Diablo III PC

User Score
4.0

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 9583 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 15, 2012
    4
    Played 1 and 2, and waited and waded through the hype for a game that feels mechanical, stale and sadly offers less than the previous games. Graphically lovely, it just doesn't grab me by the balls. Something is badly lacking. If anyone has experienced WoW pug PvP, it kinda feels like that. I'll explain, I started playing earlier and joined a few parties, not one person spoke and it feltPlayed 1 and 2, and waited and waded through the hype for a game that feels mechanical, stale and sadly offers less than the previous games. Graphically lovely, it just doesn't grab me by the balls. Something is badly lacking. If anyone has experienced WoW pug PvP, it kinda feels like that. I'll explain, I started playing earlier and joined a few parties, not one person spoke and it felt as though I was being simply carried along. No one picked up anything (gold/items) or even stopped to fart! I couldn't help but feel like a low level vacuum cleaner running behind Dysons. Overall, I think the game is average (esp after the wait) and it is further spoiled by the sad fact that modern gamers seem too eager to pursue end game glory and have forgotten, or better yet (given their ages), never known the pleasures and satisfaction of the in-between. Everyone's in a hurry to be no.1 and the game suffers as a consequence. 4/10 - By today's expectations/standards, and in view of what had gone before it, a real let-down. Expand
  2. May 15, 2012
    0
    this game is **** away from it at all costs,it is extremely dumbed down and downright boring to play,i so regret buying this game,it is a wow clone
  3. May 15, 2012
    0
    It's a shame Blizzard would take an amazing series with such a devoted fan base and bastardize it in such a way. No pvp outside of arenas is a joke, real money auction house is a joke, and lack of offline play is a joke. I don't think anyone in the developing team ever even played Diablo 1 or 2. Blizzard went out of it's way to appeal to World of Warcraft players, and it is painfullyIt's a shame Blizzard would take an amazing series with such a devoted fan base and bastardize it in such a way. No pvp outside of arenas is a joke, real money auction house is a joke, and lack of offline play is a joke. I don't think anyone in the developing team ever even played Diablo 1 or 2. Blizzard went out of it's way to appeal to World of Warcraft players, and it is painfully obvious. DO NOT BUY THIS GAME IF YOU ENJOYED DIABLO 1 OR 2!!!! Expand
  4. May 15, 2012
    0
    This game is a massive pile of **** It shouldn't be named like that.
    WoW is nice like a prostate cancer, and this "Diablo"3 is like a bunch of bloody hemorrhoids in your mouth.
  5. May 15, 2012
    0
    What a joke. This is the most disappointing game I've played all year; honestly I'm losing faith in this industry every month. Diablo 1 and Diablo 2 were fantastic, but this is just terrible: bugs, design flaws, and above all it is just boring. The connectivity issues are horrifying, but I'm sure they will pass; still it shows how Blizzard doesn't give a damn about their players.
  6. May 15, 2012
    1
    A massive disappointment after putting hours upon hours into D2. A lot of the game is streamlined to the point of absurdity. Not only that, the single player experience is severely hampered by the need to be online at all times which wouldn't be that bad if could actually play the game instead of waiting for hours in the queue.
  7. May 15, 2012
    2
    One word for this poor performance and way of ruining such a nice franchise - ACTIVI$ION
    I can not even describe how disappointing this is, saddens me to see a old school PC Gaming company going down this route.
  8. May 15, 2012
    0
    Worst diablo i ever played, short and booring. "fail blizzard has so mutch time to make this game good i but they chose their time to makes it boring "
  9. May 15, 2012
    2
    This is not Diablo. This is a bad clone of the game that we knew and loved. Blizzard removed from the game are good things, and added a useless. I do not advise buying this game, it is the failure of Blizzard.
  10. May 15, 2012
    0
    Totally ruined everything that made d2 good. No character customisation. No fighting for the good item drops. Can't even see peoples names in the chatroom!
  11. May 15, 2012
    0
    Blizzard basically ruined the Diablo series, with an internet connection needed and their servers **** up. If you liked Diablo 1/2, you will hate Diablo 3. The plot is Cliche #34, and really is bad. Don't waste your money.
  12. May 15, 2012
    2
    Diablo 2 with updated graphics, a real money auction house and DRM that prevents people from playing equals one bad game. It's a shame what's happened to Blizzard. Terrible, stay away from this one.
  13. May 15, 2012
    0
    A bland game, shackled with horrendous DRM. Even without the DRM, which prevents you from playing offline, the game is consistantly bland, not nearly worth the generous $60 price tag Blizzard happily slapped the game with. And I don't even need to tell you the login screen errors everyone has been getting. Overall, it is a complete disaster.
  14. May 15, 2012
    3
    Graphics - 3/10 Looks like a game from 2004.

    Art - 3/10 Everything is foggy and gray, you can barely see any details. The characters don't look too good, kinda like WoW. Animations - 5/10 my monk has an axe and a shield, but when he attacks he puts them aside and punch, since currently there are no animations for the monk for anything except staff and fist weapons... Music - 5/10 Basic
    Graphics - 3/10 Looks like a game from 2004.

    Art - 3/10 Everything is foggy and gray, you can barely see any details. The characters don't look too good, kinda like WoW.

    Animations - 5/10 my monk has an axe and a shield, but when he attacks he puts them aside and punch, since currently there are no animations for the monk for anything except staff and fist weapons...


    Music - 5/10 Basic background tunes.

    Voice Acting - 2/10 Horrible.

    Game play - 5/10 Dumbed down Diablo 2 game play. The mobs walk up to you and smack you, you hit them, they die, you win. While in D1&2 I'd make sure I cleared the entire level before moving on, in D3 I'm just glad I found the way to the next level already. No innovation whatsoever, totally mediocre.

    Stability - 3/10 Logging in takes about 30 min because of error messages due to high server load. Whispers fail, party chat is broken.

    I cannot believe this is a Blizzard game, it's like something I'd expect from EA. Do not buy, unless it's sold for under 8$.
    Expand
  15. May 15, 2012
    0
    Thankfully i had time to cancel my pre-order because of the required online connection DRM crap just for a simple singleplayer game!!?! $60 for this DRM filled pile of garbage is not even worthy of the Diablo series.As others have said the lack of LAN and offline mode killed the game for me as well as many people who are hardcore Diablo fans.Paying $60 for a game with everything controlledThankfully i had time to cancel my pre-order because of the required online connection DRM crap just for a simple singleplayer game!!?! $60 for this DRM filled pile of garbage is not even worthy of the Diablo series.As others have said the lack of LAN and offline mode killed the game for me as well as many people who are hardcore Diablo fans.Paying $60 for a game with everything controlled on the server side is just plain insane!!! Expand
  16. May 15, 2012
    0
    Released a few months too early and its completely unplayable right now. I hope if you get this game you dont plan on playing online.
  17. May 15, 2012
    0
    I purchased Diablo 3 on the launch and expected a fully functional product at the release. What I got was a game that wasn't working. I spent hours trying to play the game, but it seems like it's impossible to login and play the game, which I payed 60USD for. This is the first time I've purchased a product which I can't use. I am very surprised that Blizzard haven't spent more time withI purchased Diablo 3 on the launch and expected a fully functional product at the release. What I got was a game that wasn't working. I spent hours trying to play the game, but it seems like it's impossible to login and play the game, which I payed 60USD for. This is the first time I've purchased a product which I can't use. I am very surprised that Blizzard haven't spent more time with this game, since it's been a what? 8 year development cycle? How can you release a game filled with bugs and crashes and a non-functional login which makes it impossible to play the game? Oh don't let me start with the PvP and customization aspects they've removed from the game. Expand
  18. May 15, 2012
    2
    All nostalgia aside, compare the game to other rpg style games. For example Diablo 3 graphics are about the equivalent of the first never winter nights game, now some of you more sensible people will probably agree that graphics do not make a good game. However a game less focused on aesthetics usually offer something more substantial, something that will draw you in and keep you hooked.All nostalgia aside, compare the game to other rpg style games. For example Diablo 3 graphics are about the equivalent of the first never winter nights game, now some of you more sensible people will probably agree that graphics do not make a good game. However a game less focused on aesthetics usually offer something more substantial, something that will draw you in and keep you hooked. Perhaps it might be as simple as a bit of customisation with skills and appearance, perhaps some creative dialog or maybe a few characters with depth in which you actually care in the out come of their story. At the end of the day you are playing an 'rpg', you are supposed to in some way immerse yourself in the life of the character you create and after playing Diablo 3 I whole heartedly believe that the game is way to shallow to allow this. Expand
  19. May 15, 2012
    2
    This is the first time I have felt compelled to write a review, the game is that disappointing. The game is extremely short (no doubt for more $60 expansions), lacks LAN, lacks world PvP, has been extremely dumbed down and overly "streamlined" (attributes, skill, SEPARATE loot - lol wtf are you kidding me). Some people might find the changes appealing, but they have taken away everythingThis is the first time I have felt compelled to write a review, the game is that disappointing. The game is extremely short (no doubt for more $60 expansions), lacks LAN, lacks world PvP, has been extremely dumbed down and overly "streamlined" (attributes, skill, SEPARATE loot - lol wtf are you kidding me). Some people might find the changes appealing, but they have taken away everything I liked about the Diablo series.

