User Score
3.9

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 9146 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 16, 2012
    9
    The biggest challenge Diablo 3 has is pleasing its demanding, expecting (and biased) fan base. These user reviews are clearly disproportionately evaluating aspects of the game that they have a problem with. Diablo 3 should be evaluated on its own successes and failures, and not just how it evolves the genre. It borrows some character development mechanics from World of Warcraft in terms of character development and skill builds, which help to streamline the â Expand
  2. May 16, 2012
    10
    ...love it, better than D2 or D1 so far...love the graphics, just wish the servers would smooth out a little...I always hated the skill tree system due to the constraint of 1-2 real skills endgame...with this there are just so many ways to attack and combo...i am still in act 1 but the combination of rayoffrost/explosive bolts/wave of force is devastating...can't wait to see the later skills/runes... Expand
  3. May 16, 2012
    10
    While I won't say this game is a 10/10 I'll give it that anyway to combat the 0/0 scores that are solely based on day one server issues. I have gotten to act 3 and have reached level 26 at the time of this review. The game has a great deal of customization, albeit in a different way from Diablo 2.

    If you enjoy the Diablo series this game is worth picking up. If you hated it, it is worth
    trying out if you are able to because it has changed quite a bit from the first two games. Expand
  4. May 16, 2012
    9
    Really good hack & slash game it not may be good as Diablo 2 but still it's one of best RPG in this year.
    Only thing i don't like is lvl based skill system that are same to all and only characters items are what make it different.
    By far i played first act one and i really like the story.
    Graphics are really good even it's not same "realistic **** graphics" like in Battlefield 3 that need
    way too lot power from PC but at least Diablo 3 runs very smoothly at all graphic setting maxed.
    Online base single-player is good thing and bad thing, good thing is with this way they can prevent hackers and botters to ruin this game that happened to Diablo 2 (And that why i never playd Diablo 2 online because of hackers and botters), but bad thing is you can't play it without internet connection and also it make some connection problems too.
    Mostly i really like the co-op system it's so easly to jump friends game, others games or make your game as public that any one can join.

    Overall game is solid and really fun to play hack & slash game.
    Expand
  5. May 16, 2012
    10
    RoboPope
    May 16, 2012
    If you were looking for Diablo 2.5 you're not going to get it. Games have come along way in 10 years and D3 shows that. It's a shame because the same people raging are the people who said "Call of Duty 3 sucks it's the same game the push out every year". Blizzard try's to push the genre and people get pissed because it's not a polished Diablo 2. Great game to play
    alone or with friends. Superb graphics and sound. The story's no worse than most RPG's I've played. I'd say it's much better than Kindom's of Amular that was written by a world renowned Fantasy writer. Expand
  6. May 16, 2012
    9
    The graphics and audio are good, the game is fun to play. The game is well balance and I will replay it Diablo 3 several time like I did for 1 and 2, good job !!!
  7. May 16, 2012
    10
    Fantastic game.
    I don't normally post on any site but someone needs to balance the scores from the idiots giving 0. I have played Diablo 1/2, and I can say this game has the same addictive qualities.... Just five more minutes and before you know it hours have disappeared.
    I played the beta open weekend and found all the classes fun to play and each played differently. I am enjoying the
    story. I can see why people might knock the graphics but they are still good.
    Logging on - I missed the first 24 hours because I had to work but played 6 hours today with not a single issue.
    DRM - really what is the issue here. In my books Blizzard is one of the few companies that support the PC so if they want to add DRM to protect their millions of dollars of investment so they can keep making PC games then it is okay by me. If you can't get an Internet connection where you live then get a pirate version because then in blizzards eyes you are not a potential customer, as you have no Internet they haven't lost any revenue from you by you getting a pirate version.
    For those of you giving scores of 0 the game hasn't met your expectation, move on and make way for the millions of people that will love this game.
    Expand
  8. May 16, 2012
    10
    It is a action RPG so pls dont cry that it lacks strategy. Go play Dota or WoW. Don't hare the skill system, after a while you will know how cool it is to play with all the opportunities. You can match your skilltree for every level or even weapon. I love the artwork. I think its a masterpiece. The only bad thing is that you have 2 be online even for singleplayer. But it does not ruin the game and the servers are fine. So haters will hate and a lot of them complain that there are no card in a soccer game. Just ignore the and enjoy the awesome game. Expand
  9. May 16, 2012
    9
    I don't know how people could not enjoy this game if they liked Diablo II. This game takes everything great about that game and makes for a very fun experience. Even though it might have had some issues on release with servers, that doesn't make the game worse. It is a very fast-paced game that really draws you in, in a way that I think is better than its prequel. Skills are mapped to keys to make them very easy to use, and the new potion/town portal system makes for combat that is very fast-paced, dynamic, and non-stop. Whereas in Diablo II sometimes there was too much prolonged battles where you had to go use town portals and go back to town to restock several times, this combat system is more smooth and great. Also, inventory management is easier and more streamlined, which is great. Overall, a great game that has improved on its predecessors in just about every way. And with the skill choices, the higher level you are, the more great choices you can make in regards to what kind of skill combinations you want to use. This makes for a great way to build the kind of character you want, and nothing to complain about. People that talk it down this game wanted just a carbon copy of diablo II, and while that was a great game, I'm glad that Blizzard changed it up with the release of this game. Some people can't take change, but this game is very polished and fun, definitely a change for the better. Expand
  10. May 16, 2012
    10
    I don't know why people review the server., I just want to point out that the SERVERS are just part of the INFRASTRUCTURE!. It's not the game!.. anyways, The first time I logged in to play, I DID GET ERRORS BUT FOR PATIENCE OF WAITING i got in. I mean come on guys!, you need to expect that launch day means that A LOT of people WILL log in to the servers. Aren't you guys happy that it's out?. It's a good RPG game. I like the graphics but if you compare it to such games like Battlefield 3, it's a whole different story because RPG is different from FPS. Expand
  11. May 16, 2012
    10
    Though the servers have been down for a few hours a day, I've had an immense amount of fun. I am thoroughly impressed by Diablo 3. People who give this a 0 because surprise, surprise, millions of people trying to play one game at one time will not always work. It's really a shame people aren't critiquing the game. Will continue to play for a very long time.
  12. May 17, 2012
    10
    People rating the game bad just because of server issues are mindless. The gameplay is great, fun, and addicting. Despite the launch issues, which have been fixed, the game it's self is a worthy sequel.
  13. May 17, 2012
    9
    Greeting. I can not say I'm a Diablo fan, but the third little disappoint me in terms of character customization that game. I mean I can not choose how I allocate my skill points on. Otherwise I love it. We started yesterday at 14 to play it and had no problems with connection. I had about about 6 hours of play.
  14. May 17, 2012
    10
    Ok, this is another game downrated by 0/10 f*ggots. I'll tell you what. There's maybe 5-10% games in the world that deserve 0/10 at all and you can see them in action watchin AVGN and other stuff like that. I'm not a casual player, I've spent hundreds and hundreds of hours playing previous Diablos. And guess what? I like the new one. To all you haters, hear me now. You cry because there are no town portal scrolls and identification scrolls. Well, now you just don't have to buy them every now and again, what you were doing in the previous installments. Cash didn't matter in D2, so you had unlimited scrolls nonetheless. **** graphics? Damn guys, Blizz has never been doing good graphics and those from D2 sucked as well, didn't care. **** artisans? Lol, you really wanna go mining and picking up flowers in Diablo or what? I don't understand all you whiners, it's simple enough for a hack'n'slash to have a system like that. All you gotta do in D3 is clicking from the beginning to the end? Well, I suppose this series was all about that. Auction house is a bad idea? Well, no more O xxx N xxx on the chat, you can buy and sell items instantly. I just don't know if the idea of 15% payment for every transaction is good. If I think that my item is worth 2000, and the guy buys it for 2000, because he thinks as well, why would the system steal my 15% from that? RMAH is the same thing. It's good, mainly because there will be less and less website sellers and those on auction sites. I just don't like the idea that Blizzard is taking 1 euro for every transaction + 15% cut when paying with PayPal. The only drawback that I agree with you is the lack of skill trees and attribute points, but on the other hand... Well, I was playing Bone Necro and I loaded most of the points in energy, so now the game loads them in intelligence when I'm playing my wizard. With necro I was loading points and using only 3 skills. Now there's no points and I'm using more skills. Well, I'll get used to it. Anyways, I really enjoy the game - it's a real hack'n'slash and it lives up to my expectations. Expand
  15. May 17, 2012
    10
    Diablo 3 was made for Pottermore fans. (Useless characters to fill up. Useless characters to fill up. Useless characters to fill up. Useless characters to fill up. Useless characters to fill up. Useless characters to fill up)
  16. May 17, 2012
    9
    it's time to stop hype bashing... huge game! dynamic gameplay, mysterious ambiance... it's a worthy successor to diablo 2
  17. May 17, 2012
    9
    Great expectations met! Great game, great gameplay, great cinematics...
    I've been playing beta all along and now I'm so glad to roam Sanctuary again.
    See you in Hell!
  18. May 17, 2012
    9
    Firstly - I love the game, it's modern, has an epic story line, looks awesome and is just brilliant. I don't like that you have to be connected all the time but I understand the reasoning.
    Secondly - to all the people complaining that it is not Diablo 2 (or 1) get over yourselves, times change. Otherwise go back to playing FPS with only a keyboard, trade in your iPhone for a Nokia 3310
    and delete your twitter/facebook accounts. Expand
  19. May 17, 2012
    9
    People should learn from me:
    Don't get hyped up by the company trying to sell their games, and don't forget to actually read a preview or 2. All these people here complaining about less customization etc: Diablo II is still playable, goodbye.

