• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 36 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 86 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Disciples III: Renaissance is the sequel to Disciples II: Dark Prophecy, the fantasy strategy/role playing game. The player takes on the role of a Lord of one of the fantastic races of Nevendaar in their enduring struggle to establish the reign of their respective god over the world. Ripe with surprises and turn-arounds, the story of the world of Nevendaar is played against a somber backdrop and shows a unique and style that has players asking for more. The visual design follows the ominous style of the Disciples world, and now all of the game environments and individual units are in real-time 3D. Disciples III: Renaissance uses .dat's in-house Virtual Dream engine, which supports all modern 3D technologies, and initially features 3 playable races: The Empire, The Legions of the Damned, and the Noble Elves, each with unique Unit styles and city representations that allow city sieges, and end with a battle for the main fortress. [Strategy First Inc.] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 36
  2. Negative: 9 out of 36
  1. Overall, I can only say the long time of waiting wasn't wasted at all. You'll get a nice sequel to the eight years old Disciples 2: Dark Prophecy.
  2. Oct 27, 2010
    70
    This is a game incredibly pleasing to play, although it becomes less and less interesting as we advance through it.
  3. 60
    A pretty, but relatively shallow experience. Exploring the world is fine, but the gameplay leaves a lot to be desired.
  4. Disciples III is pretty enough, but it doesn't take long to figure out that there's no soul behind the enticing facade. [Sept 2010, p.95]
  5. Predictable and repetitive, the A.I. is too easy to beat.
  6. There are literally no redeeming qualities to the game. Maybe if it wasn't as broken as it is in so many areas, I could contentedly give it a 'D'; it would merely be a poor knock-off in that case, not atrocious as it stands.

See all 36 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 24
  2. Negative: 15 out of 24
  1. Oct 20, 2010
    10
    Goodness. What a panning. There appears to be a great deal of comparison to HOMM 5, which, if you adore cartoon-like WOW-stylised graphics, may be more your taste. Scrap that - if you like that visual style, play 'Kings Bounty'. Disciples 3 is a different animal - often gritty and beautiful, if busy, and takes risks by amending some gameplay elements (as opposed to HOMM 5 which retracts features and stagnates the formula). The battles are no more slow-paced than in HOMM or KB. It's recommended to switch the movement speeds up and turn off 'cinematic camera', which is twitchy. Indeed, there are translation issues and terrible dubbing, and the tutorials are confused. Slap-dash. However I doubt very much that the story was the reason we all played HOMM, or that many will care about tutorial implementation, and instead just jump into the main campaign. We play TBS's because of their 'just-one-more-turn' addictive nature of game-play, which still remains here. To be clear - I award 10 as an effort in re-balancing. I would give 7 now and 9 when the Editor and the Dwarf & Undead races are released. HOMM can't touch the visual flair of Disciples. I have encountered no technical issues with this game. Expand
  2. Aug 31, 2013
    7
    Gamespot's review is pretty spot on but their rating is too low and the game certainly doesn't deserve the 0 ratings that plague metacritic. (It deserves a 6 but I gave it a bit of boost for the low ratings) It's a relative simple game though it's easy to miss features with buildings and skills.

    It is fun and well-paced combat, if you like the genre. The graphics are beautiful for its class. The narration audio is unfitting, I would turn it off though the story really isn't there-- but the voice acting makes it even worse. If you want enjoyable combat with nice animations it's a good game. If you want a great story and a heavy strategic challenge, play something else.
    Expand
  3. Oct 29, 2013
    6
    That at least one person rated this a 0 because they did not pay attention to what they were buying is bad enough, but that the game had so many bad reviews is unjustified... The game is not perfect, not by any stretch of the imagination... But it is enjoyable and it's still got the same Disciples feel.

    My only real qualm was the way that having the building bought automatically upgraded a unit as soon as they leveled, such as the archer who's first 'upgrade' required level 12 iirc, but a lvl 3 unit would imediately jump to level 12 when they leveled.

    In my eyes, this made it a bit too easy, but largely, the game is enjoyable and well worth a try, especially as it's now dirt cheap...
    Expand
  4. Nov 29, 2010
    3
    The game had/has real possibilities. It's just that I fear that we'll never see it. Even it's bugs has bugs. Kalypso apparently pays no attention to its own forums. Patches have been long overdue. Expand
  5. Mar 30, 2013
    3
    Disciples III Really isn't a horrible game.I can see how some people could like it. I'm just not one of those people. Turn-based combat is, in my opinion, one of the worst ways to execute gameplay system. There have been two games I have enjoyed with gameplay like this. Final Fantasy and the first Paper Mario. But with those games, it had feel and story. This game lacks that. Sure, the graphics are pretty good, though lacking in optimization. When I launch the game, it crashes 95% of the time due to graphics. The story is MILDLY INTRIGUING. To have a game with such gameplay it needs to be a 100% solid and interesting story. The voice acting and other audio is atrocious. Now, I can't say I didn't completely hate this game. It wasn't to my fancy. But, again, I can see how some people can like it. Expand
  6. Mar 27, 2013
    2
    This game is TERRIBLE. How the hell they could ruin such great idea of Disciples 2 all we wanted is same Disciples 2 with new graphics, new plot and new campains, and what did we get Very buggy and weak HoMM-style clone with stupid plot and awful voicing. Why the hell they even spend money to produce such rubbish Expand
  7. Sep 11, 2010
    0
    I didn't knew Disciples and decided for a change to try a new RPG, and bought Disciples 3.
    First bad news I read the inside descriptions of
    the box, turn by turn battles... I hope it won't be boring...
    Then I install it and after a very long wait, and a stunning 3D view of some falls as a menu... here comes a completely dull and stupid turn by turn adventure... have you tried counting your step during a whole day? here it's just like that, just image the hero may count it's steps when going to pee...
    But then, taking a deep breath and trying to go on... let's go to some castle (while the tutorial is bugging me with tutorial interface and video for explaining the interface) I think the developpers never thought about making a modern interface... but then I figure out the castle is just around 21 steps (3 turns) from the initial position... okay, middle mouse button to start spinning the so called 3D... conversation comes with a NPC... just to say it's just images and text... don't expect any immersion... I would rather read a book there... but you know what? BUG... no more mouse because the animation did not tolerate me using the interface while a conversation came to appear.
    After reading other critics I decide to get the game back to the reseller. END OF STORY
    Expand

See all 24 User Reviews