Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 86 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 81 out of 86
  2. Negative: 1 out of 86
  1. May 16, 2012
    90
    Blizzard has truly done it. They've kept what was so great about Diablo II whilst implementing enough new to keep me satisfied for what I belive will be ten more wonderful years. So what are you waiting for? Diablo won't slay himself.
  2. May 22, 2012
    100
    It is true that Blizzard is not a company known for being innovative, but there is a word which I believe defines their games: competence. Diablo is the best of its genre and is there to last for several years.
  3. Jun 21, 2012
    98
    It's everything Diablo II was except better.
  4. May 22, 2012
    96
    Whether you're dual-wielding axes and swords, rapid firing a mighty crossbow, fist-fighting, throwing a spear, casting a powerful spell or indeed summoning a monster of your very own, this game will make you feel like a true hero - one that is caught in the eternal and epic struggle between light and dark. Diablo 3 is a truly memorable experience and one of the best video games we've played in recent times.
  5. May 26, 2012
    90
    It's deep, highly contagious and contains unlimited amounts of fun, and Diablo III opens its palms to welcome anyone to dabble in its addictive gameplay.
  6. May 21, 2012
    90
    With key changes to its art style, technology, gameplay, skills, and classes, Diablo III has revitalized the isometric action-RPG and made this classic genre fresh and cool all over again.
  7. May 22, 2012
    100
    It's such a rare thing that my interest in continuing to play a game keeps increasing not just toward the end of the game but past the end, yet somehow the more Diablo I play, the more Diablo I want to play. It doesn't do anything especially new with the action-RPG genre, but it does all the old things very, very well, and sometimes that's more than enough.
  8. May 23, 2012
    90
    Diablo III is one of those games capable of keeping you addicted for weeks or months, a feat available only to a few.
  9. May 18, 2012
    90
    Quotation forthcoming.
  10. May 30, 2012
    90
    The game is fantastically playable, and utterly addictive.
  11. May 23, 2012
    90
    It's an addictive, beautifully crafted and truly complete action/ RPG experience. Fans of the franchise will truly love it.
  12. May 22, 2012
    90
    As with most things from Blizzard, Diablo III is a masterclass of game design and polish, and I suspect it's going to eat the lives of many, many gamers for some time to come.
  13. May 21, 2012
    100
    At its core, Diablo 3 is a series of combat encounters and, when you realize just how carefully it's put together, Blizzard's expertise is staggering.
  14. 90
    Forget the semi-lame beta. This is the real deal. Diablo III is as addictive as ever. A beauty to enjoy with friends and a great experience. The story might not be the best ever, the music not as bombastic as we could want, but the gameplay is intact. And so is the loot. Oh yes. The loot. Well, back to the game we go. There is a another nightmare to be had.
  15. May 21, 2012
    90
    Although it is a new game wrapped in old game mechanics, Diablo III stands out as an achievement in game craftsmanship. The shear brilliance, flow and amount of fun this game offers is nothing short of staggering.
  16. May 24, 2012
    95
    While at first glance Diablo III seems to be a step back from it's predecessor, it's actually more complicated, and ultimately, a more satisfying experience.
  17. May 19, 2012
    95
    With Diablo III, Blizzard made one of the most approachable and enjoyable games in the world even better. In fact, aside from the annoying online-only infrastructure, I can't imagine a single thing I would change to make this game better. That's when you know you have a classic on your hands, and that's also when you know you should play this game as much as you can.
  18. May 19, 2012
    90
    It may not be the action-rpg-messiah that some may have expected, but it easily matches its predecessors... Blizzard's new creation defends the throne with a mix of proven gameplay and tons of features.
  19. May 23, 2012
    95
    Will we be playing Diablo III ten years from now and be as happy with it, as we are with its predecessor? No doubt. Even though the new Diablo has some technical issues and some solutions create controversies, the gameplay model is timeless. An interesting quest system, engrossing battles, versatile gameplay and a masterpiece of a multiplayer are only some of the game's qualities.
  20. May 24, 2012
    100
    Games this thoughtfully crafted don't happen very often, and the care that Blizzard has taken with Diablo 3 shows in every facet of its design and execution. It might not be perfect, but after 45 hours, I'm not sure where it missteps, and after 45 hours, I feel like I've only scratched the surface of what it has to offer. Diablo 3 is almost evil in how high a bar it's set for every PC action RPG to follow, and I wouldn't be surprised to see that bar remain for a very long time.
  21. May 18, 2012
    100
    It takes the core experience that made Diablo II great and makes it less frustrating and, more importantly, much more accessible. Where Diablo II encouraged careful planning and forethought, Diablo III encourages experimentation and fun. And hey, if you're not down with that, Torchlight II is right around the corner.
  22. May 20, 2012
    92
    Getting online and into the game though, rewards players with one of the most engaging single-player and co-op experiences in the business, so if you have patience and can look past Blizzard's biggest oversight, you're in for one of the year's best games.
  23. May 21, 2012
    90
    Diablo 3 is THE amazing game players were waiting for. Beautiful, nervous and featuring an entertaining campaign as well as a great multiplayer experience, Diablo 3 proves that Blizzard remains loyal to the series offering one of the best hack'n'slash titles on the market. Some mistakes like requirement of an internet connection, its simplified gameplay and few minor software bugs will be easily forgiven by the players. A must-have game.
  24. May 21, 2012
    90
    It was one of the best cooperative experiences I've ever had in a video game, and I don't even know who those people were. I've made my concerns about the storytelling in this game clear, but maybe that's not as big of an issue. I came away from Diablo III with a great story to tell, one of my own making.
  25. May 28, 2012
    92
    Diablo 3 is what its ancestors were: simple, pure obsession in a beautiful wrapping. Those who chose to ignore the (justified) annoyance/discomfort of the ill-advised decision for a constant internet connection will enjoy many hours of sweet oblivion. The fact that it's Blizzard and not some other company is not reason alone to forgive without second thought. On the contrary, we believe that [Blizzard] must revise at this point and act as with StarCraft 2. This feature, as well as the lack of LAN support, severely influence the final grade. [June 2012]
  26. May 23, 2012
    91
    While near perfect--you'll be drooling for more on your first play through no matter what--the shimmer does wear off a tiny bit on successive play throughs and you'll begin to notice flaws yourself that hamper the experience ever so slightly.
User Score
3.9

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 8949 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. May 15, 2012
    1
    Unfortunately a disaster. Repetitive and nothing that we haven't seen in other hack and slash games. Good visuals but nothing more. Insípid story/background and too little classes. I think that this is a good moment to Blizzard rethink their future plans about Diablo. Full Review »
  2. May 15, 2012
    5
    This is a serious review with no spoilers. To Blizzard and all developers that read this, DRM is not an option and gamers will not except it EVER. Single Player should mean offline play with NO INTERNET CONNECTION. Anyone giving this a low score because they cannot log in to play are morons. The graphics and sound are obviously going to be good. The story might pass or fail in the end. But this game is a complete failure because of server side DRM being recquired. After so many years when blizzards servers shutdown my children will not enjoy this game because of DRM. Shame on you Blizzard and anyone who supports DRM games with their $$$. Duke Nukem may have been a bad game but at least the steam lets me play single player offline. Also wheres our LAN! Full Review »
  3. May 15, 2012
    0
    Diablo 3 is so boring you would have more fun at a bingo hall. Also the connection problems at launch are awful and show how incompetent Blizzard is. The graphics in game are also not close to what a Diablo game should look like. Full Review »