Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 86 Critics What's this?

User Score
3.9

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 8960 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Diablo III picks up the story twenty years after the events of Diablo II. Mephisto, Diablo, and Baal have been defeated, but the Worldstone, which once shielded the inhabitants of the world of Sanctuary from the forces of both the High Heavens and the Burning Hells, has been destroyed, and evil once again stirs in Tristram. Playing as a hero from one of five distinct character classes, players acquire powerful items, spells, and abilities as they explore new and familiar areas of Sanctuary and battle hordes of demons to safeguard the world from the horrors that have arisen. Diablo III features a custom 3D-graphics engine to render lush indoor and outdoor areas of Sanctuary with a high level of detail and vivid special effects. The game's physics-enhanced environments are interactive and destructible, offering traps and obstacles that create added danger for players and monsters alike. These elements, along with a new quest system and random scripted events, have been integrated into the game’s random-level generator, giving Diablo III the ultimate combination of dynamic gameplay and replayability. Cooperative and competitive play are available online through an upgraded version of Blizzard Entertainment’s renowned online gaming service, Battle.net. [Blizzard Entertainment] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 81 out of 86
  2. Negative: 1 out of 86
  1. May 24, 2012
    100
    Games this thoughtfully crafted don't happen very often, and the care that Blizzard has taken with Diablo 3 shows in every facet of its design and execution. It might not be perfect, but after 45 hours, I'm not sure where it missteps, and after 45 hours, I feel like I've only scratched the surface of what it has to offer. Diablo 3 is almost evil in how high a bar it's set for every PC action RPG to follow, and I wouldn't be surprised to see that bar remain for a very long time.
  2. May 24, 2012
    95
    While at first glance Diablo III seems to be a step back from it's predecessor, it's actually more complicated, and ultimately, a more satisfying experience.
  3. May 20, 2012
    92
    Getting online and into the game though, rewards players with one of the most engaging single-player and co-op experiences in the business, so if you have patience and can look past Blizzard's biggest oversight, you're in for one of the year's best games.
  4. May 16, 2012
    90
    Blizzard sets a new standard for the hack and slash genre with Diablo III. All conventional game elements like a smooth and fast-paced combat system, leveling up and the huge amount of variation in enemies already make for a complete and good game. Original attacks, challanging bosses and a nifty rewards system lift Diablo III to the next level and leaves the competition to bite its dust. The improved accesiblity makes the game slightly too easy though, especially in the start.
  5. May 19, 2012
    90
    It may not be the action-rpg-messiah that some may have expected, but it easily matches its predecessors... Blizzard's new creation defends the throne with a mix of proven gameplay and tons of features.
  6. May 22, 2012
    85
    There's a good chance you've played games a lot like Diablo III before, and at no point does it dare to surprise you by tinkering with its tried-and-true formula. But it creates such an enticing world and offers up such enjoyable abilities that it makes that formula feel fresh again.
  7. Jun 13, 2012
    45
    There is absolutely no denying that Diablo III continues to maintain the high artistic standards that it has kept over the years. But the dumbed character and inventory systems, coupled to the ridiculous always-on connection and the breathtaking arrogance of the"you'll play how we tell you to play" attitude makes playing this title a damned shame instead of a hell of a good time.

See all 86 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. May 15, 2012
    10
    I haven't had this much fun playing a game since Diablo II came out. After playing for several hours, I really can't complain about much. I haven't ran into a single bug myself, which is rather incredible for a game that just came out, though bugs do exist. I can't really think of any ways to make the game better. It's incredibly fun and addicting. They did a great job with this one. I'll probably be playing this game for many, many years to come.

