DiRT 2 PC

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 345 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 23 out of 345
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. miked
    Jan 1, 2010
    10
    amazing graphics, gameplay is top notch. no crashes or bugs whatsoever. DX11 effects make it even more sublime. If you like racing, or even if you don't, this is a must buy!
  2. JamesI
    Jan 22, 2010
    10
    Jack Bauer, get a xbox 360 remote (wireless or usb) and try that. It's an amazing game with hours of play!
  3. NicholasP
    Jan 25, 2010
    10
    Fun, super realistic and immersive. Bravo Codemasters - Another masterpiece. Surpasses GRID by a impressive amount.
  4. Chris
    Jan 7, 2010
    10
    Mind blowing graphics in DX11 mode. Utterly brilliant gameplay, can't think of a better rally game out there/
  5. MikeY
    Dec 27, 2009
    10
    One of the best racing games yet.
  6. RodrigoM
    Dec 8, 2009
    10
    feel the excitement of a real race! this is best racing game since Top Gear on SNES.
  7. MichaelW
    Dec 13, 2009
    10
    Fantastic in so many ways. A definite recommendation here.
  8. BridgerB
    Dec 9, 2009
    10
    Just about as good as an off road racing game can get as far as I'm concerned. The only real issue I have is that I have an unusual name so I had to select some random nickname, but other than that it's a really great game.
  9. shamimarafatrocky
    Dec 9, 2009
    10
    another Great game from codemasters! Dirt, Grid were great too. if u are a gamer play it. not available for noobs. get pro at racing. :D
  10. johne
    Jan 14, 2010
    10
    Beautiful and fun. Jack Bauer, its called a game pad! about 20 bucks and the game is perfect.
  11. JoeW
    Dec 23, 2009
    10
    Got this as an early Christmas gift from my girlfriend, and I am loving every minute of it. I turned the graphics up to full whack on DX9, and even on my relatively old / underpowered Athlon X2 2.7ghz, and 9800GT set up, I was getting a constant, solid 40fps. Graphics are astoundingly good considering how smoothly the game runs, and the sound is excellent. The cars handle very well, and Got this as an early Christmas gift from my girlfriend, and I am loving every minute of it. I turned the graphics up to full whack on DX9, and even on my relatively old / underpowered Athlon X2 2.7ghz, and 9800GT set up, I was getting a constant, solid 40fps. Graphics are astoundingly good considering how smoothly the game runs, and the sound is excellent. The cars handle very well, and although the handling does have a smack of the arcade about it, it's very very fun. The only niggle I have is the fact you have to sign into Windows live to utilise your saved games, which is a pain if you want to play on the go, and can't find a wifi spot, but it's otherwise not too much of a problem. I love this game, and it's a worthy successor to the Colin McRae name. Expand
  12. YasarA
    Dec 8, 2009
    10
    The best rally racing game ever, the new online system is really fun and very challenging. The graphic is wonderful. Overall it is really good.
  13. Apr 18, 2011
    10
    This game is seriously underrated, and I think it deserved a little better when it came out. This is the funnest racing game I have ever played in my entire life, hours and hours and many races in a variety of places, you can choose which difficulty you want in each individual race, the more difficult, the more money you earn. I agree with most posting on here, the keyboard is an absoluteThis game is seriously underrated, and I think it deserved a little better when it came out. This is the funnest racing game I have ever played in my entire life, hours and hours and many races in a variety of places, you can choose which difficulty you want in each individual race, the more difficult, the more money you earn. I agree with most posting on here, the keyboard is an absolute NO for this game, it just doesn't feel right and it's just plain hard to drive (see Urh or JackBauer's reviews)...my solution was to buy a wireless xbox360 controller for Windows. Problem solved, and driving was like 1000 times easier. I also agree that the dialogue is a bit dumbed down, but that doesn't mean it's a bad game, it's a video game anyway. So if you are going to buy this game, think about buying an xbox360 controller (wired or wireless, your choice) along with it so you don't have to struggle with the keyboard. Expand
  14. Dec 2, 2010
    10
    ADRENALINE RUSHED! Driving manual, braking at the corner, pulling the e-brake, downshifting for the front end to whip back straight, this game is FUN. Codemasters got everything right. The game plays well, the UI is great, menus as well, but the physics are outstanding. If you like racing GET THIS GAME.
