User Score
3.9

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 8952 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 24, 2012
    0
    Long gone are the day when you buy a game, pop in the cd/dvd, install and play.

    My Diablo 3 installation hell went like this
    1. Pop in the dvd, setup installation files got stuck at 1/3 of the way and again at around 90%. 2. After solving #1 per solution suggested on http://eu.battle.net/d3, I'm now stuck on the installation screen folder "invalid installation options, please try
    again" and still stuck here ever since.
    3. Hop onto http://eu.battle.net/d3 again seeking a workaround but website is under maintenance.
    4. I still can't install the game, let alone queue into battle.net.

    Way to go Blizt, you just made it on my list. You farked up even without the help of Electronic Farts!
    Expand
  2. May 16, 2012
    1
    This game is great but it misses the little something Diablo 2 had. no customization (skill pts), no rune words (so far), and everything was nerfed. It feels like WoW but with gore. Graphics are ok but not awesome, they look like 5 years old. The game play is pretty easy to get. I think the weakest point of this game is the multiplayer : Random games... Seriously? This is Diablo III, not CoD! Bring me back my server creation system! Somethimes I want to Trade my stuff, not absolutely sell it to the AH! This is a Beat em' all, not a MMO. And the AH thing is a terrible idea. Do you know how many koreans are gonna control this market. Guys, let us create custom games with custom names, let us trade freely. You can let the AH but please, I want to be able to create a game like in D2. Enigma4Fort, you know? Expand
  3. May 15, 2012
    0
    Extremely disappointed with the draconian DRM. The "error 37" problems should make obvious what a poor policy this is...especially given the resources put into this project, there's no excuse for this kind of shoddy launch. Publishers and producers need to learn to start respecting their customers, more and more people are rightfully demanding a quality, polished DRM-free final prod
  4. Jun 8, 2012
    0
    Look, it's not much of a game, really. It's a tool for activating a RNG. And yes, that's what the previous Diablos have been as well, but the fact that this game is just more of the same while being less interesting, is just insulting. It goes from boring to frustrating (if you can manage to play it that long, poor bastard). Once again I have to wonder at the overwhelmingly positive critic reviews. I wonder if they are playing the same g ame? It was never even meant to be a good game, it's meant to get people hooked in the worst possible way, and then generate money via the real money auction house. I played it all the way through to halfway through inferno, and.. meh. **** game, **** always-online-drm, **** service. Expand
  5. May 18, 2012
    4
    Diablo 3 would have been acceptable years ago, but games and their players have advanced since the last update in this series. Seems odd that it took so long for a game that seems essentially a higher-resolution version of D2 to become reality. Perhaps I set my expectations too high, but I've seen better versions of this genre from smaller developers, at a lower price, and without the always-connected limitations. Expand
  6. May 16, 2012
    1
    Worst Part of the series. Will not work offline, a huge flaw. No innovation, too easy and horrible skill system. Graphics is not state of the art, low textures low animation. There is no innovation in the combatsystem.
  7. May 29, 2012
    0
    Activision Blizzard's greed knows no bounds. Even though they knew they would sell millions of copies regardless of piracy, they still put in one of the most draconian DRM systems EVER. Just to make a little bit more profit on their already huge profit, they saw fit to screw over all their legitimate customers. The game itself is your typical hack and slash dungeon crawler, not much more to say there. Expand
  8. May 15, 2012
    0
    Designer Shigeru Miyamoto once said that the first 30 minutes of a game are the most important. So I hope youâ
  9. May 15, 2012
    0
    This game is horrible... its a counsel based based game for the reason of mass appeal!!!! pc gamers be warned! its a shames that we still give blizzard our money and they just sit back and laugh there way all the way to the bank.. its **** greed and its destorying this earth
  10. Jun 21, 2012
    0
    I had a lot of hope for this game and gave it a chance to prove my initial feelings wrong, but after a month it hasn't managed to overcome the negativity I feel towards it. The skill system suffers from the designers not knowing what they wanted. They wanted you to have the freedom to basically play as you like and change skills to help overcome difficult parts of the game. However, at level 60 they completely switch this on you. They want you to pick a build and stick to it to get the necessary valor buff, thus negating half the freedom of their system. Want to roll through inferno with one build for groups and then another for bosses? Can't do that if you want to even have a decent chance at getting something that might be marginally useful. Then at level 60 many of the skills because either useless or required, so much so that few builds are able to actually survive at that level. So instead of negating the build system that was Diablo 2, they made something worse where you actually have less options. Now for the part that really hacks me off, the blatant money grab. The game requires you to use the AH because of horrible drop rates and utterly horrendous random **** drops. So now they have increased repair fees which eat away at more gold that you need to pay for way over priced items, because of out of control gold farmers and bots. Now you can't afford the gold AH you have to turn to the RMAH. I have had it, maybe in a few months once blizzard does something about these issues i'll play again. I might even come back and redo this review, but only if the game gets better and less world of diablo. Expand
  11. May 15, 2012
    0
    Briefly this is not Diablo. This is a bad version of WoW. No more darkness and grit. Instead we have a game stripped to the bare bones of simplicity and bright colors. That is if you can even log on. And then hope you do not crash. Something as simple as equipping a shield on your templar companion if you are a DH means game crash. Stay away from this horrid crap. One question to the pathetic money grubbers at Blizzard: You had this same thing happen during the stress test and you knew how many preorders sold yet you still could not devote enough servers to handle it? Expand
  12. May 18, 2012
    2
    i didnt wanted another diablo 1 or 2, i wanted something improved. is not the case here. for example starcraft 1 is like sc 2 but sc2 has a much faster gameplay focused on micro, is more modern, diablo 3 is not moder, is a diablo 2 more simplified. for example i dont understand why does the unidentified items exist as long as you just right click on them and they auto-identify. they should have focused on something else to make the gameplay more interesting, not just killing monsters, thats boring and should have been just a necessity, just a step towards something more interesting, like upgrading your hero or something. learn new tricks/skills/jobs, etc. in this moment i see diablo 3 as a flash-zombie-killing-game with a better graphics and atmosphere. kind of lame, is nothing modern about that. not even the search for items is not the same, you just buy them. disappointing Expand
  13. May 15, 2012
    0
    This game is so bad.... Blizzard very disappointed me. It cost almost 100$, so they are fat guys, who making money from famous franchise. This game looks type of games, like pay-to-win
  14. May 15, 2012
    0
    I took the day off from work and still have not played the game for one minute after 14 hours of trying. This is the last time I will ever buy anything from Blizzard.
  15. May 15, 2012
    0
    I have been one of Blizzard's longest and most stupidly loyal fans. I have bought and played every game they've released with the exception of Warcraft I, and never for anything less than a matter of months. But if they could see how poorly Diablo III is actually functioning on my end, I'm certain they would be professionally embarrassed.

    With anything less than an ironclad connection,
    the performance of the game is simply appalling. I played Everquest on a 56k connection in the late 90's, and only the rarest of the worst lagspikes would cause issues like I'm seeing with Diablo III. And unlike that case, I don't mean occasionally: the BEST performance comes with about 3-5 seconds of delay between input and output for ANY action, enemies ghost about half the distance of the screen for every movement, I'm rubberbanded all over the place to the point where my only character deaths have occurred several screens over from what was hitting me, I could go on.

    The merits of online-only DRM are one thing; I can honestly, without an ounce of anger or rose-colored nostalgia, say I've never seen any online game function so horribly in my entire gaming history, going as far back as Windows 3.1 and AOL when I was just a kid playing on my parents' dime and phone time. I've never before considered getting a refund from a game, and the fact that I'm considering doing so from a Blizzard title is a bigger disappointment than I can come up with a clever analogy for. I didn't even want my money back for the Star Wars prequels, and I felt physically nauseous from shame as I witnessed those animated first-draft fridge-magnet-quality disasters unfold.