    I didn't let myself get hyped up after having played Diablo II a lot, because I knew it was going to be a different game, more catered towards the
    casual player in terms of UIcustomization whilst still catering towards the hardcore players in terms of higher difficulties. What I've found is this: I've never had this much fun hacking 'n slashing! The vibe is good, although different from its prequels. The graphics are nice and especially fluid and I can't put enough emphasis on how important it is to actually have fun slashing things in a ARPGHAck 'n Slash. Physics improve the feeling you're actually hitting stuff and the combat animations are great. Even though the game is very linear (Diablo 2 was too guys, you're overhyping an old game to divine levels) at least there's still a lot of randomization and hard difficulties to play through. If the ''hardcore fans'' didn't hype this game up so much, or this game was called ''Kill da Monstas'' they would've LOVED it. Everyone saying ''I can't use weapons only spells wtfbbq?'' didn't even take the time to properly check out the UI, because you can make a battle mage if you so desire. The complaints about DRM: I feel ya, kind of. Diablo (all of them) are much more fun when played co-op. Fact that you don't have any social abilities doesn't give you the right to call this a single-player game. It says it requires internet on the box! All these facts where already known, yet the whiners STILL buy it? That's just hating right there. Go play torchlight 2, you won't be missed.



    Conclusion: If you like lots of actions, co-op gameplay, are a loot whore and love to bash brains in in many different ways (with a nice story to boot) get this game! If you want Diablo II with a 3D makeover, stay clear of this game.
    Expand
  20. May 17, 2012
    10
    Diablo 3 is a great game indeed. Don't listen to any, so-called, critics, they are frustrated because of connection is needed and other not important things. The playability is excellent, as well as atmosphere and graphics. Blizzard can't make a bad game and Diablo 3 is a proof of this - Diablo 3 is the perfection itself. See you in Hell!
  21. May 17, 2012
    10
    Honestly this game is really good i don't get people who say they don't like it if they don't like Hack n Slash then don't buy the game seriously people should have at least tried the beta before buying the game if they didn't know what was a hack n slash... I do really enjoy the game the fact that you can easily change items and powers without stopping playing is really nice, i do agree that it's sad not to have maximum customization on your character but its just a tinny fact the game stays really good... I haven't had the problem of Error 37 so for my part i would put 9 out of 10 because of the fact that you can't launch the game even the solo mode if you're not connected to the Internet is totally stupid...
    Im going to put 10 because a lot of people are putting very low grades for absolutely no reason and are frustrated of having being touched by the error 37 or not liking hack n slash...
    Expand
  22. May 17, 2012
    10
    I really enjoy playing Diablo 3 and i am rather casual player. I already played around 7 hours with my friends and it was a lot of fun. I was heaving doubts about skill system but it prove to work really good - its fun to change skills and tries diffrent approach to kill mobs / bosses. Graphics is music are OK. Story is simple but i didn't expected anything more than that - it's hack'n'slash game type. Summary: game is fun, and have a good diablo-climate. Now, i dont understood all that negative reviews. D2 didn't have any big story, D1 also so why you expect that from part 3? Its hack'n'slash game where you are focusing on killing monsters. DRM - well get used to it, buy games don't pirate - you are responsible for that situation. Also, servers are now stable and DRM dosen't have anything common with the content of the game itself. Real money auction house - all you are so negative about that even that service didn't started, and there is no way to say anything more. Without that people how have to much money to spend would be buying items on ebay or other so what the diffrence?
    So all hateres, just shut up and play because it's worthy.
    Expand
  23. May 17, 2012
    10
    fter giving the game some time and ignoring the problems with the servers on launch day i got to say that this game is amazing.People are giving this game a 0/10 here because they couldnt connect on launch days...they give it a bad rating because it uses a different stats/skillsystem then diablo 2 but havent yet seen how much more options this system gives later on.In fact u are STILL managing your stat points later.You dont do it @ lvl up anymore but with GEMS and ITEMS.They are the MAIN SOURCE of stats point later in the game and you can place them as free as you want.If you want an barb full of int for some fancy fun build you can do it.The stat points given from items/gems is ALOT higher the the one from lvl ups.(iam a lvl 42 with around 700 dex.My char gains 3 dex per level.You can do the math yourself of how important the few stat points from lvling up are compared to gems and items.) And the best thing u can ADJUST them when u feel that u need to change your playstyle/build.And i dont even want to start about skills an skill runes...millions of possibilities there. After really understanding the mechanics of this game you will see that it in fact offers u ALOT more possibilities to play your char your own way then diablo 2 ever could.So before u keep judging the game you should really understand it first. Expand
  24. May 17, 2012
    10
    Listen up you little **** kids, stop **** because there are errors for an online game on launch, let alone diabo 3 which is a huge game that sells bucket loads from one of the biggest PC companies at this time. Review the game, not the errors caused by your **** ass internet.

    And rage all you want, blizzard still got your money, so **** off.
  25. May 17, 2012
    10
    dis considering all the server problems ALL games from blizzard with no exception has on its launch, the game itself is pretty amazing and a good sequence to the best seller diablo2. I must say i didn't like the skills system so much but kinda getting used to it. As it precursors the game is very addictive and the multiplayer experience is beyond fun. I know there are lots of similar games around (like tourchlight) but this is diablo! there's no better on the genre period. Expand
  26. May 17, 2012
    10
    The best hack 'n' slash I've ever played. Really immersive. I don't know, why there's lots of negative comments- IT IS A GREAT GAME! About servers: I don't have problems. Once I can't log into the game, there is no problems afterwards.
    I trully recommend this game, it's perfect!
  27. May 17, 2012
    10
    I played through hardcore on my first run through and had an absolute blast. The story was engaging despite being pleasantly cheesy at times. The boss fights were often challenging even in the first Act. More importantly, it was just plain fun.

    If you're a fan of hack and slash RPGs and love the retro isometric view, you'll love Diablo 3.

    Also, for the record, please take all the reviews
    on May 15th with a grain of salt. That was release day so these reviewers either did not play the game, or had barely progressed through it. There is no way they could give an honest review. Expand
  28. May 17, 2012
    10
    Although initially disappointed by server downtimes, I have had no issues since and I find myself really enjoying this game. Even if it has been simplified, me and my friends have already had many hours of fun and It think it will continue. Good purchase.
  29. May 17, 2012
    9
    Same old gameplay minus the boring / useless parts (like the useless skill builds and char stats). Godly graphics and audio. The servers are back to normal right now and it will probably only get better.
  30. May 17, 2012
    10
    I think it is ridiculous how many bad scores have been given to this exceptional game all because of the DRM and launch day issues. I made an account here for only one reason: to get Diablo III back towards a score of which it is worthy.
  31. May 17, 2012
    10
    Great game, having fun playing so far. No problems with lag, server status or anything else. DIablo 3 is immersive and addicting, you just need to manage your playtime because you WILL want to play a lot.
  32. May 17, 2012
    10
    I really enjoy playing Diablo III as a Diablo II -fan. The reworked skill and quest systems are way more better and user-friendly. For all the people who are complaining about connection problems: Please - HOW CAN YOU HONESTLY THINK THAT THEY CAN KEEP THE SERVERS STABLE ON THE LAUNCH DAY regardless of the open-beta? I don't think that any developer/company could design a crash-free/lagless server system right from the start. People should really review the game itself rather than complaining about connection. The servers will be fine in just a few days... Calm your beards.. Expand
  33. May 17, 2012
    10
    Normally I'd be knocking this game for the fail launch but the Diablo 2 comparison reviews are terrible!

