Deus Ex PC

User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 1112 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 22, 2015
    9
    Boy, when this hit, it hit us Gamers hard! I'll be lying if i say i was prepared for such grandiosity. Extremely high replay value, awesome story (just the type that hits my spot), excellent writing, memorable characters, sweet sweet gameplay, augmentations!!! Aaaaagh!!! :D
    Love from first sight :)
  2. Oct 23, 2010
    9
    An experience in RPGs you can never forget. This game probably inspired most of the modern open ended RPGs. We can all thank this game for the great games of our generation.
  3. May 23, 2013
    10
    One of the best games I have ever played. Story is excellent, the graphics may not be the latest today (there are mods to improve it) but the game did come out over a decade ago. you can get it on gog and it runs on new systems with no problems.
  4. Dec 11, 2012
    10
    Imitators have tried but none have topped this masterpiece. Combines genres flawlessly and has a flexible story that truly changes based on your actions with multiple endings. The only downside are the graphics (which were bad even for their time), but this can be fixed with mods. Any modern PC can run this so you have no excuse for not playing this.
  5. Aug 5, 2014
    10
    No words can do this masterpiece a justice, so I will put it simply: Deus Ex is the best game ever made. I'm playing games for the last 25 years, I played hundreds, if not thousands of titles and I came across many masterpieces and fantastic games, but for the last 14 years my opinion is clear about one thing, the strongest experience i got from a video game, was here with Deus Ex and ifNo words can do this masterpiece a justice, so I will put it simply: Deus Ex is the best game ever made. I'm playing games for the last 25 years, I played hundreds, if not thousands of titles and I came across many masterpieces and fantastic games, but for the last 14 years my opinion is clear about one thing, the strongest experience i got from a video game, was here with Deus Ex and if there ever was a game that should be considered "the best of them all", it's Deus Ex. The Story, the atmosphere, gameplay, level design it's all out of this world, it's like this game is something more than just a game, it's something that cannot be expressed in words, you must play this. Your life is not fulfilled if you haven't played Deus Ex. It's that simple. The soundtrack by Alexander Brandon, omg, that music, I love it to death, Hong Kong theme playing in the background while writing this review Expand
  6. Oct 31, 2013
    10
    Believe the hype. There's a reason this gets on every "best of" list. Looks long in the tooth now but nobody has ever come close to the perfect balance of stealth, moral choices about life and death and plain action as this game.
  7. Jul 26, 2013
    10
    One of the best games of all time. If you haven't played it, you must.
    The graphics don't look as impressive now as they were in 1999, but the gameplay still rocks. The story is clever and very interesting. Just make sure you click on all NPCs a few times to let they say all their phrases. I must admit I haven't seen comparable games in all these years..
  8. Mar 23, 2012
    8
    I can see why it's very well praised: it's a very good shoter with few rpg elements and it actually gives you many choices and ways to play the game; add also a very good story behind it, with some huge places to explore too, and you get Deus ex....but I still wouldn't suggest this game for everyone. Let me clear this: I enjoyed it, I loved it to the end, but It has some huge problemsI can see why it's very well praised: it's a very good shoter with few rpg elements and it actually gives you many choices and ways to play the game; add also a very good story behind it, with some huge places to explore too, and you get Deus ex....but I still wouldn't suggest this game for everyone. Let me clear this: I enjoyed it, I loved it to the end, but It has some huge problems that makes this game very"old:I hated how the game is based on "Trial & Error", which will make you destroy the autosave button in order to finish a mission. Yes the AI is buggy, but sometimes they are just too strong: they were able to see me, from the other side of the map, hiding in pure darkness and down below a street...WOW, buggy AI right? It might be buggy, but sometimes they could see me (and HEAR even while sneaking) too well. And this might be nitpicking, but I would have loved a map of the area: they are HUGE and it's very hard to see where you have to go without a map, making you lose the way. Ok, the rant is over: I give it a 8 mainly because it IS good, but to me it's just aged: stealth games have evolved for the better and this game, even though created a standard for stealth shooters, has basically lost it's innovation: give it a try though if you can surpass the flaws and, in general, if you don't agree with me. Expand
  9. Aug 17, 2011
    10
    This game is so good it's still regular makes the top ten best pc games of all time in various charts. It's got everything. I only hope Deus Ex human evolution is half as good.
  10. May 17, 2011
    10
    Despite being over 10 years old, Deus Ex is still one of the best games around in my opinion. It has everything a video game should have. The story itself already makes it very interesting and captivating. The environments are beautiful and atmospheric, the music is fantastic, the characters are very deep and well-developed. The gameplay is very varied, giving plenty of room for replaying.Despite being over 10 years old, Deus Ex is still one of the best games around in my opinion. It has everything a video game should have. The story itself already makes it very interesting and captivating. The environments are beautiful and atmospheric, the music is fantastic, the characters are very deep and well-developed. The gameplay is very varied, giving plenty of room for replaying. Together with the PS2 version of this game I have completed it over 10 times and I still keep coming back to it. Not only is the game varied in terms of weapons and skills chosen by the player, but also by the storyline choices made, for each choice bears consequences. If you have not saved a major character, he will not appear later on in the game, or even something you've done earlier in the game will cause a certain character to say something entirely different to you much later on, or some characters to like you more and some less. Deus Ex gameplay consists of multiple ways of solving the same problems, meaning that each time you play it you discover a new secret entrance or an area. It's very unlikely that you'll explore the entire game on the first playthrough (or even the first half a dozen playthroughs). And finally the game also has three different endings, posing a moral dilemma to the player of making the best choice. Deus Ex is a revolutionary game and should appeal to many gamers. Expand
  11. CRL
    Jul 24, 2011
    9
    The first level is definitely the hardest, but once you get past Liberty Island the game becomes purely enjoyable. The weapons (especially the sniper rifle) are ridiculously fun to play around with, and once they're completely upgraded nothing can beat them. There's also the special character customization system with augmentations that give your character certain abilities depending onThe first level is definitely the hardest, but once you get past Liberty Island the game becomes purely enjoyable. The weapons (especially the sniper rifle) are ridiculously fun to play around with, and once they're completely upgraded nothing can beat them. There's also the special character customization system with augmentations that give your character certain abilities depending on your style of play. Overall, it's not the best FPS, but it's pretty damn good. Expand
  12. Oct 18, 2016
    9
    I'm not surprised why people are so emotionally attached to the deus ex series. It's so uncanny how Square Enix managed to do a game that would be rated with a decent number even nowadays. You have got 3 possible endings, incredibly good sneaking mechanic, interesting locations and intriguing plot. Every mission have you right there where you should be. JC, it was a pleasure.
  13. Mar 2, 2012
    10
    You know what should truly sell you on deus ex? Reading the negative reviews on metacritic. Then cross-compare them with the positive reviews. Then add a dash of common sense and ability to analyse and read between the lines. Now, onto the actual review. Deus ex - has been my favorite game for the past 12 years. And I play a lot of games. Why? It's sure visually aged poorly, it's kind ofYou know what should truly sell you on deus ex? Reading the negative reviews on metacritic. Then cross-compare them with the positive reviews. Then add a dash of common sense and ability to analyse and read between the lines. Now, onto the actual review. Deus ex - has been my favorite game for the past 12 years. And I play a lot of games. Why? It's sure visually aged poorly, it's kind of clunky. So surely that means I deduct a few points right there? No. Deus ex is the true definition of a masterpiece, it gives you true options - options that the lesser masterpiece human revolution can't even match. It still stands alone as something incredible - the only problem is that now people have to look past the age (if they are coming in fresh). Each hub (or sectioned level) offers hundreds possible 'ways' to achieve a simple goal. Let me explain - It's like this; there is a simple thing you need to do. You need to infiltrate a building and get past all the guards in the building so you can download an important document (this is hypothetical). Now, there are about 10-15 different 'ways' you can get into the building and each 'way' has branching 'options'. So options, lead to options, lead to options. You take choice 5 out of 15 and go through the sewers instead of the top, no strike that - you decide going above ground is best, so you get a crane and lower the shaft so you can sneak across onto the roof - no strike that, you decide to go full force and shoot everyone in your path - no strike that, you decide to go to the building manager and get a keypass, now when you open the caravan that the manager is in, it has cameras inside it, so you hack those cameras to work for you. You then threaten the manager with information you have on him, that you picked up off a nearby computer - then you walk past the guards and enter the keypass into the door slot. You walk strait in, and decide to open a vent that leads you to the roof, in which you plant explosives that might distract the guards. You walk up to the heavily guarded entrance to your objective - and you remotely detonate the explosive, all the guards run towards the threat and you walk into the room. Problem solved. Now, that thing you did was one of a few hundred things you could have done to achive that same 8 minute objective. Now you have 30 hours of incredible globe trotting, storytelling, twists turns, cities, exploration - all with that very level of freedom options. It's mindblowing. That's what you need to understand when you boot up deus ex and see some janky graphics and blocky models. No, this is not just 'some first person shooter' dig deeper. And find one of the true miracles of gaming. This game needs a 999/10 score made specifically for it. Masterpiece is a painful understatement. This is a revolution in gaming that never took off. So far ahead of it's time that nothing else can quite match it. I truly hope the developers of human revolution make another deus ex game - because I think they had the right idea. They did not 'quite' pull off 'deus ex'. But I have a feeling they are heading towards something great. And that's promising. Expand
  14. Mar 16, 2013
    10
    Admittedly, it is hard to go back and play Deus Ex these last few years. The game's age has by far taken its toll on the experience. However, just because I outgrew the game does not mean it is worse than it was 10 years ago. With an overhauled GFX engine this game could easily make its way back into modern gaming libraries. The game had DEPTH! Excellent storyline, characters, andAdmittedly, it is hard to go back and play Deus Ex these last few years. The game's age has by far taken its toll on the experience. However, just because I outgrew the game does not mean it is worse than it was 10 years ago. With an overhauled GFX engine this game could easily make its way back into modern gaming libraries. The game had DEPTH! Excellent storyline, characters, and gameplay. I can admit that time gave deus ex a huge black eye, but before its gfx aged, it was a near perfect game. Expand
  15. Dec 14, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Combining several games such as System Shock, Half-Life and the Matrix, you create one of the best FPS/RPG hybrid games of all time. Although add-ons enhance this game with better textures and bug fixes, the overall game is very awesome combined with a balance of good sound, story and the environment. Only drawbacks are the chunky dialogue and buggy gaming performance (which did not work well on Windows 7). Expand
  16. Apr 19, 2015
    9
    Just played it for the first time this year (2015) and I loved it. Yes the graphics haven't aged well. But besides that, this game gives you so much freedom even compared to games of today. Plus the story is one of the most interesting in gaming history. My opinion, get a graphics mod (New Vision) and play Deus Ex if you haven't yet. You won't regret it.
  17. Oct 24, 2013
    10
    Shoddy graphics, poor combat, laughable acting and a story that is so far fetched it borders on the ridiculous but even today, Deus Ex in my opinion is the finest game ever produced and nothing else comes remotely close.

