DiRT Showdown PC

User Score
5.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 160 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 160
  2. Negative: 60 out of 160

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 24, 2012
    10
    This is the best Game i ever played The phisics is great and the graphic too the sound is legendary the NFS is never so good like this Game Greatings Severin
  2. Jun 25, 2012
    10
    Yes, it has some issues. There is some lag online at times, and some glitches. However, this game has to be the most fun derby game in a very long time, and not only that, but you can go online and have crazy matches. I think this game is severely underrated because it has the Dirt name, which disappoints previous Dirt game fans, and scares away people that didn't like Dirt 1-3. DemosYes, it has some issues. There is some lag online at times, and some glitches. However, this game has to be the most fun derby game in a very long time, and not only that, but you can go online and have crazy matches. I think this game is severely underrated because it has the Dirt name, which disappoints previous Dirt game fans, and scares away people that didn't like Dirt 1-3. Demos are out on all platforms, and even though there isn't much to see on them, anyone who likes smashing cars owes it to themselves to play at least the demo if not the full game. Expand
  3. Jan 7, 2013
    10
    An amazing combination of superb graphics and amazing control and physics (Gamespy is out of its mind with that review), DiRT Showdown is the absolute best in the series for those use a gaming wheel and for those with multiple monitors. Showdown's greatest strength is indeed in its party modes (Transporter, Speed Skirmish, Smash and Grab etc) and based upon the activity levels in DiRT 3,An amazing combination of superb graphics and amazing control and physics (Gamespy is out of its mind with that review), DiRT Showdown is the absolute best in the series for those use a gaming wheel and for those with multiple monitors. Showdown's greatest strength is indeed in its party modes (Transporter, Speed Skirmish, Smash and Grab etc) and based upon the activity levels in DiRT 3, it's clear that these are exactly the modes that DiRT players covet the most. Pick up this excellent title now with a Steam download code for as little as $7 on eBay. Expand
  4. Nov 23, 2015
    10
    The game is just amazing. I love play this game. For me this game is amazing ! Nothing more to comment because this game is amazing ! I rate this 10/10
  5. May 27, 2012
    9
    full review http://www.insidepcgaming.com/dirt-showdown-review.php "A fantastic spin-off title worthy of the DiRT name!" 90% Score.. DiRT Showdown is arcade racing at it's best.
  6. May 30, 2012
    9
    Good graphics and nice fun :)Yes maybe something come from Codemasters but its also nice game.Maybe not powerfull as NFS but its ok :) i recommend game for who like arcade play style racing
  7. May 6, 2013
    9
    There are 4 things very wrong with this game, 1 There aren't many LICENSED cars, 2. There is no view, 3.It's hard to find multiplayer games and 4. This game shouldn't be called DiRT.

    This game has almost NO relation to the DiRT franchise in any way, DO NOT VIEW THIS AS DiRT 4, DO NOT VIEW THIS AS A RALLY GAME and certainly don't view it as a Simulator. Even though I went in
    There are 4 things very wrong with this game, 1 There aren't many LICENSED cars, 2. There is no view, 3.It's hard to find multiplayer games and 4. This game shouldn't be called DiRT.

    This game has almost NO relation to the DiRT franchise in any way, DO NOT VIEW THIS AS DiRT 4, DO NOT VIEW THIS AS A RALLY GAME and certainly don't view it as a Simulator.

    Even though I went in expecting DiRT, I still came out very satisfied with only a few minor gripes, one being the commentator, another being the lack of licensed cars. Apart from those, I really loved DiRT Showdown, it's such an fun experience and it does everything it tries to do right, This game was more of experiment from codemasters, The only thing they have ever done that was even similar to this was the destruction derby mode on GRID(Which btw I LOVED), So it's no surprise here that they have made an entire game out of it and it's pretty damn good, it's got a fair length and very fun and competitive on-line, even more fun than DiRT 3 to be honest with you. There is a huge amount of tracks, I especially love the figure of eight tracks, you end up with very satisfying crashes that look great and keep you on the edge of your seat. This game feels like it should have been an entire NEW IP and they should have left the half-baked gymkahna mode out of this as it's the only thing from DiRT 3 that's still in this game(It's not as good as the gym mode in DiRT 3 either).

    For the cheap price tag on steam, great optimisation and general fun online, this is worth a pick up, Hardcore DiRT fans should stay away! BUT fans of games like flatout, Destruction Derby or even the DD mode in GRID, Should give this a go as it's sure to satisfy, I'm pleased with this game and it was worth every penny!
    Expand
  8. Mar 28, 2013
    8
    It's a fun game. There's no noticable burdonsome DRMs. It has good controller support. Even though it uses the xbox controller you can remap the keys to suit you. It's a derby style game. It's like they took the derby from GRiD and added some dirt track racing and through in some crazy drifting stuff. It all just fits together and makes for a fun game. I just regret that it was not asIt's a fun game. There's no noticable burdonsome DRMs. It has good controller support. Even though it uses the xbox controller you can remap the keys to suit you. It's a derby style game. It's like they took the derby from GRiD and added some dirt track racing and through in some crazy drifting stuff. It all just fits together and makes for a fun game. I just regret that it was not as serious as the other DiRT games. It's just "playful". I got it onsale, $30 should have been the very most this game cost. Expand
  9. Jun 14, 2013
    8
    This is a really good racing game and a nice expansion. Not the usual rally, if that's what you're looking for, get DIRT 2 or the Colin McRae rally games that are splendid but avoid the horrible monstrosity that it is DIRT 3.

