User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 1119 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. KeeganS.
    May 5, 2003
    10
    Stunning, almost nothing I've played compares!!!!!!!!!!!!:)
  2. RobinL.
    Mar 30, 2007
    10
    The best game ever. I remember playing it the first time, it changed the way I looked at computer gaming. Every game I have played since I compare to Deus Ex, and so far not one game has beaten this masterpiece. The atmosphere, the plot, the characters and the abillity to choose how you want to play is probably what makes this game stand out in the crowd. Anyone that claims they're The best game ever. I remember playing it the first time, it changed the way I looked at computer gaming. Every game I have played since I compare to Deus Ex, and so far not one game has beaten this masterpiece. The atmosphere, the plot, the characters and the abillity to choose how you want to play is probably what makes this game stand out in the crowd. Anyone that claims they're real gamers ought to play this game, but it is also a good game to play for people that haven't played much computer games before because of the great plot and atmosphere. Everything combined it feels as if being in a movie, with you being the main character doing all decisions. Expand
  3. LeszekJ.
    Mar 30, 2007
    10
    Excellent, have replayed it many times. Much more thoughtful and less linear than it's sequel.
  4. KitroS.
    Apr 3, 2007
    9
    One of my favorite games of all time. Long, but never felt long-winded. Good voice acting and great story with plot twists. Nifty but simple skill system. Modifyable weapons. A choice of different endings. It also got #1 'best game' award 3 years in a row from Australia's PC Powerplay magazine.
  5. C.L.
    Oct 28, 2008
    10
    To Jared J. I'm assuming you're aware that this game is nearly 9 years old and the chance of it running on a modern PC without serious glitches and faults is highly unlikely, yes? You might want to take that into account. Deus Ex is quite simply one of the greatest shooters of all time. The branching storyline, interesting characters, multitude of gameplay options and choices To Jared J. I'm assuming you're aware that this game is nearly 9 years old and the chance of it running on a modern PC without serious glitches and faults is highly unlikely, yes? You might want to take that into account. Deus Ex is quite simply one of the greatest shooters of all time. The branching storyline, interesting characters, multitude of gameplay options and choices and the dystopian cyber-punk atmosphere are spectacular. Graphically dated, and probably not likely to run on a modern Vista setup without significant tweaking, but well worth the effort. If you like this, follow up with System Shock 2. Expand
  6. David
    Mar 8, 2008
    10
    Best Game ever and to those who complained about dieing and having to rewatch videos, learn to save u bloody idiots. Cincinnati enquirer this is u. And to those who complain of JC's inabilites (ie accuracy etc.) thats half the idea of the game. A creative masterpiece that should be reviewed by people with a eye for beauty and not just thoose expecting a new doom or quake.
  7. DerekP.
    Aug 21, 2008
    10
    It's quite a sight to see a game as old as this one that can still be considered the greatest game money can buy. The storyline, environment, and gameplay all continue to cater to the greatest of a complex gamer's desires, and in our modern world where run-of-the-mill shooters dominate, we can only hope people will look in the past and learn to create plots as great as that of Deus Ex.
  8. LukeO.
    Aug 7, 2008
    10
    Easily one of the greatest games ever made. Intelligent, thought-provoking, and original, with enough variety to keep you coming back - I've been playing it for 7 years and I'm still not bored. Nothing here isn't prefect, from the attribute balancing to the sense of exploration, even the music. A legitimate must-play.
  9. KR
    Jan 6, 2009
    10
    Six months after playing I was still having dreams about this game. I do not hand out 10's lightly, and I have been playing computer games, primarily shooters, since Wolf. 3D. But Deus Ex---wow. If you're of a more intellectual bent and find a story-driven atmosphere important, this game is untouchable. A must-play. The voice acting is great, the story is impeccable, and the Six months after playing I was still having dreams about this game. I do not hand out 10's lightly, and I have been playing computer games, primarily shooters, since Wolf. 3D. But Deus Ex---wow. If you're of a more intellectual bent and find a story-driven atmosphere important, this game is untouchable. A must-play. The voice acting is great, the story is impeccable, and the environment is rich. Reading random newspapers and books on shelves brings out a whole new type of depth in games. The three different endings are clever, and reflecting back on it all it sends chills down my spine because this is what the future could look like. (And I'm not even a conspiracy theory nut.) Best of all is the length---this game is LONG. And that is refreshing, in my opinion. Half way through the game you find out that some of your closest allies weren't on your side after all. Type to re-think everything! Most everything about the game was revolutionary at the time---basically because Deus Ex successfully mixes the RPG and shooter genre. Now, if your only interest is running around and blowing up baddies then you might leave disappointed. In fact, you'll probably get annoyed because much of the game focuses on the story. But for those like an enriching, unforgettable experience---Deus Ex is bar none. Expand
  10. AA
    Mar 5, 2010
    10
    How do you rate a game based on how good it actually is? Replace the graphics with poor graphics and see how well it plays. In this case, Deus Ex plays excellently, and I'm not just talking about the shooting, the sneaking, the RPG, I'm also talking about the storyline. It motivates you to continue further into the game, so when you are playing it, you want to run through it How do you rate a game based on how good it actually is? Replace the graphics with poor graphics and see how well it plays. In this case, Deus Ex plays excellently, and I'm not just talking about the shooting, the sneaking, the RPG, I'm also talking about the storyline. It motivates you to continue further into the game, so when you are playing it, you want to run through it like a bullet, and when you are not playing it, you crave it like cigarettes. There are usually at least 2 ways ( most of the time 3 ways) to approach a problem, adding diversity. There are so many professions you can have, and this game works on the skill tree system so you can make hybrid classes and stuff. Sneaking around without anyone noticing you definitely takes brain work, like figuring out a puzzle and setting up the plan. Of course, you could just go heavy weapons, as this game lets you choose. The plot, most of all, was fantastic and intelligent. HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!! Oh yeah, Cincinnati Enquirer ever heard of a SAVE BUTTON?!!! And GameSpot, GRAPHICS ARE'NT EVERYTHING YOU KNOW! Expand
  11. ShadowProxy
    Apr 3, 2010
    10
    One of the games that turned me into a life time gamer. Everything in Deus Ex just clicks. The story, atmosphere, characters and game play are all woven into each other so well that despite its shortcomings you will get sucked into its world and feel like you are Alex Denton. Even over a decade later with all the enhancements video games have made Deus Ex stands the test of time. A true One of the games that turned me into a life time gamer. Everything in Deus Ex just clicks. The story, atmosphere, characters and game play are all woven into each other so well that despite its shortcomings you will get sucked into its world and feel like you are Alex Denton. Even over a decade later with all the enhancements video games have made Deus Ex stands the test of time. A true masterpiece in video game design. Expand
