DiRT 2 PC

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 363 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 26 out of 363
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 2, 2011
    10
    I was never a fan of simulation racers (I prefer Arcade) until I played DiRT2. The interface and world look beautiful, and the game is challenging and fun. The ability to roll back time after making a mistake in a race is super cool. I'd highly recommend playing with an analog controller or some kind (I use an Xbox360 controller on PC), since you need precise analog controls toI was never a fan of simulation racers (I prefer Arcade) until I played DiRT2. The interface and world look beautiful, and the game is challenging and fun. The ability to roll back time after making a mistake in a race is super cool. I'd highly recommend playing with an analog controller or some kind (I use an Xbox360 controller on PC), since you need precise analog controls to maintain control. Expand
  2. Apr 18, 2011
    10
    This game is seriously underrated, and I think it deserved a little better when it came out. This is the funnest racing game I have ever played in my entire life, hours and hours and many races in a variety of places, you can choose which difficulty you want in each individual race, the more difficult, the more money you earn. I agree with most posting on here, the keyboard is an absoluteThis game is seriously underrated, and I think it deserved a little better when it came out. This is the funnest racing game I have ever played in my entire life, hours and hours and many races in a variety of places, you can choose which difficulty you want in each individual race, the more difficult, the more money you earn. I agree with most posting on here, the keyboard is an absolute NO for this game, it just doesn't feel right and it's just plain hard to drive (see Urh or JackBauer's reviews)...my solution was to buy a wireless xbox360 controller for Windows. Problem solved, and driving was like 1000 times easier. I also agree that the dialogue is a bit dumbed down, but that doesn't mean it's a bad game, it's a video game anyway. So if you are going to buy this game, think about buying an xbox360 controller (wired or wireless, your choice) along with it so you don't have to struggle with the keyboard. Expand
  3. Nov 4, 2011
    7
    Graphics: The graphics are just perfect, the tracks and the cars are beautiful. You need a good graphics card for this one. (10) Sound: The soundtrack (this is very subjective and depends on tastes) is brilliant, and, if your tastes are like mine, you'll be searching the internet for the full soundtrack in a couple of hours of gameplay. The crowd noises, engines, etc are good, each car hasGraphics: The graphics are just perfect, the tracks and the cars are beautiful. You need a good graphics card for this one. (10) Sound: The soundtrack (this is very subjective and depends on tastes) is brilliant, and, if your tastes are like mine, you'll be searching the internet for the full soundtrack in a couple of hours of gameplay. The crowd noises, engines, etc are good, each car has its distinctive sound. (9) Gameplay: I bought my XBOX 360 controller for PC specially for this game, and I don't regret it. The controls are smooth with a gamepad, and with a little practice, your car responds exactly as you'd expect. About flashbacks... I'm not a fan of flashbacks, it feels like you don't pay for your mistakes (in games like F1 flashbacks should be a crime), but the chances of crashing in the jungle or similar difficult stages are quite high if you aren't careful, so it's not that bad. Loading times are correct and spiced with several stats. (8) Fun and replayability: The game's main flaw. There's a shortage of stages to play in, and most of them are reverse versions of others, some races are just higher difficulty versions of previous ones, and the interesting Gate Crasher and Domination game modes almost disappear when you move to the Pro races. There are no classic, stage-based rally races, and, in the end, you'll feel like "meh" and probably won't complete the 100 available races. It's impossible to play with a friend in split-screen, you only have Online mode when it comes to multiplayer. To sum it up, repetitive and dumbed down. (4) Expand
  4. Nov 27, 2011
    9
    Extremely fun and exciting racing. Great graphics on the PC and the sound is very immersive as well. The driving has many options to adjust for your level of expertise which really do make a difference. The driving physics are amazing and this simply wants you to start one race after another once you get used to winning. Even losing motivates you to start the race over (which is very swiftExtremely fun and exciting racing. Great graphics on the PC and the sound is very immersive as well. The driving has many options to adjust for your level of expertise which really do make a difference. The driving physics are amazing and this simply wants you to start one race after another once you get used to winning. Even losing motivates you to start the race over (which is very swift to do even in middle of race).
    There are many varied tracks and just feel so realistic and pleasing to watch while driving.

