are not even seen in other games. Whenever somebody mentions the name of this game people reinstall it back onto their computers, but in my case I always keep itBest Game ever when you know that not even the people who made it, cannot even repeat the same level of genius that this game is. It is truly one of kind in terms of level design, story, atmosphere, characters and things that are not even seen in other games. Whenever somebody mentions the name of this game people reinstall it back onto their computers, but in my case I always keep it installed on my PC to remind me how amazing gaming can get. Expand
  4. Mar 16, 2013
    10
    Admittedly, it is hard to go back and play Deus Ex these last few years. The game's age has by far taken its toll on the experience. However, just because I outgrew the game does not mean it is worse than it was 10 years ago. With an overhauled GFX engine this game could easily make its way back into modern gaming libraries. The game had DEPTH! Excellent storyline, characters, andAdmittedly, it is hard to go back and play Deus Ex these last few years. The game's age has by far taken its toll on the experience. However, just because I outgrew the game does not mean it is worse than it was 10 years ago. With an overhauled GFX engine this game could easily make its way back into modern gaming libraries. The game had DEPTH! Excellent storyline, characters, and gameplay. I can admit that time gave deus ex a huge black eye, but before its gfx aged, it was a near perfect game. Expand
  5. C.L.
    Oct 28, 2008
    10
    To Jared J. I'm assuming you're aware that this game is nearly 9 years old and the chance of it running on a modern PC without serious glitches and faults is highly unlikely, yes? You might want to take that into account. Deus Ex is quite simply one of the greatest shooters of all time. The branching storyline, interesting characters, multitude of gameplay options and choices To Jared J. I'm assuming you're aware that this game is nearly 9 years old and the chance of it running on a modern PC without serious glitches and faults is highly unlikely, yes? You might want to take that into account. Deus Ex is quite simply one of the greatest shooters of all time. The branching storyline, interesting characters, multitude of gameplay options and choices and the dystopian cyber-punk atmosphere are spectacular. Graphically dated, and probably not likely to run on a modern Vista setup without significant tweaking, but well worth the effort. If you like this, follow up with System Shock 2. Expand
  6. GuntherH.
    Mar 21, 2008
    10
    Easily one of the best and most engrossing games on the PC. A classic!
  7. ConcreteC.
    Feb 19, 2008
    10
    An instant classic I have played for two years, until I knew every corner, dialogue and scripted event like the back of my pocket. It even tempted me to try speed gaming it. Walton Simons is a wonderfully conceived character, cold voice, arrogance and inhumane ambitions. JC Denton is somehow cool although a cyborg and naive in the beginning. Plus you got to like the nonchalence of An instant classic I have played for two years, until I knew every corner, dialogue and scripted event like the back of my pocket. It even tempted me to try speed gaming it. Walton Simons is a wonderfully conceived character, cold voice, arrogance and inhumane ambitions. JC Denton is somehow cool although a cyborg and naive in the beginning. Plus you got to like the nonchalence of Smuggler. The best Action-Adventure ever. Expand
  8. Oct 23, 2010
    9
    An experience in RPGs you can never forget. This game probably inspired most of the modern open ended RPGs. We can all thank this game for the great games of our generation.
  9. Feb 20, 2011
    10
    The best game I have ever played. It got a great story, wonderful gameplay with multiple path choices and a lot of rpg elements from exploration xp to a great skill system. I have played it at least 4 times and today no game I have played or know about is even close in the enjoyment this game have given me.
  10. Mar 18, 2011
    10
    This game is excellent, simply put. Sure, it's really hard, but all games of the time were. When you got a game then, it was all about the single player. If it were short and easy, like most current games are, then it wouldn't have much substance and wouldn't be much fun. The controls take literally a minute to change to modern FPS controls, so you can't really complain about them. UnlikeThis game is excellent, simply put. Sure, it's really hard, but all games of the time were. When you got a game then, it was all about the single player. If it were short and easy, like most current games are, then it wouldn't have much substance and wouldn't be much fun. The controls take literally a minute to change to modern FPS controls, so you can't really complain about them. Unlike many current games, it actually has a decent story and good atmosphere. The game has aged surprisingly well over eleven years. To get an idea of what I mean, go back and play the original Half-Life. Amazing game, but looks so bad it's almost impossible to play. The RPG elements are implemented really well, and any level-ups make an immediate difference in the game. While the inventory system is kind of a pain, it's realistic and works well. There's a reason this game is often hailed as the best PC game of all time: it's excellent. If you don't like it, you don't know a good game when you play it! Expand
  11. May 12, 2011
    9
    One of the best and arguably most important games for the PC. Great story and gameplay that lets you choose either with stealth or brute force to complete missions. Only problems I have with it is it's ropey graphics (even at the time) and the weapons feel limp and lifeless. This is the template for so many of today's games.

    Dragon's Tooth Sword FTW!
  12. Jun 24, 2011
    10
    This game is amazing,its a futuristic cyber punk game where corporations and hidden groups controll the people in various ways,it suffers of an epidemic called gray death and the vaccine called "Ambrosia" cannot be delivered to anyone,riots wreck the streets,people are desperate for the vaccine.

    It mixes RPG with FPS perfectly,you can use lockpicking,computer skills,bypassing
    This game is amazing,its a futuristic cyber punk game where corporations and hidden groups controll the people in various ways,it suffers of an epidemic called gray death and the vaccine called "Ambrosia" cannot be delivered to anyone,riots wreck the streets,people are desperate for the vaccine.

    It mixes RPG with FPS perfectly,you can use lockpicking,computer skills,bypassing circuits,stealth,agression and secondary routes to complete your missions and objectives,on top of that,you get a prfect nano augmentantion system for you are a super advanced experiment that instead of using mechanical augmentations,uses this new pieces of technology,you can have various abilities this way.

    its only problem is that you might hafe to play it twice to get all the details of the plot or understand it because its a bit complicated.
    Expand
  13. Jul 2, 2011
    10
    This is a classic for a reason: it's a powerful game-play experience you won't soon forget. Granted, it's showing its age and it does take a commitment. It's not a guns blazing FPS. But for those who want a thinking man's FPS, this is it. Great characters, great environment, and great plot. Be sure to also download a few select Deus Ex mods for the best experience, such as New Vision,This is a classic for a reason: it's a powerful game-play experience you won't soon forget. Granted, it's showing its age and it does take a commitment. It's not a guns blazing FPS. But for those who want a thinking man's FPS, this is it. Great characters, great environment, and great plot. Be sure to also download a few select Deus Ex mods for the best experience, such as New Vision, Shifter, Project HDTP, Deus Ex Enhanced, & Kentie's Deus Exe. Seriously, just play this game. If you don't like it, then you need to reevaluate your life. Expand
  14. Aug 7, 2011
    10
    Deus Ex was something new. Something far outside the box. It took freedom of choice to a new level by breaking things down perfectly. It had incredible gameplay, incredible characters, and an unbeatable storyline. No game had ever done what Deus Ex did. It balances action, humor, suspense, and plot like no other to date.
  15. Aug 17, 2011
    10
    I bought this game during summer camp 2011 on steam. Wow! It is 11 years old and it still so entertaining! There are so many things to do, to discover, to read, they thought about everything. It's a must play, if you can handle low graphics (which were amazing for the time) you should enjoy a lot!
  16. Aug 17, 2011
    10
    This game is so good it's still regular makes the top ten best pc games of all time in various charts. It's got everything. I only hope Deus Ex human evolution is half as good.
  17. Aug 27, 2011
    10
    Simply one of the best games ever created. Just finish Deus Ex:HR (prequel of Deus Ex) and will now start classic DX again :-) If thats your plan too: Make sure to use the new HighRes Package from http://www.moddb.com/mods/deus-ex-new-vision
  18. DavI.
    May 24, 2008
    10
    Awesome storyline... The background music is "simply the best".. FPS, RPG, stealth game: you can find every kind of game, in Deus Ex; you can choose how to play: you can play like Sam Fisher, but you can play like Serious Sam. It all depends on you tastes... THE BEST!
  19. JC
    Jan 2, 2007
    10
    One of the best game ever! Perfect design comes together with really useful RPG element. And at the end... do you want to shot your way through the game or maybe stealth is the way you like?
  20. Aug 3, 2011
    9
    There's not a lot to say that you won't get from the hundreds of other reviews here. The story is very well done, and the gameplay is a very original FPS/RPG hybrid. At times the game seems just slightly repetitive, and that's the only thing holding it back from a 10.
  21. Oct 15, 2011
    10
    Deus Ex represents the apotheosis of video-game design. It has never been equalled, let alone surpassed, in this regard.