    The unforgettable setting, the mesmerising characters, the music and the simple yet brilliant RPG elements are huge contributing factors to the stunning success of this
    Shoddy graphics, poor combat, laughable acting and a story that is so far fetched it borders on the ridiculous but even today, Deus Ex in my opinion is the finest game ever produced and nothing else comes remotely close.

    The unforgettable setting, the mesmerising characters, the music and the simple yet brilliant RPG elements are huge contributing factors to the stunning success of this game. This is one of the most memorable titles in gaming history and for £5 you can purchase it on Steam; just DL the Hi Def Texture Pack and you have a game that topples that of today's alleged masterpieces.

    Unmissable
    Expand
  18. Aug 27, 2016
    8
    A fantastic RPG that holds up in most areas but there are some that it doesn't. Onto the review then

    Pros: -the atmosphere is great. Not even the awful graphics can ruin the atmosphere that Deus Ex has. From dark gloomy streets to underground bases everything looks as detailed as it could be with that engine. -The story while it certainly won't win any awards is still a pretty decent
    A fantastic RPG that holds up in most areas but there are some that it doesn't. Onto the review then

    Pros:
    -the atmosphere is great. Not even the awful graphics can ruin the atmosphere that Deus Ex has. From dark gloomy streets to underground bases everything looks as detailed as it could be with that engine.
    -The story while it certainly won't win any awards is still a pretty decent story. I'm not gonnas spoil it since i'm not that type of guy but it's a pretty good story non the less
    -let's get to the part of this game that has held up without any flaw...the gameplay. Deus Ex is a stealth game through and through. Oh sure you can try and shoot people...which will work for about 5 minutes until they gang up on you. The best way to play is to be stealthy an let me tell you..this game delivers. Deus Ex is up there with the thief games for some of the best stealth in videogames. It is truly remarkable top see a game that's 16 years old have better gameplay then it's 2016 counterpart (Mankind Divided ) But sadly i've gotta be brutally honest on a certain aspect of the game and i think you'll agree with me

    Cons:
    -The graphics. they..they're...they're just awful..like wow are they awful. Like Half Life 1 came out in 1998 and that game has way better graphics then this. I'm not a graphics freak but this is just embarrasing.

    In conclusion Deus Ex is an awful looking but good playing masterpiece. If you can look past the terrible graphics and if you like stealth games this is right up your alley.
    Expand
  19. Jul 2, 2011
    10
    This is a classic for a reason: it's a powerful game-play experience you won't soon forget. Granted, it's showing its age and it does take a commitment. It's not a guns blazing FPS. But for those who want a thinking man's FPS, this is it. Great characters, great environment, and great plot. Be sure to also download a few select Deus Ex mods for the best experience, such as New Vision,This is a classic for a reason: it's a powerful game-play experience you won't soon forget. Granted, it's showing its age and it does take a commitment. It's not a guns blazing FPS. But for those who want a thinking man's FPS, this is it. Great characters, great environment, and great plot. Be sure to also download a few select Deus Ex mods for the best experience, such as New Vision, Shifter, Project HDTP, Deus Ex Enhanced, & Kentie's Deus Exe. Seriously, just play this game. If you don't like it, then you need to reevaluate your life. Expand
  20. Feb 3, 2014
    9
    Story: 9 out of 10, Graphics: 8 out of 10, Fun: 9 out of 10, Controls: 8 out of 10, Ease to Learn: 7 out of 10, Length: 8 out of 10, Re-play: 5 out of 10, Value: 9 out of 10
  21. Jul 21, 2014
    10
    While Deus Ex graphics now look very dated, to date no FPS can hold a candle to the depth of Deus Ex's RPG & character customisation, gameplay and story. Deus Ex gives you real options and meaningful choice's that leads to more choices & options and the deep character customisation allows for the player to play to the style s/he likes, tasks and mission can be completed multiple ways andWhile Deus Ex graphics now look very dated, to date no FPS can hold a candle to the depth of Deus Ex's RPG & character customisation, gameplay and story. Deus Ex gives you real options and meaningful choice's that leads to more choices & options and the deep character customisation allows for the player to play to the style s/he likes, tasks and mission can be completed multiple ways and its all that which makes Deus Ex a Masterpiece. Expand
  22. Oct 22, 2011
    9
    It is very difficult to pigeonhole this game into a genre and this is probably one of its strongest points. But you don't have to be a fan of any genre to realise that this game is special. Great story, good replayability, interesting special abilities, a good variety of weapons, many different ways to complete missions and a great soundtrack. This game has it all. Even the hero's veryIt is very difficult to pigeonhole this game into a genre and this is probably one of its strongest points. But you don't have to be a fan of any genre to realise that this game is special. Great story, good replayability, interesting special abilities, a good variety of weapons, many different ways to complete missions and a great soundtrack. This game has it all. Even the hero's very monotonous voice is strangely compelling. Fantastic entertainment on many levels. The only thing that I can criticise it for is the pathetic attempts at foreign accents of which the Australian variety was particularly atrocious. But still, this is a must play for any gamer, any gamer at all. Expand
  23. Oct 29, 2013
    9
    Changing my rating, as I quite like this game now. I've been playing for like 8 hours today. Once you get past the voice acting and realise to play it the obvious way (get pistols and melee with technical skills, play on easy, stealth) its quite enjoyable.
  24. Jul 13, 2015
    10
    OVERVIEW
    A story-heavy FPS with platforming, stealth and RPG elements.
    PRESENTATION - 8 Graphics aren't great technically (it looks like the first Unreal Tournament from 1999), and almost no objects have physics. But aesthetically, everything fits the cyberpunk themes really well, music is great, and all lines are voice-acted (a big deal back then). The story is superb, the greatest
    OVERVIEW
    A story-heavy FPS with platforming, stealth and RPG elements.

    PRESENTATION - 8
    Graphics aren't great technically (it looks like the first Unreal Tournament from 1999), and almost no objects have physics. But aesthetically, everything fits the cyberpunk themes really well, music is great, and all lines are voice-acted (a big deal back then). The story is superb, the greatest blend of conspiracy theories ever in a single product, and with a better understanding of the philosophy of technology than anything in the 15 years since. What's great about all the optional flavor-text is half of it is actually gameplay-relevant, giving you codes and passwords, which encouraged you to talk to everyone and read everything.

    CONTROLS - 8
    FPS controls are smooth, and you can interact with everything in the world with just a right mouse button click. The game is hard: sights take way too long to become accurate unless you pour upgrade points into that weapon system, the "tranquilizer" causes enemies to run around for 10 seconds shooting back at you before they keel over, and the only other nonlethal knockout option besides tranq darts requires (very) limited ammo. Both violent and nonviolent options are difficult: you have limited inventory options, and the every "Augmentation" option excludes a different Aug, so you are constantly making meaningful choices. But since the game allows quicksaving/quickloading, and you never feel lost in terms of what to do next, it all works brilliantly despite the complexity.

