Dino D-Day Image
Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 4 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 120 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The year is 1942. Adolf Hitler has succeeded in resurrecting dinosaurs. The reptilian horde has trampled Europe and the Mediterranean. Can nothing stop the Nazis dinosaur army?

    Dino D-Day is a frantic, action-packed multiplayer game that transports you to a World War II that should have
    The year is 1942. Adolf Hitler has succeeded in resurrecting dinosaurs. The reptilian horde has trampled Europe and the Mediterranean. Can nothing stop the Nazis dinosaur army?

    Dino D-Day is a frantic, action-packed multiplayer game that transports you to a World War II that should have been. You and your friends can battle online choosing to serve the cause of the Allied nations or the Nazis. The Allied side includes six playable characters each with unique weapons and abilities to use in combat. Gun down a Dilophosaur with your trusty M1 Garand, blast a kamikaze pterosaur out of the sky with your Thompson sub-machine gun, or toss out a dead jackrabbit to lure a raptor into a trap.

    As an Axis player you will have your choice of three human classes and three dinosaur classes. Ambush your enemy with speed and stealth as the Raptor, mercilessly pound the enemy with a heavy 20mm gun as the Desmatosuchus, rampage through enemy groups as the Dilophosaur or pick up a body and throw it at an enemy for a double kill! Or if you prefer a rifle in your hand, the German soldier classes are the perfect complement to their dinosaur comrades.

    Youve played World War II games beforebut have you played a World War II game with dinosaurs?
    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 4
  2. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Apr 26, 2011
    60
    Despite the presence of dinosaurs and a good dose of irony, the game fails to distinguish itself from many other exponents of the genre.
  2. Apr 20, 2011
    55
    Sloppy controls, class imbalances, mediocre maps and a general lack of polish make Dino D-Day a tough game to enjoy. Once it's done making you laugh, there isn't much else worth sticking around for.
  3. May 18, 2011
    50
    Like a dinosaur skeleton in your local museum, Dino D-Day is barebones, missing some pieces, and ancient-looking. [July 2011, p.78]
  4. May 22, 2011
    50
    Awesome idea but amateur execution means it costs an arm and a leg for what it is. [June 2011, p.62]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 57
  2. Negative: 17 out of 57
  1. Aug 15, 2011
    10
    I enjoy the fact that the graphics aren't perfect like most new games. It gives the game an older feel. Considering it has dinosaurs, thatI enjoy the fact that the graphics aren't perfect like most new games. It gives the game an older feel. Considering it has dinosaurs, that isn't a bad thing. I also really enjoy the dinosaur aspect. It's brilliant. Give it a go and for a good length of time. I have to agree if you enjoyed TF2 you will enjoy this. Don't be put off by bad reviews. Everyone has different tastes. Expand
  2. Feb 11, 2012
    10
    this game is as bad as it gets, I thought I would give the game ( basic an second look), after I read an pc gamer review from january 2012,this game is as bad as it gets, I thought I would give the game ( basic an second look), after I read an pc gamer review from january 2012, all I can say is pc gamer got it wrong if buy this game you are burning up your money . The game is just poorly made Expand
  3. Jun 19, 2012
    9
    Nothing but a bunch of haters above. This game is fun and funny. How it hasn't taken off I have no idea. People dont need super games toNothing but a bunch of haters above. This game is fun and funny. How it hasn't taken off I have no idea. People dont need super games to have fun. if you like cs:s and dod:s, then you will enjoy this game. Graphics are exactly what they are. older. they arent like these new super games comming out but they arent repulsive either. At least not to me. I would say it is definately worth the ten dollars on steam! Expand
  4. Mar 31, 2015
    7
    This game is a fun class-based "fps" (many of the Dino's are melee only), the teams are a little unbalanced but they switch every round. TheThis game is a fun class-based "fps" (many of the Dino's are melee only), the teams are a little unbalanced but they switch every round. The graphics are comparable to Counter-Strike: Source, which isn't always a bad thing. The Micro-raptor and Compsognathus (or Compy) are very difficult to hit as the Allies, which can be very frustrating when you cant hit the thing that is killing you.

    Over all it is a good game but it still has room for Improvement.
    Expand
  5. Jul 30, 2011
    7
    Before I clarify, I want to say that this mod is very enjoyable, and deserves more credit than it has been given. As always, the SourceBefore I clarify, I want to say that this mod is very enjoyable, and deserves more credit than it has been given. As always, the Source engine provides great graphics and physics that have aged fantastically. Don't get me started on the silly consumer fetish for more Bloom "a la" Crysis. Please ignore any review that starts with "graphics are awful". Don't get me wrong, I absolutely love the top end graphics technology and I enjoyed Crysis very much and the tech has grown even more since then, but don't discount a game because it isn't shiny. That issue aside, balance is very hard to achieve for a game such as this with a crazy idea like pairing humans and dinosaurs, so they deserve some breathing room where balance is concerned. As is, they've done an amazing job. The classes are unique and have their own special abilities that take a little practice to get used to, but well worth it once you know how they work. The developers are still hard at work on new content such as classes, dinosaurs, maps, and gameplay tweaks. The source engine is renowned for the user based content so look forward to additional material released by the community such as more mods and as always, lots of maps. This is a game you will want to come back to and play again, even after the initial novelty wears off, which is more than can be said for a plethora of current titles. Expand
  6. Apr 21, 2014
    4
    There are many obvious flaws, not only in design but in actual appealing terms. The game is decent enough to play for a few hours before youThere are many obvious flaws, not only in design but in actual appealing terms. The game is decent enough to play for a few hours before you say: "I'm not playing this again." Eventually you come back and pick it up for a little while longer. But, it's not that great. The idea of having dinosaurs in the 'Hitler era' sounds kind of stupid anyway. Sure enough, it didn't provide much fun for more than a few hours. 4/10 Expand
  7. Jul 31, 2011
    0
    pile of crap, doesn't even work, just crashes everytime when try to join a server, luckily this was free for weekend. I would avoid this gamepile of crap, doesn't even work, just crashes everytime when try to join a server, luckily this was free for weekend. I would avoid this game like the plague. Expand

See all 57 User Reviews