Diablo III PC

User Score
4.0

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 9346 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 16, 2012
    0
    diablo 3 is not worth the cost it has 2 errors error 37 and error 33 the game is always down i been trying since 5 am Tuesday and no charater customization
  2. May 16, 2012
    0
    maybe it's a great game, but I spend 60â
  3. May 16, 2012
    1
    Blizzard, how could you do this to us? This game is not worthy of the Diablo name. Utter disappointment ! :-( Just about everything in this game is uninspiring and sub-par of what I expected of Diablo 3 and from a Blizzard game that has been developed for 8-10 years(?) This is what happens when you start out by asking yourself, HOW CAN WE MAKE DIABLO 3 THE BIGGEST CASH-COW EVER when youBlizzard, how could you do this to us? This game is not worthy of the Diablo name. Utter disappointment ! :-( Just about everything in this game is uninspiring and sub-par of what I expected of Diablo 3 and from a Blizzard game that has been developed for 8-10 years(?) This is what happens when you start out by asking yourself, HOW CAN WE MAKE DIABLO 3 THE BIGGEST CASH-COW EVER when you should have been asking yourself, HOW CAN WE BRING THE DIABLO SERIES TO A NEW EPIC HIGH AND DELIVER SOMETHING TO BE PROUD OF.------------ I'm shocked, really. I'll go back to Titan Quest now and have some FUN. Collapse Expand
  4. May 16, 2012
    0
    Can't play the game when the servers are down. Think about five, ten, fifteen years from now. Is blizzard going to want you to play D3 or their newest iteration that you have to pay $100 for? Someday Blizzard is going to pull the plug and then this game and every other always-online game is going to be dead forever. Don't buy this game or support this practice by greedy developers.
  5. May 16, 2012
    0
    Blizzard: We don't release games till there finished... But we'll take your money before they are! Lol jokes on us I guess. Oh well guess I'll go back to Diablo 3 connection page for a couple of hours. ; )
  6. May 16, 2012
    1
    Worst Part of the series. Will not work offline, a huge flaw. No innovation, too easy and horrible skill system. Graphics is not state of the art, low textures low animation. There is no innovation in the combatsystem.
  7. May 16, 2012
    0
    WTF !? Impossible to Install the game. 2 hours that I'm block at "Mise a jour des fichiers d'installation" (updating install files). Tried so many things explain here http://www.keenandgraev.com/2012/05/12/diablo-3-stuck-updating-setup-files-fix/ but NOTHING WORK !!!

    I went back to the shop and give them back the game ........ ! Even by downloading by internet the installer it does not
    WTF !? Impossible to Install the game. 2 hours that I'm block at "Mise a jour des fichiers d'installation" (updating install files). Tried so many things explain here http://www.keenandgraev.com/2012/05/12/diablo-3-stuck-updating-setup-files-fix/ but NOTHING WORK !!!

    I went back to the shop and give them back the game ........ ! Even by downloading by internet the installer it does not work.
    #FAIL Blizz here !!
    Expand
  8. May 16, 2012
    0
    The always-on DRM is reason enough to give this game a 0/10. It is an act of unfettered agression against their fans. The game itself is pretty good, so it gets a bump to 2/10
  9. May 16, 2012
    0
    I have to give a 0 to a game that is so bad as this one. SUCKS! Not even as good as the first game in the series, and server issues are a joke. Hello?
  10. May 16, 2012
    3
    Online DRM - / Customisation is locked within - / Game is slick and have good pace + / Servers down - / Errors - /Game feels empty inside - / Graphics like WOW(WIII) - / Inventory is bleak - / Items not so visible in inventory - / If it was game from some other ppl, okay, I would give it 8 score out of 10, but these were D1 and 2 creators, huge disappointment.
  11. May 16, 2012
    0
    Diablo 2 was release June 29, 2000 Blizzard had 12 years to make this game great and better than D2 so I was expecting a new chapter at the least. They had 12 years... and game is missing world PvP. No cash Auction House yet. Everything is dummy down you can't customize your character and the FPS is broken right now. It seems like Blizzard only spent 1 year on this and the other 11 yearsDiablo 2 was release June 29, 2000 Blizzard had 12 years to make this game great and better than D2 so I was expecting a new chapter at the least. They had 12 years... and game is missing world PvP. No cash Auction House yet. Everything is dummy down you can't customize your character and the FPS is broken right now. It seems like Blizzard only spent 1 year on this and the other 11 years was blown in the wind. Blizzard fired 10% of there workforce last year and you can tell the mess it caused. The game is not ready yet. I don't recommend spending 60 bucks on it. Save your money and wait for D4. Expand
  12. May 16, 2012
    0
    Bizzard North is gone and the quality of Diablo games sure went out the door with them. Since blizz is now a foreign owned company and they have decided to spew out casual/junk games lately, I think I'll take a pass at future games...only played 2-3 hours and Act 1 is over..seriously? Act 1 use to be so awesome and now it's 2 hours....I honestly think there are indie games that have moreBizzard North is gone and the quality of Diablo games sure went out the door with them. Since blizz is now a foreign owned company and they have decided to spew out casual/junk games lately, I think I'll take a pass at future games...only played 2-3 hours and Act 1 is over..seriously? Act 1 use to be so awesome and now it's 2 hours....I honestly think there are indie games that have more content that are free! Expand
  13. May 16, 2012
    0
    This game is a piece of **** Remember everything fun about Diablo 2?

    This game has none of it.

    If you haven't bought it yet, do yourself a favour and don't. Buy Skyrim if you don't have it already.
  14. May 16, 2012
    0
    If you're a fan of the Diablo series, steer clear of this game. It is one of the worst sequels in the history of video games, and frankly, Blizzard should be ashamed.
    The graphics would've been impressive in 2002, but that's minor compared to what happened to the artistic design. The game is incredibly cartoony and does not look or feel at all like Diablo. Even Torchlight which
    If you're a fan of the Diablo series, steer clear of this game. It is one of the worst sequels in the history of video games, and frankly, Blizzard should be ashamed.
    The graphics would've been impressive in 2002, but that's minor compared to what happened to the artistic design. The game is incredibly cartoony and does not look or feel at all like Diablo. Even Torchlight which deliberately goes for the cartoony look feels more Diablo-esque. In addition, the environments feel really uninspired and - again, unfitting.
    The soundtrack is a bunch of soulless tryhard orchestral arsegravy, interrupted by a few brief moments of Matt Uelmen.
    The gameplay is somehow even more simplified than in the earlier Diablo games. Even on the harder difficulties, the game is always unbelievably easy. Blizzard kept telling beta players that it gets harder later on, but that was a blatant lie. Customization has been largely removed to make the game even more casual and easy. The game itself is very short with little to do once you complete it. The rune system could've been interesting, but they even screwed that one up. The writing is horrendous and largely saturday morning cartoon level. Don't expect cool, unique boss dialogue that you'll remember for years to come. Instead, you get "You'll never beat me!", as if this were an episode of He-man. Most bosses would better fit a Warcraft title, although some of them might even be too wacky and cartoony for that. The voice acting is quite bad as well, with many of the classes/characters using ludicrous accents that sound hilariously bad. No one speaks like that in the world, and rightly so. It's the Skyrim-effect, where the voice actors (who I have to assume have never heard any foreign person speaking) try to speak with some sort of non-specific, generic foreign accent and end up sounding like a bad Arnold Schwarzenegger impersonator. I could go on about the real money auction house, always online DRM, 4 player limit, poor connections and so on, but I think other reviews have already gone over those more than enough times. The bottomline is, if you buy this game you are willingly and knowingly supporting the brutal rape of a once great franchise. If this weren't a Blizzard game, it would already have sunk and been buried, but unfortunately they've got enough blind fanboys who will buy literally anything if it says Blizzard on the cover. Expect this turd to float around for a while yet.
    Expand
  15. May 16, 2012
    0
    Diablo 3 is a boring and brainless game for fanboy of the "Activision Blizzard Company".

    I list the things I hate about this game 1) permanent internet connection like ubisoft drm 2) auction-house, like games pay4win 3) does not require skill by the player, it's totally brainless 4) graphics below average or poor compared to the other actionrpg 5) very short singleplayer campaign 6) no
    Diablo 3 is a boring and brainless game for fanboy of the "Activision Blizzard Company".