    In all fairness, I'm going to give this game two weeks to see if these problems get sorted out. But as bad as it is, I'm seriously wondering if this is a deliberate attempt on Activision's part to kill the brand name. I want to enjoy this game, I really do. But I can't as long as it doesn't actually work. And that's what kills me: up until now, the Blizzard name meant that they took as long as they needed to to release a finished product: and now (undoubtedly due to executive meddling) they've tossed out something that doesn't even work. Flaws I can overlook, (the only other company I'm a bigger unapologetic fanboy for is Bugthesda) but the game has to at least be playable. This... this is simply, unarguably, downright broken.
    Expand
  16. May 15, 2012
    0
    No offline play. Broadband required? If you have Satellite it is unplayable. In other words if you live in a rural area this game is not for you. I don't know if the actual game is any good, because the best internet available to me is too crappy to run the game. Thanks for nothing Blizzard. I used to be a fan of the Diablo games, but since I can't play the new one...
  17. May 15, 2012
    4
    Considering Blizzard had nearly a decade to develop this game, it really does not show. The graphics are a bit disappointing for a game released in 2012, but I'll give them the appreciation for trying to be compatible with as many computers as possible while maintaining decent aesthetics. The game has been made way too easy for continuing players of the series (no stat allocation, you receive every skill, etc.). Blizzard's biggest mistake was creating a real-money auction house. Given the fact that items have many random power-ups and bonuses, a Windforce say might sell for about $20 but then another one with just +1% extra damage would sell for probably 5x that amount. Who is benefiting from this? Blizzard is benefiting by taking significant percentages of each real money transaction. I understand companies are in this business to make money, but this is a pretty bad move by a company trying to take advantage of their fans. If another game company without a great fan base were to do this, lots of gamers would be trying to boycott it for trying to pull this off. Expand
  18. Sal
    May 15, 2012
    2
    Incredibly disappointing, putting aside the launch issues (Bad form for a multi billion dollar company to not have adequate servers) The dumbed down skill system, lack of any customisation at all (barring gender) Lacklustre voice acting and all round pointless story lead to a game that had great potential being a sub par run for the genre it's series basically invented. Torchlight 2 and Path of Exile are looking like much better choices.

    Being forced to be always online is a joke for a game that is mainly a singleplayer run, and solves absolutely nothing. How hard would it be to allow us to create character offline that cannot in any way interract with the online content?

    Rated 2, for nostalgia purposes.
    Expand
  19. May 20, 2012
    0
    Servers are down 80% of the time, average graphics, poor animations, average sound, no character customization, too pricely, dumbed down talent trees, dumbed down inventory, no pvp (although promised), "always online even when playing single" bull-poop, average story, average voices, poor support and many, many other reasons that force me to slam this game (and the producing company) with a well deserved 0 (zero). Maybe they'll do better next time. Expand
  20. May 16, 2012
    0
    It is really an strange position. The Diablo II was an good game with a consistent desolate and dark theme and solid difficulty balance. It was never too easy but never impossible also. Diablo III tries to 'fix' the best things in Diablo II and the result is a... trainwreck. See the game itself is not too bad but the heart wrenching pain and numerous hoops you have to jump to just login to play is a very very cruel joke by Blizz. I am stuck as I (along with 2 million peoples) was idiot enough to preorder it. I have played it for almost 10 hours and for that I had to either wait to login or backtrack for lost savegame due to connection loss for almost 2 hours total! Mind blowing I know! Every big company makes a product that marks the downfall of its fanbase and slow but steady decline. I am sure that Diablo III is that product as it has alienated me, an 6 years devoted fan of Blizzard. Perhaps I will get that Torchlight game others are talking about. I heard that game actually lets you play! Expand
  21. May 16, 2012
    3
    I had to force myself to continue playing. This sentence sums up the playability of this game. Diablo 3 fails to offer an exciting and compelling experience, which is extremely disappointing considering the amount of time and money that went into its development. As a long time fan of the genre I was absolutely appalled at some of the decisions Blizzard made. They can be forgiven for not incorporating visual customisations to the characters but the removal of skill trees and manual stat distribution is unacceptable. There is some degree of skill customisation with the addition of "Runes" which can alter the properties of a particular spell or ability but this feature is still ridiculously limited. The evil and gritty atmosphere of the previous instalments is no where to be seen, and it's place we have what is best described as a Halloween cartoon special. Long time fans of the Diablo series and dungeon crawlers in general will be disappointed with this entry. However, if you are a newcomer to the genre then there is a limited amount of entertainment on offer. Expand
  22. May 16, 2012
    2
    This isn't a very good game. If you aren't a hardcore Diablo fan, do yourself a favor and pass. The gameplay is incredibily repetitive. All it is constant left clicking of your mouse. The grind is soulcrushingly bad at best. Put simply fans of the game waited 12 years for what amounts to a carbon copy of Diablo 2 with early PS3 graphics attached to it. The voice acting is painful, the combat system is uninspiring, and the game as a whole is a complete let down for all but the most hardcore of Diablo fans. Expect once the hype of a new Diablo game wears off for it to completely fall off the radar. TL;DR If you are on the fence, don't buy it, it's made for a very niche audience and if you haven't already picked it up you aren't that niche. Terrible game and shame on you Blizzard for milking a cash cow. Expand
  23. May 16, 2012
    0
    Elitism, absurd hardware specs to run a game at his "full potential", DRM, poor game design and many other issues have almost killed pc gaming. Why should i bother about Diablo 3 when i can get Dark Souls on console?
  24. May 16, 2012
    0
    Well this game sure sucks. Had it been just a random game from an unknown developer I would not be this hard on it. In fact it would be somewhat respectable, but this is Diablo 3. Turns out it is a bastard mix between Diablo 2 and WOW, but without the parts that made the Diablo prequels great. Dumbed down, cartooned up and absolutely uninspiring to me. This is what I feared since the first images and info from this game emerged years ago. Blizzard was the gaming company I held above all other, now I just despise them. F U Blizzard! Expand
  25. May 16, 2012
    4
    This is a highly anticipated sequel with a premium pricetag that is in no way justified.

    The graphics are fair at best and already feel somewhat dated on release. The stat skill assigning has been replaced by az system that allows for far less customization and which feels completely dumbed down. No more assigning stat points, they game does it for you every level. Skill trees have
    beenreplaced by a runes system that is completely uninteresting.

    The game itself doesn't do nearly the job of drawing you into the game as Diablo 2 did. The game is also ridiculously short for an RPG - 7-10 hours for a playthrough is not uncommon. It's so short that it feels like a long overdue 2nd expansion for Diablo 3 with a graphics overhaul at a full game's price. The always-on DRM even for a single player playthrough means that you MUST log in to Blizzard's servers to play. If you can't log in for whatever reason or your connection drops out, you are not permitted to play the game you bought and paid for.