  12. DoganT.
    Jun 26, 2001
    10
    This game is unbelievable! I love this game!
  13. 5
    Jan 2, 2002
    10
    I haven't played it for a while but it still stands out as one of the better PC games in my mind. Blending stealth, RPG style leveling up (sort of), FPS action, and a very compelling story. Throw in 4 different endings, branching paths, different upgrades to add to your character and you get the replay value there. The graphics could be more polished but they get the job done good I haven't played it for a while but it still stands out as one of the better PC games in my mind. Blending stealth, RPG style leveling up (sort of), FPS action, and a very compelling story. Throw in 4 different endings, branching paths, different upgrades to add to your character and you get the replay value there. The graphics could be more polished but they get the job done good enough, i liked the audio throughout the game though. That death throe voice by JC makes me laugh. HA. This review's getting too long, have fun. Expand
  14. EthanG.
    Jun 19, 2003
    10
    Blew my mind.
  15. MikkelM.
    Mar 15, 2004
    10
    The best game every with it's gripping plot and cool "bad guys".
  16. Chimp
    Jun 3, 2005
    10
    The best game ever played. Ignore the graphics. Ignore the AI and physics. This game is almost perfect. The only flaws are that some of the augmentations are much more useful than others. This game is so open and free, there are countless ways to do things. People even discovered ways to beat missions that the developers didnt know about(without cheating of course.) The level design is The best game ever played. Ignore the graphics. Ignore the AI and physics. This game is almost perfect. The only flaws are that some of the augmentations are much more useful than others. This game is so open and free, there are countless ways to do things. People even discovered ways to beat missions that the developers didnt know about(without cheating of course.) The level design is without a doubt the best in any game ever made, bar none. And the plot...oh the plot. Extremely gripping. The first time Icarus speaks was one of the coolest moments in any game I've ever played. Expand
  17. WillR.
    Jul 10, 2005
    10
    Best game of all time. If you do not own this game, find it and buy it. The sequel is worth picking up as well only if you have a good rig, but the sequel is not quite as good. They are both excellent games and well-worth playing. I pray to god that there is going to be a third one despite the death of Ion Storm developer.
  18. AndyH.
    Oct 10, 2006
    10
    This game is the only FPS style game that has ever caught my attention so memorably. Alongside GTA and the old X-Com series of games, this is undeniably in a league of its own. Many newer gamers view Half Life 2 as the modern equivalent of an iconic game, but this in no way compares to the brilliance of Deus Ex; try this once and you will understand exactly how Deus Ex forces you to move This game is the only FPS style game that has ever caught my attention so memorably. Alongside GTA and the old X-Com series of games, this is undeniably in a league of its own. Many newer gamers view Half Life 2 as the modern equivalent of an iconic game, but this in no way compares to the brilliance of Deus Ex; try this once and you will understand exactly how Deus Ex forces you to move the goalposts when rating every other subsequent game. It acts as a forceful comparator to remind you of just how close to perfection a game needs to be to compete. The graphics are looking rather dated in modern times, but it is the intricate and interactive plot and intense characterisation that makes Deus Ex tower far above its peers. Six years on and there has still never been a better game within this genre, or even one that comes close for that matter. There Expand
  19. Brisk
    Jan 5, 2006
    10
    Make no mistake, this is the greatest single-player experience for the PC. There are so many incredible momments in Deus Ex, and it truly raised the bar wth regards to interactivity, story telling, and open-ended gameplay. Expect a game that will demand your full attention, and will keep you engrossed for many, many hours. An extraordinary achievement, and a testament to the skill and Make no mistake, this is the greatest single-player experience for the PC. There are so many incredible momments in Deus Ex, and it truly raised the bar wth regards to interactivity, story telling, and open-ended gameplay. Expect a game that will demand your full attention, and will keep you engrossed for many, many hours. An extraordinary achievement, and a testament to the skill and imagination of the developers. Expand
  20. RitchieT.
    Jun 6, 2006
    10
    Best game I've ever played, and it's now 2006.