    I list the things I hate about this game
    1) permanent internet connection like ubisoft drm
    2) auction-house, like games pay4win
    3) does not require skill by the player, it's totally brainless
    4) graphics below average or poor compared to the other actionrpg
    5) very short singleplayer campaign
    6) no pvp
    7) locations, characters, abilities boring, and not connected to the universe of Diablo I and II
    8) Low bitrate scenes cinematic
    Expand
  16. May 16, 2012
    0
    Extremely disappointed. Bought it mainly to play alone and even if it lets me log on the always-online requirement kills it for me due to a huge lag. Yes, even if you play alone the lag will sometimes make you unable to move your character. The story is bland and the overall art direction and style is not something worthy to be called a successor to the Diablo series. A huge letdown for meExtremely disappointed. Bought it mainly to play alone and even if it lets me log on the always-online requirement kills it for me due to a huge lag. Yes, even if you play alone the lag will sometimes make you unable to move your character. The story is bland and the overall art direction and style is not something worthy to be called a successor to the Diablo series. A huge letdown for me as a Blizzard fan. Expand
  17. May 16, 2012
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Waste not want to give the game a score is 0. Level is really low quality graphics, gameplay, while I thought I was losing was sleepy. 3 hours while playing patience, but the limit is reached, turn off the covering. Expand
  18. May 16, 2012
    4
    I would give it a higher rank except the game is at the mercy of whether Blizzards servers will be stable. Higher ranking if there was an offline/lan mode.
  19. May 16, 2012
    3
    The graphic is old, very old, like a 10 years ago game, the gameplay is too easy and casual and the DRM are really frustrating. Bad work at all, after 12 years Blizzard should do something really better than this!
  20. May 16, 2012
    0
    Considering I can't even install the game I can't leave a review for gameplay! However, I can leave a review to say "Blizzard you should be ashamed at yourselves for dangling a carrot to 'wow' player's who then can't access/install the game! To top it off even 'wow' is lagging like hell and it taking people ages to gain access to that game!" I myself spent an hour trying to get on theConsidering I can't even install the game I can't leave a review for gameplay! However, I can leave a review to say "Blizzard you should be ashamed at yourselves for dangling a carrot to 'wow' player's who then can't access/install the game! To top it off even 'wow' is lagging like hell and it taking people ages to gain access to that game!" I myself spent an hour trying to get on the 'wow' server! Surely Blizzard knew they'd be heavy traffic yesterday or did they expect everyone to sit and look at their game for a week for the bugs/servers to be fixed? BIG '0' from me!!!! Expand
  21. May 16, 2012
    3
    I had to force myself to continue playing. This sentence sums up the playability of this game. Diablo 3 fails to offer an exciting and compelling experience, which is extremely disappointing considering the amount of time and money that went into its development. As a long time fan of the genre I was absolutely appalled at some of the decisions Blizzard made. They can be forgiven for notI had to force myself to continue playing. This sentence sums up the playability of this game. Diablo 3 fails to offer an exciting and compelling experience, which is extremely disappointing considering the amount of time and money that went into its development. As a long time fan of the genre I was absolutely appalled at some of the decisions Blizzard made. They can be forgiven for not incorporating visual customisations to the characters but the removal of skill trees and manual stat distribution is unacceptable. There is some degree of skill customisation with the addition of "Runes" which can alter the properties of a particular spell or ability but this feature is still ridiculously limited. The evil and gritty atmosphere of the previous instalments is no where to be seen, and it's place we have what is best described as a Halloween cartoon special. Long time fans of the Diablo series and dungeon crawlers in general will be disappointed with this entry. However, if you are a newcomer to the genre then there is a limited amount of entertainment on offer. Expand
  22. May 16, 2012
    0
    I don't know how anyone can support a company that has an online DRM system for single player portion of the game. Activision/Blizzard is rolling in the dough, are you going to tell me that they can't code a separate entity for single player and single/multiplayer crossover options without hindering loot table and auction house? Let hackers dupe all they want in the offline mode where theI don't know how anyone can support a company that has an online DRM system for single player portion of the game. Activision/Blizzard is rolling in the dough, are you going to tell me that they can't code a separate entity for single player and single/multiplayer crossover options without hindering loot table and auction house? Let hackers dupe all they want in the offline mode where the characters can't traverse over a gate that has both single and multi player DRM authentication. OH WAIT. THAT MEANS NO MOTIVATION FOR MONETARY TRANSACTIONS. F'in Blizzard, this was the last straw. Expand
  23. May 16, 2012
    3
    Objectively, the game is perhaps slightly better than the 3 I've given it (even then, no better than a 5/10).
    The reason for my final score, is that as a longtime fan of the franchise I am apalled at the direction that was taken with this installment. Streamlined does not mean good. Appealing to the lowest denominator does not mean good, even if it brings in more money. This business, the
    Objectively, the game is perhaps slightly better than the 3 I've given it (even then, no better than a 5/10).
    The reason for my final score, is that as a longtime fan of the franchise I am apalled at the direction that was taken with this installment. Streamlined does not mean good. Appealing to the lowest denominator does not mean good, even if it brings in more money. This business, the video game business is neither fast food nor popmusic. You're supposed to have standards as well as profit. If your investors don't understand that, then you're all outta luck, because I couldn't care less about your relations with them.
    I won't even go into the always online, short campaign debacle, because enough was said by others. But the terrible, dumbed down game design is what disappointed me most.
    Expand
  24. May 16, 2012
    0
    Firstly, be assured that this is a low score based on the merits of the game itself - not just venting frustration at being unable to log in. But, unfortunately, the game itself really does warrant such a low score. It's without doubt one of the great gaming disappointments of recent years. Why? Well, to sum it up - the game feels like it has no soul, it is an alarmingly empty and shallowFirstly, be assured that this is a low score based on the merits of the game itself - not just venting frustration at being unable to log in. But, unfortunately, the game itself really does warrant such a low score. It's without doubt one of the great gaming disappointments of recent years. Why? Well, to sum it up - the game feels like it has no soul, it is an alarmingly empty and shallow experience (even in multiplayer) that feels like some sort of bizarre on rails clicking 'experience' (I hesitate to even call it a game because it genuinely doesn't even feel like one). While the first two games were also clickfests, they were great because they had a great amount of character - they were immersive experiences that allowed you to feel your character's progression in the world and feel genuinely excited at the prospect of awesome loot. D3 is just weird to play because for some reason Blizzard have stripped out ALL forms of character customisation and you are just playing an empty shell of a character that looks and plays like every other player out there. This combined with the child-like difficulty level of the game on normal (which you are forced to play through) and the ridiculously high drop rate on blue and yellow items means that loot is just nothing more than generic text. I can't associate any fun at all with anything in this game - it is so empty it is scary. I am actually surprised and shocked that Blizzard put out a game this bad with their usual standards of quality.
    Sadly this game is being torn apart by the general public and fanbase and rightfully so.
    Expand
  25. euu
    May 16, 2012
    0
    Not even the most drooling blizztards can defend this one. Not only is the game dumbed down from its predecessors, removing all kind of character building and strategy from the game, not only do the graphics look like something from 2007, not only did they abandoned the dark tone of D1 and D2 and instead added flashy anime attacks and WoW characters but the game is basically unplayable.Not even the most drooling blizztards can defend this one. Not only is the game dumbed down from its predecessors, removing all kind of character building and strategy from the game, not only do the graphics look like something from 2007, not only did they abandoned the dark tone of D1 and D2 and instead added flashy anime attacks and WoW characters but the game is basically unplayable. DRM doesn't stop pirates, at best it delays them. The only ones really affected by DRM are the actual buyers who need to wait hours, even days to play their game. Unfortunately, Blizzard had us in their pockets. They took advantage of our nostalgia and presented us with tedious, badly-written and just plain silly game. Hell, the game isn't even made by Blizzard North, the company that made the first two. You're better off playind Diablo 2 for the twentieth time than this. Expand
  26. May 16, 2012
    0
    I would fine if Diablo3 were just a Diablo2 with updated graphics. Unfortunately it's not. Every single PvP aspect has been left out (the ones that made Diablo 2 so addictive and dangerous), co-op has been taken down from 8 players to 4 and the hardcoreness and grittiness are nowhere to be found.Graphics have been updated...to the standards of year 2005. Add to that microtransactions andI would fine if Diablo3 were just a Diablo2 with updated graphics. Unfortunately it's not. Every single PvP aspect has been left out (the ones that made Diablo 2 so addictive and dangerous), co-op has been taken down from 8 players to 4 and the hardcoreness and grittiness are nowhere to be found.Graphics have been updated...to the standards of year 2005. Add to that microtransactions and DRM and you have a game that is more Farmville than Diablo. Expand
  27. May 16, 2012
    4
    This is another serious review.
    Regarding the gameplay, D3 is better than D2 in some respects and worse in others. Most of all, the fights are a bit more diverse and dynamic and require mixing more skills, which makes them less repetitive. However, many of the decisions you had to make in D2 (e.g. invest in strength to be able to wear this new armor you found, or in intelligence to be able
    This is another serious review.
    Regarding the gameplay, D3 is better than D2 in some respects and worse in others. Most of all, the fights are a bit more diverse and dynamic and require mixing more skills, which makes them less repetitive. However, many of the decisions you had to make in D2 (e.g. invest in strength to be able to wear this new armor you found, or in intelligence to be able to use more skills) were taken out of the game to make it more accessible. Thus, you dont look forward to new levels that much anymore.
    The "casual" design also causes the player's focus to shift from the characters development to the storyline, which isn't exactly a good thing. While the dialogues aren't quite as bad as in D2, they are still rather dumb most of the time. A blacksmith who just killed his wife in front of your eyes, so that she wont turn into a zombie, will talk on about your next quest as if he had nothing else on his mind. Where is the intensity, where is despair and the grit that the characters in D1 conveyed? And what with the silly, officious accolades your character gets all the time? It is hard to imagine that anyone who is old enough to buy the game will feel engrossed by the story and its often superficial wording.
