User Score
3.9

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 9169 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 15, 2012
    10
    If you have come here to read reviews that accurately reflect the current state of the game, you will find yourself sorely disappointed. All you can find is the unified sound of complaint derived from those that find the lack of offline play unsatisfactory. Reality is they knew all along, but waited until today to complain about it. As for the actual game play, it's amazing, possibly one of the most addictive and fun games i've ever played. the music is great, the graphics aren't the BEST in the world, but the simple fact that it can run on my old P.O.S. Machine and my Brand new one alike, makes me even more satisfied. There are so many little things that make this game incredibly fun. Just try it yourself, you will see. After this nonsense dies out and people realize it's really not that big of deal, they will calmly re-approach the subject and apologize for their outlandish behavior. Expand
  2. May 15, 2012
    9
    Seriously people rating 0/10 because they can't log in or just because of one little thing? Should you be even rating something if you haven't played it? Anyway, yes there are some problems with the game like server issues and no offline so 1 point off for that (not 10 off because thats retarded). I have played 7 hours of the game and i'm still in act 2 so if you don't rush through the game you can expect maybe 12-14 hours of glorious gaming on normal difficulty. Game play wise the combat is visceral and fast paced; the story so far is okay, not great because it is somewhat contrived. You do get a skill every level but you can customize skills with runes, also you don't get anymore attribute points instead you are given them; in my opinion this is a good thing because the attribute system in Diablo 2 was basically enough strength for gear, enough dex for max block, and then dump the rest into vitality, basically fake customization. I'm honestly glad they got rid of the ye olde attribute system. Expand
  3. May 15, 2012
    9
    Ok, so this ticks me off a bit. First off, Diablo 2 was amazing, now they release this game that is supposed to be really good, and from what i have played, it IS. Its pretty amazing actually really fun and awesome. But, the first day EVERYONE got on, so the servers couldnt take it and crashed, now everyone is REALY pissed because they had to do maitinence, does no one in this world have patience? Your giving a GREAT game a bad rep because of one mishap and its fixed now, just play the game. Game= 10/10 Fans= 0/10 Expand
  4. May 15, 2012
    10
    Please don't listen to these idiots posting negative scores. They obviously only tried logging in right when it was launched and expected a flawless experience. From someone who has played every diablo, this one is up there with the rest of them. Great story, great visuals, and while the skill tree is now gone, there is a equivilant with passive and special skills. All in all, a pretty good game. Sad how little kids (You can be a grown man, but still be a kid.) are putting low scores up. Expand
  5. May 15, 2012
    9
    Diablo 3 is a pleasure to play, despite the difficulties logging in on release night. While I do agree Blizzard should have planned for the server load, I can accept that there were unforeseen circumstances. The game falls short of a 10 for me due to the inability to play offline. I understand why it is the way it is, but that doesn't change the fact that it just comes off as a way for them to make more money off of their real money auction house. Kudos to Blizzard for making a game that is both deep and accessible! Expand
  6. May 15, 2012
    10
    I rather see DRM and login problems one day than see duped items for the rest of this excellent game life time. Diablo is NOT a single player game, put that in your mind, it has ECONOMY that needs to be protected from hacks that could come from a non-DRM single player. DRM chatter aside, i finished act 1 and this is probably the best game i ever played.
  7. May 15, 2012
    9
    Ridiculously fun, a worthy third installment in the Diablo series. The action is far more physical and visceral than Diablo 2, with bodies, body parts, broken bits of furniture etc. flying around the screen as you hack and slash. Gorgeous graphics, with a soft-focus "painted" style backdrop to contrast against the foreground action. Typical cheeseball Diablo storyline (and what a delight it is to hear Deckard Cain's voice again). Character classes are fun right from the start, rather than spending an age autoattacking due to only having one or two weak skills and a tiny mana pool - the resource builder/spender system is a great leap forward. But there's really no one word which can sum this up better than "FUN". Expand
  8. May 15, 2012
    10
    So many haters....what did you expect when 37 million people are trying to log on to the servers at once? Connection issues aside this game is awesome.
  9. May 15, 2012
    10
    This game is everything I wanted it to be and more! So so good! Kudos Bilzzard! Once the servers become stable I think this game is going to be incredible!
  10. May 15, 2012
    9
    Great game, ignore the loads of people who hate any type of change. It is a worthy successor to Diablo 1 and 2, with better story, gameplay, writing...everything really. Yeah it has launch issues, but so does every major online game, they will be all fine in 2 weeks.
  11. May 15, 2012
    9
    After the initial SNAFU of being unable to log in for the first hour of the game being live I spent the next 7 hours in the game with three other friends, smashing through Act 1. So far the game has been one of the most enjoyable experiences games can offer.
  12. May 15, 2012
    9
    I've played the game for about 6 hours now and played co-op and single player both. The game has only provided constant enjoyment and it keeps getting better. People complaining about lack of skill points and customization need to give it a rest. There are PLENTY of customization options relating to skills. Thousands of total combinations. Half of the people complaining seem to have only played the beta or not even played the game at all yet. Reviewing the game based off of server stability at launch is about the dumbest thing I've ever heard of in a review. Expand
  13. May 15, 2012
    10
    I loved Diablo 2 and I have to say that this game so far exceeds my wildest expectations. This is almost definitely my favorite game I have ever played and I am only 4 hours in. Blizzard did such a good job keeping all the good things I loved from D2 and removing all the crap that people didn't like. The concerns that people are bringing up like the lack of offline mode, drm, etc doesn't really matter when the play experience for those who bought the game is fantastic. Kudos to Blizzard, they just need to get the servers running super smoothly! Expand
  14. May 15, 2012
    10
    Worth the wait, everything I wanted it to be, amazing, addictive, action packed, and I could say many more things. Diablo III is simply fantastic. Don't believe all these low scores. They are just people pissed at the issues with the servers. Give the game 24 more hours and the game will be fine. Yes, no offline mode sucks, but I don't really care. I always played DII with players and almost never did the singleplayer. GET THIS GAME! It is easily the best game of this generation and I can easily see myself pouring way over 1,000 hours into this game. Expand
  15. May 15, 2012
    10
    TL:DR- 1. Fact- Huge customization with over 108 possible skills with runes, dyes for armor, male and female characters, items change appearances much more than previous games, items glow with a color based on attributes of the item. you can create and customize your own banner, 2. easy to play with your friends just press join game, no more town portal scroll or identity scrolls just press t to go back to town and right click to id items, also you dont need to wait for a town portal just click the teammates banner to go right into the action.
    3. Gold actually now has value (unlike diablo 2) and you can craft rare items similar to how charsi could imbue!!
    4. You actually need to think! Monsters can create walls to block your path, can freeze you solid, push, pull, knockback, make you character feared, slowed, poisoned, thrown into the air. enemies are extremely varied and you must use all your abilities to survive.