  21. DarioD.
    Aug 24, 2006
    10
    Easily one of the best video games ever made. It incorporating a great story, RPG-style inventory with experience points used to increase skills, fun combat with countless weapons and items, good music, memorable events and dialogue, incredible replay value, and an extremely dynamic and lengthy campaign, which is different every time you play, due to the incredible amount of freedom. Easily one of the best video games ever made. It incorporating a great story, RPG-style inventory with experience points used to increase skills, fun combat with countless weapons and items, good music, memorable events and dialogue, incredible replay value, and an extremely dynamic and lengthy campaign, which is different every time you play, due to the incredible amount of freedom. After playing through the game 5 times, I still found many new things and places that I had never found before, and triggered events and plot twists that I hadn't come across in 4 play-throughs. Each playthrough was with a drastically different approach, as the game incorporates many different play-styles, including playing with "realistic" combat damage for those who wish to. Not enough can be said about this game. It's like "The Godfather" of video games, in more ways than one. Expand
  22. PatrickS.
    Sep 17, 2006
    10
    It is a MUST buy/play for a hardcore FPS player. Truly a great game with an amazingly twisted storyline and plot that could be beaten in one one of four different ways.
  23. SHODAN
    Oct 15, 2007
    10
    One of the pinnacles of the, sadly past, golden era of PC games.
  24. JC
    Jan 2, 2007
    10
    One of the best game ever! Perfect design comes together with really useful RPG element. And at the end... do you want to shot your way through the game or maybe stealth is the way you like?
  25. ChrisR.
    Feb 27, 2007
    10
    Absolutely, positively #1 on my list of all time favorite games. It's now Feb or 2007 and I just got finished playing through DX again and my only regret is that I can't go back and play it again for the first time, before I knew all the little tricks and secrets of the game.
  26. LoganD.
    Apr 3, 2007
    10
    Deus Ex is the single most groundbreaking game I have ever played.
  27. IndoS.
    Apr 6, 2007
    10
    This could be the game of the millenium ....... one of or maybe the best game i ever played to date...re-play value is amazing ... a must to own ...
  28. DaveB.
    Sep 8, 2007
    10
    Hands down, Deus Ex has one of the most interesting storylines of any game ever. Gameplay is so open-ended you can replay it 30 times and have situations react and change diffrently everytime. Incredibly fun, interesting, and even (at times) funny. Highly recommended.
  29. TomC.
    Sep 9, 2007
    10
    Still one of the best games ever, 7 years on! Very few games still give the option of taking a different route throught the game and multiple endings - you can play this game several times and still be suprised! A now downloadble on Steam, a must get!
  30. JCD.
    Jan 3, 2008
    10
    Best game I have ever played. No way near the best action FPS and and probably not the best RPG (I dont play RPGs so how would I know?), but when you play this with a "sneaky style" instead of usual "terminator style" games its amazing.
  31. NickS.
    Feb 23, 2008
    10
    what do i need to say that hasnt been said about this game... It has one of the best story lines i have seen in a game, and the fact that there a fairly large sections of the game that you can completely miss if you are not paying attention. The sheer variety in this game should keep even the non FPS fans happy with some cool RPG elements. simply put, a truly superb masterpiece... nice what do i need to say that hasnt been said about this game... It has one of the best story lines i have seen in a game, and the fact that there a fairly large sections of the game that you can completely miss if you are not paying attention. The sheer variety in this game should keep even the non FPS fans happy with some cool RPG elements. simply put, a truly superb masterpiece... nice one ion storm... Expand
  32. SamB.
    Mar 25, 2008
    10
    A storyline that only becomes more and more relevant to modern society, a game that makes you think and a wide range of playing styles all equally immersive. Only way I can see to improve it would be to bring the graphics up to date, but considering it's 8 years old I think that can be forgiven ...
  33. MikeM.
    Apr 5, 2008
    10
    Hands down, the best game I have ever played... And I've probably played more games than most gamers.
  34. Jamie
    Jul 2, 2008
    10
    Well, what can i say? This has got to be my all time favourite game. I've played many classics- Doom, Quake and Half-Life. However what struck me about this game was the storyline. Ok so Half-Life has a great storyline and many people agree, but I have to say Deus Ex's is much better. Its the fact that its so immersive and compelling. I also love the way in which the player is Well, what can i say? This has got to be my all time favourite game. I've played many classics- Doom, Quake and Half-Life. However what struck me about this game was the storyline. Ok so Half-Life has a great storyline and many people agree, but I have to say Deus Ex's is much better. Its the fact that its so immersive and compelling. I also love the way in which the player is able to control the outcome of the game. There are so many things to do- like playin pool or swimming around the statue of liberty! If i was to talk about all the amazing things about the game, i'd be here forever. Basically to sum it up- its got a great storyline, brilliant characters and an array of gameplay methods. I have gave it a ten but i'd go beyond that. Deus Ex is just a great game. Pure and simple. Expand
  35. AnonymousMC
    Jul 8, 2008
    10
    If you haven't played this game, I envy you, it's one of the finest examples of it's genre. The learning curve is somewhat steep and the first level is one of the hardest in the game, but the story and everything else about the game is well worth the effort you'll put into that first level and more. It redefined the FPS genre and revitalised it. Superb gaming.
  36. AnonymousMC
    Sep 21, 2008
    10
    A masterpiece, just so ahead of its time. Just epic in its scope, and while it's not flawless by any means, it's just one of the most amazing games ever made.. the depth and detail in the story.. all the way through to the final quote at the end - it feels like you've been through an experience - how games should be. Sadly there's not many like this one.
  37. SonOfA
    Apr 21, 2009
    10
    One of the best games I have ever played and a game I have judged all other games to since. No game has ever had me so engrossed and engaged as this one. Amazing and captivating story line and so many different ways to get to your destination or finish off you enemies depending on items, weapons, or ammunition. The graphics are very dated by todays standards but it is the story line that One of the best games I have ever played and a game I have judged all other games to since. No game has ever had me so engrossed and engaged as this one. Amazing and captivating story line and so many different ways to get to your destination or finish off you enemies depending on items, weapons, or ammunition. The graphics are very dated by todays standards but it is the story line that will get you. This was one of the first video games I got for my Mac about 10 years ago and I am itching to play it again on Steam...so so tempting!! Expand
  38. MkeJ
    Jan 23, 2010
    10
    Easily one of, if not "the", greatest PC games ever made. The gold of this game is the plot line. The graphics are dated as of now (2010), but the story line is unparalleled. No other game has come remotely close to having as compelling a plot as Deus Ex. This game is on a very short list of games that must be played if you consider yourself a serious gamer.
