Deus Ex PC

User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 1116 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JohnH
    Apr 21, 2010
    10
    Easily the single best FPS/RPG/Adventure hybrid, this game set the standard for next-generation RPGs a decade ago (a standard which, sadly, few have approached since). With gameplay mechanics that found the magic balance between player skill and character attributes, intricate-yet-accessible character customization (skills, augmentations, weapon customization, limited inventory forcing Easily the single best FPS/RPG/Adventure hybrid, this game set the standard for next-generation RPGs a decade ago (a standard which, sadly, few have approached since). With gameplay mechanics that found the magic balance between player skill and character attributes, intricate-yet-accessible character customization (skills, augmentations, weapon customization, limited inventory forcing you to choose equipment suited to your play style), and a strong multi-linear (generally linear plot with multiple routes from start to 3 similar-but-narratively-distinct endings) story that invokes some of the most popular global conspiracy theories of the post-cold-war West, Deus Ex adapted the RPG genre to the FPS interactivity model in a way fans of both genres can appreciate (particularly impressive with respect to RPG fans). The graphics and audio (short loops for ambient sound, rudimentary environmental audio, short soundtrack) are dated, though well-implemented, and the AI scripting is more-or-less the 3-D version of Space Invaders AI (all guns blazing and weave as you CHARGE!), but even today the game is fun and engaging. In fact, despite having played through the story a dozen times or so, I'd gladly shell out another $50 for the same plot and mechanics on a contemporary rendering engine with slightly tweaked AI scripting; I've always wondered why the sequel(s? I haven't checked-up on DX3 recently) decided to mess with a winning formula when they could have kept all of the mechanics and simply made new stories on next-gen engines. Anyway, I can't recommend this highly enough. Expand
  2. Mar 2, 2012
    10
    You know what should truly sell you on deus ex? Reading the negative reviews on metacritic. Then cross-compare them with the positive reviews. Then add a dash of common sense and ability to analyse and read between the lines. Now, onto the actual review. Deus ex - has been my favorite game for the past 12 years. And I play a lot of games. Why? It's sure visually aged poorly, it's kind ofYou know what should truly sell you on deus ex? Reading the negative reviews on metacritic. Then cross-compare them with the positive reviews. Then add a dash of common sense and ability to analyse and read between the lines. Now, onto the actual review. Deus ex - has been my favorite game for the past 12 years. And I play a lot of games. Why? It's sure visually aged poorly, it's kind of clunky. So surely that means I deduct a few points right there? No. Deus ex is the true definition of a masterpiece, it gives you true options - options that the lesser masterpiece human revolution can't even match. It still stands alone as something incredible - the only problem is that now people have to look past the age (if they are coming in fresh). Each hub (or sectioned level) offers hundreds possible 'ways' to achieve a simple goal. Let me explain - It's like this; there is a simple thing you need to do. You need to infiltrate a building and get past all the guards in the building so you can download an important document (this is hypothetical). Now, there are about 10-15 different 'ways' you can get into the building and each 'way' has branching 'options'. So options, lead to options, lead to options. You take choice 5 out of 15 and go through the sewers instead of the top, no strike that - you decide going above ground is best, so you get a crane and lower the shaft so you can sneak across onto the roof - no strike that, you decide to go full force and shoot everyone in your path - no strike that, you decide to go to the building manager and get a keypass, now when you open the caravan that the manager is in, it has cameras inside it, so you hack those cameras to work for you. You then threaten the manager with information you have on him, that you picked up off a nearby computer - then you walk past the guards and enter the keypass into the door slot. You walk strait in, and decide to open a vent that leads you to the roof, in which you plant explosives that might distract the guards. You walk up to the heavily guarded entrance to your objective - and you remotely detonate the explosive, all the guards run towards the threat and you walk into the room. Problem solved. Now, that thing you did was one of a few hundred things you could have done to achive that same 8 minute objective. Now you have 30 hours of incredible globe trotting, storytelling, twists turns, cities, exploration - all with that very level of freedom options. It's mindblowing. That's what you need to understand when you boot up deus ex and see some janky graphics and blocky models. No, this is not just 'some first person shooter' dig deeper. And find one of the true miracles of gaming. This game needs a 999/10 score made specifically for it. Masterpiece is a painful understatement. This is a revolution in gaming that never took off. So far ahead of it's time that nothing else can quite match it. I truly hope the developers of human revolution make another deus ex game - because I think they had the right idea. They did not 'quite' pull off 'deus ex'. But I have a feeling they are heading towards something great. And that's promising. Expand
  3. May 25, 2011
    10