    This game is great. I'm not sure why there are so many 0's on here. I think that the new skill customization is great, People are saying the skill system has no customization are dead wrong and have only played to levels 10 or so. You unlock skills as you level and you unlock runes which change the skill. All together i think there are over 108 different skills with runes attached Which easily exceeds diablo 2 customization. Lets be honest for a moment. in diablo 2 (an amazing game) there were 2 or 3 actual builds for a class that were viable for hardcore players. You had to put points into synergies or your character would suck. This new skill system allows for great customization and the ability to adapt to situations. Every character has their own voice and voice acting is everywhere which really draws you into the game. There are great cut scenes with awesome action. Everything in diablo 3 is added because the cummunity tried to add it themselves into diablo 2. There WAS an auction house with real money, it was a third pary company that made bots that would play the game and farm all day and find items to sel to peoplel. Would you rather the makers of diablo 3 add that back in,? An option for bots and farming? I dont think so. Instead they created an entire interface for it and for YOU to make money if you want to. You dont like the auction house and think its dumb? you dont need to use it. The auction house is there if you want to use it and nothing more. The new interface makes creating and joining games with your friends so easy.
    Expand
  16. May 15, 2012
    10
    I love this game. It leads me back to the Second edition I played as a kid. The graphics are pretty, enemies are challenging, and the class mechanics innovative.
  17. May 15, 2012
    10
    Excellent game, a lot of people don't understand about the DRM and like to jump on the band wagon, but with this new DRM the game feels better, people aren't able to hack and dupe items so the RMAH and status of the game remain clean and unspoiled, Combat is fun, fans of Diablo 1 and 2, this is your Diablo 3.
  18. May 15, 2012
    9
    Great Game love the new MMO like features that are included. It sucks to need a internet connection at all time but I see the trade offs and am willing to deal with them. Sure the servers are down but like any other MMO the servers get smacked during the first few days. Overall was it worth the wait...no eleven years is a long time to wait for any game but that doesn't mean that it isn't one of the best, if not the best game in its genre. At least they decided to change the game up and not give us diablo 2.5. Expand
  19. May 15, 2012
    10
    Diablo 3 is very good!I like a diverse mix of skills, easy to play, after the first hour of launch with everyone in the world trying to log in, access & gamepaly was flawless. I actually prefer the art-based graphic style that still looks good .
  20. May 15, 2012
    10
    IGNORE ALL THE HATERS AND COMPLAINTS ABOUT SERVERS!! I played for a solid 8+ hours today with no problems. If you didn't take off to play a game that is arguably the most anticipated game of the decade, I don't feel bad for you. Get over it. No matter what, there were going to be issues with this launch. It's just too popular. All of you complaining about not being able to use skill points... you're an idiot. You know you would have just looked up a cookie cutter build online anyway. Why do you think the skill points were done away with? This is a great game. No one in their right mind can give it less than a 7 or 8. Anyone giving this game a 0-4 based on day one server issues should go to college to learn networking so they can understand how unpredictable networks, ISPs and servers can be. Internet technology isn't perfect. The sooner you all realize this, the sooner you can stop being so angry and giving sch ludicrously low scored to a fantastic game. Expand
  21. May 15, 2012
    10
    It really upsets me how some gamers can be so biased and childish. To give some background: I grew up on Diablo and Diablo II; and I played them so much that I can practically recognize the Tristram opening guitar chord in any piece of music that I listen to. First off: the problems with the servers at launch. I find it ridiculous for almost 1000 users to give a game a bad review because a game had server problems at launch. For those of you who are personally offended because of this problem, I only have this to say: AN ONLINE GAME OF THIS SIZE AND SCOPE WILL HAVE PROBLEMS WHEN IT FIRSTS LAUNCHES. It is ridiculous to think that a game that will be played by millions of people online at a time will not have problems when it first launches. Also, the sole fact that there are almost 1000 negative reviews for it and the game has barely been out for 24 hours is astonishing. OMG THEY CHANGED THE ORIGINAL GAMEPLAY A BIT, I GUESS I SHOULD CRAP ALL OVER THE GAME ON A WEBSITE. Grow up. I sincerely doubt that the the reviewers that took the user score down to a 3.5 actually played the game all the way through. All this being said, I have not played the game all of the way through yet either, however I am adult enough to say that so far the game is different from the originals, but still an extremely solid and engaging game. I have had a great time with what I have played so far and I have not wanted to stop playing yet. There is still the chance that I will get to the end of the game and be disappointed, at which point I will then post a fair review of the game. I simply wanted to give this game a 10/10 to try and balance out the douchebaggery going on here. I have seen it many times in this site: anticipated game comes out, a couple of problems with game (whether technical or opinion), give the game a crappy review before the game is given a proper chance. It comes down to this when it comes to anticipated sequels: if it is too similar it is a rehash, if it is too different it "isn't for fans of the original." Gamers who review on this site need to start throwing out their preconceptions of anticipated games and give them a fair chance before trashing them. Rant over, grow up, play game through, then review. Expand
  22. May 15, 2012
    10
    I am an older gamer who was starting to think I had lost an interest in video games. Today I felt like a kid on Christmas morning. This game is fantastic. At the moment it deserves a 9. Time will tell if it deserves a 10. I'm giving it a 10 just to offset the absurd number of "0" ratings that showed up at midnight before anyone had even played the game.

    Ignore any reviews in the 0-3 range
    that don't offer any real criticism of the game itself. The servers were down for a few hours, and people who haven't even played the game are taking out their frustrations here. People are also complaining about "DRM," and don't seem to understand how Diablo 3 functions as a multiplayer game. I'll take a dupe-free Diablo 3 over a single-player Diablo 3. Expand
  23. May 15, 2012
    10
    The game is great. With the exception of the expected blizzard fail on launch day (does it actually still surprise people that blizzard ALWAYS fails on launch day?), it plays smooth. Visuals are nice, music is phenomenal, the gameplay/combat is smooth and fluid. The attribute/Talent removal was a little odd, but the skill selection being capped at 6 on your bar, and the rune system really allow you to make your abilities the way you want them. It allows you to pick/choose your skills without having to have specific ones talented into to make you 'cookie cutter' since they are all unlocked anyhow. I've played as much as I could today with servers being down and having to work, and I'm loving it so far. If you are expecting a graphically updated diablo 2, you will be disappointed. This is a new game with new mechanics, but I am enjoying it so far. The crafting system is very different from anything that was in diablo 2, and its a nice change of pace to give you something to do with your random items/gold laying around. Expand
  24. May 15, 2012
    10
    Why are there so many uneducated people allowed to post on this site? The same points over and over again are brought up with no research or effort to see why blizzards choose certain game systems. I swear if you have posted about lack of customization you obviously haven
  25. May 15, 2012
    9
    Great game, to all those who think it let down the series it didnt. It is a much longer game than D2, better items, boss fights, fighting in general etc... The plot has plenty of twists so far, especially when compared to the other diablos. the only problem is the option of offline play that is negated. But hey how often are you playing the game when you dont have internet access anyway?
  26. May 15, 2012
    10
    After the hour or so of launch day server issues everything works flawlessly. Great gameplay, story, art direction, and voice acting. 10/10 would buy again.
  27. May 15, 2012
    10
    Crows take flight, accompanied by violins singing rapidly as you begin your journey in Diablo III, what wonders await? What a beautiful game. Just watching the building burn in the distance against the misty clouds which float across the full moon is enough to take your breath away. The DIABLO III logo shines in glorious gold and red as a lone crow motions in majestic redundancy below, and slightly to the right. But that's not all, there is a solitary, gnarled tree dominating the left hand of the foreground, twisted and haunting atop a rocky hill. Another crow sits in that tree... I have spent many-a-hour of game-play just wondering what they crow must be thinking. Millions will certainly get hours upon hours of game-play examining the gray-green grass, swaying hypnotically in the breeze amidst puffs of smoke. The options page is brilliant, and there is a whole list of categories labeled "Act I" to "Act IV" under the cinematics category. One piece of criticism I must point out is that the credits are awfully boring, and there are many empty text fields and a "News" section obstructing my field of view at all times. But all things considered, this is a masterpiece which certainly deserves the Game of the Year Award. God bless you, Blizzard, God bless you. Expand
  28. May 15, 2012
    10
    A quick glance at a bunch of these reviews will shows you a lot of ugly scores, but if you actually take the time to read the reviews what do they even say about the game, that there are connection issues? That there is no offline mode? Ok, but what else?