    I was slightly disappointed in Starcraft II. That should have been my first clue that Blizzard was no longer the company I had come to love. Diablo III is such a massive disappointment that I will never buy a Blizzard game again without serious research into the quality of the game.
    Expand
  20. May 15, 2012
    2
    Remember when Blizzard games were interesting, fresh, and changed the gaming landscape? Yeah, me neither. Just like Starcraft 2, this is an out-of-date attempt to peddle the same old crap to a bunch of braindead fans who will buy this just because "it's diablo". But then they even shot that in the foot with awful compulsory online capabilities and a mediocre campaign mode! Blizzard is aRemember when Blizzard games were interesting, fresh, and changed the gaming landscape? Yeah, me neither. Just like Starcraft 2, this is an out-of-date attempt to peddle the same old crap to a bunch of braindead fans who will buy this just because "it's diablo". But then they even shot that in the foot with awful compulsory online capabilities and a mediocre campaign mode! Blizzard is a disgusting company and Diablo 3 is a disgusting game made entirely for a quick buck at the expense of a franchises' dignity. This sort of click-happy gameplay should have evolved into something better ten years ago, not be unceremoniously dragged out of retirement like Diablo himself. If you guy this game you are a failure of a gamer. Don't support **** rehashes. Go buy something new for a change. You owe it to Diablo's memory. Expand
  21. May 15, 2012
    0
    In theory this could be a good game if they made it able to be played offline. I'm sure they can develop a way to ensure the integrity of their RMAH. And to those claiming that all these bad reviews are all about "server issues" and not about the game I have this to say: since they made it compulsory to be "always online" to play this game, they made server issues an integral part ofIn theory this could be a good game if they made it able to be played offline. I'm sure they can develop a way to ensure the integrity of their RMAH. And to those claiming that all these bad reviews are all about "server issues" and not about the game I have this to say: since they made it compulsory to be "always online" to play this game, they made server issues an integral part of actually playing the game. It's not a separate experience. The issues with their servers are part of the game playing experience as a whole, and that aspect is so underwhelmingly disappointing. I had faith in Blizzard, I played WoW for years before I moved onto greener pastures. I loved all the Warcraft and Starcraft games. But I convinced myself that I wasn't going to buy D3 because of the "always online" garbage, and the RMAH. But I eventually came around to giving Blizzard the benefit of the doubt. Perhaps they can pull it off. If the servers are always up, and my connection is stable, I could probably get over not being able to play away from home. Unfortunately this is completely not the case. It actually doesn't matter if the servers have 100% uptime from this moment onwards until the eventual heat death of the universe. My perception of this game, and this company are forever negatively coloured. Expand
  22. May 15, 2012
    0
    i actually got in for about 20 min before servers went to hell.not bad but not great.average at best.there is no excuse for the game not being playable considering the amount of time it toolk to get released.the irony is that people giving this game a 10 and calling the rest of us trolls for being pist at the lack of polish for a game thats been in development for 12yrs are in fact trollsi actually got in for about 20 min before servers went to hell.not bad but not great.average at best.there is no excuse for the game not being playable considering the amount of time it toolk to get released.the irony is that people giving this game a 10 and calling the rest of us trolls for being pist at the lack of polish for a game thats been in development for 12yrs are in fact trolls themselves.60$ in this economy is alot for pc game,shame on you blizzard for treating your fans with such little regard. :( Expand
  23. May 15, 2012
    0
    i was a huge diablo and blizzard fan but im afraid i have to give them a huge slap with this release. even if the game were great, its not much use when no-one can play it. the server problems are simply not good enough, especially since they knew the volume of pre-orders. i read the stories on the forums about people who took days off work which have been wasted and blizzard need toi was a huge diablo and blizzard fan but im afraid i have to give them a huge slap with this release. even if the game were great, its not much use when no-one can play it. the server problems are simply not good enough, especially since they knew the volume of pre-orders. i read the stories on the forums about people who took days off work which have been wasted and blizzard need to know this is not good enough. i was hugely disappointed with the open beta weekend... stopped playing bored after 20 mins, and this from someone who lost sleep constantly for d2 at the drop of a hat.

    the lack of customization systems is disappointing, requiring online connections for SP is ridiculous.

    so so disappointed. blizzard was one of a very few game developers i would buy from assured of a quality product... not any more. i seriously hope they take a huge loss to credibility on this one, otherwise it'll just be telling developers they can treat the paying customer like fools and do what they want with no consequences... like other game developers have many times in the past unfortunately.
    Expand
  24. AMF
    May 15, 2012
    0
    No connection = No Game

    This is a single player game.

    DRM epic fail.

    Don't waste your money on this joke. Don't let the fanboy's sway you with the 10's they are putting up for a game that they themselves can't login to...lol...login to a single player game. Silly Blizzard.
  25. May 15, 2012
    0
    Doesn't work. Games that cannot be played upon launch are nonfunctioning products, and receive a zero: not buying the game and not being able to play it is actually more fun than buying the game and not being able to play it.
  26. May 15, 2012
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The drm? the region locking? the casualization of this amazing series?

    not to mention how stuck in the past they are...how can you not customize your character MORE than before?
    Expand
  27. May 15, 2012
    0
    Does the account login screen count as a game? It's sort of like gambling. Are the servers up? Down? Much like any casino, the odds are heavily stacked against you. I suppose that will make finally winning a spot online that much sweeter. Giving the game a 0, since I paid $60 for it and still have exactly 0 minutes of playtime thanks to one of the worst botches of a launch since the NorthDoes the account login screen count as a game? It's sort of like gambling. Are the servers up? Down? Much like any casino, the odds are heavily stacked against you. I suppose that will make finally winning a spot online that much sweeter. Giving the game a 0, since I paid $60 for it and still have exactly 0 minutes of playtime thanks to one of the worst botches of a launch since the North Korean missile test. Expand
  28. May 15, 2012
    0
    Bad graphics. No single player; always online. No LAN. No character customization. Casual skill trees. Health orbs. Plot is the typical Chris Metzen "CORRUPTION!!" cut and paste Blizzard storyline. Diablo has female hips. Pay 2 Win real money auction house. $1 fee on all trades, 15% money fee goes directly to Activision-Blizzard. Error 37; I couldn't play the night I bought the game. MadeBad graphics. No single player; always online. No LAN. No character customization. Casual skill trees. Health orbs. Plot is the typical Chris Metzen "CORRUPTION!!" cut and paste Blizzard storyline. Diablo has female hips. Pay 2 Win real money auction house. $1 fee on all trades, 15% money fee goes directly to Activision-Blizzard. Error 37; I couldn't play the night I bought the game. Made by none of the crew of Diablo II and feels like it. Sets the genre back about 10 years, yet it will smash all sales records. Anyone who enjoyed Diablo II should be ashamed of buying this game and slowly killing the hobby of videogames. I am ashamed of myself. Expand
  29. May 15, 2012
    2
    This game may have been fun 10 years ago but video games as a whole have evolved so much this rehashed formula just doesn't work. Combat is boring and lacklaster after the first day. Skill system needs improvement. No content after you beat the game. D2 just felt right because it was a technological advancement back then. This does nothing, for video games or for me.
  30. May 15, 2012
    2
    I am not giving it a low score in relation to servers/online/drm none of that...

