Diablo III PC

Diablo III Image
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 86 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.0

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 9340 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Diablo III picks up the story twenty years after the events of Diablo II. Mephisto, Diablo, and Baal have been defeated, but the Worldstone, which once shielded the inhabitants of the world of Sanctuary from the forces of both the High Heavens and the Burning Hells, has been destroyed, andDiablo III picks up the story twenty years after the events of Diablo II. Mephisto, Diablo, and Baal have been defeated, but the Worldstone, which once shielded the inhabitants of the world of Sanctuary from the forces of both the High Heavens and the Burning Hells, has been destroyed, and evil once again stirs in Tristram. Playing as a hero from one of five distinct character classes, players acquire powerful items, spells, and abilities as they explore new and familiar areas of Sanctuary and battle hordes of demons to safeguard the world from the horrors that have arisen. Diablo III features a custom 3D-graphics engine to render lush indoor and outdoor areas of Sanctuary with a high level of detail and vivid special effects. The game's physics-enhanced environments are interactive and destructible, offering traps and obstacles that create added danger for players and monsters alike. These elements, along with a new quest system and random scripted events, have been integrated into the game’s random-level generator, giving Diablo III the ultimate combination of dynamic gameplay and replayability. Cooperative and competitive play are available online through an upgraded version of Blizzard Entertainment’s renowned online gaming service, Battle.net. [Blizzard Entertainment] Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Diablo III Console TV Spot
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 81 out of 86
  2. Negative: 1 out of 86
  1. May 24, 2012
    100
    Games this thoughtfully crafted don't happen very often, and the care that Blizzard has taken with Diablo 3 shows in every facet of its design and execution. It might not be perfect, but after 45 hours, I'm not sure where it missteps, and after 45 hours, I feel like I've only scratched the surface of what it has to offer. Diablo 3 is almost evil in how high a bar it's set for every PC action RPG to follow, and I wouldn't be surprised to see that bar remain for a very long time.
  2. May 24, 2012
    95
    While at first glance Diablo III seems to be a step back from it's predecessor, it's actually more complicated, and ultimately, a more satisfying experience.
  3. May 20, 2012
    92
    Getting online and into the game though, rewards players with one of the most engaging single-player and co-op experiences in the business, so if you have patience and can look past Blizzard's biggest oversight, you're in for one of the year's best games.
  4. 90
    Forget the semi-lame beta. This is the real deal. Diablo III is as addictive as ever. A beauty to enjoy with friends and a great experience. The story might not be the best ever, the music not as bombastic as we could want, but the gameplay is intact. And so is the loot. Oh yes. The loot. Well, back to the game we go. There is a another nightmare to be had.
  5. May 19, 2012
    90
    It may not be the action-rpg-messiah that some may have expected, but it easily matches its predecessors... Blizzard's new creation defends the throne with a mix of proven gameplay and tons of features.
  6. May 22, 2012
    85
    There's a good chance you've played games a lot like Diablo III before, and at no point does it dare to surprise you by tinkering with its tried-and-true formula. But it creates such an enticing world and offers up such enjoyable abilities that it makes that formula feel fresh again.
  7. Jun 13, 2012
    45
    There is absolutely no denying that Diablo III continues to maintain the high artistic standards that it has kept over the years. But the dumbed character and inventory systems, coupled to the ridiculous always-on connection and the breathtaking arrogance of the"you'll play how we tell you to play" attitude makes playing this title a damned shame instead of a hell of a good time.

See all 86 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. May 15, 2012
    10
    I haven't had this much fun playing a game since Diablo II came out. After playing for several hours, I really can't complain about much. II haven't had this much fun playing a game since Diablo II came out. After playing for several hours, I really can't complain about much. I haven't ran into a single bug myself, which is rather incredible for a game that just came out, though bugs do exist. I can't really think of any ways to make the game better. It's incredibly fun and addicting. They did a great job with this one. I'll probably be playing this game for many, many years to come.