    There is way more customization in this game, while you don't distribute attributes your gear will still give you a lot of control over your stats and the skill system in this game is YEARS ahead of any dungeon crawler on the market today. It might start out slow and give the
    impression of a less customizable game but after your first play through you should start to realize that each class is VERY unique and can be played hundreds of different ways. The runes that change your abilities often alter them into an almost completely new ability making it seem like there are hundreds of skills per class to choose from. Expand
  34. May 18, 2012
    10
    Excellent game. They have reworked all game mechanisms that needed to be reworked and now the game is far better than diablo 2.
    In addition, the level design is just impressive and so beautiful.
  35. May 18, 2012
    10
    I've been playing diablo since first part. I want to say that my expectations were met, the atmosphere is preserved, the gameplay has undergone significant improvements, design, music-all at an altitude! Can be long to enumerate the advantages of this game, but for me the main thing is whether you want to play or not and Diablo3 is definitely want to play.
  36. May 18, 2012
    9
    Dianlo 3 is actually turned out to be a fun game to play with some friends. Needless to say the game focuses on the coop experience. The mechanics are nice, the gameplay is fun and the story is also quite decent. So yes you should definetly pick this game up, if you are interested in some good old coop fun.
    So that is all i gotta say? Nope.
    So there have been some Statements here which are
    just blitantly dumb. So I will pick up some of these to actually prove them wrong:

    Statement 1: The game is casual, therefore it is bad.
    Answer: Ok so the game is pretty much easy to access. Well so why would you say it is bad? Tetris is on e of the most casual Games out there and everyone loved it! I do not see any problem with a game being easy accessible and still being a good game.

    Statement 2: No character Customization.
    Answer: Totally wrong. Everyone is just whining about the fact that Blizzard decided to not go with the Skilltree system. Runes which can be attached to your Skills can actually change the way your skills work and therefore provide a wide range of playing styles. I found myself not knowing what combinations to choose, because there were to fricking many! By the way: Everyone who was deeply in love with the Skilltree system Diablo 2 offered should take of their Retro-goggles. Actually 70% of the Skills were either useless or not involved in any build. It was the most efficient to just skill down one path in order to dish out as many damage as possible. Synergy was all that counted.

    Statement 3: Diablo 3 is Pay2Win.
    Answer: Oh.. my... God. Would anyone please tell how the hell you can win a game that is focused around cooperative gameplay?! All that the RMAH is actually trying to prevent is that People will sell Items via ebay for high prices. That was by the way the case with Diablo 2 (you could buy runes and hellfire torches online). And the PvP System is just there on demand of the community. And what other solution is there, then to make an arena-mode where you can fight against each other. Open Wolrd PvP does not work with a hack n slay game!

    Statement 3: Diablo 3 has bad Voice-acting.
    Answer: Nope. I must admit there are plenty of weird accents in this game but it s not that bad.

    Statement 4: It looks like WoW , therefore it' s bad.
    Answer: Ok so some of the Hud elemnts are looking similiar to WoW and the chat-system is almost the same as in WoW (which is btw an evolved form of the Warcraft 3 Battlenet chat system). But actually I do not see any point there why exactly that makes Diablo 3 a bad game. WoW is not a bad game either. Actually it is a pretty good game, and the only bad thing there is to it, is that you have to pay a monthly fee. The game itself does almost anything right when it comes to MMORPG standards. And the Art-style completly differs from the one that has been used on WoW. So to end it here Diablo 3 is a damn good game that defies hack n saly mechanics. And if you look close you will notice that over 80% of the negative Reviews were posted on March 15th. So they are more people raging about the fact, that the log-in-servers were crushed by too many log ins at 12:01 than people who are actually reviewing the game.
    Expand
  37. May 18, 2012
    10
    This game is incredible, ok error 37 at the begining, but now it's ok.
    Thanks you Blizzard for all!! lol 3.8 User score, that's not a score for a game like Diablo 3
  38. May 18, 2012
    9
    To those looking for an honest review for those not looking for trolling or rageposts:
    Is it perfect? No. The skill system is a little too reminiscent of Guild Wars for my tastes, some of the voice acting is questionable, and there are still a few bugs. But despite all that, the game is super-fun, and very addicting. I haven't lost this much sleep over a game since...well, since Diablo II.
    The story picks up right where DII left off and is enjoyable enough, and the action is unquestionably the best hack-and-slash on the market. People saying it isn't a worthy sequel either haven't played enough of it, or are looking back a little too fondly at Diablo 1 and 2...this is a better game in every respect than both of its predecessors.

    To those complaining: It's 2012, not 1998. Games are going to require internet connection and logins, get used to it. Also, the Auction House is there to *stop* illegal item/gold trade, by providing competition and regulation. Blizzard has done a really good job anticipating the needs of the community in this aspect...think about how much of Diablo II was ruined by hacked and duped items and people buying items for cash from shady websites that stole people's credit cards and passwords. By putting a safe, legal way to trade items in the game, they are preventing an unfair pay-to-win environment, not creating one.
    Expand
  39. May 18, 2012
    10
    I got online at 5am on launch day and I haven't had any problems! I got kicked off once due to a rolling restart, but I know things will stabilize soon.

    I'm glad that Blizzard is being careful with this release and making it online only. I loved Diablo II until the cheaters took over and completely destroyed the experience. Not gonna happen with this one!
  40. May 18, 2012
    10
    A great stand alone game with an acceptable story and character progression is excellent. The negitive reviews shock me really. But I suppose people can be harsh on just about anything. I loved Diablo 2 and played it untill my fingers bled. I think this is a great follow up. Everything added up perfectly for me. Mowing down hordes of enemies feels rewarding, and the constant progression of items makes this worth playing. hardcore gamers could be detered due to the checkpoint system, but playing on higher difficulties makes this game difficult. Sure, the servers went down, but all games have had rocky issues on release. Expand
  41. May 20, 2012
    10
    Another polished, near perfect game from Blizzard. This is the ARPG genre at its finest. Character customization is more like a sandbox and allows you to experiment freely, the areas are huge, art style is gorgeous, and the music is just amazing. I wish they sold the soundtrack. Really, really fun game. I had login issues the first night but it was to be expected. They had over 2 million preorders. After the first night everything was perfect. Expand
  42. May 20, 2012
    9
    TLDR: Great game, some release issues. Most polished, deep and captivating aRPG ever released. Will be hard for PoE, Grim Dawn, Torchlight 2 or others to match this one. Not revolutionary in much, but everything it does have works and works EXTREMELY well.

    Now if you can be bothered reading a wall of text and want more:

    Have just finished Act 1 on Normal. Another 3 Acts to go before
    I get into Nightmare mode! This is an incredibly fun and addictive aRPG. A lot of depth that will not even become available to you until you are 20+ hrs into the game. I've only played it for 8 hrs but that was enough to get a feel for the barbarian class. If you like these kinds of games then this is more of the same with an added dash of love and awesomeness. The challenge does ramp up and yes it's a clickfest and gear stat driven game, but it works and the story is good enough to pull you along. Voice acting is spot on. Music is incredible. The amount of variation in level design and enemy design is VERY VERY good for how rich and detailed the game world is. especially compared to other aRPGs. I am knocking off 1 point for the painful release servers and another point for the annoying always-online DRM, but would quickly add back 1 point if the latency I was getting wasn't > 200 ms with some noticeable server stutter at times (this is more likely due to me being in Australia and having to play on 'the Americas' servers... than anything wrong with the netcode which seems fine. I actually hardly notice the latency except maybe once or twice an hour).

    Auction house is very easy to use, has good search functionality and I was able to sell equipment and buy stuff that I wanted easily. Very fluid system. No issues. I think this adds great replayability and what not to the game. Also the ability to created socketed items and move the gems around is really nice as I'm no longer worried about breaking gems and losing things that took forever to earn. Also this is really good for creating alts as you'll be able to start them with a set of full socketed gear to give them a huge DPS advantage in the early levels and get through it quick.

    Achievements are not normally my thing, but in a game like this they feel akin to the achievements in TF2, where you've always got something random to work towards and it's just another fun diversion during the chaos of battle.

    Dungeon design - I am IN LOVE with the dungeon design. The worst dungeon design i have seen in my life was Dragon Age 2. Bioware, play this game, they have randomly generated dungeons with repeated art assets and I'm YET to feel like I'm in the same dungeon ever. Nailed it Blizzard! Halls of Agony were EXCELLENT.

    Multiplayer - easy enough to get into, found my friends nicely. Works. No issues.

    9/10.
    Expand
  43. May 20, 2012
    10
    It's normal to have a few probleme at the release... 'cause This game is AWESOME and i'm sure we're legion and million to play... I'm a fan of the oldschoold Diablo 1 and 2 and i really appreciate Diablo 3.
  44. May 21, 2012
    10
    Ok so there were some issues with the services in the beginning. But we are talking hours, not days. Slating the game as a whole for that is just outright wrong.