    Blizzard has dropped the ball on this game big time. Do not buy until it hits the bargain bin. At least that way you're not paying a premium game's price for less content than is in some expansion packs.
    Expand
  26. May 16, 2012
    0
    Terrible game. Awful connection problems have ruined this launch. They should have put more effort into reviving this title. You have got to get launches right!
  27. Jun 30, 2012
    2
    This was fun while you played it... but for a diablo game, which always used to have an unlimited amount of replay ability, this has none. You level up, struggle a bit to get gear until you realize that there isn't any incentive to play anymore. Jay Wilson tried to make it too "original" instead of keeping the tried and tested elements that Diablo had, and STILL worked when D2 came out. An extreme leveling grind, easy farm able gear from anywhere in the game.... there was no reason to remove these elements, and it is evident that they did not work. The attitude the game developers have towards the subject, and I quote from their videos "Sometimes gamers tell us what they want, but we know better", an arrogant statement, that proved 100% false. Good work on killing a classic, and my favorite game series of all time. I hope it is fixed in the future so I feel like I can play again. Expand
  28. May 16, 2012
    0
    requiring internet dependence was a poor judgement call. poor planning. so disgusted, i went out of my way to sign up here and get the point across. it's sad. it's almost as bad as crowding on wow launch, but worse. what happened to a game working out of the box?
  29. May 16, 2012
    0
    I am a huge Diablo fan but I refuse to buy Diablo 3 because off the draconian DRM. I live in South Africa. Blizzard won't put up a server here so I have to play on EU where I get a latency of 250ms on good days. This isn't how the game was meant to be played. If I could authenticate online and then play offline I would have bought the game. But Blizzard didn't give me this option and as such they lost my sale. Expand
  30. May 17, 2012
    0
    D3 Asia's server can't login for 3 days, effect millions asia players and official still do nothing for it, I've never seen such a bad customer service like this.
  31. May 17, 2012
    4
    Seems more like Diablo 2.5 then a new game. Graphics aren't all that great (they seem very muted to me - no contrast) and the game play is mostly the same as Diablo 2. Not sure why this took 10 years to come out.
  32. May 17, 2012
    2
    When it works, it is great. Having to log onto a server to play a single player game, and then get kicked every 10 minutes, is beyond asinine. If this game ever gets the bugs worked out, so you can play... I'd give it an 8 or so. Because I will be forever beholden to Blizzard to keep the servers running, It should probably actually get more of a 7. The game runs pretty smoothly. Some of the quests are run and do this, or that, and then run back. While a lot of the running (back) is fixed with stones to teleport back to town with, it still is a bit monotonous. The stash is pretty ingenious, though, I REALLY wish you had about 2 to 3 times the space to start with. It'll make creating mules easy. Right now, it is hard to really recommend this game, since you generally spend as much time looking at loading screens, as you do playing the game. That is a major problem. Something that really has to be fixed, and fast. I spent $60 for this game, while PC games go for $50. I paid a very high premium price for a product that, at best, I can use about 1/3 of the time I want to. Expand
  33. May 17, 2012
    0
    I was a huge fan of Diablo 1 and 2, but this is just ridiculous. The game is a fine addition to the Diablo series, even though it is horribly dumbed down for the casual gamer masses. It's apparent that Blizzard doesn't care about their customers and are just another greedy corporation. The invasive DRM kills it for me. WHY THE HELL DO I NEED TO HAVE INTERNET ACCESS FOR SINGLEPLAYER? So, if my internet dies, I can't play my game? Cool... I wish I could return it, this game really wasn't worth $60. Expand
  34. May 19, 2012
    2
    After Completing the NIghtmare difficulty of this game there is little desire left to continue. The story line is not worth following twice. The gameplay is solid, but class imbalnce is quickly being discovered by players. Inferno mode (the final mode Blizzard said would take months to beat) is already begining to be completed four days in. The looting system is fine, but the auction house is horrible. No option to sort by bid price or time left, only dps and buyout. The graphics are nothing impressive, the cut scenes are nice but over half of them were released by blizzard as trailers! I honestly have no disire to continue to harder difficulties or play a diffrent class. Expand
  35. May 17, 2012
    0
    I'll keep it short and simple. There is no way for people to really express discontent with the gaming industry as a whole. If we don't buy the games people say we shouldn't have a voice, but if we buy the games we only support what we don't agree with.

    I fall into the first category. I was very interested in buying Diablo 3 having played both 1 and 2 numerous times over. However, as a
    single player type gamer, and a person that doesn't have the best internet connection or desire to socialize I find it disheartening that few companies allow me to play games on my terms. Diablo 3 is just the next installment of software hating customers like me.

    Always online DRM is something I'm just not going to support. A grind game where users can pay to advance faster. Both things I just can't and won't support. I still haven't bought Diablo 3. And unfortunately I never will. Bye Blizzard. You now are a member of the ranks of EA, Activision (yes I already knew you were part of them) and Ubisoft. Take your games and go screw yourself with them.

    I'm buying and playing Torchlight 2 and other games developed for me as a consumer.
    Expand
  36. May 18, 2012
    3
    So I'm actually not basing my score on the server/DRM issues (even though they're unacceptable), if DRM helps put an end to all the cheating (and piracy) then I can live with an outage here and there. Unfortunately, this game still has a lot of significant problems. In terms of gameplay, there's nothing wrong with the basic formula: kill stuff , get loot, etc., and there's some fun mechanics to learn for each character. The major problem is that the addition of the auction house has totally ruined the scaling of the game, and I'm talking about the normal (legitimate) one, not the one that uses real money. When you put millions of people online at the same time and let them share every single item with each other, the "mega rare" items aren't so rare anymore, and competition drives the prices down...at the end of Act II I decided to spend about 45 minutes buying AH items (which was actually the most engaging and fun part of the game so far), and ended up with a maxed-out gear set for next to nothing. This was awesome at first, but then I proceeded to waltz through the second half of the game in a few hours. After a certain point it's just boring when you walk into the final boss's room without any preparation and beat him in a single try. I'm halfway through Nightmare difficulty and it hasn't really been any more difficult, although I expect at some point it might cross my mind to recruit a friend for some backup. Regardless, claiming that "the game only really starts on the second playthrough" is honestly one of the most idiotic things I've ever heard, and I'll never know why it flies for Blizzard when it wouldn't fly for any other developer on the face of the earth...for 60 bucks, there is a very distinct lack of content here.

    The game being too short or too easy wouldn't be so bad if the game's story or graphics held up, but this isn't really the case either. The graphics are...well, unimpressive (even on max settings), and if you liked the whole "dark fantasy" feel of the series, prepare to be very disappointed because the art direction of this game is much closer to WoW than any Diablo game (there's even a few scenes that feel ripped out of SC2, but that's another story). Granted I was 14 when D2 came out, but I remember some of the areas being pretty creepy and grim...this is much more cartoony and vibrant. The sense of dread and loneliness is gone, there's NPC's everywhere and they really hurt the tone of the game. There's even awkward moments of attempted humor (I don't remember the exact wording, but a major boss literally says some variation of "I hate vegetables" as you fight him). It's very tame, if they removed the small amounts of blood in this game it could easily be rated Teen. Combine this with sub-par voice acting and a routine storyline, it makes for a bland experience.

    So...obviously Blizzard did not spend all their time and money to deliberately make a mediocre game, so I only have one explanation for why this game is so disappointing: to me, every decision made throughout the development process seems to be about getting a mass audience involved in the Diablo franchise at the expense of the depth and artistic integrity that the hardcore fans love. They will make a killing on this game, especially when the real-money auction house hits. Some people might even claim to love it, but at the end of the day it's really hard to consider it anything other than a blown opportunity, and a sad way to conclude a wait of over 10 years.
    Expand
  37. May 18, 2012
    0
    This is what the Call Of Duty games are to FPS games, The Michael Bay of action films - Totally dumbed down to appeal to as many people as possible. Diablo was one of my most replayed and loved games when I was younger due to its core RPG elements presented in a simple style. This dreadful offering only expands on one of those elements - the simple. Blizzard only seem to be bothered about money these days and watering down their content to appeal to as many people as possible (Warcraft being a prime example & real world money ???). I must be getting old as all games these days seem to only care about the cinematic quality of their games. I can't remember the last time I enjoyed a game based simply on the game play mechanics. I think I'll dig out my old Diablo 2 CD's and just play that again. Expand
  38. May 19, 2012
    0
    This game is unplayable because of DRM. I have 6Mbps ADSL Internet connection and pings in other games like 80-120ms. In D3 my average ping is of 600-1000. This is incredibly unplayable even at single player campaign.
    I've wasted 60 euros just because Blizzard was a trusted company for me till here. I don't care about graphics and sound, i don't care about many years of development of that
    game. I simply log in, watch my hero "jumping through space" in lags and i quit. Expand
  39. May 19, 2012
    0
    I waited for a long time for starcraft 2 to be released and when it did I was not dissapointed not at all. To be honest I expected exactly the same when I played Diablo 3. Same attention to detail, better graphics and an amazing story line. I thought that there was no ways Blizzard would ever dissapoint me, but shockingly they have. Diablo looks and plays almost exactly like Titans Quest, a game thats how old now? Although it must be said that Titans Quest did allow you alot more variety when it came to character customization. Can I get my money back? If anyone is thinking of buying this game expecting something great yourâ Expand
  40. May 19, 2012
    2
    I give one point for Diablo 3 for changes for the skill system, which is way better than in the D2 (personally liked the D1 system better). I must give second point for Diablo 3 for the non-featured ability to make other games more interesting. Haven't played games for a long time with such vigor! Good job Blizzard. Every time I start playing Diablo 3 a compelling feeling forces me to go back to old games or by a new one from Steam! Never felt better! Still I payed too steep price for such revelation.