    To understand Deus Ex requires an understanding of its pedigree. In the nineties, game design was beginning to fall into two different camps: the linear, tightly-controlled setup that could be seen in games like Doom and Quake, and in a more sophisticated fashion Half
    Deus Ex represents the apotheosis of video-game design. It has never been equalled, let alone surpassed, in this regard.

    To understand Deus Ex requires an understanding of its pedigree. In the nineties, game design was beginning to fall into two different camps: the linear, tightly-controlled setup that could be seen in games like Doom and Quake, and in a more sophisticated fashion Half Life, and a more non-linear, experience-led approach. This latter approach was found in comparatively few games, as it was far costlier to make and typically resulted in far fewer sales. For these games, which were later dubbed the "immersive simulators" by Warren Spector, emergent gameplay was king. That meant that the game designer would not explicitly design the experience, but rather would let the player do things their way. Games like Ultima Underwolrd, Thief and System Shock would be the opening salvos of this style of gaming, all of which were popular and profitable, albeit not mega-successes. Deus Ex took things one stage further. As well as allowing most objectives to be completed in numerous different ways, map design was completely non-linear, and bizarre solutions to complex problems could be devised. Under attack in a penthouse apartment? Leap out of the window, break both your legs, and crawl away. Need to get past a laser defence grid, but can't? Try smoking onto it, that'll disrupt the beams. Need to stun two men to get past, but have no weapons? Use a fire extinguisher to blind them in the face. Need to infiltrate a guarded building? Reconnoitre it out, and look for a way in via the roof, or the sewers. Or try and bribe your way in. Need to get past a wall, but don't want to fight the guards? Why not try stacking up physics objects like crates and rubbish bags to make an impromptu staircase? This was the philosophy that underpinned Deus Ex, and no other game since has even tried to be as open to different user play-styles and ingenious solutions. Wrap all that up in a grittily believable world, with just dripped atmosphere and had an incredible soundtrack, and which moreover was filled with deep questions such as "who is really in control of society?", and you have an incredible, incredible game. People who want a high-octane first person shooter in the vein of Half-Life should keep away. This game is far more cold, and calculated, than it is high-octane. Those looking for a Mass Effect-style game, which is brutally linear in the gameplay but allows for some trivial choices in conversations, should also look away here. Deus Ex does things the other way around: conversations are functional and barebones, but the way that the user "chooses" paths comes from what he or she does in the gameplay. As an interactive medium, I believe this is as it should be. This is a game for which I have a lot of love, as you can no doubt see. I think it understood exactly what a game is and what it should do better than any others I have played. It's not for everyone, as I have outlined, nor should it be regarded as perfect (although it is very close). Technology of 2000 was pretty limiting, especially graphically and in terms of AI programming. On the other hand, if you like games at all, and want to experience something a tad more cerebral and involving than the Mass Effects and Call of Duties of the gaming world, then you can do no better than Deus Ex.
    Expand
  22. Dec 11, 2012
    10
    Imitators have tried but none have topped this masterpiece. Combines genres flawlessly and has a flexible story that truly changes based on your actions with multiple endings. The only downside are the graphics (which were bad even for their time), but this can be fixed with mods. Any modern PC can run this so you have no excuse for not playing this.
  23. Nov 18, 2013
    10
    This is my favorite game of all time, and it may be yours. This game is an RPG with action elements, and you can do what you want in the game. You can go through the entire game without killing a single characters, even grunts! You can go through the game mattering on the skills you choose, your good at hacking? Hack that console to turn on a turret and wipe out a room of bad guys. Good atThis is my favorite game of all time, and it may be yours. This game is an RPG with action elements, and you can do what you want in the game. You can go through the entire game without killing a single characters, even grunts! You can go through the game mattering on the skills you choose, your good at hacking? Hack that console to turn on a turret and wipe out a room of bad guys. Good at stealth? Sneak past them knocking out only that ones you have to. And many, many more ways to go through this monster of a game. The characters in this game feel so real, you may forget you are playing a video game. The graphics are great for the time, especially with a game this long. If you are playing on realistic (highest difficulty in the game) it can take you 15 hours, and even more. The first level alone takes an hour. I still remember when this game came out, and my parents buying it for me, still have my original copy; Anyway, this game has huge replay value, you can take the game a whole different route! Guns blazing? Or Silent? You decide. Expand
  24. 5
    Jan 2, 2002
    10
    I haven't played it for a while but it still stands out as one of the better PC games in my mind. Blending stealth, RPG style leveling up (sort of), FPS action, and a very compelling story. Throw in 4 different endings, branching paths, different upgrades to add to your character and you get the replay value there. The graphics could be more polished but they get the job done good I haven't played it for a while but it still stands out as one of the better PC games in my mind. Blending stealth, RPG style leveling up (sort of), FPS action, and a very compelling story. Throw in 4 different endings, branching paths, different upgrades to add to your character and you get the replay value there. The graphics could be more polished but they get the job done good enough, i liked the audio throughout the game though. That death throe voice by JC makes me laugh. HA. This review's getting too long, have fun. Expand
  25. Chimp
    Jun 3, 2005
    10
    The best game ever played. Ignore the graphics. Ignore the AI and physics. This game is almost perfect. The only flaws are that some of the augmentations are much more useful than others. This game is so open and free, there are countless ways to do things. People even discovered ways to beat missions that the developers didnt know about(without cheating of course.) The level design is The best game ever played. Ignore the graphics. Ignore the AI and physics. This game is almost perfect. The only flaws are that some of the augmentations are much more useful than others. This game is so open and free, there are countless ways to do things. People even discovered ways to beat missions that the developers didnt know about(without cheating of course.) The level design is without a doubt the best in any game ever made, bar none. And the plot...oh the plot. Extremely gripping. The first time Icarus speaks was one of the coolest moments in any game I've ever played. Expand
  26. WillR.
    Jul 10, 2005
    10
    Best game of all time. If you do not own this game, find it and buy it. The sequel is worth picking up as well only if you have a good rig, but the sequel is not quite as good. They are both excellent games and well-worth playing. I pray to god that there is going to be a third one despite the death of Ion Storm developer.
  27. Brisk
    Jan 5, 2006
    10
    Make no mistake, this is the greatest single-player experience for the PC. There are so many incredible momments in Deus Ex, and it truly raised the bar wth regards to interactivity, story telling, and open-ended gameplay. Expect a game that will demand your full attention, and will keep you engrossed for many, many hours. An extraordinary achievement, and a testament to the skill and Make no mistake, this is the greatest single-player experience for the PC. There are so many incredible momments in Deus Ex, and it truly raised the bar wth regards to interactivity, story telling, and open-ended gameplay. Expect a game that will demand your full attention, and will keep you engrossed for many, many hours. An extraordinary achievement, and a testament to the skill and imagination of the developers. Expand
  28. DarioD.
    Aug 24, 2006
    10
    Easily one of the best video games ever made. It incorporating a great story, RPG-style inventory with experience points used to increase skills, fun combat with countless weapons and items, good music, memorable events and dialogue, incredible replay value, and an extremely dynamic and lengthy campaign, which is different every time you play, due to the incredible amount of freedom. Easily one of the best video games ever made. It incorporating a great story, RPG-style inventory with experience points used to increase skills, fun combat with countless weapons and items, good music, memorable events and dialogue, incredible replay value, and an extremely dynamic and lengthy campaign, which is different every time you play, due to the incredible amount of freedom. After playing through the game 5 times, I still found many new things and places that I had never found before, and triggered events and plot twists that I hadn't come across in 4 play-throughs. Each playthrough was with a drastically different approach, as the game incorporates many different play-styles, including playing with "realistic" combat damage for those who wish to. Not enough can be said about this game. It's like "The Godfather" of video games, in more ways than one. Expand
  29. AndyH.
    Oct 10, 2006
    10
    This game is the only FPS style game that has ever caught my attention so memorably. Alongside GTA and the old X-Com series of games, this is undeniably in a league of its own. Many newer gamers view Half Life 2 as the modern equivalent of an iconic game, but this in no way compares to the brilliance of Deus Ex; try this once and you will understand exactly how Deus Ex forces you to move This game is the only FPS style game that has ever caught my attention so memorably. Alongside GTA and the old X-Com series of games, this is undeniably in a league of its own. Many newer gamers view Half Life 2 as the modern equivalent of an iconic game, but this in no way compares to the brilliance of Deus Ex; try this once and you will understand exactly how Deus Ex forces you to move the goalposts when rating every other subsequent game. It acts as a forceful comparator to remind you of just how close to perfection a game needs to be to compete. The graphics are looking rather dated in modern times, but it is the intricate and interactive plot and intense characterisation that makes Deus Ex tower far above its peers. Six years on and there has still never been a better game within this genre, or even one that comes close for that matter. There Expand
  30. ChrisR.
    Feb 27, 2007
    10
    Absolutely, positively #1 on my list of all time favorite games. It's now Feb or 2007 and I just got finished playing through DX again and my only regret is that I can't go back and play it again for the first time, before I knew all the little tricks and secrets of the game.
  31. RobinL.
    Mar 30, 2007
    10
    The best game ever. I remember playing it the first time, it changed the way I looked at computer gaming. Every game I have played since I compare to Deus Ex, and so far not one game has beaten this masterpiece. The atmosphere, the plot, the characters and the abillity to choose how you want to play is probably what makes this game stand out in the crowd. Anyone that claims they're The best game ever. I remember playing it the first time, it changed the way I looked at computer gaming. Every game I have played since I compare to Deus Ex, and so far not one game has beaten this masterpiece. The atmosphere, the plot, the characters and the abillity to choose how you want to play is probably what makes this game stand out in the crowd. Anyone that claims they're real gamers ought to play this game, but it is also a good game to play for people that haven't played much computer games before because of the great plot and atmosphere. Everything combined it feels as if being in a movie, with you being the main character doing all decisions. Expand
  32. KitroS.
    Apr 3, 2007
    9
    One of my favorite games of all time. Long, but never felt long-winded. Good voice acting and great story with plot twists. Nifty but simple skill system. Modifyable weapons. A choice of different endings. It also got #1 'best game' award 3 years in a row from Australia's PC Powerplay magazine.
  33. KeeganS.
    May 5, 2003
    10
    Stunning, almost nothing I've played compares!!!!!!!!!!!!:)
  34. DoganT.
    Jun 26, 2001
    10
    This game is unbelievable! I love this game!
  35. EthanG.
    Jun 19, 2003
    10
    Blew my mind.
  36. MikkelM.
    Mar 15, 2004
    10
    The best game every with it's gripping plot and cool "bad guys".
  37. RitchieT.
    Jun 6, 2006
    10
    Best game I've ever played, and it's now 2006.
  38. PatrickS.
    Sep 17, 2006
    10
    It is a MUST buy/play for a hardcore FPS player. Truly a great game with an amazingly twisted storyline and plot that could be beaten in one one of four different ways.
  39. LeszekJ.
    Mar 30, 2007
    10
    Excellent, have replayed it many times. Much more thoughtful and less linear than it's sequel.
  40. LoganD.
    Apr 3, 2007
    10
    Deus Ex is the single most groundbreaking game I have ever played.
  41. IndoS.
    Apr 6, 2007
    10
    This could be the game of the millenium ....... one of or maybe the best game i ever played to date...re-play value is amazing ... a must to own ...
  42. Jan 6, 2011
    9
    One of the best games I've played. Too much of action and long levels in the end part, but I guess you can run through it with the correct augmentations, so that isn't necessarily a problem. What I liked most was the plot and the illusory freedom of choice.
  43. Feb 24, 2012
    10
    How impressive it has to be a monument for quality in game development, and how awful it is, that no game has beaten the complexity, non linearity and depth of this game for over 11 years. Deus Ex is perfect, and I wish that every serious game developer takes it as one.

