User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 19 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 19
  2. Negative: 3 out of 19

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 6, 2011
    7
    Din's Curse is purely a hack n' slash at it's very core. What separates this hack n' slash from other more mainstreams, is one the Depths of Peril universe and two the randomization of levels. The combination of skill tree's to create unique classes is not new to the RPG/Action scene. It's quite the standard, Soldak entertainment understood this, their group could see what drives the hackDin's Curse is purely a hack n' slash at it's very core. What separates this hack n' slash from other more mainstreams, is one the Depths of Peril universe and two the randomization of levels. The combination of skill tree's to create unique classes is not new to the RPG/Action scene. It's quite the standard, Soldak entertainment understood this, their group could see what drives the hack n slash market. They've put out two very enjoyable products in Din's Curse and Din's Curse Demon War. The gameplay is simplistic, it's not anything new. Animations are well done, given the built from scratch engine. The game will run on most systems, even older ones. Music is soft, it doesn't overshadow the worldly elements. The story is very simple and lacks any sort of development, but that's not a driving force and honestly shouldn't matter in this style of game. I'm giving it a 7/10, I would recommend playing this one and the expansion. Check out Depth's of Peril too, solid games, by a intelligent gaming company. Expand
  2. Aug 26, 2012
    6
    Take Diablo 2, remove the storyline, make the character types and skill trees less interesting, and finally make it neverending with a decent sliding scale of mobs/character level and this is what you get. It has the customary moreishness of most decent hack 'n' slash titles but it's lacking soul. If you like your hack and slash to have very little brain involvement and lots of action thenTake Diablo 2, remove the storyline, make the character types and skill trees less interesting, and finally make it neverending with a decent sliding scale of mobs/character level and this is what you get. It has the customary moreishness of most decent hack 'n' slash titles but it's lacking soul. If you like your hack and slash to have very little brain involvement and lots of action then you will love this game and come back to it over and over. If you prefer something just a little more cerebral then look elsewhere. Expand
  3. Mar 15, 2011
    1
    A Diablo-like "slash everything in your way" game. PC Gamer is quoted as saying "anything can happen", but apparently they are talking about random event generation, not anything particularly interesting in a storyline. I didn't come close to dying the first time all the way through a "city". On the second city apparently I waited a few seconds too long, and by the time I got to theA Diablo-like "slash everything in your way" game. PC Gamer is quoted as saying "anything can happen", but apparently they are talking about random event generation, not anything particularly interesting in a storyline. I didn't come close to dying the first time all the way through a "city". On the second city apparently I waited a few seconds too long, and by the time I got to the surface, almost everyone had died, including people I needed for quests. There is no restoring a previous game, so whatever spot I'd got myself into was unrecoverable. I removed the game from my computer. There's nothing here that hasn't been done better and a long time ago. Does it seem that there's an inverse correlation between License Key length and game quality? Somebody back in the marketing department has an inflated idea of what they've accomplished? Expand
  4. Apr 15, 2011
    10
    Alright, in case you stopped reading about this game after reading some of its quirks from other reviews, I would give this one a chance. For those familiar with diablo 2, this game's basics will come natural however, it is probably 5 times more intense in regards to what can happen and what you are up against. Every world is different and because of that, you will almost always beAlright, in case you stopped reading about this game after reading some of its quirks from other reviews, I would give this one a chance. For those familiar with diablo 2, this game's basics will come natural however, it is probably 5 times more intense in regards to what can happen and what you are up against. Every world is different and because of that, you will almost always be surprised. It's true that there really isnt much of a story, but i cant name an action/rpg that had a story. I would say that if you like a challenge, to give it a try as it will really test you. If you dont like fast paced games, then you probably shouldnt be reading this. Expand
  5. Sep 29, 2012
    8
    More than just "another ARPG clone", Din's Curse is a constantly-evolving game of strategy that sees the player trapped in a tug-of-war between the dungeon and the village.

    In most games the monsters seem content to sit around in their caves, twiddling their thumbs (or other, more demonic, appendages) until some brave adventurer comes crashing in to ruin their day. In Din's Curse the
    More than just "another ARPG clone", Din's Curse is a constantly-evolving game of strategy that sees the player trapped in a tug-of-war between the dungeon and the village.

    In most games the monsters seem content to sit around in their caves, twiddling their thumbs (or other, more demonic, appendages) until some brave adventurer comes crashing in to ruin their day. In Din's Curse the dungeon FIGHTS BACK and if you're not careful the evil will come spilling out of the earth, murdering villagers and burning the town to the ground.

    Don't worry, if you fail, the god Din will give you another chance to prove yourself, in a brand new village, each time bringing a fresh new set of challenges and rewards.