    DESIGN - 10
    What makes the game is that every encounter or puzzle has multiple solutions. When most (including Deus Ex's sequels) games say "multiple ways to play," they really mean 3 ways to play: 1)stealth around enemies' lines of sight 2)snipe enemies from hiding with a sniper rifle or silenced pistol or 3)kill everything like you're playing a shooter. You can do that in Deus Ex 1, but you can also talk your way out of situations, lay traps, stack crates (they can obscure cameras), jump around obstacles or hack camera/turret systems; all of those are also solutions to boss battles. Every room has at least 3 means of entry/exit, so while in most games "exploration" would mean "not knowing where to go," in Deus Ex it's almost impossible to get lost because there are so many different ways to get to the objective you stumble across it automatically. You choose your preferred gameplay style by picking which superpowers and skills (i.e., super-jumping will assist the platforming route) you upgrade. If you miss the document with the secret code to the locked door, it doesn't matter, because you can lockpick it open, blast it open, or get inside the warehouse through a different route. The game is also brilliantly adaptive; normally when a game is "realistic" it means the Shenmue-open-world system of having a bunch of irrelevant interactive minigames that delay your progress; here, realism means letting you choose your path and actions and having characters react to it realistically. You can kill allies, but they'll shoot back.
    My favorite part was at a ramp (leading to an optional arms merchant with good stuff for sale) protected by a laser tripwire that would release a robot drone when triggered. I kept reloading that section, testing out different ways to get past it, just for fun: 1)trigger the 'bot and shoot it out 2) lay an EMP or explosive mine on the wall, trigger the bot and it would roll right into the trap and kill itself 3) if you talked to the right person earlier in the level, he would give you a code to the nearby panel to disable the tripwire 4) you could use multitools to hack the panel, fewer multitools if you invested in the computers skill 5) using the speed augmentation, you could run past, triggering the bot but escape before it shot you 6)using either a stealth camo item pickup or the stealth augmentation, you could walk through the tripwire without triggering it 7) by stacking crates (easier if you got the muscle augmentation to lift the heavier crates) you could build a little staircase to walk over the tripwire without triggering it 8) with the superjump augmentation you could leap the tripwire without triggering it 9) If you placed a crate in the path of the tripwire, it would trigger, but you could hide, and after the bot returned to its original waiting position, the tripwire would only extend until the position of the crate, which interrupted it; then you could walk between the crate and the wall without triggering the tripwire 10) there was a nearby vent that let you bypass the ramp entirely.

    LEGACY - What I would have liked for the sequel would be better graphics, physics, and improved enemy AI. We got that, but in the grand tradition of sequels having fewer gameplay mechanics, the newer Deus Ex games are merely shooters with a stealth option and more dialogue choices than in most games. Deus Ex 1 stands alone, and it is a must-play for any videogame fan.
    Expand
  25. Jan 21, 2017
    10
    Deus Ex in my opinion is the greatest game of all time.

    A mix of system shock, splinter cell and half life. This RPG/Action/Stealth game was revolutionary when it came out and there is honestly no game like this in this generation. Even the other Deus Ex games don't hold up to this masterpiece and I'll explain why. Firstly the mission and level design is some of the greatest I've
    Deus Ex in my opinion is the greatest game of all time.

    A mix of system shock, splinter cell and half life. This RPG/Action/Stealth game was revolutionary when it came out and there is honestly no game like this in this generation. Even the other Deus Ex games don't hold up to this masterpiece and I'll explain why.

    Firstly the mission and level design is some of the greatest I've ever seen and they it's the same as in hitman 2: Silent Assassin. The missions are based of hub levels and they really aren't linear when you approach these missions. For example in the new york mission to find the NSF's generator, you must find out which building it is in. Use the map as a clue, talk to people and to find a back door to the path of the building and once you do that, you can approach the building however you want. You can go through the front doors or go around the back and even the rooftops. You have so many options to approach these missions that they give a lot of replaybility for these type of levels. Sure some hubs are smaller and more straightforward (Ocean lab, Area 51) But generally the hubs (no matter how big or small.) It leaves a bunch of room to approach a mission however you want. And plus in the bigger hubs, you can do a ton of exploration as well.

    Secondly the story is prefect and memorable (probably due to nostalgia) Unlike the Prequels, the first Deus Ex really shines on it's storytelling, with it's character development, dialogue & the controversial topics, the game really excels in the storytelling department. The prequels fail on this because due to the fact that many of it's controversial topics were limited and the lack of an interesting villain wasn't present. DX doesn't hold back on the storytelling, the story will keep you engaged from start to finish.

    Overall this has to be the best game I've ever played, with it's numerous gameplay possibilities and it's excellent storytelling, usually I have something negative but not this review, this game ran flawlessly and I found zero problems with the story and gameplay. I find the game to be shorter than the prequels but I find it to be at it's sweet spot on it's length. This game deserves to be GOAT even if others don't agree we can say it's one of the best. Look at the reviews, people love this game, it's a cult following pretty much.

    I'd seriously recommend this game to everyone.
    Expand
  26. Nov 22, 2011
    10
    This is one of the best games I've ever played. I never played it until 2011, but after playing the 3rd installment of the series (which I enjoyed a lot), I decided to try out the earliest version. I was not disappointed in the slightest. In fact, I enjoyed this game even more than the 3rd one. I'm usually not a fan of FPS games, I've tried many but their has only been a couple that IThis is one of the best games I've ever played. I never played it until 2011, but after playing the 3rd installment of the series (which I enjoyed a lot), I decided to try out the earliest version. I was not disappointed in the slightest. In fact, I enjoyed this game even more than the 3rd one. I'm usually not a fan of FPS games, I've tried many but their has only been a couple that I liked enough to sink into for more than an hour or two. But this is a FPS with a well written and thought out story, and the way the FPS and RPG elements are intertwined is done perfectly. There's enough side missions to get you exploring all the nooks and crannies of the well designed world, and the story forks off in several directions depending on your decisions, allowing for you to play a few areas several times to see what happens in each story line. There is a lot of awesome gaming in this game. Expand
  27. Jul 22, 2014
    9
    One of my favorite games of all time. Don't let its dated graphics mislead you. The story is excellent, the gameplay is alot of fun, and the soundtrack is my favorite in a video game.
  28. Nov 13, 2013
    10
    A classic PC title and one of my favorite games of all time. While Deus Ex: Human Revolution was still a great game, the original Deus Ex has a greater sense of dread and larger number of conspiracies as well as catchy music and memorable, sometimes funny, dialogue.
  29. Apr 6, 2012
    10
    The game is very fun to play and is one of my favourite FPS/RPG games. The story is outstanding and the fact that you can majorly affect it throughout the game makes it even more interesting and adding replayability trying to get a slightly different story. Also the fact that you can play the game any way you like to play it. You can play it like an FPS game, shooting enemies or even as aThe game is very fun to play and is one of my favourite FPS/RPG games. The story is outstanding and the fact that you can majorly affect it throughout the game makes it even more interesting and adding replayability trying to get a slightly different story. Also the fact that you can play the game any way you like to play it. You can play it like an FPS game, shooting enemies or even as a stealth game sneaking past everything without killing anybody. Expand
  30. Apr 22, 2014
    10
    Hailed as the best game of all time for many reasons.

    Deus Ex attained an average of 90% and a 90/100 (universal acclaim) in both the MobyGames and Metacritic. En.wikipedia.org Its been given over 40 "Game of the Year" and/or "Best in Class" awards in many distinguished magazines and websites. It set the standard in FPS/RPG genre with varied gameplay, allowing players to choose
    Hailed as the best game of all time for many reasons.

    Deus Ex attained an average of 90% and a 90/100 (universal acclaim) in both the MobyGames and Metacritic.
    En.wikipedia.org

    Its been given over 40 "Game of the Year" and/or "Best in Class" awards in many distinguished magazines and websites.

    It set the standard in FPS/RPG genre with varied gameplay, allowing players to choose how they want to tackle any situation, expansive environments (multi-paths, & multi-solutions which is still ground breaking in terms of giving players freedom), high level of player customization to allow you to excel in different fields, emphasis on exploration (aided by large environments & many useful items to find), ambitious and layered storyline, interactive storytelling, dialogue that references philosophy, politics, terrorism, ailments of mankinds, a government by the people, the question of the self, and the future of mankind ect.. & lots of readables to complement this (datacubes, books, emails ect), its high replayability, memorable sound track.
    In other words: a winning formula.

    Its sad to see that the common gamer of the new generation most likely wouldn't know about this game. Younger people aren't very literate when it comes to older things but it doesn't magically make all these websites & reviews & all those fans that played Deus Ex disappear... & it certainty doesn't stop the old Deus Ex from being put on shelves for a bargain price again and again. Its good to see people who pre-ordered Deus Ex Human Revolution got the original Deus Ex for free.

