Diablo III PC

User Score
4.0

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 9582 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 17, 2012
    8
    Overall D3 is a great game with a big flaw. Diablo is not WoW, so it's a sin to force online game for single player campaign. It's not tolerable that I can't play the game I paid for if I'm not connected!! I live in an island and this would be perfect for my weekends away!
    I also can't stand that their are changing the software license concept. I have payed 60â
  2. May 18, 2012
    9
    The game is just pure fun to play. It has improved a lot over D2 while keeping true to the hack-n-slash-n-loot original and the overall quality is Bliz typical. It becomes actually less repetitive as you level up with new abilities, runes etc. People (me included) were not happy with the server issues of day1 but this does not have anything to do with the game in the long run.
  3. May 18, 2012
    10
    To the haters... get a life and review content on the merits it presents not issues that were out of Blizzard's control. Servers crash such is life. The game is extremely well polished. Don't take away from the system introduced. The ignorant chastise the auction house but it still promotes play. If you want items you need to farm which is totally epic when you get into hack & slash mode.To the haters... get a life and review content on the merits it presents not issues that were out of Blizzard's control. Servers crash such is life. The game is extremely well polished. Don't take away from the system introduced. The ignorant chastise the auction house but it still promotes play. If you want items you need to farm which is totally epic when you get into hack & slash mode. As to no internet connection... do you live in a cave, get a life and get internet its 2012 baby booyah

    Now to the review. The new skill system with the introduction of skill runes is enjoyable. The game is very hard to put down once you in to it because the skills blend extremely well. Enemies are balanced but find normal mode too easy. Once you on Nightmare it moves it up a notch. Crafting and the upgrade of the NPC's area is pretty cool like that you can craft yr own rare items, encourages you to aim for end game and reap the benefits at the Auction house. Over all top class game, graphics need an overall but thats about it. Special effects and sound are great
    Expand
  4. May 18, 2012
    10
    a Huge honor for everyone who play the greatest game of 2012 the DIABLO III.blizzard u r the best.thank u .we support u.i like from DEMON HUNTER class.and after DH my choice is Barbarian
  5. May 18, 2012
    9
    Having a blast. Yes its more or less the same dingeon crawler as diablo II. Love that they got rid of the point systems and replaced it with runes and variety of passive skills, everyone casn sue combinations they want.

    Fun coopeartive game and addictive
  6. May 18, 2012
    9
    I was one of the fans that got the game for release. I was there ready to login right at Midnight on launch day in Europe. I went through all the same login issues as everyone else and was upset by it. That said these issues are temporary and like every Blizzard game we have come to know and love issues are dealt with; even 9 years after a game was released in some cases. That said, let usI was one of the fans that got the game for release. I was there ready to login right at Midnight on launch day in Europe. I went through all the same login issues as everyone else and was upset by it. That said these issues are temporary and like every Blizzard game we have come to know and love issues are dealt with; even 9 years after a game was released in some cases. That said, let us move on and review the game for what it is and not what it isn't.

    Diablo is a hack'n slash RPG and as far as this genre goes Diablo 3 delivers better than any other game in it's genre by a LARGE margin. It is highly addictive with co-op mode more readily available and anti-cheat countermeasures already in place (unlike Diablo 2 for those that recall how awful multiplayer was at times due to hackers).

    Some have complained about the lack of options and customization but I found just the right amount with it getting deeper as the game continues through ability customization and gear. Stat improvement is indeed automatic but through gear you can decide weather you want to be a glass cannon or be able to take some hits later in the game (think nightmare, hell and inferno difficulties).

    I am mainly posting this review as the voices of those that HATE the game seem to be very loud right now while those that love it are busy playing it because it is that addictive - any game that can keep you playing for 6 hours straight and want to keep going is definitely a good game (either that or it administers digital drugs to you or something).

    The only thing that keeps me rating this game a 10/10 is that it true that there is nothing 'revolutionary' about this game. Diablo 3 is what was promised, maybe a little more even, definitely not less. Some fans are displeased with the outcome and while I respect their opinion I would say they are the 'loud minority' and I expect the overall User Score to go up drastically as more players 'come up for air' to take the time and submit a review.
    Expand
  7. May 19, 2012
    8
    Game is good, a little innovation on the ARPG genre which was terribly needed. Battle.net server issues only thing hurting it at the moment. Addition of offline single player (even if a connection is needed to DRM check every 30-60 days or something) would go a long ways towards solving the complaints.
  8. May 19, 2012
    8
    The game is fun, I'll say that. The graphics are rather muddy, more from poor lighting choices than anything else, but the gameplay is relentlessly fun and challenging. The connection issues are severe, I admit, but given Blizzard's status as an enormous company with a lot of resources, we can assume those will go away. So if you're really looking at this game to play in the long-term, andThe game is fun, I'll say that. The graphics are rather muddy, more from poor lighting choices than anything else, but the gameplay is relentlessly fun and challenging. The connection issues are severe, I admit, but given Blizzard's status as an enormous company with a lot of resources, we can assume those will go away. So if you're really looking at this game to play in the long-term, and not just to rage at for a week, the graphics are going to be the biggest turn-off. Expand
  9. Jan 21, 2013
    8
    I am not sure why there are so many bad reviews. I must agree the stroyline is a bit boring, however the game itself is well made. I like the fact that, there are not too many spells and items, because I personally don't like it when there is an overwhelming amount of spells and items , that you get lost in what is what. I would agree it doesn't beat Diablo 2, but its not that bad to giveI am not sure why there are so many bad reviews. I must agree the stroyline is a bit boring, however the game itself is well made. I like the fact that, there are not too many spells and items, because I personally don't like it when there is an overwhelming amount of spells and items , that you get lost in what is what. I would agree it doesn't beat Diablo 2, but its not that bad to give this game a 0. The graphic standards are up there, the quality is also not too bad, the view from the top has been enhanced. The storyline and more levels could have defenitly helped! Expand
  10. Aug 31, 2013
    10
    The only regret is that I waited all this time to play Diablo 3. That game isn't comparable to other h&s in the market. The details, the structure of the map, battles, story,graphics effects, etc. all to a higher level.
  11. May 18, 2012
    10
    Great game and a worthy sequel. Enough changes to keep you coming back, and multiple skill levels to keep you coming back. Not even sure what they haters were hoping for, just Diablo 2.5? No changes in gameplay? No changes in anything? Sorry guys, that's not a sequel. If you love D2 so much, go back and play it and keep the nerd rage about server issues to yourself. People that complainGreat game and a worthy sequel. Enough changes to keep you coming back, and multiple skill levels to keep you coming back. Not even sure what they haters were hoping for, just Diablo 2.5? No changes in gameplay? No changes in anything? Sorry guys, that's not a sequel. If you love D2 so much, go back and play it and keep the nerd rage about server issues to yourself. People that complain about stuff like that have never really had real issues in their life. Expand
  12. May 15, 2012
    10
    Exelent game, but kids should learn how to wait for something, how to fix their crap PCs to avoid errors, and how to calm the **** down when Blizz having a maintenance.
  13. May 15, 2012
    10
    This catastrophic pile of **** made me rage so hard that I killed my roomate. I'm serious, he's dead. This game is called Diablo because it was made in hell, where Lucifer and Hitler collaborated on this **** of sadness and unbridled **** They're literally laughing at me while torturing innocent souls. What in the absolute **** I think blizzard hates me. They took my money and now they'reThis catastrophic pile of **** made me rage so hard that I killed my roomate. I'm serious, he's dead. This game is called Diablo because it was made in hell, where Lucifer and Hitler collaborated on this **** of sadness and unbridled **** They're literally laughing at me while torturing innocent souls. What in the absolute **** I think blizzard hates me. They took my money and now they're all driving away in their flying Yachts laughing so hard that their dicks have now inverted. They have inverted dicks. Seriously. I can't even duel my friends in game. Are you ****ing kidding me? Some **** ass noob will think he's on MY level, because I can't put him in his place. Do you even care about my feelings, Jeff Blizzard?! DO YOU?! I was in act 1 and some **** hacker just spawned 13 diablos and teabagged my corpse until I had to remake my character. SEriously, it's THAT broken. I also accidentally rolled a female character. This level of blasphemy left me gasping for air. I almost died. It was ****ed. This game is ****ed, I hate it. Monks don't even use their weapons. **** it all. The greeks invented anal. Expand
  14. May 15, 2012
    10
    Really fun game. Ignore the troll reviews, this is a great addition to Diablo franchise. Some of the best game play and story telling I have ever seen in a game!
  15. May 16, 2012
    10
    Wonderful game ! Long time expected and finally here ! Great fun ! Just some traffic jam at the authentication server but the game worths the wait !