    That's a shame, because the soundtrack is truly excellent. If they could have left out the dialogues, the music alone would go a long way in creating an immersive atmosphere.
    Finally, having no single player mode would be bad, but still somewhat acceptable, if only the servers were ready for the amount of users. After millions of preorders, the demand cant have come as a huge surprise to Blizzard. And I am somewhat sceptical whether the situation will improve, as it doesn't seem very likely that less and less people will try to play the game in the coming days. All in all, I am considering returning the game, an idea that never crossed my mind when I compared D2 to its predecessor.
    Expand
  28. May 16, 2012
    0
    I have had none of the massive connection problems that the majority of people are experiencing... unfortunately. This has to be the worst game I have played this year, over priced, over simplified and over hyped. A must avoid. I will be avoiding all future activision products as all their producers seem to be developing for the kiddie market share.
  29. May 16, 2012
    0
    What garbage. Paid for the game and haven't even been able to play it yet. Error 37 out the ass. This **** DRM's going to be cracked in 2 weeks, tops, so what's the point?
  30. May 16, 2012
    3
    Took what should have been a single player/coop game and made it online only out of greed (They want you to use the real money AH.) Failed the launch so badly that its embarrassing even for a company that screws up as much as Blizz. Cut corners in game development. Most notably Monks are missing weapon animations with almost all their attacks. So the weapons in your hands just vanishTook what should have been a single player/coop game and made it online only out of greed (They want you to use the real money AH.) Failed the launch so badly that its embarrassing even for a company that screws up as much as Blizz. Cut corners in game development. Most notably Monks are missing weapon animations with almost all their attacks. So the weapons in your hands just vanish when you attack. Even with Monk only weapons (Fist and Bo.) From a game-play point of view its pretty par for the course for this type of game except its pretty dumbed down. You do not get skill or stat points. There is no builds anymore (anyone that uses the term build is using it wrongly.) There is just load outs of a small handful of skills you can use at once. Its a load out because it can be changed any time without thought or cost. So Blizz thinks you are all to stupid to make any choice with weight or meaning. Expand
  31. May 16, 2012
    0
    This game is actually relatively BAD i expected great things from blizzard with this game but with DRM and no offline and no customization this game tanks it i really do regret purchasing it and i wouldn't recommend it to anyone
  32. May 16, 2012
    0
    If you want to maintain your image as a game company, it's typically advisable to make sure people can play your game after they've bought it. It also helps to make sure the game doesn't suck, especially if it's a well known and liked series. Blizzard couldn't have gotten at least one of these right?
  33. May 16, 2012
    0
    Wow, they not only managed to make the game always in multiplayer mode, they also managed to do it always unplayable. Nice one, very good one gentlemen.
  34. May 16, 2012
    3
    When the first Diablo title was released it was new and groundbreaking, Diablo 2 added to the original with more classes more content and more customization through the skill tree system. Its Now been several years and many developers have made similar games, I had hoped with the long wait Blizzard had made some new additions to this iconic title or at the least made more modern updatesWhen the first Diablo title was released it was new and groundbreaking, Diablo 2 added to the original with more classes more content and more customization through the skill tree system. Its Now been several years and many developers have made similar games, I had hoped with the long wait Blizzard had made some new additions to this iconic title or at the least made more modern updates to the old formula to continue its legacy. Sadly Diablo 3 did not deliver, lets set aside the launch day problems, if that were the only issue here I could forgive not being able to play much on opening day. The game play is solid but nothing new or groundbreaking but this game has a lack of customization that I find disturbing most good new RPG games Provide tools to customize the appearance of your character. It is important to many players In a Roll Playing Game to be able to make the character as they see it, to take ownership and grow him in to what they like, playing with other cloned players devalues the experience and makes it difficult to be a proud owner of your character. Worse then not being able to change your appearance is making every person playing the same class a clone, the skill tree idea has been such a great way to give players choices on how to make characters as they see fit and taking this away makes me feel like I am playing your character not mine. So now that we are all playing identical twins the trade off should be amazing graphics right? Well the graphics are not bad but they are not good either looking more like something that should have been released a few years ago and the sound is good but the voice acting leaves something to be desired (competing with Bioware in voice acting will make it tough for them to rate well in this). I have not had time to beat the game yet (I work long hours the rest of the week and it has been unplayable most of the opening day so I will have to wait till the weekend to play again I hope the bugs will be worked out by then) but I have been told that it is not very long. I hope this is not true and that Blizzard is not counting on PVP and repetition to keep us playing, and I really hope they are not counting on releasing several more expansions at $60 each containing content that should have been released with the original game. At this point the game would be rated at a 5 of 10 but there decision to take out offline play entirely making it so we are not really purchasing the game but more like renting it from them for as long as there servers are supporting it. Not to mention the inability to play a single player game because they are doing server work or my internet is down. People will support the policy because of all the cheating that went on in the other Diablo titles but removing offline play will not stop this and any one thinking that hackers will not find a way to hack and cheaters will not find a way to cheat this system are just kidding them selves. look at WOW its online only and that has not prevented several speed hacking and item duping hacks from being used over the years.
    To sum things up this game is a major step back from previous titles and I hope Blizzard realizes this and makes corrections bringing this game up to modern standards. My message to Blizzard, I own all the titles you have released on pc and they are good games but it seems that you have not been playing other games on the market recently so let me tell you what an RPG player expects in the year 2012 from a premium priced title, customization is key changing the looks and skills of your character makes it seem like you have hundreds of options instead of just the basic Classes, a long and involving story make me feel like I got my moneys worth out of paying your premium price , Graphics do not make the game and blizzard has never been known for cutting edge graphics so I can forgive the graphics if the game is reliable but making it rely on your servers and an internet connection takes away reliability leaving me withe a game that can be surpassed by smaller developers for a fraction of the cost (for the price of this game I could have purchased 8 copies of torchlight and torchlight 2 from steam and given it to many of my friends) . Overall I cant give this game better then a 3 as it is now i would love for Blizzard to listen to its fans and fix many of the things the fans are asking for but I don't hold much hope for that as it seems recently they see me as more of a wallet then a fan of there games.
    Expand
  35. May 16, 2012
    4
    Most of this has already been said, but I thought I'd throw in my own two cents. As a big fan of Diablo 1 and 2, I was greatly disappointed by Diablo 3. I played the open beta back in April with my brother and friend and found myself too bored an hour in to even finish it. Here's what I took issue with: 1. Atmosphere and writing - I had great expectations for this end, and these did NOTMost of this has already been said, but I thought I'd throw in my own two cents. As a big fan of Diablo 1 and 2, I was greatly disappointed by Diablo 3. I played the open beta back in April with my brother and friend and found myself too bored an hour in to even finish it. Here's what I took issue with: 1. Atmosphere and writing - I had great expectations for this end, and these did NOT include short, meaningless dialogue delivered with mediocre voice acting; bright, cartoonish colors and particle effects; the ability to jump down giant holes and wells, be skull-bashed with a chandelier, buried under a pile of rubble, etc. without injury. 2. Graphics - not too bad, but definitely not nearly as good as many other games of recent years. I downloaded a low-texture pack to play skyrim and some of those textures still look better than some diablo 3 textures (which I have set to high). Also, in general the graphics and movements look pretty unrealistic, which definitely eats into the atmosphere score. 3. Character leveling - It seems like they tried to get rid of the issues of diablo 2's somewhat unbalanced skill system while keeping the dynamics of different character builds, and to an extent they succeeded, but they also removed one of the core aspects of gameplay, specialization. Diablo 2's skill sets, while certainly not perfectly balanced, allowed the player to take pride in the things he specifically had done to make his own unique character build, and to play a unique role in his party that no one else could fill. D3 character builds are much more simplified, which means every person's lvl 50 monk is going to be exactly the same, only with slightly different flashy effects. It has its pros to be sure, like not getting bored with only a few combos used the whole game, but hits the immersion aspect in the process for people trying to get more into their character. 4. Difficulty level - why on earth didn't they put in a difficulty level setting, besides the one where you have to beat the whole thing just to play it all again? playing co-op was so boring, most of the monsters weren't ever scary or dangerous more than the were just objects we couldn't run past until we clicked on them. 5. And worst of all, the auction house. what the crap were they thinking, allowing real-world money into item trading? Pay-to-win isn't a new concept, I don't know how they missed that one. I wonder how they're going to reconcile that when pvp rolls out. Whatever. Anyway, in the end casual gamers may like this game because, let's face it, it's a solid enough hack-and-slash game if you don't care much about the franchise. For me however, having wondered for years what sort of pants-wetting nightmarish world with optimized skill/combat system would await me only to find this flashy, lame excuse for a sequel, I feel nothing but disappointment. Expand
  36. May 16, 2012
    0
    I've only owned this game for three hours and already I NEVER want to see it again in my life. Despite all the problems with trying to connect, it was when I lost ALL MY PROGRESS in the game when it disconnected. You end up losing interest very fast. OH and the story....bleh
  37. May 16, 2012
    1
    This game is inadequate when compared with the glorious diablo 2. Why would you force people to get internet why. The levels are all repetitive and simply dont compare to diablo 2.
  38. May 16, 2012
    2
    SERVER ISSUES

