DiRT Showdown PC

DiRT Showdown Image
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 167 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: DiRT Showdown is an arcade spin-off of the Dirt series featuring over-the-top Hoonigan, Demolition, and Race events.

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 11
  2. Negative: 1 out of 11
  1. May 24, 2012
    85
    Dirt Showdown is an unexpected exploit. Thanks to an accessible gameplay, this arcade racing game is exciting and thrilling. Fast, rich in content and technically brilliant.
  2. May 24, 2012
    85
    The likes of Flatout and Motorstorm have provided ample competition in the mud-filled Americana stakes previously, but there's something about the driving model in Showdown that satisfies in a fashion that few other games manage. Whether that's a result of simple expertise or just iteration over a number of titles is something only Codies can answer, but whatever the formula was for the success, you have to be happy they've gotten here.
  3. May 24, 2012
    85
    Quotation forthcoming.
  4. PC Gamer
    Jul 12, 2012
    78
    Dirt Showdown provides thrills while it lasts, but afterwards you're left wanting the deeper experience of its parents. [Sept 2012, p.60]
  5. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Jun 18, 2012
    70
    Showdown is not such a bad game. The only problem is that its timing is totally wrong and every ace is played too soon. When you play Showdown for one hour you will have seen everything that the game has to offer. [June 2012]
  6. May 30, 2012
    70
    Playing Showdown is like to jump off the plane and then remember you have no parachute. This game is entertaining enough to get under your skin, but this state won't last forever. There is this low quality of contemporary games in general.
  7. Jun 10, 2012
    40
    DiRT: Showdown delivers bargain-basement entertainment value for the high, high price of $50. With its neutered physics, limited driving venues, clunky multiplayer, and diminished off-road racing options, discerning arcade racing fans should just write this one off as an unanticipated pothole in Codemaster's trailblazing DiRT series.

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 37
  2. Negative: 16 out of 37
  1. Jun 25, 2012
    10
    Yes, it has some issues. There is some lag online at times, and some glitches. However, this game has to be the most fun derby game in aYes, it has some issues. There is some lag online at times, and some glitches. However, this game has to be the most fun derby game in a very long time, and not only that, but you can go online and have crazy matches. I think this game is severely underrated because it has the Dirt name, which disappoints previous Dirt game fans, and scares away people that didn't like Dirt 1-3. Demos are out on all platforms, and even though there isn't much to see on them, anyone who likes smashing cars owes it to themselves to play at least the demo if not the full game. Expand
  2. May 6, 2013
    9
    There are 4 things very wrong with this game, 1 There aren't many LICENSED cars, 2. There is no view, 3.It's hard to find multiplayer gamesThere are 4 things very wrong with this game, 1 There aren't many LICENSED cars, 2. There is no view, 3.It's hard to find multiplayer games and 4. This game shouldn't be called DiRT.

    This game has almost NO relation to the DiRT franchise in any way, DO NOT VIEW THIS AS DiRT 4, DO NOT VIEW THIS AS A RALLY GAME and certainly don't view it as a Simulator.

    Even though I went in expecting DiRT, I still came out very satisfied with only a few minor gripes, one being the commentator, another being the lack of licensed cars. Apart from those, I really loved DiRT Showdown, it's such an fun experience and it does everything it tries to do right, This game was more of experiment from codemasters, The only thing they have ever done that was even similar to this was the destruction derby mode on GRID(Which btw I LOVED), So it's no surprise here that they have made an entire game out of it and it's pretty damn good, it's got a fair length and very fun and competitive on-line, even more fun than DiRT 3 to be honest with you. There is a huge amount of tracks, I especially love the figure of eight tracks, you end up with very satisfying crashes that look great and keep you on the edge of your seat. This game feels like it should have been an entire NEW IP and they should have left the half-baked gymkahna mode out of this as it's the only thing from DiRT 3 that's still in this game(It's not as good as the gym mode in DiRT 3 either).