    Eh, I wish there were more games like this.
  44. Mar 3, 2012
    10
    Basically, play this game. Full of little flaws and far from perfect, and yet still in the top 5 games of all time... which should give you an indication of just how good it is. Of all the 'classic old' games it's probably aged the best, the atmosphere is just unrivalled, outlasting the graphics. Even the creators haven't come close to replicating it's genius.
  45. Apr 6, 2012
    10
    The game is very fun to play and is one of my favourite FPS/RPG games. The story is outstanding and the fact that you can majorly affect it throughout the game makes it even more interesting and adding replayability trying to get a slightly different story. Also the fact that you can play the game any way you like to play it. You can play it like an FPS game, shooting enemies or even as aThe game is very fun to play and is one of my favourite FPS/RPG games. The story is outstanding and the fact that you can majorly affect it throughout the game makes it even more interesting and adding replayability trying to get a slightly different story. Also the fact that you can play the game any way you like to play it. You can play it like an FPS game, shooting enemies or even as a stealth game sneaking past everything without killing anybody. Expand
  46. Apr 21, 2012
    10
    I must be one of the few people who played Deus Ex: Human Revolution BEFORE playing the original. Seems appropriate enough though, since HR is a prequel anyway. After having completed this one, I noticed that there is clearly continuity between the two games, including story and gameplay elements, locations, similar characters, and even the same bits of dialogue. Anyway, this is overall aI must be one of the few people who played Deus Ex: Human Revolution BEFORE playing the original. Seems appropriate enough though, since HR is a prequel anyway. After having completed this one, I noticed that there is clearly continuity between the two games, including story and gameplay elements, locations, similar characters, and even the same bits of dialogue. Anyway, this is overall a solid game that I wish I'd played 12 years ago when it came out. It took me about 30 hours to play from start to finish. My only real complaint is it's always dark throughout the game, but everything else about it is absolutely solid. I completed my first playthrough a couple of days ago, and will probably play it again. If you're reading this review and haven't played this game yet, stop reading and go play it! Expand
  47. Jul 23, 2012
    10
    Mista Denton, in the fleeesss

    Deus Ex - every time you mention it, someone reinstalls it. One of those games that never really gets old. The story, the gameplay, the dialog, and best of all - the music. Everything was perfect.

