Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 86 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 81 out of 86
  2. Negative: 1 out of 86
  1. May 24, 2012
    100
    Games this thoughtfully crafted don't happen very often, and the care that Blizzard has taken with Diablo 3 shows in every facet of its design and execution. It might not be perfect, but after 45 hours, I'm not sure where it missteps, and after 45 hours, I feel like I've only scratched the surface of what it has to offer. Diablo 3 is almost evil in how high a bar it's set for every PC action RPG to follow, and I wouldn't be surprised to see that bar remain for a very long time.
  2. May 23, 2012
    95
    So many systems from previous Diablo titles have been improved, making for an approachable, rewarding and deeply satisfying treasure hunting game. It's addictive on a level few games can match, so much so that it's easy to largely overlook its flaws.
  3. May 22, 2012
    100
    It's such a rare thing that my interest in continuing to play a game keeps increasing not just toward the end of the game but past the end, yet somehow the more Diablo I play, the more Diablo I want to play. It doesn't do anything especially new with the action-RPG genre, but it does all the old things very, very well, and sometimes that's more than enough.
  4. May 22, 2012
    90
    It's a changed game, but it's never been such spectacular fun to play, or so creative to tinker with.
  5. May 21, 2012
    100
    At its core, Diablo 3 is a series of combat encounters and, when you realize just how carefully it's put together, Blizzard's expertise is staggering.
  6. May 22, 2012
    90
    Diablo III is a great game, and every bit the landmark achievement in the genre that everyone expected out of Blizzard. The presentation and combat are second to none, and the co-op focus is well-executed and a natural fit for the genre. It's a shame that the online requirement is a deal-breaker for some, whether because of a moral stance or a crappy Internet connection.
  7. May 21, 2012
    90
    It was one of the best cooperative experiences I've ever had in a video game, and I don't even know who those people were. I've made my concerns about the storytelling in this game clear, but maybe that's not as big of an issue. I came away from Diablo III with a great story to tell, one of my own making.
  8. May 23, 2012
    91
    While near perfect--you'll be drooling for more on your first play through no matter what--the shimmer does wear off a tiny bit on successive play throughs and you'll begin to notice flaws yourself that hamper the experience ever so slightly.
  9. May 18, 2012
    100
    It takes the core experience that made Diablo II great and makes it less frustrating and, more importantly, much more accessible. Where Diablo II encouraged careful planning and forethought, Diablo III encourages experimentation and fun. And hey, if you're not down with that, Torchlight II is right around the corner.
  10. May 30, 2012
    90
    The game is fantastically playable, and utterly addictive.
  11. May 22, 2012
    95
    Blizzard haven't set out to reinvent the wheel with Diablo III, opting instead to release the ultimate version of a wheel that's already beloved by its niche audience.
  12. May 21, 2012
    90
    What you get in this package is an addictive, satisfying game that feels very polished, offers a wide range of gameplay options, introduces an insatiable lust for loot, and does co-op right. This is what PC (and Mac!) gaming is all about.
  13. May 18, 2012
    90
    You may think you know Diablo, but you don't know it with this level of polish, from the clean brilliance of interlocking skills and classes to the sheer amount of chaos the game's comfortable with conjuring in its later dungeons. It's a testament to what money and confidence (Blizzard's own equivalent of mana and health) can do.
  14. May 18, 2012
    94
    Diablo III is a perfectly done hack 'n' slay game that captures the spirit of its predecessors. Great cinematics, a well-done talent system and large maps are just a few of Diablo III's strengths.
  15. May 24, 2012
    88
    With an immersive world, crisp combat, and a venomous gameplay hook that refuses to let up, Diablo 3 delivers a slick revitalization of the action RPG, even if it isn't a complete re-invention of it. If you've yet to repent for your grubby, loot hoarding ways, consider this your next guilty indulgence.
  16. May 24, 2012
    95
    While at first glance Diablo III seems to be a step back from it's predecessor, it's actually more complicated, and ultimately, a more satisfying experience.
  17. May 23, 2012
    90
    The bottom line is, if you want to play an action-RPG that is easy to get into, rewards skillful play in higher difficulty levels, and lets you easily play with your friends, Diablo III is a game that you absolutely cannot miss. But its narrow design makes it a game that I can't recommend without caveat for those who prefer single player experiences.
  18. May 22, 2012
    96
    Whether you're dual-wielding axes and swords, rapid firing a mighty crossbow, fist-fighting, throwing a spear, casting a powerful spell or indeed summoning a monster of your very own, this game will make you feel like a true hero - one that is caught in the eternal and epic struggle between light and dark. Diablo 3 is a truly memorable experience and one of the best video games we've played in recent times.