  39. GilbertM.
    Nov 19, 2002
    10
    Oh...my...good...God... this...game...is...good.... though I wish people would stop calling it an FPS (Metacritic an honourable exception). It's a damn RPG! Just because it's in first person and your character holds a gun, doesn't mean it's an FPS! It's much deeper and more complex than that.
  40. PeterK.
    Apr 19, 2004
    10
    One word - SICK.
  41. JamesM.
    Nov 27, 2005
    10
    What the last few guys said. Best game ever.
  42. AndrewA.
    Dec 16, 2005
    10
    This game is a MUST play for any pc gamer
  43. Darkmage
    Feb 23, 2005
    10
    To give you some idea of how amazing this game is, I just re-installed it and played the entire thing (Jan & Feb 2005) for a 2nd time. It was as absorbing and amazing as when it was first released. I didn't feel the need to cheat on the game at all, even the 2nd time through. If you missed this game, you really MISSED the best game of the new millenium.
  44. JesseC.
    Aug 21, 2006
    10
    Amazing story, engaging gameplay, multiple paths throuh every level, great dialogue and voice-overs, cool weapons and locations, cool abilities, bio-modding yourself is great too. Nothing at all bad to say about this game. Been my favorite game since it's release.
  45. Belmont
    Nov 23, 2007
    10
    The best game ever made, do I need to tell anything else? Storyline, gameplay, freedom, RPG-system... Amazing.
  46. JohnT.
    Oct 19, 2007
    10
    Amazing, captivating story line. When I run out of games to play, I always go back to Deus Ex and I'm never disappointed.
  47. Hellkeeper
    Dec 4, 2007
    10
    The only game that could improve FPS' reputation : it's not just a brainless shooter, you'll find yourself thinking about politic, philosophy, ethic... No one can achieve Deus Ex without experiencing a tremendous change in his vision of the world. This will be the best game ever made for a long, long time, if ever beaten.
  48. ChrisV.
    Apr 1, 2007
    10
    One of the best PC games ever published. Multiple endings, an intriguing storyline and memorable characters make this game one of the very best.
  49. AndrejG.
    May 23, 2007
    10
    It is definitelly the best game ever for me. I played it 10 times :).
  50. Borisg68
    Jun 25, 2007
    10
    A game just as compelling as HL2 and yet it is seven years old. Endlessly replayable, one of the most epic storylines in gaming history, graphics that don't make me want to throw up, great techno music, gameplay as rich as you want it to be in every situation- Deus Ex really has it all. Forget what's happening with the 360 and PS3- this game on the PC IS NEXT GENERATION. A game just as compelling as HL2 and yet it is seven years old. Endlessly replayable, one of the most epic storylines in gaming history, graphics that don't make me want to throw up, great techno music, gameplay as rich as you want it to be in every situation- Deus Ex really has it all. Forget what's happening with the 360 and PS3- this game on the PC IS NEXT GENERATION. Unsurpassed to this day. Expand
  51. DevinS.
    Jul 16, 2007
    10
    By far the best video game I've ever played. It has the perfect proportion of action, thought, and exploration. I've played this game over 15 times through, and I've never been bored once. This is truly a lifetime accomplishment for whoever came up with the idea/plot of this game. Sure it's old now, but it still is immensely enjoyable.
  52. AidenM.
    Jul 21, 2007
    10
    This game has a depth of story that puts half life to shame..... if you can put up with the first level and the steep learning curve.
  53. ShawnB.
    Jul 29, 2007
    10
    Easily the best characters & storyline I have ever seen in a game. The combination of rpg & fps still hasn't been matched in any game since. I 've had this game since it came out & it still gets play. If you've never played this, get it now! Oh yeah, and don't bother with the sequel.
  54. WayneB.
    Sep 25, 2007
    10
    I'm still waiting for a truely worthy successor after a full seven years. In this genre nothing comes close - though many have tried.
  55. Neville
    Sep 26, 2007
    10
    In my top 5 games of all time, and I've been playing games for 20 years. The storyline and wealth of optional background information that fleshes out the plot has never been bettered in my opinion. This game has a very effective 'illusion of choice' - so although the plot is ultimately linear it is extremely satisfying. I never realized until now how underrated this game is In my top 5 games of all time, and I've been playing games for 20 years. The storyline and wealth of optional background information that fleshes out the plot has never been bettered in my opinion. This game has a very effective 'illusion of choice' - so although the plot is ultimately linear it is extremely satisfying. I never realized until now how underrated this game is by the critics! Expand
  56. JohnL.
    Jan 11, 2008
    10
    To this day this is the best game I ever played. Nothing before or since has drawn me like Deus Ex. A dystopian universe filled with plot twists, philosophical & tactical choices & an array of gagets & weapony unrivalled in any other game. I've played it through several times. Deus Ex is long game which leaves you yearning for more.
  57. MarkC.
    Jan 13, 2008
    10
    This game is a legend, no game I know of can match the great plot, the fantastic locations, the gameplay and overwhelming amount of "little extras" that you may only discover several playthroughs later, I gave it a 10 because this is Exactly the kind of game I want to play, and the sheer power of the game completely overshadows the unspectacular graphics and unsophisticated AI.