    Smashthestate!
  48. Jul 27, 2012
    10
    Quite rightly considered by many as the greatest PC game of all time. This is simply stunning and when it was released in 2000 it completely rewrote gaming.

    The best thing about this game is that it doesn't feel like a game. The levels are so huge, the characters so interactive, and the puzzles solved in so many different ways that this feels like a limitless world. Every element comes
    Quite rightly considered by many as the greatest PC game of all time. This is simply stunning and when it was released in 2000 it completely rewrote gaming.

    The best thing about this game is that it doesn't feel like a game. The levels are so huge, the characters so interactive, and the puzzles solved in so many different ways that this feels like a limitless world. Every element comes together perfectly: an incredible storyline that has you tied up in knots, gameplay that allows you to play the way you want to play, and an augmentation system that lets you mould your character in weird and wonderful ways.

    Do you want to be a stealthy assassin? Then develop your hacking, sniping and running silently skills, stick a silence modification on your sniper rifle and away you go. Want to run round shooting anything that moves? Then level up your ballistic shielding, stick a couple of recoil modifications on your machine gun, and let's get to work. As long as you have a consistent plan, any gameplay style is catered for.

    I'm still waiting to play a game since Deus Ex that even comes close.
    Expand
  49. Oct 16, 2012
    10
    One of the best game i have played. Its perfect in all senses, only riuned in part with that animations...but nothing important having in mind how awesome it is.
  50. Nov 18, 2012
    10
    This is, without a doubt, the best game ever made. If I had to narrow down why that is so, it would probably be its impeccable execution. Ignoring the graphics of the time and the limitations of the Unreal engine, this game is near flawless. People sometimes criticize the voice acting, but I think it ads flavor to the whole experience. What would DX be without "What a shame." and "Oh myThis is, without a doubt, the best game ever made. If I had to narrow down why that is so, it would probably be its impeccable execution. Ignoring the graphics of the time and the limitations of the Unreal engine, this game is near flawless. People sometimes criticize the voice acting, but I think it ads flavor to the whole experience. What would DX be without "What a shame." and "Oh my god, JC, a bomb!", right?
    The narrative flows seamlessly, the characters (even the minor ones) are beautifully fleshed out and the game play is rewarding and fits with the story. Oh, and everything makes sense. Don't you just hate those games that make you go WTF?? Well, that never happens with this game.

    Deus Ex discourages shooting stuff and instead encourages alternative, preferably non-confrontational ways of completing missions. You have a multitude of ways to avoid fights, and a multitude of ways to dispatch enemies without having to shoot them. Characters even scold you for shooting stuff up. You're not compelled in any way to go in guns blazing, unless you specifically want to. So why this game is being judged as an FPS is completely beyond me.
    Expand
  51. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    Best game ever....of all time. Well o.k. it is showing it's age some but what an epic story! The graphics are of the era when just moving your jaw when you talked was cutting edge. Still, it has more content than any three modern games put together. The music was terrific and always matched the locales. The environments were varied and they offered multiple solutions to it's sand-box styleBest game ever....of all time. Well o.k. it is showing it's age some but what an epic story! The graphics are of the era when just moving your jaw when you talked was cutting edge. Still, it has more content than any three modern games put together. The music was terrific and always matched the locales. The environments were varied and they offered multiple solutions to it's sand-box style missions. My only complaint after twelve full play-troughs is that the inventory and crate-breaking got a bit tedious. The weapons were fun to use and the world seemed richly populated with characters that had their own stories. May we see more games like this again once the brown-shooter-dark-age is over. Expand
  52. Jul 22, 2014
    9
    One of my favorite games of all time. Don't let its dated graphics mislead you. The story is excellent, the gameplay is alot of fun, and the soundtrack is my favorite in a video game.
  53. Aug 5, 2014
    10
    No words can do this masterpiece a justice, so I will put it simply: Deus Ex is the best game ever made. I'm playing games for the last 25 years, I played hundreds, if not thousands of titles and I came across many masterpieces and fantastic games, but for the last 14 years my opinion is clear about one thing, the strongest experience i got from a video game, was here with Deus Ex and ifNo words can do this masterpiece a justice, so I will put it simply: Deus Ex is the best game ever made. I'm playing games for the last 25 years, I played hundreds, if not thousands of titles and I came across many masterpieces and fantastic games, but for the last 14 years my opinion is clear about one thing, the strongest experience i got from a video game, was here with Deus Ex and if there ever was a game that should be considered "the best of them all", it's Deus Ex. The Story, the atmosphere, gameplay, level design it's all out of this world, it's like this game is something more than just a game, it's something that cannot be expressed in words, you must play this. Your life is not fulfilled if you haven't played Deus Ex. It's that simple. The soundtrack by Alexander Brandon, omg, that music, I love it to death, Hong Kong theme playing in the background while writing this review Expand
  54. Oct 22, 2014
    10
    When I played the game in 2000, is was unsurpassed. Then I played it again a few years later, and recently too, 14 years after it was released. This time round, I downloaded some graphic mods which lessened the impact of outdated graphics.

    The verdict? Still the best PC game ever. The plot, the dark atmosphere of a civilisation spiralling into chaos, the conspiracy theories, the level
    When I played the game in 2000, is was unsurpassed. Then I played it again a few years later, and recently too, 14 years after it was released. This time round, I downloaded some graphic mods which lessened the impact of outdated graphics.

    The verdict? Still the best PC game ever. The plot, the dark atmosphere of a civilisation spiralling into chaos, the conspiracy theories, the level design-it is simply amazing and nothing since has compared to it, period.

    Minor gripes are the character model quality and animations are still that of a 14 year old game, but really, it is still top!
    Expand
  55. Nov 13, 2014
    9
    I finally played and finished this great cyberpunk themed FPS-RPG-stealth hybrid genre classic. You are JC Denton, international United Nations Anti-Terrorist Coalition (UNATCO) peace force agent fighting NFS terrorist organization in dystopian 2052 New York. New, unknown virus ("the grey death"), widespread zyme drug addiction, police curfew are the reality. You aren't just a regularI finally played and finished this great cyberpunk themed FPS-RPG-stealth hybrid genre classic. You are JC Denton, international United Nations Anti-Terrorist Coalition (UNATCO) peace force agent fighting NFS terrorist organization in dystopian 2052 New York. New, unknown virus ("the grey death"), widespread zyme drug addiction, police curfew are the reality. You aren't just a regular person, you are nano-augmented. This means you have bionic upgrades giving you almost superhuman capabilities in some fields.

    The game has some first person shooter qualities. There are multiple types of firearms including pistols, shotguns, sniper and assault rifles, experimental plasma guns, tranquilizer darts and various melee weapons including swords, batons, crowbars and knives. You can also use various grenades and explosives. But here come the RPG qualities: you are initially inexperienced with all of these weapons and as the game progresses you need to choose skills to upgrade. How about some stealth? You don't have to upgrade your fighting skills. You can upgrade swimming, lockpicking and hacking. Deus Ex is not-so-linear and usually you have more than one way to finish a level. Fighting is one option, but usually you can also crawl into ventilation ducts, climb some ladders, jump some containers and find yourself on the other side without having killed a single person (or bot).