    Theres mods being released to this day: like Project 2027, New Vision (which enhances about 75% of the games textures) so bad graphics isn't an excuse not to play it (though the animations still look outdated but no big deal).

    If FPS/RPG's held this game as a standard, we would see great things.

    We need something to set high standards, otherwise how can we progres
    Expand
  31. Jul 14, 2013
    10
    this game is without a doubt the single greatest game ever made in the history of games. no matter what it costs if you have not played it go out and buy it right now. it is well worth it.
  32. Sep 28, 2011
    10
    Except for the graphics which are truly horrible, this is a masterpiece. Pure perfection, all the elements come together and make one of the best and most unique games ever. What really makes it shine is the story, which has many twists and suprises, and always feels very compelling. Games like these aren't made anymore.
  33. Apr 21, 2012
    10
    I must be one of the few people who played Deus Ex: Human Revolution BEFORE playing the original. Seems appropriate enough though, since HR is a prequel anyway. After having completed this one, I noticed that there is clearly continuity between the two games, including story and gameplay elements, locations, similar characters, and even the same bits of dialogue. Anyway, this is overall aI must be one of the few people who played Deus Ex: Human Revolution BEFORE playing the original. Seems appropriate enough though, since HR is a prequel anyway. After having completed this one, I noticed that there is clearly continuity between the two games, including story and gameplay elements, locations, similar characters, and even the same bits of dialogue. Anyway, this is overall a solid game that I wish I'd played 12 years ago when it came out. It took me about 30 hours to play from start to finish. My only real complaint is it's always dark throughout the game, but everything else about it is absolutely solid. I completed my first playthrough a couple of days ago, and will probably play it again. If you're reading this review and haven't played this game yet, stop reading and go play it! Expand
  34. Oct 13, 2011
    10
    This is my favorite game of all time. I must have played this all the way through at least 5 times. There are multiple endings, and usually 3-4 ways to do everything.
    This game is not easy, which may be why some people are giving it negative reviews - if you are a brainless 12 year old who only likes FPS games, you will probably be too dumb to complete this game.
    If, however, you know
    This is my favorite game of all time. I must have played this all the way through at least 5 times. There are multiple endings, and usually 3-4 ways to do everything.
    This game is not easy, which may be why some people are giving it negative reviews - if you are a brainless 12 year old who only likes FPS games, you will probably be too dumb to complete this game.
    If, however, you know what a quality game is - you will love this title.
    It is very old at this point, however, so you should go pick up the new Deus Ex title - Human Revolution. It is also excellent.
    Expand
  35. Oct 13, 2012
    10
    I didn't get it the first time I played back in '00, I was used to FPS and tried to gun my way through all the levels and found it too difficult. Well, thanks to steam I installed it and played it all the way through the non lethal way only having to kill one player...it was a blast. This game is so immersive and has such an amazing story...I love the part where you are having aI didn't get it the first time I played back in '00, I was used to FPS and tried to gun my way through all the levels and found it too difficult. Well, thanks to steam I installed it and played it all the way through the non lethal way only having to kill one player...it was a blast. This game is so immersive and has such an amazing story...I love the part where you are having a philosophical conversation with the sentient A.I., really great stuff. Up there in my top 5 greatest games. Expand
  36. Nov 11, 2015
    10
    A game that makes you think outside the box.

    Deus Ex is just a pleasure to play, never once do you get frustrated at the game, every mistake is your fault. Is it faultless? No, but that doesn't make it any less of a masterpiece. Deus Ex has such a riveting story with so many intriguing characters most notably Morgan Everett and Walton Simons that will keep you engrossed for your entire
    A game that makes you think outside the box.

    Deus Ex is just a pleasure to play, never once do you get frustrated at the game, every mistake is your fault. Is it faultless? No, but that doesn't make it any less of a masterpiece. Deus Ex has such a riveting story with so many intriguing characters most notably Morgan Everett and Walton Simons that will keep you engrossed for your entire playthrough. The gameplay is also superb allowing for many different experiences each playthrough as there are so many ways to complete an objective. You can kill, knock out or simply avoid your enemies, the choice is yours. There's also many ways to get to your objective.

    The graphics are obviously outdated (but it kinda has it's own charm) but with the OpenGL renderer the game still plays like a dream and I was using fairly meh integrated graphics on my Linux PC, I would go against using the DirectX renderer, even on Windows, runs like total balls. The soundtrack is also wonderful and adds even more immersion to the levels, my personal favourite being Enemy Within. The voice acting is awful, but has a charm and I actually like the way it is as opposed to Human Revolution.

    Just get this game. It's one of, if not the greatest PC games of all time. If you don't like it.... "What a shame"

    P.S. I encountered a game breaking glitch where everyone in my save was aggro at me, this could simply be due to using Ubuntu to play this game using Wine, but my advice, save a lot. The glitch set me back 45 mins.
    Expand
  37. Nov 13, 2014
    9
    I finally played and finished this great cyberpunk themed FPS-RPG-stealth hybrid genre classic. You are JC Denton, international United Nations Anti-Terrorist Coalition (UNATCO) peace force agent fighting NFS terrorist organization in dystopian 2052 New York. New, unknown virus ("the grey death"), widespread zyme drug addiction, police curfew are the reality. You aren't just a regularI finally played and finished this great cyberpunk themed FPS-RPG-stealth hybrid genre classic. You are JC Denton, international United Nations Anti-Terrorist Coalition (UNATCO) peace force agent fighting NFS terrorist organization in dystopian 2052 New York. New, unknown virus ("the grey death"), widespread zyme drug addiction, police curfew are the reality. You aren't just a regular person, you are nano-augmented. This means you have bionic upgrades giving you almost superhuman capabilities in some fields.

    The game has some first person shooter qualities. There are multiple types of firearms including pistols, shotguns, sniper and assault rifles, experimental plasma guns, tranquilizer darts and various melee weapons including swords, batons, crowbars and knives. You can also use various grenades and explosives. But here come the RPG qualities: you are initially inexperienced with all of these weapons and as the game progresses you need to choose skills to upgrade. How about some stealth? You don't have to upgrade your fighting skills. You can upgrade swimming, lockpicking and hacking. Deus Ex is not-so-linear and usually you have more than one way to finish a level. Fighting is one option, but usually you can also crawl into ventilation ducts, climb some ladders, jump some containers and find yourself on the other side without having killed a single person (or bot).

    Along with upgrading your skills, you choose and upgrade your bionic augmentations. Your game tactics will depend on implants you choose. There are 18 types of implants, but you only have 9 slots. You get to decide whether you prefer to install Speed Enhancement or Run Silent implant. Will you need Ballistic Protection (reduced bullet damage) or EMP Shield (protection from electrocution which is used by some bots)? To use your augmentations you need to use bioelectrical energy and you need to plan carefully, because it has limits.

    JC Denton will discover conspiracy, traitors, surprising allies in many locations, all of them with neo-noir feel. New York City, Hong Kong (think Blade Runner), Paris, Area 51, ships, hotels, underwater labs. The plot is really long, has many surprise twists and gives you multiple choices, including three quite different endings. Music is quite cool and fits the atmosphere of the locations. Graphics... well, the game was released in 2000, so it's a little disappointing as of 2014, but if you can get over average graphics, Deus Ex is amazingly immersing.
    Expand
  38. Feb 10, 2014
    10
    A lot of people claim that Deus Ex: Human Revolutions is a better game than it's predecessor. And that may be true, in some ways. HR certainly has prettier graphics, among other improvements. But it's not the same. Deus Ex was an RPG shooter. The sequel is a shooter with RPG elements that follows the cookie-cutter plan of every cover based shooter game on the market. Cover based shooting,A lot of people claim that Deus Ex: Human Revolutions is a better game than it's predecessor. And that may be true, in some ways. HR certainly has prettier graphics, among other improvements. But it's not the same. Deus Ex was an RPG shooter. The sequel is a shooter with RPG elements that follows the cookie-cutter plan of every cover based shooter game on the market. Cover based shooting, magically regenerating health, XP based upgrade system, not to mention the fact that based on the controls, it's a console game first and a PC game second. Original game may not stand up in terms of prettiness, but it has a better story, more entertaining gameplay, good music, endings that don't consist entirely of stock footage with a vague monologue laid over...

    Honestly, if this game were to be redone today, it would probably be the best thing ever. It's got plenty of fun to it, plenty of runtime (Story takes forever to push through, but it's not a drag) detailed, fleshed out world, interesting characters, and a matrixey feeling that you're not just playing a game, you're playing art.