    The game has been officially out for less than what, 2 days, and people are already torching it because it isn't perfect? Of course
    there are connection issues. People have been waiting 10+ years for this game, I doubt any kind of preparation, aside from creating an entirely independent internet service, would have been able to handle the massive influx of new and current users attempting to log on to servers, log on to battle.net etc etc. Mind you that Blizzard is also responsible for maintaining all of the World of Warcraft and Starcraft 2 servers, along with any and all other games they and/or Activision handle, during this cluster#*$! of networking issues. How many employees do you think they have that are there only to work on Diablo 3 issues? I imagine that number is much, much less than the number of people trying to play the game. Yes, you paid money to play this game, and yes it isn't working as well as you thought it should be. 48 hours is far too soon to be bashing a game to oblivion because the system isn't perfect.

    Regarding the no offline mode, well, as far as I know and have heard, there is no offline mode due, most likely, to the real money auction house. I don't know the specifics of how it works, but players will be unable to create "hacked" items, as they once did in Diablo 2, without an offline mode. Everything in-game item is regulated by the server, and therefore it is authentic, allowing it to be used in the real money auction house. Again, I say this is what I think the reason is. This is not definite fact, but it is a reason that I deem acceptable.

    I'm writing this review even though I've played the game for about 2 hours, which may be more time than a lot of these negative reviews. I enjoyed those 2 hours thoroughly. This is my opinion of it. It feels like classic Diablo 2, a click-click-click adventure rpg. The dialogue is well scripted, and the voice acting is just as fantastic as it is in all Blizzard games. I've only messed around with normal mode, and I'm believing what the developers said that it is basically a tutorial/easy mode. Normal mode is a cake walk, so far, but I don't mind, because I can focus on the story, and although not an award winner, the story is enjoyable. I haven't progressed far enough in the skill system to have an adequate opinion of it, other than that is currently easy to use and enjoyable, with the possibility of a lot of customization.

    Regarding the difficulty, I imagine that the other modes will be significantly more difficult. The broad range of difficulties allows the game to be accessible to the broad range of gamers, ranging from casual to hardcore. I think that, during these 10+ years that people have been waiting for this game, people's expectations became so outrageous that regardless of how good the game is, it would still far short of what they thought it should be. So, don't pay much attention to the bad scores that people are giving this game (right now atleast), because it seems like most of it is due to connection issues and lack of an offline mode, and lots of lots of rage. When people are angry, they think angry, they play angry, and they form angry opinions. Chill.
    Expand
  29. May 15, 2012
    10
    I've been very impressed with Diablo 3 thus far. The art direction is incredible - the scenery is dark, gorgeous, saturated and not overly cartoony. Every class is a joy to play, with a wide array of skills. Runes really add depth to the gameplay experience, and there are so many build options for people to try out and enjoy.

    The quest and event system has been greatly improved over
    previous games, and it just feels streamlined and well-designed. Multiplayer is a joy now that players are no longer competing for loot, and boss fights are actually challenging.

    All in all, this looks to be on of the best video games I've ever played, and I'm so excited that Blizzard created it. It's clear that a lot of love went into this game.
    Collapse
  30. May 15, 2012
    10
    I've never reviewed anything on metacritic before but after reading the many of the negative reviews and seeing what their gripe is I felt compelled. Diablo III is an impressive game that stands on it's own. I would like to take a moment to touch on just a few of the "reasons" people have given as a reason to scoring the game with a 3 or lower. First, you must be connected to the internet and battle.net in order to play. It's been on the D3 website for over a year and it's the same model Blizzard used when they launched Starcraft II. If you failed to do even the most basic investigation before spending your money, you wouldn't feel cheated, however, you only have yourself to blame. The benefit of Online-only game play FAR out weighs the drawbacks unless you were planning on pirating the game. It allows Blizzard to control the economy, pull real time statistical data, and keep cheating to a minimum. By the way, in our day and age of near 24 hour connectivity to mobile devices, wifi, and hotspots - being online to play the game is a negative? I'm sorry but there is a far less vocal majority who live in 2012 that have no problem with Online only DRM. That said, you should not review the game based on this, and if you do, is it really worth giving a game that would have received a positive review, a ZERO because of this? Secondly, many people have complained about the perceived lack of character customization. When you compare D3 to D2 in this department, you guys are absolutely right, you had total control to make a horrible character in D2 and you do not have that ability in D3. A smart player in D2 would have "customized" their character by following one of only a handful long-standing "builds" which almost never changed because the math behind each build was tried and tested for years. Diablo 3 brings this franchise into the modern era where the customer is not the "die-hard gamer" or the "lives with his mother gamer" or the "Loves to play DnD gamer", but rather "The guy from the accounting department", or "The girl who makes your Tall Mocha Latte" every morning. But, you might think, did they sacrifice the character customization that so many fans loved, just to be more accessible to "Joe-schmo"? Not at all. There is still a hundred ways to use your skills in unique and imaginative combinations and while some combinations work better than others, you still get far MORE options that actually have functionality.

    Lastly, there have been many who felt that the inability for Blizzard to manage their servers in such a way that would let everyone who wanted to play, log in within the first 15 hours, were cause for a ZERO rating. Let me remind you that Diablo 3 is one of the most pre-ordered games in gaming history. More people spread more evenly across the globe want to play this game and want to play it right now then perhaps any other launch in history and even so, I was able to play for about 10 hours yesterday, yes, on launch day. How did I do it? Patience, for starters. Also I took the suggestions from the Blizzard team and setup my router to keep D3's ports open. I had a problem, sought a solution, found one from the Dev Team, implemented it and was able to play not long there after. What I did not do was run to Metacritic and give the entire game a Zero because I was too impatient or inept to play the game.

    I'm giving this game a 10/10 because the game is fun, the story is interesting, the gameplay is engaging and allows the player to try new combinations in skills. I started with the Wizard because I felt it would be one of the least played classes, and I've been very happy with that choice. The game's option screen allows for a wide variety of customization even on things that are obvious to me that they could not have thought of without playing the game and listening to testers.

    Bottom line: Is this game Diablo II with better graphics? Absolutely not. This game moves, responds, and envelopes the player in a way that it's predecessor never did. It brings the Diablo franchise into the modern gaming era and leaves little room to doubt the master craftsmanship that went into the production of the title. I would highly recommend this game to anyone who is ready for an adventure, and I wont feel the need to direct them to an extensive game guide beforehand. In short, Diablo III will return what you put into it. If you want a carefree action game and don't much care for the mechanics, you're in for a treat! And if you want to dive into every number of every stat and calculate the damage output, I think you'll find yourself at home as well. Congratulations Blizzard, on an excellent launch, and amazing title.
    Expand
  31. May 15, 2012
    10
    150 characters minimum? God dammit I hate typing...
    Anyway, I played the beta for a short time and I fell in love with this game, even in it's unstable form.
    Now that it has been fully released Diablo III has exceeded all me expectations not only in a game but as a platform.
    The server issues that people have experienced are a minor set back and to be honest I expected worse when the game
    went live.
    The blizzard team have done a great job and anyone who says otherwise should take a good look at themselves as a person and as a pert of modern society.