    Consider carefully for buying this game. Read reviews and make up your own mind.
    Expand
  41. May 20, 2012
    3
    Okay, Diablo 3's quite good, but the download and login problems are bloody chronic. I think this low rating gives a nice little warning that making single player games require login, then **** up the login servers just isn't acceptable. Giving 3/10 to push it closer to 3.3 (as in Error 33).
  42. May 20, 2012
    0
    what kind of company makes a game and forces single player to connect to a server and then take the European servers down at peak time on a Sunday when most people will want to play?
    Hopefully a company that very soon will be going insolvent when it loses its fan base. Let's hope Torchlight 2 do better than this and take all Blizzard's customers.
  43. May 20, 2012
    1
    so many blizzard fanboys giving a 10 to a very bad game,and the critics that gave this game a 88 must be in payrole,but we have seen this in a lot of other poor games just to sell a couple more games.
    good luck to play this game when the servers die and at this rate it wont take long to blizzard close the servers,keep buying games with drm and online activation and the future is a very bad
    place for all the players. Expand
  44. May 20, 2012
    4
    Unjustifiable quality presented for a game in development since 2001. 11 years. I repeat, 11 years. The graphic quality doesn't impressed anyone, not music, average story, overly high latency and the first weekend they lost control of the servers. They deserve the users score who obtained making things so bad as possible.
  45. May 21, 2012
    1
    What can I say? It's an online only single player game with lackluster graphics. That's right, there's lag in the single player! Its terrible. There are plenty of indie titles that deliver a better experience.
  46. May 21, 2012
    1
    Everything you loved about Diablo 1 and 2 where removed in this game. No more custom stats. No more skill trees. No more character customization. Graphics are okay at best. The storyline is horrible. The only well-done thing is the cinematics. I'm afraid Blizzard has totally and completely become Activision. Where their motto is: "Gamers don't know what they want - we know what gamers want." They completely and utterly ignore what their customers state they want in a game. Oh . . . and no Cow Level. Expand
  47. May 22, 2012
    3
    Overall a poor effort by ActivisionBlizzard.

    The initial server stability problems were terrible but forgivable. Unfortunately, this game just isn't very good.

    To begin, the actual campaign is very short. Acts 1 & 2 come in at a reasonable size, but Acts 3 & 4 just feel terribly rushed. This should be offset by the replayability of facing multiple difficulty levels in new procedurally
    generated zones. The generated levels just don't work; they compare poorly even to the decade-old Diablo 2. Typically there are few if any variations to the level structure, and randomization is achieved by dropping objectives and monsters haphazardly over this template. It feels completely entirely the same as when you cleared it the last time.

    The game's story is weak. Admittedly, no one really plays an ARPG for the story, but this one just feels very lazy. In Diablo 2 events happened because you were chasing Diablo. It drove the story and events happened within that framework. In Diablo 3 it's not really clear what you're doing; you simply react to a series of events. One thing happens and you investigate, and once you finish off one antagonist a brand new one pops up to advance the game. There's little sense of continuity from one mission to the next. The one surprise built into the story is utterly predictable.

    Of course, the important part of an ARPG is going to be in the characters, combat and actual gameplay.

    Combat is a mixed bag. The developers have really tried to make fight more tactical at all levels of the game. When it works it really *works* and produces a fun and exciting experience. This really isn't made to scale properly with level difficulty. Rather than monsters acting more intelligently or providing more varied encounters, higher difficulties just tack on more hitpoints and damage to everything. There is a sweet spot where technique and character build really matter, but for most of the game you either crush everything without a thought or just die to your foe without even the chance to react. Champion mobs get special modifiers which can produce unique fights, but once again turn into a situation whereby they are completely easy, or impossibly difficult. There is definitely a spot where characters and difficulty match up perfectly. If Blizzard could manage to match these up more consistently then this could be a great game. For most of the game, they just miss. The place where this is most apparent is in the end game. It is apparent that Inferno mode was never properly playtested. Because the AI doesn't become any smarter as you advance, Inferno mode was made difficult by simply piling damage onto monster. The practical result is that classes that can avoid damage and attack from range can move straight to the end, whereas classes that were meant to mitigate damage and get close to the enemies cannot participate at all. In summation: poorly tuned, lousy story, and repetitive.

    3/10.
    Expand
  48. May 23, 2012
    0
    Cannot believe how disappointing this game has been to me. Blizzard completely missed the mark.

    And yet they literally remain silent, hundreds of thousands of accounts are being hacked every single day because of a server loophole and they say and do NOTHING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Not to mention the fact that blues are better than legionaries, and the ecenomic situation the auction house is in
    due to the 5000 exploitable chests/bosses etc that are in this game, its not about grinding gear for inferno it's about grinding money for buying gear from the AH that people have exploited to farm inferno. Expand
  49. Jun 21, 2012
    4
    What is there to say: I was playing the game for 2 weeks after the release date, and that's it. Did not remove it from my PC, but haven't started it since. I just don't feel the urge to play it.
    Funny, but this was not the case with Diablo 1 or 2...
  50. May 24, 2012
    0
    Ok, so from the start of the game I was disappointed. I found out that they had styled the game the same way as they did with their new game Mists of Pandaria which is awful in so many ways, but the main is that they did not have any talent trees. Thats right, no talent trees whatsoever. You might ask yourself why they feel the need to take out talent trees and put in this panda style skill system, and the answer is that they felt like it would be easier to balance... The word "Balance" has ruined this game, they were actually so lazy when making this game that they didnt feel like dealing with any other variables than necessary so they went ahead and made it to what skills you picked had little to no impact on how you play. This alone is a reason for me to say that this game has no replay value whatsoever, and it has even less satisfaction from beating it, the best feeling I got from beating Diablo 2 was to see my weak starting character transform into a heroic Juggernaut through the particular stacking of skills, I remember that I stacked so many points on my druid that I could constantly have 10 or so summoned wolfs helping me at once, this game lacks all of that original diversification therefore making it the retarded offspring of what was Diablo. Expand
  51. May 25, 2012
    2
    not the worst game ever. too many problems to give even a mixed score. terrible storyline. seriously so terrible. just skip cut scenes, they writers were on crack with this one. i cant even begin with the other problems. for 60 bucks it might keep you entertained for 60 or so hours if you play all the classes. normal-hell difficulties are a cake walk, no challenge. totally doesn't prepare you for inferno gear wise or strategy wise. if you weren't one of the people who had to play just to know i wouldn't recommend buying it at all. Expand
  52. May 26, 2012
    0
    Loot variety is terrible and feels at the most of only half way completed. I have played free IPAD games have better loot variety than this one right now.

    For the skill system it feels like no illegitimate RPG based skill system to me, only a "select your auto attack splash", In addition there is no option to specialize your character to any builds that you want.

    I have enjoyed the story
    for the most part, but it can be a little better.

    Replay-ability contains no story alterations for higher difficulties, the feeling of being forced into replaying the "story" portion of the game for harder difficulties, harder difficulties have no depth in order to make it challenging, overall no fun whatsoever.
    Expand
  53. May 29, 2012
    0
    The problem with critical reviews of this game is that critics are expected to churn out judgement based on sitting down and playing the game for a few hours (or a few days at the most) before they need to write an article about it. This is accurate of how Diablo 3 is. Play it for a few hours or a few days and you'll tend to say "best game ever." Play it longer than that though and the impression (very, very) quickly fades. I am giving this game a 1-rating despite being a (former) Blizzard fan not only because the game requires you to always be online with servers that are very unreliable - these things can be fixed given time. The reason I am giving this game a 1-rating are because: 1) the game is too short, 2) it assumes you'll have to play the game over and over and over (ad infinitum) just to progress to the higher difficulty levels. It requires you to either grind for gear or scour the AH and in this regard, it loses what made the Diablo franchise fun. It was FUN to kill monsters. It's NOT FUN getting 1-shotted in Inferno difficulty because, despite grinding hours for gear, the RNG gods have not yet given you enough gear to be able to handle this level of difficulty. In this regard, Diablo 3 becomes a game not of skill, but of luck. There's no aspect of strategy here. To be able to survive Inferno, you need to have a very specific build with a very specific (and very hard to find or very expensive) gear.