    The only gripe about this game is that there is a tight limit on what you can do with cars. Plus, many cars are not even worth purchasing in order to win races because there will be one or two you can buy that are cheaper which have better stats than a more expensive one. So it doesn't really make you feel like having a strong will to work your way up to buy the more expensive cars. Also the only things you can customize is your paintjob and some worthless props for the inside of car.
    But you will have a great time racing for sure and definitely play this game if you enjoy racing games or simply want a fun time racing.
    Expand
  5. Jan 10, 2012
    10
    DiRt 2 is my favorite rally game of all time! They made the interactive menus come alive, helping you to forget your playing a game. The handling (although not realistic) is very enjoyable even on a keyboard. I've played this straight through twice with only a keyboard and enjoyed every minute of it. I can recommend this game to all rally, racing, driving, and sim fans with no worries.DiRt 2 is my favorite rally game of all time! They made the interactive menus come alive, helping you to forget your playing a game. The handling (although not realistic) is very enjoyable even on a keyboard. I've played this straight through twice with only a keyboard and enjoyed every minute of it. I can recommend this game to all rally, racing, driving, and sim fans with no worries. Even today it still looks amazing. 10/10. Expand
  6. May 21, 2011
    8
    Dirt 2 is an insanely fun game, whether you're playing on a keyboard or a controller. The graphics are excellent and I find it very delightful to drive, not only in a fast manner, but also a flashy one, just so I can watch how well I can perform tricks and how awesome they look in the replay. The controls on the keyboard are just fine. They are twitchy and fast, and that's how you wantDirt 2 is an insanely fun game, whether you're playing on a keyboard or a controller. The graphics are excellent and I find it very delightful to drive, not only in a fast manner, but also a flashy one, just so I can watch how well I can perform tricks and how awesome they look in the replay. The controls on the keyboard are just fine. They are twitchy and fast, and that's how you want them: you control how much you steer by how quickly you tap the keys. There are a few problems, however, like the fact that there is too little rallying, and to many other events. There are also very few cars and customization is regrettably limited. Sure, you can have a hula girl in your dash and some pimp fluffy dice hangin' from the mirror, but if you like to tune your performance properly you'll be disappointed. Characters and the whole mood of the game are seemingly hyperactive, but this is a racing game: just drive and listen to the music.
    In conclusion, in terms of content the game is lacking, but when it comes down to it few things are as thrilling as drifting your way through turns or dipping into water, having your windshield all covered up in it and being unable to see until the wipers have done their job, so this game scores big time on fun. And in the end, why else do we play games, if not for fun?
    Expand
  7. Aug 31, 2011
    7
    Great racing game, but unfortunately it"s not a rally game anymore. I miss the rally races. The few maps makes the game boring after a few hours. The same maps over and over again. Driving with keyboard sucks, using a controller is weird. But both the graphics and the music is great (especially the music).
  8. Mar 8, 2013
    10
    It is a really amazing game. It is released in 2009, but is better looking than most racing games released recently (I mean after 2011). As a kind of simulating game, it is hard to master the control, but you can feel the excitement even though you can't play really well, and once you really master and beat your opponent, you are like the happiest man on earth ^_^ To some extent, it isIt is a really amazing game. It is released in 2009, but is better looking than most racing games released recently (I mean after 2011). As a kind of simulating game, it is hard to master the control, but you can feel the excitement even though you can't play really well, and once you really master and beat your opponent, you are like the happiest man on earth ^_^ To some extent, it is more exciting than those pursuiting racing games. The reward and career system is also very fascinating. To earn more money, you need to get better result in the race, and eventually unlock many new events. There is multi-player mode, but very few people are playing online, so single-player mode is more entertaining if you want to buy it now. Expand
  9. Nick
    Dec 21, 2009
    9
