Diablo III PC

Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 86 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.0

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 9338 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Diablo III picks up the story twenty years after the events of Diablo II. Mephisto, Diablo, and Baal have been defeated, but the Worldstone, which once shielded the inhabitants of the world of Sanctuary from the forces of both the High Heavens and the Burning Hells, has been destroyed, andDiablo III picks up the story twenty years after the events of Diablo II. Mephisto, Diablo, and Baal have been defeated, but the Worldstone, which once shielded the inhabitants of the world of Sanctuary from the forces of both the High Heavens and the Burning Hells, has been destroyed, and evil once again stirs in Tristram. Playing as a hero from one of five distinct character classes, players acquire powerful items, spells, and abilities as they explore new and familiar areas of Sanctuary and battle hordes of demons to safeguard the world from the horrors that have arisen. Diablo III features a custom 3D-graphics engine to render lush indoor and outdoor areas of Sanctuary with a high level of detail and vivid special effects. The game's physics-enhanced environments are interactive and destructible, offering traps and obstacles that create added danger for players and monsters alike. These elements, along with a new quest system and random scripted events, have been integrated into the game’s random-level generator, giving Diablo III the ultimate combination of dynamic gameplay and replayability. Cooperative and competitive play are available online through an upgraded version of Blizzard Entertainment’s renowned online gaming service, Battle.net. [Blizzard Entertainment] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 81 out of 86
  2. Negative: 1 out of 86
  1. May 24, 2012
    100
    Games this thoughtfully crafted don't happen very often, and the care that Blizzard has taken with Diablo 3 shows in every facet of its design and execution. It might not be perfect, but after 45 hours, I'm not sure where it missteps, and after 45 hours, I feel like I've only scratched the surface of what it has to offer. Diablo 3 is almost evil in how high a bar it's set for every PC action RPG to follow, and I wouldn't be surprised to see that bar remain for a very long time.
  2. May 24, 2012
    95
    While at first glance Diablo III seems to be a step back from it's predecessor, it's actually more complicated, and ultimately, a more satisfying experience.
  3. May 20, 2012
    92
    Getting online and into the game though, rewards players with one of the most engaging single-player and co-op experiences in the business, so if you have patience and can look past Blizzard's biggest oversight, you're in for one of the year's best games.
  4. 90
    Forget the semi-lame beta. This is the real deal. Diablo III is as addictive as ever. A beauty to enjoy with friends and a great experience. The story might not be the best ever, the music not as bombastic as we could want, but the gameplay is intact. And so is the loot. Oh yes. The loot. Well, back to the game we go. There is a another nightmare to be had.
  5. May 19, 2012
    90
    It may not be the action-rpg-messiah that some may have expected, but it easily matches its predecessors... Blizzard's new creation defends the throne with a mix of proven gameplay and tons of features.
  6. May 22, 2012
    85
    There's a good chance you've played games a lot like Diablo III before, and at no point does it dare to surprise you by tinkering with its tried-and-true formula. But it creates such an enticing world and offers up such enjoyable abilities that it makes that formula feel fresh again.
  7. Jun 13, 2012
    45
    There is absolutely no denying that Diablo III continues to maintain the high artistic standards that it has kept over the years. But the dumbed character and inventory systems, coupled to the ridiculous always-on connection and the breathtaking arrogance of the"you'll play how we tell you to play" attitude makes playing this title a damned shame instead of a hell of a good time.

See all 86 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. May 15, 2012
    10
    I haven't had this much fun playing a game since Diablo II came out. After playing for several hours, I really can't complain about much. II haven't had this much fun playing a game since Diablo II came out. After playing for several hours, I really can't complain about much. I haven't ran into a single bug myself, which is rather incredible for a game that just came out, though bugs do exist. I can't really think of any ways to make the game better. It's incredibly fun and addicting. They did a great job with this one. I'll probably be playing this game for many, many years to come.