    Best Game ever when you know that not even the people who made it, cannot even repeat the same level of genius that this game is. It is truly one of kind in terms of level design, story, atmosphere, characters and things that are not even seen in other games. Whenever somebody mentions the name of this game people reinstall it back onto their computers, but in my case I always keep itBest Game ever when you know that not even the people who made it, cannot even repeat the same level of genius that this game is. It is truly one of kind in terms of level design, story, atmosphere, characters and things that are not even seen in other games. Whenever somebody mentions the name of this game people reinstall it back onto their computers, but in my case I always keep it installed on my PC to remind me how amazing gaming can get. Expand
  4. Mar 16, 2013
    10
    Admittedly, it is hard to go back and play Deus Ex these last few years. The game's age has by far taken its toll on the experience. However, just because I outgrew the game does not mean it is worse than it was 10 years ago. With an overhauled GFX engine this game could easily make its way back into modern gaming libraries. The game had DEPTH! Excellent storyline, characters, andAdmittedly, it is hard to go back and play Deus Ex these last few years. The game's age has by far taken its toll on the experience. However, just because I outgrew the game does not mean it is worse than it was 10 years ago. With an overhauled GFX engine this game could easily make its way back into modern gaming libraries. The game had DEPTH! Excellent storyline, characters, and gameplay. I can admit that time gave deus ex a huge black eye, but before its gfx aged, it was a near perfect game. Expand
  5. C.L.
    Oct 28, 2008
    10
    To Jared J. I'm assuming you're aware that this game is nearly 9 years old and the chance of it running on a modern PC without serious glitches and faults is highly unlikely, yes? You might want to take that into account. Deus Ex is quite simply one of the greatest shooters of all time. The branching storyline, interesting characters, multitude of gameplay options and choices To Jared J. I'm assuming you're aware that this game is nearly 9 years old and the chance of it running on a modern PC without serious glitches and faults is highly unlikely, yes? You might want to take that into account. Deus Ex is quite simply one of the greatest shooters of all time. The branching storyline, interesting characters, multitude of gameplay options and choices and the dystopian cyber-punk atmosphere are spectacular. Graphically dated, and probably not likely to run on a modern Vista setup without significant tweaking, but well worth the effort. If you like this, follow up with System Shock 2. Expand
  6. GuntherH.
    Mar 21, 2008
    10
    Easily one of the best and most engrossing games on the PC. A classic!
  7. Feb 20, 2011
    10
    The best game I have ever played. It got a great story, wonderful gameplay with multiple path choices and a lot of rpg elements from exploration xp to a great skill system. I have played it at least 4 times and today no game I have played or know about is even close in the enjoyment this game have given me.
  8. Mar 18, 2011
    10
    This game is excellent, simply put. Sure, it's really hard, but all games of the time were. When you got a game then, it was all about the single player. If it were short and easy, like most current games are, then it wouldn't have much substance and wouldn't be much fun. The controls take literally a minute to change to modern FPS controls, so you can't really complain about them. UnlikeThis game is excellent, simply put. Sure, it's really hard, but all games of the time were. When you got a game then, it was all about the single player. If it were short and easy, like most current games are, then it wouldn't have much substance and wouldn't be much fun. The controls take literally a minute to change to modern FPS controls, so you can't really complain about them. Unlike many current games, it actually has a decent story and good atmosphere. The game has aged surprisingly well over eleven years. To get an idea of what I mean, go back and play the original Half-Life. Amazing game, but looks so bad it's almost impossible to play. The RPG elements are implemented really well, and any level-ups make an immediate difference in the game. While the inventory system is kind of a pain, it's realistic and works well. There's a reason this game is often hailed as the best PC game of all time: it's excellent. If you don't like it, you don't know a good game when you play it! Expand
  9. ConcreteC.
    Feb 19, 2008
    10
    An instant classic I have played for two years, until I knew every corner, dialogue and scripted event like the back of my pocket. It even tempted me to try speed gaming it. Walton Simons is a wonderfully conceived character, cold voice, arrogance and inhumane ambitions. JC Denton is somehow cool although a cyborg and naive in the beginning. Plus you got to like the nonchalence of An instant classic I have played for two years, until I knew every corner, dialogue and scripted event like the back of my pocket. It even tempted me to try speed gaming it. Walton Simons is a wonderfully conceived character, cold voice, arrogance and inhumane ambitions. JC Denton is somehow cool although a cyborg and naive in the beginning. Plus you got to like the nonchalence of Smuggler. The best Action-Adventure ever. Expand
  10. Oct 23, 2010
    9
    An experience in RPGs you can never forget. This game probably inspired most of the modern open ended RPGs. We can all thank this game for the great games of our generation.
  11. May 12, 2011
    9
    One of the best and arguably most important games for the PC. Great story and gameplay that lets you choose either with stealth or brute force to complete missions. Only problems I have with it is it's ropey graphics (even at the time) and the weapons feel limp and lifeless. This is the template for so many of today's games.