    The universe is still great, the lore has been renewed... Enjoy !
  16. May 15, 2012
    10
    diablo 3 has been a game that's been one of the very closest things to my heart,its made me feel great,infuriated,and its made me laugh,if this game didn't exist, i'm not exaggeratng when i say i would have commit suicide,its what has kept my heart beating, its what gave me heart and soul,the beutiful art, the insanely amazing story,the adventure,and how you bond withdiablo 3 has been a game that's been one of the very closest things to my heart,its made me feel great,infuriated,and its made me laugh,if this game didn't exist, i'm not exaggeratng when i say i would have commit suicide,its what has kept my heart beating, its what gave me heart and soul,the beutiful art, the insanely amazing story,the adventure,and how you bond with your friends and other characters. it just gives me sadness, anger, and happines.thank you blizzard,for your magnificent masterpiece. Expand
  17. May 15, 2012
    10
    Fantastic, nothing short of incredible design and development. There are the many aspects of the game that improve on mechanics from the previous title Diablo 2:LOD
  18. May 15, 2012
    10
    Seriously? Stop trolling the reviews. Diablo 3 is a very solid game with great gameplay, great graphics, great sound, etc. Yes, there is an issue with the login servers. It should be fixed soon. By tomorrow or the day after, will you even remember the issues? As soon as they fix the issue (aka as soon as they don't have 2 million people logging on at once), you'll be fine. Until then, justSeriously? Stop trolling the reviews. Diablo 3 is a very solid game with great gameplay, great graphics, great sound, etc. Yes, there is an issue with the login servers. It should be fixed soon. By tomorrow or the day after, will you even remember the issues? As soon as they fix the issue (aka as soon as they don't have 2 million people logging on at once), you'll be fine. Until then, just find something else to do. Expand
  19. May 15, 2012
    10
    I felt the need to write this because of how many trolls and haters there are. They're being completely unreasonable and just want to vent on the internets. I have played up to what I think is almost the end of Act 2 and I'm absolutely loving this game. The combat is so satisfying, the story is engaging, the graphics are great (I'm a graphics whore). The graphics aren't perhaps theI felt the need to write this because of how many trolls and haters there are. They're being completely unreasonable and just want to vent on the internets. I have played up to what I think is almost the end of Act 2 and I'm absolutely loving this game. The combat is so satisfying, the story is engaging, the graphics are great (I'm a graphics whore). The graphics aren't perhaps the absolute best they could be, but I don't even care because it has an awesome style that almost looks like it's been hand painted. The art style of the game is great. The GUI, like all Blizzard games, is fantastic. There were server issues at first. It took me 1.5 hours just to be able to log on. That was frustrating, but now that it's working, the game is amazing. Can't wait to try co-op, PvP and the Real-money auction house. Don't listen to the idiots giving this 0 or 1, the game is amazing. Expand
  20. May 15, 2012
    10
    Beware of TL2 and hater Trolls that try to make D3 less than what it is, a great game!!!

    D3 surpasses D1 and D2 in nearly every way with nostalgia blinding many fans.The rest of the negative trolls are pissed off because the D3 servers are down due to insane demand and bug fixes on day 1!!! Gamers are laughs!
  21. May 15, 2012
    10
    Story was amazing, and just enough change to make it interesting. I do NOT factor launch issues into the score as every online game has them. People need to suck it up and deal with that part. Someone said the game is short...but I felt D3 was longer than D2 and much more of a challenge. D2 was a cake walk and the acts were over in a gust of wind. This game has such a rich story comparedStory was amazing, and just enough change to make it interesting. I do NOT factor launch issues into the score as every online game has them. People need to suck it up and deal with that part. Someone said the game is short...but I felt D3 was longer than D2 and much more of a challenge. D2 was a cake walk and the acts were over in a gust of wind. This game has such a rich story compared to the others and it keeps you actually involved in it. The game feels like Diablo with some no twist "quest/ability system" But overall, i am in love with the game personally :D Expand
  22. May 15, 2012
    9
    Disclaimer: So far, I have played over 7 hours straight, without a hiccup or bug to speak of. Now, I'm not saying others haven't run into issues, but for me, my experience has been stellar. And frankly, considering it's day one of a major launch, there is no way any reasonable and sensible individual would downvote the game for that. Anyone who's been gaming (PC gaming specifically) forDisclaimer: So far, I have played over 7 hours straight, without a hiccup or bug to speak of. Now, I'm not saying others haven't run into issues, but for me, my experience has been stellar. And frankly, considering it's day one of a major launch, there is no way any reasonable and sensible individual would downvote the game for that. Anyone who's been gaming (PC gaming specifically) for any significant amount of time knows that launch days are *always* a mixed bag with server issues, bugs, and various trial-and-error shenanigans. I have been a PC gamer for decades. I have never seen a smooth, pristine, bug-and-issue-free launch. Never. Now on to the important stuff.

    If you enjoyed Diablo (I did), Diablo II (I definitely did), or just enjoy ARPG's in general (if only there were more), Diablo III is a wonderfully refined addition to that genre and retains its crown. While some people feel "streamlining" is a tool of the devil (heheh)--and I agree it is often used as an excuse for developer laziness--it isn't always a bad thing. I personally feel that the D3 team struck the appropriate balance. The game is easy enough to get into if you've never touched a Diablo game in your life (or any ARPG), but for veterans willing to dig a little deeper into the mechanics, there is a depth and wealth of customization available to you. I have found the customization is just as, if not much more, deep than in the previous two installments. I know some will crow with laughter over that and point to the removal of attribute points as evidence of some sort of "dumbing down"...but I would point out that the combination of reprioritizing stats, return of socketed items, and the insane amount of skills per class, enable the player to take customizing their character far beyond anything Diablo II could hope to achieve while still creating a unique and viable build.

    I also find the story to be told far better than in Diablo II and you can tell that the D3 team definitely made it a priority to ramp their effort up in that department. This is a welcome change; not only do you get improved hack-and-slash-and-looting enjoyment but you can now pair that with improved storytelling. I feel a lot more drawn into this Diablo's world than I did in either the previous games.

    Overall, I feel it will be a comfortable glove for most Diablo veterans while bringing enough newness to the table to make it a worthy successor to the Diablo line. I also feel little need to return to Diablo 2, save for nostalgia's sake, as Diablo 3 delivers on that experience and then goes above and beyond. And most of all, this game is FUN. In all caps. So I heartily recommend this game for hack-and-slash ARPG aficionados, Diablo fans, and anyone wondering just what the big deal is with this Diablo thingamajig. 9/10 (no such thing as perfect imo), looking forward to hopefully many expansions. Let the slaughter begin!
    Expand
  23. May 15, 2012
    9
    There is so much flaming about this game it is disgusting. There are launch hiccups like every other online game. However, the hours I have played have been incredibly enjoyable. The entire game is a modernized version of the franchise, with the writer of D2 writing the story of D3. I cannot say much about the story at this point but after playing D2 for the past few weeks, D3 is a breathThere is so much flaming about this game it is disgusting. There are launch hiccups like every other online game. However, the hours I have played have been incredibly enjoyable. The entire game is a modernized version of the franchise, with the writer of D2 writing the story of D3. I cannot say much about the story at this point but after playing D2 for the past few weeks, D3 is a breath of fresh air. Expand
  24. May 15, 2012
    9
    Ok, so this ticks me off a bit. First off, Diablo 2 was amazing, now they release this game that is supposed to be really good, and from what i have played, it IS. Its pretty amazing actually really fun and awesome. But, the first day EVERYONE got on, so the servers couldnt take it and crashed, now everyone is REALY pissed because they had to do maitinence, does no one in this worldOk, so this ticks me off a bit. First off, Diablo 2 was amazing, now they release this game that is supposed to be really good, and from what i have played, it IS. Its pretty amazing actually really fun and awesome. But, the first day EVERYONE got on, so the servers couldnt take it and crashed, now everyone is REALY pissed because they had to do maitinence, does no one in this world have patience? Your giving a GREAT game a bad rep because of one mishap and its fixed now, just play the game. Game= 10/10 Fans= 0/10 Expand
  25. May 15, 2012
    8
    I've got to say that the majority of the reviews on here are a waste of time. RAWR! I'm mad b/c I can't get into the game! Listen, no matter how good you are as a game developer, when making an online game you can't predict everything. Mistakes were made I'm sure, but do give this game, which is amazing as a game btw, a 0-2 rating b/c they are having online issues is ridiculous. II've got to say that the majority of the reviews on here are a waste of time. RAWR! I'm mad b/c I can't get into the game! Listen, no matter how good you are as a game developer, when making an online game you can't predict everything. Mistakes were made I'm sure, but do give this game, which is amazing as a game btw, a 0-2 rating b/c they are having online issues is ridiculous. I agree that it should have a single player offline mode, but that doesn't mean that it deserves to get **** on. Expand
  26. May 16, 2012
    10
    The game is close to excellent. I don't need the perfect graphics, modern technologies or something outstanding. All I need was at Diablo. The only problem makes me sad is Battle.net connection required to play. I prefer to have a standalone offline version that has no dependence from outer servers.
  27. May 16, 2012
    10
    Great game, after the first hour of launch with everyone in the world trying to log in, access & gamepaly was flawless. I actually prefer the art-based graphic style that still looks good years later (ie D2) instead of the trend to hyper-realism and the uncanny valley.
  28. May 16, 2012
    10
    I am giving this a 10 because of the preposterous amount of people rating D3 as a 0 just because they haven't been able to log onto the servers yet. Disgusting. You people need to sort your lives out way more than Blizz needs to sort out their servers.
  29. May 16, 2012
    9
    After a few frustrating attempts to play immediately after launch, I've now played about 10 hours of Diablo III, and it is really fantastic. The game is easy to pick up, difficult to master, and impossible to stop playing! Once everyone calms down about the rough launch, Diablo III will be a clear contender for 2012 Game of the Year.
  30. May 16, 2012
    10
    I believe this game to be rated about to be about and 8, however i am rating a ten because of the unfair judgement this game has been given. A 3.5, in absurd. If this were the first game of the series, all the nerd boys (and girls) would raving about how great this game is. A large portion of complaints come from the game being online only. We're at a point where damn near everyone hasI believe this game to be rated about to be about and 8, however i am rating a ten because of the unfair judgement this game has been given. A 3.5, in absurd. If this were the first game of the series, all the nerd boys (and girls) would raving about how great this game is. A large portion of complaints come from the game being online only. We're at a point where damn near everyone has internet. If you don't have internet, it's probably because you haven't paid your bills and shouldn't be buying new games. Now once you accept the fact that it's online only and most everyone has internet all the time on their computer, you'll realize that you can see your friends online and your friends can see you online. This allows you to instantly jump in and play with your friends. Have you ever been to a LAN party and had this happen? "Well i'd host the server, but greg and steve can't connect to me, but if greg hosts I can connect, but joe can't. But if joe hosts every can connect." You spend so much time figuring out who can join who. Blizzard is the server, everyone can connect to it without issue.( Except right now )

    The visual could be somewhat darker than they are, but they are still great.

