Diablo II PC

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1033 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. StevenH
    Nov 28, 2009
    3
    The highly anticipated sequel to Blizzard's classic stand-around-the-corner-bonkfest, in many ways Diablo 2 improved on Diablo. You no longer move at an elderly pace, and some classes can even move across the screen within a second or two. Skill trees are fresh and offer new strategy and customization. Stacked belt slots create new and exciting potion mashing in a way that attempts The highly anticipated sequel to Blizzard's classic stand-around-the-corner-bonkfest, in many ways Diablo 2 improved on Diablo. You no longer move at an elderly pace, and some classes can even move across the screen within a second or two. Skill trees are fresh and offer new strategy and customization. Stacked belt slots create new and exciting potion mashing in a way that attempts to ameliorate the broken, simplistic gameplay like never before. Fortunately it's so easy to exploit design loopholes (even despite the horribly simple design) that the difficulty of the previous game is only a slight issue. Also new in this version is 640x480 resolution (gasp!) that really brings the visual acuity to a level never before seen, except perhaps 10 years prior and ever since. Basically the graphics are as awful as they could possibly be with the title still considered to be AAA. The expansion brings the resolution up to 800x600. A few months after that (in 2001), Baldur's Gate: Dark Alliance came out, on a console no less, with graphics that are comparable to the now imminent Diablo 3 (estimated to be released in 2011 or 2012). You can see the trend here. But Blizzard does not focus on graphics! They focus on innovative new gameplay. There had never been a game with similar gameplay to Diablo 2 before... lol. By that I mean Blizzard is full of marketing geniuses that shove mediocre games down our throats until we reward them with billions of dollars. This concludes my review. Expand
  2. J
    May 9, 2005
    1
    Ok, so this game was playabkle for one year, but in that year I became frustrated and found this game utterly dumb. Single Player: -Lightning enchanted units lightning damage was overpowered on Nightmare and Hell -You could beat each Act in one hour -Mercenaries did more damage then you at lower levels -Diablo was harder then BAAL Multiplayer: -hacking/very little security Ok, so this game was playabkle for one year, but in that year I became frustrated and found this game utterly dumb. Single Player: -Lightning enchanted units lightning damage was overpowered on Nightmare and Hell -You could beat each Act in one hour -Mercenaries did more damage then you at lower levels -Diablo was harder then BAAL Multiplayer: -hacking/very little security -Sorceress/Amazon overpowered all others in PVP -Sorceress/Amazon skills overpowered -Assassin traps could hug town gate. -Overpowering items -The divine SOJ was overated and many "Rare" items were underated -Uniques were overated. -Many of the sets were meant for only 1-2 characters. Expand
  3. Griper
    Jan 8, 2008
    0
    Diablo II, I will not deny that in it's time... as an MMO, Diablo was SWEET... but it isn't now. Also, FYI, Stop rateing the game based on the expansion... that has a whole other thingy... Either way, Diablo II is Diablo I fixed... and broken... But I will not deny it was fun to play. Unfortunatly the online component is very dead... yes some people still play, but not enough to Diablo II, I will not deny that in it's time... as an MMO, Diablo was SWEET... but it isn't now. Also, FYI, Stop rateing the game based on the expansion... that has a whole other thingy... Either way, Diablo II is Diablo I fixed... and broken... But I will not deny it was fun to play. Unfortunatly the online component is very dead... yes some people still play, but not enough to warent picking the game up again. I do remember, I had specced a Fireball based Sorr... and pitted myself against a sorr that was a few levels higher than mine... Tele based. If anyone thinks Lightning is POWERFUL... PLEASE! She ran back into town to aviod dying so many times. (And then got her "friend" to come over and kill me cause she was too weak). Diablo II had fun times... but it never deserved a 10, and it certainly doesn't deserve it now. Expand
  4. RobG.
    Jan 30, 2002
    0
    I would give it less than a zero but that wasnt an option. Any game in volving soo much wackness and booos and fighting cows deserves to be killed. All copies should be emediatly destroyed.
  5. CrotalusA.
    Jul 30, 2006
    0
    An old game that has been little or no support from Blizzard (they support WOW, not this old crappy game) whenever they DO update it, it destroys built characters and makes it unplayable. Ignoring user bugs reported, they instead will suddenly get concerned and lock keys with claims that users are hacking. A poor choice for the money - Zero Support from Blizzard.