    I can't stand Ken Block or whoever is making cringeworthy comments all the time during the races, but that's just a minor thing.
  10. Oct 6, 2012
    8
    Departures from the main series games are never good. Is in this case is the same? No, the creators really, put their order to the main series Dirt fans feel at home, just a little different. The game offers us a great atmosphere. Why? Exploding fireworks, great colors, the emotions of people around whom we go, there is nothing, I, I fell into this game really great. For this is a niceDepartures from the main series games are never good. Is in this case is the same? No, the creators really, put their order to the main series Dirt fans feel at home, just a little different. The game offers us a great atmosphere. Why? Exploding fireworks, great colors, the emotions of people around whom we go, there is nothing, I, I fell into this game really great. For this is a nice solution Demolition derby is really cool and can be great fun with them. In addition to the new things we have here the dirt. He drives great, of course, terribly easy, as befits a series Dirt, but I think the fans like it. It is a pity, however, that the 3/4 game, however the game becomes monotonous (which can be a worry), things start to get bored. Developers need not just at the end we make the usual racing showdown that simply do not fit. I know that many miss this game a wide berth. I, however, started to it and I really liked it. I really recommend it to fans away from the major races in the dirt 3 and briefly caught up in the world of entertainment. My Rating - 8/10 Expand
  11. May 28, 2012
    8
    Very fun game! I played it a lot the first couple days. The single-player campaign ended up being about 12 hours long for me, of coarse that's with doing many of the events several times to get a 1st place. There isn't the customization of car handling that there was in the previous games, but I personally always found figuring that out to be a pain in the but, so I'm glad its gone, I canVery fun game! I played it a lot the first couple days. The single-player campaign ended up being about 12 hours long for me, of coarse that's with doing many of the events several times to get a 1st place. There isn't the customization of car handling that there was in the previous games, but I personally always found figuring that out to be a pain in the but, so I'm glad its gone, I can get right on to the main business of winning! I've always enjoyed the rally-cross and land-raid events the most in previous DiRT games, so this game hits the spot for me. I also didn't care for the presentation of DiRT 3 and they fixed that with this game too. There are fireworks everywhere there should be, and I've really been enjoying the soundtrack, which actually plays while you race too, and fits in perfectly to add to the epicness! I also wasn't a huge fan of the gymkhana events in DiRT 3, but they've managed to make them WAY more fun in Showdown, so that I actually enjoy doing them. The multiplayer works very well, when there is anybody to race against. There isn't the options that the previous games had though, you only get to choose from a catagory. Want to just play the 8-ball? TOO BAD! you have to play all the destruction events in the catagory, ect. And, there is only ever people in the "everything" catagory or the "destruction" catagory, so if you want to do something in the "party" catagory but ppl are in the "destruction" catagory, well too bad. They really could have managed the multiplayer better. And the Racenet "social website" doesn't even have a forum or anything, as far as I can tell its completely pointless. If it did have a forum, like the battlefield 3 site, that'd be dandy. It'd be great to have somewhere to **** about the lack of multiplayer options. Lowered from 10 to 7 after finishing the SP and going on to multiplayer because of the lack of players and options in multiplayer. Expand
  12. Jul 27, 2012
    8
    I don't understand why everyone hates this game. It's for people who love demo derbies. If you don't like demo derbies, don't play this one. Anyway, the game is very fun. The graphics are extremely beautiful, the car models are nice, the damage engine runs very well, and there are only a few flaws here and there. I have one major issue though: Profile corruption. When I play about 30-100I don't understand why everyone hates this game. It's for people who love demo derbies. If you don't like demo derbies, don't play this one. Anyway, the game is very fun. The graphics are extremely beautiful, the car models are nice, the damage engine runs very well, and there are only a few flaws here and there. I have one major issue though: Profile corruption. When I play about 30-100 races, my profiles go corrupt, and I can't play it anymore and I have to start over, it happened many times and I finally started to quit this game. Overall, it was good while it lasted. Expand
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 11
  2. Negative: 1 out of 11
  1. Jul 28, 2012
    59
    Top Gear host Jeremy Clarkson once wrote in his blog that he honestly doesn't remember anything about a car that was sent to him for reviewing – it was that unremarkable. I had a similar moment with DiRT Showdown – I forgot to review it upon release.
  2. PC Gamer
    Jul 12, 2012
    78
    Dirt Showdown provides thrills while it lasts, but afterwards you're left wanting the deeper experience of its parents. [Sept 2012, p.60]
  3. PC PowerPlay
    Jul 3, 2012
    80
    We haven't had this much fun since Destruction Derby on the PS1. [July 2012, p.58]