    I will agree that some things in the game have been dumbed down, but a lot of those dumbled down things really were just ways to prevent you from being able to play the game. For example, after 4 hours of game play, I didn't have to identify one item. So that means i don't have to buy a ton of identify scrolls once i get back to town and manually identify each item while my friends stand around and wait for me. Town portals don't need scrolls. Those scrolls were cheap and wasted inventory. Honestly, there are only 3 features that make this game easier. Teleporting to your friends from town, check points when you die, and not dropping all your items when you die. I would like to see check points go away and items dropping at later difficulty, but its not that big of an issue. Complain once you think inferno is easy.

    The skill tree and points system is gone. The vast majority of players likely looked up online where they should put their stats. So most everyone followed the "optimum stats" build. Powers are unlocked at levels. I don't know about other people, but almost everytime I unlocked a power, I was like, "That's awesome!".

    But.. but.. the servers won't log me in. Deal with it, it's a game. Blizzard will fix the issues quickly. Take a shower and go get some fresh air, maybe a sandwich too.

    Diablo III isn't the best game ever, but its fun. Accept it as a fun game, because once you do, you'll enjoy it.
    Expand
  31. May 16, 2012
    10
    This is supposed to be a review of the game, now how they botched the launch. The launch was pretty bad, but the game is fantastic. Yes they did away with the skill trees and instead gave you WAY more options. Character customization is really not that complicated if you take the time to, ya know, read. They took out most of what was annoying about D2 and left all the demon slaughtering fun!
  32. May 16, 2012
    10
    Personally, I think all the negative reviewers are going too far. This is Diablo 3, not Diablo 2. Blizzard never promised Diablo 3 to be identical to its predecessor and they just wanted to make the game more open to players new to Diablo by simplifying the skill system. Sure, it's a downgrade but there are many casual gamers out there that aren't used to something like this. These changesPersonally, I think all the negative reviewers are going too far. This is Diablo 3, not Diablo 2. Blizzard never promised Diablo 3 to be identical to its predecessor and they just wanted to make the game more open to players new to Diablo by simplifying the skill system. Sure, it's a downgrade but there are many casual gamers out there that aren't used to something like this. These changes were already shown in the beta and the developers talked about them already. Expand
  33. May 17, 2012
    10
    O jogo pode não ser perfeito, mas esta longe de ser ruim. Ã
  34. May 17, 2012
    9
    Ok, I will admit I only played Diablo 2 a limited amount, and am far less hardcore about PC gaming then most. Yes the game has become far more streamlined, yes there were issues at launch. Those who are disappointed, I get it, but instead of giving it a zero which it clearly does not deserve, give it an appropriate score for an underwhelming sequel but a capable standalone game. somewhereOk, I will admit I only played Diablo 2 a limited amount, and am far less hardcore about PC gaming then most. Yes the game has become far more streamlined, yes there were issues at launch. Those who are disappointed, I get it, but instead of giving it a zero which it clearly does not deserve, give it an appropriate score for an underwhelming sequel but a capable standalone game. somewhere between a 5-7 depending on how much haterade you had that day. It's an enjoyable game that isn't perfect and is plagued by corporate greed for sure. New players are going to be incredibly turned off by the 3.8 gamer review score. Rather then throwing a hissy fit for the developers not giving what you expected, appreciate it for what it is, a fun, engaging, if rather strait forward, hack and slash with some customizability with an interesting story. Not to mention it has the wonderful ability to be updated and changed. If you're unhappy, rant about it with a purpose so maybe some things will be changed. Expand
  35. May 19, 2012
    8
    just to clarify,this is diablo,it feels exactly the same,you'll hate it at the end of the night and then load it up first thing next day,(although some bosses actually require you to move the player about).good choice of characters and lots of drops,only bad thing to say is graphics are a bit underwhelming but if you like diablo 2 you will enjoy.

    also reeading reviews i thought it would
    just to clarify,this is diablo,it feels exactly the same,you'll hate it at the end of the night and then load it up first thing next day,(although some bosses actually require you to move the player about).good choice of characters and lots of drops,only bad thing to say is graphics are a bit underwhelming but if you like diablo 2 you will enjoy.

    also reeading reviews i thought it would be a totally linear follow a track on smal maps,this isnt true,the cathederal is bigger than any diablo 2 map.
    Expand
  36. May 19, 2012
    9
    This is a great action RPG. Here is why it is good: 1) Gameplay: The gameplay is fast and easy to pick up. There is a strategy involved and you don't have to be a complete toolbag about micromanaging all of the stats for your character. 2) Setting: The creators of this game have kept to the same kind of setting you found with the first game. Its dark and oozes with character like noThis is a great action RPG. Here is why it is good: 1) Gameplay: The gameplay is fast and easy to pick up. There is a strategy involved and you don't have to be a complete toolbag about micromanaging all of the stats for your character. 2) Setting: The creators of this game have kept to the same kind of setting you found with the first game. Its dark and oozes with character like no other game world I've known. The graphics are fantastic as well. 3) The Classes and the Loot: I really like the classes Diablo3 has. Sure, you get the classic Mage, Archer, Warrior type classes but these classes just look really cool and the armour sets are so varied it is insane. It take a lot for me to give a game a 9 but I am really enjoying it. The only thing I would complain about is that it is a very non-open world, but this is really just sticking with the same formula from past Diablo games. Also, in past Diablo games the dungeons were randomly generated which I thought was cool and added to the re-playability. I honestly don't know what all of these haters are thinking. The game is fun, stop nit picking and just chill and play the game. Blizzard has done a wonderful job with the game...video game expert and newbies can play this game which is really great from a marketing standpoint and makes it fun for everyone. Not everybody is a 16 hour a day WoW player, give me a break. Expand
  37. May 19, 2012
    10
    So many people say "pay to win" yet the real money auction house isn't even in the game yet...I mean that is someones sad attempt at coming up with a reason to hate a popular new game.
  38. May 21, 2012
    10
    This game being my first endeavor into the Diablo universe, or even a blizzard game at that, I was fully expecting some pretty complicated menus and stat spreads or whatever the hell those things are called. I am not in any respect a casual gamer, and though I may piss some hardcore RPG players out there, I found the the streamlined game to be very helpful in getting me to feel prettyThis game being my first endeavor into the Diablo universe, or even a blizzard game at that, I was fully expecting some pretty complicated menus and stat spreads or whatever the hell those things are called. I am not in any respect a casual gamer, and though I may piss some hardcore RPG players out there, I found the the streamlined game to be very helpful in getting me to feel pretty badass from the get go. I did not get the game the first day and have not as of yet experienced any online connectivity problems due to the server being over-loaded. I want to go play Diablo very soon so BOTTOM LINE: It is a very fun game that is streamlined for new players, which understandably pisses off the vets. Although it should be more complicated with a little more customization options, the gameplay itself is absolutely outstanding. I mostly play an 360 hooked up with an HDMI, and I am a prissy little **** when it comes to graphics, but I found myself not really giving a **** about this game's graphics because of the sheer fun I was having. This is the first game to take me away from Skyrim for a bit (but **** the world when Dawngaurd comes out.) I did not give it a perfect 10 because ....well holy **** I can't think of a reason not to give it a perfect 10. You can dye your armor, that's enough customization for me. Please pardon the ****ing swearing. Expand
  39. May 21, 2012
    9
    PLEASE READ BEFORE GIVING A BAD REVIEW!

    So it has been 11 years since Diablo II. Blizzard took longer than it needs and Diablo 3 is not perfect, but it does set a new standard for RPG. Constant Connection: ok, not everyone is happy with this. Some people still doesn't even have internet or very slow one. But if by doing this, it creates a fair and none-hackable environment then I'm
    PLEASE READ BEFORE GIVING A BAD REVIEW!

    So it has been 11 years since Diablo II. Blizzard took longer than it needs and Diablo 3 is not perfect, but it does set a new standard for RPG.
    Constant Connection: ok, not everyone is happy with this. Some people still doesn't even have internet or very slow one. But if by doing this, it creates a fair and none-hackable environment then I'm willing to live with it.
    Skill set: this is awesome! Setting the skill table like this, players can create a bunch of combinations as the style they like and don't need to waste money or coin or reset their points. Good Job! but I expect more choices and unique gameplays, either a new character or 2nd rune level.
    Graphic: not the best but it can be played by regular computer or laptop so you dont need highest quality graphic card. Should have an option for higher resolution for hardcore players. Auction House: I don't like rich kids get to pound ass but it is a choice. Honest players should be able to make money for their hard work. People says Blizzard trying to make money out of this but I don't see how since the money goes straight to another player and they don't sell coins for US $. The transaction fees is transaction fees, lol, for paypal and the people work in it. Others: No more identify and portal scrolls, omg, yes! Fun with friends, yes! A massacre bloodbath, yes, but more nasty, more blood and more creepy please! 9 out of 10, it's really good but can be improve. Thank U Blizz.
    Expand
  40. May 21, 2012
    10
    What happened to the good old days when you could enjoy a game for what it is instead of hating it for what it isn't. I judge a game by how fun it is and for me this game is a blast. I grew up with the diablo series and this game fits right in. Is it perfect, no, but everyone needs to quit hating. The world is so negative now days. Try and have some fun.
  41. May 22, 2012
    10
    10 Reasons Why Diablo 3 is 10/10 (in no particular order)

    1. The game feels very similar to Diablo 2. If you are one of the millions of people who LOVED Diablo 2, you will LOVE Diablo 3. 2. The skill system has been vastly improved. Gone are the days where you either play one of four cookie-cutter Hell-beating builds or die instantly. Instead, players can switch skills on the fly and
    10 Reasons Why Diablo 3 is 10/10 (in no particular order)

    1. The game feels very similar to Diablo 2. If you are one of the millions of people who LOVED Diablo 2, you will LOVE Diablo 3.