    For the cheap price tag on steam, great optimisation and general fun online, this is worth a pick up, Hardcore DiRT fans should stay away! BUT fans of games like flatout, Destruction Derby or even the DD mode in GRID, Should give this a go as it's sure to satisfy, I'm pleased with this game and it was worth every penny!
    Expand
  3. May 28, 2012
    8
    Very fun game! I played it a lot the first couple days. The single-player campaign ended up being about 12 hours long for me, of coarse that'sVery fun game! I played it a lot the first couple days. The single-player campaign ended up being about 12 hours long for me, of coarse that's with doing many of the events several times to get a 1st place. There isn't the customization of car handling that there was in the previous games, but I personally always found figuring that out to be a pain in the but, so I'm glad its gone, I can get right on to the main business of winning! I've always enjoyed the rally-cross and land-raid events the most in previous DiRT games, so this game hits the spot for me. I also didn't care for the presentation of DiRT 3 and they fixed that with this game too. There are fireworks everywhere there should be, and I've really been enjoying the soundtrack, which actually plays while you race too, and fits in perfectly to add to the epicness! I also wasn't a huge fan of the gymkhana events in DiRT 3, but they've managed to make them WAY more fun in Showdown, so that I actually enjoy doing them. The multiplayer works very well, when there is anybody to race against. There isn't the options that the previous games had though, you only get to choose from a catagory. Want to just play the 8-ball? TOO BAD! you have to play all the destruction events in the catagory, ect. And, there is only ever people in the "everything" catagory or the "destruction" catagory, so if you want to do something in the "party" catagory but ppl are in the "destruction" catagory, well too bad. They really could have managed the multiplayer better. And the Racenet "social website" doesn't even have a forum or anything, as far as I can tell its completely pointless. If it did have a forum, like the battlefield 3 site, that'd be dandy. It'd be great to have somewhere to **** about the lack of multiplayer options. Lowered from 10 to 7 after finishing the SP and going on to multiplayer because of the lack of players and options in multiplayer. Collapse
  4. May 30, 2012
    5
    This NOT a DIRT game, but since it has "Dirt" in its name I must take that into account when writing this review.

    (10/10) GRAPHICS: Very
    This NOT a DIRT game, but since it has "Dirt" in its name I must take that into account when writing this review.

    (10/10) GRAPHICS: Very pretty visuals. Car models are great, particle effects are pretty good and damage is also rather well done. All in all this area of the game is nothing to complain about.

    (7/10) SOUND: Cars sound great and so do all the effects like spinning tires and so on... Now the SUPER-annoying "announcer" guy is the worst part of all the audio in the game and that is why it loses 3 points (also non-stop explosions and fireworks get old rather quick too). Try listening to "YAY! T-Bonalicious!!!! "BOOOOM!!!" "Awesome over-take DUDE!!!! BAM!!! ......and that happens non-stop in a supposedly driving game.

    (3/10) GAMEPLAY:This is the area where this game fails. Now understand that I might have been more lenient if his game was called simply "Showdown", but since there is a "Dirt" in there I , and many others expected a racing game with somewhat realistic handling. This is completely the opposite of what this game delivers. The handing is so terrible for a racing game I don't even know why it has a "Dirt" in the title, simply should have been called "Burnout Showdown". That's how these cars handle, very close to Burnout arcade style handling. So to sum it all up (because I can go on forever) this game is basically a bunch of "derby" style races and "gymkhana-inspired" events with lots of jumps, fireworks and an annoying guy yelling non-stop. This is NOT what a Dirt game is Codemasters.

    (5/10) Replayability: I would guess that someone who is into completely arcade style racing with dare I say a "hip" feel to it along with a narrator who should have gotten a job as an inspirational speaker might enjoy this game. All others who expected a real racing game should pass on it and not think twice about it.

    TOTAL SCORE 5/10
    Expand
  5. May 28, 2012
    4
    Cheap FlatOut copy with awful destruction model (worse then FO:UC from 2008 and terrible physic). Hope this gymkhana Blocks **** stick withCheap FlatOut copy with awful destruction model (worse then FO:UC from 2008 and terrible physic). Hope this gymkhana Blocks **** stick with this Showdown series and next Dirt 4 will be real racing only, rally disciplne for best with season progress. Dev work close to zero, circus HUD,stealin thru all series for tracks, enviroments, cars etc. Maybe for 15$ is adequate game, but not for 40 Euro. Garbage. Expand
  6. Jun 5, 2012
    3
    Dirt Showdown should have been a £10-15 add-on for Dirt 3. The demo, albeit short, was enough to tell me that this game is lame.Dirt Showdown should have been a £10-15 add-on for Dirt 3. The demo, albeit short, was enough to tell me that this game is lame. Codemasters should be ashamed of itself for charging full price for this. Shame on you, Codies. Nuff said. Expand
  7. May 2, 2013
    0
    A horrible waste of time!

    This game feels like taking Blur, dumbing down the graphics a couple of years, and going back to controls from
    A horrible waste of time!

    This game feels like taking Blur, dumbing down the graphics a couple of years, and going back to controls from the early 90's (Think Destruction Derby 1). However unlike Blur the levels are ridiculously small, the selection of cars laughable and handling decidedly bad (even when taking into account that this is a arcade-game, regardless of the false marketing claims in using "DiRT" in the title). This has NOTHING to do with the "real" DiRT-games, let alone the Colin McRae-rally-games. You can't even select which gear to use anymore! If only Codemasters had the decency of giving back the money i paid for this game, because it is by far the worst game i've played for years! Oh yeah, and the menus and music makes even Dirt 3 seem quick and nice-sounding. They're ridiculously slow, and the "hey, bro"-style of the commentators and general (unskippable...) speak is painfully bad, and makes me want to choke myself in my headphones' cord.

    No matter what you're looking for, you wont find it in this game, move along!
    Expand

See all 37 User Reviews