Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 86 Critics What's this?

User Score
3.9

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 9138 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Diablo III picks up the story twenty years after the events of Diablo II. Mephisto, Diablo, and Baal have been defeated, but the Worldstone, which once shielded the inhabitants of the world of Sanctuary from the forces of both the High Heavens and the Burning Hells, has been destroyed, and evil once again stirs in Tristram. Playing as a hero from one of five distinct character classes, players acquire powerful items, spells, and abilities as they explore new and familiar areas of Sanctuary and battle hordes of demons to safeguard the world from the horrors that have arisen. Diablo III features a custom 3D-graphics engine to render lush indoor and outdoor areas of Sanctuary with a high level of detail and vivid special effects. The game's physics-enhanced environments are interactive and destructible, offering traps and obstacles that create added danger for players and monsters alike. These elements, along with a new quest system and random scripted events, have been integrated into the game’s random-level generator, giving Diablo III the ultimate combination of dynamic gameplay and replayability. Cooperative and competitive play are available online through an upgraded version of Blizzard Entertainment’s renowned online gaming service, Battle.net. [Blizzard Entertainment] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 81 out of 86
  2. Negative: 1 out of 86
  1. May 24, 2012
    100
    Games this thoughtfully crafted don't happen very often, and the care that Blizzard has taken with Diablo 3 shows in every facet of its design and execution. It might not be perfect, but after 45 hours, I'm not sure where it missteps, and after 45 hours, I feel like I've only scratched the surface of what it has to offer. Diablo 3 is almost evil in how high a bar it's set for every PC action RPG to follow, and I wouldn't be surprised to see that bar remain for a very long time.
  2. May 24, 2012
    95
    While at first glance Diablo III seems to be a step back from it's predecessor, it's actually more complicated, and ultimately, a more satisfying experience.
  3. May 20, 2012
    92
    Getting online and into the game though, rewards players with one of the most engaging single-player and co-op experiences in the business, so if you have patience and can look past Blizzard's biggest oversight, you're in for one of the year's best games.
  4. May 16, 2012
    90
    Blizzard sets a new standard for the hack and slash genre with Diablo III. All conventional game elements like a smooth and fast-paced combat system, leveling up and the huge amount of variation in enemies already make for a complete and good game. Original attacks, challanging bosses and a nifty rewards system lift Diablo III to the next level and leaves the competition to bite its dust. The improved accesiblity makes the game slightly too easy though, especially in the start.
  5. May 19, 2012
    90
    It may not be the action-rpg-messiah that some may have expected, but it easily matches its predecessors... Blizzard's new creation defends the throne with a mix of proven gameplay and tons of features.
  6. May 22, 2012
    85
    There's a good chance you've played games a lot like Diablo III before, and at no point does it dare to surprise you by tinkering with its tried-and-true formula. But it creates such an enticing world and offers up such enjoyable abilities that it makes that formula feel fresh again.
  7. Jun 13, 2012
    45
    There is absolutely no denying that Diablo III continues to maintain the high artistic standards that it has kept over the years. But the dumbed character and inventory systems, coupled to the ridiculous always-on connection and the breathtaking arrogance of the"you'll play how we tell you to play" attitude makes playing this title a damned shame instead of a hell of a good time.

See all 86 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. May 15, 2012
    10
    I haven't had this much fun playing a game since Diablo II came out. After playing for several hours, I really can't complain about much. I haven't ran into a single bug myself, which is rather incredible for a game that just came out, though bugs do exist. I can't really think of any ways to make the game better. It's incredibly fun and addicting. They did a great job with this one. I'll probably be playing this game for many, many years to come.