    Input lag, delayed actions, disappearing and reappearing where you were a minute ago, IN SINGLE PLAYER MODE. I hate to think what it would be like online. DUMBED DOWN Boxy consoleified interfaces, NO SKILL TREES (You levelled up! Choose a skill!.... There's ONE option). This means every wizard is the same, no custom builds. Same for all classes. MEANINGLESS EQUIPMENT
    SERVER ISSUES

    Input lag, delayed actions, disappearing and reappearing where you were a minute ago, IN SINGLE PLAYER MODE. I hate to think what it would be like online.


    DUMBED DOWN

    Boxy consoleified interfaces, NO SKILL TREES (You levelled up! Choose a skill!.... There's ONE option). This means every wizard is the same, no custom builds. Same for all classes.


    MEANINGLESS EQUIPMENT

    Wizard sword affects spell damage. It even disappears and reappears during the attack animation. Torchlight 2 Beta handles this better!!
    Expand
  39. May 16, 2012
    0
    Good game, but simply stunned that the game hasn't started working for me until 24 hours after launch... Error 37, 33, 3003, time out issues, and connection resets.... ALWAYS ONLINE DRM SUCKS!
  40. May 16, 2012
    0
    I've followed every game of blizzard since their first SNES ones, but this one is a real fail.
    That's a strange idea not to allow offline play in a the solo mode ... if they fear hacking they should have put the auction for multiplayer only. At the end you feel like playing a cheap MMO.
    Now regarding the game ... the evolution system is too much guided, it looks like blizzard is taking its
    I've followed every game of blizzard since their first SNES ones, but this one is a real fail.
    That's a strange idea not to allow offline play in a the solo mode ... if they fear hacking they should have put the auction for multiplayer only. At the end you feel like playing a cheap MMO.
    Now regarding the game ... the evolution system is too much guided, it looks like blizzard is taking its players for dummies as it's so very hard to fail your specialization. Finally it has been 12 years of waiting for so little ... I put 2/10 for the art and universe and -8 for the drm and the extreme simplification of the game.
    Expand
  41. May 16, 2012
    1
    This game has nothing to do with the name Diablo whatsoever. Its not worth even 20 euros given the poor content, outdated graphics, virtually no music or atmosphere compared to any of its predecessors. It's a sad day indeed when developers like Blizzard burn down a16 year long traditions and fan expectations with such a poor excuse for a title. I would pose this question for both theThis game has nothing to do with the name Diablo whatsoever. Its not worth even 20 euros given the poor content, outdated graphics, virtually no music or atmosphere compared to any of its predecessors. It's a sad day indeed when developers like Blizzard burn down a16 year long traditions and fan expectations with such a poor excuse for a title. I would pose this question for both the masses and the devs - What took you so long to develop this excuse for a game? Expand
  42. May 15, 2012
    0
    It does not matter how "good" a game is if you can't ever get to play it. The fact that Blizzard's servers are never working is now trite and I don't have to repeat it. Can it really be that a company with the amount of resources that Blizzard has has failed to ensure something as basic as enabling the people who buy its game to play it? This has been nothing short of a scam, and BlizzardIt does not matter how "good" a game is if you can't ever get to play it. The fact that Blizzard's servers are never working is now trite and I don't have to repeat it. Can it really be that a company with the amount of resources that Blizzard has has failed to ensure something as basic as enabling the people who buy its game to play it? This has been nothing short of a scam, and Blizzard should be prosecuted for it. Expand
  43. May 15, 2012
    0
    I haven't had any connectivity issues so that is good. But the actual gameplay is so boring, graphics looks like it was from 2005. The game is basically about mindlessly walking a linear path and spamming the mouse button to kill enemies. Avoid.
  44. May 15, 2012
    1
    I've got to say , it's really hard for me to even give this game a 1. For those people that have never played a diablo game before , this game may be passable. For anyone who played diablo 2 with the gritty, satanic environment then you will be sorely dissapointed. For anyone who wanted any kind of character customization or building , you will be sorely dissapointed. (There are noI've got to say , it's really hard for me to even give this game a 1. For those people that have never played a diablo game before , this game may be passable. For anyone who played diablo 2 with the gritty, satanic environment then you will be sorely dissapointed. For anyone who wanted any kind of character customization or building , you will be sorely dissapointed. (There are no skill trees or attribute choices) For those of you who have played either of the previous games , I'm feeling dissapointment along with you. My hat is off to blizzard activision for getting millions of lemmings to buy this game. well played sirs, you got your money, but have lost all dignity. Expand
  45. May 15, 2012
    0
    I am so very disappointed with Blizzard now. How could they ruin the legendary DIABLO series?
    To me, this game is just not fun. It is made to bring cash only, not to stay true to the series and to millions of old fans and supporters. Gothic series got butchered. Dungeon Siege got butchered. Elder Scrolls gets duller with every game. Dragon Age got butchered and now finally, even Diablo
    I am so very disappointed with Blizzard now. How could they ruin the legendary DIABLO series?
    To me, this game is just not fun. It is made to bring cash only, not to stay true to the series and to millions of old fans and supporters. Gothic series got butchered. Dungeon Siege got butchered. Elder Scrolls gets duller with every game. Dragon Age got butchered and now finally, even Diablo gets the quick cash treatment. (how can we make this game so easy and simple that even grandmas and babies will give us cash to play it....)
    Expand
  46. May 15, 2012
    0
    As a single player game,it require network connection and it lag a lot.
    By the wayï¼
  47. May 15, 2012
    0
    Very fun game. Once I got rare drop: 3 pages of "License Agreement". But I can't beat final boss "Retrieving hero list" at all. Any suggestions anyone?
  48. May 15, 2012
    3
    The biggest problem with the game is that the core gameplay simply does not work with the technology they decided to use. Diablo gameplay is characterized by fast paced clicking and split second decision making. When you are trying to thread the needle through a pack of monsters and you are lagging or even start rubber-banding because of the forced online connection at all times, evenThe biggest problem with the game is that the core gameplay simply does not work with the technology they decided to use. Diablo gameplay is characterized by fast paced clicking and split second decision making. When you are trying to thread the needle through a pack of monsters and you are lagging or even start rubber-banding because of the forced online connection at all times, even for the single player game... it leads to a poor experience.

    While the previous Diablo games had online multiplayer, these were optional experiences that were available in addition to the core single player offline experience. Performance degradation because of the nature of online play is acceptable in exchange for enhanced functionality that is actually being used. Especially when the degradation is only experienced after completing the full offline experience. It is similar to how your friend talking during a movie that you are watching on your TV doesn't really ruin the experience if you've already seen the movie in a quiet movie theater.

    What Blizzard has done is to have filmed a movie and then REQUIRED you to watch it with your loud obnoxious friend talking and throwing popcorn during the entire thing. It doesn't matter what is on the screen, because it is ruined by the environment in which you are forced to experience it in.
    Expand
  49. May 15, 2012
    0
    There is no world pvp. Cheesy storyline and characters. Real money auction house. It seems like they tried to cram World of Warcraft into Diablo. Terrible character customization. Oh, did I mention there is no world pvp? This game is a waste of money if you liked Diablo 1 and 2. They took out everything that made the game gritty both in play-style and content. Who would haveThere is no world pvp. Cheesy storyline and characters. Real money auction house. It seems like they tried to cram World of Warcraft into Diablo. Terrible character customization. Oh, did I mention there is no world pvp? This game is a waste of money if you liked Diablo 1 and 2. They took out everything that made the game gritty both in play-style and content. Who would have thought Diablo 3 would have less pvp than PVE World of Warcraft? How hard would it have been to not ruin this series? It's like they went through the effort to TRY and slap every Diablo player in the face. Expand
  50. May 15, 2012
    4
    This game is only really popular because of the Diablo title and world. By itself it doesn't stand up. They changed major portions of the established lore, changed the art style and feel of the game, and crammed always online DRM in.

    The level design is taken straight out of Torchlight (made by those who made Diablo 1 & 2) and doesn't add anything new to the series that is a positive
    This game is only really popular because of the Diablo title and world. By itself it doesn't stand up. They changed major portions of the established lore, changed the art style and feel of the game, and crammed always online DRM in.

