Diablo II Image
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 34 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 844 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In Diablo II, return to a world of dark fantasy. As one of five distinct character types, explore the world of Diablo II -- journey across distant lands, fight new villains, discover new treasures, and uncover ancient mysteries, all in the quest to stop the Lord Of Terror, once and for all. [Blizzard Entertainment] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 34
  2. Negative: 0 out of 34
  1. Blizzard has scored again with an object lesson in polish, depth and sheer compelling playability.
  2. We all seem to agree on one thing though; this game rocks!
  3. Despite all of its problems, Diablo 2 is as much fun as any action game I’ve ever played and twice as addictive.
  4. Apart from the major issues of online play, the graphics aren't showstopping, especially when you consider that the game was in development for nearly three years.
  5. In exchange for the additional complexity and size, you'll have to tolerate low-resolution graphics and a few more gameplay problems than you might have come to expect from Blizzard games.
  6. This is a great sequel to "Diablo," and I highly recommend it.
  7. What Diablo II lacks in visuals, it makes up for in music, as the appropriately selected and highly engaging tunes never fail to live up to the moment and truly serve to immerse the player.

See all 34 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 10 out of 117
  1. Jul 2, 2011
    10
    LOL, I'm reviewing a 11 year old game. Does that tell you how amazing it is? 11 years ago this very week my friends and I played this game nonstop for a week at my house. Ah, memories. Moving on, Diablo 2 is showing it's age now, with bad pathfinding, cramped spaces, and clunky menus. But even after 11 years Diablo 2 is as addictive as ever. At a recent LAN party we were deciding what to play, all the options with so many games coming out over the years. What did we decide on? Diablo 2. I believe this is the very definition of a timeless classic. Gaming's come a long ways with modern hits like Torchlight, but then again I always find myself coming back home. Ah, Diablo 2, I've missed you... Err, anyway, If you've never played it, be sure to download the Hi-Res mod first and go enjoy finding some chipped skulls! Expand
  2. May 14, 2012
    10
    Diablo II defines the era of hack-slash-loot RPG. This is the most epic adventure ever that a decade later most games still copy its mechanisms. Grinding loot usually gets boring in JRPGs but this western classic incorporates co-op elements flawlessly and loot varies in rarity as rewards. No RPG fan should be proud without spending 200 hours in Diablo II. Expand
  3. Apr 5, 2014
    10
    This is the greatest hack and slash game I've ever played. It has a good story, interesting setting, dark moody atmosphere, and great combat. This can be considered one of the best of this genre and really defined most modern RPG hack and slash games. It's highly addictive and still holds up to this day as you tend to forget the graphics quality and bad path finding. Expand
  4. Kon
    Mar 3, 2007
    10
    I would say Battle.Net is the probably the attraction for this piece of art. Back then when blizzard still paid attention it was excellent, I started from the ver. 0.8 days right through the 1.0 patch and I have to say through and through that it will be a long time before anyone can create another game that will rival this in any field except graphics. Now the support is on WoW, which is real shit, because in D2, i get to play online for free, I work hard and I can become super powerful and own everone's asses in PVP, but that's fine because I sweat my ass off more than anyone else, with WoW (which I also played), I pay for the multiplayer, and yet have to bear with all the shitty servers and in-game restrictions and rules, I work hard, run instances like a dumb mother and all i get is to be on the same level of power with everyone else. D2 is probably the best action RPG ever. Bless the Developers who are at Flagship Studios now. Expand
  5. May 27, 2012
    9
    The best action-RPG ever. Graphics are pretty bad even by the 2000 standards but the game play was amazing. You needed probably hundred of hours to complete all difficulty levels and reach a high character level. There were lots of items that made the game so amazing. Getting the best item was just so addictive. Absolutely recommendable game. Today, you can get it with the Lord of Destruction expansion set just for 20â Expand
  6. SimonB.
    Jun 1, 2007
    8
    No game deserves a 10. Some games deserve a 0 for blatant null everything. Diablo 2 is a successful game in many regions aside PVP. Actually going through the story shows the irony of "SINGLE PLAYER" as you are forced to fight on your own or with a companion ( many for Druids and Necros ) throughout the game. You then finish the game but... surprise! You are only level 25 , buddy. Start over again, finish Nightmare... surprise! You gotta do it all over again. Level 82, finish hell... surprise! You got nothing left to do. Well, yeah you do. You can still get to level 99 , do some PVP, make people bitch at you because you're a level 90+. This game is fun, don't get me wrong, but it gets a whole hell of a lot boring when all you can do is Baal Runs for hours in order to get the amount of XP you want in a record amount of time. PVP is the main reason I give this a 8. It's fun when you can beat people with all your mad equipment and +# skill levels stuff. But how annoying can it be when a sorceress can transform into a bear, do warcries and cast ravens at you and still kill you? Some of the runewords should have never been made available for other characters. Instead, you'd be better off allowing players to choose what synergy they want to have for their characters. This makes it so that in PVP, people without the RIGHT kit can't do crap against people that spent hours and hours just "running" to get the precious runes that give them the amazing items of "incessant pwnage". Breaks all the fun, to me. Makes the game far too individualistic for an RPG that is multi-player. Expand
  7. [Anonymous]
    Aug 31, 2001
    0
    Anyone who can sit and play this game for hours suffers from a severe lack of intelligence. Let me clarify: Why spend money on this game when you can just walk over to the nearest wall and bang on it for a few hours. The effect is exactly the same. This game offers absolutely nothing to anyone with half a brain. Boo! Expand

See all 117 User Reviews