    Dragon's Tooth Sword FTW!
  12. Jun 24, 2011
    10
    This game is amazing,its a futuristic cyber punk game where corporations and hidden groups controll the people in various ways,it suffers of an epidemic called gray death and the vaccine called "Ambrosia" cannot be delivered to anyone,riots wreck the streets,people are desperate for the vaccine.

    It mixes RPG with FPS perfectly,you can use lockpicking,computer skills,bypassing
    This game is amazing,its a futuristic cyber punk game where corporations and hidden groups controll the people in various ways,it suffers of an epidemic called gray death and the vaccine called "Ambrosia" cannot be delivered to anyone,riots wreck the streets,people are desperate for the vaccine.

    It mixes RPG with FPS perfectly,you can use lockpicking,computer skills,bypassing circuits,stealth,agression and secondary routes to complete your missions and objectives,on top of that,you get a prfect nano augmentantion system for you are a super advanced experiment that instead of using mechanical augmentations,uses this new pieces of technology,you can have various abilities this way.

    its only problem is that you might hafe to play it twice to get all the details of the plot or understand it because its a bit complicated.
    Expand
  13. Jul 2, 2011
    10
    This is a classic for a reason: it's a powerful game-play experience you won't soon forget. Granted, it's showing its age and it does take a commitment. It's not a guns blazing FPS. But for those who want a thinking man's FPS, this is it. Great characters, great environment, and great plot. Be sure to also download a few select Deus Ex mods for the best experience, such as New Vision,This is a classic for a reason: it's a powerful game-play experience you won't soon forget. Granted, it's showing its age and it does take a commitment. It's not a guns blazing FPS. But for those who want a thinking man's FPS, this is it. Great characters, great environment, and great plot. Be sure to also download a few select Deus Ex mods for the best experience, such as New Vision, Shifter, Project HDTP, Deus Ex Enhanced, & Kentie's Deus Exe. Seriously, just play this game. If you don't like it, then you need to reevaluate your life. Expand
  14. Aug 7, 2011
    10
    Deus Ex was something new. Something far outside the box. It took freedom of choice to a new level by breaking things down perfectly. It had incredible gameplay, incredible characters, and an unbeatable storyline. No game had ever done what Deus Ex did. It balances action, humor, suspense, and plot like no other to date.
  15. Aug 17, 2011
    10
    I bought this game during summer camp 2011 on steam. Wow! It is 11 years old and it still so entertaining! There are so many things to do, to discover, to read, they thought about everything. It's a must play, if you can handle low graphics (which were amazing for the time) you should enjoy a lot!
  16. Aug 17, 2011
    10
    This game is so good it's still regular makes the top ten best pc games of all time in various charts. It's got everything. I only hope Deus Ex human evolution is half as good.
  17. Aug 27, 2011
    10
    Simply one of the best games ever created. Just finish Deus Ex:HR (prequel of Deus Ex) and will now start classic DX again :-) If thats your plan too: Make sure to use the new HighRes Package from http://www.moddb.com/mods/deus-ex-new-vision
  18. DavI.
    May 24, 2008
    10
    Awesome storyline... The background music is "simply the best".. FPS, RPG, stealth game: you can find every kind of game, in Deus Ex; you can choose how to play: you can play like Sam Fisher, but you can play like Serious Sam. It all depends on you tastes... THE BEST!
  19. JC
    Jan 2, 2007
    10
    One of the best game ever! Perfect design comes together with really useful RPG element. And at the end... do you want to shot your way through the game or maybe stealth is the way you like?
  20. Aug 3, 2011
    9
    There's not a lot to say that you won't get from the hundreds of other reviews here. The story is very well done, and the gameplay is a very original FPS/RPG hybrid. At times the game seems just slightly repetitive, and that's the only thing holding it back from a 10.
  21. Oct 15, 2011
    10
    Deus Ex represents the apotheosis of video-game design. It has never been equalled, let alone surpassed, in this regard.