    At first the *EXTREME* theme and X-Games focus were a turn off, but once I realized that you can turn off the in-car comments and choose to drive rally and landrush events while ignoring the trucks and buggies I found myself having a ton of fun. This is not a serious rally simulator in the vein of previous Colin McRae games, but it is a really enjoyable driving game. Damage has been toned At first the *EXTREME* theme and X-Games focus were a turn off, but once I realized that you can turn off the in-car comments and choose to drive rally and landrush events while ignoring the trucks and buggies I found myself having a ton of fun. This is not a serious rally simulator in the vein of previous Colin McRae games, but it is a really enjoyable driving game. Damage has been toned down and most races significantly shortened, so it is very much marketed to the short attention span crowd. Despite this nerfing of the rally sim, it still is a tremendous amount of fun to play, so I give it a 9. It is different from earlier Colin McRae games, but just as fun, in its own way. Expand
  10. JoeW
    Dec 23, 2009
    10
    Got this as an early Christmas gift from my girlfriend, and I am loving every minute of it. I turned the graphics up to full whack on DX9, and even on my relatively old / underpowered Athlon X2 2.7ghz, and 9800GT set up, I was getting a constant, solid 40fps. Graphics are astoundingly good considering how smoothly the game runs, and the sound is excellent. The cars handle very well, and Got this as an early Christmas gift from my girlfriend, and I am loving every minute of it. I turned the graphics up to full whack on DX9, and even on my relatively old / underpowered Athlon X2 2.7ghz, and 9800GT set up, I was getting a constant, solid 40fps. Graphics are astoundingly good considering how smoothly the game runs, and the sound is excellent. The cars handle very well, and although the handling does have a smack of the arcade about it, it's very very fun. The only niggle I have is the fact you have to sign into Windows live to utilise your saved games, which is a pain if you want to play on the go, and can't find a wifi spot, but it's otherwise not too much of a problem. I love this game, and it's a worthy successor to the Colin McRae name. Expand
  11. Chris
    Jan 7, 2010
    10
    Mind blowing graphics in DX11 mode. Utterly brilliant gameplay, can't think of a better rally game out there/
  12. Jan 4, 2011
    9
    This is one of few racing games that makes realistic driving quite fun. The game is wrapped in a cloak of shiny, impressive graphics combined with decent gameplay that makes it feel like a very good game. Some of the modes, however, are quite hard to get the hang of and you will likely find yourself in last place many times before you do. Personally, I don't have a problem using a keyboardThis is one of few racing games that makes realistic driving quite fun. The game is wrapped in a cloak of shiny, impressive graphics combined with decent gameplay that makes it feel like a very good game. Some of the modes, however, are quite hard to get the hang of and you will likely find yourself in last place many times before you do. Personally, I don't have a problem using a keyboard to play this with, and although i'd rather use a mouse for the menu the controls are fine. Overall, a very good racer. Expand
  13. TimO
    Jan 4, 2010
    9
    Codemasters has this type of game refined to near perfection. The car/truck feel is just the right balance of realism and fun. The vehicles have a sense of weight and momentum, which seems to be one of the most difficult things to capture in a racing sim/game. They also include a proper in-car view that is missing from so many "consolized" games, but PC players have come to expect. Great Codemasters has this type of game refined to near perfection. The car/truck feel is just the right balance of realism and fun. The vehicles have a sense of weight and momentum, which seems to be one of the most difficult things to capture in a racing sim/game. They also include a proper in-car view that is missing from so many "consolized" games, but PC players have come to expect. Great graphics, fast game play and races are a good length if you don't have hours to play at a time. The one thing that kept me from giving this game a 10 is the "first person" menu system. While its slick and initially very cool, it starts getting in the way when you just want to retry and event without losing the cash/experience from a previous try... You have to go clear out of the pit area, into your trailer, re-select the event, then you're taken back to the pit area again. A "Retry Event" right in the pit area (but after you had been credited your points for previous race) would eliminate this minor complaint. Expand
  14. RyanC
    Dec 30, 2009
    9
    The greatest racing game ever I played!! Very beautiful and real graphics with DX11 is just a part of this game. CodeMaster is the god of the racing game genre
  15. johne
    Jan 14, 2010
    10
    Beautiful and fun. Jack Bauer, its called a game pad! about 20 bucks and the game is perfect.
  16. JulianF
    Dec 28, 2009
    9
    Since Mobile One Rally Championship back in '00 I havn't seen a better gameplay in a rally game. The handling and physics of the cars, along with sense of speed are almost touching rFactor, only with graphics from '09.
  17. Dec 2, 2010
    10
    ADRENALINE RUSHED! Driving manual, braking at the corner, pulling the e-brake, downshifting for the front end to whip back straight, this game is FUN. Codemasters got everything right. The game plays well, the UI is great, menus as well, but the physics are outstanding. If you like racing GET THIS GAME.