  58. AnonymousMC
    Dec 17, 2008
    10
    Number one game I have ever played. I'm truly sorry if you encountered bugs or found it too hard or determined that the graphics are too dated, because you are missing out on the pinnacle of video gaming. Other than surface level issues due to aging (textures, limited NPC voice actors and models, ets.), the game is perfect.
  59. Andy
    Oct 24, 2008
    10
    Echoing others' comments and for the same reasons, this is unquestionably the greatest game I've ever had the pleasure of playing. Let's pray the upcoming third installment follows this, not its uglier (though still decent) sequel. Ignore Jared: this game was made over eight years ago. It's bound to have compatibility issues with today's modern software (i.e. Echoing others' comments and for the same reasons, this is unquestionably the greatest game I've ever had the pleasure of playing. Let's pray the upcoming third installment follows this, not its uglier (though still decent) sequel. Ignore Jared: this game was made over eight years ago. It's bound to have compatibility issues with today's modern software (i.e. Windows Vista) and video cards. It's certainly worth persevering with though! Expand
  60. RobertL.
    Feb 1, 2008
    10
    This is what a great shooter is really like! It has amazing replay value and is fun each time. There is so much to do and each time is different.
  61. TomW.
    Feb 23, 2008
    9
    This is a good game. You can shoot stuff, there are RPG bits, it's all very easy to pick up and play and the story is interesting. Kinda like Half-Life but with RPG bits like characters you can talk and effect, and skills you can hone.
  62. SteveR.
    Mar 2, 2008
    10
    Storyline. Atmosphere. Open-ended gameplay. The rush of FPS gaming and the depth of an RPG. This game has everything. I've played at least 60 of metacritic's top 100, and this one trumps them all. Now that it's available in bargain bins for less then 10 bucks, and will run on just about any PC out there, there's absolutely no reason not to play it - especially if you Storyline. Atmosphere. Open-ended gameplay. The rush of FPS gaming and the depth of an RPG. This game has everything. I've played at least 60 of metacritic's top 100, and this one trumps them all. Now that it's available in bargain bins for less then 10 bucks, and will run on just about any PC out there, there's absolutely no reason not to play it - especially if you enjoyed recent FPS/RPG games like Oblivion and Bioshock (or it's predecessor, System Shock 2). Deus Ex is a timeless classic, and while many games have tried to build on it's formula, in many ways it remains unsurpassed. It's just a shame they couldn't follow it up with a better sequel. Expand
  63. ChrisK.
    Mar 29, 2008
    10
    A fantastic game which expertly mixes elements of RPG and FPS, with a beautiful outcome. It doesn't get much better.
  64. MC
    Apr 11, 2008
    10
    The Greatest Game of All Time, a sublime masterpiece.
  65. JaimeS
    Apr 5, 2008
    10
    Graphics are dated, yeah...this game rules. Amazing gameplay and hella engrossing storyline.
  66. AnonymousMC
    May 29, 2008
    10
    This is without a doubt, the best game I have ever played. And I have played a fair number of them. I don't see how people are giving this game low scores.

    This is a defining classing of gaming, if you have not played it yet there is no excuse. It costs at most $10 and since it came out in 2000 anyones PC can run it.
  67. StevenM.
    Jun 19, 2008
    10
    Graphics was a little sluggish but this game is on my top 5... HANDS DOWN. I recall when it came out and how much I sleep I lost. One of the best story lines in a game to this day. Unatco, Fema, Illumanati... spins in all directions but in the end you decided who lives or dies.
  68. Ryan
    Jun 24, 2008
    10
    Greatest game of all time. Nothing can beat its plot...you control the outcome!
  69. MarkW.
    Sep 10, 2008
    9
    A very rewarding, albeit sometimes hard, game. With some of the most amazing plot twists ever found in a first person shooter, the RPG trappings and fantastic atmosphere had me hooked. The only niggle is the difficulty - it can get very hard very fast, and if you don't have the gameplay skills to keep up with the shooting and gameplay you could be left behind. Also be aware - this A very rewarding, albeit sometimes hard, game. With some of the most amazing plot twists ever found in a first person shooter, the RPG trappings and fantastic atmosphere had me hooked. The only niggle is the difficulty - it can get very hard very fast, and if you don't have the gameplay skills to keep up with the shooting and gameplay you could be left behind. Also be aware - this game is somewhat old and will run quite fast on new machines. Given a bit of solid configuration you can have it run like a dream on modern machines. Well worth a look in for anyone who fancies something a bit deeper and different! Expand
  70. AndyB
    Sep 25, 2008
    10
    Best game ever made. Equal only to games like System Shock 2 or Bioshock. For those of you that NEED good graphics there are multiple upgrade packs you can get. And if you are experiencing the "fast and slow" graphics, there are fixes for that too... diligence will be rewarded :) Basically, this game is like the 1984 of our generation (those of us born around 1984 oddly enough). As JC you Best game ever made. Equal only to games like System Shock 2 or Bioshock. For those of you that NEED good graphics there are multiple upgrade packs you can get. And if you are experiencing the "fast and slow" graphics, there are fixes for that too... diligence will be rewarded :) Basically, this game is like the 1984 of our generation (those of us born around 1984 oddly enough). As JC you will learn many things in the Deus Ex universe that are true in our universe as well. If you want to see things like, divide and conquer, or problem-reaction-solution; This game is full of that. Haha... i just read the review below me... "over-ratted" that's hilarious. Expand
  71. UbayO
    Nov 6, 2009
    10
    What more can be said? Just that I'm reinstalling it again. Let's hope that we can get an appropriate sequel to this game. It haven't appeared yet...