    I am giving them a low score because they have killed Diablo franchise. There is absolutely 0 customization between your maxxed level character and another person's of the same class. No skill points to choose where they go, no nothing. Now with just opening your skill menu and re-slotting, everyone can be
    I am not giving it a low score in relation to servers/online/drm none of that...

    I am giving them a low score because they have killed Diablo franchise. There is absolutely 0 customization between your maxxed level character and another person's of the same class. No skill points to choose where they go, no nothing. Now with just opening your skill menu and re-slotting, everyone can be the exact same ALA WoW. The amount of work and time spent toward the game to turn it from a unique, skill based, highly customizable character/game process, into a casual gamer who just got off WoW to play for a couple of hours, is very impressive.

    The graphics are quite sad. It looks just like a cartoon, very WoWish... I f**king hate WoW. Why is every blizzard game slowly starting to make their games look like crap, I mean seriously...

    I have everything on the highest resolution, and trust me, my system can MORE than handle it, and it runs at a flawless 150 fps (more if I set it's max frames up), and it just looks like crap. I could understand if this artwork and what not was done in 2004 alongside of WoW... but it is sadly 2012 and with more recent dungeon crawlers hitting the market with graphics 30 times better than this, it is a sad story.

    The game dungeon defenders on Iphone/android has about the same graphics as this, and that is NOT a joke.

    Graphics are not everything, I give you that. Gameplay is a big part of it. That is about the only thing this game is close to having, but once you take away any form of customization, skill and talent, and turn it into a 4 button mashfest with whose gear is better than the others, I see no need to grind for days and days, and feel content after 1 run on normal mode. The gameplay is why I gave it a 2. The rest of the problems is what kept the score there.
    Expand
  31. May 15, 2012
    2
    Sorry, this is unacceptable. I work for a software company... and if I was working on this project I would be called to the CEO's office for either a serious, "you're job is in jeopardy" or just plain out fired. I fully understand that software is literally NEVER finished.... but it NEEDS to run, at the very least. Ridiculous. I couldn't even imagine how terrible this would be if I wasSorry, this is unacceptable. I work for a software company... and if I was working on this project I would be called to the CEO's office for either a serious, "you're job is in jeopardy" or just plain out fired. I fully understand that software is literally NEVER finished.... but it NEEDS to run, at the very least. Ridiculous. I couldn't even imagine how terrible this would be if I was involved... greedy bastards.... they have their money and that's all that matters... unacceptable. Expand
  32. May 15, 2012
    0
    I sit in an unending queue with no details on the official site or forums with why this could possibly be happening? Fail.
    I get all kinds of errors that are not explained by the error message? Fail.
    I can't even get into the game without an internet connection, when all I want to do is play single player and never interact with anyone else? Fail. Cannot believe we're paying sixty
    I sit in an unending queue with no details on the official site or forums with why this could possibly be happening? Fail.
    I get all kinds of errors that are not explained by the error message? Fail.
    I can't even get into the game without an internet connection, when all I want to do is play single player and never interact with anyone else? Fail.

    Cannot believe we're paying sixty bucks for this level of performance.
    Expand
  33. May 15, 2012
    0
    Never pictured myself as the register-just-to-give-a-zero type. But alas here we are. Single player online only; bad for Blizzard, bad for gamers, bad for the industry.
  34. May 15, 2012
    0
    I've tried to play four times today. How many times have I been successful? Zero. My rating of 'one' is because I've never actually gotten to play this game. Always on connection sucks, get rid of the RMT and make a great game.
  35. May 15, 2012
    1
    Taken objectively this game is barely passible, and that's extremely disappointing for something in the Diablo series. Instead of a dark, gritty, evil, game with realistic graphics that we wanted, we got a cross between WoW and Spiral Knights with the Diablo lore for flavor.

    The graphics look like a 90s comic book with a blur filter. As others have said this is what WoW would look if they
    Taken objectively this game is barely passible, and that's extremely disappointing for something in the Diablo series. Instead of a dark, gritty, evil, game with realistic graphics that we wanted, we got a cross between WoW and Spiral Knights with the Diablo lore for flavor.

    The graphics look like a 90s comic book with a blur filter. As others have said this is what WoW would look if they ever updated it for 2006. The best I can say is that they're uniformly bad instead of intermittently bad, so the game doesn't give you hope that it will get better. There is no offline or LAN play. Blizzard's misguided attempt to limit piracy by forcing users to log in is backfiring by hurting legitimate customers. Add to that the fact that the servers keep going offline and you get a taste for how it will feel in 10 years when you're nostalgic, but find that you can't play the game ~at all~ because Blizzard has removed the servers for it.

    The gameplay itself is pretty standard hack and slash action RPG, but the character development has the depth of Wee Man's kiddie pool. Spells/Abilities are automatically unlocked as you level. There are runes that give them slightly different properties, but nothing that really changes how you use them in practice. Attributes and other passive skills are completely automated, so you have zero ability to mix and match with your skills to find interesting combinations.

    The final shovel on the grave of this game is the real money auction house. Like the servers, it's not even ready at "launch", but it's basically planned to make pay-to-win an ever stronger reality than it already is in the illegal item markets in WoW and other games. I'll be playing Path of Exile instead. The graphics in PoE aren't perfect, but they're the style we wanted from D3. The depth of character build options in PoE are *amazing*. Best of all, PoE is free! The things you can buy are ALL completely cosmetic, and the company is very vocal about their own dislike for pay2win. Try it instead of paying for any of the BS that Blizzard is trying to feed us with D3.
    Expand
  36. May 15, 2012
    0
    Can't even log in to play the game. Blizzard makes billions of dollars, and you'd think they would have learned some lessons about launching new online games and the stress created on their servers from millions of players. Oh, and we're playing a beta version of the game with bugs that absolutely SHOULD NOT HAVE GOTTEN THROUGH TO LIVE. $60? Are you **** kidding me? Not in this day andCan't even log in to play the game. Blizzard makes billions of dollars, and you'd think they would have learned some lessons about launching new online games and the stress created on their servers from millions of players. Oh, and we're playing a beta version of the game with bugs that absolutely SHOULD NOT HAVE GOTTEN THROUGH TO LIVE. $60? Are you **** kidding me? Not in this day and age, completely unacceptable. Expand
  37. May 15, 2012
    0
    Probably the worst game I've ever played. Does anyone else remember those fine, fine days of hours and hours of playing nothing but Diablo II back in the day? There was nothing better. Now, all of those days are ruined forever with Diablo III, which could quite possibly be the worst game I've played in the past ten years. For starters, the servers are completely broken and flawed, withProbably the worst game I've ever played. Does anyone else remember those fine, fine days of hours and hours of playing nothing but Diablo II back in the day? There was nothing better. Now, all of those days are ruined forever with Diablo III, which could quite possibly be the worst game I've played in the past ten years. For starters, the servers are completely broken and flawed, with absolutely no way to get into the game until you've waited more than 30 minutes and blown your brains out with a shotgun from the stress of yelling at your computer screen. On top of that, even when you do get into a game the gameplay is basically just a broken mess and a complete shadow of what Diablo II was. It's weak and unbearable, just sad to say the least. Do yourself a favor and never touch this pile of flaming bear crap. Instead, you might as well just burn down your local gaming retailer for simply stocking the game in the first place. Expand
  38. May 15, 2012
    3
    The game itself is fun and gorgeous, everything you would expect D3 to be--even though there are some saying they finished the entire game in six hours. I'm not even out of act 1 yet, just got kicked offline after playing from 10 am EST, so either the posters saying this are full of it or they ran through the game like a monster on crack.