    2. The skill system has been vastly improved. Gone are the days where you either play one of four cookie-cutter Hell-beating builds or die instantly. Instead, players can switch skills on the fly and thereby try different combinations of skills for different encounters. This adds a strategic element to the game, but it also just makes the game more fun to experience since you won't be spamming one skill for thousands of hours.

    3. The game looks amazing. It may not look as polished as Skyrim or Witcher 2 on first glance, but Blizzard knows that the devil is in the details. The movements of the characters are smooth and seamless. Skills are impressive to behold. The environments are interactive and the 3D rendering adds considerable depth. The result is a game that may not boast the best screenshots but offers some of the most visceral and epic battle sequences ever created.

    4. The new crafting system ensures that grinding will yield adequate rewards (at least so far). One of the biggest downsides of Diablo 2 was the dependence on getting lucky drops. The new crafting system allows you to salvage pretty much anything and turn the materials into high quality weapons and armor that actually compete with the random drops.

    5. It is easy to join forces against the Prime Evils! It takes all of one click to join a friend's game and take up arms against the forces of Hell. Sure, it is nice to be able to fly solo, but this game is much more fun with a group of friends, and Blizzard has made it easier than ever to make that happen.

    6. This game is worth buying just for the experience of playing Act 3 and Act 4. I will refrain from spoiling it for those who have not had the pleasure, but Blizzard really finishes the game with a bang!

    7. The cutscenes are AWESOME... so is the sound!

    8. By offering hardcore mode and the Inferno difficulty, the game should please serious gamers and grinders.

    9. On the flip side, the game has much to offer to the casual gamer. I feel that casual gamers get drowned out in the forums, but I would wager that the vast majority of the players currently enjoying themselves in the world of Santuary have yet to beat the game on Normal. They are pacing themselves and enjoying every minute of it! The beauty of Diablo 3 is that you can have a blast playing for 10 hours OR 10 minutes... in both cases you are killing demons and finding items. As a person with a demanding job and a life outside of computer games, I appreciate a game that I can play intermittently over a very long period of time.

    10. On a similar note, this game has unparalleled value. People still enjoy playing Diablo 2 even though it was released 12 years ago! This installment will not be any different - it will always be there for you when you need a quick item hunting, demon slaying fix (don't we all?). I can think of no other game that offers such replayability without a monthly charge.

    There are more reasons that this game is worthy of a high rating and deserving of your hard earned dollars. I'd list more, but I'd rather play a bit more Diablo 3. See you in Sanctuary!
    Expand
  42. May 25, 2012
    10
    La digne suite de Diablo II, il ne mérite pas moins.
    La nécessité d'avoir une connection internet fait parti de l'évolution naturelle et logique des choses, c'est son plus gros point positif (sauf la première semaine de sorti, comme tout jeu en ligne).
  43. Jun 4, 2012
    10
    Great update to a legendary franchise. All of the Diablo 2 hack and slash action in a more streamlined package. My only complaint is the addition of the DRM. It's a slap in the face to gamers everywhere. Pirates are always going to find a way to pirate games and all DRMs do is frustrate paying customers.
  44. Jul 8, 2012
    8
    OK so I'm a Diablo fan from way back, played through D1 and D2 many many times and loved every minute of it. Diablo 3 isn't revolutionary by any means but it's great fun, isn't that what games are about? There are so many people giving this ridiculously low scores because they are upset about one or two aspects. Honestly people 0/10?! Really? People stating they've played for 200+ hoursOK so I'm a Diablo fan from way back, played through D1 and D2 many many times and loved every minute of it. Diablo 3 isn't revolutionary by any means but it's great fun, isn't that what games are about? There are so many people giving this ridiculously low scores because they are upset about one or two aspects. Honestly people 0/10?! Really? People stating they've played for 200+ hours and it's not worth $60? What the hell is that about, do the maths, if you played for that long the game cost you 3.3 cents per hour. You can't play a game for 200 hours if you honestly think it's 0 or 1 out of 10, you would not play it for 200 hours! I agree the DRM is annoying and the Auction House just smacks of greed but the game itself is fun and easily worthy of an 8/10 IMHO. Expand
  45. Nov 11, 2013
    8
    Alright, it's time to redo my poor review of this game from a few years ago!

    Alright, Diablo 3 upon launch was a highly controversial game, probablly more so than others. The auction house, always online connection, and numerous changes to the classic formula caused a massive uproar. Even to this day, the uproar is scary and still apparent, with none of the reviews being revised or
    Alright, it's time to redo my poor review of this game from a few years ago!

    Alright, Diablo 3 upon launch was a highly controversial game, probablly more so than others. The auction house, always online connection, and numerous changes to the classic formula caused a massive uproar. Even to this day, the uproar is scary and still apparent, with none of the reviews being revised or changed, with many accounts on here clearly made just to give this game an absurd 0 through 2 rating. I hardly consider Diablo 3 to be as bad as Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde on Nintendo or E.T. for the Atari. Tons of games back then had bugs or glitches that were never fixed for obvious reasons, and the huge deluge of players simply was too much for Blizzard's servers to handle when it comes to Diablo 3. It's been a couple of years now, it's time to stop hating on this game, everybody.

    Whether you love it or hate it, Diablo 3's greatest strength is the fluent, visceral gameplay. Ragdoll physics enable enemies to be brutally butchered in a myriad of ways, with tons of gore and fluent attacks/abilities that chain together seemlessly unlike Torchlight 1, Torchlight 2, or Path of Exile which feel stiff or awkward.

    Diablo 3's excellent action is accentuated by an awesome, in depth ability system, with room for customization for each ability thanks to "Runes". I find it rather laughable when people constantly whine about "wanting to choose a spec" when they technically can do that now anyway with said abilities or runes. You see, there is a reason for why the ability bar is restricted, and this is to make it more tactical. If given too much freedom (which you can have by turning on the ability to customize the action bar completely), almost every player would choose only the most damaging or "best" abilities. Is this really "fun" to you? If you play online, is it really cool or fun to see everybody using the same god damn abilities over and over again?

    While I am on the subject, there is also no reason for there to be a skill "tree" anymore because it can condensed, visually, into something like Diablo 3's current ability system. In many ways, it has the same damn depth as a skill tree, with a lot of room to change. You don't have to change anyway, you can keep your skills as they are now, but having the option to respec is always nice! Also, while I am at it, there is no point to stat points anymore. Each class benefits from EVERY stat now, with Strength giving more armor, Agility adding dodge chance, Intelligence adding elemental resistance (very valuable), and Stamina always important as it adds Health. So, the only real issue is having the classes get more damage output from one stat and one stat only. This is a real problem that hurts the game, but not fatally like all the negative reviews think.

    The auction house, well, is about to get removed permanently. Now listen carefully: SOME PEOPLE ARE COMPLAINING ABOUT THE AH BEING REMOVED. Are you people never pleased?! Seriously, what is going on here? People were complaining about auction house woes one second, and now suddenly people are crying about it being removed soon! Gosh darn it! What I think about the auction house is that in concept, it was a good idea. But, the classic Diablo 2 spirit lies in players trading items to eachother in person, rather than anonymously buying stuff on an auction house. It's a controversial feature that is getting removed pretty soon, which will improve the desire to get good loot from drops alone!

    The always online connection. Well, if you have an Internet connection to complain about how Diablo 3 sucks so bad for so long, then why complain about the always online connection? The game was meant to be played with friends or other people. Are you so anti social that you always want to play on your own? Which is the reason to have offline play anyway. But, I don't see why this is a huge problem. I am trying to think long and hard about it... but the only thing I can think of is the always online connection causing game lag and rubberbanding when going solo or playing with others. Which has MOSTLY been fixed, at least for now. As I've said, if you have an online connection very often and rarely get disconnected, then there is no reason to complain about an always online connection. You are able to connect often anyway!

    The story. The story in Diablo 3 is CLASSIC Blizzard Entertainment stuff. I do not see how or why it is any different than Diablo 2 or 1. We had cackling villains with loud speeches in THOSE GAMES as well, so what's so bad about the new bad guys? The only reason I hate the story in Diablo 3 is that the villains NEVER GIVE UP, but that's because they are arrogant demons! They do not know defeat! The voice acting is excellent on the main characters as well, and the male Barbarian is just a BADASS overall. So, really, what's the problem?

    The visual style. Um, who cares? Moving on!

    Anyway, that's all I have to say about Diablo 3.
    Expand
  46. May 15, 2012
    10
    Best game ever. The perfect hack'n'slash. I don't understand the point of all this trolling. Disconnects? Your very said, that you'll have problems fro couple of hours. Now everything fine.
  47. May 16, 2012
    10
    Best game eva. I mean its so good it atleast deserves a 3.7 User score on Metacritic. So yea its real good. Too bad that error keep showing up... uhm what was it? 37 yeah, error 37
  48. May 15, 2012
    10
    As an avid D1/D2 player from release, this game is a worthy sequel. I have no clue what is persuading so many people to have such a raging tantrum. It's ridiculous.
  49. May 15, 2012
    10
    Game of the decade by far. Everything about this game is perfect. Blizzard level of polish. Don't let all the Torchlight 2 fanboys who think 1 hour of being unable to login on launch (this is the most preorded game of all-time by the way) is a disaster. Game plays perfectly smooth now.
  50. May 15, 2012
    9
    Blizz removed the skill and stat points. Yeah. But, I think it doesn't change anything other than mindlessly placing skill points to an overpowered skill and stat points to the obvious like Strength for Barbarian and Magic for Sorceress. The always online DRM even for single player sessions makes the game look bad though. :(

    But server problems aside, the game is definitely a gem of a
    Blizz removed the skill and stat points. Yeah. But, I think it doesn't change anything other than mindlessly placing skill points to an overpowered skill and stat points to the obvious like Strength for Barbarian and Magic for Sorceress. The always online DRM even for single player sessions makes the game look bad though. :(