  15. Jun 2, 2011
    10
    I was never a fan of simulation racers (I prefer Arcade) until I played DiRT2. The interface and world look beautiful, and the game is challenging and fun. The ability to roll back time after making a mistake in a race is super cool. I'd highly recommend playing with an analog controller or some kind (I use an Xbox360 controller on PC), since you need precise analog controls toI was never a fan of simulation racers (I prefer Arcade) until I played DiRT2. The interface and world look beautiful, and the game is challenging and fun. The ability to roll back time after making a mistake in a race is super cool. I'd highly recommend playing with an analog controller or some kind (I use an Xbox360 controller on PC), since you need precise analog controls to maintain control. Expand
  16. Jan 10, 2012
    10
    DiRt 2 is my favorite rally game of all time! They made the interactive menus come alive, helping you to forget your playing a game. The handling (although not realistic) is very enjoyable even on a keyboard. I've played this straight through twice with only a keyboard and enjoyed every minute of it. I can recommend this game to all rally, racing, driving, and sim fans with no worries.DiRt 2 is my favorite rally game of all time! They made the interactive menus come alive, helping you to forget your playing a game. The handling (although not realistic) is very enjoyable even on a keyboard. I've played this straight through twice with only a keyboard and enjoyed every minute of it. I can recommend this game to all rally, racing, driving, and sim fans with no worries. Even today it still looks amazing. 10/10. Expand
  17. Mar 8, 2013
    10
    It is a really amazing game. It is released in 2009, but is better looking than most racing games released recently (I mean after 2011). As a kind of simulating game, it is hard to master the control, but you can feel the excitement even though you can't play really well, and once you really master and beat your opponent, you are like the happiest man on earth ^_^ To some extent, it isIt is a really amazing game. It is released in 2009, but is better looking than most racing games released recently (I mean after 2011). As a kind of simulating game, it is hard to master the control, but you can feel the excitement even though you can't play really well, and once you really master and beat your opponent, you are like the happiest man on earth ^_^ To some extent, it is more exciting than those pursuiting racing games. The reward and career system is also very fascinating. To earn more money, you need to get better result in the race, and eventually unlock many new events. There is multi-player mode, but very few people are playing online, so single-player mode is more entertaining if you want to buy it now. Expand
  18. Sep 1, 2013
    10
    Best game in DiRT series. Great interface, car physics, game modes and overall graphic and gameplay quality. I highly recommend this game to all racing games fan.