    I guess that's the biggest part. Human Revolutions is a game. The original Deus Ex is a game too, but it's also art, it's also a story, it's also a whole world to explore.
    Expand
  39. Mar 20, 2013
    9
    Outstading, truely ahead of it's time, despite the combat system being extremely annoying.
  40. Jul 27, 2015
    10
    Eidos Interactive's fps/rpg hybrid masterpiece is the Mona Lisa of video games. Even today, Deus Ex impresses with it's incredible freedom and intelligent design. There are seemingly limitless ways to play the game and the challenge of finding the best way to suit your play style is endlessly rewarding and fun. Few games rival Deus Ex in terms of depth, even fifteen years down the line.
  41. Apr 29, 2014
    10
    Believe it or not, only today, 2014, I grabbed a copy of this classic from the days of 2000. And I have to say, this game blew me away! To kick off, the graphics are amazing! Obviously, nowadays graphics like this are crap, but at the time this game surely had graphics from 2003-2004.
    The biggest and best feature of the game is definetely the gameplay. In each mission, you have multiple
    Believe it or not, only today, 2014, I grabbed a copy of this classic from the days of 2000. And I have to say, this game blew me away! To kick off, the graphics are amazing! Obviously, nowadays graphics like this are crap, but at the time this game surely had graphics from 2003-2004.
    The biggest and best feature of the game is definetely the gameplay. In each mission, you have multiple branching decisions and approaches. Almost every goal comes with little secondary goals, that if you complete, can get you various rewards, whether it's money or a giant canon. Almost every action you take is accounted in the story. For example, one time I was on the UNATCO HQ, I entered the ladies bathroom, so when I went to debrief with my boss, he warned me not to do it! LOL
    The biggest problem is probably the AI. If you're quick, or far away, you probably can pass right in front of guards and they won't notice.
    Anyway, whether you're in 2001, or 2091, this game is a classic, worthy of its score.
    Expand
  42. Dec 6, 2012
    8
    Deus Ex was another nostalgic title that is one of my all time favorites and I
  43. Aug 3, 2011
    9
    There's not a lot to say that you won't get from the hundreds of other reviews here. The story is very well done, and the gameplay is a very original FPS/RPG hybrid. At times the game seems just slightly repetitive, and that's the only thing holding it back from a 10.
  44. Nov 3, 2015
    10
    I Complete this game 01.11.15 (two days ago)

    Some will say this game is one of the best pc games ever if not the best game ever made. I can`t argue with neither. I certainly think it is the best pc game ever, and arguably the best game ever made (the only game that i may say is better no matter platform is persona 4 golden). NB: I have yet to completed planescape tornment but, those 8
    I Complete this game 01.11.15 (two days ago)

    Some will say this game is one of the best pc games ever if not the best game ever made. I can`t argue with neither. I certainly think it is the best pc game ever, and arguably the best game ever made (the only game that i may say is better no matter platform is persona 4 golden). NB: I have yet to completed planescape tornment but, those 8 hrs i have played is absolutely brilliant.

    Over to deus ex. While the graphics isnt top notch and the gameplay may have some errors/bugs not that i found any or anything wrong with the gameplay that in anyway bothered me.

    And for a fps/rpg/stealth hybrid the story is fantastic and while it is perhaps not the best story in a video game is still a very well written and told story with well written dialogue between npc`s. Some of the locations and environments you visit is done in a brilliant way.

    But there is three reasons this game shines and is for me the best game that i have ever probably played. For one the plot themes it takes is some of the best parts in the game, along with the freedom of choice, both in how you want to play and in choises with npc. You can play the game non lethal and lethally with one or two exploits you can complete the game without killing anyone and lastly the universe and how the characthers look and are is done in a magnificent way.

    Did i mention the music, the score is brilliant well done it helps in a very good way to immerse yourself in the world.

    This is one of the few games i have played that has pulled me so well into the world, into the characters and the locations.
    Expand
  45. Jan 20, 2013
    9
    A hybrid of FPS and RPG, Deus Ex can easily be considered a cult-classic amongst story-driven games. Though the graphics of the game are rather dated, it should not matter in the long run because the gameplay is truly the heart of the game. The score of the game is so memorable that you will be humming these tunes even at the very end of the game.
  46. May 9, 2016
    10
    Do you want to run in the firefight, guns blazing, or do you want to sneak around and flank? Do you want to snipe? Or maybe you want to hack some terminals and get droid reinforcement? Or, what if you talked to that NPC guard over there and convince his team to take a lunch break? Deus Ex’s world is so freeform that the choices seem endless.

    While it looks like a shooter, Deus Ex is all
    Do you want to run in the firefight, guns blazing, or do you want to sneak around and flank? Do you want to snipe? Or maybe you want to hack some terminals and get droid reinforcement? Or, what if you talked to that NPC guard over there and convince his team to take a lunch break? Deus Ex’s world is so freeform that the choices seem endless.

    While it looks like a shooter, Deus Ex is all about role-playing elements. Fire a gun you’re not skilled in and your aim won’t matter—you’ll most likely miss. The leveling system rewards experimentation, and some of the later upgrades make your Denton feel like a superhero. Even the weapons you use can be modified and “leveled up,” turning a standard issue pistol into an unstoppable killing tool. The attention to detail here is perfect, and no one element of the game ever truly feels forced.

    Deus Ex’s world is built to reward exploring every dark alley and ventilation system, because you never know where you’ll find a new clue. And there are a lot of clues -every note you find or sign you see seems to hint at some new conspiracy, and we love how the alliances in the game feel constantly in flux. The NPCs you meet are just believable enough to make this conspiracy-laden world feel lived-in. Human Revolution looks better, but this is the smarter, more open-ended game.
    Expand
  47. Jan 6, 2011
    9
    One of the best games I've played. Too much of action and long levels in the end part, but I guess you can run through it with the correct augmentations, so that isn't necessarily a problem. What I liked most was the plot and the illusory freedom of choice.
  48. Jan 14, 2013
    8
    Open FPS RPG that doesn't feel like either side is tacked on. Nice dystopian cyberpunk atmosphere and some sweet music. A few balance issues and terrible voice acting.
  49. egn
    Mar 12, 2013
    10
    What can be said that hasn't already been said about this game? It's...really, it's one of those very rare games that just nails it. It's really basically perfect. Ultimate fun, ultimate immersion, and an ultimate experience. This is one of the first RPGs I ever played where you have a choice, where the way you play actually affects the outcome of the game. In some ways I think a lotWhat can be said that hasn't already been said about this game? It's...really, it's one of those very rare games that just nails it. It's really basically perfect. Ultimate fun, ultimate immersion, and an ultimate experience. This is one of the first RPGs I ever played where you have a choice, where the way you play actually affects the outcome of the game. In some ways I think a lot of games after this have tried to emulate that format, because it was so amazing in this game. If you haven't tried it yet, go for it. Really, get it. Expand
  50. Jul 25, 2013
    9
    Deus Ex is a revolutionary game, an RPG with FPS, Stealth, and Adventure elements which would combine open-ended non-linear gameplay scenarios with a gripping, if at some times ridiculous conspiracy-laden story. But while the foreigners may have horrible voice acting, the graphics haven't aged well, and the story can occasionally get ridiculous, the quality and influence of Deus Ex isDeus Ex is a revolutionary game, an RPG with FPS, Stealth, and Adventure elements which would combine open-ended non-linear gameplay scenarios with a gripping, if at some times ridiculous conspiracy-laden story. But while the foreigners may have horrible voice acting, the graphics haven't aged well, and the story can occasionally get ridiculous, the quality and influence of Deus Ex is immeasurable. Deus Ex may as well be a game you are required to play at this point. Expand
  51. Aug 30, 2013
    9
    It's for sure one of the best FPS/RPG game but it's not perfect. I don't know why but I really don't like a soundtrack of this game. In a few moments it just doesn't fit to this game. I can't explain better because of my weak English I am sorry. The rest is great. We can pass every level/mission in a different way (because there are so many different ways). Exploring yes that's why youIt's for sure one of the best FPS/RPG game but it's not perfect. I don't know why but I really don't like a soundtrack of this game. In a few moments it just doesn't fit to this game. I can't explain better because of my weak English I am sorry. The rest is great. We can pass every level/mission in a different way (because there are so many different ways). Exploring yes that's why you should play this game. Also the story, atmosphere and characters makes this game so good. Expand
  52. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    Utterly brilliant.