    But server problems aside, the game is definitely a gem of a lifetime. Torchlight II might come but it's just #2 to Diablo 3. :)
    Expand
  51. May 15, 2012
    10
    12 years of waiting finally over, mind blown!!!! Blizzard has done an amazing job once more!
    Sure the graphics aren't top notch but sometimes it's not about visuals, a good game will have amazing game play regardless!
  52. May 15, 2012
    10
    I understand the frustration that the servers are getting hammered on launch day, but to sit here a give the game a 0 when you haven't even played it is extremely childish.
  53. May 15, 2012
    10
    Do not simply rate this game on the quality of the server on day 1, because that's being biased and unfair. The actual GAME is amazing. The controls are fluid, the gameplay is stellar, and the graphics are good. Overall, a definate buy. The only thing that bugs me is the exclusion of LAN and this DRM stuff they are pushing. Its a horrible way to push out a game, and almost every review ofDo not simply rate this game on the quality of the server on day 1, because that's being biased and unfair. The actual GAME is amazing. The controls are fluid, the gameplay is stellar, and the graphics are good. Overall, a definate buy. The only thing that bugs me is the exclusion of LAN and this DRM stuff they are pushing. Its a horrible way to push out a game, and almost every review of the game states that. Expand
  54. May 15, 2012
    10
    The poor reviews based solely on those who are anti-DRM are ridiculous, I found the online feature to be one of the best things about Diablo 3. It has made the game so much more social and enjoyable, having played both Diablo and Diablo 2 I find this game to be a excellent progression in the series. The art style, while not super fancy is timeless and in the end that is what Diablo is about.
  55. May 19, 2012
    8
    The irony is that none of the raged nerds that's giving this game zero points wouldn't be able to show us a better action-rpg. Blizzard nailed this game by making D2 more fun, more convenient and more polished. I remember being bored sh*tless when I was trying to clear act 2 & 3's massive emptiness maps in D2. No map feels boring in this game. It's flowing seamlessly. Loot is out of thisThe irony is that none of the raged nerds that's giving this game zero points wouldn't be able to show us a better action-rpg. Blizzard nailed this game by making D2 more fun, more convenient and more polished. I remember being bored sh*tless when I was trying to clear act 2 & 3's massive emptiness maps in D2. No map feels boring in this game. It's flowing seamlessly. Loot is out of this world. Comparisons are much more easier. Witch Doctor is hilarious and crazy fun to play with. It's simply the best action-rpg there is and even angry nerds will tell you they're currently playing D2 or Torchlight 2, you'll know they're secretly playing D3 and loving it. Expand
  56. May 15, 2012
    10
    Let's see, who are the fanboys? the people that realize this is the evolution of the Diablo series, just as D2 was the evolution from D1, and accept this game as Diablo Evolved, not D2.5. This game is amazing. If you can't take off the nostalgia glasses for a second and see that, yes, this game is different, but it is still Diablo, and not only that, it is one damn fine game. SimplyLet's see, who are the fanboys? the people that realize this is the evolution of the Diablo series, just as D2 was the evolution from D1, and accept this game as Diablo Evolved, not D2.5. This game is amazing. If you can't take off the nostalgia glasses for a second and see that, yes, this game is different, but it is still Diablo, and not only that, it is one damn fine game. Simply amazing, in fact. Mindblowing. Blizzard Nostalgia fanboys, if you want to keep playing D2, then go play D2. D3 is evolutionary, and the future of ARPGs. TL2, PoE, nothing touches D3. Expand
  57. May 15, 2012
    10
    Excellent game. Though a still don't have it, I've played the beta and left very satisfied from the experience. I have warning for you, don't read the reviews with rating 0 the people here are ether trolls or very confused newcomers to the universe of Diablo. People are complaining that it's doesn't have a offline mode, but I think that Blizzard made a very wise choice making it the wayExcellent game. Though a still don't have it, I've played the beta and left very satisfied from the experience. I have warning for you, don't read the reviews with rating 0 the people here are ether trolls or very confused newcomers to the universe of Diablo. People are complaining that it's doesn't have a offline mode, but I think that Blizzard made a very wise choice making it the way it is now. Why? Because for obvious reasons. We all know how fast the game will be pirated and put to shame (not so much really). The games has awesome graphics, Blizzard games doesn't aim for quality, but rather machines that doesn't have the latest hardware components and the people that can't afford them. People must not forget that today is the launch day and it is expected to have errors and server problems. because of the quantity of people that want to play this great game. I give the it a rating of 10, because I am a huge fan of the Diablo franchise and no matter what it will this day forever. Expand
  58. May 15, 2012
    8
    Why so many Negative reviews? Just because they changed it to be more user friendly and more entertaining? Sad to see the people give up on it totally and give it a 0, O wait, they are probably still playing it with their grumpy attitude. Sorry to say but if you want to review a game, at-least give it your best and don't only point out the things you think should not have been removedWhy so many Negative reviews? Just because they changed it to be more user friendly and more entertaining? Sad to see the people give up on it totally and give it a 0, O wait, they are probably still playing it with their grumpy attitude. Sorry to say but if you want to review a game, at-least give it your best and don't only point out the things you think should not have been removed without not giving at-least some Positive feedback.


    I give it an 8.

    I overall like the graphics, the gameplay and how user friendly they made the game! It may be downgraded a bit for that part but oh well, it is still enjoyable.

    The only problems I see so far that most people(not the sore raters) see is the lack of character customization and the server's launch problems but that isn't too big of a issue, they WILL get it fixed and working in no time!
    Expand
  59. May 15, 2012
    10
    A phenomenal game. A warning of caution however, it does require access to internet to play, which is probably the only downfall of this superb game. With the addition of a Real Money Auction House, coming next week it'll make it easier for those who want to see some real dollars for their in-game work. Thanks to the tighter control over who's connecting to Battle.net (admittedly aA phenomenal game. A warning of caution however, it does require access to internet to play, which is probably the only downfall of this superb game. With the addition of a Real Money Auction House, coming next week it'll make it easier for those who want to see some real dollars for their in-game work. Thanks to the tighter control over who's connecting to Battle.net (admittedly a double-edged sword) there will be far less gold farmers ruining the in-game economy. Do yourself a favour and check it out. If you're a fan of the first 2 Diablo games, then definitely check it out. The campaign is over 20 hours of game play for a single play-through and of course, any fan of Diablo knows it doesn't end there. Expand
  60. May 15, 2012
    10
    The best game ever made!! I know this because I have played the whole thing all the way through online with my friends and loved every second of it, thereby making me qualified to give a user review as informed as everyone else here who gave it a zero
  61. May 18, 2012
    10
    Is the perfect game. No other near in the Action/RPG. If you want a great PC game, Diablo III is de PC GOTY. A lot of people put 0 to this game. Those people is subjective.
  62. May 21, 2012
    10
    Diablo 3 is incredible. After 12 years of waiting, I can say without a hint of reservation that this is the one game I've played since Grand Theft Auto IV that has delivered. That being said, Diablo 3 is not Diablo 2. There have been a number of changes which may polarize diehard fans of the original, but that I think make for a more enjoyable experience. Diablo 3 is a cooperative game.Diablo 3 is incredible. After 12 years of waiting, I can say without a hint of reservation that this is the one game I've played since Grand Theft Auto IV that has delivered. That being said, Diablo 3 is not Diablo 2. There have been a number of changes which may polarize diehard fans of the original, but that I think make for a more enjoyable experience. Diablo 3 is a cooperative game. The loot system ensures that everyone gets their own drops. You know longer have to be the fastest clicker to get loot.

    The combat is more interactive. You have a set of abilities to choose from that work like a toolkit. You can customize your character on the fly and choose abilities that work better with different classes.

    For instance, I play a Barbarian. If I'm grouped with a lot of ranged, I'll use my AoE stuns, and taunts. I also plug in my defensive traits. If I'm running with other melee, I'll use my cleave abilities etc. If I'm soloing, I'll run offensive abilities.

    The trait system is like Guild Wars. You have a set of abilities, up to six at any given time which you can swap in and out as well as some passive abilities that add things like extra crit, more health drops, etc.

    Also, gone is the potion-spamming **** You can actually play this game. You don't just run into a group of enemies spamming pots, and praying you don't get gibbed. You can actually use your brain to solve problems.

    You don't die as much. This isn't a bad thing. Diablo 2 was known for just kind of **** you every now and again. Diablo 3 will still **** you over, but only if you're a derp. In Diablo 3, you can actually use strategy to succeed as opposed to cookie cutter builds, must-have equipment, and button spam.

    As for the red scores. I get it. Blizzard's servers were down on launch. They're up now. They're stable, and the game rocks. If you want to play the natural evolution of a genre-creating title, get Diablo 3. You won't be disappointed.

    If you're looking for the same old, exploit-ridden derp-fest that is diablo 2. Then just buy Diablo 2. Also, if you want to skip all that real money auction house **** Play on Hardcore.
    Expand
  63. May 15, 2012
    10
    I'm giving this a 10 just to balance stuff out. This game is fantastic, it's just having some hiccups at launch.. just like every other massively anticipated online-only game. Everyone will forget about server issues by tomorrow. Anyone giving a 0 based on that is just being incredibly silly. A 0 is like.. worst game of all time. You honestly think Diablo 3 is worse than Miley CyrusI'm giving this a 10 just to balance stuff out. This game is fantastic, it's just having some hiccups at launch.. just like every other massively anticipated online-only game. Everyone will forget about server issues by tomorrow. Anyone giving a 0 based on that is just being incredibly silly. A 0 is like.. worst game of all time. You honestly think Diablo 3 is worse than Miley Cyrus sing-a-long for Game Boy Advance. I swear, gamers these days are insufferable. Come at me Blizzard anti-fanboys. Expand
  64. May 15, 2012
    10
    I apologize for my long-winded nature!

    This game is Great. Right now there seems to be a lot of angry people mostly complaining about launch related issues, which should not have baring on the game itself. If you you have even been apart of a world-wide, or even region-wide, server start-up that is expecting several Million people to log-in all at the same time then you may criticize
    I apologize for my long-winded nature!