    Also, why are people reviewing this game that haven't even played? Regardless of how good/bad you think it is, nobody cares about reviews from someone that hasn't played the game.
    Expand
  2. May 17, 2012
    10
    Stupid noob haters, the game is amazing.. if you don't like the graphics just use the Darkd3 mod and it will become amazing. This is the funniest game after Diablo 2 and me and my friend are in love with it.
    Giving 0 to this game mean that you should go play Call of Duty or The Sims.
    Expand
  3. May 16, 2012
    7
    Now that I've finally had a chance to play the game, I'm updating my earlier review. Pros: It's fun. The graphics are beautiful. It's fairly intuitive. The character classes are different enough to give the game some definite replay value. It's also fairly addictive. The sound is good. I also really like the in-game map. I haven't once had that "where the heck am I supposed to be going?!!" moment, which is a huge plus. Cons: The need to be connected to the internet to play is big downside of this game is a big downside. It wasn't something I knew about until just before I purchased it, and by then it was too late to curb my New Game Lust. When I'm at home, it won't be an issue, but I bought a new laptop just for this game, so I could take it with me on trips and such. That appears to have been a waste of money. As for the game itself, I am a bit disappointed in the skill leveling system. In the previous Diablo game, you earned skill points which you could invest in the skills you wanted. It resulted in highly individualised characters, which was a big draw of Diablo 2. Diablo 3 seems to give every character the same abilities as every other character of that class. At any time you can just change which abilities you have equipped and you'll be exactly the same as the next Barbarian or Witch Doctor. This is an aspect that severly HURTS replayability of this game.

    On the whole, it's still Diablo, a game I've loved since I was in High School. It just seems like a step down from Diablo 2. Maybe someday they'll come out with a Diablo 2.5, with updated graphics and a new character class or something (and no weird online-only DRM). Until then, this will have to do.
    Expand
  4. May 15, 2012
    2
    Craptastic. Played closed beta right up until release. Realized they were shipping a game nothing like the predecessors wrapped in Diablo packaging. Realized early on that only the biggest fans and those not paying attention would go for it. Advised friends not to go for it. Just read their reviews and my 2/10 looks good in respect. At least I'm not out $60 to $120. This game is to Diablo what Dawn of War 2 was to that franchise, a spinoff more than a sequel. Oh, and the story itself (I finished it through hell mode in the beta) appears to have been written by a fanfic lemon writer who really wanted old characters to hook up. Strike that, fanfiction is better. *shudder* Expand
  5. May 17, 2012
    1
    As said by so many before me, what a disappointment. Now im not talking about the connection errors, or even the fact that i can't play it offline. Im talking about the complete destruction of a game series i treasure. The game has completely been striped of the customizing aspect, why in the world would i have 2 of one char, type when i can't make them different. No attribute points too stack, no skills too single out and make powerful, and combine to make perfection. It's gameplay is slow, its too restrictet, the graphics look like something they have drawn from WOW... THIS IS NOT WOW. !!!!.
    I want to decide how to make my Char, not have everything chosen for me as i lvl up. Im very disapointed, after years of waiting, blizzard can't even deliver a worthy sequal. If you are a fan of D2 and are going to buy D3, Don't.... sooooo sad...
    Expand
  6. Apr 4, 2014
    0
    I think its fair to say that this game tanked bad, and their is no coming back to the high score that Diablo 2 set back in the day. In fact the only game now that comes close to that type of game play is Path of Exile. This game deserves only a zero anyone else who score above that has no respect for themselves and like have not played since the First Diablo. The game Has gotten better now since the roll out of ROS and I rated it a 6 for fixing many issues with the game. In all I feel that the game has been ruined and they need to move on and retire all three of these giant titles. Lets do somethings fresh Blizzard I think many would agree that we are getting tired of **** games being released from big vendors like yourself. Expand
  7. May 19, 2012
    0
    For background, I have played both Diablo 1 and Diablo 2 to an extent. I completed both games multiple times, and although it has been a while since I played the titles, I was completely distraught when I started my character on Diablo 3. The game-play was completely dumbed down to the point that a trained chimpanzee could complete the game without any problems, the graphics look as though they were taken out of WoW and darkened slightly. As I feared, Blizzard have forgotten how to make a game that is not the hugely successful WoW. Diablo 3 is a huge let down for anyone who has ever played either Diablo or Diablo 2, and I, in all honesty, cannot see how it would attract new players (aside from those who fell into the hype). I won't be a fool and say Blizzard "owned us" a great game, after this long of a wait, but after waiting for eleven years, expectations were high. They were met with Starcraft II, and they were simply destroyed with Diablo 3. It is as disappointing a game as you will ever find, and there is absolutely no way I am ever going to fall in love with it. For those reasons, my rating is a solid zero. Expand

See all 4910 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2012

    The Best Videogames of 2012 Image
    Published: December 31, 2012
    As our Best of 2012 series continues, we reveal the year's best video games for each platform.