  18. RodrigoM
    Dec 8, 2009
    10
    feel the excitement of a real race! this is best racing game since Top Gear on SNES.
  19. MichaelW
    Dec 13, 2009
    10
    Fantastic in so many ways. A definite recommendation here.
  20. BridgerB
    Dec 9, 2009
    10
    Just about as good as an off road racing game can get as far as I'm concerned. The only real issue I have is that I have an unusual name so I had to select some random nickname, but other than that it's a really great game.
  21. shamimarafatrocky
    Dec 9, 2009
    10
    another Great game from codemasters! Dirt, Grid were great too. if u are a gamer play it. not available for noobs. get pro at racing. :D
  22. GregB
    Dec 11, 2009
    9
    Excellent racing. The car physics and handling are consistent and well done for a more arcade style of rally game. The graphics are excellent and the audio is also terrific. The inclusion of new race styles over more traditional rally events is a nice touch, though I would rather see more emphasis on point-to-point rally than the X-games style events that they've gone for. The online Excellent racing. The car physics and handling are consistent and well done for a more arcade style of rally game. The graphics are excellent and the audio is also terrific. The inclusion of new race styles over more traditional rally events is a nice touch, though I would rather see more emphasis on point-to-point rally than the X-games style events that they've gone for. The online performance is great and will give this game some staying power; that's where the circuit courses will be much appreciated. The absence of car customization as you can do in Grid is a shame. Picking from a very limited set of liveries for online games is not as fun as the ability to make custom paint jobs and apply decals. However, the improved spectate mode is very welcome after the inexplicable way it was implemented in Grid. All in all, a great game with satisfying single and multi-player components both from the perspective of the driving and the eye-candy. Expand
  23. AniqA
    Dec 18, 2009
    9
    If you have a racing wheel, especially the g25 - this is the only off-road racing game worth getting :D
  24. YasarA
    Dec 8, 2009
    10
    The best rally racing game ever, the new online system is really fun and very challenging. The graphic is wonderful. Overall it is really good.
  25. miked
    Jan 1, 2010
    10
    amazing graphics, gameplay is top notch. no crashes or bugs whatsoever. DX11 effects make it even more sublime. If you like racing, or even if you don't, this is a must buy!
  26. JamesI
    Jan 22, 2010
    10
    Jack Bauer, get a xbox 360 remote (wireless or usb) and try that. It's an amazing game with hours of play!
  27. NicholasP
    Jan 25, 2010
    10
    Fun, super realistic and immersive. Bravo Codemasters - Another masterpiece. Surpasses GRID by a impressive amount.
  28. MikeY
    Dec 27, 2009
    10
    One of the best racing games yet.
  29. kungfu
    Jan 2, 2010
    9
    Great game overall, the positives aspects are : The new graphics with direct x 11 will put you in an dimension that uve never seen, dirts 2 is incredibly amazing. Secondly, the scenario, a dreamer who wants to ride and starts from nothing to ride, with tons of cars and their special design, you can make a multitude of cars and boost them. Also, a third positive aspect is that the Ai can Great game overall, the positives aspects are : The new graphics with direct x 11 will put you in an dimension that uve never seen, dirts 2 is incredibly amazing. Secondly, the scenario, a dreamer who wants to ride and starts from nothing to ride, with tons of cars and their special design, you can make a multitude of cars and boost them. Also, a third positive aspect is that the Ai can say your name, if your dude would say : Hey you, get that car and come here, in dirt 2, it wouldn' t say you, it would say your name, but with the AI's voice, wich is rare in games. I only see one negative aspect of the game, this game i not for begginers, its an experienced racing game, don't forget it. Expand
  30. JuanV
    Dec 28, 2009
    8
    DiRT 1 fell short on gameplay and online. But this one is worse... The game feels like the X-Games and not like Rally, I'm a rally fan, and I had great expectations of this game, but for me, it failed horribly in that aspect, is an almost an insult to call this game a rally game. If you look at it in a good side, it does everything else flawlessly. But overall the Big Event DiRT 1 fell short on gameplay and online. But this one is worse... The game feels like the X-Games and not like Rally, I'm a rally fan, and I had great expectations of this game, but for me, it failed horribly in that aspect, is an almost an insult to call this game a rally game. If you look at it in a good side, it does everything else flawlessly. But overall the Big Event atmosphere makes me feel uncomfortable playing the game, it doesn't even feel like DiRT, feels more like Tony Hawk, Guitar Hero World Tour or Need for Speed. Also didn't like the music, again, its like an X-Games and not Rally. Expand
