Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 4 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 4
  2. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Apr 26, 2011
    60
    Despite the presence of dinosaurs and a good dose of irony, the game fails to distinguish itself from many other exponents of the genre.
  2. Apr 20, 2011
    55
    Sloppy controls, class imbalances, mediocre maps and a general lack of polish make Dino D-Day a tough game to enjoy. Once it's done making you laugh, there isn't much else worth sticking around for.
  3. May 22, 2011
    50
    Awesome idea but amateur execution means it costs an arm and a leg for what it is. [June 2011, p.62]
  4. May 18, 2011
    50
    Like a dinosaur skeleton in your local museum, Dino D-Day is barebones, missing some pieces, and ancient-looking. [July 2011, p.78]
User Score
6.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 120 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 57
  2. Negative: 17 out of 57
  1. Aug 15, 2011
    10
    I enjoy the fact that the graphics aren't perfect like most new games. It gives the game an older feel. Considering it has dinosaurs, thatI enjoy the fact that the graphics aren't perfect like most new games. It gives the game an older feel. Considering it has dinosaurs, that isn't a bad thing. I also really enjoy the dinosaur aspect. It's brilliant. Give it a go and for a good length of time. I have to agree if you enjoyed TF2 you will enjoy this. Don't be put off by bad reviews. Everyone has different tastes. Full Review »
  2. Jul 30, 2011
    7
    Before I clarify, I want to say that this mod is very enjoyable, and deserves more credit than it has been given. As always, the SourceBefore I clarify, I want to say that this mod is very enjoyable, and deserves more credit than it has been given. As always, the Source engine provides great graphics and physics that have aged fantastically. Don't get me started on the silly consumer fetish for more Bloom "a la" Crysis. Please ignore any review that starts with "graphics are awful". Don't get me wrong, I absolutely love the top end graphics technology and I enjoyed Crysis very much and the tech has grown even more since then, but don't discount a game because it isn't shiny. That issue aside, balance is very hard to achieve for a game such as this with a crazy idea like pairing humans and dinosaurs, so they deserve some breathing room where balance is concerned. As is, they've done an amazing job. The classes are unique and have their own special abilities that take a little practice to get used to, but well worth it once you know how they work. The developers are still hard at work on new content such as classes, dinosaurs, maps, and gameplay tweaks. The source engine is renowned for the user based content so look forward to additional material released by the community such as more mods and as always, lots of maps. This is a game you will want to come back to and play again, even after the initial novelty wears off, which is more than can be said for a plethora of current titles. Full Review »
  3. Aug 6, 2011
    7
    I have had as much fun playing this game as I have any deathmatch-style Source mod -- and as long as that is what you are expecting, youI have had as much fun playing this game as I have any deathmatch-style Source mod -- and as long as that is what you are expecting, you should not be disappointed. While it is true the Allies and Axis are not well-balanced, the teams switch each round, so no one is stuck on the weaker team for long -- and when the Allies *do* pull out a victory, it is particularly satisfying. Graphically, it is not as terrible as many are saying: the human characters are decent but nothing special, and the dinosaur characters are actually fairly good in appearance, and very well animated. Only the level graphics are a bit of a letdown -- they get the job done, but they are fairly generic, and not very detailed. As far as gameplay is concerned, playing as a human character is just like any other FPS -- none of their weapons or abilities are anything new. Playing as a dinosaur, on the other hand, is another matter: each type is unique, plays differently, and really lets you *feel* like a deadly animal from the past (notwithstanding that with half of them, you are a deadly animal from the past that the Nazis have strapped a gun onto). Particularly noteworthy are the velociraptor, which is exceptionally fast and agile, and the tyrannosaurus rex, which is the giant lumbering engine of death that it should be. So overall, as long as you know what you are getting into in terms of balance, it is a very fun game to play, and it will likely only get better over time. Full Review »