    You are given such freedom and the immersion is so great that you can really engage with this game in a way few others manage. A masterpiece of game design and has yet to be bettered in the action/RPG genre.
  53. Apr 15, 2016
    10
    Me volo la cabeza, lo juegue en el 2003 y desde ese entonces cada ves que pienso en el una parta de mi se queda en blanco y la otra retrocede en el tiempo a aquellas tardes con mi pentium 4. El mejor juego de la historia.
  54. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    Best game ever....of all time. Well o.k. it is showing it's age some but what an epic story! The graphics are of the era when just moving your jaw when you talked was cutting edge. Still, it has more content than any three modern games put together. The music was terrific and always matched the locales. The environments were varied and they offered multiple solutions to it's sand-box styleBest game ever....of all time. Well o.k. it is showing it's age some but what an epic story! The graphics are of the era when just moving your jaw when you talked was cutting edge. Still, it has more content than any three modern games put together. The music was terrific and always matched the locales. The environments were varied and they offered multiple solutions to it's sand-box style missions. My only complaint after twelve full play-troughs is that the inventory and crate-breaking got a bit tedious. The weapons were fun to use and the world seemed richly populated with characters that had their own stories. May we see more games like this again once the brown-shooter-dark-age is over. Expand
  55. Sep 14, 2013
    10
    This game is absolutely amazing. The story is compelling and your actions have consequences. There is always a different way to complete an objective and the game is challenging on harder difficulty especially if you challenge yourself by making it so you cant kill anyone. Overall the game is pure gold.
  56. Jun 11, 2011
    10
    I still remember walking around the streets of chinatown, and hearing that hilarious accent, I **** loved this game! Your review must be at least 150 characters long.
  57. Dec 19, 2012
    10
    Among the best games ever made. There's just so many ways to play and complete your tasks: you can avoid killing, try silent killing or just shoot everything standing in your way. The storyline is superb, I could have never imagined that video games could be philosophical.
  58. Nov 10, 2013
    10
    Very fun, very immersive, very intriguing. A great game. Original gameplay. Original story. This is a beautiful game. At least in the game sense. Visually, this game looks like crap. The graphics were bad even for it's time. Graphics, however, should never dictate a score, it just leaves a little more to the imagination. That is why I give this game a solid 10 out of 10. I have neverVery fun, very immersive, very intriguing. A great game. Original gameplay. Original story. This is a beautiful game. At least in the game sense. Visually, this game looks like crap. The graphics were bad even for it's time. Graphics, however, should never dictate a score, it just leaves a little more to the imagination. That is why I give this game a solid 10 out of 10. I have never before seen a more perfect game. Expand
  59. Nov 18, 2013
    10
    This is my favorite game of all time, and it may be yours. This game is an RPG with action elements, and you can do what you want in the game. You can go through the entire game without killing a single characters, even grunts! You can go through the game mattering on the skills you choose, your good at hacking? Hack that console to turn on a turret and wipe out a room of bad guys. Good atThis is my favorite game of all time, and it may be yours. This game is an RPG with action elements, and you can do what you want in the game. You can go through the entire game without killing a single characters, even grunts! You can go through the game mattering on the skills you choose, your good at hacking? Hack that console to turn on a turret and wipe out a room of bad guys. Good at stealth? Sneak past them knocking out only that ones you have to. And many, many more ways to go through this monster of a game. The characters in this game feel so real, you may forget you are playing a video game. The graphics are great for the time, especially with a game this long. If you are playing on realistic (highest difficulty in the game) it can take you 15 hours, and even more. The first level alone takes an hour. I still remember when this game came out, and my parents buying it for me, still have my original copy; Anyway, this game has huge replay value, you can take the game a whole different route! Guns blazing? Or Silent? You decide. Expand
  60. May 12, 2011
    9
    One of the best and arguably most important games for the PC. Great story and gameplay that lets you choose either with stealth or brute force to complete missions. Only problems I have with it is it's ropey graphics (even at the time) and the weapons feel limp and lifeless. This is the template for so many of today's games.

    Dragon's Tooth Sword FTW!
  61. Mar 19, 2012
    10
    An alright game I guess. Obviously there are elements of hype and nostalgia in play here for many people but even taking account of those things this is still a very special game. Don't believe anyone who tells you it's perfect but it's still very deserving of praise. Five stars.
  62. Mar 30, 2012
    10
    Like a lot of people said, this game got many things wrong. Lousy accents for foreign characters, terrible graphics, conspiracy plot that borders on the ridiculous and of course not being able to hit a headshot on a guy even if you're pointing the gun a few centimetres behind him. But no matter what, you can't help getting pulled into the game by its wonderful ability to show how muchLike a lot of people said, this game got many things wrong. Lousy accents for foreign characters, terrible graphics, conspiracy plot that borders on the ridiculous and of course not being able to hit a headshot on a guy even if you're pointing the gun a few centimetres behind him. But no matter what, you can't help getting pulled into the game by its wonderful ability to show how much your decisions matter. Small decisions can go a long way in the game's plot and its very interesting to see it unfold at a later point of the story. And then, there's the atmosphere and setting which is probably the best part of the game, you can really feel the bleak cyberpunk future where people are struggling to survive. Not only that, the levels in Hong Kong and Paris are perhaps the best parts of the game even though it should be obvious to some that it looks nothing like the real thing. Characterization is also interesting, even though the hero JC Denton is blunt and monotoned most of the time. Still, the dialogue is rather humorous if not corny. It really baffles me why no game has come close to achieving the feel Deus Ex created (even the highly praised Mass Effect series). The only beef I have with this game is that its hard to get it working right on my laptop. Expand
  63. Aug 25, 2016
    10
    a game that has managed to stay in my 'top 5' for over 15 years

    if you haven't played it all the way through at least once you really, truly, are missing out
  64. Oct 26, 2012
    10
    Deus Ex is a game that proves, even with it's flaws, that it can still be the greatest game of all time. I played this game in 2012, and am currently undergoing my second playthrough. And by god, it is amazing. The freedom of choice, the stellar map design, the augs, the story...... Even with it's flaws, such as the sometimes stupid AI or the strange aiming system, the rest of the contentDeus Ex is a game that proves, even with it's flaws, that it can still be the greatest game of all time. I played this game in 2012, and am currently undergoing my second playthrough. And by god, it is amazing. The freedom of choice, the stellar map design, the augs, the story...... Even with it's flaws, such as the sometimes stupid AI or the strange aiming system, the rest of the content by FAR makes up for it. Expand
  65. May 25, 2013
    10
    Deus Ex has got to be one of the greatest games of all time. Yeah, some may complain that the graphics are horrible but, the game was released in 2000, and at that time, these graphics were high quality. This game is still regarded as the greatest game of all time, and I agree with that statement.
  66. May 10, 2014
    9
    A good game for its time. Plenty of customization (that actually matters), good stealth mechanics and a pretty interesting storyline. I would have given this a 10 but I remember controlling your character was a little clunky and at first it irritated me, although I did get used to it and had a blast with this game.
  67. Jun 30, 2013
    10
    This game is brilliant, although many people have said that it hasn't aged well and isn't all that good anymore, I didn't play this game until about 2011 and it was still by far the best game I have ever played.

    Deus ex has a brilliant story and the gameplay is unbeatable, the inventory in this game is brilliant and I don't understand why an inventory like that is very rarely featured
    This game is brilliant, although many people have said that it hasn't aged well and isn't all that good anymore, I didn't play this game until about 2011 and it was still by far the best game I have ever played.

    Deus ex has a brilliant story and the gameplay is unbeatable, the inventory in this game is brilliant and I don't understand why an inventory like that is very rarely featured in a game nor do I understand how a health bar and automatic health regeneration is better than being able to break your arms and legs and having to find a medkit or medbot to repair them.

    The skills system is great as you can choose whether you will prefer pistols over machine guns, be great with lockpicks or anything else that can possibly benefit you in missions. Although I didn't find much use for any of the augmentations other than the health regeneration one or the one which makes you invisible to robots it was still good that we had the option to complete missions in many unique ways.
    Expand
  68. Apr 25, 2014
    10
    FANTASTIC. Ignore all those idiots who gave this game a low rating. This is likely a all-time-top-5-game in RPG genre. Great voice acting, great plots, great commands, easy learning curve, a bit hard to master.
    Tho graphics are somewhat dated now, this is indeed a Great game. Go for it, and have fun.
  69. Aug 7, 2011
    10
    Deus Ex was something new. Something far outside the box. It took freedom of choice to a new level by breaking things down perfectly. It had incredible gameplay, incredible characters, and an unbeatable storyline. No game had ever done what Deus Ex did. It balances action, humor, suspense, and plot like no other to date.
  70. May 13, 2012
    10
    Deus Ex comes within sight of perfection, and I say this having played it for the first time in 2011. (So don't accuse me of being nostalgic, jerks!) It is filled with multitudes of interesting gameplay ideas yet never loses focus. This game would never be caught dead initiating cutscene combat sequences to carry out some contrived event (as Human Revolution will). Simply the best story IDeus Ex comes within sight of perfection, and I say this having played it for the first time in 2011. (So don't accuse me of being nostalgic, jerks!) It is filled with multitudes of interesting gameplay ideas yet never loses focus. This game would never be caught dead initiating cutscene combat sequences to carry out some contrived event (as Human Revolution will). Simply the best story I have ever seen in a video game combined with a deep gameplay system. A word of warning though: the targeting system is very clunky and caused me to despise the game when I first attempted it. This is responsible for most of the negative reviews. Expand
  71. May 19, 2012
    10
    Another of the best games I think, have been made for PC. He is the founder of a new genre that blends strategy, role and fps. There are many ways to progress through the game, many end is anything but linear, that makes it unique and special. A work of art.
  72. Oct 16, 2012
    10
    One of the best game i have played. Its perfect in all senses, only riuned in part with that animations...but nothing important having in mind how awesome it is.
  73. Feb 20, 2011
    10
    The best game I have ever played. It got a great story, wonderful gameplay with multiple path choices and a lot of rpg elements from exploration xp to a great skill system. I have played it at least 4 times and today no game I have played or know about is even close in the enjoyment this game have given me.
  74. Dec 20, 2010
    10
    It's conceivable that they could just remake this game everytime the graphics industry moves up a notch. I'd still replay from start to finish and probably find a piece of conversation or alternative mission strategy that hasn't cropped up the last 20 times.

