Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 86 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 81 out of 86
  2. Negative: 1 out of 86
  1. May 31, 2012
    70
    It's a fun game that takes too long to get going anywhere, but its combat is so slick and refined that everything else around needs to step up to that level of quality. The universe of Diablo is most certainly destroyed, but the game is far from it.
  2. Jun 13, 2012
    45
    There is absolutely no denying that Diablo III continues to maintain the high artistic standards that it has kept over the years. But the dumbed character and inventory systems, coupled to the ridiculous always-on connection and the breathtaking arrogance of the"you'll play how we tell you to play" attitude makes playing this title a damned shame instead of a hell of a good time.
  3. May 24, 2012
    100
    Games this thoughtfully crafted don't happen very often, and the care that Blizzard has taken with Diablo 3 shows in every facet of its design and execution. It might not be perfect, but after 45 hours, I'm not sure where it missteps, and after 45 hours, I feel like I've only scratched the surface of what it has to offer. Diablo 3 is almost evil in how high a bar it's set for every PC action RPG to follow, and I wouldn't be surprised to see that bar remain for a very long time.
  4. May 23, 2012
    95
    So many systems from previous Diablo titles have been improved, making for an approachable, rewarding and deeply satisfying treasure hunting game. It's addictive on a level few games can match, so much so that it's easy to largely overlook its flaws.
  5. May 21, 2012
    65
    I've played 28 hours of Diablo 3 (according to the in-game measurement) - but this isn't the whole story. I've spent six hours not playing it - nearly a quarter of my time total. With no competitive multiplayer (except for the facile concept of a 'race to the finish line'), constant network related issues and what I feel is negative movement in terms of the 'loot' metagame, Diablo 3 in its current state isn't something I see myself playing any more.
  6. May 22, 2012
    100
    It's such a rare thing that my interest in continuing to play a game keeps increasing not just toward the end of the game but past the end, yet somehow the more Diablo I play, the more Diablo I want to play. It doesn't do anything especially new with the action-RPG genre, but it does all the old things very, very well, and sometimes that's more than enough.
  7. May 24, 2012
    68
    I'm sure that for some of you this product will be more than enough to kill some time after a hard day's work, to meet up with your friends online, to drown in nostalgia, reminiscing about great action/RPGs of yore... Yet it's a Blizzard game we're talking about, and, as such, it was expected to be better than just a rehash of old ideas. Instead of bringing the genre to the next step of its evolution, Diablo 3 dwells on the past.
  8. May 22, 2012
    90
    It's a changed game, but it's never been such spectacular fun to play, or so creative to tinker with.
  9. May 22, 2012
    85
    There's a good chance you've played games a lot like Diablo III before, and at no point does it dare to surprise you by tinkering with its tried-and-true formula. But it creates such an enticing world and offers up such enjoyable abilities that it makes that formula feel fresh again.
  10. May 21, 2012
    100
    At its core, Diablo 3 is a series of combat encounters and, when you realize just how carefully it's put together, Blizzard's expertise is staggering.
  11. May 16, 2012
    80
    For single players, it's an entertaining and gorgeous-looking dungeon hack but it's a bit short, extremely linear and hardly pushing any boundaries. Playing online (and Blizzard isn't really giving us a choice) makes it a better balanced and more compelling challenge, with all the potential to be the kind of lifestyle substitute that Diablo's legion of hunter-gatherer fans should relish.
  12. May 30, 2012
    70
    Slaying monsters has seldom been this addictive and rewarding, expecially if you play with friends. But the story is boring, the auction house ruins the balance and the variation within each class is too limited.
  13. May 22, 2012
    90
    Diablo III is a great game, and every bit the landmark achievement in the genre that everyone expected out of Blizzard. The presentation and combat are second to none, and the co-op focus is well-executed and a natural fit for the genre. It's a shame that the online requirement is a deal-breaker for some, whether because of a moral stance or a crappy Internet connection.
  14. May 21, 2012
    90
    It was one of the best cooperative experiences I've ever had in a video game, and I don't even know who those people were. I've made my concerns about the storytelling in this game clear, but maybe that's not as big of an issue. I came away from Diablo III with a great story to tell, one of my own making.
  15. May 23, 2012
    91
    While near perfect--you'll be drooling for more on your first play through no matter what--the shimmer does wear off a tiny bit on successive play throughs and you'll begin to notice flaws yourself that hamper the experience ever so slightly.
  16. May 22, 2012
    80
    As long as you are aware of and accept Diablo 3's online limitations, I wholeheartedly recommend it. A week after launch, the servers are up and running smoothly, though "scheduled maintenance" still brings them down from time to time, usually in the wee hours of the morning. But solo players who would rather live their gaming lives offline -- or have less than perfect faith in the stability of their internet connections -- should probably hold out for the offline-friendly Torchlight 2 instead.
  17. May 19, 2012
    80
    Diablo 3 is a classic Blizzard sequel. The core gameplay has been iterated on and sharpened to a fine edge, while it ultimately feels a little light on major, impactful changes and the required constant internet connection will be a deal breaker for some.