  19. Jul 21, 2013
    10
    There will never be a perfect racing game, but DiRT2 comes pretty damn close. With immersing graphics and perfect sound engineering you truly feel like a rally driver, you duck and dive in your chair, even leaning into corners! The moment you jump into this game you get pushed, and tested on your skills, which in my opinion makes it a better game than DiRT3, which made me feel like I hadThere will never be a perfect racing game, but DiRT2 comes pretty damn close. With immersing graphics and perfect sound engineering you truly feel like a rally driver, you duck and dive in your chair, even leaning into corners! The moment you jump into this game you get pushed, and tested on your skills, which in my opinion makes it a better game than DiRT3, which made me feel like I had my mum standing over my shoulder helping me press the keys the moment I started playing. Expand
  20. Nov 23, 2015
    10
    The game is just amazing. I love play this game. For me this game is amazing ! Nothing more to comment because this game is amazing ! I rate this 10/10
  21. kungfu
    Jan 2, 2010
    9
    Great game overall, the positives aspects are : The new graphics with direct x 11 will put you in an dimension that uve never seen, dirts 2 is incredibly amazing. Secondly, the scenario, a dreamer who wants to ride and starts from nothing to ride, with tons of cars and their special design, you can make a multitude of cars and boost them. Also, a third positive aspect is that the Ai can Great game overall, the positives aspects are : The new graphics with direct x 11 will put you in an dimension that uve never seen, dirts 2 is incredibly amazing. Secondly, the scenario, a dreamer who wants to ride and starts from nothing to ride, with tons of cars and their special design, you can make a multitude of cars and boost them. Also, a third positive aspect is that the Ai can say your name, if your dude would say : Hey you, get that car and come here, in dirt 2, it wouldn' t say you, it would say your name, but with the AI's voice, wich is rare in games. I only see one negative aspect of the game, this game i not for begginers, its an experienced racing game, don't forget it. Expand
  22. TimO
    Jan 4, 2010
    9
    Codemasters has this type of game refined to near perfection. The car/truck feel is just the right balance of realism and fun. The vehicles have a sense of weight and momentum, which seems to be one of the most difficult things to capture in a racing sim/game. They also include a proper in-car view that is missing from so many "consolized" games, but PC players have come to expect. Great Codemasters has this type of game refined to near perfection. The car/truck feel is just the right balance of realism and fun. The vehicles have a sense of weight and momentum, which seems to be one of the most difficult things to capture in a racing sim/game. They also include a proper in-car view that is missing from so many "consolized" games, but PC players have come to expect. Great graphics, fast game play and races are a good length if you don't have hours to play at a time. The one thing that kept me from giving this game a 10 is the "first person" menu system. While its slick and initially very cool, it starts getting in the way when you just want to retry and event without losing the cash/experience from a previous try... You have to go clear out of the pit area, into your trailer, re-select the event, then you're taken back to the pit area again. A "Retry Event" right in the pit area (but after you had been credited your points for previous race) would eliminate this minor complaint. Expand
  23. RyanC
    Dec 30, 2009
    9
    The greatest racing game ever I played!! Very beautiful and real graphics with DX11 is just a part of this game. CodeMaster is the god of the racing game genre
  24. GregB
    Dec 11, 2009
    9
    Excellent racing. The car physics and handling are consistent and well done for a more arcade style of rally game. The graphics are excellent and the audio is also terrific. The inclusion of new race styles over more traditional rally events is a nice touch, though I would rather see more emphasis on point-to-point rally than the X-games style events that they've gone for. The online Excellent racing. The car physics and handling are consistent and well done for a more arcade style of rally game. The graphics are excellent and the audio is also terrific. The inclusion of new race styles over more traditional rally events is a nice touch, though I would rather see more emphasis on point-to-point rally than the X-games style events that they've gone for. The online performance is great and will give this game some staying power; that's where the circuit courses will be much appreciated. The absence of car customization as you can do in Grid is a shame. Picking from a very limited set of liveries for online games is not as fun as the ability to make custom paint jobs and apply decals. However, the improved spectate mode is very welcome after the inexplicable way it was implemented in Grid. All in all, a great game with satisfying single and multi-player components both from the perspective of the driving and the eye-candy. Expand
  25. AniqA
    Dec 18, 2009
    9
    If you have a racing wheel, especially the g25 - this is the only off-road racing game worth getting :D
  26. Nick
    Dec 21, 2009
    9
    At first the *EXTREME* theme and X-Games focus were a turn off, but once I realized that you can turn off the in-car comments and choose to drive rally and landrush events while ignoring the trucks and buggies I found myself having a ton of fun. This is not a serious rally simulator in the vein of previous Colin McRae games, but it is a really enjoyable driving game. Damage has been toned At first the *EXTREME* theme and X-Games focus were a turn off, but once I realized that you can turn off the in-car comments and choose to drive rally and landrush events while ignoring the trucks and buggies I found myself having a ton of fun. This is not a serious rally simulator in the vein of previous Colin McRae games, but it is a really enjoyable driving game. Damage has been toned down and most races significantly shortened, so it is very much marketed to the short attention span crowd. Despite this nerfing of the rally sim, it still is a tremendous amount of fun to play, so I give it a 9. It is different from earlier Colin McRae games, but just as fun, in its own way. Expand
  27. JulianF
    Dec 28, 2009
    9
    Since Mobile One Rally Championship back in '00 I havn't seen a better gameplay in a rally game. The handling and physics of the cars, along with sense of speed are almost touching rFactor, only with graphics from '09.