  72. Thomas
    Jan 21, 2009
    10
    This is certainly one of my favorite games of all time. I loved the gameplay style and the multiple routes through the game meaning I still enjoy playing through it today. The game challenges you to think and the plot is well thought out with good twists. By todays standards the visuals are not top notch, but the game itself still shines through. Deus Ex is definitely a must for any gamer.
  73. JosephM
    Dec 29, 2009
    10
    A simply amazing example of what a action/fps/rpg should be like. While the graphics are extremely dated by today's standards, the story and gameplay are still great. In my opinion, Deus Ex is in the top 10 RPGs of all time. Really is sad that they dumbed the sequel's gameplay mechanics down.
  74. S.Woodman
    Jan 29, 2009
    10
    I agree with Jared J. that the game is over-ratted - there are too damn many rats! every other trashcan or garbage bag, when broken open, has at least one rat inside. Is the NYC of the future really so badly infested? Seriously though, this game is immensely awesome. I bought it when it came out, and was too little (11) to get past even the stealth part of the training exercise, much less I agree with Jared J. that the game is over-ratted - there are too damn many rats! every other trashcan or garbage bag, when broken open, has at least one rat inside. Is the NYC of the future really so badly infested? Seriously though, this game is immensely awesome. I bought it when it came out, and was too little (11) to get past even the stealth part of the training exercise, much less the first level. I've come back to it after all these years, though, and I am absolutely drowning in awesome. The graphics hold up pretty damn well for a game its age. Expand
  75. ML
    Mar 23, 2009
    10
    Hands down my favourite game of all time. While the core gameplay mechanics can seem unwieldy or slow, and the difficulty curve is askew (starting hard then getting easier) the intelligently written and challenging plot more than makes up for any shortcomings. Gaming is the future of art, and this is it's foundation.
  76. DeeJay
    Mar 4, 2009
    10
    no game yet have been this brilliant in every aspect... gameplay, storyline, atmosphere, unforgettable characters, that's what makes games - games, not graphic. with only few to stand up to this standard (systemshock2 and fallout series maybe) i honestly doubt that one will ever get close to dx, regarding the money making politics in gaming industry today. who knows, maybe dx3 can no game yet have been this brilliant in every aspect... gameplay, storyline, atmosphere, unforgettable characters, that's what makes games - games, not graphic. with only few to stand up to this standard (systemshock2 and fallout series maybe) i honestly doubt that one will ever get close to dx, regarding the money making politics in gaming industry today. who knows, maybe dx3 can set a new standards in gaming, like dx did in it's time... but i think that's a challenge that can't be acomplished. playing nowdays games, seems to me that there's no creativity and enthusiasm anymore. Expand
  77. ShawnS
    Apr 3, 2009
    10
    This is possibly the best game I've ever tried. I like the gameplay mix of both First-Person Shooter and RPG, as it is very original. You also need to be like a master marksman, because to kick the game up a notch they decreased the accuracy of the guns a little. If you're interested in RPG/FPS games, this is the one for you.
  78. ChristianS
    Jun 22, 2009
    10
    Deus Ex is the absolutely best game i have ever played! It is right that its in the beginning harder then later but dont give up it gives you a very good Story, Gameplay, great Atmosphere and so on ;) Deus Ex is not an Action-Game, but a very good rpg-shooter.
  79. LaurenceM
    Aug 14, 2009
    10
    You can't call it an FPS, you can't call it an RPG, you can't call it a Sim. But it combines the absolute best features of all those genres into a single, amazing piece of gaming history. I fell in love with this game 9 years ago when it first came out, and absolutely nothing since has been close. Sure, graphics technology has gotten much better, but this game is so You can't call it an FPS, you can't call it an RPG, you can't call it a Sim. But it combines the absolute best features of all those genres into a single, amazing piece of gaming history. I fell in love with this game 9 years ago when it first came out, and absolutely nothing since has been close. Sure, graphics technology has gotten much better, but this game is so immersive due to its incredible story-line and gameplay, that the graphics simply don't matter. The sequel was no where near as good -- I'm hoping that the game developers learned their lesson from that, and will make DX3 as amazing as DX was. But they have some VERY big shoes to fill. DX was the absolute best game of all time! If you've never played it, go grab it on Steam for $10 -- it's SO worth your time. You will see that this game is the best PC game ever released, despite the graphics technology that is 9 years old now. Expand
  80. StevenH
    Sep 24, 2009
    9
    I don't think I've played another RPG completely through as many times as I have Deus Ex (although Mass Effect must surely be in a close second if not overtaking it). The most remarkable thing about this game is that it actually had a fairly strong story for 2000; a story you wouldn't have to be embarrassed of. The detailed and thoughtful story legitimized the game as art I don't think I've played another RPG completely through as many times as I have Deus Ex (although Mass Effect must surely be in a close second if not overtaking it). The most remarkable thing about this game is that it actually had a fairly strong story for 2000; a story you wouldn't have to be embarrassed of. The detailed and thoughtful story legitimized the game as art rather than just a product. Insightful and surprisingly relevant story elements make up the majority of the story. Gameplay is also fairly interesting, although dragging a bit in areas. This usually depends on the mood of the level designers in each area - most levels are very streamlined and flow well with multiple approaches and solutions, although some can be sparse and amateurish, clashing with the semi-espionage gameplay. Music is mostly electronic - appropriate for the game, and occasionally catchy. Most people that remember this game well will recall the music when entering the Wan Chai market in Hong Kong, or the subtle