    Best. Game. Ever. Hardcore and badass throughout. Nothing has compared since.
  75. Aug 17, 2011
    10
    Despite being part stealth, part shooter and part rpg, it actually manages to transcend any sort of pigeon hole and becomes a genre unto itself. And what an astounding one it is too. Very good combat, a nice variety of enemies and a great selection of weapon choices making real changes to the feel of gameplay sum up the fighting, both ranged and melee. The stealth is a challenge whichDespite being part stealth, part shooter and part rpg, it actually manages to transcend any sort of pigeon hole and becomes a genre unto itself. And what an astounding one it is too. Very good combat, a nice variety of enemies and a great selection of weapon choices making real changes to the feel of gameplay sum up the fighting, both ranged and melee. The stealth is a challenge which requires genuine care and thought but provides great satisfaction when successful. The rpg elements and skills/augmentations allow you to tailor your character in a way that is very rewarding and allows for several playthroughs that give a different feel.

    Finally, these elements are bound tightly together by an amazing story that includes many memorable moments and wonderfully created characters, locations and situations. Easily one of the greatest games of all time and my personal favourite.
    Expand
  76. Jun 24, 2011
    10
    This game is amazing,its a futuristic cyber punk game where corporations and hidden groups controll the people in various ways,it suffers of an epidemic called gray death and the vaccine called "Ambrosia" cannot be delivered to anyone,riots wreck the streets,people are desperate for the vaccine.

    It mixes RPG with FPS perfectly,you can use lockpicking,computer skills,bypassing
    This game is amazing,its a futuristic cyber punk game where corporations and hidden groups controll the people in various ways,it suffers of an epidemic called gray death and the vaccine called "Ambrosia" cannot be delivered to anyone,riots wreck the streets,people are desperate for the vaccine.

    It mixes RPG with FPS perfectly,you can use lockpicking,computer skills,bypassing circuits,stealth,agression and secondary routes to complete your missions and objectives,on top of that,you get a prfect nano augmentantion system for you are a super advanced experiment that instead of using mechanical augmentations,uses this new pieces of technology,you can have various abilities this way.

    its only problem is that you might hafe to play it twice to get all the details of the plot or understand it because its a bit complicated.
    Expand
  77. Aug 27, 2011
    10
    Simply one of the best games ever created. Just finish Deus Ex:HR (prequel of Deus Ex) and will now start classic DX again :-) If thats your plan too: Make sure to use the new HighRes Package from http://www.moddb.com/mods/deus-ex-new-vision
  78. Dec 23, 2011
    10
    Ignore the limited number of negative reviews surrounding this game. This has to be one of the greatest RPG video games to ever exist. Sure, the graphics look shoddy nowadays, but the characters, storyline and gameplay still hold up today. It will keep you hooked from start to finish, and lets you play however you want.
  79. Jul 27, 2012
    10
    Quite rightly considered by many as the greatest PC game of all time. This is simply stunning and when it was released in 2000 it completely rewrote gaming.

    The best thing about this game is that it doesn't feel like a game. The levels are so huge, the characters so interactive, and the puzzles solved in so many different ways that this feels like a limitless world. Every element comes
    Quite rightly considered by many as the greatest PC game of all time. This is simply stunning and when it was released in 2000 it completely rewrote gaming.

    The best thing about this game is that it doesn't feel like a game. The levels are so huge, the characters so interactive, and the puzzles solved in so many different ways that this feels like a limitless world. Every element comes together perfectly: an incredible storyline that has you tied up in knots, gameplay that allows you to play the way you want to play, and an augmentation system that lets you mould your character in weird and wonderful ways.

    Do you want to be a stealthy assassin? Then develop your hacking, sniping and running silently skills, stick a silence modification on your sniper rifle and away you go. Want to run round shooting anything that moves? Then level up your ballistic shielding, stick a couple of recoil modifications on your machine gun, and let's get to work. As long as you have a consistent plan, any gameplay style is catered for.

    I'm still waiting to play a game since Deus Ex that even comes close.
    Expand
  80. Aug 22, 2013
    10
    I wish I had never played this game so I could play it through now and relive the experience. Compared to recent games it doesn't stand a chance, but if you can look past the graphics and the old game engine (which were both fine when it was released) then a great and immerse story is waiting for you. This game is simply the best FPS-RPG adventure ever made.If you haven't played it yet,I wish I had never played this game so I could play it through now and relive the experience. Compared to recent games it doesn't stand a chance, but if you can look past the graphics and the old game engine (which were both fine when it was released) then a great and immerse story is waiting for you. This game is simply the best FPS-RPG adventure ever made.If you haven't played it yet, get on it. You won't be sorry. Expand
  81. Feb 3, 2014
    10
    Simply and by far the best game ever. BUT, you should be aware of its flaws. They are very similar to flaws of its prequel "Human Revolution". In the begining, game is perfect, you have big maps to explore, but as ending closes in, it´s very hectic and straightforward. You lose freedom, not freedom of choice (both games have great endings and you can choose one of them), but freedom ofSimply and by far the best game ever. BUT, you should be aware of its flaws. They are very similar to flaws of its prequel "Human Revolution". In the begining, game is perfect, you have big maps to explore, but as ending closes in, it´s very hectic and straightforward. You lose freedom, not freedom of choice (both games have great endings and you can choose one of them), but freedom of movement. Maps are small and boring, but luckily, its only last levels in both games, but you should be prepared. After many big maps from NY, Hongkong or Paris you must swallow bitter corridors in Area 51 or Underwater base. Expand
  82. May 4, 2014
    10
    This game is one of the best games I have played. Meaningful choices, several paths for accomplishing missions, tons of secrets and an epic story. Best cyberpunk thriller in game form! If you haven't played this, there is a modded HD version available!
  83. Oct 22, 2014
    10
    When I played the game in 2000, is was unsurpassed. Then I played it again a few years later, and recently too, 14 years after it was released. This time round, I downloaded some graphic mods which lessened the impact of outdated graphics.

    The verdict? Still the best PC game ever. The plot, the dark atmosphere of a civilisation spiralling into chaos, the conspiracy theories, the level
    When I played the game in 2000, is was unsurpassed. Then I played it again a few years later, and recently too, 14 years after it was released. This time round, I downloaded some graphic mods which lessened the impact of outdated graphics.

    The verdict? Still the best PC game ever. The plot, the dark atmosphere of a civilisation spiralling into chaos, the conspiracy theories, the level design-it is simply amazing and nothing since has compared to it, period.

    Minor gripes are the character model quality and animations are still that of a 14 year old game, but really, it is still top!
    Expand
  84. Apr 4, 2015
    10
    The best game I would recommend anyone! seriously, the story and everything about it is brilliant. The game is all about fighting crime to get down to the bottom of things, with your augmentation, you are JC denton!
  85. Dec 25, 2015
    10
    If you know your PC classics, you know Deus Ex. Flawlessly combining Role-playing, FPS, and Stealth in a dystopian future makes it a truly unique experience. Deus Ex definitely ranks up there with the PC greats.
  86. Dec 15, 2016
    10
    Great game. Best FPS - RPG of all the time. Great combitation of all: heroes charisma, interesting gameplay and clever RPG - system. Only two sins - stupid II and graphics, but it's so small fee for all brilliance of this game. And if even 16, 30, 50 years past - you must play it. 10/10
  87. Oct 16, 2010
    9
    I have spent many hours, days and weeks playing this. Excellent storyline and atmosphere, many ways how to play it - with a rocket launcher or hidden in shadows, just how you like it.
  88. May 25, 2011
    10
    Best Game ever when you know that not even the people who made it, cannot even repeat the same level of genius that this game is. It is truly one of kind in terms of level design, story, atmosphere, characters and things that are not even seen in other games. Whenever somebody mentions the name of this game people reinstall it back onto their computers, but in my case I always keep itBest Game ever when you know that not even the people who made it, cannot even repeat the same level of genius that this game is. It is truly one of kind in terms of level design, story, atmosphere, characters and things that are not even seen in other games. Whenever somebody mentions the name of this game people reinstall it back onto their computers, but in my case I always keep it installed on my PC to remind me how amazing gaming can get. Expand
  89. Aug 17, 2011
    10
    I bought this game during summer camp 2011 on steam. Wow! It is 11 years old and it still so entertaining! There are so many things to do, to discover, to read, they thought about everything. It's a must play, if you can handle low graphics (which were amazing for the time) you should enjoy a lot!
  90. Mar 30, 2012
    9
    The story is a very well written amalgamation of every paranoid conspiracy of the last five decades, set in a not too distant or unrecognisable future. You are given the chance to mould and guide your hero from humble bureacratic beginnings to a place in the annals of human history. Give Manderley a punch from me on your way up.