    The game is wonderful. I'm having more fun with this game than any other game in a long time. I played Diablo 1, Hellfire, Diablo 2 and LoD when they were released, and I'm totally satisfied with Diablo 3.
  45. May 21, 2012
    10
    Really great game. Blizzard have managed to create a game with the gameplay from the second game, and the mood from the first. Only have positive things to say about the game. I see a lot of flaming about downtime etc, but what the hell do people expect? To the flamers that expected 100% uptime after launch, grow some balls and try to understand the issues related to a release this massive. It isnt the latest version of solitare. Great game, great story, awesome overall. Ty Blizzard! Expand
  46. May 21, 2012
    10
    This is a perfect sequel. I've been a Diablo fan since its inception so many years ago and have continued playing Diablo 2 of and on through the years until 7 months ago. Diablo 3 meets and exceeds every single one of my hopes and expectations for the game. I have played all 5 characters and each one shines in its own way. The Monk, Wizard, and Demon Hunter, though, are tied for my favorites. The gameplay, visuals, and sound are all remarkable.

    The gameplay is simple, elegant, but satisfying. As a dungeon crawler you quickly run through randomly generated corridors blasting monsters to bits and obtaining glorious loot.

    The visuals are stunning. At times I find myself standing on the edge of a cliff just marveling at the distant shrines, river, or rainbow. The visual effects of all the skills combines to make a perfect canvas to beat down foes against.

    The sound is spectacular! Ambient creepy overtones with perfectly places music over top the splattering and exploding objects and death cries of the monsters. The soundscape is perfectly painted.

    And even still, there are so many other loves I have of this sequel that I don't want to get into: shared stash and gold, storytelling on-the-go, skills and runes, crafting...

    I love this game. :-)
    Expand
  47. May 21, 2012
    10
    To those who are new to the series, pay little attention to the unfavorable reviews of the game (most of which are poorly written, defended inadequately and generally pretty hateful). The game really is a work of art in many respects. The environments are rich in detail, destructible and engaging. The combat is a thing of glory â
  48. May 21, 2012
    9
    Ok, besides the first day (May 15th), the servers have been great. And as far as I am concerned, the game is awesome. The Barb totally rocks, the co-op is nice, and there are over 1 trillion different builds with runes. I will definitely be playing this game through a few times.
  49. May 22, 2012
    9
    As a fan of the series, I would like to give this game a solid 9, the only reason for not giving a 10 being the fact that it doesn't seem right to me for someone to not be able to play a single player campaign if his internet connection drops. Now that being said, how could some people review this game on May 15. Seriously, all bad reviews are posted on May 15, when you couldn't have possibly played the game for more than a few hours or at all. "The story is terrible", "What bothers me is the graphics and sound" and things like that, and then the game gets compared with Torchlight. I mean no offense, I like that game too, but how could that game possibly be less "cartoonish" or more complex that Diablo. Let's be serious. Personally I think some people were expecting of this something that cannot even be achieved. People are ridiculous.
    The game has all that the Diablo franchise is about: it has great loot, great graphics, great sound, great cinematics and it is still very addictive. It is truely great fun overall. EPIC!
    Expand
  50. May 22, 2012
    9
    A lot of negativity that's undeserved here... I was hesitant to buy this game at first. But when it launched I watched a friend of mine play it and I was drawn in. I played Diablo 1 & 2 and they were great. I only played both of them a couple of times but for lots of hours those couple of times. I had a blast. So I bought D3 based on me seeing my friend playing it and how I liked the previous games. I don't regret it in the least bit. Yes you have to have a constant connection to the internet. Yes, at the moment you are disconnected from time to time with updates. That's the only reason I don't give it a 10. I wish there was offline play as well but I'm blessed with a constant connection because I pay for it. I say if you have internet and you are a gamer buy this game, you will not regret it. I play many many many games and I don't regret playing this one. many many many more hours ahead! :) Expand
  51. May 22, 2012
    10
    Greatest game ever. I just finish the normal campain and I don't wonna stop me. It's like a drug. I liked story too , and I find a game not so easy like someone write here.
  52. May 22, 2012
    10
    My score has to be 8 (the game is great, but i hope something more from Diablo) but users are so stupid that gives 0 and 0 just for the server error, so my score must be 10.

    Great game, thanks blizzard for coming back with Diablo.
  53. May 22, 2012
    10
    I've been playing for a week and I love it. The game is paced very well. The action feels fluid and responsive. The loot feel appropriate and the graphics are very nice. Dark catacombs to sun bleached desert sands to demonic slag pits covered in blood and gore. It's all here.

    The story is decent. The multiplayer is quite fun. It's trivially easy to jump into your friends games. My friends
    and I can't tear ourselves away from this game. It's fantastic. Expand
  54. May 22, 2012
    10
    As an Avid Diablo fan since the release of the first game. I am pleased with the new skill system, the difficulty and challenge of the final difficulty inferno, fun and the story that Blizzard has provided.

    The games lore and story are fantastic, I loved the new characters and the directions old ones have taken. The graphics are beautiful and feel like a breathing painting, the
    characters, skills are all very well done, polished and fun to use. The game is at the point for me where i am struggling to focus on my build and choose which skills i like most. Gone is stacking 20 points into 3-4 skills and the useless skills i had to use in my trees to get to the one i wanted, gone is the tedious spam into vitality and the few points i needed to assign to other attributes to use items. The auction house is a welcome addition and i find a good part of my time exchanging goods on it as well as trying to find a good price for that all important upgrade.

    As a core fan of the games, all the things i loved are back and better - i look forward to many years of Diablo III :)

    Whilst the game has struggled in the first week to stand up, I'll gladly give it a week so i do not have to deal with the duping, cheating and various other issues that plagued Diablo II. People do not seem to understand why this game is online only, they think it is because of DRM, it is to combat the past issues that have been so common in the last 2 games.
    Expand
  55. May 22, 2012
    9
    This is an extremely fun game, and in the end that's really all that should matter. It is very different than Diablo 2, and most other action RPGs, in that it has removed a significant amount of the depth, placing a much greater emphasis on the 'action' part. There were some serious launch day issues, but for me and the people I know playing, those were taken care of withing 3-4 days, so should no longer really be a concern. I think most of the very low reviews are due to the fact that this isn't just an updated diablo 2, and residual frustration and the launch day issues.
    Diablo 2 was a 'loot' game, and for this reason, many people have also been calling diablo 3 a 'loot' game. I have to disagree. Does a bunch of loot explode out of enemies when you kill them? Yes. Do you need to get better stuff to progress? Yes. However, the item system has been so far simplified in diablo 3, you can decide pretty much instantly if a piece of equipment is better or worse. For weapons by far the most important number is the damage per second, written in large letters on the top of the card. For other equipment mostly what matters are buffs to your one primary stat, and perhaps also to a lesser extent vitality. Which elemental damage a weapon does doesn't seem to make any difference, and any game affecting effects happen with such low frequency that they don't really matter. What this means in the end is the only thing I spend any time considering with equipment is whether to salvage or sell it. In D2, you would spend a lot of time pondering the combined set of equipment and how to get your various buffs to work together to balance your performance. Not really the case I Diablo 3. Looting is a component, but a heavily de-emphasized one.
    So if Diablo 3 is not a loot game, what is it? The defining feature is the skill system. With around 30 active skills for each class, and a large number if passive skills, and several rune based variations there is an extroadinary number of builds. Every time I level up I rethink my whole skill distribution, and there seem always to be a few viable alternatives. All the various skill-rune combinations have their own visual effects, so testing out your new build is always entertaining. It apparently takes 2 play throughs to reach the cap, and with 5 classes to play there is a large amount of fun to be had. I'm not sure though how much fun it will be past the cap, since then all your'll have to play around with is the simplistic loot system, but no game lasts forever.
    My only real complaint is the lack of built in voice chat, which seems like a ridiculous oversight in this age of multiplayer games.
    Expand
  56. May 22, 2012
    10
    This game was fantastic! I can't believe it has such a low rating. I got the game for my birthday and played it a few days after the release and the servers were even running well with 3 computers playing it on my network (ping was usually under 100) so people should stop complaining about that. The game itself had an interesting storyline, amazing new skills and classes and new features which enhanced the game. Some of the things I was a little disappointed about at first because they were different from the first 2 games but once I got over that I actually liked the changes they made and might be annoyed when I don't have these new features in the older games. Expand
  57. May 22, 2012
    9
    It is a great game, and it isn't for casual gamers, you really need to know what is going on in the game in order to be successful. I have not had any problems with my connection to Blizzard's servers, so I don't see why everyone is complaining. I love the graphics, although I was hoping for something a bit darker, I am quite fond of them. The sounds of the game are awesome and can be eerie at times. The game-play and control are great, and hot-keys are really the way to go for this game. Great game, and I hope the servers are fixed for everyone else. Expand
  58. May 22, 2012
    10
    good game i am a fan of the diablo series and this is pretty good with new characters and skills. yeah the server was messing up and blizzard is still getting the bugs out but eventually it will stabilize. Id say its worth the $60 just because theres no monthly fees and you will at least get your moneys worth in game play. ive already played over 30 hours total on two characters and its still fun. so i feel i got my moneys worth. Its just a video game they all get boring eventually I dont see why people expected a game that costs $60 to change their lives forever Expand
  59. May 23, 2012
    10
    Just got to play it for a few hours before work and the game is great. /v/ trolls withstanding. Once all the people who haven't even tried the game die down the actual scores will come.
  60. May 23, 2012
    9
    I usually don't write reviews about games, but once saw the 4.1 user score for Diablo 3, I knew I had to say something. This game has been review bombed to high hell until it remains nothing but a smoldering crater. If you want proof, look at all of the 0 score reviews there are, it's over 1000. I'm intending for this to be an honest review, but still, this is a review, so take it with a grain of salt.