    Also, why are people reviewing this game that haven't even played? Regardless of how good/bad you think it is, nobody cares about reviews from someone that hasn't played the game.
    Expand
  2. May 15, 2012
    10
    First of all I'm going to say that it's not Blizz's fault 3rd parties (and the gamers themselves) popped up with real currency buying and selling of game items/accounts/characters. The real currency Auction House is just the next step in the evolution of stopping scamming and piracy as gaming grows. Secondly, the DRM is to keep people from playing the game who have not purchased it themselves, and to keep hacked/modded items from popping up in the on line community. I have a very slow dsl connection (wireless) and have had no problems with internet speed stopping me from playing in single player. All the trolls putting up 0's have an internet connection to post this and that is enough for D3. Obviously stress testing can only go so far, as there is no way to actually have thousands of players online playing the game without it being fully released. People say blizzard doesn't care about the customers but I have had multiple experiences with customer service from D2->SC->WoW->SC2 and all of my problems(hacked accounts, technical issues, etc) have been resolved fairly and quickly. I believe this negative assumption comes from the sheer number of players playing their games. As far as the critics score goes please base your scores on the game itself not on your opinion of the company or its policies. I understand everyone has their own opinions on what services should be available but this score should be based on the game itself. It seems the server issues are the main reason people are putting up 0's and those issues will be solved comparatively quickly to the expected lifetime of the game (and the players themselves). Finally as far as game play is concerned; it is a great dungeon crawler and the different classes each have their own play style that keeps the re-playability high. You may be able to rush through the game on normal difficulty mode in short order but keep in mind that is maybe a tenth of the actual game due to difficulty modes. Also a lot of the charm from D2 was loot grabbing/ item finding which is just as evident in D3. The crafting addition is a fun little way to improve on this concept. All the haters just go back to D2. Its clear that's the game you want this to be and like anything new it has to evolve. Solid seamless cut scenes and virtually no load time into buildings/dungeon areas. Expand
  3. May 15, 2012
    7
    Honestly what's with the bad reviews? I've played this game for 2-3 hours now and it's been great so far. I can see that the skills are very different and versatile, and will hopefully be fun to use. Expand
  4. May 20, 2012
    2
    Biggest disappointment of gaming history. Gameplay oversimplified to a point where players don't need a brain to play - this means there's no interaction at all. Lobby system from D2 is taken out and replaced by an auction house as well as a "public game" button which only ever puts you with 1 other person. I actually like the idea of auction house. However, implementing a real money version of it just doesn't cut it. Aside from the social perspective, the gameplay itself is just bland. There is no character customization at all - no attribute points, no skill tress, etc. The only differences between characters are only the selection of the skills and the gear itself. I understand that some may argue there is customization in terms of picking which skills you use, but keep in mind that SELECTION differs from CUSTOMIZATION. The lack of customization prevents players from being attached to their characters, and this causes players get bored easily. The other part of "customization" in D3 is related to gear. However, the gear-farming system is just too broken. Blue (magic) equipment can even be better than Legendary (Unique) items because of the random stats that Legendary items give. What's the point of gear farming then if I could just buy items off the auction house? Oh right, I forgot that Blizard makes a % profit per auction house trade. Quests are too simple and straight forward; they're either "go through the dungeon" or "kill this monster". There is no sidequest; you have to follow the storeline almost 90% of the time. One other thing that pisses me off is that you're not really encouraged to freely warp to maps other than your primary quest location because it does not give you any incentive - drop rates are crappy and you only get a decent amount of EXP if you finish the quests. The connection required requirement is also a concern, but it doesn't really affect me because I'm more into the multiplayer aspect of the game. Graphics are nice. Sound and BGM are okay. Overall, if you're used to be an avid player of Diablo 2, do not purchase this game because it will disappoint you. This is an extremely overhyped game. If only Blizzard were to focus on funding on the development of the game instead advertisements... Expand
  5. May 20, 2012
    1
    Bought it on a Thursday and all went well. Downloaded as fast as my connection would handle. Was able to start playing before the download had finished, which was a very nice touch.

    Played for about an hour and it was good fun.

    Tried to play the next day and it was really laggy. Ping had jumped to well over 400+. You'd shoot and nothing would happen for a few seconds. They would all queue up and happen several seconds afterwards. You'd be running around and then be reset back to a previous point. Monsters would warp around the map.

    I tried connecting at regular intervals and the ping remained high and the game unplayable till Sat night when the ping dropped to around 250-300. There is no Australian server. You automatically get hooked up to a server in the US. At around 250 the game seems to run fine.

    After a few hours it went back up above 400 and was no longer playable. It remained that way for the rest off the weekend and into monday morning when I last checked. At one point it was over 800.

    Tracert and other tests show that my connection appears to be fine.

    So in all I've had the game for 5 days and been able to play for about 3 hours. And it's only the single player game I want to get into.

    Unlike other people I haven't encountered any of the server errors. Just very bad ping and a laggy, unplayable single player game. The client itself has never crashed. I've always ended the connection myself out of frustration.

    If you are in Australia I would advise not buying until there are reports that the lag issue has been resolved. When the ping was around 250 the game was playable, even when connected to a US server. So hopefully things will settle down or maybe we will even get a local server. Until then, avoid.
    Expand
  6. Aug 11, 2014
    0
    I remember my hp having a RPG similar to Diablo3. the greater differences however is that the hp game had more; character classes, actual character customization, it was FREE!,The list could go on Diablo 3 is a bastardization of what a good game should be, and i am ashamed that i spent any money buying a copy. Expand
  7. May 20, 2012
    0
    (Apologies for my bad english)
    A few reasons because this game SUCKS:

    - 6 skills to use at the same time and only three passives.(in
    torchlight you can play with 12 of them)
    - No character customization (equal appearance and attributes, yes there is no attribute points, to all characters) so...
    - Only the gear make the difference between the characters = The game is based on loot.
    - Check points - Life globes WTF?
    - No free to go world. Only you can go to point A to B to C...and visit some "alternative" dungeons during the trip.
    - Legalized gold selling/ auction house with real money(Steal mode on)
    - Constant connecting to the internet even in the single player campaign.
    - The only PvP option = WoW - Clone arena
    - The Error 37
    - The last two Infernal Lords are really pathetic.
    - A real wasteful of scenic potential. (Combat scenifications, comments of the monsters, music, special situations...a huge mass of good stuff go directly to the rubbish). So, from gamer to a gamer: Just save your money for the Grim Dawn or Torchlight II, Diablo III is an absurdity
    Expand

See all 4939 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2012

    The Best Videogames of 2012 Image
    Published: December 31, 2012
    As our Best of 2012 series continues, we reveal the year's best video games for each platform.