  28. Jan 4, 2011
    9
    This is one of few racing games that makes realistic driving quite fun. The game is wrapped in a cloak of shiny, impressive graphics combined with decent gameplay that makes it feel like a very good game. Some of the modes, however, are quite hard to get the hang of and you will likely find yourself in last place many times before you do. Personally, I don't have a problem using a keyboardThis is one of few racing games that makes realistic driving quite fun. The game is wrapped in a cloak of shiny, impressive graphics combined with decent gameplay that makes it feel like a very good game. Some of the modes, however, are quite hard to get the hang of and you will likely find yourself in last place many times before you do. Personally, I don't have a problem using a keyboard to play this with, and although i'd rather use a mouse for the menu the controls are fine. Overall, a very good racer. Expand
  29. Nov 27, 2011
    9
    Extremely fun and exciting racing. Great graphics on the PC and the sound is very immersive as well. The driving has many options to adjust for your level of expertise which really do make a difference. The driving physics are amazing and this simply wants you to start one race after another once you get used to winning. Even losing motivates you to start the race over (which is very swiftExtremely fun and exciting racing. Great graphics on the PC and the sound is very immersive as well. The driving has many options to adjust for your level of expertise which really do make a difference. The driving physics are amazing and this simply wants you to start one race after another once you get used to winning. Even losing motivates you to start the race over (which is very swift to do even in middle of race).
    There are many varied tracks and just feel so realistic and pleasing to watch while driving.

    The only gripe about this game is that there is a tight limit on what you can do with cars. Plus, many cars are not even worth purchasing in order to win races because there will be one or two you can buy that are cheaper which have better stats than a more expensive one. So it doesn't really make you feel like having a strong will to work your way up to buy the more expensive cars. Also the only things you can customize is your paintjob and some worthless props for the inside of car.
    But you will have a great time racing for sure and definitely play this game if you enjoy racing games or simply want a fun time racing.
    Expand
  30. Nov 10, 2013
    9
    I looked over the comment and I saw that other complain that is too easy,just change the difficulty to Savage or higher,from that point the adrenaline and joy are coming like a storm especially at Domination Race.
    About game-play It's very attractive in my opinion,you really feel that you take part of a rally world tour.
    Graphics The graphics are very good and detailed,even though the
    I looked over the comment and I saw that other complain that is too easy,just change the difficulty to Savage or higher,from that point the adrenaline and joy are coming like a storm especially at Domination Race.
    About game-play It's very attractive in my opinion,you really feel that you take part of a rally world tour.
    Graphics The graphics are very good and detailed,even though the game doesn't requires a very powerful PC.
    Sound Astonishing! The songs are very well picked-up,after an intense race a rock song comes in and gives you a boost of joy,that's my experience so far.
    Overall It's a very good game with top physics,sound,cars,graphic etc. The only inconvenient is that the game can be boring sometimes.
    Expand
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 22
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 22
  3. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. DiRT 2 is a worthy successor to the original, getting practically everything right. While I would have liked to have seen a greater emphasis on more technical rally racing, I had a blast with every aspect of the title. From the solid visuals to the sweet tracks, DiRT 2's got a lot to love.
  2. GT what? DiRT 2 is the real deal, capturing the thrill of rally racing in one hell of a slick package. Play it for the mud sliding physics alone.
  3. Colin McRae: DiRT 2 is a pretty good mixture between a complex simulation and an action-based racer thanks to its compelling presentation.