    ALSO, There is no OFFLINE SINGLE PLAYER because of the risk of hacking, now wouldn't it be nice if we didn't have cheating idiots... then we may be able to have our OFFLINE play.

    Yea, the caps were to get your attention :P
    Expand
  32. May 16, 2012
    10
    The game is great and I like it a lot. Act 1 is easy cause it is for training and there are people who cant see it, plus you are playing at normal. Mixed feelings wth the DRM, but it does not bother me. RMAH, okay someone wants to pay for stuff, it does not affect your gameplay. You dont need customization with skillpoints cause you put it always the same way. If you cant log in game and never played the game, dont rate it. Expand
  33. May 16, 2012
    10
    Blizzard lied to us, trying to make up B.S. excuses why the online DRM was needed, like how they did it with SC2. They are obsessed with sales, becauses its Activision at the end of the day running the show. Like how they rip everyone off with Call of Duty, WOW, D3 id doing the same crap.

    Diablo 3
    - Is very linear and no even 5% as dynamic as d1/2 were, the levels are now boxed sections
    that inter change, where before every single wall, room and door were never in the same position, they were completely replabled, diablo 3 feel like it has basically lost its randomization. When you learn where the sections interconnect or you just start to remember the area you are in. You basically run to the exit 80% of the time just because you remember the same sections over and over letting you avoid half of the rooms that you know lead to no where. Blizzard had some amateur developers picking up after Blizzard North the real diablo 1/2 creators, none of the orgional key staff are around and that's why diablo 3 is ALOT worse then the past, sad to say i'm getting a refund. Expand
  34. May 16, 2012
    10
    I love the atmosphere of the game. The action is fast paced and feels great. It starts a bit slow when you only have a couple of skills to use, but it really opens up once you start getting the meat of your abilities. Rune system is great. A skill you thought was useless before becomes a must have when the right rune opens up.
  35. May 16, 2012
    9
    Extremely addictive...almost like D2 - whitch is great! Yes, i had connection issues, but once i got in the game, i could stop playing. IT IS ALMOST THE SAME GAME AS D2...so... 9/10 :)
  36. May 16, 2012
    10
    Torchlight 2 > Diablo 3. Many of the original developers of Diablo 1 and 2 worked on that game and it shows. Diablo 3 is just fancy colors and is lacking in-depth addictive gameplay.
  37. May 16, 2012
    10
    One of the best game i've ever played ! I was a big fan of Diablo and Diablo 2 (and LoD extension), and this Diablo really rock !
    I hope they will succeed correcting this Server problems !
  38. May 16, 2012
    10
    10 hours into the game. The cutscene into act 2 made me cry. This is a fantastic game.

    The server issues will be fixed. This is BLIZZARD, people...................................
  39. May 16, 2012
    10
    The game is close to excellent. I don't need the perfect graphics, modern technologies or something outstanding. All I need was at Diablo. The only problem makes me sad is Battle.net connection required to play. I prefer to have a standalone offline version that has no dependence from outer servers.
  40. May 16, 2012
    9
    Epic Game, Had some trouble on launch, but it's all good now.
    Game is balanced, climatic, cool plot and most enjoyable.
    Graphics create a unique feeling and aren't colourful at all.
    It's not D1 nor D2, but feels very similar - just like a sequel should.
    A radical shift in game-play mechanics - self-unlocking skills are a great idea in my book - no more cookie-cutter toons builds - you
    change skills as you see fit. I most sincerely recommend D3 for anyone.
    (Yes, I played all Diablo games, including Expansions, and i see D3 as a worthy, keeping the level of previous parts).
    Expand
  41. May 16, 2012
    10
    Pls review the game not the connection issues which indeed is frustating but has nowhere to do with the gameplay itself and that should be the judgement criteria. Therefore 10 as counterscore.
  42. May 16, 2012
    10
    Great game, after the first hour of launch with everyone in the world trying to log in, access & gamepaly was flawless. I actually prefer the art-based graphic style that still looks good years later (ie D2) instead of the trend to hyper-realism and the uncanny valley.
  43. May 16, 2012
    10
    Brilliant game, exactly what i was expecting it to be, better than diablo 2, the people whining are because they haven't caught up with the times and need to let go of their rose tinted goggles
  44. May 16, 2012
    10
    Unlike many other that have been dragging the rating down to 3 etc. do i like the game allot. Personally i think that Diablo 3 have many of the positive details and the same fun gameplay like Diablo 2 did, and with a beautiful atmosphere that drags you into the good story where bad forces are about to take over the world ones again i want to give it a big recommendation to all that haven't bought it yet. Expand
  45. May 16, 2012
    10
    Sorry to say but there are a lot of fool people in the world THAT IS DIABLO! obviously dialbo is update in 2012 you live in stone age! the story is closer to the player the character is use to be changed every minutes to keep the line with other 100 games. in this way could be possible to update. with new skill in the next exp what you suppose to do??? respec is the new way of the customization

    please Blizzard forgive them
    Expand
  46. May 16, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The game isn't perfect, but is a great game, DRM is a shame, but I think the game is pretty fun, despite the outdated graphics, it's pretty well anyway, diablo 3 despite the problems it presents is a recommended game, and Monk is the best Expand
  47. lcf
    May 16, 2012
    10
    Played Diablo I and II, and many other hack&slash up to date (including roguelikes, Sacred, Titan Quest, and others), and it's totally awesome. Fun skills, nice customization with runes, can do re-spec any time.

    Good boss fights (Butcher is the first worth mentioning) you won't find in any other HnS. And even normal difficulty level can be sometimes challenging, usually when you meet mobs
    with new mechanics (like wallers).

    Plot is not usually most important thing in HnS, but it's here, and it's great, too - as well as very high quality cinematics.

    Full 10/10 from me.


    PS Yes, release day was a failure when it came to logging in. That's why 10/10, not 11/10 ;].
    Expand
  48. May 16, 2012
    9
    The game plays really well, is lots of fun like only a few games were so far. The graphics (on my low end computer) are still amazing in low quality. What I like most about this game is the atmosphere. Every new zone is amazingly detailed and hauntingly beautiful. The game will still look pretty in 5-10 years, when graphics have evolved. I will play this game lots, planing to stick to a low pace and taking everything in the game has to offer.