    Along with upgrading your skills, you choose and upgrade your bionic augmentations. Your game tactics will depend on implants you choose. There are 18 types of implants, but you only have 9 slots. You get to decide whether you prefer to install Speed Enhancement or Run Silent implant. Will you need Ballistic Protection (reduced bullet damage) or EMP Shield (protection from electrocution which is used by some bots)? To use your augmentations you need to use bioelectrical energy and you need to plan carefully, because it has limits.

    JC Denton will discover conspiracy, traitors, surprising allies in many locations, all of them with neo-noir feel. New York City, Hong Kong (think Blade Runner), Paris, Area 51, ships, hotels, underwater labs. The plot is really long, has many surprise twists and gives you multiple choices, including three quite different endings. Music is quite cool and fits the atmosphere of the locations. Graphics... well, the game was released in 2000, so it's a little disappointing as of 2014, but if you can get over average graphics, Deus Ex is amazingly immersing.
    Expand
  56. Apr 4, 2015
    10
    The best game I would recommend anyone! seriously, the story and everything about it is brilliant. The game is all about fighting crime to get down to the bottom of things, with your augmentation, you are JC denton!
  57. IcarusX.
    Nov 11, 2006
    10
    So far, in the history of all games, I have never seen an equal to Deus Ex. If comparing only within the genre, this game is the genre-definer. Compared to all games this is one of the few perfectly executed titles in history, a beacon of light among the pop-corn trash that makes up the majority of the industry. This is no ordinary game, and remains un-matched after 5 years. If you can So far, in the history of all games, I have never seen an equal to Deus Ex. If comparing only within the genre, this game is the genre-definer. Compared to all games this is one of the few perfectly executed titles in history, a beacon of light among the pop-corn trash that makes up the majority of the industry. This is no ordinary game, and remains un-matched after 5 years. If you can allow yourself to believe that a video game could be intelligent, satyrical, immersive, poignant and still incredibly fun, and you haven't bought this title I would be surprised - you have to play it, to believe it. Expand
  58. NickS.
    Feb 23, 2008
    10
    what do i need to say that hasnt been said about this game... It has one of the best story lines i have seen in a game, and the fact that there a fairly large sections of the game that you can completely miss if you are not paying attention. The sheer variety in this game should keep even the non FPS fans happy with some cool RPG elements. simply put, a truly superb masterpiece... nice what do i need to say that hasnt been said about this game... It has one of the best story lines i have seen in a game, and the fact that there a fairly large sections of the game that you can completely miss if you are not paying attention. The sheer variety in this game should keep even the non FPS fans happy with some cool RPG elements. simply put, a truly superb masterpiece... nice one ion storm... Expand
  59. NathanM.
    Dec 19, 2006
    10
    Something is special here, can't put my finger on it, but needless to say it is without a doubt the greatest game I have ever played. It's almost 2007, and nothing even rivals it yet
  60. ChrisV.
    Apr 1, 2007
    10
    One of the best PC games ever published. Multiple endings, an intriguing storyline and memorable characters make this game one of the very best.
  61. Oct 16, 2010
    9
    I have spent many hours, days and weeks playing this. Excellent storyline and atmosphere, many ways how to play it - with a rocket launcher or hidden in shadows, just how you like it.
  62. CRL
    Jul 24, 2011
    9
    The first level is definitely the hardest, but once you get past Liberty Island the game becomes purely enjoyable. The weapons (especially the sniper rifle) are ridiculously fun to play around with, and once they're completely upgraded nothing can beat them. There's also the special character customization system with augmentations that give your character certain abilities depending onThe first level is definitely the hardest, but once you get past Liberty Island the game becomes purely enjoyable. The weapons (especially the sniper rifle) are ridiculously fun to play around with, and once they're completely upgraded nothing can beat them. There's also the special character customization system with augmentations that give your character certain abilities depending on your style of play. Overall, it's not the best FPS, but it's pretty damn good. Expand
  63. Aug 17, 2011
    10
    Despite being part stealth, part shooter and part rpg, it actually manages to transcend any sort of pigeon hole and becomes a genre unto itself. And what an astounding one it is too. Very good combat, a nice variety of enemies and a great selection of weapon choices making real changes to the feel of gameplay sum up the fighting, both ranged and melee. The stealth is a challenge whichDespite being part stealth, part shooter and part rpg, it actually manages to transcend any sort of pigeon hole and becomes a genre unto itself. And what an astounding one it is too. Very good combat, a nice variety of enemies and a great selection of weapon choices making real changes to the feel of gameplay sum up the fighting, both ranged and melee. The stealth is a challenge which requires genuine care and thought but provides great satisfaction when successful. The rpg elements and skills/augmentations allow you to tailor your character in a way that is very rewarding and allows for several playthroughs that give a different feel.