    This game is Great. Right now there seems to be a lot of angry people mostly complaining about launch related issues, which should not have baring on the game itself. If you you have even been apart of a world-wide, or even region-wide, server start-up that is expecting several Million people to log-in all at the same time then you may criticize Blizzard's methods. Until then shut it and stick to reviewing the game. As for people saying this is not even close to what D2 was... That is a blatant lie and you know it. Take a screenshot of D2 and D3, put them side by side. What do you notice? Oh it's the same except D3 is less pixelated. For those of you that think the game is easy mode... You should wait to play through the entire game. We all know Normal is a cake walk. It was suppose to be. I know none of you are into Nightmare at the time of this posting, since you are also complaining about not being able to log-in. And please quit with the DRM bashing. The game community caused this, now lie in the bed we all made. Cool you are a "single player gamer", toss a little community in your cup, it just might brighten your day having that semi-human interaction. And lastly, The real-money auction house is a great idea! They went through the trouble to secure a service that the community really wanted. This is a ground breaking move. If you don't want to be apart of it, you're in luck, you don't have to use it!

    tl;dr Stop complaining and give the game more than a surface glance.
    Expand
  65. May 15, 2012
    10
    I respect your opinions but seriously, giving it 0 because of all the errors that have been occuring THE FIRST DAY!?... And if you give it 0 because of the actual game i think your taste is weird but that's still your opinion ;)

    I love the game and i am already addicted even though i have not been playing that long. PS: I play on the lowest graphic possible, lowest resolution also and i
    I respect your opinions but seriously, giving it 0 because of all the errors that have been occuring THE FIRST DAY!?... And if you give it 0 because of the actual game i think your taste is weird but that's still your opinion ;)

    I love the game and i am already addicted even though i have not been playing that long.

    PS: I play on the lowest graphic possible, lowest resolution also and i still think it's freaking awesome.
    Expand
  66. May 20, 2012
    10
    It was fun until all my characters were deleted because blizzard can't manage this game. Only get this game if you like having fun for a couple hours and then raging because the data bases are gay.
  67. May 17, 2012
    10
    Personally i would give this game an 8 out of ten but im giving it a 10 just to balance out all of the whiney 0 scores. this game is excellently polished and the gameplay is brilliant. There were server errors and such during the release but that is expected of a game this size with online capabilities. The auction house is a bit odd, may cause unbalance in the game depending how itsPersonally i would give this game an 8 out of ten but im giving it a 10 just to balance out all of the whiney 0 scores. this game is excellently polished and the gameplay is brilliant. There were server errors and such during the release but that is expected of a game this size with online capabilities. The auction house is a bit odd, may cause unbalance in the game depending how its handled, and there are definitely alot of changes compared to d1 and d2 but overall this game is a solid continuation of the franchise. Expand
  68. May 17, 2012
    10
    Simply put. This game is everything I could have hoped for! It still feels like Diablo while adding tones of new features! The servers went down the first two days, but I feel that should not impact the games over all quality or review. I have played hour and hours of it already and feel that it is one of the best games I have played in a long time.
  69. Auz
    May 19, 2012
    9
    I was at first put off by all the changes made, I had wondered to myself "could this be the same people that brought me D2?" but after putting in a liberal amount of time these initially depressing changes became welcome additions. I mean to be honest I loved the skill system in D2, I don't have the time these days to create multiple lvl 99's to fully enjoy a class. The combat is justI was at first put off by all the changes made, I had wondered to myself "could this be the same people that brought me D2?" but after putting in a liberal amount of time these initially depressing changes became welcome additions. I mean to be honest I loved the skill system in D2, I don't have the time these days to create multiple lvl 99's to fully enjoy a class. The combat is just as fun as ever, the story is just as awesome as ever, and the game plays wonderfully, the longest loading time I had to sit through was about 3 seconds.

    Now the reason I gave it a 9 and not a 10.. when mousing over the skills they give you no details about what the ability does, there is no easy way to switch what abilities your using, and well as an older gamer I cannot support the DRM..
    Expand
  70. May 15, 2012
    10
    I'll be honest, this game deserves a good score, but not a 10.
    The launch is abysmal, I expected it to some degree, but I didn't expect servers down almost a full 24 hours. That said, I'm here to judge the game, not the launch, and the game itself is really good.
    Diablo is an MMO condensed into a more personal experience, did you love raiding in WoW but didn't have the time? Diablo makes
    I'll be honest, this game deserves a good score, but not a 10.
    The launch is abysmal, I expected it to some degree, but I didn't expect servers down almost a full 24 hours. That said, I'm here to judge the game, not the launch, and the game itself is really good.

    Diablo is an MMO condensed into a more personal experience, did you love raiding in WoW but didn't have the time? Diablo makes a great alternative to the grind through mobs and bosses, get loot, need we all need to fill. One thing noted by many is the normal campaign was cleared in 6 hours, however this is a terrible assessment, as I played for a good 4 hours with multiple friends, and still haven't completely finished Act 1. Its a long game, and if you take into account that the real game is inferno difficulty, you've got hundreds of hours ahead of you.

    The always online DRM doesn't bother me, as this is the sort of game I play exclusively with friends anyway, I do hope Blizzard implements an offline mode and just does not let items obtained in it be traded online to prevent potential cheats. All in all its a 9.0 quality game, lacking a bit in areas, but good, don't let the review bombers fool you, its worth your cash once the servers are steady.
    Expand
  71. May 21, 2012
    10
    Really great game. Blizzard have managed to create a game with the gameplay from the second game, and the mood from the first. Only have positive things to say about the game. I see a lot of flaming about downtime etc, but what the hell do people expect? To the flamers that expected 100% uptime after launch, grow some balls and try to understand the issues related to a release thisReally great game. Blizzard have managed to create a game with the gameplay from the second game, and the mood from the first. Only have positive things to say about the game. I see a lot of flaming about downtime etc, but what the hell do people expect? To the flamers that expected 100% uptime after launch, grow some balls and try to understand the issues related to a release this massive. It isnt the latest version of solitare. Great game, great story, awesome overall. Ty Blizzard! Expand
  72. May 24, 2012
    10
    This is the best computer game I have ever played. I am appalled and disappointed at all the spoiled brats here giving the game a zero because the world wasn't hand-crafted just for them. They don't speak for true gamers who love to play instead of flame. The graphics are incredible, the sound design is engrossing, the music fits the level design and moods.. I enjoyed the story veryThis is the best computer game I have ever played. I am appalled and disappointed at all the spoiled brats here giving the game a zero because the world wasn't hand-crafted just for them. They don't speak for true gamers who love to play instead of flame. The graphics are incredible, the sound design is engrossing, the music fits the level design and moods.. I enjoyed the story very much, the cutscenes are chilling. But MOST IMPORTANTLY: The game FEELS like Diablo. It's impossible to describe. My characters feel extremely powerful, but yet vulnerable. In the higher difficulties, I always have that feeling the original Diablo gave: I'm scared about what I might find around the next corner, but I have the courage to try. A+ Blizzard, you guys are amazing. Yes, there are some technical issues, but a release of this magnitude? That's to be expected. Those spoiled kids here, without maturity, patience or a decent handle on reality will give this game a low score. They do not represent the overwhelming majority of people who are loving this game right now. Expand
  73. May 27, 2012
    9
    All you could ask for in a isometric lootfest. This is easily better in every way than the already great Diablo II and as such deserves a better score. Fantastic art direction, sound & music and top-notch gameplay make this the quality product as should be expected from Blizzard. The skill & rune system has more depth than you think and really does enable you to mix & match to suit anyAll you could ask for in a isometric lootfest. This is easily better in every way than the already great Diablo II and as such deserves a better score. Fantastic art direction, sound & music and top-notch gameplay make this the quality product as should be expected from Blizzard. The skill & rune system has more depth than you think and really does enable you to mix & match to suit any situation, though you will find that you will stick to a general build most of the time. It would be nice to have definable presets that you could switch between. I laugh at the haters on here whining about it getting boring after 50 hours... 50 HOURS!! that's already way more than you can expect to get out of the current line up of non-MMORPG blockbuster titles. Like any game, it isn't perfect but what it offers is worth every cent. Why break the mold if you're already onto a winner? Expand
  74. May 15, 2012
    9
    Great Game love the new MMO like features that are included. It sucks to need a internet connection at all time but I see the trade offs and am willing to deal with them. Sure the servers are down but like any other MMO the servers get smacked during the first few days. Overall was it worth the wait...no eleven years is a long time to wait for any game but that doesn't mean that it isn'tGreat Game love the new MMO like features that are included. It sucks to need a internet connection at all time but I see the trade offs and am willing to deal with them. Sure the servers are down but like any other MMO the servers get smacked during the first few days. Overall was it worth the wait...no eleven years is a long time to wait for any game but that doesn't mean that it isn't one of the best, if not the best game in its genre. At least they decided to change the game up and not give us diablo 2.5. Expand
  75. May 15, 2012
    8
    Gameplay: 3/3 (Addicting, awesome.)
    Graphics: 3/3 (Why all the hate? Get better GFX cards, it looks fabulous on my comp)
    Story: 2/3 (lil cheesy, but D3 isn't really about the story)
    -1 for bad launch day servers. They knew the hundreds of millions of fans that were going to be on launch minute, and they even did an open beta test. Cmon.
  76. May 15, 2012
    8
    For me, diablo iii is not perfect, but still can be a nice game. the only problem is lag and DC. diablo ii is much better than diablo ii,but both nice games.
  77. May 15, 2012
    9
    Great game, to all those who think it let down the series it didnt. It is a much longer game than D2, better items, boss fights, fighting in general etc... The plot has plenty of twists so far, especially when compared to the other diablos. the only problem is the option of offline play that is negated. But hey how often are you playing the game when you dont have internet access anyway?
  78. May 16, 2012
    10
    Blizzard lied to us, trying to make up B.S. excuses why the online DRM was needed, like how they did it with SC2. They are obsessed with sales, becauses its Activision at the end of the day running the show. Like how they rip everyone off with Call of Duty, WOW, D3 id doing the same crap.

