Dinner Date Image
Metascore
  1. First Review
  2. Second Review
  3. Third Review
  4. Fourth Review

No score yet - based on 1 Critic Awaiting 3 more reviews What's this?

User Score
3.1

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 42 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In Dinner Date, you become Julian Luxemburg's subconscious and are privy to his thoughts as he is waiting for his date.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 1
  2. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. Apr 4, 2011
    60
    As an intellectual experiment, Dinner Date is interesting and even profound. As a meta-narrative about the social constructs that confront the modern man, it fascinates. As a game, it barely qualifies.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 25
  2. Negative: 15 out of 25
  1. Apr 20, 2013
    10
    Don't listen to the haters who think that all videogames must involve excessive violence and gore. I love me some headshots, but I can alsoDon't listen to the haters who think that all videogames must involve excessive violence and gore. I love me some headshots, but I can also appreciate a different kind of experience, which is what dinner date it. Expand
  2. Apr 23, 2013
    7
    By being produced by 1-2 guys, this really is a great achievement. The duologue is very interesting. It's worth two playthroughs at least.By being produced by 1-2 guys, this really is a great achievement. The duologue is very interesting. It's worth two playthroughs at least. You play as the subconscious, and don't make nor really control the character and his thoughts, though can influence them. I went through it a third time without touching a single button. Just an awkward young man waiting for his date. Pretty good. Expand
  3. Oct 11, 2012
    6
    Without a doubt, Dinner Date is one of the oddest games around. Less a game, but not exactly a movie, this game offers a unique experience byWithout a doubt, Dinner Date is one of the oddest games around. Less a game, but not exactly a movie, this game offers a unique experience by exploring the subconscious mind of Julian, who is at home, waiting for a pretty girl to show up at his flat for a candlelight dinner. You literally play Julian's subconscious. Through a series of quicktime events, you play through Julian's evening while awaiting his date. Everything is experienced through first person perspective, and all of the actions available are extremely subtle. To be entirely true, there's not a whole lot to this game. It's like reading an audiobook written by Kafka or something. Now, I'm not calling this game good. This game is flawed from the start. With interaction being incredibly minimal and an extremely short story, this game is likely to alienate many players. You can't change the story, nor can you directly change Julian's actions. There is always one way to play, and most of your time is spent - frankly - killing time as Julian monologues to himself. The accessibility to this game is extremely limited, and it is likely to deter most anyone who is willing to give it a shot. However, it's a unique experience, to be true. This is innovative, since it's never really been done before. And while this game isn't going to win a lot of praise for poorly executed innovation, it deserves praise for at least giving it a go. It's like watching an extremely short independent film that you're allowed to progress along - you are the key factor - and the story cannot be unless you influence it. Unique, again, but certainly not mindblowing. But let's give this game its due and proper. The score is fantastic, a moody piano the whole way through, which heightens your emotions, and definitely raises tension. The graphics are extremely well done, especially for such a small company, and the sound is incredible (although the eating sounds can be a bit unnerving). This game is almost 100% plot via dialogue, and reads portrays itself like an existentialist, post-modern piece of fiction. You get to see all the nervous flaws, unfortunate realities, and sad truths of Julian's mind. And while nearly any game can replicate this if they tried, this is a game that is able to start a deeper discussion on its story. Why is Julian's date late? Why does Julian deal with himself in the way that he does while waiting for her? Why does he carry many of his opinions, and why does he seem to self-deprecate? Also, for fans of Qwants, also known as Dinosaur Comics, there's a nod toward your favourite webcomic on Julian's fridge. Dinner Date is a big thinker's game. It's all about Julian thinking, and if you play, you'll most certainly think as well. You have to approach this game as less of a video game in the traditional sense, and more an interactive movie. The developers even suggest taking this game with a glass of wine, so there's some food for thought. Dinner Date is a nice novelty. But remember, the immersion - while deeply - is also very hollow, and with no replay value beyond re-experiencing the story, this game will likely bore you. The trade-off is a unique game, for cheap, with an excellent story and intricately thought out design. Whether you enjoy this or not rests on how opened you are to linear, and odd games. Expand
  4. Aug 7, 2013
    3
    Even if this is art, they did it all wrong.
    The experience is only 20 minutes long and you play the whole time in 1 single room.
    No matter
    Even if this is art, they did it all wrong.
    The experience is only 20 minutes long and you play the whole time in 1 single room.
    No matter what, Controlling your conciousness feels as "not needed" since the guy keeps talking automaticly, even if you don't do anything the only thing you have to do is drink stuff and smoke.
    Its also a bad thing that people who want to stop smoking or drinking and or have a porn problem they are influenced by the rude language in the game and interaction by the objects.
    Expand
  5. Feb 27, 2012
    0
    This is just boring. You are sitting, listening to this guy yapping. You can interact with/watch various objects in the game throughThis is just boring. You are sitting, listening to this guy yapping. You can interact with/watch various objects in the game through controlling this guys body. But this control is very very very very very limited. I feel ripped of. This is the worst game i've ever played and i really mean it. Expand
  6. Feb 20, 2012
    0
    In this "game" you're supposed to control his subconscious. You get to make him look at the clock, drink wine, eat bread, and mainly listen toIn this "game" you're supposed to control his subconscious. You get to make him look at the clock, drink wine, eat bread, and mainly listen to him rant and BS. One might argue it's an in-depth look into a person's view on dating or what not, but one can just as easily read a short story.. So even if you can make the argument that the story is great, the "game" is still garbage. I bought this for 2.50 and I still feel ripped off. Expand
  7. Mar 26, 2011
    0
    It's the worst thing you could spend your money on. This "game" lasts around 20 minutes. It's about us controlling a conciousness of a guy whoIt's the worst thing you could spend your money on. This "game" lasts around 20 minutes. It's about us controlling a conciousness of a guy who is waiting for a girl, which he invited for a dinner. We do such things as drinking wine, eating soup, while we listen to his thoughts. Whatever we do doesn't really matter, ending is always the same. The graphics are poor and the music is annoying. I wouldn't recommend this game even for free. And it's not worth any money. Summary.

    Pros:
    -None.

    Cons:
    -Everything else.
    Expand

See all 25 User Reviews