    Pros:
    +Mechanics polished to a mirror shine
    + Loot hunting is fun as ever
    +Varied and interesting classes
    +Co-op is great
    +An improved skill system that does away with archaic tree skill systems
    +4 Different difficulties, 5 different classes, PvP teams with a starcraft-like progression system... you will be playing this game for a long time
    +Graphics that look modern, but still keep that Diablo guts'n'gore "charm"

    Cons:
    -Story lacking slightly
    -Servers with high latency on release, made game unplayable to many people
    -Flawed loot system with legendary's being, most of the time, weaker than some blues
    -Melee classes slightly unbalanced in higher difficulty
    -Lack of a chat system, so community seems empty
    -PvP not available at launch
    -Always online DRM with no optional offline mode

    To many, Diablo 3 is a series close to many peoples hearts. Since its introduction in the 90's, and subsequent refinement 4 years later, the game became a legend, but it has been MIA for more than a decade. With Diablo 3's announcement, the masses have been foaming at the mouth, waiting in anticipation for its release, but now that its out, does it hold up to a decade worth of hyping?
    In short, yes. Aside from some minor nitpicks, Diablo 3 improves upon Diablo 2 in almost every way.

    The combat in Diablo 3 is the samestandard hack'n'slash isometric loot fest that the previous two were, but polished to a mirror shine. The production value shows that an immense amount of work has been put into it. The looting is addictive, as it should be, and getting that new item is still as thrilling as ever. The classes (Demon Hunter, Barbarian, Witch Doctor, Wizard, Monk) are incredibly varied, with a plethora of skills to use, and endless combinations to use, with several builds that are viable. Which segways into the next point.

    The skill system is a massive improvement, not just over Diablo 2, but the whole franchise as a whole. Skill trees force a kind of pseudo-choice like system that in reality, forces you into cookie cutter builds, with only half the skills being viable. Runes only further diversify the system by modifying skills. For example, Bola Shot shoots a bola that wraps around the enemies head, then explodes, dealing splash damage. A rune called acid strike changes the skill into 3 bolas that deal acid damage. So there are several different ways you could build your character.

    To many, this topic is very polarizing... the graphics. The graphics in this game are almost painting like in their presentation, and look very polished and genuinely unsettling in some situations. A desert with skeletons littering the landscape, a hell-like torture dungeon with the corpses of the victims still in their respected torture devices, it's all very well composed. I do have some minor nitpicks with the game though. The launch was rockier than the sheer side of a cliff, with error 3007 and disconnects plaguing the first several hours. Even now, the servers are high in latency, causing serious lag in situations with many enemies. Then the story... it isn't exactly high class literature, with most of the quest being "X magical artifact is causing Y disturbance, and we need to Z to obtain it" But, it works, and most people aren't buying the game for the story. The loot system also needs some reworking, as many times, legendary are lesser than their blue counterparts, and that needs to end. The feeling when you get a legendary should be that this item is incredibly rare and valuable, not just another item, doomed to a merchant's inventory. Melee classes need to be reworked as well, most importantly the barbarian. He needs some extra survivability in the higher difficulties to make him innately tanky. Maybe an extra 25% vitality bonus, or something along the lines of that.

    Then the lack of a chat system (a'la starcraft 2) is missing, which makes the community seem very empty, but the starcraft 2 chat system wasn't available at launch either, so there will most likely be one implemented in the future.

    Then the lack of the PvP system at launch, I know this isn't an integral part of the Diablo 3 experience, but it could be a great way to extend your play time.

    Overall, Diablo 3 is a great game that doesn't deserve half of the flak it gets in the forums and on metacritic, with a few minor nitpicks that don't detract from the shine of this true gem. But then again, this is just my personal opinion, so let yourself formulate your own.
    Expand
  61. May 23, 2012
    10
    This is Diablo 3, and it's just as great as the previous two versions. I can see myself playing this game for several years, something that rarely happens. Some thoughts:

    The new attribute/skill system is fine, and a big improvement over Diablo 2, where one wrong click could screw your character. Now I can experiment with different skill combinations, and select abilities situational.
    Also, I like the simplicity... two mouse buttons and a few hot keys is enough, no need for 30 key bindings like in WoW or other RPGs. This is hack and slay!!!

    DRM/online requirement:
    I can understand that this upsets single players, but this was communicated long before the game launched, so you knew what was coming. For me, the long term motivation in Diablo 2 always came from being online, so in the end it makes no difference. The launch went as any reasonable person might expect. Within a week from launch everything seems very stable, so overall a good job. The graphics etc: Looks nice, maybe it could be a bit less resource hungry since the graphics are not exactly high end. More importantly, it runs natively on OSX! I would say that this game is perfect and just like I expected from Blizzard.
    Expand
  62. May 23, 2012
    10
    Am about 21hrs into the game, and am taking my time there is no need to rush on a game like this. I have been playing D2 for quite some time, and I was very excited when Blizzard announce the release date of Diablo 3. So far I say that this games deserves a perfect 10! The graphics a big improvement from previous games, the background, and sound really do stand out. The game does feel quite simplistic, but that's alright you know what they say "Easy to learn difficult to master. I did have 2x disconnecting problems, and a lag here an there but that's Blizzard, we talking about the game not the franchise. To be honest am not surprise with all of the connectivity issues people were having since D3 is the fastest game sold in 24hrs am pretty sure Blizzard was not prepared for flood of users. Overall am enjoying this game very much, I constantly read bad reviews, but they are ALL based on the Blizzard and NOT the game itself. Expand
  63. May 24, 2012
    10
    This is the best computer game I have ever played. I am appalled and disappointed at all the spoiled brats here giving the game a zero because the world wasn't hand-crafted just for them. They don't speak for true gamers who love to play instead of flame. The graphics are incredible, the sound design is engrossing, the music fits the level design and moods.. I enjoyed the story very much, the cutscenes are chilling. But MOST IMPORTANTLY: The game FEELS like Diablo. It's impossible to describe. My characters feel extremely powerful, but yet vulnerable. In the higher difficulties, I always have that feeling the original Diablo gave: I'm scared about what I might find around the next corner, but I have the courage to try. A+ Blizzard, you guys are amazing. Yes, there are some technical issues, but a release of this magnitude? That's to be expected. Those spoiled kids here, without maturity, patience or a decent handle on reality will give this game a low score. They do not represent the overwhelming majority of people who are loving this game right now. Expand
  64. May 24, 2012
    10
    This is an excellent game with exactly the production values you have come to expect from Blizzard. I have not encountered significant problems logging on, the lag spikes have been short and tolerable, and other than that I have no complaints. The game itself is exactly what I expected and I expected great things.
  65. May 24, 2012
    10
    This is one of those times I really think people should be paying more attention to critic reviews than to player reviews. Too many people seem to be too emotionally invested in the series and wanted Diablo 2 HD. And because that's not what they got they've started a smear campaign against Blizzard and Diablo 3. Most every decision made by the developers for the game has been a positive one from a game design standpoint. It has made the game more accessible to more people, increased flexibility and customization, improved the community, and overall improved the entire game over its predecessors. I would challenge anyone to find someone new to the series, sit them down, and have the new player compare Diablo 2 to Diablo 3 where the person would not chose Diablo 3 over 2.

    Common complaints: The story isn't great. - This is true, the overall storyline isn't bad, but the writing certainly isn't top-notch. I'll admit this is one area Diablo 2 beats Diablo 3. Graphics aren't gritty enough - I don't see this one. There's plenty of bloody bodies all over the place. Piles of corpses, torture equipment and gore aplenty, in some areas more than others. But it's always fitting the setting. And this is true in D2 as well. If you really compare screenshots from both games side by side, you'll find less difference here than many seem to claim. Yes, the art direction did change, and Blizzard Irvine has more of a Warcraft/WoW mentality than Blizzard North had. But even with the change in art direction it's still reasonably true to its predecessor. Others claim it's cartoony, certainly a matter of opinion and up for debate, but I don't find D3 significantly more cartoony than Diablo 2 was.