    But--and this is a MASSIVE, MASSIVE but--having
    The game itself is fun and gorgeous, everything you would expect D3 to be--even though there are some saying they finished the entire game in six hours. I'm not even out of act 1 yet, just got kicked offline after playing from 10 am EST, so either the posters saying this are full of it or they ran through the game like a monster on crack.

    But--and this is a MASSIVE, MASSIVE but--having to be online to play is absolute, utter nonsense. Blizz made a big mistake with this and in the end the lack of LAN and offline is going to hurt this game; maybe not in the pocketbook, but through word of mouth. We know, we know, piracy and DRM is the wave of the future and whatever. You have billions of our hard-earned dollars at your disposal, Blizz. There are ways around this that even forum posters have suggested, and you ignored them. So handle the anger coming your way, I can't say that you don't deserve it.

    A five. Would have been a ten or close to it, if there were offline and LAN offered.
    Expand
  39. May 15, 2012
    0
    The way Blizzard is handling this situation is the most irresponsible and retarded thing ever done by a multi-million dollar company since the Golf War oil spill. Congratulations on becoming the biggest joke in video gaming history since Duke Nukem Forever. I can't believe I'm downloading a pirate cracked version of a game I already paid 60 dollars for, I want my money back
  40. Sal
    May 15, 2012
    2
    Incredibly disappointing, putting aside the launch issues (Bad form for a multi billion dollar company to not have adequate servers) The dumbed down skill system, lack of any customisation at all (barring gender) Lacklustre voice acting and all round pointless story lead to a game that had great potential being a sub par run for the genre it's series basically invented. Torchlight 2 andIncredibly disappointing, putting aside the launch issues (Bad form for a multi billion dollar company to not have adequate servers) The dumbed down skill system, lack of any customisation at all (barring gender) Lacklustre voice acting and all round pointless story lead to a game that had great potential being a sub par run for the genre it's series basically invented. Torchlight 2 and Path of Exile are looking like much better choices.

    Being forced to be always online is a joke for a game that is mainly a singleplayer run, and solves absolutely nothing. How hard would it be to allow us to create character offline that cannot in any way interract with the online content?

    Rated 2, for nostalgia purposes.
    Expand
  41. May 15, 2012
    1
    This is what happens to a series when it gets bought out by a corporation solely to make money. Enjoy the DRM, $60 price tag, and dumb downed/water downed gameplay mechanics.
    The score of 1 is for effort. Thank you Activison for ruining CoD, WoW, and now Diablo.
  42. May 15, 2012
    4
    All the build up for release, planned, calculated. EPIC Fail on release with DRM Servers keeping everyone from logging in. There should be an offline mode, and furtharmore DRM needs to be throttled back a bit.
  43. May 15, 2012
    0
    Lack of character customization, wow like graphics, gameplay about 6 hours long, couple that with the fact that you can't even log in because of the stupid drm. God forbid people pirate games so you have to have a constant internet connection EVEN FOR SINGLE PLAYER.
  44. May 15, 2012
    4
    Score the game based on it's gameplay folks, not a temper tantrum. I'm giving it a 4, because they gutted so much of what I loved about D1/2, the graphics are pretty weak, and the online DRM is inconvenient to say the least. It would pass as an iOS game or a $10 indie title, but as a follow up to one of the best games of all time, it is a disgrace.
  45. May 15, 2012
    0
    DRM DRM Absolutely disgusting action from Blizzard, the introduction of DRM shows a complete lack of respect and trust from this company and punishes those who planned to buy the game instead of pirating it. They forget that some people around the world that don't have a constant internet connection available to them. I wont even talk about the in game gold hoarding.

    whatever you have
    DRM DRM Absolutely disgusting action from Blizzard, the introduction of DRM shows a complete lack of respect and trust from this company and punishes those who planned to buy the game instead of pirating it. They forget that some people around the world that don't have a constant internet connection available to them. I wont even talk about the in game gold hoarding.

    whatever you have to do don't give them your money.

    Don't buy this game it only encourages them.
    Expand
  46. May 15, 2012
    2
    I'll skip the already-covered areas of DRM, server availability and pay-to-win auction houses. What prompted this review is Blizzard's customer service and absolute lack of forethought about simple aspects of the game.

    Case in point: I accidentally mistyped by BattleTag and opened a ticket to reset it. The reply? "Sorry, we didn't code for that." Seriously? From crashy servers to
    I'll skip the already-covered areas of DRM, server availability and pay-to-win auction houses. What prompted this review is Blizzard's customer service and absolute lack of forethought about simple aspects of the game.

    Case in point: I accidentally mistyped by BattleTag and opened a ticket to reset it. The reply? "Sorry, we didn't code for that."

    Seriously?

    From crashy servers to generic, unchangeable BattleTag IDs, there is no part of the technical infrastructure that Blizzard executed properly. Since I can't play the game itself without the servers, my only frame of reference is what I saw during the beta test phase:

    * The artwork is okay, if somewhat "toony."
    * The story is okay, if somewhat generic.
    * The Witch Doctor class feels entirely out-of-place, as if it belongs in some other game.
    * The skill and rune systems have been dumbed down from Diablo 2.

    Overall, Diablo 3 is an average-to-mediocre experience at a premium price. The game plays more like an Activision title than a Blizzard one. Let the buyer beware....
    Expand
  47. May 15, 2012
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Doesn't improve on Diablo 2 at all. Really waters down the whole experience. Somehow, the game is even less than dark Diablo 2 was. (Hint, the first battle starts with a metal guitar riff)

    Feels like Diablo done in the world of warcraft style. Stick with torchlight.
    Expand
  48. May 15, 2012
    0
    5 hours to install...another 5 hours troubleshooting cause of errors in the folders...and another 5 now 6 hours of waiting to enter the server that keeps going in maintenance...buyer beware! you are at the mercy of blizzards online server!
  49. May 15, 2012
    1
    I cant believe I waited 12 years and spent 80 bucks for this, I cant even play this crap right now because of maintenance ???!!! I JUST WANT TO PLAY SINGLE PLAYER !!!! WHY WONT YOU LET ME !!!!!
  50. May 15, 2012
    3
    A very disappointing game for a hardcore D2 fan like me. Customization is very boring compared to D2, and the cartoony feel of the game is just horrible. For me D1 and D2 had a dark, gritty feel, and a realistic feel even though the graphics of the time were incapable of producing "real" realism. I expected this game to look and feel great, but the soundtrack is the only thing that isA very disappointing game for a hardcore D2 fan like me. Customization is very boring compared to D2, and the cartoony feel of the game is just horrible. For me D1 and D2 had a dark, gritty feel, and a realistic feel even though the graphics of the time were incapable of producing "real" realism. I expected this game to look and feel great, but the soundtrack is the only thing that is good. How come FPS games are becoming more and more realistic, but hack & slash RPG's are going in the opposite direction? I hoped for a serious and dark game, but D3 vs D2 is like Batman from 1966 vs The Dark Knight. Expand
  51. May 15, 2012
    0
    Diablo 3 is out. It took 11 years to make. The graphics look 10 years old and its only 6 hours long. But don't worry kids you can buy hats with moms credit card!
  52. May 15, 2012
    1
    I definitely was looking forward to this game. However, even based on the fact this game was hotly anticipated as the next greatest thing to move the franchise forward, it feels much more like a step backward. Firstly. I need to get this off of my chest, than I'll get into the actual review: Digital Rights Management is flat out inexcusable this day and age for single player games. I wasI definitely was looking forward to this game. However, even based on the fact this game was hotly anticipated as the next greatest thing to move the franchise forward, it feels much more like a step backward. Firstly. I need to get this off of my chest, than I'll get into the actual review: Digital Rights Management is flat out inexcusable this day and age for single player games. I was tolerant of when Blizzard decided to install DRM into Starcraft II when it was released, mostly because it is a multiplayer game where lies the heart of the game. Diablo III is NOT required to be played in multiplayer to enjoy this game. I refuse to support a positive review on this point alone. Now on to the actual review:

    - Art style is very reminiscent of "World of Warcraft", very cartoony and animated; For a game such as Diablo III where it is 'supposed' to be grim, dark, and scary, it is neither of these things. I suppose the development team wanted to make it 'accessible' to woo the casual gamers, this come at the cost of the overall mood and I just don't buy into it and the quite figuratively pulls all of the emotional impact it has on the overall gamer, I don't feel sucked into the game. - The music in this game is fantastic, and hits the ball out of the park this time. I couldn't help but feel that this is the production quality even higher than what would be found in big budget movies and the 'canned' movie scores, reminiscent of the Avengers movie that was released. Well done, music producers!