    To understand Deus Ex requires an understanding of its pedigree. In the nineties, game design was beginning to fall into two different camps: the linear, tightly-controlled setup that could be seen in games like Doom and Quake, and in a more sophisticated fashion Half
    Deus Ex represents the apotheosis of video-game design. It has never been equalled, let alone surpassed, in this regard.

    To understand Deus Ex requires an understanding of its pedigree. In the nineties, game design was beginning to fall into two different camps: the linear, tightly-controlled setup that could be seen in games like Doom and Quake, and in a more sophisticated fashion Half Life, and a more non-linear, experience-led approach. This latter approach was found in comparatively few games, as it was far costlier to make and typically resulted in far fewer sales. For these games, which were later dubbed the "immersive simulators" by Warren Spector, emergent gameplay was king. That meant that the game designer would not explicitly design the experience, but rather would let the player do things their way. Games like Ultima Underwolrd, Thief and System Shock would be the opening salvos of this style of gaming, all of which were popular and profitable, albeit not mega-successes. Deus Ex took things one stage further. As well as allowing most objectives to be completed in numerous different ways, map design was completely non-linear, and bizarre solutions to complex problems could be devised. Under attack in a penthouse apartment? Leap out of the window, break both your legs, and crawl away. Need to get past a laser defence grid, but can't? Try smoking onto it, that'll disrupt the beams. Need to stun two men to get past, but have no weapons? Use a fire extinguisher to blind them in the face. Need to infiltrate a guarded building? Reconnoitre it out, and look for a way in via the roof, or the sewers. Or try and bribe your way in. Need to get past a wall, but don't want to fight the guards? Why not try stacking up physics objects like crates and rubbish bags to make an impromptu staircase? This was the philosophy that underpinned Deus Ex, and no other game since has even tried to be as open to different user play-styles and ingenious solutions. Wrap all that up in a grittily believable world, with just dripped atmosphere and had an incredible soundtrack, and which moreover was filled with deep questions such as "who is really in control of society?", and you have an incredible, incredible game. People who want a high-octane first person shooter in the vein of Half-Life should keep away. This game is far more cold, and calculated, than it is high-octane. Those looking for a Mass Effect-style game, which is brutally linear in the gameplay but allows for some trivial choices in conversations, should also look away here. Deus Ex does things the other way around: conversations are functional and barebones, but the way that the user "chooses" paths comes from what he or she does in the gameplay. As an interactive medium, I believe this is as it should be. This is a game for which I have a lot of love, as you can no doubt see. I think it understood exactly what a game is and what it should do better than any others I have played. It's not for everyone, as I have outlined, nor should it be regarded as perfect (although it is very close). Technology of 2000 was pretty limiting, especially graphically and in terms of AI programming. On the other hand, if you like games at all, and want to experience something a tad more cerebral and involving than the Mass Effects and Call of Duties of the gaming world, then you can do no better than Deus Ex.
    Expand
  22. Nov 18, 2012
    10
    This is, without a doubt, the best game ever made. If I had to narrow down why that is so, it would probably be its impeccable execution. Ignoring the graphics of the time and the limitations of the Unreal engine, this game is near flawless. People sometimes criticize the voice acting, but I think it ads flavor to the whole experience. What would DX be without "What a shame." and "Oh myThis is, without a doubt, the best game ever made. If I had to narrow down why that is so, it would probably be its impeccable execution. Ignoring the graphics of the time and the limitations of the Unreal engine, this game is near flawless. People sometimes criticize the voice acting, but I think it ads flavor to the whole experience. What would DX be without "What a shame." and "Oh my god, JC, a bomb!", right?
    The narrative flows seamlessly, the characters (even the minor ones) are beautifully fleshed out and the game play is rewarding and fits with the story. Oh, and everything makes sense. Don't you just hate those games that make you go WTF?? Well, that never happens with this game.