    Diablo 3 - Is very linear and no even 5% as dynamic as d1/2 were, the levels are now boxed sections
    Blizzard lied to us, trying to make up B.S. excuses why the online DRM was needed, like how they did it with SC2. They are obsessed with sales, becauses its Activision at the end of the day running the show. Like how they rip everyone off with Call of Duty, WOW, D3 id doing the same crap.

    Diablo 3
    - Is very linear and no even 5% as dynamic as d1/2 were, the levels are now boxed sections that inter change, where before every single wall, room and door were never in the same position, they were completely replabled, diablo 3 feel like it has basically lost its randomization. When you learn where the sections interconnect or you just start to remember the area you are in. You basically run to the exit 80% of the time just because you remember the same sections over and over letting you avoid half of the rooms that you know lead to no where. Blizzard had some amateur developers picking up after Blizzard North the real diablo 1/2 creators, none of the orgional key staff are around and that's why diablo 3 is ALOT worse then the past, sad to say i'm getting a refund.
    Expand
  79. May 16, 2012
    10
    Perfect game i don't know why everybody is so angry against the DRM almost anyone have Internet and certainly they will fix the errors soon i really don't believe that people can be so stupid in that way of giving low score because of a bug...
  80. May 16, 2012
    10
    Remove free from my last sentence in my previous post, that didn't make any sense. PVP isn't even the game now, I would imagine the same people who give this a zero would give Bioshock, KOTOR, and any other quality PC game the same zero.
  81. May 16, 2012
    10
    TO BE FAIR: I have only played this game for about 10 hours so far. However, I have been consistently frustrated by the over-simplified mechanics of the game-play experience. The skill system is a very flawed construct when compared to other titles, including this game's direct predecessor. I receive many arguments from fans stating that Blizzard aimed for simplification to allow aTO BE FAIR: I have only played this game for about 10 hours so far. However, I have been consistently frustrated by the over-simplified mechanics of the game-play experience. The skill system is a very flawed construct when compared to other titles, including this game's direct predecessor. I receive many arguments from fans stating that Blizzard aimed for simplification to allow a wider diversity of players to enjoy the game. I don't accept this. If you look at recently-release titles such as Skyrim, Mass Effect 3 and even Modern Warfare 3, all skill-learning and upgrade systems allow much more freedom of customization of the players character/s and (despite some issues with Skyrim's UI ease-of-use) the games are extremely enjoyable by an extremely wide range of players.

    Another frustration to consider is the side-effects this being network-dependent... Such a side-effect I seem to suffer from repeatedly is server lag in a single player game... Think about that. I've had moments during solo-play where my character jumps around the map, counter-strike-style, when my connection to the server suffered. On a positive note, the improvements in the audio/visual realm are very much appreciated, but it's nothing impressive when compared to the majority of titles on the market.

    Overall, despite being a relatively short distance into the game, I feel that Blizzard has made some shocking mistakes with the design of the game-play mechanics, and their choice with making this an exclusively network-dependent game. I sincerely hope that Blizzard listens to it's customers complaints and releases some significant improvements to the game.
    Expand
  82. May 16, 2012
    8
    Note: Keep in mind that this is coming from a person who has only gotten around halfway through act 2. I'll also say this right now, I think a lot of the negativity surrounding this game has less to do about the actual game than people would like you to believe. A lot of people, myself included, have been upset about the immense amount of downtime on the Diablo 3 servers. This has leftNote: Keep in mind that this is coming from a person who has only gotten around halfway through act 2. I'll also say this right now, I think a lot of the negativity surrounding this game has less to do about the actual game than people would like you to believe. A lot of people, myself included, have been upset about the immense amount of downtime on the Diablo 3 servers. This has left a lot of people very frustrated, and I believe a lot of that frustration at the servers turn into very negative, and in my own opinion inaccurate, reviews for the game itself.

    Character customization - very good, once you get to higher levels. While you lack the skill and attribute points used to customize your characters like in the previous games, you instead get runes to customize your skills, and powerful passive skills as well. Gemming is also still around, but only available after you've beaten act 1. While you won't spend nearly as much time customizing your character, the runes you select for your skills, along with the 6 skills you decide to use, have a large impact on your gaming experience, and allow your character to play the way you'd like to. Want to stunlock enemies into nonexistence? Go for all the stunning runes for your abilities. Want to become amazingly tanky? Barbarians can spec in a way to receive a lot of self heals, and damage reduction.

    Difficulty - Playing through normal mode so far (on act 2) and its been pretty easy so far. However, it does get a lot harder on coop mode. Not to mention, I've heard of people on inferno difficulty already (yes, not even 2 days after the game came out). However, at that difficulty level a LOT of people are having problems, even after level capping (the level cap is currently set at 60). Overall, it seems like they undertuned the game a bit, as act 1 was very very easy to beat, even with the server lag that we all experienced on day 1.

    Story line - The story line was probably the most disappointing aspect of the game thus far. The plot is fairly linear, and if you've played through Diablo 1 and 2 then the identity of the stranger in act 1 won't surprise you much. This is definitely an area that could have used more work. After act 1, the story does pick up a bit, but even at that point its not exceptional.

    Game play - If you enjoy fast paced, chaotic action, this game definitely delivers. Combat is mostly very fluid, but there are a few clunky mechanics. Since I play the barbarian class, and haven't tested out the other classes, I'll only talk about him. Your Leap ability doesn't always work the way one would like, sometimes it hits some of the terrain and won't keep going, instead you'll drop a few feet from where you originally planned to land. You also can't leap up edges, which while making sense gameplay wise (as you'd be able to skip through content much faster) it doesn't look right with the animation. You CAN however sometimes use your grappling throw ability on enemies on a ledge higher than you. Whether this is intentional or not I have yet to determine, as the skill doesn't always want to go over the ledge. As I talked about earlier, the difficulty level of the game does need some work, so I'd definitely recommend that you find some friends to play with, as the game gets a little bit harder with more people. While I do say a lot of negative things about the gameplay, these are all mostly minor issues.

    PVP - While there is no world PVP, there will be an arena style PVP system. While some people are complaining about this, I feel this is an awesome change. Since the beginning of the Diablo series, people who wanted to PVP were left with very few options. You could either duel, or participate in world PVP. World PVP was always a risk, as in the old games you dropped your items when you died. This new PVP system allows for those who hate PVP to not have to take a part in it, and for the hardcore PVPer's out there (I am one of them) it will promote a more competitive atmosphere. While arena's haven't been released yet, Blizzard has let us know quite a bit about them. While I won't go into detail how they work as you can just look that up yourself, I will say that there will be a matchmaking system in place to match up teams of approximately the same skill level to fight against each other.

    Since I'm running out of room, I'll just end my review with a quick talk about the server issues people have been complaining about. I am 100% in agreement with people about how Blizzard mishandled their launch. However, since day 1 of the game should determine how I permanently rate the game, I didn't include this in my scoring of the game. Yes, it really sucked, but anyone who reads this review after day 1 will never run across the server issues we did, and if I talked exclusively about it it would render my review completely unhelpful.
    Expand
  83. May 16, 2012
    10
    As everybody i got connection problem! but, the game is perfect =), i finished the normal mode, and for me it's very ok! history, skills, everything! is very addictive game! i'm looking forward to play the PVP mode as well
  84. May 16, 2012
    10
    I like the story and the gameplay. People who gives it a 0/10 are whiners. Here are some news for you: 1.Yes, you need an internet connection to play, but it's year 2012. It's not that hard or expensive to have one.
    2. The real money auction house? YOU DON*T HAVE TO USE IT, I'm sure most people won't. They are not forcing you to use it.
    3. About the error codes, I got them aswell. But
    I like the story and the gameplay. People who gives it a 0/10 are whiners. Here are some news for you: 1.Yes, you need an internet connection to play, but it's year 2012. It's not that hard or expensive to have one.
    2. The real money auction house? YOU DON*T HAVE TO USE IT, I'm sure most people won't. They are not forcing you to use it.
    3. About the error codes, I got them aswell. But the servers are overloaded, it will be better. And if you give the game a 0 because of this you're pathetic.
    4. The graphics are bad? No, Diablo is supposed to have an artstyle like this. What do you want? FPS style with the flashiest game engine?
    5. The story and the gameplay is not bad. But I understand why 99% of you don't get the story when you rush through the game. Maybe you should play at a slower pace and pay more attention on detalis and lore? And the voiceacting is not bad.