    Finally, these elements are bound tightly together by an amazing story that includes many memorable moments and wonderfully created characters, locations and situations. Easily one of the greatest games of all time and my personal favourite.
    Expand
  64. Aug 31, 2011
    10
    This has got to be one of the best games ever made, the storyline just drags you in the charicters are deep and fit well, the shooting system and inventory are very similar to the first game but more polished. I only hope they expand this and make another game. The inventory holds just enough equipment to make you have to think what you need rather than what you want. Like any deus exThis has got to be one of the best games ever made, the storyline just drags you in the charicters are deep and fit well, the shooting system and inventory are very similar to the first game but more polished. I only hope they expand this and make another game. The inventory holds just enough equipment to make you have to think what you need rather than what you want. Like any deus ex game there are many vents to crawl through and plenty of places to pick suckers off at a distance with a sniper rifle... you know what they say "you can run but you'll only die tired" the charicters are awsome and i particualry liked Eliza cassan. Come on with the next deus ex game! Expand
  65. Sep 28, 2011
    10
    Except for the graphics which are truly horrible, this is a masterpiece. Pure perfection, all the elements come together and make one of the best and most unique games ever. What really makes it shine is the story, which has many twists and suprises, and always feels very compelling. Games like these aren't made anymore.
  66. Oct 1, 2011
    10
    One of my favourite games. Utterly absorbing. Innovative for its time, it blended genres and seemed to take the best of FPS, stealth and the essence of RPG.
  67. Oct 13, 2011
    10
    This is my favorite game of all time. I must have played this all the way through at least 5 times. There are multiple endings, and usually 3-4 ways to do everything.
    This game is not easy, which may be why some people are giving it negative reviews - if you are a brainless 12 year old who only likes FPS games, you will probably be too dumb to complete this game.
    If, however, you know
    This is my favorite game of all time. I must have played this all the way through at least 5 times. There are multiple endings, and usually 3-4 ways to do everything.
    This game is not easy, which may be why some people are giving it negative reviews - if you are a brainless 12 year old who only likes FPS games, you will probably be too dumb to complete this game.
    If, however, you know what a quality game is - you will love this title.
    It is very old at this point, however, so you should go pick up the new Deus Ex title - Human Revolution. It is also excellent.
    Expand
  68. Oct 22, 2011
    9
    It is very difficult to pigeonhole this game into a genre and this is probably one of its strongest points. But you don't have to be a fan of any genre to realise that this game is special. Great story, good replayability, interesting special abilities, a good variety of weapons, many different ways to complete missions and a great soundtrack. This game has it all. Even the hero's veryIt is very difficult to pigeonhole this game into a genre and this is probably one of its strongest points. But you don't have to be a fan of any genre to realise that this game is special. Great story, good replayability, interesting special abilities, a good variety of weapons, many different ways to complete missions and a great soundtrack. This game has it all. Even the hero's very monotonous voice is strangely compelling. Fantastic entertainment on many levels. The only thing that I can criticise it for is the pathetic attempts at foreign accents of which the Australian variety was particularly atrocious. But still, this is a must play for any gamer, any gamer at all. Expand
  69. Nov 7, 2011
    10
    I can's say much, just that Deus Ex is the best game I have ever played, I can go on and on giving reasons to justify that but I don't need to waste my time with that since all the other people's reviews are the same thing.
  70. Nov 8, 2011
    9
    One of the greatest games I could have laid my hands on in my entire life. As stated by many other reviewers, I will admit that the game has a very frustrating and slow aiming system, but that doesn't bring down the game by very much at all. The story is conveyed in a genius way, most of the plot twists I did not see coming and the story is so interchangeable, you could play the game overOne of the greatest games I could have laid my hands on in my entire life. As stated by many other reviewers, I will admit that the game has a very frustrating and slow aiming system, but that doesn't bring down the game by very much at all. The story is conveyed in a genius way, most of the plot twists I did not see coming and the story is so interchangeable, you could play the game over and over, and not play it exactly the same as you did the time before. The inventory system isn't as annoying as many other people think, but the game should have automatically moved the items out of the way if you had enough room anyhow. The graphics look outdated quite a bit but the game makes up for it in the way the story is conveyed and how the plot unfolds. Overall great game, while it has it's faults, the game makes up for them in different areas of the game. I'd recommend it for everyone. Expand
  71. Nov 10, 2011
    8
    Deus Ex - a title that has a huge cult following. Although I don't fully understand all the reasons that led to it, my review of this game is still going to be positive. / The fact is, the game's graphics were outdated even at the time of its creation. But surprisingly enough, this fact didn't bother me much during singleplayer experience (also, I am not exactly into top-notch graphics atDeus Ex - a title that has a huge cult following. Although I don't fully understand all the reasons that led to it, my review of this game is still going to be positive. / The fact is, the game's graphics were outdated even at the time of its creation. But surprisingly enough, this fact didn't bother me much during singleplayer experience (also, I am not exactly into top-notch graphics at all times, I still like retro games if there are other aspects that I like about those titles). The multiplayer, on the other hand, oh yeah, that is a slightly different story... I remember that it was hard to keep a straight face in situations like when your own teammates got poisoned by gas grenades... / One of the main strengths of the game are the possibilities that lie in front of you. Stealth vs. action is divided into a lot of smaller options you can choose from. You can kill everything in sight, stun your opponents or put them to sleep, avoid them altogether by choosing alternative paths, use not only weapons and tools, but also augmentations to your advantage... These elements really made the game fun to play. Nothing forced you into choosing one particular solution (e.g. stealth is better than action - make love, not war - DX: HR, anyone?), so you could enjoy the game the way you wanted to, without any penalties (at least I don't remember any). / The augmentation system is generally a nice idea and I like the fact that you have to choose between several upgrades to determine which one you want to install on that particular body part. Some augmentations however I found kind of obsolete and I think I didn't use them once during the whole game. You can also invest points into various skills to help you further during the gameplay (weapon use, hacking, lockpicking and... swimming - OMG, that was kind of obsolete too). And yeah, the hacking and lockpicking are very primitive, on the other hand, if I have to choose between tiresome minigames and beeping multitools, I pick the second option, thankyouverymuch. / The game is definitely... long. I dropped out twice (once in the ship area and once in France), but returned after several months and I am glad I did. There are other titles that deserved to be dropped instantly and I didn't do it (*facepalm*). I liked the fact there were numerous locations and environments to be visited and explored, although some of them were more boring than the others. But, the longer the gameplay is, the better, sure - phenomenon of a 3 hour-long games that cost 40 bucks is NOT COOL. / Deus Ex is generally praised because of its storyline, which is captivating and original at first. After some time, it gets a little confusing and I had the feeling as if someone wanted to incorporate all the existing "conspiracy theories" he could find into the game's story. Maybe less would be more in this case. But not a huge issue for me. / Also, the music definitely deserves mentioning, there are a LOT of tracks, each location has a music of its own, so a huge amount of work went into this. I think it was worth it and the soundtrack is a nice bonus to the overall experience. Voice-acting is not so good, but for me, it provided an amusing aspect, so thanks for that. / I must add that sometimes I felt like I was playing some Star Wars game because of that nanosword, which was strangely addictive. At first, it was good against greasels, then I was overpowered by the dark side and I used it against almost everything, eh.... / The ending (one of the few that are available) wasn't disappointing and the game offers great re-playability not only to experience other endings, but to try different things and approaches. / I'm not giving this game a full score like most of the people I see on the last page - it's not the best game I ever played and it has its flaws. But I admit it's one of the better ones (not in the term of graphics, of course) and it can be seen that a lot of effort was put into making some elements as good as possible, which is something that deserves recognition. Unfortunately, nowadays I don't see many modern titles with a "heart", and Deus Ex definitely is a game that has a "nanoheart", sometimes beating slowly, sometimes rapidly, always being cold, but yes, it's a heart nonetheless. Expand
  72. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    Utterly brilliant.