    The level design is taken straight out of Torchlight (made by those who made Diablo 1 & 2) and doesn't add anything new to the series that is a positive other than perhaps crafting. In fact, they have dumbed down many of the elements from the two previous games including character customization. The presentation, though an improvement is dated by today's standards and even the standards set in WarCraft III and StarCraft II set by Blizzard themselves. It is a shame. Taken with the horrific Americas region launch, it's Blizzard's weakest game and the only fun that can really be taken from it is that its in the Diablo world; strip that away and this game is nothing special.
    Expand
  51. May 15, 2012
    0
    I'm deeply dissapoited by the **** DRM they implemented and boring gameplay. Let the developers and publishers themselves burn in hell forever! **** Blizzard!
  52. May 15, 2012
    1
    I walked an hour in the rain last night to get the game at 12am. I come home to findout I cannot play til 3am, so I go to sleep. I've waited 10 years for this game, so I took off work. Wake up, servers are down. Play for an hour, servers go back down. Take a nap, servers went up, and are back down by time I wake up. As I write this, the servers are still down. Blizzard is greedy,I walked an hour in the rain last night to get the game at 12am. I come home to findout I cannot play til 3am, so I go to sleep. I've waited 10 years for this game, so I took off work. Wake up, servers are down. Play for an hour, servers go back down. Take a nap, servers went up, and are back down by time I wake up. As I write this, the servers are still down. Blizzard is greedy, and threw on a DRM so that 1% of people cannot pirate it, if even that percentage. Blizzard is the wealthiest gaming company in the industry. Yet they continue to screw over their customers for an extra cent. I feel screwed out of my $65. Expand
  53. May 15, 2012
    0
    The first test of a game is being able to play it. Diablo 3 has utterly failed this very simple test. Say what you will about other company's DRM schemes, for blizzard to require an pointless internet connection and then not even have enough servers to support it is serious armature hour game design.
  54. May 15, 2012
    0
    So far the game deserves a zero. Servers have been down a lot since release (about 47 hours ago, and yes bad quality of servers is about the same as game being released with game-breaking bugs preventing you from playing it), there is no single player mode so you can't play the game during downtime (apparently Blizzard hasn't figured out that pirates won't buy their game anyway and willSo far the game deserves a zero. Servers have been down a lot since release (about 47 hours ago, and yes bad quality of servers is about the same as game being released with game-breaking bugs preventing you from playing it), there is no single player mode so you can't play the game during downtime (apparently Blizzard hasn't figured out that pirates won't buy their game anyway and will eventually figure out a way to emulate a server, so the buyers are the ones who get ****ed). No character customization, attributes are assigned automatically on level up, skills can be swamped and are very limited (so no more experimental char builds), no visual customization. Overall too gear dependent (again RMAH...) and too dumbed down. Graphics look too much like warcraft and overall 2006-ish, they don't have that dark feel of previous installments. Story is sketchy at times, gameplay forces you to linearity, you can't skip quests and rush to the next act like in diablo 2, no you have to do everything 4 times over. It barely released and we seeing a fanon discontinue (rejection of the story as canon by fanbase), no wonder however seeing how most of crew who made diablo 1 and 2 left blizzard years ago. Expand
  55. May 15, 2012
    0
    To be honest i like the game very much. I'm not sure if i can ever be objective about a Diablo title. BUT... Blizzard ruined not the game but the player experience with this online DRM nonsense! This is an absolute insult to loyal fans. Nobody should be forced to be connected to play single player all the time. I preordered the game as soon as it became available. I bought collectorsTo be honest i like the game very much. I'm not sure if i can ever be objective about a Diablo title. BUT... Blizzard ruined not the game but the player experience with this online DRM nonsense! This is an absolute insult to loyal fans. Nobody should be forced to be connected to play single player all the time. I preordered the game as soon as it became available. I bought collectors edition. And when the time comes what did i get? I COULD NOT PLAY THE GAME EVEN FOR A SECOND! WE PAY THE MONEY YOU GIVE US A GOOD GAME. "Servers are full at the time" is not an excuse. You could make it capable then! BY FORCING GAMERS TO ONLINE DRM YOU ENCOURAGE PEOPLE TO USE PIRATED COPIES. Expand
  56. May 15, 2012
    4
    Never played it. And now thanks to all of your reviews i will never buy it and play it. Thanks for saving my money. I don't usually follow what people say but the majority is overwhelming.
  57. May 15, 2012
    3
    I'm tired of people defending Blizz and their DRM decision. I'm tired of people saying that the review of the game should be based on the game and not the connectivity issues. When a developer implements DRM and it causes connectivity issues with a single player game, which is a game performance issue then YES, the review of the game SHOULD be based on that. Thats like saying a game shouldI'm tired of people defending Blizz and their DRM decision. I'm tired of people saying that the review of the game should be based on the game and not the connectivity issues. When a developer implements DRM and it causes connectivity issues with a single player game, which is a game performance issue then YES, the review of the game SHOULD be based on that. Thats like saying a game should be reviewed based on the developers intention to create and enjoyable game but delivering a turd. Expand
  58. May 15, 2012
    0
    A huge disappointment, and an unworthy sequel. - Charater customization was so confusing, so they removed it (no more skill points to distribute, no more attribute points to distribute, skills unlock automatically as you level up) - Legalized gold selling, pay-to-win auction houses - Scripted scenes EVERYWHERE 0Bland, one dimensional, WoW inspired skills -World PvP removed and the only PvPA huge disappointment, and an unworthy sequel. - Charater customization was so confusing, so they removed it (no more skill points to distribute, no more attribute points to distribute, skills unlock automatically as you level up) - Legalized gold selling, pay-to-win auction houses - Scripted scenes EVERYWHERE 0Bland, one dimensional, WoW inspired skills -World PvP removed and the only PvP options is a WoW-clone arena (REMOVED TILL LATER, LOL) -Voice acting is HORIBBLE compared to D2 -Timed log-outs in a game which its gameplay is based on being fast-paced (even on hardcore mode) -FREQUENT CHECKPOINTS that revive you from where you are left off (how much more casual can they make a diablo game I wonder) -region lock, DRM that requires you to be constanly online -blizzard 'promising' not to put any items in the RMAH Gee, I **** wonder what's gonna happen -LEVEL 60 CAP Surely to be raised to 70,80,90 and so on with yearly expansions that consists of cut content for only another $60! Expand
  59. May 15, 2012
    2
    I signed up for Metacritic so I could voice my displeasure. Seriously Blizzard you didn't prepare yourself for this. Every single news website said that Diablo is the biggest PC pre-order ever, how can a company like Blizzard screw up the release so bad. Unbelievable. As far as rating the game.....I don't know I haven't had the chance to play it yet, your server keeps crashing.
  60. May 15, 2012
    1
    This game will be known to everyone as the biggest fails in PC gaming history. Not only have they wasted all their money hyping this game up for the past god knows how many years but they have essentially rehashed it for the kiddies market. Blizzard keeps on saying that they will release when it's ready - obviously it is far from ready with a plethora of issues and outdated game playThis game will be known to everyone as the biggest fails in PC gaming history. Not only have they wasted all their money hyping this game up for the past god knows how many years but they have essentially rehashed it for the kiddies market. Blizzard keeps on saying that they will release when it's ready - obviously it is far from ready with a plethora of issues and outdated game play mechanics. Diablo's core point of difference was it scared the living bejesus out of anyone who played it, Diablo 3 however looks like Diablo 2 rehashed from WoW - a kid's game. They have ignored their fan base and sold out to the religion of money by introducing DRM and simplified gameplay to appeal to a wider audience (the preteen market). Honestly they might as well have just created a big update patch for Diablo 2 and called it it Diablo 2.1 because that's what it is. Don't waste your money on this joke of a game from Blizzard. *Awaits for Blizzard share prices to plummet.*

    1/10 (The 1 is for effort/pity.)
    Expand
  61. May 15, 2012
    0
    If Blizzard demands that the user have an active online connection. The user should be allowed to demand an active online connection. It is totally unacceptable that you purchase a game for a lot of money that can't be played. I don't care if it is the launch day. This just show us that this can happen any time.

    Regarding the gave itself - I agree with the other reviewers. The graphics
    If Blizzard demands that the user have an active online connection. The user should be allowed to demand an active online connection. It is totally unacceptable that you purchase a game for a lot of money that can't be played. I don't care if it is the launch day. This just show us that this can happen any time.

    Regarding the gave itself - I agree with the other reviewers. The graphics aren't that good and if this was any other game it would be rated low but I think that all game sites and magazines are so hyped they will give Diablo a high score anyway.

    A dissapointment.
    Expand
  62. May 15, 2012
    0
    I wanted to comment on all these high scores people have given the game. Many of them claim that many of the negative reviews are because of the server issues. While that's true, if we can't play it, it's useless, and most of us haven't been able to play it much at all in the first 24 hours, which means that so far, it's useless. No matter how good a game is, when it's in the factory, ifI wanted to comment on all these high scores people have given the game. Many of them claim that many of the negative reviews are because of the server issues. While that's true, if we can't play it, it's useless, and most of us haven't been able to play it much at all in the first 24 hours, which means that so far, it's useless. No matter how good a game is, when it's in the factory, if it doesn't run after it's launched, it's just garbage. Expand
  63. May 15, 2012
    2
    I do not know what is worse, the price, the skill UI, the always on DRM to help support the extraction of more money from the customers later through a cut of the auction house, no PvP on launch (and its unknown what exactly it will be like when it arrives), the lies about how your digital download will let you play right away when the game goes live, the lack of a manual (guess that evenI do not know what is worse, the price, the skill UI, the always on DRM to help support the extraction of more money from the customers later through a cut of the auction house, no PvP on launch (and its unknown what exactly it will be like when it arrives), the lies about how your digital download will let you play right away when the game goes live, the lack of a manual (guess that even the website links for the digital download manual in the install folder were not completed for launch, like PvP), the lie that it will be released "when it is done", that the worldwide launch that is still having major problems 24 hours after the fact, or my particularly egregious run-on sentence describing all of these failings.