    - The skill tree based system is well thought out and complex, especially once you get into the advanced ratings. It is a departure of the old 'Diablo I and II' skill management system, and a welcome change. However, for those hoping for 'more of the same', will be disappointed.

    - Gameplay is boring and repetitive, even playing with friends is boring. Was hoping for more synergy between classes when playing multiplayer, but alas there is none. Absolutely no synergy. Looks like you're on the own on this one, even when playing with friends. - Lastly, there is no excuse for having defects on the production day, and shutting down the login servers so users can play the game they paid for. DRM is a travesty, and really for a game like this, which has been under development for quite literally 4+ years, it should be shipped bug free. Now we can't even play the game because their servers are down (thanks, DRM) , even when they've had adequate time to beta test, adequate time to stress test, and adequate time to design the application. I am disappointed in the execution of this game and I don't think I will be investing much time in it in the future, will be spending much more time playing Guild Wars 2 and Torchlight 2 when they come out. This game will tide me over until than.
    Expand
  53. May 15, 2012
    1
    The gameplay itself is wonderful, and I very much enjoyed it. But, what good is it if you paid and are unable to play. We've taken a day off from work and have been unable to play for ~4 hours of it due to server downtime. With the 10 years Blizzard has had to develop the game and prepare for launch, the amount of server downtime should have been minimal to none. While something likeThe gameplay itself is wonderful, and I very much enjoyed it. But, what good is it if you paid and are unable to play. We've taken a day off from work and have been unable to play for ~4 hours of it due to server downtime. With the 10 years Blizzard has had to develop the game and prepare for launch, the amount of server downtime should have been minimal to none. While something like this might be expected from a cheap, knock-off South Korean game and company, Blizzard is held (as they should be) to a much higher standard when it comes to game stability, balance, etc.

    The ability to deliver a stable game on day one is disappointing. The countless hours of work the devs and artists put into this game are going to be diminished somewhat by the quality of their launch. Sorry, Blizzard.
    Expand
  54. May 15, 2012
    0
    For those of you who believe that a majority of these reviews are troll reviews in order to tarnish the game's overall appeal are sorely mistaken. If anything, its the positive reviews that need to be called into question. The only thing that I had seen so far in my entire time attempting to play this game has been the message "Error 37." This game's DRM is so incredibly overboard that oneFor those of you who believe that a majority of these reviews are troll reviews in order to tarnish the game's overall appeal are sorely mistaken. If anything, its the positive reviews that need to be called into question. The only thing that I had seen so far in my entire time attempting to play this game has been the message "Error 37." This game's DRM is so incredibly overboard that one cannot even play the singleplayer without needing an internet connection.

    I feel that the score of 0 is appropriate because there isn't anything to play. This is not a game. It's a $60 piece of trash. Save yourself the buyers remorse.
    Expand
  55. May 15, 2012
    0
    It has been a day and the game at no point has been playable. This is totally unacceptable. I played the beta and it was decent, but having to depend on the random nature of the servers to actually play the thing is intolerable.
  56. May 15, 2012
    1
    A shell of its former self. Bland story, replay value has been decimated, boring character progression, far too simplified for a game coming out in 2012 by a major game developer. It's a game worth 10 dollars in the bargain bin, most certainly not 60.
  57. May 15, 2012
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game requires Internet connectivity to play, even in single player mode ... and with Blizzard's servers offline, this means I cannot play. My hard earned money for a paperweight. Very not happy. Expand
  58. May 15, 2012
    0
    The skill system was repeatedly watered down so that there are literally zero choices made while leveling. Even if everyone was going to end up with access to all spells/runes/skills at the end, why not let players choose *which order* they received them (or at least some of them) while leveling up? The real-money auction house is also a gambling machine. Boss kills are like pulling aThe skill system was repeatedly watered down so that there are literally zero choices made while leveling. Even if everyone was going to end up with access to all spells/runes/skills at the end, why not let players choose *which order* they received them (or at least some of them) while leveling up? The real-money auction house is also a gambling machine. Boss kills are like pulling a lever, the drops are the result - sometimes you win money, usually you don't. To be able to get more and better drops, you just have to buy better gear and farm better bosses.

    Never mind the ridiculously bad release.
    Expand
  59. May 15, 2012
    0
    Graphics: Disappointing, I was expecting something better. The cartoony look does not justify the sub-par graphics.

    Storyline: Boring, boring, boring Character creation: zero customization, all same-class characters will be exactly alike Biggest gripe: Can not play single player without server support (then is it really single player?). Blizzard took DRM to a level that screws over
    Graphics: Disappointing, I was expecting something better. The cartoony look does not justify the sub-par graphics.

    Storyline: Boring, boring, boring

    Character creation: zero customization, all same-class characters will be exactly alike

    Biggest gripe: Can not play single player without server support (then is it really single player?). Blizzard took DRM to a level that screws over customers. With such a large revenue from pre-orders you'd think Blizzard would do more to ensure a a launch where players could at least play by themselves.
    Expand
  60. May 15, 2012
    2
    It's sad when one of those games that you've been looking forward to turns out to be a total disappointment. From DRM to "always online" policy I feel like Blizzard is treating ME the CUSTOMER as a criminal. Why should I have to deal with further restrictions because somebody MIGHT pirate the game? You can't stop pirates Blizzard, 50 bucks says that your DRM methods will be cracked in aIt's sad when one of those games that you've been looking forward to turns out to be a total disappointment. From DRM to "always online" policy I feel like Blizzard is treating ME the CUSTOMER as a criminal. Why should I have to deal with further restrictions because somebody MIGHT pirate the game? You can't stop pirates Blizzard, 50 bucks says that your DRM methods will be cracked in a week, and it only made it a pain in the ass for the people who supported your damn game. Furthermore, the game's combat (and other gameplay additions), graphics, and length are a total disappointment. It's literally just a copy + pasted artstyle from World of Warcraft, which is a complete disgrace when you take into accordance the artstyle used in previous Diablo games. The combat is pathetically easy, even on the hardest difficulty, but that's not the huge issue with the gameplay. You can't allocate your own skill points because Blizzard thinks it's audience is stupid, and you can only have up to 4 friends in a map with you at one time. I'm sorry Blizzard, but now I kind of feel like a **** for lending some money to friends for this game, now I can't even play with them. And PvP isn't even on release! What the hell? PvP MADE Diablo 2. And let's not forget the pathetic running time for this game, some koreans did a blind run of Diablo 3 and beat the game in 6 hours. I beat it in 8. Thoroughly disappointed, and I laugh at the "10" reviews that claim this game is perfection and call people who actually criticize the game (for want of better quality) "trolls". I actually put thought and actual valid complaints about the game, when they're only explanation for the "10" is "IGNORE THE TROLLS".

    Hah!
    Expand
  61. May 15, 2012
    3
    The graphics are pretty, not great, but effective. The hardware reqs. are easy on the pocket book, shouldn't need a whole new rig to play. Game play, the 20 minutes i was able to play, were fun, not a far stretch from 2. So why the low score...you have to log into Battle.net to play a single player, and after 5 hours with product, 4 have been spent waiting for server maintenance.The graphics are pretty, not great, but effective. The hardware reqs. are easy on the pocket book, shouldn't need a whole new rig to play. Game play, the 20 minutes i was able to play, were fun, not a far stretch from 2. So why the low score...you have to log into Battle.net to play a single player, and after 5 hours with product, 4 have been spent waiting for server maintenance. Blizz should have known better, and prepared way better Expand
  62. May 15, 2012
    0
    The game is fair, but the launch earns this 0. I just lost all of my achievements, and now I'll have to do all of the quests on nightmare that I was looking forward to skipping. Great work guys.
  63. May 15, 2012
    0
    Great job Blizzard. Just got my Collectors Edition in the mail and I can't play it because of the DRM that you've implemented. If you're going to put DRM in a game, you sure as well better be able to handle people logging in. Can't even play offline.