    Deus Ex discourages shooting stuff and instead encourages alternative, preferably non-confrontational ways of completing missions. You have a multitude of ways to avoid fights, and a multitude of ways to dispatch enemies without having to shoot them. Characters even scold you for shooting stuff up. You're not compelled in any way to go in guns blazing, unless you specifically want to. So why this game is being judged as an FPS is completely beyond me.
    Expand
  23. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    Best game ever....of all time. Well o.k. it is showing it's age some but what an epic story! The graphics are of the era when just moving your jaw when you talked was cutting edge. Still, it has more content than any three modern games put together. The music was terrific and always matched the locales. The environments were varied and they offered multiple solutions to it's sand-box styleBest game ever....of all time. Well o.k. it is showing it's age some but what an epic story! The graphics are of the era when just moving your jaw when you talked was cutting edge. Still, it has more content than any three modern games put together. The music was terrific and always matched the locales. The environments were varied and they offered multiple solutions to it's sand-box style missions. My only complaint after twelve full play-troughs is that the inventory and crate-breaking got a bit tedious. The weapons were fun to use and the world seemed richly populated with characters that had their own stories. May we see more games like this again once the brown-shooter-dark-age is over. Expand
  24. Dec 11, 2012
    10
    Imitators have tried but none have topped this masterpiece. Combines genres flawlessly and has a flexible story that truly changes based on your actions with multiple endings. The only downside are the graphics (which were bad even for their time), but this can be fixed with mods. Any modern PC can run this so you have no excuse for not playing this.
  25. Nov 18, 2013
    10
    This is my favorite game of all time, and it may be yours. This game is an RPG with action elements, and you can do what you want in the game. You can go through the entire game without killing a single characters, even grunts! You can go through the game mattering on the skills you choose, your good at hacking? Hack that console to turn on a turret and wipe out a room of bad guys. Good atThis is my favorite game of all time, and it may be yours. This game is an RPG with action elements, and you can do what you want in the game. You can go through the entire game without killing a single characters, even grunts! You can go through the game mattering on the skills you choose, your good at hacking? Hack that console to turn on a turret and wipe out a room of bad guys. Good at stealth? Sneak past them knocking out only that ones you have to. And many, many more ways to go through this monster of a game. The characters in this game feel so real, you may forget you are playing a video game. The graphics are great for the time, especially with a game this long. If you are playing on realistic (highest difficulty in the game) it can take you 15 hours, and even more. The first level alone takes an hour. I still remember when this game came out, and my parents buying it for me, still have my original copy; Anyway, this game has huge replay value, you can take the game a whole different route! Guns blazing? Or Silent? You decide. Expand
  26. Aug 5, 2014
    10
    No words can do this masterpiece a justice, so I will put it simply: Deus Ex is the best game ever made. I'm playing games for the last 25 years, I played hundreds, if not thousands of titles and I came across many masterpieces and fantastic games, but for the last 14 years my opinion is clear about one thing, the strongest experience i got from a video game, was here with Deus Ex and ifNo words can do this masterpiece a justice, so I will put it simply: Deus Ex is the best game ever made. I'm playing games for the last 25 years, I played hundreds, if not thousands of titles and I came across many masterpieces and fantastic games, but for the last 14 years my opinion is clear about one thing, the strongest experience i got from a video game, was here with Deus Ex and if there ever was a game that should be considered "the best of them all", it's Deus Ex. The Story, the atmosphere, gameplay, level design it's all out of this world, it's like this game is something more than just a game, it's something that cannot be expressed in words, you must play this. Your life is not fulfilled if you haven't played Deus Ex. It's that simple. The soundtrack by Alexander Brandon, omg, that music, I love it to death, Hong Kong theme playing in the background while writing this review Expand
  27. Nov 11, 2015
    10
    A game that makes you think outside the box.