    Always on connection - Considering how full of hacks and dupes Diablo 2 became from it's offline nature. I'm really glad for this. An internet connection is pretty much ubiquitous anywhere you go anymore. Any hotel worth staying at has internet. Any of my friends or family's places have internet. The coffee shop down the street has internet. My supermarket has internet. There's really very few places I could go to get away from it. And certainly anywhere I'd want to play D3, I'd have an internet connection available. This is simply no longer an issue for the vast majority of people in a developed nation. It also comes with the perks of always being able to see your friends' games and being able to hop in and join them. Or chat with friends playing WoW or SC2. I'm not really sure if I'd call it DRM, but as far as DRM goes, this is pretty innocuous. There are many far worse examples of DRM out there to be found.

    Skill/Attribute distribution is gone. - Awesome, now people can't screw up their characters because they didn't go to some website to read about strategies that are valid in Hell difficulty. Fact was, even with the skill/stat distribution, by the time you reached the end game, nearly every viable build had the same stat allocation, and most classes only had a couple viable skill allocations. The people who think this was a good idea either never played at the highest levels, or did, and just wanted to stand out as being somehow better than someone new to the game who simply didn't know better. No one should ever have to re-make a character for it to be viable just to play at higher difficulties.

    No character customization - This one partially ties in with the last point about abilities and skills. I think I've made my point there. For everything else though, Every Diablo 3 class has more abilities (considering runes for the most part significantly change an ability's effects and visuals), every class can be both genders, Every major piece of armor shows up visually on your character. You can dye your armor. The customization in D3 is terrific, it's just all done through gear and ability selection. There are more viable builds for every class in Hell/Inferno in D3 than there are for each class in Hell in D2.

    I like the graphics, I enjoy the music and sound design. I like the art design. I enjoy the game. I enjoy the mechanics of the game. I love the multiplayer, and easily hopping into games with my friends. My wife enjoys the game. My friends all enjoy the game. I've not heard a single complaint from any of them outside of an occasional lag spike. At the time of writing this review the User Score for D3 is sitting at 4.1, and not a single person I know on my friends list (all 20 of them) would rate this at less than an 8. I realize that's anecdotal evidence at best and a statistically insignificant data sample, but I feel it's still pertinent. Ignore the whiners with the sense of entitlement that didn't get what they wanted. Diablo 3 is a lot of fun, and well worth the money.
    Expand
  66. May 25, 2012
    9
    I have logged around 65 hours into Diablo III, and while my binging has slowed down, I have yet to lose any enjoyment with this game. The reason I have been slowing down, actually, is because Hell has been giving me a bit of trouble, and I'm giving myself time to work carefully through it.

    To start with, many of the systems have improved Diablo 2's archaic design, streamlining the
    experience and allowing for maximum fun with minimal hoops to jump through. Leveling from 1-60 is done much the same way as 1-99 in D2, by progressing from Act I to Act IV, and then starting Nightmare, and then Hell difficulties to finish reaching the max level. The difference is that Diablo 2 took a massive time investment and a tedious grind to actually achieve the level cap, whereas Diablo 3 allows you to reach 60 after playing through the three difficulties.

    This speedier leveling system is mostly because of Inferno, a difficulty tacked onto the end of the game, designed to contain the best loot and the most challenging content. I, myself, have not reached Inferno mode, as I am only halfway through Hell, but I can say that I have heard terrifying things about how intense this new difficulty is. The visuals are crisp and smooth, and my computer can run it on its highest graphical settings without an issue. Skills are a joy to look at, a personal favorite of mine being "Electrocute", which is a wizard spell that is essentially Chain Lightning. The bosses all have interesting designs, most notably the final encounter of Act II, which brings a surprising amount of scale into the battle not seen in previous Diablo games. As always, the end of act cinematics are an absolute treat to behold, and even if you choose not to play the game, you should look them up somewhere to experience the incredible detail. Sound is satisfying, explosions, shattering stone and wood, and the screams of your conquered foes all filling your ears as satisfyingly as can be. The music is subtle at times, but fits the atmosphere as well as can be expected. The voice acting is especially satisfying, and I cannot find a character that speaks any differently than I would expect. The vocal shouts from Diablo 2 have returned, giving access to a quick method of thanking your allies, or calling for retreat, all given at least 2 variations to avoid endless spam of one phrase. Gameplay is, of course, the most important aspect of the game, and it is excellent. Each class plays very differently from one another, in my experience so far, and each have their pros and cons. The ranged classes are much "safer" in their damage dealing, but melee classes take 30% less damage by default to compensate for their playstyle putting them into the thick of things. The progression of skills and gear from 1-60 is wholly satisfying, as you will always be able to find an upgrade with each new level, whether through a drop in your own game, or through a fellow player that has posted an auction for an item you can't live without. The runes, similarly, unlock as levels grow. The game is designed in such a way that you will obtain a new skill, rune, or passive ability at least once with each level gained, so hitting that next benchmark is always a reward. The joy of random loot is a bit of a double-edged sword. Rare items can be either incredible or subpar, whereas the lesser version (Magic, with blue text) can often outdo the higher tier. While this may be frustrating to some, the concept makes it all the more satisfying when your rare item is rolled with your preferred stats in a high value, keeping the loot hunt constantly alive and invigorating. Thanks to the Auction House, even the items that roll stats you do not like can be turned into gold, and thus traded up to gear you would actually like.

    There are many, many good things about Diablo 3. The gameplay is quick and rewarding, cutting down masses of demons and zombies as an unstoppable hero never gets old, and while the invincible feeling begins to wear off in Hell and Inferno, it is replaced with the satisfying feel of overcoming a challenging opponent that has a good chance of dropping some fairly stunning loot. I realize that many people are judging the game based on lag, and the always-online DRM, but it is not core to the gameplay, and while some people will see the lag and network issue as a dealbreaker, it can only improve with time, and in a few weeks I imagine that all of the issues can be resolved. I will not give the game a lasting score based on temporary problems, and many of the negative reviews on this site are being posted out of spite.

    By no stretch of the imagination does Diablo III deserve a 0, or even a 5, based entirely on its own merits. As it stands, I am giving it a perfect 10, as I have already been given 65 hours of enjoyment, with many more hours to come.
    Expand
  67. May 27, 2012
    9
    All you could ask for in a isometric lootfest. This is easily better in every way than the already great Diablo II and as such deserves a better score. Fantastic art direction, sound & music and top-notch gameplay make this the quality product as should be expected from Blizzard. The skill & rune system has more depth than you think and really does enable you to mix & match to suit any situation, though you will find that you will stick to a general build most of the time. It would be nice to have definable presets that you could switch between. I laugh at the haters on here whining about it getting boring after 50 hours... 50 HOURS!! that's already way more than you can expect to get out of the current line up of non-MMORPG blockbuster titles. Like any game, it isn't perfect but what it offers is worth every cent. Why break the mold if you're already onto a winner? Expand
  68. May 31, 2012
    10
    A lot of bad reviews from old D1 and D2 players who dont like change or ran into server issues. But heres the facts. Its fun. Bottom line it is a well crafted and addicting game solo or with friends. I never liked the first 2 because they were just clunky and painful. Now that things have been streamlined its much more enjoyable to get with some friends and pursue loot and power. The graphics wont blow you away but they get the job done and allow great visual design for a top down view game. There is so much going on you need all the bright and dark difference in color to follow the action and act fast and accordingly. Music in a headset is just right and dosnt try to rock you out and become annoying. Play control may take a bit of getting used to for some but is second nature once you just except it and practice. It takes the kind of player who really enjoys the lure of power and progression with a true sense that you earn it as it becomes harder and harder to grab that great gear. If your just a casual gamer looking for a story or some kind of game that changes gaming forever than you may not find the appeal of D3, but for all of you who are min maxers and loot whores who love that challenge and satisfaction of becoming the most powerful player you can be, than this game will drive you forward with the promise of power better than any game that has come before. Expand
  69. Sep 28, 2012
    10
    After 200 hours of Diablo 3, I have got 2 sub-60 level Legendary gear drops. I have 2 level 60 characters and 3 more in the 50 levels. It is now that my appreciation for the game begins.

    D3 is all about killing bad monsters and looting
  70. Mar 6, 2014
    10
    This is one of the best single player games of all time. Plain and Simple if you have internet then you should try it.