    With literally hundreds of different spell and skill builds possible, a hybrid-class feature that I wish was incorporated in every other game, a constant supply of enemies to slash and loot to... well, loot, Din's Curse is a truly innovative game that pushes the genre forward.
    Expand
  6. Feb 25, 2012
    4
    First let me say that the price point on this game is too high and my score reflects that, titan quest is a better looking and playing game (particularly when you add in lilith mod) and costs less. There are similarities to other games as people have surely mentioned, but dins curse does its own thing with the randomly generated events (that often seem to come at the most inopportuneFirst let me say that the price point on this game is too high and my score reflects that, titan quest is a better looking and playing game (particularly when you add in lilith mod) and costs less. There are similarities to other games as people have surely mentioned, but dins curse does its own thing with the randomly generated events (that often seem to come at the most inopportune moments) and thats about all it really has. I dont care that it is an indie game, it looks VERY bad (you do not score things based on indie/mainstream... its stupid to pretend indie is some excuse for a lack of quality) and has .. i dont even know that i would call it a bad plot since it is more just a series of objectives. "Save the town" is the plot? because it never evolves much beyond that.. Anyways, while the gameplay is "ok" i am more impressed that they managed to get it online so i can play with friends, seriously good job... unfortunately most of my friends got bored of it after 1 day, so yea i guess "ok" isnt good enough for some people. Overall if it didnt cost 30$ for a third rate game i would say "yes! this is an 8!" but game + pathetic expansion costing that much most people are going to feel ripped off, it just isnt really "good" in any areas, it is just mediocre. Side thought: if you have ANYTHING negative to say about a game at all it isnt a 10. Expand
  7. Jun 9, 2012
    9
    I found this game strangely addictive. The graphics are poor and the adventuring repetitive, but something about it kept me coming back ... it's the amazingly versatile character development system, combined with loot hunting and the unpredictable, occasionally very funny/frustrating/rewarding emergent situations that come about as you try to save each town from destruction. And the combatI found this game strangely addictive. The graphics are poor and the adventuring repetitive, but something about it kept me coming back ... it's the amazingly versatile character development system, combined with loot hunting and the unpredictable, occasionally very funny/frustrating/rewarding emergent situations that come about as you try to save each town from destruction. And the combat is nicely immersive most of the time, despite the rough, even gaudy graphics. I never quite know what's going to happen when I boot the game up, and that keeps me returning. Well done Soldak. PS this is not just a diablo clone! It's very different, but you have to give it a bit of time to grow on you. Expand
  8. Nov 8, 2012
    10
    It's a really great game not meant to be played alone. If you play with a friend that's when it really shines. As good as Torchlight (the original) and better than Diablo 3 imo.
  9. Jul 28, 2013
    10
    This is one of those indie games you search for and when you finally find it your thinking "Why haven't i heard of this before?". It's a great action hack n' slash game with lots of loot, random dungeons, random quests, towns to defend/save. Just a great mix of features that makes this game a pretty intense game to play. Don't let the graphics and sound spoil the game. Indie developersThis is one of those indie games you search for and when you finally find it your thinking "Why haven't i heard of this before?". It's a great action hack n' slash game with lots of loot, random dungeons, random quests, towns to defend/save. Just a great mix of features that makes this game a pretty intense game to play. Don't let the graphics and sound spoil the game. Indie developers like this only survive by word of mouth and these guys deserve a break after the great games they have released. Expand
  10. Jun 21, 2013
    9
    This game (with all other Soldak games) is just right and fun. You get a lot of control over the generated world, enemies and events. It's amazing the level of wold customisation, enemies and class possibilities.
    If you haven't invested more than 4 hours with this game,do it. Will suck you down for many many hours.
    The game play excels and graphics although good, are secondary. When a
    This game (with all other Soldak games) is just right and fun. You get a lot of control over the generated world, enemies and events. It's amazing the level of wold customisation, enemies and class possibilities.
    If you haven't invested more than 4 hours with this game,do it. Will suck you down for many many hours.
    The game play excels and graphics although good, are secondary. When a game is this good, you can look over any flaws might have.
    Expand
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. May 10, 2011
    87
    It has tons of options to play around with to let the player experience the game exactly how he/she wants to. Character building is just as addictive as finding better loot.
  2. With Din's Curse, players will have access to something that is familiar and fresh all at once. Having new scenarios play out each time really heightens the replay value of the title.
  3. Din's Curse is just another Diablo clone. Ok, maybe It tries to put some innovations to the original formula but, at the end of the story, offers the some experience with some not so inspired design choices and a mediocre graphic.