Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 86 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 81 out of 86
  2. Negative: 1 out of 86
  1. May 24, 2012
    100
    Games this thoughtfully crafted don't happen very often, and the care that Blizzard has taken with Diablo 3 shows in every facet of its design and execution. It might not be perfect, but after 45 hours, I'm not sure where it missteps, and after 45 hours, I feel like I've only scratched the surface of what it has to offer. Diablo 3 is almost evil in how high a bar it's set for every PC action RPG to follow, and I wouldn't be surprised to see that bar remain for a very long time.
  2. May 22, 2012
    100
    It's such a rare thing that my interest in continuing to play a game keeps increasing not just toward the end of the game but past the end, yet somehow the more Diablo I play, the more Diablo I want to play. It doesn't do anything especially new with the action-RPG genre, but it does all the old things very, very well, and sometimes that's more than enough.
  3. May 22, 2012
    100
    It is true that Blizzard is not a company known for being innovative, but there is a word which I believe defines their games: competence. Diablo is the best of its genre and is there to last for several years.
  4. May 21, 2012
    100
    At its core, Diablo 3 is a series of combat encounters and, when you realize just how carefully it's put together, Blizzard's expertise is staggering.
  5. May 18, 2012
    100
    Blizzard had to compromise to manage the expectations of a larger audience. Diablo III still manages to remain truthful to its roots, while still increasing accessibility for newcomers. Some players might be annoyed by those revisions of the formula, but the truth is that Diablo III still is the benchmark of modern hack'n slash games we were praying to get, thanks to incredible production values, polish, sound work and content.
  6. May 18, 2012
    100
    It takes the core experience that made Diablo II great and makes it less frustrating and, more importantly, much more accessible. Where Diablo II encouraged careful planning and forethought, Diablo III encourages experimentation and fun. And hey, if you're not down with that, Torchlight II is right around the corner.
  7. Jun 21, 2012
    98
    It's everything Diablo II was except better.
  8. May 22, 2012
    97
    Diablo 3 is an odyssey in a cruel and dark world. Its epic and violent story is yet again upon us. And we shall all tremble.
  9. May 22, 2012
    96
    Whether you're dual-wielding axes and swords, rapid firing a mighty crossbow, fist-fighting, throwing a spear, casting a powerful spell or indeed summoning a monster of your very own, this game will make you feel like a true hero - one that is caught in the eternal and epic struggle between light and dark. Diablo 3 is a truly memorable experience and one of the best video games we've played in recent times.
  10. May 28, 2012
    95
    With all those dungeon randomisations, boss events, challenging difficulty, co-op play, loot gathering and the general mayhem of monster slaying, Diablo III is a ride that may tire if binged on religiously but one that'll haunt your dreams long-term to get back to it, just like its predecessor.
  11. May 24, 2012
    95
    While at first glance Diablo III seems to be a step back from it's predecessor, it's actually more complicated, and ultimately, a more satisfying experience.
  12. May 23, 2012
    95
    Will we be playing Diablo III ten years from now and be as happy with it, as we are with its predecessor? No doubt. Even though the new Diablo has some technical issues and some solutions create controversies, the gameplay model is timeless. An interesting quest system, engrossing battles, versatile gameplay and a masterpiece of a multiplayer are only some of the game's qualities.
  13. May 23, 2012
    95
    So many systems from previous Diablo titles have been improved, making for an approachable, rewarding and deeply satisfying treasure hunting game. It's addictive on a level few games can match, so much so that it's easy to largely overlook its flaws.
  14. May 22, 2012
    95
    Blizzard haven't set out to reinvent the wheel with Diablo III, opting instead to release the ultimate version of a wheel that's already beloved by its niche audience.
  15. May 22, 2012
    95
    Simply put, Diablo III is a ton of fun. With five character classes, three unlockable difficulty levels and the Blizzard statement that 70% of the loot isn't available in Normal, there is tons of replay value. Anything bad I could say about the game is, in the end, a minor complaint, and none of it got in the way of my enjoyment. It lives up to the series pedigree and is the best game of its kind. If you like this style of game you should absolutely be playing it, and if you're new to the genre it's a great place to start.
  16. May 21, 2012
    95
    After twelve years, Blizzard has achieved a great return in Diablo, with the same trademark gameplay, easy to play but hard to master, and some changes that are controversial for some players. Some wanted it to be more traditional, others wanted many more changes, but the game is as fun as ever and provides for tons of hours.