  19. May 22, 2012
    95
    Simply put, Diablo III is a ton of fun. With five character classes, three unlockable difficulty levels and the Blizzard statement that 70% of the loot isn't available in Normal, there is tons of replay value. Anything bad I could say about the game is, in the end, a minor complaint, and none of it got in the way of my enjoyment. It lives up to the series pedigree and is the best game of its kind. If you like this style of game you should absolutely be playing it, and if you're new to the genre it's a great place to start.
  20. May 21, 2012
    90
    Diablo 3 is more than slick, and more than deep. It's a turbo-charged romp through the conventions of action, role-playing and online games that plays to the gallery but tears up the rulebook on the sly. It has been awfully compromised by its launch and by the lack of an offline mode, but it deserves better than to be remembered for that. And I'm certain it won't be.
  21. May 19, 2012
    95
    With Diablo III, Blizzard made one of the most approachable and enjoyable games in the world even better. In fact, aside from the annoying online-only infrastructure, I can't imagine a single thing I would change to make this game better. That's when you know you have a classic on your hands, and that's also when you know you should play this game as much as you can.
  22. May 18, 2012
    90
    Quotation forthcoming.
  23. May 16, 2012
    90
    The third game is near flawless, embracing the standards of its forbearers while complementing their blueprint with every form of solo and multiplayer content we could have asked for. Most of these features are improvements, though some pose strict barriers on gameplay and technical issues unfortunately keep it off the pedestal of perfection.
  24. Jun 12, 2012
    89
    Despite a lackluster story and sometimes oversimplified gameplay elements, the series' latest installment once again rises as one of the best experiences you can have in the genre.
  25. May 29, 2012
    93
    While the decent storyline, the online auction house, the active post-release tweaking and the addictive gameplay may be compelling reasons to own Diablo III – Blizzards newest game is king for one reason : accessible gameplay and repeat visits to Sanctuary.
  26. May 29, 2012
    91
    Has Blizzard created a game that can last as long as Diablo 2 has? I don't know, but Diablo3 is an absolutely stellar game that everyone can enjoy, provided they've got a stable internet connection, and the time to find all that sweet, sweet loot.
  27. May 28, 2012
    95
    With all those dungeon randomisations, boss events, challenging difficulty, co-op play, loot gathering and the general mayhem of monster slaying, Diablo III is a ride that may tire if binged on religiously but one that'll haunt your dreams long-term to get back to it, just like its predecessor.
  28. May 26, 2012
    90
    It's deep, highly contagious and contains unlimited amounts of fun, and Diablo III opens its palms to welcome anyone to dabble in its addictive gameplay.
  29. May 25, 2012
    90
    Despite some balance issues and a clunky storytelling, Diablo III proves how good a classic formula can be renewed: It's fast, fun and has a lot of replay value. Definitely worth the wait.
  30. May 23, 2012
    95
    Will we be playing Diablo III ten years from now and be as happy with it, as we are with its predecessor? No doubt. Even though the new Diablo has some technical issues and some solutions create controversies, the gameplay model is timeless. An interesting quest system, engrossing battles, versatile gameplay and a masterpiece of a multiplayer are only some of the game's qualities.
User Score
3.9

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 8948 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. May 15, 2012
    1
    Unfortunately a disaster. Repetitive and nothing that we haven't seen in other hack and slash games. Good visuals but nothing more. Insípid story/background and too little classes. I think that this is a good moment to Blizzard rethink their future plans about Diablo. Full Review »
  2. May 15, 2012
    5
    This is a serious review with no spoilers. To Blizzard and all developers that read this, DRM is not an option and gamers will not except it EVER. Single Player should mean offline play with NO INTERNET CONNECTION. Anyone giving this a low score because they cannot log in to play are morons. The graphics and sound are obviously going to be good. The story might pass or fail in the end. But this game is a complete failure because of server side DRM being recquired. After so many years when blizzards servers shutdown my children will not enjoy this game because of DRM. Shame on you Blizzard and anyone who supports DRM games with their $$$. Duke Nukem may have been a bad game but at least the steam lets me play single player offline. Also wheres our LAN! Full Review »
  3. May 15, 2012
    0
    Diablo 3 is so boring you would have more fun at a bingo hall. Also the connection problems at launch are awful and show how incompetent Blizzard is. The graphics in game are also not close to what a Diablo game should look like. Full Review »