  31. LeahR
    Dec 26, 2009
    3
    A gorgeous, polished, lovingly-crafted game that is hamstrung by insanely twitchy controls and awkward, floaty, slippery vehicle physics. After spending a great deal of time trying to tweak the numerous steering sensitivity settings, as well as car tuning options, I was unable to find a comfortable setting for either keyboard or gamepad play. It's a shame, because reportedly the game A gorgeous, polished, lovingly-crafted game that is hamstrung by insanely twitchy controls and awkward, floaty, slippery vehicle physics. After spending a great deal of time trying to tweak the numerous steering sensitivity settings, as well as car tuning options, I was unable to find a comfortable setting for either keyboard or gamepad play. It's a shame, because reportedly the game is great fun with a USB steering wheel...I just found it to take far too much work to make it feel like I had any control over my vehicle. Fighting the controls = not as fun as fighting opponents. The car handling and physics are in a weird limbo realm where they're not quite arcadey, yet not realistic, either--the slightest turn of the wheel can cause you to slide out even with all sensitivity lowered, yet you can often freely careen off other cars and walls. I really wanted to enjoy Dirt 2, as its graphics, presentation, game modes, and various details show meticulous polish by developer Codemasters...but the controls are even twitchier and floatier than previous Codemasters racing titles. What am I missing? Are these games really only meant to be played with wheels? Expand
  32. AndrewB
    Jan 2, 2010
    8
    though i haven't played through the entire game yet i have gotten a pretty good feel of what this game has to offer. and that happens to be alot, gameplay wise there are tons of race modes so you won't be stuck playing one you don't like and the controls are very tuned no sloppy handling here. graphically this game is roughly eye porn, thats the best way to describe it though i haven't played through the entire game yet i have gotten a pretty good feel of what this game has to offer. and that happens to be alot, gameplay wise there are tons of race modes so you won't be stuck playing one you don't like and the controls are very tuned no sloppy handling here. graphically this game is roughly eye porn, thats the best way to describe it anyway. never before have i wished a game would take longer to load races so that i could see the menus some more. the cars of course look beautiful and shiny, and then just as beautiful covered in mud. coupled with the damage engine i'd say that this is really the best looking racing game out. you enjoy racing games? go buy this game. you don't? i'm not entirely sure this would change your mind but it couldn't hurt to try. Expand
  33. JackBauer
    Jan 9, 2010
    2
    Unless you are willing to fork out for a steering wheel. playing this game using only a keyboard sucks. You really have no control over your vehicle as it is impossible to get your car to go straight once you make your first turn. The game is beautiful, but play is frustrating. If you alreadyhave or are willing to invest in a wheel, then maybe this game is still for you.
  34. Mar 1, 2011
    5
    Dirt2 is a pretty good rally game....oh wait...Where are rally sessions? This game has a lot of different types of competion and we can drive buggies, off roads, rally cars, but there are few championships, no rallies with stages, very few rally races, we can't repair our car. Master pilots talk like idiot teens. Gameplay is very very easy (except for some races), it is perfect forDirt2 is a pretty good rally game....oh wait...Where are rally sessions? This game has a lot of different types of competion and we can drive buggies, off roads, rally cars, but there are few championships, no rallies with stages, very few rally races, we can't repair our car. Master pilots talk like idiot teens. Gameplay is very very easy (except for some races), it is perfect for children or little teenagers. Physics are ridicoulus...cars have no weight and very often make strange movements. Damages are useless...races are too short. Graphics are very good and the game is very fluent. The soundtrack is perfect for teenagers.
    Dirt2 is not an intelligent, useful and half-simulative game like old Colin Mcrae's. But it is a funny game with good graphics (and no soul).