    The only reason why this game has so many negative reviews is because it requires internet and the fact that when it first came out there was a lot of issues but they have all been fixed and a lot of improvements have been made to that game that make it really good now.
  71. May 15, 2012
    9
    Despite the launch problems which are the source of most people's complaints, Diablo 3 is an incredibly enjoyable and rewarding game that lives up to it's expectations.
  72. May 15, 2012
    9
    Lived up to every expectation i had. Amazing game. Played diablo 2 for like 7-8 years and really think its and improvement to the series. Gl hf playing it :)
  73. May 15, 2012
    9
    All these people rating it a 0-2 are ridiculous. Sure the DRM and always online thing is silly. But lets get to the real meat of the game. I was lucky and was able to log in around 5AM and have been playing it since. It took me a good 6 or so hours to beat Act 1. I don't understand these "cartoony" graphics. It doesn't look like WoW, look at a screen of WoW and then Diablo 3, then look at a screen of Diablo 2. And tell me what it looks more like. Ya it looks more like Diablo 2. What a bunch of cry babies PC gamers have become. Once the server issues get fixed this game will be perfect. I find it ironic that people complaining about cartoony graphics then say, "I'm going to buy Torchlight 2." Really guys, Torchlight is more cartoony then WoW. Get over yourselves. Expand
  74. May 15, 2012
    9
    Play the game slowly and take in all the details of the game. I've been playing for 12 hours and nearing the end of act 2 just because I have taken the time to do other things rather than race to the finish line.

    I believe this lives up to the expectations of diablo 2 lod and i give it a 9.
  75. May 15, 2012
    10
    I don't think people know what they're talking about, there's a good reason the game has no offline mode and that's because real money auction house wouldn't exist with it. Also their game just launched, haven't you all figured out that online only games tend to get full on release no matter how big the publishers think the servers is? I've enjoyed the game thoroughly with and without friends with several classes and it is without a doubt a genuinely entertaining sequel. Expand
  76. May 15, 2012
    10
    What a great game. Sucks that servers are acting up. But the flow and feel of this game are great. The multiplayer experience is awesome and there are so many ways to make a character. I am glad I don't have to do so much un-needed character tweeking. There were only a few goods way to make a character in Diablo 2, so it was way to cumbersome. A lot of silly people out there would say they don't like not having to waste time groaning over their stats, but I think if they give a shot they will find this game to be great. Great additions. Can not wait to get to the hard difficulty levels where it will get even more important how you play and what skills you choose based on your team mates build. Expand
  77. May 15, 2012
    10
    From what it seems, people are upset about character creation, which to me, not having character creation in Diablo 3 was expected. It's Diablo, It isn't an MMO, your character won't really mean as much customized. Another point people are making is that you always have to be online, and they are upset, but then complain the graphics are cartoon-y (it's Blizzard, this should have been expected) and that it is 2012 and we should have better. Big shocker here, it's also 2012, you should have internet. Another thing, the game has been out for about 14 hours at the time of this post, and there are so many people complaining about the connection issues. Jesus fricken christ people, it hasn't even been one day! Every single game that comes out experiences this, give them time to adjust to the amount of people playing, I guarantee it will be fixed.
    To the person that beat the story in three hours, good job playing the game, I'm sure you explored every single area there is to explore with all 5 classes. I'm sure glad you got the full experience, and to be honest you are probably better off without your account. And one last thing about the graphics, you knew exactly what this game was going to look like many months ago. Just because it is 2012, does not mean that every game will look the same or extremely detailed. This is a fantasy game for one, I know there are fantasy games out there that look nice, and two, comparing that to any form of art/music. "Well, it doesn't look the same as so-and-so's piece of art, it's obviously bad."
    /rant
    I woke up real early before work and got a few hours played in, and completed the beta multiple times. I could run back and forth between the beginning and the skelly king thousands of more times and still be content. I'll have more to play later, but everything I have experienced in this game so far has been fantastic. The only time I have had a server connection problem was in the beta, and it was only for a few hours. Overall, I give this game a 10/10 for what I have played.
    Expand
  78. May 15, 2012
    10
    All this trolling makes me sad. D3 is a worth successor to a storied franchise. It does exactly what it set out to do: it updates Diablo gameplay to 2012 sensibilities while maintaining the core of what it means to be "Diablo." This series has been the gold standard in the ARPG genere since it the original Diablo came out in 1996. D3 continues that legacy with aplomb. If you like Diablo or this style of game in general, D3 is well worth your money. If you're not a fan of the genre, I recommend you give D3 a look. Expand
  79. May 15, 2012
    10
    I am having a blast playing. Great sequel to and representation of of Diablo 2. Yes, a lot of WoW influences can be felt, but they are just fine. Could use better art, but the game will run on a laptop, so all good. Server issues at launch? Yes, annoying, but going to be fixed. Upset that you can't play offline? Then you don't understand why they did it. Online only keeps cheaters out, pirates at bay, and helps prevent botting. Expand
  80. May 15, 2012
    9
    Disclaimer: So far, I have played over 7 hours straight, without a hiccup or bug to speak of. Now, I'm not saying others haven't run into issues, but for me, my experience has been stellar. And frankly, considering it's day one of a major launch, there is no way any reasonable and sensible individual would downvote the game for that. Anyone who's been gaming (PC gaming specifically) for any significant amount of time knows that launch days are *always* a mixed bag with server issues, bugs, and various trial-and-error shenanigans. I have been a PC gamer for decades. I have never seen a smooth, pristine, bug-and-issue-free launch. Never. Now on to the important stuff.

    If you enjoyed Diablo (I did), Diablo II (I definitely did), or just enjoy ARPG's in general (if only there were more), Diablo III is a wonderfully refined addition to that genre and retains its crown. While some people feel "streamlining" is a tool of the devil (heheh)--and I agree it is often used as an excuse for developer laziness--it isn't always a bad thing. I personally feel that the D3 team struck the appropriate balance. The game is easy enough to get into if you've never touched a Diablo game in your life (or any ARPG), but for veterans willing to dig a little deeper into the mechanics, there is a depth and wealth of customization available to you. I have found the customization is just as, if not much more, deep than in the previous two installments. I know some will crow with laughter over that and point to the removal of attribute points as evidence of some sort of "dumbing down"...but I would point out that the combination of reprioritizing stats, return of socketed items, and the insane amount of skills per class, enable the player to take customizing their character far beyond anything Diablo II could hope to achieve while still creating a unique and viable build.

    I also find the story to be told far better than in Diablo II and you can tell that the D3 team definitely made it a priority to ramp their effort up in that department. This is a welcome change; not only do you get improved hack-and-slash-and-looting enjoyment but you can now pair that with improved storytelling. I feel a lot more drawn into this Diablo's world than I did in either the previous games.

    Overall, I feel it will be a comfortable glove for most Diablo veterans while bringing enough newness to the table to make it a worthy successor to the Diablo line. I also feel little need to return to Diablo 2, save for nostalgia's sake, as Diablo 3 delivers on that experience and then goes above and beyond. And most of all, this game is FUN. In all caps. So I heartily recommend this game for hack-and-slash ARPG aficionados, Diablo fans, and anyone wondering just what the big deal is with this Diablo thingamajig. 9/10 (no such thing as perfect imo), looking forward to hopefully many expansions. Let the slaughter begin!
    Expand
  81. May 15, 2012
    10
    After a rocky launch (which is to be expected with any major release) the logins began to work and I played for quite a long time. The game play is flawless, the builds are addicting, abilities a ton of fun to use. I prefer softer, artsy graphics to hyper-realism (CoD) because its more fun for me and looks better as it ages. I've been having a rediculous amount of fun so far and once the servers fully stabilize, there wont be a negative aspect of this game. Expand
  82. May 15, 2012
    10
    I loved diablo 2. I spent thousands of hours playing that game from my childhood, through high school and all throughout college. Now I'm an adult and playing D3 brings me back. People whine that it is different, but I don't see it. It feels the same, but better. It's more visceral. It's darker. The monsters are more vivid and the characters are more real. I see more customization, not less. The game is perfect and I foresee myself playing even more hours on D3 than I did on D2. Don't listen to the naysayers. When Diablo 2 came out people were pissed and they though D1 was better. This is just another incantation of that same tried thing. When companies do something different (as Blizzard often does) the fans react negatively. They don't understand the design decisions, but once the servers are up and running well and people have really played the game, they'll be reminded why they love Diablo and they'll come to love this installment too. Trust me, buy this game. Expand
  83. May 15, 2012
    10
    Diablo 3 was one of the largest leaps of faith I've taken yet. The secret to enjoying this game is simple. The pro's Greatly out way the cons. Can't play it cause you don't have the internet? Then you also couldn't leave a bad review here. Honestly, get with the times. It's a minor detail these days. Besides, I'd rather have it all server side with better security than than offline available with hacks everywhere. Also, This game won't be pirated. Don't believe me? Try and find a pirated copy of World of Warcraft. (if it does eventually come out, it won't be playable as it's all server based).

