Disciples III: Resurrection PC

  • Publisher: Kalypso
  • Release Date: Feb 7, 2012
User Score
4.8

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 42 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 42
  2. Negative: 17 out of 42
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 2, 2014
    9
    As a forever devoted fan of the Disciples 2 series, I found this game to be dazzling!
    I was amazed by the concept of the map, the new perspective, the details put into every mob and the possibility to have a closer look at them in the inventory was amazing and trilling. The story kept me going as the characters were full of unique personalities. The game was long and difficult to finish
    As a forever devoted fan of the Disciples 2 series, I found this game to be dazzling!
    I was amazed by the concept of the map, the new perspective, the details put into every mob and the possibility to have a closer look at them in the inventory was amazing and trilling. The story kept me going as the characters were full of unique personalities. The game was long and difficult to finish as one mistake might make you lose the whole map. The few bugs I encountered did not make me stop playing and since this game was so extravagant I did not mind it. Bone chilling animations and music, great choice of designing, etc.
    Only one thing stops me from giving this game a 10: The battles. Disciples 2's combat system remains it's trademark forever, but it changed completely in the Disciples 3 series, as it resembled more Heroes V. Still, the combat was fascinating. Although around the end of the map you become so overpowered that you need not worry about anything . :)
    It saddens me to see people disliking a fantastic game for it's minor developing mistakes.
    Expand
  2. Oct 15, 2011
    8
    Came across a thread where the series was being compared to HoMM(impressive in itself) with many rather positive posts. So I gave it a go. Visuals are rather impressive(at least compared to HoMM 5) and the mechanics of the game are well thought through. Whenever I couldn't do something it was always due to me not having figured something out yet. I like the idea of having to level yourCame across a thread where the series was being compared to HoMM(impressive in itself) with many rather positive posts. So I gave it a go. Visuals are rather impressive(at least compared to HoMM 5) and the mechanics of the game are well thought through. Whenever I couldn't do something it was always due to me not having figured something out yet. I like the idea of having to level your creatures individually instead of upgrading a building and stamping them out in vast numbers. So as far as gameplay is concerned I'm very impressed and actually prefer this to any HoMM that came after the 3rd)) The reason I'm not giving this full points is the way the story in the campaign is delivered. 50% of the time the dialog seemed like a ridiculous waffle and the character personalities seemed to be created by someone who had to do it because nobody else wanted the job. The ancient undead warlord that comes up with expressions that would make a 12 year old seem wise and mature - come on, surely it can be done better! The story itself is reasonable enough, but I'm not too familiar with Disciples lore to say whether it correspond with previous releases.
    Anyway - the gameplay is imho a good enough reason to give this a go - especially if you like the HoMM series)
    Expand
  3. Oct 4, 2012
    8
    The gameplay is actually good, but as in Disciples III:Reneissance, something is still missing. I enjoyed DII more than this. Mind you, DII deserved a full 10/10 in my opinion. The campaign is mildly uninteresting with its dialogues and story, and I guess the moving of the units as the most major change from DII is controversial to me. Despite that, it plays very nicely, the graphics haveThe gameplay is actually good, but as in Disciples III:Reneissance, something is still missing. I enjoyed DII more than this. Mind you, DII deserved a full 10/10 in my opinion. The campaign is mildly uninteresting with its dialogues and story, and I guess the moving of the units as the most major change from DII is controversial to me. Despite that, it plays very nicely, the graphics have a lot of climate, as befitting of a Disciples title. Not an excellent title in its own right, but a decent addon which really adds things to the game which is rarer and rarer nowadays. Expand
  4. Feb 15, 2014
    8
    Really don't understand all the negative reviews. I have been playing the disciples series since the first game, loved all of them, and I think this one is a worthy sequel. The new additions are good in my opinion, mainly the skill tree and movement during combat. For people complaining about it being hard, well, that is just part of Disciples.....you can't just mow through every enemy mobReally don't understand all the negative reviews. I have been playing the disciples series since the first game, loved all of them, and I think this one is a worthy sequel. The new additions are good in my opinion, mainly the skill tree and movement during combat. For people complaining about it being hard, well, that is just part of Disciples.....you can't just mow through every enemy mob you see. You have to heal, use spells, etc. I have been able to jump right into this without playing the tutorial and I think it is challenging but definitely not too hard. My only major complaint is that the voice acting is absolutely terrible......like really, really bad. But that's not a deal breaker for me, this is still an excellent and worthy successor in one of my favorite series of all time. Expand
Metascore
63

Mixed or average reviews - based on 6 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Jan 19, 2012
    60
    Standalone add-on cannot cover that Disciples are no match to reborn Might and Magic series. If you are a devoted fan you will probably appreciate longer playtime and the few improvements. [Christmas 2011]
  2. PC Gamer UK
    Jan 10, 2012
    65
    There are a few glimmers of brilliance. [Jan 2012, p.141]
  3. 60
    Overall, Disciples III: Resurrection is an expansion that features plenty of turn-based gaming hours, but these come bundled with technical issues and a couple of design choices that get more and more annoying as you progress through the campaign.