    I'm sure the game is good, but you can't rate what you can't play on launch day.
  64. May 15, 2012
    1
    when im playing single player and i see "server is shutting down in 15 minutes" come across the screen and sure enough 15 minutes later i am kicked out of my game... why do i need to be online to play single player and why wasnt this already known server capacity issue solved when they stress tested during the beta test....
  65. May 15, 2012
    0
    Rating reflects hours able to play on launch day. I set aside time in the afternoon to play but was booted after an hour. This is the only action I feel is available to me to convey my disappointment with this game launch.
  66. May 15, 2012
    0
    Were they not expecting a large number of logins on launch day? They had plenty of time to prepare for launch day and they still royally fuked it up.
  67. May 15, 2012
    0
    As has probably been pointed out multiple times before, the developers that made the beloved Diablo 2 had no part in crafting this abortion. Diablo 3 is literally a stillbirth, refusing to perform for hours after its launch. All the good devs moved on to Torchlight 2, the true spiritual successor to Diablo 2. Don't waste your time.

    Also take care in noticing how the only positive reviews
    As has probably been pointed out multiple times before, the developers that made the beloved Diablo 2 had no part in crafting this abortion. Diablo 3 is literally a stillbirth, refusing to perform for hours after its launch. All the good devs moved on to Torchlight 2, the true spiritual successor to Diablo 2. Don't waste your time.

    Also take care in noticing how the only positive reviews are 9's and 10's -- Blizzard isn't very subtle with their damage control.
    Expand
  68. May 15, 2012
    0
    Absolute Junk. No customization, no nothing. They didn't listen to continuous customer complaints throughout the entire development process and this is the result. So to summarize:

    Graphics: bad and cartoony Sound: bad Auction House: god awful. pay 2 win is for babies and casuals. Only a child would purchase a virtual item Gameplay: bad Disrespect to the Diablo series. Get it out of here
    Absolute Junk. No customization, no nothing. They didn't listen to continuous customer complaints throughout the entire development process and this is the result. So to summarize:

    Graphics: bad and cartoony
    Sound: bad
    Auction House: god awful. pay 2 win is for babies and casuals. Only a child would purchase a virtual item
    Gameplay: bad

    Disrespect to the Diablo series. Get it out of here immediately!
    Expand
  69. May 15, 2012
    0
    Terribad. The graphics and gameplay are so shoddy that it is barely a step up (if that) from the first Diablo game. Enemy difficulty is so easy that it is not even fun. Combine that with the horrible servers, constant errors, and no offline single-player and you get a huge steaming pile of fail.
  70. May 15, 2012
    2
    Quoting for REAL TRUTH! "The lack of lan or offline modes mans you are in constant need of an internet connection (and the servers being up) to play, let alone with friends. The art style has gone more towards the WoW style, which just doesn't hold as much power as the style used previously and the lack of skill customization makes it feel as though every build is cookie cutter and theQuoting for REAL TRUTH! "The lack of lan or offline modes mans you are in constant need of an internet connection (and the servers being up) to play, let alone with friends. The art style has gone more towards the WoW style, which just doesn't hold as much power as the style used previously and the lack of skill customization makes it feel as though every build is cookie cutter and the only difference between any 2 people of the same class is gear."
    Also, MUCH of the previous "dark" was avoided by this team, there are no more scenes like crucified bodies burning or stuff like that. Only some crawling worms and some skeletons to make you feel like you're indeed playing a fearsome game... Assuming you can actually LOG INTO THE GAME, that is. Been trying for the past 2 hours and couldn't log.
    And all of this to TRY to play the SINGLE PLAYER mode...
    Expand
  71. May 15, 2012
    1
    Extremely disappointed with Blizzard's ability to successfully launch their game - server down times of 5 hours, and you have to login to their server for Single Player. You've failed me Blizzard, I won't be fooled by you again.
  72. May 15, 2012
    0
    NOT worth 60 dollars. WAY too short and missing many features that are "promised" by Blizzard as in you've gotta wait who know how many months for them to actually develop said features and implement them. In it's current state the game is just way too expensive for so little play time. No idea why Blizzard decided to release such an unfinished barebones game and decided to charge full price.
  73. May 15, 2012
    0
    RAZOR, SKIDROW and all the other warez groups, unite and crack this dumb DRM! show Blizzard that we wont take thier **** death to DRM! Ubisoft failed with it, and Blizzard shall fail too!
  74. May 15, 2012
    3
    I bought this game for the single player and have only been able to play for an hour this morning before the servers (for my single-player game) got overwhelmed. Thanks Blizzard, I will have to get the illegal copy to play the game I already bought.
  75. May 15, 2012
    3
    If you are an old fan of Diablo 1 and 2, you are in store for a lot of disappointments. The game feels as if it was rushed. 90% of the games cinematics are hand drawn sketches with motion added to them. Builds are a lot less custamizable and the game all together feels a lot more passive and less active/engaging.
  76. May 15, 2012
    1
    Last Blizzard purchase I make...This company has really gone downhill in the last couple of years. I know that WoW had a shaky launch and some rough patches, but that game was an MMO! This game is just a DRM logon!

    As for DIII: very dated graphics- I understand the desire to sell to a broader audience, but limited animations, single viewpoint, and screen shake?! The enemies all look
    Last Blizzard purchase I make...This company has really gone downhill in the last couple of years. I know that WoW had a shaky launch and some rough patches, but that game was an MMO! This game is just a DRM logon!

    As for DIII:
    very dated graphics- I understand the desire to sell to a broader audience, but limited animations, single viewpoint, and screen shake?! The enemies all look like mannequins rather than hellspawn beasts. I was more afriad of Doom 2 monsters than these! No single player/DRM -enough people have mentioned this
    Customization- much like what happened with WoW Cataclysm, there is no more choice in development. I dont want to play like other people; let me choose, let me fail if that is the case. All skills are granted as the character increases in level. There are no attribute or skill points to customize your character.
    Overall just boring- maybe the game will intensify with the the 'higher difficulties' (read: stat padded mobs), but I can forsee this game becoming a very one-dimensional gear farming title. Quests are not at all memorable or exciting, nor are they class specific.
    Now that people can 'play to pwn" with the real money auction house, Blizzard is just sucking the money from gamers who simply do not know better (the ~300 people that have given this game positive reviews thus far).

    I was able to quit WoW with ease after how bad Cataclysm let me down, and now I will get a refund for this complete waste of $60. Well done Blizzard, you just lost a customer who had been loyal since 1997. At least there is still Valve!
    Expand
  77. May 15, 2012
    0
    To the Blizzdrones screaming, "Rate the game, not the launch!" -- the servers directly impact the quality of the game. Blizzard said that Diablo III would be launched on May 15th. It's May 15th and I've gotten in less than 2 hours of gameplay. This is what happens when you put greed before need and try to force everyone to use your servers so broke 13 year old boys can't pirate theTo the Blizzdrones screaming, "Rate the game, not the launch!" -- the servers directly impact the quality of the game. Blizzard said that Diablo III would be launched on May 15th. It's May 15th and I've gotten in less than 2 hours of gameplay. This is what happens when you put greed before need and try to force everyone to use your servers so broke 13 year old boys can't pirate the software.


    BUT TO BE FAIR: The dialog and story in the game is abysmal. There is no plot, Leah is the mandatory **** and ass" to appeal to the kids, and all the voice actors are overdoing dialog that is almost insulting to my intelligence.

    This is the sequel to the game that defined my childhood and I am not impressed, both by it and Blizzard's performance. Do not buy.
    Expand
  78. May 15, 2012
    0
    Brutal DRM: Even single-player games have to connect to a Blizzard controlled server. This makes it impossible to play when without internet.