    Can't spend attribute points? Awesome! There was only one correct way to build your character anyway!

    Can't customize your characters? You can now chose male or female for all classes, whoch you could not do in Diablo 2.

    Doesn't have the old characters? Yes, well, Diablo 2 didn't have the 'new' ones. I'll take a Monk over an Assassin any day. Plus, this is 20 years later. Some of them will have died.

    Only 5 characters? Guess what, there was only 5 when Diablo 2 came out. Wait for the expansion if that's a problem for you.

    Lack of story? Hardly. Diablo 3 starts 20 years after Diablo 2 at the beginning of the End of Days. Even going so far as to use story elements used in the 'first' Diablo, which was not even mentioned in Diablo 2. The simple truth is, Diablo 3 is not Diablo 2. No more than Diablo 2 was Diablo 1. Get with the times.
    Expand
  84. May 15, 2012
    9
    There is so much flaming about this game it is disgusting. There are launch hiccups like every other online game. However, the hours I have played have been incredibly enjoyable. The entire game is a modernized version of the franchise, with the writer of D2 writing the story of D3. I cannot say much about the story at this point but after playing D2 for the past few weeks, D3 is a breath of fresh air. Expand
  85. May 15, 2012
    10
    Diablo 3 is a major improvement to the previous bestselling pc title, don't listen to the reviews about the servers, that's simply due to its popularity :)
  86. May 15, 2012
    9
    First the negative: it was a bit of a pain in the ass to get on the first couple of hours due to high server loads, and while I think they could have implemented some sort of queue so you didn't just have to spam login I think we all expected it and from a technical standpoint there was absolutely no way to prevent it.

    The positive: Blizzard has made a FANTASTIC game, the constant online
    play makes hacking/duping much more difficult and after the first couple days the high server load issue will decline extremely rapidly. As someone who got terribly bored playing the first two Diablo games for anything more than a week at a time I still find this addicting like neither of them ever were. Bravo Blizzard.

    This would have been a 10 but for the lack of a queue on login.
    Expand
  87. May 15, 2012
    10
    Returning D1 and D2 player here, and I have to say that despite the really rough launch, this game has lived up to all my expectations. Me and my brother managed to play co-op for a good 4 hours last night and just finished Act 1 while still missing a few things. The boss fights are really fun, and the new skill system is fantastic. The dungeons are really immersive and I'm sure that if you liked the first two, you will thoroughly enjoy this one. Ignore all the bad reviews written by players that are sour because they didn't get to play. Expand
  88. May 15, 2012
    10
    This is a highly polished game that brings everything fans of the series want to its logical next evolution. The abilities are more dynamic, your kit now holds more than 2 abilities at once, and using them no longer feels "spammy". The storyline is great, after my first playthrough, and the environments and mobs will have you smiling while intensely concentrating on how you're going to tackle the new groups of enemies. Truly a joy to play. Expand
  89. May 15, 2012
    10
    I am very disappointed by the entitled nature of the reviews here. Not only is it a complete given that an online game with millions of players will have some issues at launch, but what makes it truly ironic is that Blizzard tends to be one of the better companies at mitigating such issues.

    Two days from now, the 800 negative reviews will be literally meaningless, yet they'll still be
    here on this site. That's a terrible shame. Expand
  90. May 15, 2012
    10
    If you are expecting D2 to be redone, you won't like it. As many have pointed out, there are a lot of differences. Depending on where you are coming from, you may not like the differences. I personally do, so I give it a 10. I think most of the negative reviews are related to the server crashes. At least where I am it's a beautiful day and the downtime is a good time to go take a break.
  91. May 15, 2012
    10
    So many people just review log in screens or parrot opinions without playing games these days, it's pathetic...

    Disblo 3 is amazing, and was well worth the wait.
  92. May 15, 2012
    10
    The first few hours of playing this game was done with friends and I have to say the multi-player element of this game is outstanding. It was incredibly easy to add friends, join their game or have them join me and the UI was intuitive. Not sure why there are so many haters of the online component, or saying it's nothing like it's predecessors. It is every bit as good as Diablo and Diablo II were when they were released and well worth the wait and investment Blizzard has put into producing a quality game. This title will be around for many years to come. Expand
  93. May 15, 2012
    10
    Diablo 3 is an awesome game, with a great degree of customization. The people who say otherwise are used to spending permanent points in synergized skills that leave little leeway for deviation, and they like to call that somehow not cookie cutter, when 85 percent of them are going off build guides they read on the web. I LIKE NOT HAVING TO ALT TAB OUT OF THE GAME. I also like not having to worry about nerfing my character with spent skill points. There are so many possible combinations of skills and gear, I'm hopeful that there won't be a reliance on specific cookie cutter builds that there was in D2. The game runs wonderfully, with just a few launch issues, that are easy to understand considering the game's giant fanbase, old and new. I smell a bunch of butthurt DIablo 2 elitists. I couldn't log in until 2 hours after launch cause of server flooding, but after that point I had an absolute blast. 10/10 would play for the next 10 years. Expand
  94. May 15, 2012
    10
    Diablo 3 is a wonderful game, adding much of its own charm while staying true to the original feel of the previous 2 installments of the series. I've so far played for 5 hours, and the experience has been quite enjoyable.

    first off, much of the bad reviews on this website are people bashing the launch, as the game must constantly be online, even while playing single player (the game does
    not allow offline or lan play). It did take me an hour and a half to get online, but, seeing as how this is an extremely popular game, it was to be expected. This game is amazing, and I'd recommend it to anyone, as it is easy to get into, but becomes a challenge as you progress. If you want to try it, go on reddit or a website like that and see if someone will give you a guest pass, or ask a friend. Expand
  95. May 15, 2012
    10
    this game rocks! There is some first day problems but the game is still awesome and will get just better and better!And people cant read that's why they have so much problem with the connecting to this game but if you follow the community you will have no problem with the game!
  96. May 15, 2012
    10
    My god, these trolls. The game is fantastic. Apart from a few server hiccups, it plays very well. I'm looking forward to spending 7 more days playing this beast of a game.
  97. May 15, 2012
    10
    One of the greatest games i've played in years. People complaining about the servers, I played most of the day on launch, servers were down for four hours. While this is unfortunate, i don't think it should have any baring on the rating of such a great game. 10/10. Oh and have played 6 hours now, still in Act 2, those who are buzzing through the game are ignoring everything there is to do. Great game. Expand
  98. May 15, 2012
    10
    Diablo 3 is **** awesome even if i didn't get to log in all the time today! It's hrpahnasdf;lkajdfa;ldfkj graphics are really awesome and the story telling is awesome. Although this is the first Diablo game that i have gotten so far i think that i will love it and play it for a long time 10/10 !!
  99. May 15, 2012
    10
    If you have come here to read reviews that accurately reflect the current state of the game, you will find yourself sorely disappointed. All you can find is the unified sound of complaint derived from those that find the lack of offline play unsatisfactory. Reality is they knew all along, but waited until today to complain about it. As for the actual game play, it's amazing, possibly one of the most addictive and fun games i've ever played. the music is great, the graphics aren't the BEST in the world, but the simple fact that it can run on my old P.O.S. Machine and my Brand new one alike, makes me even more satisfied. There are so many little things that make this game incredibly fun. Just try it yourself, you will see. After this nonsense dies out and people realize it's really not that big of deal, they will calmly re-approach the subject and apologize for their outlandish behavior. Expand
  100. May 21, 2012
    0
    OK, first off, ignore the bad user review. All of those people are complaining because of DRM, launch day server issues and inferiority for Diablo 2, not to do with the game at all.

    The game runs very smoothly, and while the graphics aren't ground-breaking, the effects are nice looking and the game generally looks very good. The sound and the story, and especially the multiplayer
    functions are also very good.

    The game is just fun. while it may not be as in-depth Diablo 2, it's still a great game, with a lot of replayability
    Collapse
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 86 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 81 out of 86
  2. Negative: 1 out of 86
  1. Aug 31, 2012
    90
    My one major complaint is that the game never feels very difficult, especially on Normal. There are frustrating moments, hordes of baddies, and increasing difficulty levels, but the same feeling of utter defeat never really happens as it did in the past.
  2. Jul 18, 2012
    80
    For all the game's missteps, though, you certainly can't accuse Blizzard of phoning it in - if anything, the game suffers from the tendency to try a little to hard at times to evolve the design. [Aug 2012, p.61]
  3. Jul 3, 2012
    80
    When it works, Diablo III is the best of the Diablo games. When it doesn't, all it does is make you mad. [July 2012, p.54]