    I would've given it a score of 10, but I don't like the idea of the Real Money Auction House. Blizzard almost lost me as a Diabro when it was announced. But, I'm here, I'm playing and I'm loving it, ignoring the one feature that really sucks!
    Expand
  49. May 16, 2012
    10
    i somehow managed $60 and grab a copy of what i was waiting for long.
    f*** the drm, i can't play because of Blizzard dumbness and greed.... die you.
    its a big disappointment , even single player don't have offline mode. what the f*** they were polishing and stress testing.
    ridiculous it is.
  50. May 16, 2012
    10
    I had to make an account just to counter the amount of crying whiny children. I love this game and I've been enjoying it almost without a break since I started at 1am. Yes, the launch wasn't perfect. Yes, there were connection issues. Make me a game that's perfect 00.01am and I'll pay much more than I did for my CE and download.
  51. May 16, 2012
    10
    Because **** people who gave bad review... and didn't play the game. Be more patient and it'll be ok. Dudes, you know it will be like that, it's alaways like that the first days.
  52. May 16, 2012
    9
    Absolutely loving the game!! It takes what was great about Diablo 2 and brings it up-to-date with awesome looking graphics and that hack and slash gameplay that was so fun 12 years ago.
  53. May 16, 2012
    10
    I am giving this a 10 because of the preposterous amount of people rating D3 as a 0 just because they haven't been able to log onto the servers yet. Disgusting. You people need to sort your lives out way more than Blizz needs to sort out their servers.
  54. May 16, 2012
    10
    Perfect game i don't know why everybody is so angry against the DRM almost anyone have Internet and certainly they will fix the errors soon i really don't believe that people can be so stupid in that way of giving low score because of a bug...
  55. May 16, 2012
    9
    After a few frustrating attempts to play immediately after launch, I've now played about 10 hours of Diablo III, and it is really fantastic. The game is easy to pick up, difficult to master, and impossible to stop playing! Once everyone calms down about the rough launch, Diablo III will be a clear contender for 2012 Game of the Year.
  56. May 16, 2012
    10
    The Best game ever, even though the lousy start. And no matter what they say all sorts of whiners, and the like thugs, it will buy or at least launch a pirate, all the world
  57. May 16, 2012
    10
    Remove free from my last sentence in my previous post, that didn't make any sense. PVP isn't even the game now, I would imagine the same people who give this a zero would give Bioshock, KOTOR, and any other quality PC game the same zero.
  58. May 16, 2012
    10
    I believe this game to be rated about to be about and 8, however i am rating a ten because of the unfair judgement this game has been given. A 3.5, in absurd. If this were the first game of the series, all the nerd boys (and girls) would raving about how great this game is. A large portion of complaints come from the game being online only. We're at a point where damn near everyone has internet. If you don't have internet, it's probably because you haven't paid your bills and shouldn't be buying new games. Now once you accept the fact that it's online only and most everyone has internet all the time on their computer, you'll realize that you can see your friends online and your friends can see you online. This allows you to instantly jump in and play with your friends. Have you ever been to a LAN party and had this happen? "Well i'd host the server, but greg and steve can't connect to me, but if greg hosts I can connect, but joe can't. But if joe hosts every can connect." You spend so much time figuring out who can join who. Blizzard is the server, everyone can connect to it without issue.( Except right now )

    The visual could be somewhat darker than they are, but they are still great.

    I will agree that some things in the game have been dumbed down, but a lot of those dumbled down things really were just ways to prevent you from being able to play the game. For example, after 4 hours of game play, I didn't have to identify one item. So that means i don't have to buy a ton of identify scrolls once i get back to town and manually identify each item while my friends stand around and wait for me. Town portals don't need scrolls. Those scrolls were cheap and wasted inventory. Honestly, there are only 3 features that make this game easier. Teleporting to your friends from town, check points when you die, and not dropping all your items when you die. I would like to see check points go away and items dropping at later difficulty, but its not that big of an issue. Complain once you think inferno is easy.

    The skill tree and points system is gone. The vast majority of players likely looked up online where they should put their stats. So most everyone followed the "optimum stats" build. Powers are unlocked at levels. I don't know about other people, but almost everytime I unlocked a power, I was like, "That's awesome!".

    But.. but.. the servers won't log me in. Deal with it, it's a game. Blizzard will fix the issues quickly. Take a shower and go get some fresh air, maybe a sandwich too.

    Diablo III isn't the best game ever, but its fun. Accept it as a fun game, because once you do, you'll enjoy it.
    Expand
  59. May 16, 2012
    10
    I love this game. I've played Diablo 1 and Diablo 2 for years, and even if this game is different from first 2 titles, I've found it amazing. It's all I'm waiting for: fast action hack'n'slash game with some rpg elements. And every new level it adds me more choice to build my character. I can't wait to ding level 60 so I can appreciate this game at its best.
  60. May 16, 2012
    10
    I'm in Nightmare mode. I need more of this game because... It is so smoooooooooooooth. The normal mode is easy and let us play comfortably. In the nightmare mode, the "beast" becomes far more aggressive and game "playable". Soooo cool!
  61. May 16, 2012
    10
    This is supposed to be a review of the game, now how they botched the launch. The launch was pretty bad, but the game is fantastic. Yes they did away with the skill trees and instead gave you WAY more options. Character customization is really not that complicated if you take the time to, ya know, read. They took out most of what was annoying about D2 and left all the demon slaughtering fun!
  62. May 16, 2012
    10
    Had a lot of issues with the servers, But when I did get to play I had tons of fun! I played all the diablo titles and This one so far is my favorite.
  63. May 16, 2012
    10
    "Uhhhh this game sucks because nobody can log-in!" has been the last 24 hours' chorus, and I undoubtedly support the idea that a DRM forcing you to log-in even when in Single Player can upset somebody. Now, please, think again: Blizzard justified the online-thingy placing online features in the SP mode too, at least, not like others which force you to log and check every time, without "feeling" the game as "online". You can like this, or don't, but it's a choice that brought classical online related problems, nothing more or less than that. Next in line "The graphic sucks! It's not like Diablo 2!" of course it isn't. DIII is not like DII in the same way DII was not like Diablo itself, with all the deserts, swamps, mountain etcetera. We all can say there were no "blue colored tendencies" in the first two games, but still, I can't see where it's wrong having them for a start. I myself am a GM for many RPGs, and when I tell a dark story, I don't get upset because my wizard wants to dress yellow, or because somebody describes his/her spell as "colourful", nor do I accuse them to be "WOW themed". Next, again: "The artistic direction is too much like WOW!" okaaay, calm down, let's have a look at Starcraft II. Now, look again. Doesn't it seem like WOW? No? That's because it's setting is Sci-Fi, the artistic idea behind it is pretty much the same. The new Blizzard's artistic direction is this, you like it or you don't, deal with it. I won't dislike a game because it's different from its predecessor. I don't like WOW graphics, true, but that's mainly because I have a low poly model for my PC right in my face, and not looking at it from a distance. Next: "It's all flat and automatic! No skill trees or customizable characteristics!" do you hear yourselves? Have you even tried to make something different from a Hammerdin or some other somebody-else-made builds in DII? If you did, does the lack of customizable characteristics upset you? Thanks. I personally made a strange face when I understood that skills could be changed only through Skill Runes, but this WILL necessary lead to a multitude of different builds, since one WON'T be overpowered than another, so no more Hammerdins, and no more lame builds. Have fun slashing and killing with your personal build, and get away with the loot. More: "The story is flat, dialogues are below standard!" again, think of Diablo II. Do you remember particularly epic moments beside cutscenes? This is Diablo, it's an ARPG, it's mostly about casting, slashing and stepping on your foes' corpses, Has this stopped you from playing DII two, three or more times in a row? I don't think so. Just a final thought, the "art" in DIII is incredible, the way they played with the knowledge that the game would be seen from one perspective only in the making of scenery, effects, etcetera is beyond imagination, and I love it, with its colours and its "notsomuchlikethefirsttwoonesness". It is okay if you don't like something, somebody wants to shoot at me because I don't like the Uncharted franchise for an example, but this won't keep me from giving a 10 to a game I waited so much for, and I love, even if it has moved in another direction from his roots. Expand
  64. May 16, 2012
    9
    If you liked D2 and (this is a big "AND") judge a game based on it's merits and NOT on your distaste for a developer's reputation, then you will like this game. Yes, the launch has been crappy, but the game is not. Always online is annoying, but it's not the end of the world. The game is super polished and fun. It is reminiscent of D2, but takes things further. 90% of the negative reviews here are about Blizzard's servers. The other 10% are people who made up their minds before ever seeing the game, because "I hate WoW, i hate Activision, i hate Blizzard." Lot's of bitter nerds on the internet these days. Big developers can still make big games. Not everything needs to be a boutique, indy game about using a command prompt to bake a text-based pie (i just made that up, but it will probably make some douche $10 milliion because it's "hip and quirky.") Diablo 3 is good. Give it a chance. Expand
  65. May 16, 2012
    10
    Believe me, I would love to live in a world where this game is a 3.6, but it's simply not. It's polished, fun, and what you would expect from Blizzard. It's and updated D2, that has been streamlined on the skill point and attribute end. The "hardcore" players can say what they want, but I've been playing since the original Diablo and they are for the best. You don't have to look up a build on the internet and make sure you put the exact right points in all their places, and feel remorseful if you didn't. You just bash demon skulls, which is why you play Diablo... So, let the flamers flame, It's still a good game!