    This is not the game for you if you just want to sit back after a long tiring day at work and kill stuff and be happy about it. This is a game for people who either play games for a living, or have enough money in their Daddy's trust fund that they can afford never to work a day in their life and can spend all of it playing this game.
    Expand
  54. Jun 1, 2012
    2
    The new Diablo 3 is simply amazing. Oh well, it would be amazing if it just was playable. Internet connection to Blizzard servers is always unreliable, most players (including me) suffer high ping rates (around 0.5-1 secs) that makes the game experience really really bad, the servers are quite frequently down for maintenance, the auction house has still bugs, items disappear, achievements are not registered. But the worst thing is that there's no Single Player for this game. You are always required to be connected to the internet and to Blizzard servers, and this is really painful.
    As long as you play in normal difficulty everything goes pretty fine, but as you go up to higher difficulties you will find yourself dying and dying and dying because of the high lags.
    I would have given 10 to the game, if Blizzard had made this game playable and enjoyable.
    Expand
  55. Jun 2, 2012
    0
    8 years of development. REALLY? I mean, REALLY? The only feature that''ll make you play is the same ol' stuff, with stripped features compared to Diablo 2. This is truly a sad day for the gaming industry.
  56. Jun 4, 2012
    0
    Very dissapointed, the music, atmosphere, stats, skill trees and awesome gear are gone... I am glad i found Torchlight, feels a lot more like Diablo than this.
  57. Jun 6, 2012
    0
    Would be happy to participate in and witness a class action against Blizzard for taking our money but preventing us from playing the game. It seems every time I sit down to play the server does not allow me to connect -- and this is the single player game! EULA or not, it is simply not right to deny customers the opportunity to use the product that they paid a good chunk of cash for due to server downtime or random breaks in service. I'll be going back to Skyrim, an infinitely better game made by a company who show respect to their customers. Expand
  58. Jun 7, 2012
    4
    If you enjoyed diablo 1 and 2 you won't be getting the same from D3. It has shifted to a more casual side and the devs have repeatedly said this. While that may not be a bad thing in itself it has caused the game to become overbearingly simplified and boring. By default the game is set to retard mode, because supposedly numbers confuse people, and the skill system is oversimplified. Elective mode and advanced tooltips have to be turned on to change this. The devs seem to think that D2 was made to be a coop pve game, I don't know how they can claim this because Blizzard North made it and they are gone. This game boils down to a loot hunt for items with a single type of stat (each class is modified greatly by 1 stat), once you get the best gear, there isn't much left to do without pvp. Once you've hit 60 on 5 characters you're pretty much done with the game, there is re-playability but no longevity. Inferno isn't fun it is boring and frustrating. The loot hunt in Diablo 2 was fun and the itemization was amazing. While D3 is supposed to be more pve oriented, party size was cut in half. People farmed in D2 so that they could obliterate other people in PK games. People farm in D3 so that they can farm more? Expand
  59. Jun 18, 2012
    1
    Who decided that this was worth $60, why do I equip a spear for the monk and he uses his fists? Why do I need someone to hold my hand through the first 10 levels? Why do I need to be online for a single player game? Why does the graphical detail look like it
  60. Jun 11, 2012
    2
    A poorly balanced game that lacks everything that made the series fun. In order to get upgrades from loot drops, you have to kill monsters above your current level of gear, this becomes more and more impossible as you progress, and by Inferno becomes impossible. This makes the game eventually turn into "Auction House Tycoon" instead of Diablo. The auction house becomes as optional to game progression as a keyboard is option to using a computer, and basically drains all the fun from the game. You stop hunting for items and quickly start farming for gold to buy them from others instead.

    Always online DRM is lag filled and further ruins the experience. I've literally lost track of the number of times I have died directly due to server lag. In a game like Diablo, thats ALL action, where every tenth of second matters...having a constant 150-200 ms connection ruins the game.

    I would recommend avoiding, save your $60, you'll save yourself a lot of frustration, far too many bad choices made during development.
    Expand
  61. Jun 16, 2012
    2
    ARPG without any loot surprise. 150 hours game play with my Demon Hunter i get 1 Legendary Shield. A game simply lead you to total frustration. When the RMAH came live, answer is clear. You are forced to buy something from RMAH or you going to spend countless hours farming gold to get some EQ that help you to progress to next level. Simply Boring and Frustrated.
  62. Jun 21, 2012
    0
    Game-play is mind-numbingly repetitive. Players forced to play only online so Blizzard can throw up patches that nerf what little fun existed in the game at first. Unbelievably arrogant developers and employees .who tell players what is fun and what isn't and delete forum threads and ban forum users who are critical and hurt their little feelings. Huge fail for Blizzard.
  63. Jun 22, 2012
    0
    OK. I have been playing Diablo 3 since it released. I am a fan of both Diablo 2 and 1. At 31 years old this game insults the gaming world as a whole. DRM requires an always online connection. The game seems to be geared toward making you use the RMAH (real money auction house) where blizzard makes a percentage on anything sold on it. They said that only 1/5 players play online and blizzard is trying to force you into playing it multi-player. The graphics are behind by 5 years.(that is being nice) It is a short story but it is a loot game that is meant for you to continue to progress through each difficulty much like D2 was. Blizzard has decided to lead the way with this DRM and the RMAH and both are a complete failure in my opinion. (and that of most people who have played this game) If you want a game that holds your hand and tells you what you can and can't do then this is the game for you. I can go on and on about the failures in this game but i don't want to be 40 by the time I'm done writing this. Expand
  64. Jun 23, 2012
    1
    Fun the first time through. But Diablo is about uber lewt and this game did not deliver in that respect, at all. I mean, bosses drop after normal mode. C'mon? I mean... GG
  65. Jun 25, 2012
    0
    This Game is the End of Blizzard as we once knew them, Diablo 3 is a Bad game If you need PROOF just vista the Official Forum for Diablo 3 HERE ( http://us.battle.net/d3/en/forum/3354739/ )

    After Patch 1.0.3 They have Removed the last bit of Fun that was in the Game, They have Nerfed the amount of Gold that drops and up the cost of Repairs so much people can not even afford to Repair in
    game.

    Getting ready to Sell Gold for real money in Blizzards New Real money Auction house they did this on purpose.

    Please visit the forums and read for yourself this game is not even worth a RENT.

    http://us.battle.net/d3/en/forum/3354739/
    Expand
  66. Jun 28, 2012
    0
    They completely screwed up the loot system to promote the auction house. Inferno's difficulty curve is too steep, yet the loot rewards aren't exciting AT ALL, you just hope you get an item with good rolls, sell it on the auction house to buy stuff on it. And Diablo is all about the loot, it's the reason why we run higher difficulties.
  67. Jul 2, 2012
    1
    Im realy upset becouse the always online thing, i cant play more than a few minutes whitout being kick out from the servers makingeme redo complete areas that i already pass, So, Yes, to hell whit the always on line thing >_
  68. d3v
    Jul 4, 2012
    0
    I don't understand why all the big magazine give this game a 80-90 rating. It's one of the games which doesn't make any fun after 7-9 hours. The drop rate is quite poor, you can think because of the auction house , the game went to a pay-to-win game. SP should be offline, that's why it's called SP. For me one of the most disappointing game this year, only the hype wins.
  69. Jul 7, 2012
    0
    I have over 300 hours and I can say this game is fundamentally flawed, it is designed around the RMAH to milk the fan-base as much as physically possible and it lacks any REAL end-game substance that you can look forward to and grind towards.

    The game has fallen INSANELY short of expectations, I am not just farming the AH for gold (I play HC as well, just to make the game kinda sorta
    fun) and there is little point to anything else than amassing more and more gold as finding that "must have" item is literally impossible by using the tried and true "farming" that we all knew and love from the previous incarnations.