    Deus Ex is just a pleasure to play, never once do you get frustrated at the game, every mistake is your fault. Is it faultless? No, but that doesn't make it any less of a masterpiece. Deus Ex has such a riveting story with so many intriguing characters most notably Morgan Everett and Walton Simons that will keep you engrossed for your entire
    A game that makes you think outside the box.

    Deus Ex is just a pleasure to play, never once do you get frustrated at the game, every mistake is your fault. Is it faultless? No, but that doesn't make it any less of a masterpiece. Deus Ex has such a riveting story with so many intriguing characters most notably Morgan Everett and Walton Simons that will keep you engrossed for your entire playthrough. The gameplay is also superb allowing for many different experiences each playthrough as there are so many ways to complete an objective. You can kill, knock out or simply avoid your enemies, the choice is yours. There's also many ways to get to your objective.

    The graphics are obviously outdated (but it kinda has it's own charm) but with the OpenGL renderer the game still plays like a dream and I was using fairly meh integrated graphics on my Linux PC, I would go against using the DirectX renderer, even on Windows, runs like total balls. The soundtrack is also wonderful and adds even more immersion to the levels, my personal favourite being Enemy Within. The voice acting is awful, but has a charm and I actually like the way it is as opposed to Human Revolution.

    Just get this game. It's one of, if not the greatest PC games of all time. If you don't like it.... "What a shame"

    P.S. I encountered a game breaking glitch where everyone in my save was aggro at me, this could simply be due to using Ubuntu to play this game using Wine, but my advice, save a lot. The glitch set me back 45 mins.
    Expand
  28. 5
    Jan 2, 2002
    10
    I haven't played it for a while but it still stands out as one of the better PC games in my mind. Blending stealth, RPG style leveling up (sort of), FPS action, and a very compelling story. Throw in 4 different endings, branching paths, different upgrades to add to your character and you get the replay value there. The graphics could be more polished but they get the job done good I haven't played it for a while but it still stands out as one of the better PC games in my mind. Blending stealth, RPG style leveling up (sort of), FPS action, and a very compelling story. Throw in 4 different endings, branching paths, different upgrades to add to your character and you get the replay value there. The graphics could be more polished but they get the job done good enough, i liked the audio throughout the game though. That death throe voice by JC makes me laugh. HA. This review's getting too long, have fun. Expand
  29. Chimp
    Jun 3, 2005
    10
    The best game ever played. Ignore the graphics. Ignore the AI and physics. This game is almost perfect. The only flaws are that some of the augmentations are much more useful than others. This game is so open and free, there are countless ways to do things. People even discovered ways to beat missions that the developers didnt know about(without cheating of course.) The level design is The best game ever played. Ignore the graphics. Ignore the AI and physics. This game is almost perfect. The only flaws are that some of the augmentations are much more useful than others. This game is so open and free, there are countless ways to do things. People even discovered ways to beat missions that the developers didnt know about(without cheating of course.) The level design is without a doubt the best in any game ever made, bar none. And the plot...oh the plot. Extremely gripping. The first time Icarus speaks was one of the coolest moments in any game I've ever played. Expand
  30. WillR.
    Jul 10, 2005
    10
    Best game of all time. If you do not own this game, find it and buy it. The sequel is worth picking up as well only if you have a good rig, but the sequel is not quite as good. They are both excellent games and well-worth playing. I pray to god that there is going to be a third one despite the death of Ion Storm developer.
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 28
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 28
  3. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. 100
    Moody and atmospheric, compelling and addictive, this is first person gaming in grown-up form, and it truly is magnificent.
  2. CNET Gamecenter
    80
    Oftentimes brilliant, sometimes frustrating, and always riveting, "Deus Ex" could be game-of-the-year material if not for its many glaring flaws.
  3. It is, as a game, everything you could ask for... and it's absolutely a blast to play.