    Also, why are people reviewing this game that haven't even played? Regardless of how good/bad you think it is, nobody cares about reviews from someone that hasn't played the game.
    Expand
  2. May 15, 2012
    10
    Blizzard has made an excellent, polished game that is genuinely fun. It was well worth my purchase. Many people are frustrated with someBlizzard has made an excellent, polished game that is genuinely fun. It was well worth my purchase. Many people are frustrated with some server instability on launch day, but maybe they should have thought ahead and not taken weeks off of work and checked their wives and kids into a hotel so they can be all alone with their precious... Feel free to ignore them, the game is excellent. Expand
  3. Apr 21, 2014
    8
    This may be a different Diablo game but still pretty much addictive and fun. The art style, graphics, and cinematic is totally a masterpiece.This may be a different Diablo game but still pretty much addictive and fun. The art style, graphics, and cinematic is totally a masterpiece. If only they didn't removed the allocations of stats and skill tree, this could be the best action RPG game out there today. Expand
  4. May 29, 2012
    2
    Continues the story of Diablo. Act 1 had a good story. Act 2 onward was crap. Expected twists. Fun game to Hell. Tough game in Inferno.Continues the story of Diablo. Act 1 had a good story. Act 2 onward was crap. Expected twists. Fun game to Hell. Tough game in Inferno. Crafting is not as fun as expected. Too reliant on Auction House to gear up, and yet it is often not working. Servers often down, preventing Single Player. I miss the lobby to chat with other people. I was expecting better graphics and a varied look of equipment. I played slightly over 100 hours with a single character and I have yet to see my first Unique or Set item. I'd buy this game if it were $20, and I'd play it for 20 hours. Sad. Very. Expand
  5. Jul 17, 2012
    1
    I've played all Blizzard games since Lost Vikings and I must say this is their first major failure. What they are selling looks like developerI've played all Blizzard games since Lost Vikings and I must say this is their first major failure. What they are selling looks like developer preview that was done in 2008 and frozen ever since. And it goes for what... $60? I even took a vacation at work to play it and boy how I was dissapointed after a few weeks.

    The worst points of the game are:
    Most of legendary items aren't legendary at all, considering the drop rate is very seldom;
    You get only 1 type of socketed item in 4 different flavours (I'd like to remind you its year 2012);
    Only a few different random-generated dungeon events;
    Amount of available map "blocks" is very low which results in incredible repetitive dungeons (you can see this even in the first act by looking at the cathedral minimap);
    You can't spec your hero the way you want - all the stats are automatically assigned for you at level up;
    No character customization at all! You don't really need much at this camera angle but it wouldn't hurt;
    Poor interface functionality - comparing item stats at AH is troublesome, only 3 filters and you can't filter by item armor amount or block chance;
    HP+ globe stat doesn't increases healing potions efficiency AT ALL which is really weird.
    Expand
  6. Aug 10, 2017
    0
    If you loved Diablo II, you will completely dislike this one. The great of the series was the multiplayer game mode.

    They stripped out all
    If you loved Diablo II, you will completely dislike this one. The great of the series was the multiplayer game mode.

    They stripped out all the essential part that made the Diablo series a masterpiece. What is left is a simple hack and slash.

    If you play Diablo III for the first time and you don't know anything about Diablo series it could be an average game, but if you expect the true successor of Diablo II and the old battlenet multiplayer mode then you will be greatly disappointed.

    I give it 0 and have to say that Jay "f... that loser." Wilson is not by David Brevik who invent the series.
    The real Diablo, made by Brevik, exudes passion while this last one, just easy money.
    Expand
  7. May 15, 2012
    0
    You'd think that with this many years to get something right, they'd get it right. However, Blizzard somehow released a deeply flawed productYou'd think that with this many years to get something right, they'd get it right. However, Blizzard somehow released a deeply flawed product with game-ending bugs that forces players to stay connected to the Internet to use a single-player game that they paid $60 for. That would be fine if the servers worked, and if every Internet connection was reliable. More to the point, the game itself is cartoony, confusing and short. One group of players beat it in seven hours. It's almost like they hired 3D Realms of Duke Nukem Forever fame to build the game. Dislike. Expand

See all 4652 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2012

    The Best Videogames of 2012 Image
    Published: December 31, 2012
    As our Best of 2012 series continues, we reveal the year's best video games for each platform.