    The games community is hollow, it is overrun by goldfarmers (after day one) and the CM's / Dev's don't truly seem to care about the current shoddy state it is in. They are more interested in updating the RMAH (real money auction house, to make more money, they take a 15% cut and therefore that is where all their interest is.)
    They ADMITTED they have NO end-game on the horizon (will prob milk the fans summore w/ an expansion that will fix the major flaws) so yea, this game is bad... and I am truly sad to say it as I have been following it since before it was released.

    I feel sad about it all, but I feel I needed to say what was on my mind, as the forums are a TERRIBLE place to commune as they are ovverun with fanbois and whiteknights (prob on Blizz payrole) that will evicerate you over ANY comments that portray D3 in anything but a positive light.

    Blizzard has jumped the shark folks.
    Expand
  70. Jul 14, 2012
    4
    Simplified to the point that it can't be called an RPG, D3 failed to keep me entertained they way it was supposed to. Pay to win system removes any sense of achievement, or desire to achieve anything noteworthy. And the writing sucks like nothing else.
  71. Jul 16, 2012
    0
    I am really very disappointed by Diablo 3. oversimplifying no pleasure of play I go back to diablo 2 the best of the series for me. it's a real game at least, not a scam over blizzard
    (sorry for the mistakes I'm not very strong in English)
  72. Jul 16, 2012
    4
    Bought the game a few days after release, really enjoyed normal, nightmare and hell modes. The difficulty scaling felt just right and some of the drops I could use. However, I am now in act 2 of inferno and I am bored stiff. There is no real strategy in this game, the boss fights are not very imaginative and the elite packs are dull. With most elite packs in inferno, you will end up resorting to hit and run tactics for about 10 minutes until you burn down all their HP. For all this effort you will pick up rubbish equipment that is always for another class. I wish the loot tables meant equipment dropped I could actually use. I don't mind using the AH, wont ever be using the RMAH but just now and then it would be nice if I could run a dungeon and find something worth equipping. A side from the boring progression in Inferno and lack of decent loot, I wish there was more randomization to the game dungeons as it is soo boring doing the same quests/dungeons over and over and over!!!!!!!! Blizzard are right to admit that D3 has no end game... it's flawed! If I had my time again I wouldn't spent my money on this game. Hoping Torchlight 2 bring more enjoyment. Expand
  73. Jul 17, 2012
    2
    Very boring itemization compared to d2. The game is based on gear almost completely due to certain monster affixes. On the plus side the combat is very flashy and fun. I guess it's diablo somewhere deep down, but I certainly expected much more from blizzard. In my opinion this is a below average release which will last short while.
  74. Mar 3, 2014
    3
    I write my review nearly 2 years after the game release, so I wasn't there for the game day release woes. Though I can understand the vitriol when coupled with the game itself.

    -There wasn't a great deal of innovation on the series. I've played all the the Diablo games and enjoyed them for what they were. That being said, it seems reasonable to have slightly higher expectations for a
    game that was released after a 10 year gap in the series.

    -My most immediate turn off was the boring loot. In a game that's literally about collecting loot, the items were terrible. Armor sets that match for bonuses, cool proc effects, legendary items that grant fun abilities...all gone and replaced with stat sticks. Even the stats on the legendary items were bad.

    -Customization was gone. I liked being able to distribute my stats. Even if each point gave me improvement measured in some tiny percentage, it was satisfying to do so.

    -Pay to win. This is completely ridiculous. I'm not a competitive player, so I ignored the auction house completely. Though the fact that it exists is very, very wrong.

    -Price. At the time of release the game was $60. It had dropped when I bought it and is due to drop again. Though I suspect a $40 expansion is in the works. This just seems a little over the top when similar games are so much cheaper. (Torchlight 2 $15, Path of Exile FREE)

    What the game gets right are great looking graphics, the always high quality Blizzard cinematics, and bug free gameplay. The voice acting, though cheesy, is done by some of the best in the business. It just wasn't enough though. I've rarely felt "cheated" by a game, but for the price, Diablo III just wasn't worth it.
    Expand
  75. Jul 23, 2012
    0
    The game play until normal to hell difficulty (in other words, up to level 60) is quite fast paced and fun. However, there are numerous problems you will face once step into Inferno. The difficulty leaps oblivion which causes many late comers to visit AH. Yes, you can FARM to play Inferno, but it will take eons of time due to the patch 1.0.3 itemization. So, once you hit the AH and get knocked out by horrendous price which caused by botters and pre 1.0.3 exploiters. So, yes, you will be ripped off by no-lifers and gold farmers. Ok, some people are patient enough to get these hardship through to face critical exploits(including the invulnerable Wizard) breaking the game play up from base. I do not care about graphics, storyline, sound effects if they are descent enough for current year. But, the game play mishap ruined everything to be scored zero. THIS GAME MUST HAVE BEEN RELEASED BETA LEVEL!!! Expand
  76. Jul 23, 2012
    4
    Game is fun for about 20-30hrs.
    Once you max character level the game becomes very shortsided. You stop having reason to grind except to get gold and buy SLIGHTLY better gear with SLIGHTLY better stats. Gear all looks the same and is a boring way to bring variables to statistics. Basically, it is a free game, but those who pay to play and buy gear/gold have the advantage...
    Of course you
    can grind it out and TRY to find decent gear.. but you'll find your self not farming for gear but for LARGE amounts of gold to buy 1 piece of gear... then rinse and repeat cycle. Graphics are good. Gameplay fundamentals are good. No replay value... nothing fun about it after the first 20-30hrs or when you max character.. Real money AH is a cool feature and you have the opportunity to make money. But its rare because most people don't buy gear for money, they buy GOLD for money, and then use the Gold to buy better gear on the AH. It's just a lame and vicious cycle that grows cold quickly. Don't get me wrong, I LOVE BLIZZARD, Every game they have ever made I love. NOT THIS ONE THOUGH! REALLY BIG disappointment. Game flat out sucks after 20-30hrs. GG but try again Blizz. Expand
  77. Jul 26, 2012
    3
    I hate doing this... I waited a decade for this game to come out. All Blizzard had to do is take D2, update the graphics, create new story and maps, NOT touch the mechanics, and release. I would have gladly played that D3 for another decade... but this... this I stopped playing after 1 month. True, in the grand scheme of gaming, this would make the game a success. Keeping a player playing for 100+ hours is great for an RPG, but not a Diablo game. I should have been able to count my hours played on this game up to the thousands if not ten thousands. Neither I, nor any of my friends are still playing this game. Expand
  78. Jul 29, 2012
    3
    I made an account just to review this steaming pile of S*** of a game. I started playing a few weeks after release, unfortunately I had pre-ordered and was out of the country during launch. I knew the problems people were having but it was too late for my wallet. Well I didn't have too much of the error 37. But wth, this game is so boring, the gameplay is stale, it has hardly any replay-ability. And the auction house absolutely ruins everything, you are wed to it now. There is no reasonable way to progress the higher levels with the AH. Blizzard whored themselves out to cash in on all us devoted fans. 11 years to make this pile of trash! Seriously, if was near Blizzard studios, I would love to just throw my damn boxed edition through a window. Please save your damn money, go get something on steam, at least Valve seems to still do right by gamers. And seriously wtf with the 'Metascore' or score based on Critic reviews, the only useful thing about your website is the fact that users/players can give their score. Either most of these critics are in bed somehow with some gaming companies and favorably review them, or you haven't got a damn clue as to what gamers think, they've missed so wide of the mark on so many of their reviews that I don't think the critic reviews are worth a damn Expand
  79. Jul 30, 2012
    3
    This game is a debacle, the obliged focus on the Auction House exponentially increased the effect of the early bugs & cheats, destroying the economy and the Game. The content is VERY limited for a license of such importance and 4 levels of difficulty add just to the "repetitive side" of it. Also, limiting the progress of the character so early kills the interest.
  80. Aug 1, 2012
    1
    I gave them a score of 1. and that just because of the graphics and smooth action/walking part. the rest sucks big time in this game. i do not recommend it to anybody. they just want to fill their pockets with money. blizzard agreed with activision and turned to greed over fun. this comes from a 15 year long EX blizzard fan who played every single blizzard game untill now. I'm is realy dissapoined how they destroyed the legacy by giving us this HALF completed dumbed down game.

    i repeat: YOUR NOT SMART IF YOU BUY IT!!!
    if you like repeating the same 5 inches of the game for 10000 hours, have fun.
    Expand
  81. Aug 1, 2012
    3
    When you finally find out that the game was built around the auction house, then you understand why it is boring.