    Also, the errors are almost all attributed to the servers, which is just something we should expect with an online required game. They will even out after a day or two. Kiddies these days expect perfection from everything. If it isn't purrrfect on day one they Flame On, it's ridiculous. Most of the people who rated 0 on here will still play and love the game. Do I fully agree with the DRM? No, but it or any other feature in the game a surprise? No, exactly as f-ing advertised. Quit crying and go play the game!
    Expand
  66. May 16, 2012
    10
    Everyone needs to take a breath instead of raging about game systems that have been announced and known for years now. Play through the game and you will see how great it is. Great balance, excellent build variety, amazing gameplay. This will be an all-time classic.
  67. May 16, 2012
    10
    Great game, really awesome graphics. Countless hours of replay. Love the sound and voice acting. Very fun. I can understand why it's so popular. GAME OF THE YEAR.
  68. May 16, 2012
    10
    Excellent game. Some minor server issues that would be expected with any launch of an online game. People are **** about this now because they have no idea what a terrible launch can look like.
  69. May 16, 2012
    10
    This game is great, people need to stop giving bad reviews because of the servers being down or slow. A lot of big games have this problem at launch. Played 4+ house so far and no bugs. Haven't played the 1st or 2nd but still love the game and story line. It runs great on my computer avg 100+ FPS on Max settings at 1920x1080. Buy this game you wont be disappointed.
  70. May 16, 2012
    10
    Diablo III is an absolutely stunning successor to Diablo II, it had launch day problems, but it's already resolved. Real players would not dump this game down, except trolls, the so called "Diablo II Veteran" (LOL).
    Pathetic attempts to write absolutely garbage review without even playing this game or even have the game. 1300+ trolls trolled Diablo III hard on Metacritic, does it affect
    anyone else? Nope, 10 millions of players will still enjoy this great game whatsoever. Users on Metacritic cannot take seriously when you can review the game without playing it and write stupidly garbage review with self-entitled bias reviews.

    Last words: Diablo III is 10/10, better than D1 and D2 in every perspective. Game of the Decade.
    Expand
  71. May 16, 2012
    10
    For me the most important factor is gameplay, and I'm happy to report that it's great!!! Also the fun factor is multiplied by infinity as soon as you invite other ppl to play with you. I'll be kicking demon ass with my mates for a very long time =)
  72. May 16, 2012
    10
    TO BE FAIR: I have only played this game for about 10 hours so far. However, I have been consistently frustrated by the over-simplified mechanics of the game-play experience. The skill system is a very flawed construct when compared to other titles, including this game's direct predecessor. I receive many arguments from fans stating that Blizzard aimed for simplification to allow a wider diversity of players to enjoy the game. I don't accept this. If you look at recently-release titles such as Skyrim, Mass Effect 3 and even Modern Warfare 3, all skill-learning and upgrade systems allow much more freedom of customization of the players character/s and (despite some issues with Skyrim's UI ease-of-use) the games are extremely enjoyable by an extremely wide range of players.

    Another frustration to consider is the side-effects this being network-dependent... Such a side-effect I seem to suffer from repeatedly is server lag in a single player game... Think about that. I've had moments during solo-play where my character jumps around the map, counter-strike-style, when my connection to the server suffered. On a positive note, the improvements in the audio/visual realm are very much appreciated, but it's nothing impressive when compared to the majority of titles on the market.

    Overall, despite being a relatively short distance into the game, I feel that Blizzard has made some shocking mistakes with the design of the game-play mechanics, and their choice with making this an exclusively network-dependent game. I sincerely hope that Blizzard listens to it's customers complaints and releases some significant improvements to the game.
    Expand
  73. May 16, 2012
    9
    People can say what they want, but most of the changes are for the best. If you played all the Diablo's it is easy to see within about 5 minutes that it is more fun, more depth, and takes more skill to play. Diablo 3 is amazing.
  74. May 16, 2012
    9
    I just finished the game I can honestly say this game was really worth it. Diablo 3 is really not at all like Diablo 2 and while I do dearly miss such things like the customization of skills and the rune system [for me] is a little bit frustrating since every person can have every skill and such. However, this doesnâ
  75. May 16, 2012
    10
    Epic Game. Newbie people doing wrong review because couldnt play at 1st minute.
    I know i had some isses to play at launch game but we all knew in adv that.
    I have to congratulate Blizz Staff to dev this amazing game.
    Only negative point, why dont launch at weekend instead tuesday ?
  76. May 16, 2012
    9
    Ok, giving a game a ZERO for having server issues on LAUNCH DAY is ridiculous, you're not a gamer, go cry somewhere else. OK, so I LOVED, Diablo 3. And I'm not a huge Diablo fanboy, I played D2 a bit, never went all the way through it, and it was pretty fun, at least what I remember of it. This time around blizzard stuns with their incredible rendered cutscenes... I really wish Blizzard would make a movie out of their tech, the sheer quality of their cutscenes is amazing. The sound design is great, dungeons feel like dungeons, the voice acting is high calibur, and they even have a great song to listen to while you install the game, very well done Blizz. OK, now for gameplay, the game functions just as you'd think a dungeon crawler would, there's a bunch of different dungeons scattered all over the place and you must "crawl" them to find items, finish quests, etc... This works great, though some of the game is too linear for my liking, the game is fun to play. A little disappointing that there's no offline functionality... What if there's a storm that cuts the internet? Well then you can't play Diablo 3. Some gameplay elements are repetitive as crap, clicking repeatedly to kill people is really annoying, but there's enough variety in enemy types, and bosses to keep you trodding through the game. Though it would be nice if there was more customization... the weapons arent very fleshed out, with just reskinned arms granting different stat bonuses, and you can't customize your own skill trees... with all your abilities unlocking in sequence based on your level, you dont get to choose what to unlock at what time, being an RPG fan I think the ability to spend skill points and the like is a must have, and it was a bad move by blizzard to keep this out of D3. The story is farly interesting, with enough great voice acting to keep you playing through, but hey you can always skip audio and the like if you just don't care. The controls are solid, the game is fluid running at a steady 120 FPS on my machine, and it's addicting as all hell, give it some time when Blizzard works out all the kinks, and you won't regret your D3 purchase. Though being an avid loL player I wanted to remap the right and left click buttons so right was attack and move, while left was my ability... the mapping of the mouse buttons CANNOT BE CHANGED! I also think that's ridiculous. But anyway, grab some friends and diablo the crap out of your PC, it's a funtastic addicting time. Expand
  77. May 16, 2012
    10
    Played the game yesterday with 3 friends and it's exactly what I expected from it, pure hack and slash with a straight forward story, solid mechanics and no fuss.