    Also, why are people reviewing this game that haven't even played? Regardless of how good/bad you think it is, nobody cares about reviews from someone that hasn't played the game.
    Expand
  2. May 15, 2012
    10
    I am a fan of the Diablo series and I can say I very much enjoy what Diablo 3 has to offer. The game play is great and stays true to the hackI am a fan of the Diablo series and I can say I very much enjoy what Diablo 3 has to offer. The game play is great and stays true to the hack and slash RPG I fell in love with years ago. I would say 80% of the negative reviews on here are the launch day server issues. While understandably frustrating for many, it is no reason to pout and make a good game look horrid to future players. The other big complaint is the absence of single player mode and I understand. However, the reasoning behind this is because Blizzard implemented the "Real Money Auction House." The black market was notorious for selling items and in game currency so Blizzard is fighting back with this. It gives the normal player base a chance to get in on this market, Blizzard is able to make money from these kinds of transactions, and it puts a strain on the black market. Diablo 2 was plagued with hacked and duped items so for this to work Blizzard made the choice to go in this direction. People miss single player and LAN abilities, but in all honesty it was a going to be a relatively small market purchasing the game for that. Overall, this is a great game and will not disappoint. Expand
  3. Jul 3, 2012
    7
    After more than 200 hours of gameplay, I can objectively say that this game has mixed feelings. Overall, I feel it's a good game, but so manyAfter more than 200 hours of gameplay, I can objectively say that this game has mixed feelings. Overall, I feel it's a good game, but so many aspects of the game leave me sour. The whole "balancing", be it the loot worth, the weapon mechanics, the auction house, all feel like I'm playing a MMO, even a f2p, instead of playing the great action RPG game D3 should have been. I don't know why the developers chose to go in that direction, since D3 has no subscription fee. In my opinion, it would have been better to let every players easily acquire awesome loot and plow through Inferno easily than forcing them to grind countless hours in gold and/or gear farming. When you get in the Inferno difficulty, the game changes from being a leisure to being a chore. Almost every problems Blizzard had with illegal activities (bots, etc) resulted in patches that punished the legit players more than the botters. The always-on DRM was supposed to solve many problems, but ended up being a pain more than a solution.

    I estimate my enjoyment and experience value of the D3 product to 40$, maximum. In the future, I will be wary of acquiring another Blizzard product, as it will take good convincing from both reviews and friends before considering purchase.
    Expand
  4. May 15, 2012
    2
    A game best worth avoiding. 12 years in the making and all that Diablo 3 shows us is a graphical update from the previous game. The gameA game best worth avoiding. 12 years in the making and all that Diablo 3 shows us is a graphical update from the previous game. The game doesn't "feel" like a Diablo game, it feels rough around the edges and poorly optimized like they were rushed to get it out. Oddly enough a game with a completely different art style plays more like a Diablo game is Torchlight 2, currently $20 on steam with TL1 for free.

    It is obvious though that Blizzard are neutering the potential of the Diablo franchise because they do not want to directly compete with their cash cow World of Warcraft. I expect the upcoming Diablo expansions to add functionality to the game that really should already be here. Blizzard's classic rehashing content at ridiculous levels with more difficulty levels than necessary, note Blizzard, adding more HP and damage to minions isn't really enjoyable game play. It's tedious, which is a word I'll use to describe this game. Is it worth $60? No. Is it worth $30? No. Is it enjoyable? No.
    Expand
  5. Jun 1, 2012
    1
    Not complete **** but close. I giving this a one, because i'm reasonably sure they could make a ****tier game if they really tried.
    -Always
    Not complete **** but close. I giving this a one, because i'm reasonably sure they could make a ****tier game if they really tried.
    -Always online refers to the fact that you always play online, even if you just playing single player, However their always online is not always online, Its not online quite frequently actually. And when is down, you can't play... at all. This feature also allows you lag in single player games. You can now get disconnected in single player games as well. And you can only play when Bliztard ordains. They also decided to bring down at least once a week for 8 hours calling it scheduled maintenance, another nasty surprise to spring on their unsuspecting players. Unfortunately, the server come down more frequently do to their ineptness. Thus making a giant **** mockery of the phase "always online". Game play shallow and pedantic. Their rich set of skill seem like rehashes of wow and starcraft . Its kinda like mcdonalds where you drive by and they fling as ****ty sack of grease at you out their window. Thats the gaming experience here. Its like they did some experiments on mice to figure out how the **** them out of their money via a real money action system, and based a game on that. You get fries that are cold and oversalted, **** you give us your money.
    Expand
  6. Aug 1, 2015
    0
    used to be a decent game rpgs are not my style but the story was ok. it had decent classes that were kinda interesting and i enjoyed my firstused to be a decent game rpgs are not my style but the story was ok. it had decent classes that were kinda interesting and i enjoyed my first play through. but now blizzard has updated the game and broke it for basically all AMD graphics cards. it can be fixed by using old graphics drivers but not everyone can use old drivers and i also found out this has been a problem for more than a year so i doubt it will be fixed any time soon

    THIS GAME IS BROKEN FOR ALL AMD USERS UNLESS YOU WANT TO GO THROUGH HELL TO FIX IT
    Expand
  7. May 15, 2012
    0
    An all round disappointment and failure. I found little to no immersion in the actual game, not to mention ERROR 37. After playing for manyAn all round disappointment and failure. I found little to no immersion in the actual game, not to mention ERROR 37. After playing for many hours I lost hope to this long awaited sequel of over a decade. Shame on you Blizzard for making me spend my money. Expand

See all 4968 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2012

    The Best Videogames of 2012 Image
    Published: December 31, 2012
    As our Best of 2012 series continues, we reveal the year's best video games for each platform.