    Difficulty and itemization are designed in a way to push you to the auction house where you can buy stuff for real money. Blizzard gets a 30% cut on all transactions so they WANT you to use it.

    Beside this major flaw, the game also removes the fun parts of an ARPG : 4
    players max par game but the incentive to play multiplayer games is not there anyway, boring items, most of the skills are useless, no large group of monsters that can be easily killed and last but not least, spell damage are based on your MELEE weapon damage !

    Probably the biggest disappointment of the last 5 years.
    Expand
  82. Aug 8, 2012
    3
    I find a few good things about D3, like the combat, the skill calculator, the spells, the runes and of course the detail of the cinematics. The story, maps/dungeons, bosses, npc's and basic mobs are all boring and bland but ok none the less. The biggest problems w/ this game start to show in inferno and really rear their ugly heads in Act 2+ inferno. The elite packs RNG affix, the crap RNG gear stats, the amount of ridiculously low ilvl gear dropping in inferno, the insane lack of gear drops that could be an upgrade which in turn these things all herd players to the GAH/RMAH in order to get gear to progress to a non-existent end game. The lack of drops for a lot of players that don't want to play the AH means a lack of incentive to continue to play the game. For those that play the AH and farm for hundreds and hundreds of hours to make $100 a month, more power to you, but for some of us this isn't the game we bought into. It turns out that Blizzard created D3 as a way to continue to feed their greed using the Diablo series name. Such a shame. Expand
  83. Aug 7, 2012
    2
    I would love to give this a zero, but in all honesty the art guys did their job, and the game looks great. But as a sequel to D2, it is a major disappointment. After spending 4+ years of promising the community that this was the best Diablo ever, Blizzard finally released this dumbed down, incomplete, buggy, boring, un-fun abomination. I really don't need to repeat what's wrong with this game: just go to the BattleNet forums. There are many, many well reasoned posts like this [http://us.battle.net/d3/en/forum/topic/6246475567] outlining the flaws in this game, and some pretty decent fixes proposed by the community. Sadly, Blizzard isn't listening. Equally, the so-called "critics" have failed the community. Only Armchair Empire [http://www.ae-infinite.com/2012/06/review-diablo-iii-pc.html] got it right.

    Sorry, I'm not thankful, and I have no plans to buy the expansion unless this is fixed.
    Expand
  84. Aug 9, 2012
    0
    What a disappointment. After over a decade of waiting this is what we get? A game where the character models and overall graphics are a blurry and ugly mess that wouldn't have been acceptable 6 years ago. Where the game-play has been reduced to left click to win and skills and attributes have been removed or simplified to increase the dependency on gear so that you'll be more likely to use the Auction House, increasing Blizzard's revenue. The voice acting is horrid, on par with a bad B grade movie at the best of times while the story is such a joke Stephanie Meyer could have written a better piece of fiction in 3 months and this took then 6 years. The always online DRM is the icing on the cake. I don't think I've ever been more disappointed by something I was looking forward to in my entire life. Expand
  85. Aug 12, 2012
    4
    Let's keep it nice and short. Diablo 3 is just a Diablo 2 with lesser features and prettier graphics. If you're looking for some solid demon bashing fun with your friends, you'll like the game, other than that, the game is hollow.
  86. Aug 13, 2012
    1
    1 Out of 10 star due to I waited so many years for the game! Got so happy it was coming out.. Just to see that the leveing up to 60 in the game was better then being lb. 60.. This game had noting to do with diablo 2. No PVP, No Trading games hosted, Trash AH where people buy and resell to scam each other and make money out of paypal AH on the news other day there was a kid that make 20,000$ from real money AH. and is still making more! The game is so bad over all. Patchs wont fix my thoughts on the game now its too. The game cheated on me I will never look back Expand
  87. Dec 3, 2012
    2
    Good: some aspects of the game have been drastically improved over d2, such as skill runes and % scalability with your gear, which means that you can literally use the skills you obtained in lvl 10 and still be viable end game. Bad: this is no ACTION rpg, blizzard lifted the awkward target system straight off WOW and slapped it underneath the skin of D2. what this means is that a lot of the time you will get hit by an attack even though you were no where near the projectile/hit animation. The biggest problem is that after you hit lvl 60 the game turns into one giant slot machine, with each monster kill that may or may not yield something worth selling, and reaching lvl 60 can be done in a day or two, so literally in a day or two after getting this game you will run out of content. That's absolutely ridiculous, I have played indie games that cost $5 and lasted longer than that Expand
  88. Aug 17, 2012
    1
    the ridiculously overpowered monster packs and elites, mean you are forced to play with others, which are most the time clueless under geared noobs that make playing a nightmare. The lucky few who have dedicated friends and play in organised groups probably enjoy the game enormously. Unfortunately none of my friends decided to play which meant that I never managed to enjoy the game, a part of which contributes to me being envious and ultimately the expression of this review. However that could have been avoided should blizzard have decided to make the whole game doable for solo players, which is probably not very difficult from a designers point of view. They just have to scale the monster abilities accordingly.
    From the start the game put me on the USA servers without any confirmation of questions. This was due to the fact that I had played the beta, which was on USA servers and I hadn't switched the account back after buying the game, so after my char was lvl 47, I found out I was on the wrong server, and refused to remake my char. I am therefore unable to use the real money auction house, which is one of the biggest selling points of D3. Blizzard still hasn't done anything about this problem which has been in shock, and I refused to play another 100 odd hours to get to where I am now.
    The always on connection requirement adds to this problem. My connection constantly lags and disconnects. I have had to kill countless monsters twice or even three times. Sure I understand that you want to provide a safe and secure and uncrackable system, but to stretch this to an extent where the regular players must update every move they make onto an extremely laggy server is beyond all explanation. Even if it is stable nowadays, there are still problems like when your computer crashes, and you find yourself in the middle of a massive monster pack at the front of the entrance immediately after you log back in. That's right you have been successfully farming with your friends, you dc'ed and they all died and kept dying and now noone can get away because there's a ridiculous waller / fast / arcane minion pack that one shots everyone. now you have to remake and go without any of your nephalem valors from scratch.
    This game is crap in ways that boil my very bones. I played wow for such a long time, and every patch all my efforts were completely pointless, it was as though I was a noob once again. I vow to never buy a blizzard game again.
    Expand
  89. Aug 20, 2012
    2
    D3 shipped in a beta state of the game. From the ground up the game reeks of poorly managed development. At release there were rampant bugs and glitches, and Blizzard has been quick to nerf classes and mechanics that players have found ways of using that Blizzard "doesn't like", yet slow to even consider fixing plainly broken things. The game came out in early May, yet it wasn't even until the previous week (mid August), that there were even discussions to attempt to move the game out of its obvious beta build. With the 1.04 patch the game takes a step out of its beta state, but still not anywhere near a release build that was worth the $60, or $100 if you made the mistake of buying the CE (most horrible CE released from Blizzard to date, everything in it apart from the art book was trash).