    Take your pick of any or all of the above, or point out your own areas of disappointment, mistruths, absurdities, outright lies, and pure pretentiousness on the part of Blizzard.

    Cannot recommend this game at this time. -sic
    Expand
  64. May 15, 2012
    0
    What's the most important part about a video game? Being able to play it! It's not even 24 hours after launch and the product is rendered completely useless. Log in issues, server crashes, and installation errors. After 11 years of development and hype I think it's fair to assume that the product will function properly. I guess that's to much to ask in this day and age. The actual gameWhat's the most important part about a video game? Being able to play it! It's not even 24 hours after launch and the product is rendered completely useless. Log in issues, server crashes, and installation errors. After 11 years of development and hype I think it's fair to assume that the product will function properly. I guess that's to much to ask in this day and age. The actual game play itself is incredibly underwhelming. The first glimpse of the graphics I got reminded me of a freebie game on the Android market, not a 100 dollar collector's edition game. All talent customization is gone, making one of the most anticipated releases nothing more than a mid 90's hack and slash. If you were like me and thought this game would stay true to the franchise, do yourself a favor and return it if you can. My local retailer won't allow a return, but Blizzard will be hearing from me about a refund. Expand
  65. May 15, 2012
    0
    1d6

    1-3 The servers are down
    4-6 the servers are up

    It's a coinflip at this point.

    The launch has been a disaster. I thought this kind of crap was over?
  66. May 15, 2012
    2
    Diablo 3 is a huge let down as it lacks the challenge its predecessors' had. The game is just to easy and the only challenge you are provided with is trying to login. I will never understand how Blizzard can sell 'x' amount of copies of a game, which would require 'x' amount of servers for, but only provide their clients with less than 'x' amount of servers. It boggles the mind. If theDiablo 3 is a huge let down as it lacks the challenge its predecessors' had. The game is just to easy and the only challenge you are provided with is trying to login. I will never understand how Blizzard can sell 'x' amount of copies of a game, which would require 'x' amount of servers for, but only provide their clients with less than 'x' amount of servers. It boggles the mind. If the game launch and the 23 hours (so far) following hadn't been plague with so much server down time I'm sure it would have been game of the year. But at this point I just can see that happening. Expand
  67. May 15, 2012
    3
    I've spent more time TRYING to play than I have playing it. The DRM is particularly painful since I'm going the single player route. That said, my negative score is based non on the hours of trouble and annoyance that are well documented here, but the fact that the game is mediocre and simply trading on the DIablo brand. Character creation is ridiculously weak. The removal of the abilityI've spent more time TRYING to play than I have playing it. The DRM is particularly painful since I'm going the single player route. That said, my negative score is based non on the hours of trouble and annoyance that are well documented here, but the fact that the game is mediocre and simply trading on the DIablo brand. Character creation is ridiculously weak. The removal of the ability to choose your skills and apply your attributes really damages the feeling that the character is mine. I have nothing personal invested but who knows...maybe if I actually get to play that might change. Expand
  68. May 15, 2012
    0
    it really doesn't matter how great the game is if you can't play it. I've seen bad launches before but this takes the top prize as worst launch ever. 12 years it took to make this game and 60 dollars to buy it and it doesn't even work? I have 3 friends I bought this game with and it hasn't worked for any of us. Each of us have been plagued with one problem or another and are allit really doesn't matter how great the game is if you can't play it. I've seen bad launches before but this takes the top prize as worst launch ever. 12 years it took to make this game and 60 dollars to buy it and it doesn't even work? I have 3 friends I bought this game with and it hasn't worked for any of us. Each of us have been plagued with one problem or another and are all disgusted with the game and the company that would release this garbage. this launch is a total disaster and my friends and i just want our money back. Expand
  69. May 15, 2012
    3
    Unbelievably bad first of all I was a little angry that people who had original copies of Diablo 1, 2, and the expansion were unable to play the beta. After purchasing this game and only being able to play for about 30 minutes before getting kicked off I was already somewhat disappointed in nearly every aspect. There is no grinding as well as not being able to add points to skill trees andUnbelievably bad first of all I was a little angry that people who had original copies of Diablo 1, 2, and the expansion were unable to play the beta. After purchasing this game and only being able to play for about 30 minutes before getting kicked off I was already somewhat disappointed in nearly every aspect. There is no grinding as well as not being able to add points to skill trees and to strength, dex, vit, energy. I was more let down by this game than any game I've ever purchased. Expand
  70. May 15, 2012
    2
    Log in servers unavailable to play the single player game.

    That's pretty much the sum of my experience - 45 minutes of my 9 hours of free time since the game has been available have seen the servers actually be online. From what I have briefly seen, it's basically Diablo 2, but the online DRM for single player trend in video gaming has to stop, unless the company actually has the
    Log in servers unavailable to play the single player game.

    That's pretty much the sum of my experience - 45 minutes of my 9 hours of free time since the game has been available have seen the servers actually be online.

    From what I have briefly seen, it's basically Diablo 2, but the online DRM for single player trend in video gaming has to stop, unless the company actually has the capability to support this online verification, which at this point Blizzard (of all companies) simply doesn't possess.

    Wait to buy, for sure (maybe only a week, but at present the game is mostly unavailable).
    Expand
  71. May 15, 2012
    0
    To everyone saying "you can't judge the game by the server troubles..." Let me tell you, you can.

    Blizzard made a KEY decision to put Diablo 3 as an "online only" game, despite it being a capable game for LAN / single player. With that decision comes both positives and negatives, and I'm sure reviews will cover the positives in great detail. You can't make a cool auction house without
    To everyone saying "you can't judge the game by the server troubles..." Let me tell you, you can.

    Blizzard made a KEY decision to put Diablo 3 as an "online only" game, despite it being a capable game for LAN / single player.

    With that decision comes both positives and negatives, and I'm sure reviews will cover the positives in great detail. You can't make a cool auction house without server authority/validation. You can't make it an eSport with awesome PvP without a server authority on gear and other stuff.

    But there are also negatives, and the big one is the one we're experiencing tonight. If you insist on using a server, you're going to screw players over with server problems.

    So yes, remember that this was a key decision, and that Blizzard should be called out on it, because there's really no excuse.
    Expand
  72. May 15, 2012
    0
    A classic, solid hack n slash with great graphics.
    Too bad it's unplayable due to some executive decision to not allow a single player version of the game be able to run without CONSTANT internet access.
    Having to log in at the start to do an initial check is fine, but this is ridiculous.
    Last Blizzard product I'm ever buying.
  73. May 15, 2012
    1
    This is so garbage. Spend time wondering where was the stat distribution. Doesn't have it anymore. CAnnot customize your character, only 5 characters to play, such a simple skill tree bs. This is easy mode. Incomparable to d1 and d2. Not even the bad connection can be compared to such terrible gameplay and the graphic sucks balls
  74. May 15, 2012
    2
    I'd love to give this game a better score...IF I COULD PLAY IT. Stupid decision to insist on constant internet connection. Also not a fan of watered down skill customization and other elements designed to cater to the casual player. The fans of D1 and D2 expected more of the same or better...not less. Gaming seems to be taking a turn for the worst these days. I'm looking at you EA/Bioware.I'd love to give this game a better score...IF I COULD PLAY IT. Stupid decision to insist on constant internet connection. Also not a fan of watered down skill customization and other elements designed to cater to the casual player. The fans of D1 and D2 expected more of the same or better...not less. Gaming seems to be taking a turn for the worst these days. I'm looking at you EA/Bioware. If it wasn't for Dark Souls and anything Valve spits out, this would be the worst time for gaming for me. Expand
  75. May 15, 2012
    1
    DRM. I want to be able to play this game when I don't have an internet connection, which happens FREQUENTLY. Now there are MILLIONS of people who can't play the game because of this limitation. Did you know that ~30% of the population of the world has an internet connection, and ~70% of the population of the world are gamers.
  76. May 15, 2012
    0
    Thanks Blizzard for continuing your tradition of launch day failures. It's all been said in these reviews, and you deserve every last bit of negative publicity and mockery attributed to your combination of greed and ineptitude. We know apologies aren't your style, so I really don't know what to suggest other than suck in all that fat fast cash that you know how to make so well, and pack itThanks Blizzard for continuing your tradition of launch day failures. It's all been said in these reviews, and you deserve every last bit of negative publicity and mockery attributed to your combination of greed and ineptitude. We know apologies aren't your style, so I really don't know what to suggest other than suck in all that fat fast cash that you know how to make so well, and pack it up as a software company. Cancel any plans for future releases, take your cash and go enjoy your McMansions and Yachts. You succeed as a profitable company.
    As of late, you FAIL as a company that makes good software.
    Expand
  77. May 15, 2012
    0
    Worst launch of a game EVER. First a midnight launch, where literally 85% of the population in the United States CAN NOT PLAY THE GAME for hours. Followed up buy an astounding server logon failure night/day one, on into overnight day 2. You would think the people who made the biggest MMO ever would have a clue how to make online servers. You would think that a single player game would haveWorst launch of a game EVER. First a midnight launch, where literally 85% of the population in the United States CAN NOT PLAY THE GAME for hours. Followed up buy an astounding server logon failure night/day one, on into overnight day 2. You would think the people who made the biggest MMO ever would have a clue how to make online servers. You would think that a single player game would have SOME sort of offline mode... you WOULD think that at least it would ping home and allow you to play without being tied to a server at least.