beeping of the UNATCO HQ theme. The game was an appropriate length for its time, but would probably be considered short today, lasting between 10 and 25 hours depending on your involvement in the game, strategy, and your ability to overcome the objectives. There are a few problems with the game, however. Graphics were not that great, even for its time, but the economy of the art is such that the graphics engine's limited resources aren't wasted much. Level geometry tends to be fairly blocky even compared to Unreal Tournament, and especially compared to Quake 3 Arena. Although this could be tweaked if you were familiar with the Unreal engine, it was also difficult getting the game to play in resolutions much higher than 1024 x 768 or in colors higher than 16 bpp. Some of the voice acting is truly pathetic, which I must admit freely despite being an avid fan. The faux-French and Chinese accents are some of the most poorly stereotyped and absurd things I have heard out of a serious video game. Other voices are okay but JC's and Walton Simons' voices have the emotive range of a 2x4. The game didn't ship with multiplayer and it was tacked on in a later patch. Some enjoyed it, but I believe the general consensus was that it was completely awful and the game didn't lend itself to adversarial multiplayer at all. There are some ponderous gameplay elements as well, such as the concept of lock picks and electronic security hacking tools being disposable and expendable. Skill advancement is also based on exploration and objective completion rather than usage, meaning you could swim around in a sunken freighter somewhere and suddenly be an expert sniper (!?), which I thought was strange. A common dispute about the game's story among my friends is whether or not the augmentations that JC picks up are plausible or not. As a helium atom (an incredibly tiny element) is one angstrom across, and the machines described in the game are in the range of nanometers, they could only be a few thousand atoms across, tops, if the packing efficiency of the atoms and their clouds was 100%. Normally the game is more science than fiction - in fact, my bringing this up should tell you the level of expertise you would need before having to suspend disbelief - but this element of the story is somewhat clumsy. Overall, Deus Ex is probably one of the games closest to being "art" that I've played in the past 10 years. People who entered the market since then really missed something by not playing this game. Many will act like Bioshock has a masterful story even though it's essentially Doom but underwater and with dialogue (or more like monologue). If you have not played Deus Ex, then you have missed a very large portion of PC gaming and its history, perhaps equal with not playing Doom, Quake, the blockbuster Blizzard and Valve games, Wing Commander, etc. Expand
  81. MonkeyMan
    Nov 26, 2001
    9
    What's the deal with having all those huge, drawn out, extremely confusing political conversatons with the bar tenders? Infact, why do the bar tenders know so much about government stuff anyway? Hmmmm..... I seem to have stumbled apon another of Deus Ex's many conspiracies....
  82. JoshC
    Jan 16, 2010
    10
    This game is as good as a fps game can get in storyline and complex gameplay. I had this game since it came out, and I played through Deus Ex like 25 times? And yet, no matter how many times I play through this game, I always find something new all the time. This game was a revolutionary piece when it came out, but yet not much praise? It truly deserves so much more. Also playing through This game is as good as a fps game can get in storyline and complex gameplay. I had this game since it came out, and I played through Deus Ex like 25 times? And yet, no matter how many times I play through this game, I always find something new all the time. This game was a revolutionary piece when it came out, but yet not much praise? It truly deserves so much more. Also playing through the storyline, Deus Ex reacts to every decision you make in gameplay. And you come across major plot twists and for every choice you make, there comes a consequence. Deus Ex is a phenomenal game, I can't think a game with a better storyline than this game, its truly a epic experience. I still get goosebumps everytime I play this game. Best game of all time, truly. And I hope they don't mess up Deus Ex 3. Oh please:( Expand
  83. JohnH
    Apr 21, 2010
    10
    Easily the single best FPS/RPG/Adventure hybrid, this game set the standard for next-generation RPGs a decade ago (a standard which, sadly, few have approached since). With gameplay mechanics that found the magic balance between player skill and character attributes, intricate-yet-accessible character customization (skills, augmentations, weapon customization, limited inventory forcing Easily the single best FPS/RPG/Adventure hybrid, this game set the standard for next-generation RPGs a decade ago (a standard which, sadly, few have approached since). With gameplay mechanics that found the magic balance between player skill and character attributes, intricate-yet-accessible character customization (skills, augmentations, weapon customization, limited inventory forcing you to choose equipment suited to your play style), and a strong multi-linear (generally linear plot with multiple routes from start to 3 similar-but-narratively-distinct endings) story that invokes some of the most popular global conspiracy theories of the post-cold-war West, Deus Ex adapted the RPG genre to the FPS interactivity model in a way fans of both genres can appreciate (particularly impressive with respect to RPG fans). The graphics and audio (short loops for ambient sound, rudimentary environmental audio, short soundtrack) are dated, though well-implemented, and the AI scripting is more-or-less the 3-D version of Space Invaders AI (all guns blazing and weave as you CHARGE!), but even today the game is fun and engaging. In fact, despite having played through the story a dozen times or so, I'd gladly shell out another $50 for the same plot and mechanics on a contemporary rendering engine with slightly tweaked AI scripting; I've always wondered why the sequel(s? I haven't checked-up on DX3 recently) decided to mess with a winning formula when they could have kept all of the mechanics and simply made new stories on next-gen engines. Anyway, I can't recommend this highly enough. Expand
  84. MichalW.
    Nov 18, 2003
    10
    Nothing compares to Deus Ex It's simply perfect.