    Not sure if graphics are a step up from Diablo II or not. They are certainly "different" but hard to call "better". Character customization has been severely ganked compared to Diablo II. Players can no longer distribute attribute points, and there
    Brutal DRM: Even single-player games have to connect to a Blizzard controlled server. This makes it impossible to play when without internet.

    Not sure if graphics are a step up from Diablo II or not. They are certainly "different" but hard to call "better".

    Character customization has been severely ganked compared to Diablo II. Players can no longer distribute attribute points, and there is no distinction between skill builds.

    All in all, very disappointing. Could very likely be because Blizzard fired everybody who worked on the original Diablo and Diablo II. This game is "Diablo" in name only.
    Expand
  79. May 15, 2012
    0
    DRM was a horrible horrible decision to make. Seems Activision finally got their tainted and dirty hands around the hearts of Blizzard employees, starting with that real money auction house. Launch day was a disaster, completely and utterly. Servers down constantly or you can't log in at all. DRM requires that you be logged in and online to be able to play the single playerDRM was a horrible horrible decision to make. Seems Activision finally got their tainted and dirty hands around the hearts of Blizzard employees, starting with that real money auction house. Launch day was a disaster, completely and utterly. Servers down constantly or you can't log in at all. DRM requires that you be logged in and online to be able to play the single player version.....wait unti it goes on sale. Expand
  80. May 15, 2012
    2
    A game best worth avoiding. 12 years in the making and all that Diablo 3 shows us is a graphical update from the previous game. The game doesn't "feel" like a Diablo game, it feels rough around the edges and poorly optimized like they were rushed to get it out. Oddly enough a game with a completely different art style plays more like a Diablo game is Torchlight 2, currently $20 on steamA game best worth avoiding. 12 years in the making and all that Diablo 3 shows us is a graphical update from the previous game. The game doesn't "feel" like a Diablo game, it feels rough around the edges and poorly optimized like they were rushed to get it out. Oddly enough a game with a completely different art style plays more like a Diablo game is Torchlight 2, currently $20 on steam with TL1 for free.

    It is obvious though that Blizzard are neutering the potential of the Diablo franchise because they do not want to directly compete with their cash cow World of Warcraft. I expect the upcoming Diablo expansions to add functionality to the game that really should already be here. Blizzard's classic rehashing content at ridiculous levels with more difficulty levels than necessary, note Blizzard, adding more HP and damage to minions isn't really enjoyable game play. It's tedious, which is a word I'll use to describe this game. Is it worth $60? No. Is it worth $30? No. Is it enjoyable? No.
    Expand
  81. May 15, 2012
    2
    Very one-dimensional game, the story is weak, graphics are only a slight bit better than D2 (not what it should be given the time between these games), and most of the interesting mechanics of D2 have been dropped and replaced only with a corporate-backed gold buying. I won't even mention how you need to be connected to the internet (so you can't play on the plane, a hotel that sucks,Very one-dimensional game, the story is weak, graphics are only a slight bit better than D2 (not what it should be given the time between these games), and most of the interesting mechanics of D2 have been dropped and replaced only with a corporate-backed gold buying. I won't even mention how you need to be connected to the internet (so you can't play on the plane, a hotel that sucks, etc). The franchise is so strong that I'm sure this game will sell, but Blizzard really blew it with the one, its really a massive disappointment. Expand
  82. May 15, 2012
    1
    First they hooked World of Warcraft players into a 1-year Annual Pass agreement promising a free copy to Diablo III if only WoW players would commit to paying 1-year's worth of monthly fees for WoW. There were hints and suggestions that "It's a contract"â
  83. May 15, 2012
    4
    Considering Blizzard had nearly a decade to develop this game, it really does not show. The graphics are a bit disappointing for a game released in 2012, but I'll give them the appreciation for trying to be compatible with as many computers as possible while maintaining decent aesthetics. The game has been made way too easy for continuing players of the series (no stat allocation, youConsidering Blizzard had nearly a decade to develop this game, it really does not show. The graphics are a bit disappointing for a game released in 2012, but I'll give them the appreciation for trying to be compatible with as many computers as possible while maintaining decent aesthetics. The game has been made way too easy for continuing players of the series (no stat allocation, you receive every skill, etc.). Blizzard's biggest mistake was creating a real-money auction house. Given the fact that items have many random power-ups and bonuses, a Windforce say might sell for about $20 but then another one with just +1% extra damage would sell for probably 5x that amount. Who is benefiting from this? Blizzard is benefiting by taking significant percentages of each real money transaction. I understand companies are in this business to make money, but this is a pretty bad move by a company trying to take advantage of their fans. If another game company without a great fan base were to do this, lots of gamers would be trying to boycott it for trying to pull this off. Expand
  84. May 15, 2012
    0
    They used to pay attention to the details of the game, not any more. They used to care about the game experience, not any more, the users couldn't even get into the game which suppose to be played as a single game.

    Poor story line as always.

    Bad launch and customer service as alwasy, or you can say they just failed.
  85. May 15, 2012
    0
    I've been waiting to try and get into game to review this, but I've only managed to get in for 5 minutes. After that 5 minutes the servers have gone down again and again. I've not even managed to see half of the game so my rating will include this as it has become a major part of the "gameplay" experience.

    Basically, the title screen and intros look quite nice. The actual in game part so
    I've been waiting to try and get into game to review this, but I've only managed to get in for 5 minutes. After that 5 minutes the servers have gone down again and again. I've not even managed to see half of the game so my rating will include this as it has become a major part of the "gameplay" experience.

    Basically, the title screen and intros look quite nice. The actual in game part so far has just been a case of clicking on enemies and nothing else. Unfortunatley the DRM/always on internet seems to have totally destroyed any gameplay experience for the majority of people I know. Several of my friends have got refunds and others have not been able to, but are planning on doing a charge back as they havent recieved a satisfactory quality of service. In short, this game could have been a giant, but due to Blizzard forcing people to be online to their extremely bad bnet servers, not many people can actually play.

    I hope Blizzard realize that they're only hurting their image and customers by placing such a stupid and idiotic limitation on a game which was once loved.

    RIP Diablo series. We once loved you, but were unable to keep doing so due to corporate greed.
    Expand
  86. May 15, 2012
    0
    Disregard the trolls... that are giving this game more than 2. As always Blizzard-Activision is showing us how much they don't care about us, but about our money. The game is plainly bad, and it's made for the WoW audience, instead of the original Diablo fans. Even if you feel like you may enjoy the game (that you'll have problems even playing because of forced internet connections), doDisregard the trolls... that are giving this game more than 2. As always Blizzard-Activision is showing us how much they don't care about us, but about our money. The game is plainly bad, and it's made for the WoW audience, instead of the original Diablo fans. Even if you feel like you may enjoy the game (that you'll have problems even playing because of forced internet connections), do NOT buy it, don't give any amount of cash to Blizzard, do not feed the beast that is killing gaming. Expand
  87. May 15, 2012
    1
    In order to play this single-player game, you have to be logged into the Diablo 3 servers online. When those servers are down, you don't get to play the game. Period. This is how it has been most of the first day of launch. Single player games need an offline mode. Yes, the game has co-op, but I don't want to use that functionality, then I shouldn't need to sign into Blizzard'sIn order to play this single-player game, you have to be logged into the Diablo 3 servers online. When those servers are down, you don't get to play the game. Period. This is how it has been most of the first day of launch. Single player games need an offline mode. Yes, the game has co-op, but I don't want to use that functionality, then I shouldn't need to sign into Blizzard's servers to play. 1/10 for a game that is all but unplayable at launch and doesn't include a LAN mode. Expand
  88. May 15, 2012
    1
    Poor release day...

    Beyond that, the game-play so far has none of the combat smoothness of Diablo II - left and right mouse buttons, keys 1-4 - only way to change skills with menu.

