DiRT Showdown PC

DiRT Showdown Image
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 161 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: DiRT Showdown is an arcade spin-off of the Dirt series featuring over-the-top Hoonigan, Demolition, and Race events.

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 11
  2. Negative: 1 out of 11
  1. May 24, 2012
    85
    Dirt Showdown is an unexpected exploit. Thanks to an accessible gameplay, this arcade racing game is exciting and thrilling. Fast, rich in content and technically brilliant.
  2. May 24, 2012
    85
    The likes of Flatout and Motorstorm have provided ample competition in the mud-filled Americana stakes previously, but there's something about the driving model in Showdown that satisfies in a fashion that few other games manage. Whether that's a result of simple expertise or just iteration over a number of titles is something only Codies can answer, but whatever the formula was for the success, you have to be happy they've gotten here.
  3. May 24, 2012
    85
    Quotation forthcoming.
  4. PC Gamer
    Jul 12, 2012
    78
    Dirt Showdown provides thrills while it lasts, but afterwards you're left wanting the deeper experience of its parents. [Sept 2012, p.60]
  5. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Jun 18, 2012
    70
    Showdown is not such a bad game. The only problem is that its timing is totally wrong and every ace is played too soon. When you play Showdown for one hour you will have seen everything that the game has to offer. [June 2012]
  6. May 30, 2012
    70
    Playing Showdown is like to jump off the plane and then remember you have no parachute. This game is entertaining enough to get under your skin, but this state won't last forever. There is this low quality of contemporary games in general.
  7. Jun 10, 2012
    40
    DiRT: Showdown delivers bargain-basement entertainment value for the high, high price of $50. With its neutered physics, limited driving venues, clunky multiplayer, and diminished off-road racing options, discerning arcade racing fans should just write this one off as an unanticipated pothole in Codemaster's trailblazing DiRT series.

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 35
  2. Negative: 16 out of 35
  1. Jun 25, 2012
    10
    Yes, it has some issues. There is some lag online at times, and some glitches. However, this game has to be the most fun derby game in aYes, it has some issues. There is some lag online at times, and some glitches. However, this game has to be the most fun derby game in a very long time, and not only that, but you can go online and have crazy matches. I think this game is severely underrated because it has the Dirt name, which disappoints previous Dirt game fans, and scares away people that didn't like Dirt 1-3. Demos are out on all platforms, and even though there isn't much to see on them, anyone who likes smashing cars owes it to themselves to play at least the demo if not the full game. Expand
  2. May 6, 2013
    9
    There are 4 things very wrong with this game, 1 There aren't many LICENSED cars, 2. There is no view, 3.It's hard to find multiplayer gamesThere are 4 things very wrong with this game, 1 There aren't many LICENSED cars, 2. There is no view, 3.It's hard to find multiplayer games and 4. This game shouldn't be called DiRT.

    This game has almost NO relation to the DiRT franchise in any way, DO NOT VIEW THIS AS DiRT 4, DO NOT VIEW THIS AS A RALLY GAME and certainly don't view it as a Simulator.

    Even though I went in expecting DiRT, I still came out very satisfied with only a few minor gripes, one being the commentator, another being the lack of licensed cars. Apart from those, I really loved DiRT Showdown, it's such an fun experience and it does everything it tries to do right, This game was more of experiment from codemasters, The only thing they have ever done that was even similar to this was the destruction derby mode on GRID(Which btw I LOVED), So it's no surprise here that they have made an entire game out of it and it's pretty damn good, it's got a fair length and very fun and competitive on-line, even more fun than DiRT 3 to be honest with you. There is a huge amount of tracks, I especially love the figure of eight tracks, you end up with very satisfying crashes that look great and keep you on the edge of your seat. This game feels like it should have been an entire NEW IP and they should have left the half-baked gymkahna mode out of this as it's the only thing from DiRT 3 that's still in this game(It's not as good as the gym mode in DiRT 3 either).