    Expand
  35. Urh
    Dec 28, 2010
    3
    The driving mechanics of this game are top-notch, but this is to be expected from Codemasters. However the game is found seriously wanting in key areas. It contains fewer cars and fewer courses/tracks than the first DiRT, and I found myself getting bored pretty darn quickly (so much so I can't even bring myself to see the career mode through to 100% completion). Also absent is the repairThe driving mechanics of this game are top-notch, but this is to be expected from Codemasters. However the game is found seriously wanting in key areas. It contains fewer cars and fewer courses/tracks than the first DiRT, and I found myself getting bored pretty darn quickly (so much so I can't even bring myself to see the career mode through to 100% completion). Also absent is the repair screen from multi-stage rallies - now your vehicle will be completely repaired and shiny new at the beginning of each stage, completely eliminating the challenge of having to nurse your car through rallies. One cannot help but get the impression that this was deliberately done to dumb the game down in order to broaden its appeal.

    And now we move on to the metaphorical elephant in the room. I am, of course, talking of the 'extreme sports' motif DiRT 2 has been given. Quite frankly I find it vulgar and I loathe it with a passion, and I wager that I am not the only one. Once again this is a move that appears to have been made in an attempt to capture a new audience, yet I suspect that in seeking out this new audience Codemasters may have inadvertently alienated their established fan base (including myself). This game was touted as a tribute to the late Colin McRae, personally I find it an insult.
    Expand
  36. Jan 28, 2011
    4
    Graphics are very very good. Physics are also very very good. I enjoy the feature where you can pick your nickname. But the drivers talk like little kids... It really makes me not want to play. The controls are bad for a keyboard, so make sure you have a controller. Also, I feel like this game was not made for the PC at all. The menu system is a pain in the butt. Like I said, if youGraphics are very very good. Physics are also very very good. I enjoy the feature where you can pick your nickname. But the drivers talk like little kids... It really makes me not want to play. The controls are bad for a keyboard, so make sure you have a controller. Also, I feel like this game was not made for the PC at all. The menu system is a pain in the butt. Like I said, if you decide you want this game, get a controller, otherwise your in for a rude awakening. Someone else said its little kid based, 8-14 years old. I would have to agree. Wasn't worth the money. Get blur. Expand
  37. MarkusG
    Dec 18, 2009
    4
    Well, this game has been made for maybe 8 to 14 year olds. Superstar feeling and retarded americans talking about "cool", "dude" etc.. i feel like retard behind the wheel. Infact i had to tone down the volume to not get embarrased. Dumbing down games for retarded american teens is a real problem in game industry imho. About the technical side of Dirt 2, it's very polished game and Well, this game has been made for maybe 8 to 14 year olds. Superstar feeling and retarded americans talking about "cool", "dude" etc.. i feel like retard behind the wheel. Infact i had to tone down the volume to not get embarrased. Dumbing down games for retarded american teens is a real problem in game industry imho. About the technical side of Dirt 2, it's very polished game and runs very well. Good graphics and all.. I give 9 to the technical side, to soul i give 1.. so totaling 4.5 Expand
  38. Shamrock
    Dec 20, 2009
    1
    It is impossible to save my profile and results without Games for Windows LIVE ID! But I can't get such ID in my country! I can buy game, but I can't save... Very strange
  39. Mar 6, 2011
    0
    One simple game option was omitted in this game. Proper volume management. This stupid idiotic game does not allow you to completely mute the sound of the game. For someone like me who's running ventrilo and watching streaming videos on my other monitor while I play it's a definite turn-off.