    Graphics: The graphics are perfect given the game's settings, number of concurrent mobs that sometimes show up on your screen (your screen might get FILLED with mobs at some given events and I didn't lag with your average spec
    PC what so ever), the quality of all the animations is flawless for a top-down isometric view, you can tell attention to detail was given to the animation portion. My only complain could be on the character creation portion, they are indeed fugly on that screen.

    Gameplay : I'm loving the new changes they brought forward, customization while not as present as in the previous one, I feel that they've put just enough to bring a certain complexity towards the various challenges the game offers. I don't feel like "unicity" is something they cared about when it came to customization and I'm fine with that, it's not a MMO and there's no need to add complexity for no reasons. Multiplayer: CO-OP. IS. A. MUST. I wouldn't even play it single player. Co-op is what makes this game fun.

    Sound : No sound expert here but I think the voices match the character's style and "personality" and the music is fitting to the setting.
    Expand
  78. May 16, 2012
    10
    As everybody i got connection problem! but, the game is perfect =), i finished the normal mode, and for me it's very ok! history, skills, everything! is very addictive game! i'm looking forward to play the PVP mode as well
  79. May 16, 2012
    9
    Even though the problems that surfaced during the first hours of the game were huge for a lot of people, I think a fair review should not give them a lot of relevance. From a game life-span perspective, launch day it's a very important day, but it's a tiny percentage of the game experience for it's players.

    Having said that, and focusing on the game itself, I'm very well impressed, the
    game is exceptionally polished, game play is super fun, the pace and difficulty is extremely well tuned (being a "regular" player you get to almost dead a lot of times, but always feel you can overcome it if played correctly). Expand
  80. May 16, 2012
    10
    Its over, i have to say, this is a very good game and I cant wait to get to level 60.

    Ive been waiting for this game for so much time, back when I was 8 or 9 me and a friend were playing D2 and we wanted to know the rest of the story, and I think the plot of this title was fairly descent, except of the linear story.

    The gameplay was great, typical hack and slash at the diablo taste. The
    new "Spell System" with the runes and everything is working quite good imo, so in PvP you wont see players with the same build as you and you have a lot of versatility in what you wanna go. Yes, the character creation screen sucked but you could at least change your gender.

    Graphics, kinda a bit old graphics but hey, if you compare this to D2 you're supposed to be really happy lol.

    Sound, nothing to say on this, zombie screams, epic classical music, everything was perfect on this side.

    Overall everything was amazing except the launch day with all the lag and disconnects. I think most people are hating this game cause they wanted a 100% ripoff from D2 with all the same classes and all the same system, but I still preffer the new system, enjoy and stop ragin' butthurt kidz.
    Expand
  81. May 16, 2012
    10
    This game is wonderfully rendered and creates a real atmosphere of peril and impending need. The graphics are appropriate for the theme which is a dark dungeon crawl, the voice acting is stellar and the gameplay is exactly what I expected from the Diablo franchise. I find this game immensely satisfying and moreover I'm confident that with the already announced updates of PVP and content this game will not only continue to be my favorite but will grow to be one of the best games in its genre. For all the online-only play haters out there, I agree it isn't optimal, but I believe the added bonus of the Auction house and deterence of cheaters which have run rampant in online games in the past, will be well worth the occassional first day glitches that are bound to be there. Expand
  82. May 16, 2012
    10
    Esses que estão falando mal do jogo, estão avaliando os momentos iniciais do jogo. Não sabem que todos esses bugs poderão ser corrigidos no final. Deveriam avaliar o jogo pelo que realmente poderá se tornar com o fim dos bugs.
  83. May 16, 2012
    9
    Generally a perfect Sequel to Diablo II and LoD, although maybe a bit to easy on normal.
    Quite balanced and the random level and events generator seems to do an amazing job. I have finished the game in normal with 2 different characters, and had a quite different experience both times, because of locations that change and new bosses, and events.
    Been a fan since Diablo I and will clearly
    look forward to Diablo IV.
    It is a crying shame that whiny kids try to boycott the games score because of server issues, I think a game should be judged based on the game, not the server capacity. Should Blizzard have anticipated this ? YES.
    Are we grown ups, who know mistakes can happen ? YES
    Expand
  84. May 16, 2012
    9
    Ignore the whiners.. Diablo 3 is one of the best computer games ever made. I played EQ for 7 years, WoW for 6 years, and I will be playing this one for years to come(with expansions eventually). Beautiful graphics, great control. It is Diablo. People are just whining about everything and most of them were(or still are) in elementary school when Diablo 2 came out and weren't even born for the first one. I loved Diablo 1 in college.. I liked Diablo 2(I had my reservations about it) but with Diablo 3 they have fixed everything I wanted and did so much more! Expand
  85. May 16, 2012
    10
    I like the story and the gameplay. People who gives it a 0/10 are whiners. Here are some news for you: 1.Yes, you need an internet connection to play, but it's year 2012. It's not that hard or expensive to have one.
    2. The real money auction house? YOU DON*T HAVE TO USE IT, I'm sure most people won't. They are not forcing you to use it.
    3. About the error codes, I got them aswell. But
    the servers are overloaded, it will be better. And if you give the game a 0 because of this you're pathetic.
    4. The graphics are bad? No, Diablo is supposed to have an artstyle like this. What do you want? FPS style with the flashiest game engine?
    5. The story and the gameplay is not bad. But I understand why 99% of you don't get the story when you rush through the game. Maybe you should play at a slower pace and pay more attention on detalis and lore? And the voiceacting is not bad.