    So, for over 24 hours the game is broken and unplayable.

    Shame on you Blizzard, the way you handled this launch, and community outreach is pathetic.
    Expand
  78. May 15, 2012
    0
    it receives a zero because it doesnt work. straight up..........why the hell does my review have to be so long. that the hell does it matter. the brick flys over the lawn to collide with my face in a poopshoot of pee wang tang bo bang fe fi fo fang. you mad? mad.
  79. May 15, 2012
    3
    This game is basically the first Diablo with the Diablo II characters a tad revamped, and the only real perk is you can choose your gender. Zippeedoodah. There is little new here. Am I alone in being sick and effin' tired of hearing Jennifer Hale's voice in every damn game? Also, the DRM for this game is completely ludicrous. It's basically "You play it when we want you to", andThis game is basically the first Diablo with the Diablo II characters a tad revamped, and the only real perk is you can choose your gender. Zippeedoodah. There is little new here. Am I alone in being sick and effin' tired of hearing Jennifer Hale's voice in every damn game? Also, the DRM for this game is completely ludicrous. It's basically "You play it when we want you to", and apparently they don't want you to - at least not very often. I'm sure they'll fix their servers eventually, but who's gonna care by then? Expand
  80. May 15, 2012
    0
    Bad bad servers. No such a good connection, failure on launch...lways online DRM, -Lack of skill diversity, -Connection errors, -Play to win, -Short story. This game is a step back from Diablo 2, so I recommend avoiding it.
  81. May 15, 2012
    0
    Anyone who gave this game a 10 should get a psych eval... either that or the standards for games have fallen that low. There's absolutely no appeal in a dumbed-down D2 with slightly better graphics, a bulky RMAH, and online DRM that prohibits true single player. Simply said, Activision + Blizzard = Fail.

    Gameplay: 2/10 Extremely dumbed down, what exactly were the devs thinking when
    Anyone who gave this game a 10 should get a psych eval... either that or the standards for games have fallen that low. There's absolutely no appeal in a dumbed-down D2 with slightly better graphics, a bulky RMAH, and online DRM that prohibits true single player. Simply said, Activision + Blizzard = Fail.

    Gameplay: 2/10
    Extremely dumbed down, what exactly were the devs thinking when they decided to nix the skill tree in favor of some atrocious "customizable" rune system? It's hard to **** up an already perfected game genre (especially when Blizzard originally set the standard of dungeon-crawlers) but this game has actually done so. Wait it doesn't end there... Blizzard essentially signed a death warrant for its own game from Day 0. Introducing a Real Money Auction House has destroyed many RPGs whether MMOs or Single player (take a look at why Korean RPGs never really went international until recently). RMAH's destroy in-game economics and replay value so why introduce it at all? To snag up all the sales that the 3rd parties were getting in D2?

    One of the greatest characteristics of D2 was to create a personal "build" for a class e.g. Rabies Druid. With D3, the makers of the game took away a very important facet of the franchise and this alone should hint at its unworthiness as a title in the Diablo series.

    Graphics: 1/10
    Really now? Might as well have copied "Fate"'s cartoonish style. Maybe the consumers might've been more forgiving...

    Sound: 6/10
    Great music as always, decent voice acting. Not the best but passable.

    Controls: 3/10
    D3 attempt to carry on the Diablo series' tradition of 2-mouse button-oriented control playstyle is a bit nostalgic. But what happened to the innovation and ingenuity of the old Blizzard?

    Story: 1/10
    Gone are the epic stories that once defined all Blizzard games. Throw together some half-*** bull**** set in the same environment as the other two games in the series, slap a Diablo logo on the game, and voila there you have it, the latest Diablo sequel.

    Misc.: Only redeeming quality would be that it is still pretty addictive to play but I would attribute that to the type of game it is.
    Expand
  82. XLX
    May 15, 2012
    0
    MY REVIEW: I will review what I have been able to play today "Nothing" which translated into numbers is 0 (zero) so there you go. The servers may have been up and down but I don't have all day to try to figure out when the servers are up so I can play. When I am ready to play they need to be ready to play or else don't make it online always game. I'm online, Blizzard is not, not myMY REVIEW: I will review what I have been able to play today "Nothing" which translated into numbers is 0 (zero) so there you go. The servers may have been up and down but I don't have all day to try to figure out when the servers are up so I can play. When I am ready to play they need to be ready to play or else don't make it online always game. I'm online, Blizzard is not, not my fault.

    The irony of having someone state that your opinion shouldn't count but theirs does is remarkable. Anyways I know the server problems are temporary but they already have my cash so... yeah... I paid for a service I'm not receiving. I know the EULA covers Blizzard greedy and incompetent butt, however as a true consumer and believer in capitalism (The part that allows me to fight a company for bad service not the part that protects the company just because they have something saying bad things might happen and you cant sue us for it) I want to say Blizzard you are dead to me. I will play this game but no more money will be going your way. I weep at the fact that the only industry I ever truly wanted to be a part of has become so bloated with consumers ready to bend over and take whatever the company gives them astounds me. While a lot of others write "What did you expect" I answer "I expected what I have expected since the day I bought my first NES game... To go home put it in and enjoy myself." Times may change, technology sure has. But when I put down my hard earned money on the table, the only time I expect to lose it and not be able to play is at the casino. I don't like gambling on my games on whether they work or not.
    Expand
  83. May 15, 2012
    0
    The story and cinematics are great. Gameplay is fun for small sessions but after a while it becomes stale. Always online DRM is inexcusable and connectivity issues just make an appalling situation even worse. My advice: watch the cinematics on YouTube and give this $60 game a miss.
  84. May 15, 2012
    0
    What is this game and why does it have the title 'Diablo III' on the cover? Can you make your "own" style character? No, apparently Mr. Wilson thinks its best if he chooses where all of our attribute points go. Cool skill trees? Nope, this poser game offers only 1/3 of the attacks per character. What about pvp that is usually the center point of online games? sorry true gamers, blizzardWhat is this game and why does it have the title 'Diablo III' on the cover? Can you make your "own" style character? No, apparently Mr. Wilson thinks its best if he chooses where all of our attribute points go. Cool skill trees? Nope, this poser game offers only 1/3 of the attacks per character. What about pvp that is usually the center point of online games? sorry true gamers, blizzard left that one out too. well can i still party up with my friends and play? well lets hope you only have 3 friends, because maximum capacity per game is a whopping 4 players! And the final kicker here is that its only available to play online.(which means you can play this game they call diablo 3 only when blizzard says so. Expand
  85. May 15, 2012
    0
    Bought and installed the game, can't play even 1 minute of it, getting only error messages, the back on the box says "Internet connection requred", well I have it, the rig is decent too ... however nowhere says that the game won't work on purchase ... why in the blue hell a billion dollar company will sell product when is still not ready, it is like buying a new car but I have to get toBought and installed the game, can't play even 1 minute of it, getting only error messages, the back on the box says "Internet connection requred", well I have it, the rig is decent too ... however nowhere says that the game won't work on purchase ... why in the blue hell a billion dollar company will sell product when is still not ready, it is like buying a new car but I have to get to the service shop every day because the engine manufacturer screwed up ... Blizzard and Activision are f...ing clowns Expand
  86. May 15, 2012
    0
    This game gets a 0 for "doesn't even work." I tried to log on about 8:00pm on the day after the launch, and I get "Battle.net is down ERROR 3003" I went to the help forums and get "Sorry, blizzard support websites are undergoing maintenance."

    Finally, some news on Twitter from @BlizzardCS -- since all the blizzard websites are FUBAR, the only remaining method of communication is Twitter
    This game gets a 0 for "doesn't even work." I tried to log on about 8:00pm on the day after the launch, and I get "Battle.net is down ERROR 3003" I went to the help forums and get "Sorry, blizzard support websites are undergoing maintenance."

    Finally, some news on Twitter from @BlizzardCS -- since all the blizzard websites are FUBAR, the only remaining method of communication is Twitter -- saying the game will be down for 4 hours, so no need to stay awake.