    For the cheap price tag on steam, great optimisation and general fun online, this is worth a pick up, Hardcore DiRT fans should stay away! BUT fans of games like flatout, Destruction Derby or even the DD mode in GRID, Should give this a go as it's sure to satisfy, I'm pleased with this game and it was worth every penny!
    Expand
  3. Oct 6, 2012
    8
    Departures from the main series games are never good. Is in this case is the same? No, the creators really, put their order to the main seriesDepartures from the main series games are never good. Is in this case is the same? No, the creators really, put their order to the main series Dirt fans feel at home, just a little different. The game offers us a great atmosphere. Why? Exploding fireworks, great colors, the emotions of people around whom we go, there is nothing, I, I fell into this game really great. For this is a nice solution Demolition derby is really cool and can be great fun with them. In addition to the new things we have here the dirt. He drives great, of course, terribly easy, as befits a series Dirt, but I think the fans like it. It is a pity, however, that the 3/4 game, however the game becomes monotonous (which can be a worry), things start to get bored. Developers need not just at the end we make the usual racing showdown that simply do not fit. I know that many miss this game a wide berth. I, however, started to it and I really liked it. I really recommend it to fans away from the major races in the dirt 3 and briefly caught up in the world of entertainment. My Rating - 8/10 Expand
  4. Oct 31, 2013
    5
    This game is your average demolition derby game. The graphics are great, but the damage of the cars could use improvement. Online mode isThis game is your average demolition derby game. The graphics are great, but the damage of the cars could use improvement. Online mode is sometimes glitchy, but otherwise OK. The features in this game will first make you addicted in this game, but after, lets say 10hrs of game-play, you might just lose interest. Another average demolition game. Expand
  5. Dec 23, 2013
    4
    If I could rename this game, I would have named it "Codemaster Derby". Putting the brand DiRT in the name is such a disgrace.

    As we all
    If I could rename this game, I would have named it "Codemaster Derby". Putting the brand DiRT in the name is such a disgrace.

    As we all know, the DiRT series is about rally. Hmm, seems this game has gone far a little bit. The gameplay overall is a bit awkward as it features some races (traditional races, elimination(?)) but also some derby (last man standing, pushing cars off the platform, racing in a track full of crossroads). Altogether it don't blend well and I simply can't tell what genre this game exactly is. The game's a bit boring (yeah it's fun hitting cars in 5 mins and 3 rounds) and gymkhana still exists. Ugh.

    The graphics are not appealing or better (How possibly could a derby game have amazing graphics?) The locations are a bit dull. (smelter, somewhere near the sea, mostly sand and dirt) Even Flatout Ultimate Carnage has more locations and graphic features to offer. The music is medicore. The controls are acrade-style so I have nothing to complain about it.

    I really don't get why this game has the DiRT label in it. It's not a rally game and it's not good also.
    Expand
  6. Jun 2, 2012
    3
    I played the Demo with my Logitech G27 and love this game, except my "supported G27 wheel " does not work in the game. The Code Masters -I played the Demo with my Logitech G27 and love this game, except my "supported G27 wheel " does not work in the game. The Code Masters - Dirt3 - Dirt Showdown forum states that supported wheels (Logitech G27) work in game. I would rate a 10 if my wheel worked like advertised in the Demo. I lost $50 on false advertising. Do not buy if you have a Steering Wheel. It is a Bait and Switch deal to me. Expand
  7. May 2, 2013
    0
    A horrible waste of time!

    This game feels like taking Blur, dumbing down the graphics a couple of years, and going back to controls from
    A horrible waste of time!

    This game feels like taking Blur, dumbing down the graphics a couple of years, and going back to controls from the early 90's (Think Destruction Derby 1). However unlike Blur the levels are ridiculously small, the selection of cars laughable and handling decidedly bad (even when taking into account that this is a arcade-game, regardless of the false marketing claims in using "DiRT" in the title). This has NOTHING to do with the "real" DiRT-games, let alone the Colin McRae-rally-games. You can't even select which gear to use anymore! If only Codemasters had the decency of giving back the money i paid for this game, because it is by far the worst game i've played for years! Oh yeah, and the menus and music makes even Dirt 3 seem quick and nice-sounding. They're ridiculously slow, and the "hey, bro"-style of the commentators and general (unskippable...) speak is painfully bad, and makes me want to choke myself in my headphones' cord.

    No matter what you're looking for, you wont find it in this game, move along!
    Expand

See all 35 User Reviews