    Is nothing good enough for you spoiled brats? First Mass Effect 3 and now this. Get a life whiners. For me it's not a 10/10, but since the whinepatrol gives it 0/10, I will give it 10/10.
    Expand
  85. May 17, 2012
    10
    Diablo as I always wanted it. Action action action... and again action! If I wanted so hard customization I'd have played Fallout instead. I was really frustrated when in D2 I had to stay hours not playing in order to be efficient and keep on the edge with my friends... When my friend (Digital delivery) told me "Crap! It's the same feeling of D2" I drooled. It's different for many crucialDiablo as I always wanted it. Action action action... and again action! If I wanted so hard customization I'd have played Fallout instead. I was really frustrated when in D2 I had to stay hours not playing in order to be efficient and keep on the edge with my friends... When my friend (Digital delivery) told me "Crap! It's the same feeling of D2" I drooled. It's different for many crucial points but I find it's quite enjoyable still deep for a Hack&slash (no RPG) game as it is. Surprisingly it has also a great story! Expand
  86. May 17, 2012
    10
    This game is a HUGE DISAPPOINTMENT. It doesn't even compare to D2. I'd write more but I have to go puke after spending $60 and waiting how many years for this piece of crap....seriously. Not worth the $10 I originally spent on the first Diablo 12-14 years ago. Eight hours was more than enough. Sorry, I hate to write bad reviews. Can I get a refund?
  87. May 17, 2012
    10
    diablo 3 is a very intersting game , the gameplay is just amazing and i enjoyed play it a lot . I think it is one of my favourite game so far .
  88. May 17, 2012
    10
    Having a blast playing this game so far. Yes, I had issues logging in the first day.. but it didn't kill me to wait one day to play a computer game. Due to my work schedule and other priorities (it's called having a life) I haven't been able to beat the game, so I don't really feel qualified to review it....BUT I'm still reviewing this game with a perfect 10, just to counter those whoHaving a blast playing this game so far. Yes, I had issues logging in the first day.. but it didn't kill me to wait one day to play a computer game. Due to my work schedule and other priorities (it's called having a life) I haven't been able to beat the game, so I don't really feel qualified to review it....BUT I'm still reviewing this game with a perfect 10, just to counter those who feel like they can give a game a zero just to whine and complain. Expand
  89. May 17, 2012
    10
    lol, at all the butt hurt people giving this game a negative review. It is 100% what I wanted and more and is a great successor to the franchise. Maybe stop reviewing a game just because you can't connect, that isn't constructive at all. What is the point of even getting on here if you haven't even played the damn game. If I could I would give this a 20/10 but 10/10m will have to do.
  90. May 17, 2012
    10
    Blizzard has another winner. Pay no mind to the ignorant reviewers....there is no way this game deserves anything below a 7. There 2.8 trillion ways to customize your character. Go to YouTube and watch the D3 event from BilzzCon 2011.
  91. May 18, 2012
    10
    I can't believe all of the users that gives this awesome game such a bad score. Most of them havenâ
  92. May 18, 2012
    10
    Yada yada self-righteous claptrap about DRM. Oh wait! That's right! My internet is always on! **** I thought I was still on dial-up! And OMG! What's this? An auction house which isn't full of hacked items and other bs. Hey! An economy which isn't **** how fun! I guess that's why they need the internet to verify every loot. and OH HEY! I'm not a freetard, that's right! I actually want toYada yada self-righteous claptrap about DRM. Oh wait! That's right! My internet is always on! **** I thought I was still on dial-up! And OMG! What's this? An auction house which isn't full of hacked items and other bs. Hey! An economy which isn't **** how fun! I guess that's why they need the internet to verify every loot. and OH HEY! I'm not a freetard, that's right! I actually want to see developers earn money for good games like this one. Protip: Get a job/welfare. Pay for games. YADA yada bad framerate. OH WAIT my computer doesn't suck giant hairy testicles because I haven't been playing xbox for the last 13 years. Yada yada single player. OH WAIT! I've got friends who bought the game! Oh wow, we're playing together. I'm having fun! Screw single player. OH WAIT, I CAN play single player, but it's still online to prevent hacked items n'stuff and preserve the economy and the game. np.

    YADA YADA I couldn't play for 2 hours. FUUUUCK! I'M GOING TO PUT A FRACKIN' 2 ON METASCORE. TAKE THAT BLIZZ. OH WAIT! Now i can play! wow fun! I'll totally come back and fix that review later...


    Must... keep.. playing... tooo... much.. fun...
    Expand
  93. May 19, 2012
    10
    This is Diablo 2 perfected. The new skill system is different but GREAT, no more wasting skill points on useless skills and no need to respec. Party system is very functional and all the server issues have been resolved (it was only released 4 days ago and i havent been booted since day 2). This is a MUST OWN for Diablo 2 fans.
  94. May 20, 2012
    10
    2051 negative rating so far and I beleieve they're wrong or they just didn't like the need for being online in this game. I understand Blizzards attempt at fighting piracy and totally agree with them to make the game online based only. The majority of players in the US playing pretty much all have internet anyway. I was hesitant at first to buy this game due to playing the beta and that2051 negative rating so far and I beleieve they're wrong or they just didn't like the need for being online in this game. I understand Blizzards attempt at fighting piracy and totally agree with them to make the game online based only. The majority of players in the US playing pretty much all have internet anyway. I was hesitant at first to buy this game due to playing the beta and that was crappy. I thought..."This doesn't at all feel like Diablo." My love for the game though won out and I preordered it online so I was ready on day 1. I agree with the others that day one was horrible. But come on...you've got a whole life time to play the game...what is one day compared to the enjoyment of playing a Diablo game. I LOVE THIS GAME. There...I went ahead and said it. For those of you who are reading reviews and not buying the game because of all the negativity...buy the game and then make your complaints. This is definitely a Diablo game. I felt like Diablo 2 when I was playing the first act. The level of detail of the background is just gorgeous and awesome at the same time. The music is pretty outstanding. For those of you complaing about the characters being cartoony...have you seen all the other hack and slash games of this generation?! They are nothing compared to what Blizzard has done with Diablo 3. The characters are not cartoony. If the developers of Diablo 2 had the same resources that we had today...I'm pretty sure they would look like Diablo 3. If you want cartoony characters...go to Torchlight 2. After all...a lot of them are developers of Diablo 2. Gameplay was exciting...and intense...especially hardcore. OH MY GOODNESS...don't get me started on hardcore...best feature of the game if you want intensity. EVERYONE...buy this game...seriously...buy it. Expand
  95. May 20, 2012
    10
    This game are so awesome. I still waiting for 12 years ago for this game, and this is perfect for me.
    The history and the gameplay is true to the Diablo series, and the development for the Characters, is very special. It's true. We don't can assign points in strength, dexterity, vitality and Intelligence. but, In this time, We'll have to see objects and statistics of our luggage, to get
    This game are so awesome. I still waiting for 12 years ago for this game, and this is perfect for me.
    The history and the gameplay is true to the Diablo series, and the development for the Characters, is very special. It's true. We don't can assign points in strength, dexterity, vitality and Intelligence. but, In this time, We'll have to see objects and statistics of our luggage, to get what we want. With ability to do many builds of combat. This game is no longer suffering from the error 37 or 75. Not even the Templar and bug shield.
    Thus, enjoy this game, start to shut up and good luck in your fight against Diablo.
    As one would say in my country:
    ¡ A VICIARSE ! :D
    Expand
  96. May 20, 2012
    9
    Please ignore the massive amounts of negative reviews because 95% of them are due to player ignorance.

    Low raitng for Online-DRM/no single? - The reason is to prevent offline hacking which was a huge problem in Diablo 2, having it server based prevents that. Honestly this game is much better as a cooperative game. Also if you don't have an internet connection then you are living in the
    Please ignore the massive amounts of negative reviews because 95% of them are due to player ignorance.

    Low raitng for Online-DRM/no single? - The reason is to prevent offline hacking which was a huge problem in Diablo 2, having it server based prevents that. Honestly this game is much better as a cooperative game. Also if you don't have an internet connection then you are living in the stone ages.

    Low rating for bad graphics? - You can't compare Battlefield 3 graphics with this game, and that being said can you really ask people to buy 1500 dollar computer to run it?

    Low rating for being too easy? - You can't bash on the game being too easy if you're playing the easiest difficulty. Try playing hardcore mode(Death is permanent) and finish the fourth difficulty and let's see what you say about 'easy'

    Low rating for no skill tree/lack of customization? - Ignorant to the 'elective mode' option. Which allows you full customization of your skills which you can change ANYTIME on the fly. This also allows you to try a wacky character build without having to create and level a character from scratch to find out it's not very good.

    I hope this clears up the 'ignorance' that plagues the negative scores.
    Expand
  97. May 20, 2012
    10
    Who judges a game based on their connection? Never had problems with server or lag. Online single player/multiplayer, all good. DRM? There's no big online title without DRM, it's the future people. Deal with it. Could use a lobby though.
  98. May 22, 2012
    10
    An incredibly fun game. People rating it zero are fighting an irrelevant idealistic battle. Some of the most fun I've had in a long time. The improvements over Diablo II are huge. Overall, it's simply a very very good game.
  99. Oct 21, 2012
    10
    Way better than Diablo 2. Blizzard thankfully took all the annoying things in D2 and changed them. The story is fine, but the dialogs and the whole screenplay is terrible. The skill system is simply amazing, the items are way better and the stat screen although not perfect is at least informative compared to the random numbers in D2 char screen.
  100. May 15, 2012
    9
    Game is fun and the battles get epic. Not the same game as diablo 2 but rather the evolution with outstanding visuals and carnage you cant get enough of. To all the crying... Haters gonna hate.
  101. May 15, 2012
    0
    Please don't listen to these idiots posting negative scores. They obviously only tried logging in right when it was launched and expected a flawless experience. From someone who has played every diablo, this one is up there with the rest of them. Great story, great visuals, and while the skill tree is now gone, there is a equivilant with passive and special skills. All in all, a prettyPlease don't listen to these idiots posting negative scores. They obviously only tried logging in right when it was launched and expected a flawless experience. From someone who has played every diablo, this one is up there with the rest of them. Great story, great visuals, and while the skill tree is now gone, there is a equivilant with passive and special skills. All in all, a pretty good game. Sad how little kids (You can be a grown man, but still be a kid.) are putting low scores up. Collapse
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 86 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 81 out of 86
  2. Negative: 1 out of 86
  1. Aug 31, 2012
    90
    My one major complaint is that the game never feels very difficult, especially on Normal. There are frustrating moments, hordes of baddies, and increasing difficulty levels, but the same feeling of utter defeat never really happens as it did in the past.
  2. Hyper Magazine
    Jul 18, 2012
    80
    For all the game's missteps, though, you certainly can't accuse Blizzard of phoning it in - if anything, the game suffers from the tendency to try a little to hard at times to evolve the design. [Aug 2012, p.61]
  3. Jul 3, 2012
    80
    When it works, Diablo III is the best of the Diablo games. When it doesn't, all it does is make you mad. [July 2012, p.54]