  18. May 18, 2012
    100
    It takes the core experience that made Diablo II great and makes it less frustrating and, more importantly, much more accessible. Where Diablo II encouraged careful planning and forethought, Diablo III encourages experimentation and fun. And hey, if you're not down with that, Torchlight II is right around the corner.
  19. May 30, 2012
    90
    The game is fantastically playable, and utterly addictive.
  20. May 24, 2012
    85
    Even if it's not a perfect game, there's something special about Diablo, and it's something that keeps people playing beyond just a basic addiction to loot. That I've already sunk over 40 hours into the game in just over a week and I'm not even close to being bored of it yet is a testament to the magic of Diablo, and something that can't be ignored.
  21. Jun 8, 2012
    85
    My only caveat is that it may be too easy at first, even for a total newbie to the series or genre. So if you can't see yourself beating the campaign multiple times per character, you might want to consider this. Give the chance for the game to get its hooks in you, though, and you're likely to be playing Diablo III for quite a while.
  22. May 25, 2012
    85
    Though marred with a dismal launch, plagued with server issues which call into question the logic behind using this person for a single-player game, Diablo III still manages to deliver an unparalleled action/RPG experience. Stunning environments, awe inspiring enemies and the most addictive loot system ever makes this the new high water mark for dungeon crawlers. Fans of this type of game should already be playing this masterpiece.
  23. May 22, 2012
    95
    Blizzard haven't set out to reinvent the wheel with Diablo III, opting instead to release the ultimate version of a wheel that's already beloved by its niche audience.
  24. May 21, 2012
    90
    What you get in this package is an addictive, satisfying game that feels very polished, offers a wide range of gameplay options, introduces an insatiable lust for loot, and does co-op right. This is what PC (and Mac!) gaming is all about.
  25. May 21, 2012
    80
    We're not against the idea of mandatory server-based DRM in all cases, but for us to agree to "always-on DRM," we need the servers to be "always on."
  26. May 18, 2012
    90
    You may think you know Diablo, but you don't know it with this level of polish, from the clean brilliance of interlocking skills and classes to the sheer amount of chaos the game's comfortable with conjuring in its later dungeons. It's a testament to what money and confidence (Blizzard's own equivalent of mana and health) can do.
  27. May 18, 2012
    94
    Diablo III is a perfectly done hack 'n' slay game that captures the spirit of its predecessors. Great cinematics, a well-done talent system and large maps are just a few of Diablo III's strengths.
  28. May 17, 2012
    80
    It's a real thumb in the eye to have to suffer through a launch that was exactly like any MMO launch. It's a sad reality that too many of us have accepted DRM with gritted teeth and open wallets, so this is likely the price of AAA gaming for the foreseeable future. Us sheep get what we deserve, which is a Diablo III, a fine game for playing solo, with all the pitfalls of an online game.
  29. 84
    The difference between Diablo III and II isn't as big a leap as the previous iteration, but again, nobody can say it's a surprise. The modern Blizzard plays it a lot „safer" and they've mastered that art. The final product, however, was lighter than I expected and a lot more shallow in points where I'd hoped for more from one of the biggest juggernauts in the videogame industry.
  30. May 24, 2012
    88
    With an immersive world, crisp combat, and a venomous gameplay hook that refuses to let up, Diablo 3 delivers a slick revitalization of the action RPG, even if it isn't a complete re-invention of it. If you've yet to repent for your grubby, loot hoarding ways, consider this your next guilty indulgence.
User Score
3.9

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 9222 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. May 15, 2012
    1
    Unfortunately a disaster. Repetitive and nothing that we haven't seen in other hack and slash games. Good visuals but nothing more.Unfortunately a disaster. Repetitive and nothing that we haven't seen in other hack and slash games. Good visuals but nothing more. Insípid story/background and too little classes. I think that this is a good moment to Blizzard rethink their future plans about Diablo. Full Review »
  2. May 15, 2012
    5
    This is a serious review with no spoilers. To Blizzard and all developers that read this, DRM is not an option and gamers will not except itThis is a serious review with no spoilers. To Blizzard and all developers that read this, DRM is not an option and gamers will not except it EVER. Single Player should mean offline play with NO INTERNET CONNECTION. Anyone giving this a low score because they cannot log in to play are morons. The graphics and sound are obviously going to be good. The story might pass or fail in the end. But this game is a complete failure because of server side DRM being recquired. After so many years when blizzards servers shutdown my children will not enjoy this game because of DRM. Shame on you Blizzard and anyone who supports DRM games with their $$$. Duke Nukem may have been a bad game but at least the steam lets me play single player offline. Also wheres our LAN! Full Review »
  3. May 15, 2012
    0
    Diablo 3 is so boring you would have more fun at a bingo hall. Also the connection problems at launch are awful and show how incompetentDiablo 3 is so boring you would have more fun at a bingo hall. Also the connection problems at launch are awful and show how incompetent Blizzard is. The graphics in game are also not close to what a Diablo game should look like. Full Review »