    Maybe next year the game will be in a worthwhile state, but needless to say, even if you ignore the general unplayable state the game was in for the first few weeks after its release, D3 is a bad game in its current state. If you haven't bought it yet, don't, wait till next year to see if it has been patched four or five times. If it has and if the forum community (on site and on fan sites) still isn't frothing with rage, with forum bans going out every five minutes to try and make the game look like it is in a more pleasant state, then go ahead and consider buying the game. Otherwise, do not even think of putting this game in your cart of any kind or even approach a register with it, there are far better games for less than half the price that can occupy even more hours of your time if you wish.
    Expand
  90. Sep 1, 2012
    0
    save your money and buy torchlight 2 on steam 15 pounds for torchlight 1 and 2..........................................................................
  91. Aug 26, 2012
    0
    A pathetic joke that spat in the face of Diablo fans worldwide. The original team that created the Diablo series and developed Diablo and Diablo II left Blizzard in 2003, leaving a different team to work on Diablo III and it shows. The design decisions are brain-dead and game completely fails to live up to the standard set by its predecessor. This game is nothing but a step backwards over Diablo II. Expand
  92. Sep 26, 2012
    2
    From the early start of the game, it may worth about 6/10, however, with more playtime more bad feeling come. U have to run act 3 over and over again to get thousands of crappy item and hope that only a few can sell. Customization is total suck, in which you can't spend your stat point. If you char are not well equiped, you need to Kite a whole map to kill an elite. My brother and my friend used to play but all quit already. It is total diappointed YOU BLIZZARD make such a boring game, and thankful nerf my barb in 1.05. Expand
  93. Mar 16, 2014
    0
    I will not rate a game that has always-online a 1, let alone what Blizzard said about why offline mode will not be implemented. For Blizzard to say that they didn't make that game but made it offline on console for one, and for two they claim that gamers don't remember how angry they were by Diablo 2 being offline. I was without internet for about 8 days and I couldn't even load it to a login screen let alone anything else. If the auction house is closed then what's the point of it being online. If there was an offline mode for PC then I would rate this a 6 out of 10 Expand
  94. Sep 9, 2012
    4
    I've seen a lot of "0" user score and I really don't think that's fair. Diablo 3 got many good features and visuals but lacks in gameplay, end-game and variation. Though the negative clearly beats the positive, I still feel that a solid "4" is a good score for Diablo 3. They simplified too much, we don't have many choices when it comes to spells and stats. The difficulty was horribly done, no extra mechanics, no tactic was needed because it was only a gear-check. And by that I mean, if you had good enough gear, you could just slaughter your way through with ease. And because an Action House existed, the gameplay changed. Now people farmed GOLD to use in the Action House to get the best gear. This game fails on so many levels compared to Diablo 1 and 2. They are releasing some patches which is good don't get me wrong, but I don't think any patch can save Diablo 3. They failed and they know it. Too bad because I was looking forward to this game, but disappointment was all I got. Expand
  95. Mar 11, 2013
    1
    This is propably the worst game Blizzard has ever released. It was clearly rushed into release. The game has no end content what so ever. This game is an insult to the previous games on the franchise. There is no world pvp, the actual "pvp" is called brawling now which is a complete joke. Diablo 3 is no longer the Grim world as it should be, now its all colorful. The itemization is horrible, and the game is run by bots controlling the economy. RMAH is also a complete failure. they decided to get rid of skilltrees/stats which really are the essence of the games on the genre. The chatrooms and social side of the game is non-existant Players no longer can make their own games. The story is like from a cheap hollywood movie. Diablo is a girl, cool stuff. You can no longer swap between acts. Party size decreased from 8 to 4. If you think this game is a worthy successor for Diablo 2, I can guarentee you its not, DO NOT BUY THIS GAME. Expand
  96. Sep 20, 2012
    1
    I wanted to love this game. I really did. But the loot is abysmal and they patch so slowly that by the time they fix the broken loot system it could be 2014!!! I have hundreds of hours logged. Spent a small fortune on the RMAH (Yes I am a complete and utter fool for this decision). My only defense for doing so was after 250 hours and still having a crappy character with terrible gear I thought maybe the RMAH was my salvation. That's what's called desperation folks. And as I played into my Paragon Levels (20) I realized things weren't getting better. No good drops, laggy servers, a dead friends list from all the quitters, I give up, throw in the towel. D3 is a huge time and money sink. And the only reason you keep logging in is to hopefully catch that carrot that's always just out of reach. Don't waste your time or your hard earned money. Check out Torchlight II, that's a game that will give you your ARPG fix for years, and not get you into obnoxious credit card debt just so you can complete the game. Expand
  97. Sep 21, 2012
    0
    Really doesn't feel worthy of the Diablo title. Just way too disappointing. Feels like yet another development pushed forward only because the developers knew it would rake in the dough almost as much as a new cod game. The creativity and feel of adventure is gone in place of a cheap thrill that wasn't even at all cheap. I have paid for a game and can not even start a single player... It is a sick joke... Give my money and wasted time back! Expand
  98. May 8, 2013
    0
    DO NOT BUY, Waste of money.
    YOU'VE BEEN WARNED.
    Wish I had listened and not wasted my time and money,
    never purchasing anything from Blizzard again.
  99. Sep 22, 2012
    0
    +Decent graphics. -Always online DRM, -Lack of skill diversity, -Connection errors, -Play to win, -Short story. This game is a step back from Diablo 2, so I recommend avoiding it.
  100. Jan 27, 2013
    2
    Diablo II set a benchmark and showed us exactly what good games that are still awesome more than a decade afterwards look like. Diablo III isn't even in the same league and will not last 5 years let alone a decade. Diablo II had it all - some improvements were needed - but that was it. Blizzard simply catered to their sheep fans - any criticism of the game - including constructive - is instantly drowned out with insults and dismissals from fanboi's on the forums - and when some complain that they cannot access the game - these fans tell them that "Blizzard do not have an obligation to allow you access to the game read the terms". (The community is part of the package of a game like this - hence why it is in the review)

    Because of this - Diablo III became a game where:

    Looting is pointless - Everything can be easily purchased in the Auction house and the in game drops are pathetic - if anything you are purely looting for gold. But you may be thinking looting for gold and then buying everything you want is OK? Nope because you can also buy these items with real money.... removing any looting element from the game.

    Gear is the only thing that separates different players - Characters all have the same skills. The skill "tree" does not require choice - you simply unlock different skills at certain levels. The only thing you can do is change the effect of the skills you have - but everyone has these effects so it is again pointless.

    Difficulty modes - The first three modes range from very easy to easy. Then you go into Inferno - this does provide a challenge - however you will have several encounters with groups of elites that move faster than you, can attack ranged, kill you in one maybe two hits, spawn clones and take little damage. The normal mobs and hordes difficulty on inferno however is good - a challenge but you get a fair chance.

    No gameplay incentive - In Diablo II - there were runes, epic gear and secret super bosses - not to mention the very fun group gameplay. In Diablo III there is no Incentive - other than just playing so once you have completed it you see no more point in playing the game - Unless you simply wanna see what all the different classes are like in all difficulty modes....

    Online only - This was a stupid thing to do, caused huge problems (still does) and does the developer no favours. Hint: Do not put online only access on a game that should have had single player.

    Current fans of the game complain about the those who loved the Diablo series being unhappy. THE GAME WAS A SEQUEL TO DIABLO II !!! - and so Diablo II fans were expecting something at least similar to to the game Diablo III was supposed to be continuing.

    The game has some good points - its soundtrack is very good as are the graphics. Fighting hordes in Hell and inferno modes can be entertaining and some of the skill effects are good. However even the story and Lore - another core component of Diablo - is poor. The game doesn't have that dark edge to it that Diablo II had.

    If you are looking for a game similar to Diablo II there are (ironically) much better alternatives out there at less than half the price. If however you are looking for a game that is less advanced and more graphically focused - then you may enjoy this game but watch out for the bugs and not being able to access the game on some occasions...
    Expand
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 86 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 81 out of 86
  2. Negative: 1 out of 86
  1. Aug 31, 2012
    90
    My one major complaint is that the game never feels very difficult, especially on Normal. There are frustrating moments, hordes of baddies, and increasing difficulty levels, but the same feeling of utter defeat never really happens as it did in the past.
  2. Jul 18, 2012
    80
    For all the game's missteps, though, you certainly can't accuse Blizzard of phoning it in - if anything, the game suffers from the tendency to try a little to hard at times to evolve the design. [Aug 2012, p.61]
  3. Jul 3, 2012
    80
    When it works, Diablo III is the best of the Diablo games. When it doesn't, all it does is make you mad. [July 2012, p.54]