  85. MattK.
    Dec 31, 2003
    10
    Simply amazing......the whole skill system is brilliant and the game has good action puzzles and humour. i guess i suck tho, i died like 6 times on the first lvl on easy setting......its not exactly a shooter as i thought, but still amazing im getting used to it now. you have a lot less ammo then in most games, which forces you to conserve your shots. simply amazing. i cant wait to try Simply amazing......the whole skill system is brilliant and the game has good action puzzles and humour. i guess i suck tho, i died like 6 times on the first lvl on easy setting......its not exactly a shooter as i thought, but still amazing im getting used to it now. you have a lot less ammo then in most games, which forces you to conserve your shots. simply amazing. i cant wait to try the second one too. Expand
  86. PaulO.
    Jul 23, 2004
    9
    An awesome and sadly often overlooked game. The skills system, Nanotech upgrades, weapon upgrades, and the like really make it an in depth gameplay exerience, rather than just another FPS in an overcrowded genre. The storyline is also excellent and compelling. It's a pity the sequel was so watered down. This game deserved better.
  87. IcarusX.
    Nov 11, 2006
    10
    So far, in the history of all games, I have never seen an equal to Deus Ex. If comparing only within the genre, this game is the genre-definer. Compared to all games this is one of the few perfectly executed titles in history, a beacon of light among the pop-corn trash that makes up the majority of the industry. This is no ordinary game, and remains un-matched after 5 years. If you can So far, in the history of all games, I have never seen an equal to Deus Ex. If comparing only within the genre, this game is the genre-definer. Compared to all games this is one of the few perfectly executed titles in history, a beacon of light among the pop-corn trash that makes up the majority of the industry. This is no ordinary game, and remains un-matched after 5 years. If you can allow yourself to believe that a video game could be intelligent, satyrical, immersive, poignant and still incredibly fun, and you haven't bought this title I would be surprised - you have to play it, to believe it. Expand
  88. NathanM.
    Dec 19, 2006
    10
    Something is special here, can't put my finger on it, but needless to say it is without a doubt the greatest game I have ever played. It's almost 2007, and nothing even rivals it yet
  89. MetaP.
    Dec 5, 2006
    10
    An almost seemless blend of flawless RPG elements with fully exciting action/FPS gameplay that will most likely be used as a brilliant example of gaming for years to come. An engaging plot, deep characters, a variety of available playstyles, and truly well-done gameplay create Deus Ex - a masterpiece.
  90. MatthewC.
    Sep 29, 2006
    10
    Deus Ex is my personal favourite game on any platform, the freedom is intelligent, the gameplay dynamic and addictive, and the storyline rivals books and beats most movies. This game is the best game ever made. No overstatements. It's perfect. This game is criminally underscored by critics.
  91. NathanW.
    Nov 17, 2007
    10
    One of the greatest games ever made, im re-re-replaying it again and im finding myself falling in love with it all over, im remembering some of the secrets, and discovering new things that i missed the many times i played it before. this game is an inspiration to my life and raised the bar of game design forever. a must play for everyone.
  92. RL
    Nov 24, 2007
    10
    Even now this game is definitely worth buying. It makes Half-life look like a mindless brain-blower. The implementation of philosophy and political subjects is astounding and so are the gameplay features. Possibly my favourite game of all time.
  93. Lucas
    Nov 24, 2007
    10
    An extraordinary and successful blend of different gaming genres (FPS, Action-Stealth, RPG). Maybe not the "best game ever", but in my opinion, since its original release back in 2000, "Deus Ex" is still the best game of this decade.
  94. Heartshot
    Oct 13, 2007
    10
    Just amazing! Amazing story, gameplay......... amazing!
  95. DomM.
    Dec 21, 2007
    10
    If you havent played this game then please dont even consider it ! The problem with this one is that its so damn good that it will make all other games seem like garbage. Nothing will ever live up to this one (bioshock/crysis/hl2), so gaming will be ruined for ever. This is the best game ever made... you've been warned.
  96. ColbyA.
    Dec 21, 2007
    10
    I agree entirely with what A. R. said. It's a great mixture of different genres. It doesn't have the same character building as D&D, and it doesn't have the same mindless shoot-em-up qualities of Counterstrike, but it blends them both into something beautiful, with an absolutely AMAZING Conspiracy Theory storyline. Definitely one of the better games ever made.
  97. A.R.
    Dec 8, 2007
    10
    This game is incredible. As a pure RPG it can't stand up to Fallout, and as a pure FPS it doesn't play as well as Half Life 2. But Deus Ex mixes both of these elements so beautifully together (and serves it with a side of "fantastic story") that it surpasses both of these mighty games, and essentially everything else. Go buy it! Seriously!
  98. RichardD.
    May 24, 2007
    10
    This is almost certainly the best game I have played during my 30 year gaming "career". It is a shining example of a games developer getting almost everything right. The quality of the script writing and plot development was way ahead of other games, and better than most films too.
  99. AnonymousMC
    Jun 12, 2007
    10
    Simply one of the best games ever made. Richly detailed world, fresh dialogue, and amazing storyline. The futuristic cyberpunk world is so well done that it makes one feel as if he's living in it.

    The replay value is immense: there are three different possible endings.

    Get the high definition texture pack to make the graphics a little better. http://www.offtopicproductions.com/hdtp/ .
  100. JesperS.
    Jun 16, 2007
    10
    Simply put: The best FPS I have ever played. I am writing this comment in mid 2007 and DeusEx is from 2000. It is 7 years old ... and still the best! I even bought it for my younger brother (who had never heard about it before) and he is absolutely amazed. Don't miss this game - no matter what year you live in!
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 28
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 28
  3. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. 100
    Moody and atmospheric, compelling and addictive, this is first person gaming in grown-up form, and it truly is magnificent.
  2. CNET Gamecenter
    80
    Oftentimes brilliant, sometimes frustrating, and always riveting, "Deus Ex" could be game-of-the-year material if not for its many glaring flaws.
  3. It is, as a game, everything you could ask for... and it's absolutely a blast to play.