  40. Jul 23, 2012
    8
    What a great game this is. Its major achievements lay in the presentation, difficulty variation which can be changed per event and encourages you to play on harder difficulty, instant replay/flashback feature, DirectX 11 graphics and a good soundtrack. The game is appealing to anyone who is even slightly interested in racing games. This game has variety in both single player andWhat a great game this is. Its major achievements lay in the presentation, difficulty variation which can be changed per event and encourages you to play on harder difficulty, instant replay/flashback feature, DirectX 11 graphics and a good soundtrack. The game is appealing to anyone who is even slightly interested in racing games. This game has variety in both single player and multiplayer, so there is something for everyone. It's so well presented and simple to get into. The vehicle tuning is simple, and because there's no upgrading or driver assists it's fair for everyone. In multiplayer ranked matches there is no tuning and regardless of cars you've unlocked you will always be able to compete. Driver level for both multiplayer and single player is endless, and the side objectives/challenges mean that regardless of your skill level you will always have fun and rank up. My only criticism of this game is the extremely sensitive, twitchy handling of cars, which is made worse if you don't have an Xbox 360 controller because accelerating, braking and steering are either on or off. Luckily even unsuported controllers like the Logitech Dual Action work without a problem in this game, and steering with analog sticks works properly. The game is of decent length, has good achievements (as it's on Games for Windows - LIVE) and a nice variety of events to keep things interesting. The tone of the game is much more towards the arcade-style, casual end of the driving spectrum, but having played the game a lot on Xbox 360 I can say that there is definitely scope for hardcore racing if you're doing time trials trying to set a fastest lap or something. Multiplayer is well-balanced, and you can race against ghosts if you don't like being bashed which is great and takes out the frustration of most other racing games. Overall DiRT 2 is a solid game and is even better on PC due to the gorgeous graphics which are still impressive even in 2012. The only real downside are the controls which can be awkward without a steering wheel or Xbox 360 controller. As a whole, DiRT 2 is a game which is easily recommendable to anyone who doesn't hate racing games due to its simplicity, slick presentation and accomodating difficulty. Expand
  41. Apr 6, 2012
    8
    One of the first DirectX11 games. Forget the original "Colin McRae" series, this is an arcade game with the X-Games in the top of the races. Awesome graphics, many beautiful locations and great steering wheel support (the Force Feedback experience with a Logitech Steering Wheel is awesome). This game is hard if you play it with a keyboard, because is not a NFS title, so is better to playOne of the first DirectX11 games. Forget the original "Colin McRae" series, this is an arcade game with the X-Games in the top of the races. Awesome graphics, many beautiful locations and great steering wheel support (the Force Feedback experience with a Logitech Steering Wheel is awesome). This game is hard if you play it with a keyboard, because is not a NFS title, so is better to play with the Xbox Controller and even better with a steering wheel. You can't use any gamepad but the Xbox360 controller, so you have to look for Modifications on the internet to make work any kind of gamepad.

    Don't expect for a Rally Simulator, because it isn't: Flashbacks, some impossible physics to make your car stay in 4 wheels, no tunning for car specs. It isn't a NFS game, so you only can choose some pre-defined liveries, some funny horns and stuff to put inside the car (hawaian dancer, dices hanging from your rearview mirror, etc.).

    It has a very good soundtrack, but you'll only have the chance to hear it among menues and loadings screens, it could be great to hear it while in race.

    It would have been great to have Steam Archievements, but you'll have to install the Games For Windows Live, that is a useless feature because it only registers your product license and doesn't even saves your online rank, so, if you lose your Windows Installation you'll have to look for a good solution to rescue your saved data.

    There's a lot of fun in LAN party gameplay (a multiplayer mode almost killed by Game developers), and you can choose cars that doesn't match with the circuits to make races a really fun carnage.
    Expand
  42. Sep 1, 2013
    10
    Best game in DiRT series. Great interface, car physics, game modes and overall graphic and gameplay quality. I highly recommend this game to all racing games fan.
  43. May 2, 2013
    7
    This is a decent game overall and a challenging racing experience. It's more based on your control over the car rather than your speed or eye for secrets. Basically, if you race on speed, then you will find yourself dead last or totaled. The key is to slow down on every medium turn and brake on every hard turn. It makes for an interesting experience but will make you more frustratedThis is a decent game overall and a challenging racing experience. It's more based on your control over the car rather than your speed or eye for secrets. Basically, if you race on speed, then you will find yourself dead last or totaled. The key is to slow down on every medium turn and brake on every hard turn. It makes for an interesting experience but will make you more frustrated than excited. As racing games go it's more of an 8 but it definitely has drawbacks to keep players that don't play many racing games away. Many races force you to use a certain vehicle type, sometimes these vehicles have completely different handles than other types which makes controlling it very hard. The game is lacking a WOW factor but is solid and worth buying on sale or for hardcore racing players. DON'T BUY THIS IF YOU HATE RACING GAMES BASED ON HARD TURN CONTROLS, THIS IS NOT A STANDARD NEED 4 SPEED EXPERIENCE. Expand
  44. Jul 21, 2013
    10
    There will never be a perfect racing game, but DiRT2 comes pretty damn close. With immersing graphics and perfect sound engineering you truly feel like a rally driver, you duck and dive in your chair, even leaning into corners! The moment you jump into this game you get pushed, and tested on your skills, which in my opinion makes it a better game than DiRT3, which made me feel like I hadThere will never be a perfect racing game, but DiRT2 comes pretty damn close. With immersing graphics and perfect sound engineering you truly feel like a rally driver, you duck and dive in your chair, even leaning into corners! The moment you jump into this game you get pushed, and tested on your skills, which in my opinion makes it a better game than DiRT3, which made me feel like I had my mum standing over my shoulder helping me press the keys the moment I started playing. Expand
  45. Nov 10, 2013
    9
    I looked over the comment and I saw that other complain that is too easy,just change the difficulty to Savage or higher,from that point the adrenaline and joy are coming like a storm especially at Domination Race.