    Is nothing good enough for you spoiled brats? First Mass Effect 3 and now this. Get a life whiners. For me it's not a 10/10, but since the whinepatrol gives it 0/10, I will give it 10/10.
    Expand
  86. May 16, 2012
    10
    If you're an ACTUAL gamer that plays games for GAMEplay, then please read.
    It's sad to see how many people give this game a 0 for really stupid reasons... The connection problems are not the game, that's the server, you try designing a server that can handle THAT much traffic on release day, it's impossible. Give it a week TOPS and things will be running smoothly. Complaining about DRM is
    just stupid, you bought the game, you paid your service, enjoy it and shut up. Now with all this BS aside, let's get to the actual game.
    So far from what I've seen this game is pretty damn good, not perfect, no diablo 2, put damn near perfect:
    1) Graphics, I honestly don't give a damn about graphics... people seemed to have forgotten that games are about GAMEplay remember that part in a game? The GAME? Oh yeah, that. You want to see good graphics? Watch a movie. Besides that, the graphics were fine, pretty, cool art style, clean UI, everything looks nice.
    2) Gameplay - oh yeah! That important thing. So far, it's great, the only flaws I can see with it, is the fact that new characters are always going to be the same, you unlock skills in a very linear pattern allowing for no creativity early on, until about lvl 7-10 when you start making choices. Also the lack of attributes kinda made me frown :( Other than that, the gameplay and loot system is the same of what we know and love from D2.
    3) Other nonsense - Online play is kinda weird. I don't like that you can't play offline single player, a bit of a letdown if I do say. The Auction House thing seems cool - it's not for everyone, but I don't think people should rate it down for that. It's like if someone gave you a great game and said "here, OH and there's this extra feature if you want to use it too, but you don't have to." It's not like you NEED the auction house to get gear.
    That about wraps things up. This game certainly doesn't deserve the 3.6 it has. It's not THAT bad, just people being trolls. In reality, I would give this game a 9/10 BUT because of the amount of trolls that need to be countered, I'm giving it a ten. Maybe someday the 10's will displace the 0's...
    Expand
  87. May 16, 2012
    10
    Great Game... Just close enough to D2 to spark up some older memories but still leave you make new ones. Sound/Graphics is great and play is smooth. Have not even touched multiplayer or Auction house yet as I can t get myself away from my quests to even look. Don
  88. May 16, 2012
    10
    This game is really beautiful. The story, gameplay everything is perfect. Despite some problems connecting to the launch of a huge game that should this compacted over time.
  89. May 16, 2012
    10
    Personally, I think all the negative reviewers are going too far. This is Diablo 3, not Diablo 2. Blizzard never promised Diablo 3 to be identical to its predecessor and they just wanted to make the game more open to players new to Diablo by simplifying the skill system. Sure, it's a downgrade but there are many casual gamers out there that aren't used to something like this. These changes were already shown in the beta and the developers talked about them already. Expand
  90. May 16, 2012
    9
    This game is fantastic.Yes I couldn't log in straight away on launch night,and I struggled the following day,this was a pain in the arse.I hoped it wouldn't happen,but I knew that I had to be connected to play single-player before I bought it.So I sighed and got on with my life for a few hours.And then tried again.Now (just over 48 hours after launch I can log in and play no problems. The game,for me,improves as you play through it.The leveling up process is simple and satisfying.The user interface intuitive and straight forward.The facy people went out of their ways to come here and give the game zero's out of ten is just sad.Games have problems when they launch.Shock horror.Grow up trolls or just **** off,you're just trying to ruin other peoples fun in any way you can.Half of you probably don't own the game anyway,which makes the situation even more laughable. Portal 2 got similarly panned and other excellent games I'm probably aware of.Never played Diablo 2,so have no reference but the game is fluid and fun.Anyone giving less than five probably has a similarly sized **** in inches. Expand
  91. May 16, 2012
    9
    Ignore the haters, this game is amazing. Forget those that complain about the graphics, for it's been beautiful drawn and painted if you only stopped for a second to look around. It's like being in a wonderful cartoon. The music is stunning. Sure there were some server and install issues which maybe shouldn't have happened, but they are mostly ironed out now. This is an ONLINE game, with an ONLINE community and Auction house system, it was never intended to be played offline and Blizzard told you that years ago. If you bought it for single player offline you should have done your research before hand, too bad. The 10-13 million of us that play WoW won't have a problem with that. No character customization -- what do you want to see? When you are armoured up you can see faces, not to mention the fact you can't see faces because the characters are small -- which is exactly why Blizzard removed the customization. As for skill point distribution, Blizzard are getting away from that in WoW, why should that step backwards with their newest game and give you talent trees to fill out when you are just going to go to a website for the "best" build. It's up to you to figure out the best build. At the end of the day everyone looks at the critics scores, not the hater scores. Expand
  92. May 17, 2012
    10
    Diablo as I always wanted it. Action action action... and again action! If I wanted so hard customization I'd have played Fallout instead. I was really frustrated when in D2 I had to stay hours not playing in order to be efficient and keep on the edge with my friends... When my friend (Digital delivery) told me "Crap! It's the same feeling of D2" I drooled. It's different for many crucial points but I find it's quite enjoyable still deep for a Hack&slash (no RPG) game as it is. Surprisingly it has also a great story! Expand
  93. May 17, 2012
    10
    O jogo pode não ser perfeito, mas esta longe de ser ruim. Ã
  94. May 17, 2012
    10
    This game is a HUGE DISAPPOINTMENT. It doesn't even compare to D2. I'd write more but I have to go puke after spending $60 and waiting how many years for this piece of crap....seriously. Not worth the $10 I originally spent on the first Diablo 12-14 years ago. Eight hours was more than enough. Sorry, I hate to write bad reviews. Can I get a refund?
  95. May 17, 2012
    10
    diablo 3 is a very intersting game , the gameplay is just amazing and i enjoyed play it a lot . I think it is one of my favourite game so far .
  96. May 17, 2012
    10
    Amazing game, great sequel of Diablo and Diablo 2, honor the series in so many ways, and the story is fantastic.
    For all you folks that are planning to buy, don't take serious the idiots that are voting negative only because they can't play the game or because they are just idiots, this game is really worth playing.
  97. May 17, 2012
    10
    This game is tons of straight-forward fun - it's actually difficult to pull myself away from it to write this comment. Countless monsters, unfathomable amounts of loot, and a fresh skill system, places Diablo III, like its predecessors, at the summit of hack&slash RPG's. The only reason to be sour about it is if your not part of the action - and believe me, I can imagine how frustrating it must be to be experiencing connection problems. Hang in there though, it's well worth it :D Expand
  98. May 17, 2012
    10
    Stupid noob haters, the game is amazing.. if you don't like the graphics just use the Darkd3 mod and it will become amazing. This is the funniest game after Diablo 2 and me and my friend are in love with it.
    Giving 0 to this game mean that you should go play Call of Duty or The Sims.
  99. May 17, 2012
    10
    I can easily say is the best game I've ever played. I wasn't phased or outraged by the initial technical difficulties, I expected them as a part of the process. As a lifelong Diablo fan, another day or in some cases an hour or so of wait time here and there are laughable in comparison to the time we've had to weather thus far. The title has fulfilled my hopes and dreams for this series. I feel very fortunate and honoured to participate in it's advent. My true disappointment lies with the outraged members community, who despite their very loud pointed opinions are the ones who have dropped the ball.

    What we've been given here is a beautiful, technically admirable gift. That will provide hours of
    amazement and fun for the next decade.
    Expand
  100. May 17, 2012
    10
    Anyone **** about this game A. Has a **** computer. B. Is too much of a fanboy of D2 to accept that WoW created a standard for ability usage. C. Is just a crying mouth breather.

    The game is a hundred times better then D2's spam left click and spam potion system. It took a page from WoWs book (and whether you like WoW or not it created a standard for online games) Hotbar was a fantasic
    addition. Bosses now have actual mechanics that you have to watch for. Overall you can't be disappointed. It's just a great game. Expand
  101. May 15, 2012
    0
    I've been very impressed with Diablo 3 thus far. The art direction is incredible - the scenery is dark, gorgeous, saturated and not overly cartoony. Every class is a joy to play, with a wide array of skills. Runes really add depth to the gameplay experience, and there are so many build options for people to try out and enjoy.

    The quest and event system has been greatly improved over
    previous games, and it just feels streamlined and well-designed. Multiplayer is a joy now that players are no longer competing for loot, and boss fights are actually challenging.

    All in all, this looks to be on of the best video games I've ever played, and I'm so excited that Blizzard created it. It's clear that a lot of love went into this game.
    Collapse
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 86 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 81 out of 86
  2. Negative: 1 out of 86
  1. Aug 31, 2012
    90
    My one major complaint is that the game never feels very difficult, especially on Normal. There are frustrating moments, hordes of baddies, and increasing difficulty levels, but the same feeling of utter defeat never really happens as it did in the past.
  2. Jul 18, 2012
    80
    For all the game's missteps, though, you certainly can't accuse Blizzard of phoning it in - if anything, the game suffers from the tendency to try a little to hard at times to evolve the design. [Aug 2012, p.61]
  3. Jul 3, 2012
    80
    When it works, Diablo III is the best of the Diablo games. When it doesn't, all it does is make you mad. [July 2012, p.54]