    The game is a seamless melding of FPS and RPG. A clever
    The story is a very well written amalgamation of every paranoid conspiracy of the last five decades, set in a not too distant or unrecognisable future. You are given the chance to mould and guide your hero from humble bureacratic beginnings to a place in the annals of human history. Give Manderley a punch from me on your way up.

    The game is a seamless melding of FPS and RPG. A clever twist lets you augment your character with bionic abilities, which can be found in canisters while exploring the game. Most upgrades grant one physiological ability and lock out another permanently, but the detailed inventory and character information pages let you browse the upgrades and plan ahead.

    The experience based skills system lets you can choose how well you can use items and weapons, if at all. For example, if you haven't put points into rocket launchers, there are subtler methods of bypassing security systems: lockpicking, electronics and computer hacking. Packrats rejoice, this leads to a diverse array of item pickups: credit chits containing digitised money, personal organisers with codes and passwords, biological modification canisters, modification packs for weapons (capacities, fire rates, silencers, etc), lockpicks, multimeters, food or medkits for healing and even chapters from an in-game book. Usually, at least once per level, you'll get a chance to buy items from a black market trader or use your information to rummage through hidden or locked stockpiles.

    Though the graphical models may look dated, all of these features create a rich gameplay experience that, in my opinion, hasn't yet been surpassed in this genre.
    Expand
  91. Nov 7, 2011
    10
    I can's say much, just that Deus Ex is the best game I have ever played, I can go on and on giving reasons to justify that but I don't need to waste my time with that since all the other people's reviews are the same thing.
  92. Mar 3, 2012
    10
    Basically, play this game. Full of little flaws and far from perfect, and yet still in the top 5 games of all time... which should give you an indication of just how good it is. Of all the 'classic old' games it's probably aged the best, the atmosphere is just unrivalled, outlasting the graphics. Even the creators haven't come close to replicating it's genius.
  93. Nov 18, 2012
    10
    This is, without a doubt, the best game ever made. If I had to narrow down why that is so, it would probably be its impeccable execution. Ignoring the graphics of the time and the limitations of the Unreal engine, this game is near flawless. People sometimes criticize the voice acting, but I think it ads flavor to the whole experience. What would DX be without "What a shame." and "Oh myThis is, without a doubt, the best game ever made. If I had to narrow down why that is so, it would probably be its impeccable execution. Ignoring the graphics of the time and the limitations of the Unreal engine, this game is near flawless. People sometimes criticize the voice acting, but I think it ads flavor to the whole experience. What would DX be without "What a shame." and "Oh my god, JC, a bomb!", right?
    The narrative flows seamlessly, the characters (even the minor ones) are beautifully fleshed out and the game play is rewarding and fits with the story. Oh, and everything makes sense. Don't you just hate those games that make you go WTF?? Well, that never happens with this game.

    Deus Ex discourages shooting stuff and instead encourages alternative, preferably non-confrontational ways of completing missions. You have a multitude of ways to avoid fights, and a multitude of ways to dispatch enemies without having to shoot them. Characters even scold you for shooting stuff up. You're not compelled in any way to go in guns blazing, unless you specifically want to. So why this game is being judged as an FPS is completely beyond me.
    Expand
  94. Feb 23, 2014
    10
    The original Deus Ex is probably the best fps/rpg game ever made. With a 30 hours campaign full of action, stealth, exploration and filled with one of the best story of any videogames this game definitively enters the podium for the best game ever made.
  95. Oct 29, 2014
    10
    All i have to say about Deus Ex is that it is my 58 times that i replay this awesome game and that i am still finding new ways to play it ! I hope that one day i will found a other game like it !
  96. Nov 11, 2015
    10
    I'm not surprising anyone when I say it's one of the best games of all time. Everyone has already said it.

    This game more than deserves it's high review scores.
  97. May 9, 2017
    9
    So let me start this review by saying that Deus Ex - a computer game initially released for Microsoft Windows in june 2000 - is not, and has never been, a role-playing game, but rather a first person shooter game with RPG elements. Now that we have gotten that inconvenience out of the way we can finally start to analyze the game and the impact it had on the industry as a whole.

    The
    So let me start this review by saying that Deus Ex - a computer game initially released for Microsoft Windows in june 2000 - is not, and has never been, a role-playing game, but rather a first person shooter game with RPG elements. Now that we have gotten that inconvenience out of the way we can finally start to analyze the game and the impact it had on the industry as a whole.

    The story takes place in the near future with JC Denton - an agent of the counter-terrorist agency UNTACO - as the protagonist. In a world where widespread terrorism and panic are the norm, different organizations fight each other to see who gets to rule this orwellian dystopia, with the main character being forced to pick a side on this conflict he has no hopes of fully comprehending. Technological advancements were not followed by appropriate ideologies, resulting in a macabre setting where agents of the state become machines through powerful enhancements in the form of augmentations, blindly following orders for their superiors with a half-assed patriotic excuse about "protecting the homeland". In the meantime, the terrorists use a convenient modified version of the same speech in an attempt to justify the inhuman acts they too perpetuate.

    In terms of gameplay, Deus Ex is primarily a stealth game with role-playing and action elements sprinkled in between, though you can play it in a "guns-blazing" fashion if you prefer that way. Players can also use a variety of abilities in order achieve the goals settled by game such as hacking ATMs and computer terminals, lockpicking doors, bypassing security devices or even destroying physical barriers with weapons.

    The augmentations mentioned in the second paragraph also work their way into the core of the game. Throughout the journey players can find canisters that, when "installed", give JC a special ability that can be used at the cost of a separate energy meter to perform certain tricks that make the game a bit easier. For instance, one augmentation allows Denton to run without making noise, which can make the process of dealing with enemies up close a bit quicker. Said augmentations can also be upgraded to be more efficient with the help special containers found randomly in the world.

    Gunplay, on the other hand, could have been much better. The main problem is that the developers decided to turn weapon accuracy into a stat like damage and range. Instead of making the players feel accomplished by putting time into upgrading this particular element, it makes them frustrated because their bullets are not hitting the enemies even though they are like 3 feet away from them. There also doesn't seem to be a dedicated reload button for some reason, meaning that if you have just 3 bullets left on your pistol and want to reload it, you will have to waste the rest of your precious ammo (and keep in mind that this game was released 2 years after Half-Life).

    The health system, out of all things, is another interesting factor. It differs from other games by giving each limb a separate life bar, with head and torso being the two critical body parts that must be protected in order to prevent a game over. This allow for some neat and dynamic effects like not being able to jump if your both of your legs have been severely damaged. However, not being able to be choose to heal members individually with medkits is something that drastically contrasts such a deep mechanic, and I am not sure why Ion Storm decided to take this course.

    What may have once been a groundbreaking game for its time is rather dated nowdays. Though Deus Ex is still very fun to play if you can stomach some rusty mechanics, it has not aged nearly as well as other critically acclaimed 5th generation games. On the other hand, time hasn't treated it as badly as something like Goldeneye 007 which, let's face it, is pretty much a mess in the current video game era. Even with its age I still consider Deus Ex a game that should be sitting in every PC gamer collection. It's got a good story, occasional good level design and overall enough gameplay variety to keep players interested.
    Expand
  98. May 19, 2011
    10
    Deus Ex is the best PC game of all time. It perfectly blends shooting and stealth elements with RPG mechanics. Its multi-path level design still remains unsurpassed by any other game. All time classic. 10/10
  99. Aug 31, 2011
    10
    This has got to be one of the best games ever made, the storyline just drags you in the charicters are deep and fit well, the shooting system and inventory are very similar to the first game but more polished. I only hope they expand this and make another game. The inventory holds just enough equipment to make you have to think what you need rather than what you want. Like any deus exThis has got to be one of the best games ever made, the storyline just drags you in the charicters are deep and fit well, the shooting system and inventory are very similar to the first game but more polished. I only hope they expand this and make another game. The inventory holds just enough equipment to make you have to think what you need rather than what you want. Like any deus ex game there are many vents to crawl through and plenty of places to pick suckers off at a distance with a sniper rifle... you know what they say "you can run but you'll only die tired" the charicters are awsome and i particualry liked Eliza cassan. Come on with the next deus ex game! Expand
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 28
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 28
  3. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. 100
    Moody and atmospheric, compelling and addictive, this is first person gaming in grown-up form, and it truly is magnificent.
  2. CNET Gamecenter
    80
    Oftentimes brilliant, sometimes frustrating, and always riveting, "Deus Ex" could be game-of-the-year material if not for its many glaring flaws.
  3. It is, as a game, everything you could ask for... and it's absolutely a blast to play.