  17. May 19, 2012
    95
    With Diablo III, Blizzard made one of the most approachable and enjoyable games in the world even better. In fact, aside from the annoying online-only infrastructure, I can't imagine a single thing I would change to make this game better. That's when you know you have a classic on your hands, and that's also when you know you should play this game as much as you can.
  18. May 18, 2012
    94
    Diablo III is a perfectly done hack 'n' slay game that captures the spirit of its predecessors. Great cinematics, a well-done talent system and large maps are just a few of Diablo III's strengths.
  19. May 29, 2012
    93
    While the decent storyline, the online auction house, the active post-release tweaking and the addictive gameplay may be compelling reasons to own Diablo III – Blizzards newest game is king for one reason : accessible gameplay and repeat visits to Sanctuary.
  20. May 28, 2012
    92
    Diablo 3 is what its ancestors were: simple, pure obsession in a beautiful wrapping. Those who chose to ignore the (justified) annoyance/discomfort of the ill-advised decision for a constant internet connection will enjoy many hours of sweet oblivion. The fact that it's Blizzard and not some other company is not reason alone to forgive without second thought. On the contrary, we believe that [Blizzard] must revise at this point and act as with StarCraft 2. This feature, as well as the lack of LAN support, severely influence the final grade. [June 2012]
  21. May 20, 2012
    92
    Getting online and into the game though, rewards players with one of the most engaging single-player and co-op experiences in the business, so if you have patience and can look past Blizzard's biggest oversight, you're in for one of the year's best games.
  22. May 29, 2012
    91
    Has Blizzard created a game that can last as long as Diablo 2 has? I don't know, but Diablo3 is an absolutely stellar game that everyone can enjoy, provided they've got a stable internet connection, and the time to find all that sweet, sweet loot.
  23. May 23, 2012
    91
    While near perfect--you'll be drooling for more on your first play through no matter what--the shimmer does wear off a tiny bit on successive play throughs and you'll begin to notice flaws yourself that hamper the experience ever so slightly.
  24. Aug 31, 2012
    90
    My one major complaint is that the game never feels very difficult, especially on Normal. There are frustrating moments, hordes of baddies, and increasing difficulty levels, but the same feeling of utter defeat never really happens as it did in the past.
  25. 90
    What is the only negative thing about this game? You should be prepared to buy a new mouse and new "click-dedicated" fingers. Only then you are ready to spend hundreds of hours trying to beat Diablo. [June 2012]
  26. May 30, 2012
    90
    The game is fantastically playable, and utterly addictive.
  27. May 26, 2012
    90
    It's deep, highly contagious and contains unlimited amounts of fun, and Diablo III opens its palms to welcome anyone to dabble in its addictive gameplay.
  28. May 25, 2012
    90
    Despite some balance issues and a clunky storytelling, Diablo III proves how good a classic formula can be renewed: It's fast, fun and has a lot of replay value. Definitely worth the wait.
  29. May 23, 2012
    90
    The bottom line is, if you want to play an action-RPG that is easy to get into, rewards skillful play in higher difficulty levels, and lets you easily play with your friends, Diablo III is a game that you absolutely cannot miss. But its narrow design makes it a game that I can't recommend without caveat for those who prefer single player experiences.
  30. May 23, 2012
    90
    Diablo III is one of those games capable of keeping you addicted for weeks or months, a feat available only to a few.
User Score
3.9

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 9142 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. May 15, 2012
    1
    Unfortunately a disaster. Repetitive and nothing that we haven't seen in other hack and slash games. Good visuals but nothing more. Insípid story/background and too little classes. I think that this is a good moment to Blizzard rethink their future plans about Diablo. Full Review »
  2. May 15, 2012
    5
    This is a serious review with no spoilers. To Blizzard and all developers that read this, DRM is not an option and gamers will not except it EVER. Single Player should mean offline play with NO INTERNET CONNECTION. Anyone giving this a low score because they cannot log in to play are morons. The graphics and sound are obviously going to be good. The story might pass or fail in the end. But this game is a complete failure because of server side DRM being recquired. After so many years when blizzards servers shutdown my children will not enjoy this game because of DRM. Shame on you Blizzard and anyone who supports DRM games with their $$$. Duke Nukem may have been a bad game but at least the steam lets me play single player offline. Also wheres our LAN! Full Review »
  3. May 15, 2012
    0
    Diablo 3 is so boring you would have more fun at a bingo hall. Also the connection problems at launch are awful and show how incompetent Blizzard is. The graphics in game are also not close to what a Diablo game should look like. Full Review »