    About game-play It's very attractive in my opinion,you really feel that you take part of a rally world tour.
    Graphics The graphics are very good and detailed,even though the
    I looked over the comment and I saw that other complain that is too easy,just change the difficulty to Savage or higher,from that point the adrenaline and joy are coming like a storm especially at Domination Race.
    About game-play It's very attractive in my opinion,you really feel that you take part of a rally world tour.
    Graphics The graphics are very good and detailed,even though the game doesn't requires a very powerful PC.
    Sound Astonishing! The songs are very well picked-up,after an intense race a rock song comes in and gives you a boost of joy,that's my experience so far.
    Overall It's a very good game with top physics,sound,cars,graphic etc. The only inconvenient is that the game can be boring sometimes.
    Expand
  46. Dec 23, 2013
    9
    I recently play this game again and I found this game really awesome. It has pretty good music, the graphics are fantastic (especially Malaysia, the place is really beautiful) the gameplay is actually really exciting and intense. I have a lot of fun in playing this game. The controls are quite different from Dirt 1, but it doesn't really take a long time to adapt to it.
    The only thing I
    I recently play this game again and I found this game really awesome. It has pretty good music, the graphics are fantastic (especially Malaysia, the place is really beautiful) the gameplay is actually really exciting and intense. I have a lot of fun in playing this game. The controls are quite different from Dirt 1, but it doesn't really take a long time to adapt to it.
    The only thing I don't like for this game is some of the cars. I don't see how a Mitsubishi eclipse, a Nissan 350Z or a Ponitac Solstice can be a rally car. Also, the rally tracks could be a bit longer and more tracks of different races could be added. However, the game is excellent after all.
    Expand
  47. Oct 19, 2014
    6
    Overall the game is ok, even good. The graphics are nice and their are several different levels. Theirs some feeling of progression as well and you can buy your cars. On the downside the driving doesn't feel smooth and comfortable (dirt 3 feels better), their are lots of long loading screens and the leveling up feels superficial. It is also very annoying listening to the other drivers orOverall the game is ok, even good. The graphics are nice and their are several different levels. Theirs some feeling of progression as well and you can buy your cars. On the downside the driving doesn't feel smooth and comfortable (dirt 3 feels better), their are lots of long loading screens and the leveling up feels superficial. It is also very annoying listening to the other drivers or to anybody that talks in this game. Expand
  48. Jul 28, 2015
    8
    The game is very exciting for 2009. It really is a game worth playing because of the attention to detail and on many other issues that fails to do .
  49. Nov 23, 2015
    10
    The game is just amazing. I love play this game. For me this game is amazing ! Nothing more to comment because this game is amazing ! I rate this 10/10
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 22
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 22
  3. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. DiRT 2 is a worthy successor to the original, getting practically everything right. While I would have liked to have seen a greater emphasis on more technical rally racing, I had a blast with every aspect of the title. From the solid visuals to the sweet tracks, DiRT 2's got a lot to love.
  2. GT what? DiRT 2 is the real deal, capturing the thrill of rally racing in one hell of a slick package. Play it for the mud sliding physics alone.
  3. Colin McRae: DiRT 2 is a pretty good mixture between a complex simulation and an action-based racer thanks to its compelling presentation.