    You are given such freedom and the immersion is so great that you can really engage with this game in a way few others manage. A masterpiece of game design and has yet to be bettered in the action/RPG genre.
  73. Nov 22, 2011
    10
    This is one of the best games I've ever played. I never played it until 2011, but after playing the 3rd installment of the series (which I enjoyed a lot), I decided to try out the earliest version. I was not disappointed in the slightest. In fact, I enjoyed this game even more than the 3rd one. I'm usually not a fan of FPS games, I've tried many but their has only been a couple that IThis is one of the best games I've ever played. I never played it until 2011, but after playing the 3rd installment of the series (which I enjoyed a lot), I decided to try out the earliest version. I was not disappointed in the slightest. In fact, I enjoyed this game even more than the 3rd one. I'm usually not a fan of FPS games, I've tried many but their has only been a couple that I liked enough to sink into for more than an hour or two. But this is a FPS with a well written and thought out story, and the way the FPS and RPG elements are intertwined is done perfectly. There's enough side missions to get you exploring all the nooks and crannies of the well designed world, and the story forks off in several directions depending on your decisions, allowing for you to play a few areas several times to see what happens in each story line. There is a lot of awesome gaming in this game. Expand
  74. Dec 14, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Combining several games such as System Shock, Half-Life and the Matrix, you create one of the best FPS/RPG hybrid games of all time. Although add-ons enhance this game with better textures and bug fixes, the overall game is very awesome combined with a balance of good sound, story and the environment. Only drawbacks are the chunky dialogue and buggy gaming performance (which did not work well on Windows 7). Expand
  75. Dec 23, 2011
    10
    Ignore the limited number of negative reviews surrounding this game. This has to be one of the greatest RPG video games to ever exist. Sure, the graphics look shoddy nowadays, but the characters, storyline and gameplay still hold up today. It will keep you hooked from start to finish, and lets you play however you want.
  76. Feb 1, 2012
    10
    If you are after a great rpg, please buy this game. It's only problem is graphs and the few glitches but why should this stop someone from getting immersed in possibly the best story line ever, along with its great mechanics (you can walk around with no arms and legs for gods sake!). Please ignore the people that got mad at level one because they cannot complete it, this game requires timeIf you are after a great rpg, please buy this game. It's only problem is graphs and the few glitches but why should this stop someone from getting immersed in possibly the best story line ever, along with its great mechanics (you can walk around with no arms and legs for gods sake!). Please ignore the people that got mad at level one because they cannot complete it, this game requires time and skill as should any game. please buy this game. Expand
  77. Mar 12, 2012
    10
    So... I have read opinions like "this game is outdated, horrible graphics etc"
    I found DX after playing Human revolution... (a few months ago)
    Yeah, at first it was weird jump into those old graphics and so on... But after about six hours game-play I must say I was living JC Denton's role in the game, I mean... Every choice, every dialogue, even the choice of your own gameplay. Yes,
    So... I have read opinions like "this game is outdated, horrible graphics etc"
    I found DX after playing Human revolution... (a few months ago)
    Yeah, at first it was weird jump into those old graphics and so on... But after about six hours game-play I must say I was living JC Denton's role in the game, I mean... Every choice, every dialogue, even the choice of your own gameplay. Yes, there wasn't those dramatic cutscenes, but DX made me more excited than most of the new games i have played
    Also atmosphere, soundtrack just perfectly fits to the environment. So what I was playing only new games with those fancy graphics, I still can see how beautiful this game is. Some people just don't understand this game'. So after all those gaming years I found my best game that changed whole gaming experience for me... It's sad to see how people can be ignorant by saying this game "sucks"just because they don't understand it and it's not nostalgic or something, like I said, I found it in 2011. Also new generation of gamers are just graphic whores, at least you could your subjective ignorant opinion without any real argument keep for yourself. Oh well, I'm glad I found this game
    Expand
  78. Mar 23, 2012
    8
    I can see why it's very well praised: it's a very good shoter with few rpg elements and it actually gives you many choices and ways to play the game; add also a very good story behind it, with some huge places to explore too, and you get Deus ex....but I still wouldn't suggest this game for everyone. Let me clear this: I enjoyed it, I loved it to the end, but It has some huge problemsI can see why it's very well praised: it's a very good shoter with few rpg elements and it actually gives you many choices and ways to play the game; add also a very good story behind it, with some huge places to explore too, and you get Deus ex....but I still wouldn't suggest this game for everyone. Let me clear this: I enjoyed it, I loved it to the end, but It has some huge problems that makes this game very"old:I hated how the game is based on "Trial & Error", which will make you destroy the autosave button in order to finish a mission. Yes the AI is buggy, but sometimes they are just too strong: they were able to see me, from the other side of the map, hiding in pure darkness and down below a street...WOW, buggy AI right? It might be buggy, but sometimes they could see me (and HEAR even while sneaking) too well. And this might be nitpicking, but I would have loved a map of the area: they are HUGE and it's very hard to see where you have to go without a map, making you lose the way. Ok, the rant is over: I give it a 8 mainly because it IS good, but to me it's just aged: stealth games have evolved for the better and this game, even though created a standard for stealth shooters, has basically lost it's innovation: give it a try though if you can surpass the flaws and, in general, if you don't agree with me. Expand
  79. Mar 30, 2012
    10
    Like a lot of people said, this game got many things wrong. Lousy accents for foreign characters, terrible graphics, conspiracy plot that borders on the ridiculous and of course not being able to hit a headshot on a guy even if you're pointing the gun a few centimetres behind him. But no matter what, you can't help getting pulled into the game by its wonderful ability to show how muchLike a lot of people said, this game got many things wrong. Lousy accents for foreign characters, terrible graphics, conspiracy plot that borders on the ridiculous and of course not being able to hit a headshot on a guy even if you're pointing the gun a few centimetres behind him. But no matter what, you can't help getting pulled into the game by its wonderful ability to show how much your decisions matter. Small decisions can go a long way in the game's plot and its very interesting to see it unfold at a later point of the story. And then, there's the atmosphere and setting which is probably the best part of the game, you can really feel the bleak cyberpunk future where people are struggling to survive. Not only that, the levels in Hong Kong and Paris are perhaps the best parts of the game even though it should be obvious to some that it looks nothing like the real thing. Characterization is also interesting, even though the hero JC Denton is blunt and monotoned most of the time. Still, the dialogue is rather humorous if not corny. It really baffles me why no game has come close to achieving the feel Deus Ex created (even the highly praised Mass Effect series). The only beef I have with this game is that its hard to get it working right on my laptop. Expand
  80. Mar 30, 2012
    9
    The story is a very well written amalgamation of every paranoid conspiracy of the last five decades, set in a not too distant or unrecognisable future. You are given the chance to mould and guide your hero from humble bureacratic beginnings to a place in the annals of human history. Give Manderley a punch from me on your way up.

    The game is a seamless melding of FPS and RPG. A clever
    The story is a very well written amalgamation of every paranoid conspiracy of the last five decades, set in a not too distant or unrecognisable future. You are given the chance to mould and guide your hero from humble bureacratic beginnings to a place in the annals of human history. Give Manderley a punch from me on your way up.

    The game is a seamless melding of FPS and RPG. A clever twist lets you augment your character with bionic abilities, which can be found in canisters while exploring the game. Most upgrades grant one physiological ability and lock out another permanently, but the detailed inventory and character information pages let you browse the upgrades and plan ahead.

    The experience based skills system lets you can choose how well you can use items and weapons, if at all. For example, if you haven't put points into rocket launchers, there are subtler methods of bypassing security systems: lockpicking, electronics and computer hacking. Packrats rejoice, this leads to a diverse array of item pickups: credit chits containing digitised money, personal organisers with codes and passwords, biological modification canisters, modification packs for weapons (capacities, fire rates, silencers, etc), lockpicks, multimeters, food or medkits for healing and even chapters from an in-game book. Usually, at least once per level, you'll get a chance to buy items from a black market trader or use your information to rummage through hidden or locked stockpiles.

