Diablo II PC

Diablo II Image
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 34 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1115 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In Diablo II, return to a world of dark fantasy. As one of five distinct character types, explore the world of Diablo II -- journey across distant lands, fight new villains, discover new treasures, and uncover ancient mysteries, all in the quest to stop the Lord Of Terror, once and for all.In Diablo II, return to a world of dark fantasy. As one of five distinct character types, explore the world of Diablo II -- journey across distant lands, fight new villains, discover new treasures, and uncover ancient mysteries, all in the quest to stop the Lord Of Terror, once and for all. [Blizzard Entertainment] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 34
  2. Negative: 0 out of 34
  1. Daily Radar
    100
    Blizzard has scored again with an object lesson in polish, depth and sheer compelling playability.
  2. We all seem to agree on one thing though; this game rocks!
  3. Despite all of its problems, Diablo 2 is as much fun as any action game I’ve ever played and twice as addictive.
  4. Spank!
    88
    If you're going to buy one role playing game this year then this has to be it.
  5. In exchange for the additional complexity and size, you'll have to tolerate low-resolution graphics and a few more gameplay problems than you might have come to expect from Blizzard games.
  6. Da Gameboyz
    81
    This is a great sequel to "Diablo," and I highly recommend it.
  7. What Diablo II lacks in visuals, it makes up for in music, as the appropriately selected and highly engaging tunes never fail to live up to the moment and truly serve to immerse the player.

See all 34 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 10 out of 129
  1. Jul 2, 2011
    10
    LOL, I'm reviewing a 11 year old game. Does that tell you how amazing it is? 11 years ago this very week my friends and I played this gameLOL, I'm reviewing a 11 year old game. Does that tell you how amazing it is? 11 years ago this very week my friends and I played this game nonstop for a week at my house. Ah, memories. Moving on, Diablo 2 is showing it's age now, with bad pathfinding, cramped spaces, and clunky menus. But even after 11 years Diablo 2 is as addictive as ever. At a recent LAN party we were deciding what to play, all the options with so many games coming out over the years. What did we decide on? Diablo 2. I believe this is the very definition of a timeless classic. Gaming's come a long ways with modern hits like Torchlight, but then again I always find myself coming back home. Ah, Diablo 2, I've missed you... Err, anyway, If you've never played it, be sure to download the Hi-Res mod first and go enjoy finding some chipped skulls! Expand
  2. StephenF
    Jan 24, 2010
    10
    Sheer masterpiece of hack and slashery. After going back to it to give it a play through I've found it's still just as great as I Sheer masterpiece of hack and slashery. After going back to it to give it a play through I've found it's still just as great as I remember it. It's pathetic that people rate the game on the graphics, not because the game is so old but because the graphics was never it's real appeal. Expand
  3. Apr 5, 2014
    10
    This is the greatest hack and slash game I've ever played. It has a good story, interesting setting, dark moody atmosphere, and great combat.This is the greatest hack and slash game I've ever played. It has a good story, interesting setting, dark moody atmosphere, and great combat. This can be considered one of the best of this genre and really defined most modern RPG hack and slash games. It's highly addictive and still holds up to this day as you tend to forget the graphics quality and bad path finding. Expand
  4. Jul 5, 2011
    10
    DIABLO II I could write a huge review on this because i'm a big fan but who's gonna read it anyway this is my favorite game to this dayDIABLO II I could write a huge review on this because i'm a big fan but who's gonna read it anyway this is my favorite game to this day nothing tops it, NOTHING. Just waiting for Diablo III now. Expand
  5. Jun 30, 2011
    9
    Definitely the game that got me into Action RPG's and RPG's in general. Plays as your typical hack and slash RPG, but with a wide variety ofDefinitely the game that got me into Action RPG's and RPG's in general. Plays as your typical hack and slash RPG, but with a wide variety of classes and different talent trees per class to specialize into. I'll be frank, this game is meant to be played online, many classes have party supporting buffs, monsters are harder but give more exp in higher player games, and last but not least, you can get into the wonderous world of Diablo trading :), which might of been this games most addictive aspect, there are a LOT of rare items/runewords in the game and you are going to want to deck yourself out if you want to survive Hell. My only gripes with D2 are probably the most universal ones. No real end game content, very little support from blizzard to stem against bots/cheaters. Expand
  6. SimonB.
    Jun 1, 2007
    8
    No game deserves a 10. Some games deserve a 0 for blatant null everything. Diablo 2 is a successful game in many regions aside PVP. Actually No game deserves a 10. Some games deserve a 0 for blatant null everything. Diablo 2 is a successful game in many regions aside PVP. Actually going through the story shows the irony of "SINGLE PLAYER" as you are forced to fight on your own or with a companion ( many for Druids and Necros ) throughout the game. You then finish the game but... surprise! You are only level 25 , buddy. Start over again, finish Nightmare... surprise! You gotta do it all over again. Level 82, finish hell... surprise! You got nothing left to do. Well, yeah you do. You can still get to level 99 , do some PVP, make people bitch at you because you're a level 90+. This game is fun, don't get me wrong, but it gets a whole hell of a lot boring when all you can do is Baal Runs for hours in order to get the amount of XP you want in a record amount of time. PVP is the main reason I give this a 8. It's fun when you can beat people with all your mad equipment and +# skill levels stuff. But how annoying can it be when a sorceress can transform into a bear, do warcries and cast ravens at you and still kill you? Some of the runewords should have never been made available for other characters. Instead, you'd be better off allowing players to choose what synergy they want to have for their characters. This makes it so that in PVP, people without the RIGHT kit can't do crap against people that spent hours and hours just "running" to get the precious runes that give them the amazing items of "incessant pwnage". Breaks all the fun, to me. Makes the game far too individualistic for an RPG that is multi-player. Expand
  7. [Anonymous]
    Aug 31, 2001
    0
    Anyone who can sit and play this game for hours suffers from a severe lack of intelligence. Let me clarify: Why spend money on this game when Anyone who can sit and play this game for hours suffers from a severe lack of intelligence. Let me clarify: Why spend money on this game when you can just walk over to the nearest wall and bang on it for a few hours. The effect is exactly the same. This game offers absolutely nothing to anyone with half a brain. Boo! Expand

See all 129 User Reviews