    The breakable environment is neat for about 20 minutes... and quickly after you realize it is mostly just a quirky way to kill.
  89. May 15, 2012
    2
    This review would be much higher if they'd included an offline mode, probably around an 8 or a 9. I loved Diablo 2, and I love what I've been able to play of Diablo 3. However, I've only been able to play around an hour of if due to server issues. While they will certainly (hopefully?) diminish overtime, one of my favorite things about Diablo 2 was the ability to play whenever and whereverThis review would be much higher if they'd included an offline mode, probably around an 8 or a 9. I loved Diablo 2, and I love what I've been able to play of Diablo 3. However, I've only been able to play around an hour of if due to server issues. While they will certainly (hopefully?) diminish overtime, one of my favorite things about Diablo 2 was the ability to play whenever and wherever on my laptop without requiring an internet connection. By making the game online only, Blizzard, you're saying that you don't trust the players, but expect the players to completely trust you. That's a deal breaker Expand
  90. May 15, 2012
    0
    This game is easily a 7 or maybe 8. It's a pretty fun game in practice, although it's extremely simplified and completely mindless. Where Diablo and Diablo 2 provided choice, 3 takes pains to ensure that every character of the same class is exactly the same - there is zero customization. That aside, it is a fun hack and slash game - or would be, if the DRM didn't prevent the majority ofThis game is easily a 7 or maybe 8. It's a pretty fun game in practice, although it's extremely simplified and completely mindless. Where Diablo and Diablo 2 provided choice, 3 takes pains to ensure that every character of the same class is exactly the same - there is zero customization. That aside, it is a fun hack and slash game - or would be, if the DRM didn't prevent the majority of purchasers from being able to play. A zero for a game that is currently unplayable Expand
  91. May 15, 2012
    0
    Okay, firstly I would like to state that I completely understand the concept of teething problems with a new game and that things go wrong. However, a company with Blizzard's experience (5+ major online service launches) has no excuse for the amount of issues this game has/is currently having on launch day. I have been able to play for a grand total of 15 minutes today, as the servers haveOkay, firstly I would like to state that I completely understand the concept of teething problems with a new game and that things go wrong. However, a company with Blizzard's experience (5+ major online service launches) has no excuse for the amount of issues this game has/is currently having on launch day. I have been able to play for a grand total of 15 minutes today, as the servers have been consistently down since noon, with the ETAs given by the customer reps being off by 2+ hours and constantly slipping. This kind of thing was understandable back during vanilla WoW's launch, as that was new territory for a company with little experience with large-scale server infrastructure, but with the amount of experience they have now, there is no excuse.

    I know people are saying "oh well, things will be sorted out tomorrow", but they won't. As with the rest of Blizzard's major launches (although SC2 was pretty smooth, to be fair), expect 2-3 weeks of this BS with no attempt on Blizzard's part to set things right.

    To be fair, the 15 minutes of the game I've played were fun, but I can't factor that into my score since I can't play the damn game.
    Expand
  92. May 15, 2012
    0
    I spent like 100000 hours playing diablo II so I really wanted to get diablo III. But I work in west Texas where there is no internet. I go out to the middle of desert bassicly for a few weeks at a time and i bought this game to have something to do. So i buy Diablo III and there is no single player so i can only play it when i am in town. Thats not why i bought it. So I'm out $80 and theI spent like 100000 hours playing diablo II so I really wanted to get diablo III. But I work in west Texas where there is no internet. I go out to the middle of desert bassicly for a few weeks at a time and i bought this game to have something to do. So i buy Diablo III and there is no single player so i can only play it when i am in town. Thats not why i bought it. So I'm out $80 and the store won't let me return it. So I bassicly go robbed for $80 since no one told me this when i pre ordered it. I'm never buying another Blizzard game again. Expand
  93. May 15, 2012
    0
    How does a company of a major MMO still have problems at launch in this day?
    Blizzard makes millions of dollars. Surely, the beta meant something, right?
    Nope. They release a demo, tack the name of "beta" on there, all for marketing. People say ignore the trolls? Blizzard is the one that is trolling. They've literally dumbed down the game, made it a trainride ARPG and are banking off
    How does a company of a major MMO still have problems at launch in this day?
    Blizzard makes millions of dollars. Surely, the beta meant something, right?

    Nope.

    They release a demo, tack the name of "beta" on there, all for marketing.
    People say ignore the trolls? Blizzard is the one that is trolling.
    They've literally dumbed down the game, made it a trainride ARPG and are banking off it.
    IF I could return this game, I would in an instant.
    My first PC game was Diablo 2 about 12 years ago, loved everything about it that Blizzard offered.

    I guess in this day and age, it's more about quantity than quality..
    Anything for a quick buck and Diablo 3 is proof of that.
    Expand
  94. May 15, 2012
    0
    Dear Blizzard, you ruined the name Diablo with this RPGless,WOWsimilar game with no atmosphere.

    Instead of Diablo 3 you should have done additional datadisk to Diablo 2 with 2 new characters and with original graphic (maybe higher resolution etc.) and the players would love you.

    You should have left the legend sleep!! Shame on you!
  95. May 15, 2012
    0
    One of the worst releases in the history of RPG's or action games right up there with FFXIV which had horrible server issues, a complete joke in all aspects.. This goes to show companies care about nothing but money and could care less about the people that wait for midnight releases, only to spit in our faces.
  96. May 15, 2012
    0
    Fails to deliver the experience because nearly half the time the servers are either lagging, full, or just straight out shut down...Music on the other hand does a good job and helps you forgive the developers for a rough start...No singleplayer....4 Players max per game compared to 8 in Diablo II...
  97. May 15, 2012
    0
    Unplayable. I knew all about the constant internet requirement, but that did not prepare me for a 30+ minute server queue before i could play the game in SINGLE PLAYER mode.
  98. May 15, 2012
    2
    Game has potential but is full of bugs, crashes when the servers are up, but so far they are generally down. You can just play Diablo 2 and pretty much have the same experience with a little less flash. It's very apparent that Activision just wants to push out product for $$$, without the QC or polish you might otherwise expect from Blizzard. Definitely not living up to the hype.
  99. May 15, 2012
    1
    This game is terrible, talk about a rotten apple. It has been 12 years since Diablo 2 and it is plain to see they just took this game of the old project/expansion pack storage shelf, wiped the dust off and repackaged it. The storyline is very thin on the ground and the whole single player story is exceptionally short only a few hours of quite repetitive play, the character customisationThis game is terrible, talk about a rotten apple. It has been 12 years since Diablo 2 and it is plain to see they just took this game of the old project/expansion pack storage shelf, wiped the dust off and repackaged it. The storyline is very thin on the ground and the whole single player story is exceptionally short only a few hours of quite repetitive play, the character customisation system is limited and in places even confusing unless you are familiar with the previous games. This entire game is just shameless grab for more money by forcing a continual online connection and perpetuating the myth that online multiplayer or pay to play WOW type play is the only way to go. There is no way on earth this game can justify the hype or the hefty price tag, Diablo 2 was a much better game. That fact coupled with the multitude of errors, DRM activation problems and the online requirement make the whole thing slightly more enjoyable than a bad hangover from a long weekend. I strongly recommend anyone reading this to look to an older and much loved Diablo type clone instead for long term internet connection free enjoyment, titles such as Titan Quest, Torchlight, and Silver Fall spring to mind. In the interests of saving your money for a good gaming experience please donââ Expand
  100. May 15, 2012
    0
    I thought people were overreacting to not being able to get in but then I finally got in only to be told the server is full and I'm to be placed in a queue. A queue in a single player game . . . What rabbit hole did I fall down?
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 86 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 81 out of 86
  2. Negative: 1 out of 86
  1. Aug 31, 2012
    90
    My one major complaint is that the game never feels very difficult, especially on Normal. There are frustrating moments, hordes of baddies, and increasing difficulty levels, but the same feeling of utter defeat never really happens as it did in the past.
  2. Hyper Magazine
    Jul 18, 2012
    80
    For all the game's missteps, though, you certainly can't accuse Blizzard of phoning it in - if anything, the game suffers from the tendency to try a little to hard at times to evolve the design. [Aug 2012, p.61]
  3. Jul 3, 2012
    80
    When it works, Diablo III is the best of the Diablo games. When it doesn't, all it does is make you mad. [July 2012, p.54]