  6. JustinM.
    Apr 17, 2002
    1
    My left click finger started to hurt after about an hour from the mindless button mashing. Then I got killed in a battle area swarming with monsters and could not get through them to get my inventory back. Then I uninstalled the game. I gave it a 1 because it is good for strengthening your left click finger!
  7. [Anonymous]
    Aug 31, 2001
    0
    Anyone who can sit and play this game for hours suffers from a severe lack of intelligence. Let me clarify: Why spend money on this game when you can just walk over to the nearest wall and bang on it for a few hours. The effect is exactly the same. This game offers absolutely nothing to anyone with half a brain. Boo!
  8. Jun 9, 2014
    4
    I've tried and tried to get interested in Diablo and Diablo II after hearing so much about them for so much of my life, but I've picked up each about 5 times and both has simply failed to hook me. The thing about Diablo and Diablo-styled games is that they are grindy and tedious. You spend the entirety of the games wandering around drab levels slaughtering wave after wave of enemy (i.e.I've tried and tried to get interested in Diablo and Diablo II after hearing so much about them for so much of my life, but I've picked up each about 5 times and both has simply failed to hook me. The thing about Diablo and Diablo-styled games is that they are grindy and tedious. You spend the entirety of the games wandering around drab levels slaughtering wave after wave of enemy (i.e. spamming your mouse buttons) with egregiously sparse story interlaced. I'm sorry, but it's just not enough to hold my interest for more than a dozen hours. Expand
  9. May 15, 2012
    3
    While the combat animations are smooth and attractive, the graphics would only be pushing the envelope 5 years ago and can only be considered average now. Music is, so far, both immersive and interesting although sounds are a very mixed bag. Voice acting has some good quality to it, but the animations of NPCs in dialogue are spartan at best. If it was possible to alt-tab during dialogueWhile the combat animations are smooth and attractive, the graphics would only be pushing the envelope 5 years ago and can only be considered average now. Music is, so far, both immersive and interesting although sounds are a very mixed bag. Voice acting has some good quality to it, but the animations of NPCs in dialogue are spartan at best. If it was possible to alt-tab during dialogue and still hear the voices, I'd do it. You gain nothing by watching the visuals. As others have said, the skill trees have been "stream lined". I put that in quotes because, as we all know, simplifying something for the sake of simplifying doesn't make a game better. Blizzard assumed their average player was too stupid to handle anything even remotely complex or with any depth. After browsing the Battle.net forums, I'm inclined to agree with them. While I would have given this game a 7/10 for "Average" I am forced to lower the score substantially after their launch debacle. Blizzard chose to make Single Player require a permanent online connection. While this in and of itself is a setback for consumer rights, it reached cluster-f*** status when the entire first day of release the servers were going down every 15-30 minutes and staying down for hours on end. Every single person who told everyone "Don't bother pre-ordering, it's going to be a f***-up anyway" was 100% right. Blizzard is rapidly becoming the new EA when it comes to their respect for consumers. Expand
  10. Nov 28, 2012
    3
    I really wanted to like this game as I have heard much about it and had problems with running it on my pc for a very long time until I was successful. I've played many games old and new and I took into account that this game is not that new. But...as a new player in the diablo universe, my gaming experience was just terrible. The inventory, character death, combat system, talent selection,I really wanted to like this game as I have heard much about it and had problems with running it on my pc for a very long time until I was successful. I've played many games old and new and I took into account that this game is not that new. But...as a new player in the diablo universe, my gaming experience was just terrible. The inventory, character death, combat system, talent selection, quest system, itemization, help features, all those things I didn't like at all and would imagine them to be a lot different if such game was made today. I found myself raging about a lot of things that I think good games should have, perhaps one needs more patience to learn all of the mechanics to enjoy the game, just like in the time this game was released (unlike now, when one has a lot to choose from). Expand
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 34
  2. Negative: 0 out of 34
  1. 86
    Held back from being an EXCELLENT game by the fact that it features no really interesting characters or roleplaying, it only has a few simple quests, its story is paper thin, it has a few technical issues, Battle.net is unreliable, and the gameplay is ultimately shallow and repetitive.
  2. PC Gamer
    94
    Don't steal, but lie and cheat if necessary. As a gamer, it's your duty to own Diablo II. [Aug 2000, p.75]
  3. Spank!
    88
    If you're going to buy one role playing game this year then this has to be it.