    I'm sorry, this is completely ridiculous. Was 12 YEARS not long enough to develop a game that can even run at all on launch day? Maybe the problem is that Vivendi bought the rights to the Diablo name, but it lost all of the original Diablo and Diablo II developers who actually knew how to make such a game work.

    Just pitiful.
    Expand
  87. May 15, 2012
    0
    Having a game launch as unplayable after months and months of extensive beta testing is just bad form. Not to mention, the game is half finished and will have the pvp features completed "later". If the game doesn't work, don't ship it. The people responsible for this joke of a game should be sacked. The little bit that we have seen prior to release looks exactly like the first twoHaving a game launch as unplayable after months and months of extensive beta testing is just bad form. Not to mention, the game is half finished and will have the pvp features completed "later". If the game doesn't work, don't ship it. The people responsible for this joke of a game should be sacked. The little bit that we have seen prior to release looks exactly like the first two with graphics that are about a decade behind. Just terrible. Do not buy this game. Expand
  88. gtb
    May 15, 2012
    2
    Diablo clone. Nothing new, nothing unique. You would think that with as many years as it has been since 2 came out, Blizz would have done something better. You would be wrong.

    - Online-only is ridiculous. I haven't had the may problems that others have had but its still ridiculous. - Graphics are good, ran very smooth on my medium-level machine. - No problems with install though I
    Diablo clone. Nothing new, nothing unique. You would think that with as many years as it has been since 2 came out, Blizz would have done something better. You would be wrong.

    - Online-only is ridiculous. I haven't had the may problems that others have had but its still ridiculous. - Graphics are good, ran very smooth on my medium-level machine. - No problems with install though I understand others had issues. Overall: Just kind of meh.
    Expand
  89. May 15, 2012
    0
    It doesn't much matter what's in the game if the company requires a persistent internet connection to play it, and they can't manage to keep their servers up on launch day. I hope everyone at Blizzard is ashamed.
  90. May 15, 2012
    2
    Randomly generated maps, unique monsters, classes that actually play differently from each other, good music, good art.
    What does all this make? A game that SHOULD have a 10 out of 10.
    But it's getting a 2 out of 10... because it requires you to be online to play it. Blizzard was quoted as saying everyone is always online. Well I wasn't over the weekend for several hours & guess who's
    Randomly generated maps, unique monsters, classes that actually play differently from each other, good music, good art.
    What does all this make? A game that SHOULD have a 10 out of 10.
    But it's getting a 2 out of 10... because it requires you to be online to play it. Blizzard was quoted as saying everyone is always online. Well I wasn't over the weekend for several hours & guess who's not online right now? Blizzard.
    And so the game has become completely unplayable; barely obtaining a 2 out of 10. I paid $100 based on the public "beta" (which was actually an unfinished demo a.k.a. starter edition as it's now revealed to be) to purchase this game & to continue playing a great series. Even to this day I am still working on my Diablo 2 paladin attempting to get the "Doom runeword" in single player having never played in multi-player.
    Diablo 3's life time is sadly limited... probably to 1 year at which time Blizzard is likely to kill the servers to save money.
    But I'm not working on my Diablo 3 characters... because I can't play as Blizzard isn't online.
    Blizzard thinks they're secure in the fact that I've already bought the game... what they don't realize is, unlike the states, where I live I may still return the product even opened & registered.
    So here's $100 to say I think this can be a great game.... but if it's not playable SOON it'll be $100 saying "scre* off with your anti-consumerism Blizzard"
    Expand
  91. May 15, 2012
    0
    This is a serious review with no spoilers.

    Retard Game , Graphic all suck and sick, and don't anything good in Diabo3
    Graphic same 10 years ago , and story is too shot and epic fail ,

    i very disappointment Diabo3
    RIP.
  92. May 15, 2012
    0
    60 dollars for a broken log-in screen. Blizzard knows what kind of hardware they need to keep the servers up but simply chose to save money and wait for server populations to settle. I have always been weary about this kind of always online DRM but chose to forego my better judgement and purchase the game anyways. Keep this kind of DRM out of single-player games.
  93. May 15, 2012
    2
    Why did I pre-order Diablo 3 if it is 24 hours post launch and Blizzard is still having connectivity issues? "Single player" mode lags in the rare occasion that I can actually play (usually the servers are down and overcrowded and I am prevented from logging on)

    Character customization is illusory if not altogether gone, the game looks and feels like a console port, and the ambiance is
    Why did I pre-order Diablo 3 if it is 24 hours post launch and Blizzard is still having connectivity issues? "Single player" mode lags in the rare occasion that I can actually play (usually the servers are down and overcrowded and I am prevented from logging on)

    Character customization is illusory if not altogether gone, the game looks and feels like a console port, and the ambiance is boring. The graphics are pathetic, even Tropic III looks better than this. I gave it 2 stars for reminding me how awesome Diablo II was.
    Expand
  94. May 15, 2012
    0
    alright, enough is enough. If you are going to release a game online only, make sure u know what u are doing. If you are unsure, then release an offline mode that syncs with servers every so often with online as the main. But this is rediculous
  95. May 15, 2012
    0
    I made an account just so i could give this game a 0. I might have fun later, but these first days have been a nightmare for me. I can't have fun so this game falls in the fail category for me.
  96. Oms
    May 15, 2012
    1
    Disappointing sequel to an otherwise excellent franchise. I waited in line for 4 hours to pickup my CE copy for $115. The packaging is excellent and the art book is beautiful. The additional "behind the scenes" footage is also well put together and enjoyable to watch. The game itself however is far from being a game of any kind. Vast majority of my game time was spent staring at the sameDisappointing sequel to an otherwise excellent franchise. I waited in line for 4 hours to pickup my CE copy for $115. The packaging is excellent and the art book is beautiful. The additional "behind the scenes" footage is also well put together and enjoyable to watch. The game itself however is far from being a game of any kind. Vast majority of my game time was spent staring at the same screen as the bugs and problems with the game make it impossible to proceed beyond the initial login screen. If you are lucky enough to make it into the game you are quickly booted out and taken back to the login screen. I'm not sure how this game made it past quality assurance but this game is anything but a game. If you are looking for a login screen simulator this is an excellent choice; if you are looking for the sequel to the diablo series you have come to the wrong place. If you are really interested in a login screen simulator; I can save you $100. Hit the Windows logo key and the L key on your keyboard for a totally free login screen simulator that comes included with your copy of Windows. If you have any doubts about my review; please read the rest of the reviews. Blizzard has a few of its people posting positive reviews to trick people into buying the game, because they do not give refunds, but hopefully the gaming audience is smart enough to avoid that. Expand
  97. May 15, 2012
    0
    My score will remain 0 till server are stable. With all the server down time how can anybody give a proper review. Fix your servers Blizz staff. This launch is was horrible.
  98. May 15, 2012
    1
    What a total slap in the balls Blizzard did with this release.. the music is great so that is the only thing that made it worth of the $100 CE... why only a lousy 4GB USB?? so cheap - make it atleast 16 - and those gay guest passes - who in the world would i bring to this hell? the game would be better to just go back to old graphics so you know where you are running to.. here all theWhat a total slap in the balls Blizzard did with this release.. the music is great so that is the only thing that made it worth of the $100 CE... why only a lousy 4GB USB?? so cheap - make it atleast 16 - and those gay guest passes - who in the world would i bring to this hell? the game would be better to just go back to old graphics so you know where you are running to.. here all the extra just make you think it is bigger than it is.. really small areas Expand
  99. May 15, 2012
    2
    The online DRM system is terrible. 10 hours in, and you can't even start the game due to server malfunctions. Why is this necessary for a single-player game? The worst part is being ejected and losing progress when Blizzard's servers go down. The whole launch was poorly thought out... how could they not know how many copies were sold? On the bright side, there are plenty of otherThe online DRM system is terrible. 10 hours in, and you can't even start the game due to server malfunctions. Why is this necessary for a single-player game? The worst part is being ejected and losing progress when Blizzard's servers go down. The whole launch was poorly thought out... how could they not know how many copies were sold? On the bright side, there are plenty of other games to choose from out there. Expand
  100. r_d
    May 15, 2012
    0
    Always-online DRM is garbage.
    It adds no value to the game, and the botched launch clearly illustrates why we cannot trust it.

    Demand offline/LAN play.
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 86 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 81 out of 86
  2. Negative: 1 out of 86
  1. Aug 31, 2012
    90
    My one major complaint is that the game never feels very difficult, especially on Normal. There are frustrating moments, hordes of baddies, and increasing difficulty levels, but the same feeling of utter defeat never really happens as it did in the past.
  2. Hyper Magazine
    Jul 18, 2012
    80
    For all the game's missteps, though, you certainly can't accuse Blizzard of phoning it in - if anything, the game suffers from the tendency to try a little to hard at times to evolve the design. [Aug 2012, p.61]
  3. Jul 3, 2012
    80
    When it works, Diablo III is the best of the Diablo games. When it doesn't, all it does is make you mad. [July 2012, p.54]