    Though the graphical models may look dated, all of these features create a rich gameplay experience that, in my opinion, hasn't yet been surpassed in this genre.
    Expand
  81. May 19, 2012
    10
    Another of the best games I think, have been made for PC. He is the founder of a new genre that blends strategy, role and fps. There are many ways to progress through the game, many end is anything but linear, that makes it unique and special. A work of art.
  82. Oct 13, 2012
    10
    I didn't get it the first time I played back in '00, I was used to FPS and tried to gun my way through all the levels and found it too difficult. Well, thanks to steam I installed it and played it all the way through the non lethal way only having to kill one player...it was a blast. This game is so immersive and has such an amazing story...I love the part where you are having aI didn't get it the first time I played back in '00, I was used to FPS and tried to gun my way through all the levels and found it too difficult. Well, thanks to steam I installed it and played it all the way through the non lethal way only having to kill one player...it was a blast. This game is so immersive and has such an amazing story...I love the part where you are having a philosophical conversation with the sentient A.I., really great stuff. Up there in my top 5 greatest games. Expand
  83. Oct 26, 2012
    10
    Deus Ex is a game that proves, even with it's flaws, that it can still be the greatest game of all time. I played this game in 2012, and am currently undergoing my second playthrough. And by god, it is amazing. The freedom of choice, the stellar map design, the augs, the story...... Even with it's flaws, such as the sometimes stupid AI or the strange aiming system, the rest of the contentDeus Ex is a game that proves, even with it's flaws, that it can still be the greatest game of all time. I played this game in 2012, and am currently undergoing my second playthrough. And by god, it is amazing. The freedom of choice, the stellar map design, the augs, the story...... Even with it's flaws, such as the sometimes stupid AI or the strange aiming system, the rest of the content by FAR makes up for it. Expand
  84. Dec 6, 2012
    8
    Deus Ex was another nostalgic title that is one of my all time favorites and I
  85. Dec 19, 2012
    10
    Among the best games ever made. There's just so many ways to play and complete your tasks: you can avoid killing, try silent killing or just shoot everything standing in your way. The storyline is superb, I could have never imagined that video games could be philosophical.
  86. Jan 5, 2013
    10
    I had never heard of Deus Ex until I watched a review of the original game on Youtube. Finally, out of pure curiosity I bought the game on Amazon. I cut to the chase . This is the single greatest game I have ever played in my life, from the sprawling open levels to the intriguing story line. Sure the game is a graphical Quasimodo by today's standards but the depth in gameplay balanceI had never heard of Deus Ex until I watched a review of the original game on Youtube. Finally, out of pure curiosity I bought the game on Amazon. I cut to the chase . This is the single greatest game I have ever played in my life, from the sprawling open levels to the intriguing story line. Sure the game is a graphical Quasimodo by today's standards but the depth in gameplay balance that out. I never thought that the RPG and the FPS genre would ever be able to meld so seemlessly, but they did and for that I award Deus Ex a 10 out of 10. A true masterpiece. Expand
  87. Jan 20, 2013
    9
    A hybrid of FPS and RPG, Deus Ex can easily be considered a cult-classic amongst story-driven games. Though the graphics of the game are rather dated, it should not matter in the long run because the gameplay is truly the heart of the game. The score of the game is so memorable that you will be humming these tunes even at the very end of the game.
  88. egn
    Mar 12, 2013
    10
    What can be said that hasn't already been said about this game? It's...really, it's one of those very rare games that just nails it. It's really basically perfect. Ultimate fun, ultimate immersion, and an ultimate experience. This is one of the first RPGs I ever played where you have a choice, where the way you play actually affects the outcome of the game. In some ways I think a lotWhat can be said that hasn't already been said about this game? It's...really, it's one of those very rare games that just nails it. It's really basically perfect. Ultimate fun, ultimate immersion, and an ultimate experience. This is one of the first RPGs I ever played where you have a choice, where the way you play actually affects the outcome of the game. In some ways I think a lot of games after this have tried to emulate that format, because it was so amazing in this game. If you haven't tried it yet, go for it. Really, get it. Expand
  89. Mar 17, 2013
    10
    this game symbolises my childhood, its the best game ever.. so many memories attached. i used to spend a lot of time playing this one. it is a complete game with a lot of action.
  90. Mar 20, 2013
    9
    Outstading, truely ahead of it's time, despite the combat system being extremely annoying.
  91. May 14, 2013
    10
    i´ve just ended playing this game and no matter how bad graphics and visual effects has, it still being better than any call of duty game. it´s just awesome one of the best games i´ve ever played
  92. May 25, 2013
    10
    Deus Ex has got to be one of the greatest games of all time. Yeah, some may complain that the graphics are horrible but, the game was released in 2000, and at that time, these graphics were high quality. This game is still regarded as the greatest game of all time, and I agree with that statement.
  93. May 30, 2013
    10
    This might sound cliched, but this is one of the best games ever made. Everything works, the story, the atmosphere, the great RPG style gameplay. Look past the dated ugly graphics, and the sometimes lazy AI and you have a game that still 13 yrs later is still relavant, and worthwhile.
  94. Jun 30, 2013
    10
    This game is brilliant, although many people have said that it hasn't aged well and isn't all that good anymore, I didn't play this game until about 2011 and it was still by far the best game I have ever played.

    Deus ex has a brilliant story and the gameplay is unbeatable, the inventory in this game is brilliant and I don't understand why an inventory like that is very rarely featured
    This game is brilliant, although many people have said that it hasn't aged well and isn't all that good anymore, I didn't play this game until about 2011 and it was still by far the best game I have ever played.

    Deus ex has a brilliant story and the gameplay is unbeatable, the inventory in this game is brilliant and I don't understand why an inventory like that is very rarely featured in a game nor do I understand how a health bar and automatic health regeneration is better than being able to break your arms and legs and having to find a medkit or medbot to repair them.

    The skills system is great as you can choose whether you will prefer pistols over machine guns, be great with lockpicks or anything else that can possibly benefit you in missions. Although I didn't find much use for any of the augmentations other than the health regeneration one or the one which makes you invisible to robots it was still good that we had the option to complete missions in many unique ways.
    Expand
  95. Jul 25, 2013
    9
    Deus Ex is a revolutionary game, an RPG with FPS, Stealth, and Adventure elements which would combine open-ended non-linear gameplay scenarios with a gripping, if at some times ridiculous conspiracy-laden story. But while the foreigners may have horrible voice acting, the graphics haven't aged well, and the story can occasionally get ridiculous, the quality and influence of Deus Ex isDeus Ex is a revolutionary game, an RPG with FPS, Stealth, and Adventure elements which would combine open-ended non-linear gameplay scenarios with a gripping, if at some times ridiculous conspiracy-laden story. But while the foreigners may have horrible voice acting, the graphics haven't aged well, and the story can occasionally get ridiculous, the quality and influence of Deus Ex is immeasurable. Deus Ex may as well be a game you are required to play at this point. Expand
  96. Jul 26, 2013
    10
    One of the best games of all time. If you haven't played it, you must.
    The graphics don't look as impressive now as they were in 1999, but the gameplay still rocks. The story is clever and very interesting. Just make sure you click on all NPCs a few times to let they say all their phrases. I must admit I haven't seen comparable games in all these years..
  97. Aug 22, 2013
    10
    I wish I had never played this game so I could play it through now and relive the experience. Compared to recent games it doesn't stand a chance, but if you can look past the graphics and the old game engine (which were both fine when it was released) then a great and immerse story is waiting for you. This game is simply the best FPS-RPG adventure ever made.If you haven't played it yet,I wish I had never played this game so I could play it through now and relive the experience. Compared to recent games it doesn't stand a chance, but if you can look past the graphics and the old game engine (which were both fine when it was released) then a great and immerse story is waiting for you. This game is simply the best FPS-RPG adventure ever made.If you haven't played it yet, get on it. You won't be sorry. Expand
  98. Aug 30, 2013
    9
    It's for sure one of the best FPS/RPG game but it's not perfect. I don't know why but I really don't like a soundtrack of this game. In a few moments it just doesn't fit to this game. I can't explain better because of my weak English I am sorry. The rest is great. We can pass every level/mission in a different way (because there are so many different ways). Exploring yes that's why youIt's for sure one of the best FPS/RPG game but it's not perfect. I don't know why but I really don't like a soundtrack of this game. In a few moments it just doesn't fit to this game. I can't explain better because of my weak English I am sorry. The rest is great. We can pass every level/mission in a different way (because there are so many different ways). Exploring yes that's why you should play this game. Also the story, atmosphere and characters makes this game so good. Expand
  99. Oct 29, 2013
    9
    Changing my rating, as I quite like this game now. I've been playing for like 8 hours today. Once you get past the voice acting and realise to play it the obvious way (get pistols and melee with technical skills, play on easy, stealth) its quite enjoyable.
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 28
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 28
  3. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. 100
    Moody and atmospheric, compelling and addictive, this is first person gaming in grown-up form, and it truly is magnificent.
  2. Oftentimes brilliant, sometimes frustrating, and always riveting, "Deus Ex" could be game-of-the-year material if not for its many glaring flaws.
  3. It is, as a game, everything you could ask for... and it's absolutely a blast to play.