Diablo II Image
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 34 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 738 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In Diablo II, return to a world of dark fantasy. As one of five distinct character types, explore the world of Diablo II -- journey across distant lands, fight new villains, discover new treasures, and uncover ancient mysteries, all in the quest to stop the Lord Of Terror, once and for all. [Blizzard Entertainment] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 34
  2. Negative: 0 out of 34
  1. Blizzard has scored again with an object lesson in polish, depth and sheer compelling playability.
  2. We all seem to agree on one thing though; this game rocks!
  3. Despite all of its problems, Diablo 2 is as much fun as any action game I’ve ever played and twice as addictive.
  4. Apart from the major issues of online play, the graphics aren't showstopping, especially when you consider that the game was in development for nearly three years.
  5. In exchange for the additional complexity and size, you'll have to tolerate low-resolution graphics and a few more gameplay problems than you might have come to expect from Blizzard games.
  6. This is a great sequel to "Diablo," and I highly recommend it.
  7. What Diablo II lacks in visuals, it makes up for in music, as the appropriately selected and highly engaging tunes never fail to live up to the moment and truly serve to immerse the player.

See all 34 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 95 out of 111
  2. Negative: 9 out of 111
  1. Jul 2, 2011
    10
    LOL, I'm reviewing a 11 year old game. Does that tell you how amazing it is? 11 years ago this very week my friends and I played this game nonstop for a week at my house. Ah, memories. Moving on, Diablo 2 is showing it's age now, with bad pathfinding, cramped spaces, and clunky menus. But even after 11 years Diablo 2 is as addictive as ever. At a recent LAN party we were deciding what to play, all the options with so many games coming out over the years. What did we decide on? Diablo 2. I believe this is the very definition of a timeless classic. Gaming's come a long ways with modern hits like Torchlight, but then again I always find myself coming back home. Ah, Diablo 2, I've missed you... Err, anyway, If you've never played it, be sure to download the Hi-Res mod first and go enjoy finding some chipped skulls! Expand
  2. Feb 28, 2012
    10
    I have more then 20 years of gaming and this game managed to suck more lifetime from me then anything else in the videogame market history. Need to say more? Perfect 10. Expand
  3. Oct 8, 2013
    10
    i spend entire days without eating because i was playing this i didnt used to shower i didnt made my homework, i didnt put the thrash out i was a mess but i was a happy mess, playing diablo2 at the time was an awesome experience no games stole my time like diablo 2 did and maybe no other ever will since i m an adult now ...but DAMN the music the graphics(at the time), the dark atmosphere, its a terror RPG, you re not supposed to be afraid of playing RPGs but i was and it felt good this is what makes diablo 3 so painful its sooo freaking Happy ;__;7 rip diablo ,i will miss you Expand
  4. May 22, 2012
    10
    The most addictive action RPG ever created so far. The long term playing factor is unmatched till today. If the game wasn't compromised by bots/hacks it would still be outstanding. Expand
  5. Feb 6, 2013
    9
    This is still one of my favorite games of all time. While I will admit that time hasn't been kind to it, it still is as great as the day I first played it. It improves on the original in almost every way possible. Better graphics, better story, better characters, and even has a really great expansion to it to boot. I really feel sorry for anyone who didn't enjoy this game, as it will always have a place in my heart. Overall: Absolutely fantastic game that perhaps isn't up to modern standards, but then again this game is a perfect representation of the time it came out. Expand
  6. Jun 3, 2012
    9
    I'm writing this review from the perspective of someone living in 2000, used to 2000 graphics, and 2000 animation: Diablo II is much better than Diablo III. Expand
  7. May 15, 2012
    3
    While the combat animations are smooth and attractive, the graphics would only be pushing the envelope 5 years ago and can only be considered average now. Music is, so far, both immersive and interesting although sounds are a very mixed bag. Voice acting has some good quality to it, but the animations of NPCs in dialogue are spartan at best. If it was possible to alt-tab during dialogue and still hear the voices, I'd do it. You gain nothing by watching the visuals. As others have said, the skill trees have been "stream lined". I put that in quotes because, as we all know, simplifying something for the sake of simplifying doesn't make a game better. Blizzard assumed their average player was too stupid to handle anything even remotely complex or with any depth. After browsing the Battle.net forums, I'm inclined to agree with them. While I would have given this game a 7/10 for "Average" I am forced to lower the score substantially after their launch debacle. Blizzard chose to make Single Player require a permanent online connection. While this in and of itself is a setback for consumer rights, it reached cluster-f*** status when the entire first day of release the servers were going down every 15-30 minutes and staying down for hours on end. Every single person who told everyone "Don't bother pre-ordering, it's going to be a f***-up anyway" was 100% right. Blizzard is rapidly becoming the new EA when it comes to their respect for consumers. Expand

See all 111 User Reviews